The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
TLG Buyers Advantageunauthorized billing

P

My credit card was charged on Feb. 19 with a bill for $139.99 for a fraud-guard service I do not want and did not request. The company designation on the credit card bill is “TLG*BuyersAdv#[protected]." On Oct. 15, this company had slipped in a bill of $149.99. When I called, they said I ordered the service. I did not remember doing so. I know I did not order the same service again just four months later. That bill gave their phone number: [protected]. On September 4, this same company slipped in a bill of $149.99. It is ironic that a company supposedly offering fraud protection is actually perpetrating fraud. I and at least one other have written the Connecticut Attorney General asking for prosecution.

Responses

  • An
    andy hayman Mar 04, 2009

    I was contacted by someone from tlg loans and my bank card details were taken i was told that before any monies was taken from my bank account i would be telephoned to inform me that they were taking the monies from my account and since that phone call i have not heard from the company that claims they can offer me the £1000 loan that i have requested there for i would like the full amount of monies taken from my account reimburst asap or legal action shall be seeked and it shall also be passed to the police as a matter of theft.

    Before anyone can say that it is not classed as theft it is as for the fact i was not informed that you were taking monies from my account and i have not recieved either the paper work that needs to be signed or the money for the loan amount i do not take kindly to being misled or taken for a ride.

    I will also be looking for compensation due to the inconvenience that you have caused by not keeping to the agreement by your selves

    yours truely

    A.Hayman

    1 Votes
  • Du
    duped Mar 20, 2009

    You can add me to the list of those duped by TLG loans. I (admittedly was a stupid thing to do) gave bank details when they phoned offering me a loan of £2000. They told me they needed the £49 "processing fee" and that the papers for me to sign would be posted out to me the same day. They have my £49, but I have nothing from them. I have had to change my account details to stop them getting any more of my money. I guess I should count myself lucky that it was *only* a one off payment. Looking back at other comments I see it could have been much worse. Still - was looking forward to getting money (the loan) not giving it away!

    1 Votes
  • An
    Anna Caraveli Apr 02, 2009

    I had the same experience with TLG*BUYERSADV . Today (4/2/09) I checked online to see why I couldn't use my debit card when I had just deposited a check in my account, and I saw an unauthorized charge on 139.99 from them. My account was in the red because of all of the overdraft fees incurred, when I used my debit card assuming my balance was more than what it actually was. I have disputed these charges with Bank of America. I do not know this service provider neither did I ever order anything from them.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Masher44 Apr 13, 2009

    They tried nailing me on Friday. I called and they said 7 -10 days and it will be refunded. ###.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Riggs Apr 25, 2009

    My sister was hit with a charge of $139.99 from Buyers Advantage on 04/17/09. The irony here is that the funds were withdrawn from Bank of America too. At first, we thought that someone got a hold to her account and debitted these funds but
    now we think that it is a scam.

    Orlando FL

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike Z Apr 27, 2009

    I've seen this thing before, packaged as if it is a coupon claim.

    When BOA send you their credit card statement, they include a little "voucher" for something like a $20 Target Giftcard or similar. If you signup, you are actually enrolling in this Trilegint Corporation "Buyer's Advantage" program. They send you your coupon, and enroll you in a trial period. If you do not actively cancel, the terms on the voucher say they can charge you $139 / month for the first year, and then increase it by $10 / month each subsequent year. The disclaimer says that they are not affiliated with BOA, but clearly they have some affiliation if BOA mails the signup form in with their statements.

    To cancel, you need to call Trilegiant at: [protected]

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    Bonnie May 19, 2009

    My Sovereing Bank credit card was charged on April 28, 2009 with a bill for $139.99 from TLG BuyersAdv too. On May 19, I called this company, they apologize saying they will return $115.o0 dollars, which is the difference because my "membership" was active between April 28 and May 19. Can you believe it! They are thieves! Because of this charge, my account were overlimit, so I have to pay $39.99 for overlimit and another $25.00 they discounted. This is crazy!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Annie May 30, 2009

    OMG I cannot believe I got scammed. I thought the first charge was for a vacuum cleaner I just bought. It was for 129.99. So I sucked that up to making a bad notation in my checkbook and not knowing what the charge for for. It cost me over 100 in overdraft fees. But I figured that was my stupid tax for not paying attention to my balance which I actually keep ongoing. Then this month, I get another charge of 139.99 from TLG again and this time the red flags went up. The number on the bank statement is a bogus number, so I googled TLG and found this site. And from this, I got up with the company, they have promised me cancellation and a refund. We'll see. I sure will be more vigilant in the future. It was SO easy to get "had." I am furious!!!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    don Jun 01, 2009

    Pedi paws has giving my credit card # to a third party TLG, whitout my authorization.

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Cinron Jun 20, 2009

    My 78-yr old mother was just charged a pending $139.99 from Buyer's Advantage from her BOA checking this afternoon or early evening. I watch her account since she has limited funds. I'm calling BOA first thing in morning. In reading your experiences, I don't want to wait another month for another charge against her account. I googled and found this site also and found, I hope, good information to have her account reimbursed. This is just one more reason to not like this bank, and my list is growing.

    0 Votes
  • An
    AntoinetteSh Aug 04, 2009

    My grandmother has been scammed by this company. She is 82 yo. She noticed the charge of $139.99 on her statement and asked me to find out what this was. I typed in the company name and saw your complaints. She does not give her card # over the phone and is one of the sharpest 82 yo. you want to ever meet. She told me to take care of it, and of course that is what I intend to do for her.

    0 Votes
  • Fw
    FWV Aug 08, 2009

    Same thing happened to my poor old dad today. The only difference was it was charged to a bank of America card that my dad had received in the mail but never activated. We called bank of America right away and they told us that we should contact Buyer's Advantage on MOnday, because they are unable to do so because it is closed after 5:00 p.m.. We were originally going to wait till Monday, but, then I decided to do some research and I typed up Buyer's advantage online and found the numerous complaint and stories that were identical to us. So, my radar for Fraud went off and I was pissed for my dad. I called Bank of America right away and told them the two major problems we were experiencing with the credit card. One was a card that was activated without my dad's approval and two an unauthorized charge in the amount of $139.99 that we never made and as a matter of fact, we weren't even in the country to make that charge, we were vacationing at that time. I also told them that I did some research and saw numerous complaints regarding Bank of AMerica and Buyer's Advantage, the customer service rep. transferred me quickly to dispute and claims department. I repeated information once again to the claims department and told him that I expected the problem to be resolved today and that was exactly what he did, he credited my dad's card in the amount of $139.99, we were then transferred to customer service, where my dad asked the representative to close his account, because he was unhappy that there was fraudulent activity on his card. His card was close and we do not plan to do any business with Bank of America ever again!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chazhall1 Sep 03, 2009

    I had a withdraw from my account for 99.99 and I have no idea how they received my information. I have done some traveling last month, but my credit card# was never submitted to this site and my bank had to shutoff my card and dispute the claim. There is a huge inconvenience with this 7-10 day process because my bank has to ship me another card and may not get my money back for 3 to 5 days after the investigation is complete. WATCH YOUR INFORMATION ONLINE AND BE VERY CAREFUL WHEN YOU TRAVEL

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jenn586 Sep 03, 2009

    I was just scammed by this TLG company as well... same as everyone else, I sent in a voucher for a $40 Lowe's gift card, and cancelled the accompanying service within the first month so as to never get charged. I never got the gift card but I wasn't going to complain since I cancelled the service. I just discovered that I've been charged $12.99 each month since January by TLG, called them yesterday and was told I will get 2 of those charges back within 7-10 days, and I can submit a request in writing for the remaining charges. Whatever.

    The thing here is that I don't have Bank of America... I have my accounts with Citizen's Bank... and I have been googling this TLG company and I have seen complaints from customers of Chase and other credit cards as well as other banks. It seems to be the norm for most banks to have agreements with companies, and they ALL send these promotional items to suck you into monthly charges you don't want. So no matter what bank you have, call customer service and request to receive NO mailings other than those relevant to your accounts (statements, alerts etc.).. NO ads, NO promos. I have been unhappy with Citizens for a while now and considering a switch to Bank of America, and this recent TLG situation just kind of put me over the edge, but after looking into it I have found that changing banks won't prevent this kind of thing from happening... I just have to be smarter about it and be cautious of this type of promotion (free gift card, gift bag, etc.) and vigilant with my accounts.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    crazyknarf Sep 05, 2009

    If you never lose your credit or debit card, their are people trying to get that number. Here is some ways of getting it.

    Video cell phones. Take a picture of your card before you swipe it.
    Skimming the card when giving it to a wait staff. Or on an ATM machine.
    Check all ATM machines to make sure their is no wireless on it. Easy to hack.

    The store where you used your card was hacked.

    Then they get this information and they use a white card or a gift card and go shopping on your money. Today you do not need to sign for stuff. You do not need to hand your card over to a cashier. If they still did this, their would be less fraud. The cashier would know that is not a credit card, but a cloned card and the police would be notified.

    Oh almost forgot this one. If your Cards have this ")))" Your card is broadcasting your info 24/7. Check out RFID credit cards to find ways to protect yourself from this.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Star5 Oct 15, 2009

    My wife was also charged. is there a way to sue them in a class action suit?

    0 Votes
  • Ld
    ldsmith Oct 16, 2009

    I am currently going through the same thing. I have been charged 13.99 for the past 3 months that i am now aware of from TLG . I was also being charged 35.00 nsf from Bank of America. A couple of weeks ago, they waived the fees and my husband paid the negative 8 dollars to bring the account current. This week we get a card in the mail from BOA saying we were being charged 13.99 and due to nsf we also have a 35.00 nsf fee. This was my alert to call the bank to see what was going on. BOA told me TLG was charging me. I told them I have never heard of such a company. I told them I don't even use BOA because we bank with a different bank. BOA was just for like a wire transfer for the most part. I don't even open the statements because we don't use BOA to worry about something being wrong. BOA called TLG and did a 3-way, they swore my husband did it and that they are only going to refund one 13.99 charge out of 3 that I know of. BOA said they would take care of the other 2 13.99 transactions and all the nsf fees. I am going to get a copy of my statements as far back as I can and check them beacause TLG said something that disturbed me and it was they have been charging since I got the account. I got the account in 2006. Its only been 2 days since I became aware and as of now my acccount is sill negative 96.00 TLG claim they sent us a gift card for using there services, I told them we have never heard of them, never recieved a gift card nor do we use rebates or checks that come in the mail. This is crazy.
    If there is a way to due a class action suit, I would like to know. LS 10/16/09

    1 Votes
  • Be
    Beweird Oct 20, 2009

    They got me too. Let me know if a class action suit is in the future.

    0 Votes
  • Tl
    tlaz Nov 02, 2009

    My mother got taken too. What they seem to be doing is making arrangements with companies that already have accounts with people, and making them an offer where they hope they don't read the fine print. In my mother's case it was with her account with Haband Clothing. She got a check for $8.25 that can be used for "whatever you wish", plus 10% cash back for up to $1000 in purchases on Haband clothing. (Up to $100). All this is available for, (the first mention of which is as laid out in the fine print at the bottom of the last page) an annual membership fee of $145, charged to whatever card you have registered on the account.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doug Jerome Nov 13, 2009

    I was charged $129.99 to become a member of TLG Buyers Advantage that I had not authorized. The company says they will remove the charges from my credit card----I hope. I called the credit card company to let them know.

    0 Votes
  • So
    socialsapphire Dec 18, 2009

    Wow thank goodness for this website. I just got this $40 offer in the mail today and I'm not going to let these people screw me!! I saw on another forum that even if they send you the $40 visa card, it doesn't work unless you call the bank and have them activate it with some special code. You also have to wait 4-6 weeks for their "materials" to arrive, including the gift card, so they could probably charge you within that time frame and hope you don't even figure out the gift card, if they send it at all. FREAKING crooks!~

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Ronald Behe Jan 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    1-800-Flowers order resulted in "Membership" with TLG Livewell billed at $38.99. After receiving first debit card deduction and directing to have name and account information removed I have had another #38.99 removed from my debit account.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    candysweetcane Nov 21, 2010

    i bank with bao and the buyers advantage charge (that i didnt request) sent my account into over draft protection. so i got screwed by both.

    0 Votes
  • El
    elizabettys Dec 18, 2010

    Your experience with this scam can help a class action building against Trilegiant, the company behind the unauthorized charges. Can you join me and contact Freed & Weiss to share your story? It’s easy and quick for you. They need to hear from consumers who have gone through this directly.

    Here are the details:
    Trilegiant Scam: HELP STOP IT!

    Trilegiant is behind more consumer abuse. Take action and contact Freed & Weiss - info @ freedweiss (dot) com (No Spaces), or call, toll free 866.779.9610

    Here's more information:

    Customers of websites like 1-800-Flowers.com, Travelocity, Shutterfly, and Orbitz (to name only a few) are reporting mysterious monthly reoccurring charges to their credit cards. Thanks to marketing tactics (i.e., those pop-up windows) used during check out, without proper consent consumers are accidentally joining club memberships and having to pay for them monthly! Other tactics include bogus mailings of checks, text messages, and automated marketing when you call to pay a bill by phone.

    Most people don't even realize they are being charged every month for a service they never ordered!

    PLEASE CONTACT FREED & WEISS IMMEDIATELY if you - or anyone you know - has reoccurring charges after purchasing from any of these companies.

    Email: [protected]@freedweiss.com

    Best regards,
    Elizabeth

    0 Votes
  • De
    Debbie Key Feb 05, 2011

    I hardly ever use my Visa debit card with Bank of America, never use the internet with my visa debit card and rarely look at my statements. I just opened up my statement and saw this Recurring charge of $13.99 taken out via my debit card!!! I instantly called the number on the statement [protected] and it never got me to a live person and disconnected me every time. I spent an hour trying to reach them. I Called Customer Svc with BOA. They said this has been a recurring charge since March of last year and that I should be able to collect all my money back thru the Fraud Dept. They connected me with John of Fraud Alert who also could not get in touch with Buyers Advantage. OMG! Buyers Advantage is connected with Bank of America and John asked if I had signed up with them or did I hit the wrong buton when I got my Visa card!! NO I have NEVER signed up with Buyers Advantage and if I hit a wrong button how does that make me responsible for something I knew nothing about. Signatures are needed for contracts, not pushing buttons to commit to them for taking out a recurring monthly charge of $13.99!! I am a contract paralegal and have direct connection with attorneys and I told John I better get all of the charges off of my account!! He credited my account for now for all the charges, but made sure I knew that it was totally up to Buyers Advantage as to crediting me back the money and they would take all the credit back the minute the dispute was not resolved. Can you spell Lawsuit Bank of America and Buyers Advantage if they do not credit my account!! I will cancel all my Bank of America accounts AND BLOG about this injustice AND consult with the attorneys if this is not resolved. Debbie Key, Alpharetta, Georgia

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Russ Carter Mar 17, 2012

    Debbie ... let me know if there is a class action lawsuit. If you need my signature, I'm on board. I am getting charged $16.99 a month on my Capital One statement and I have never had a BOA account. I do have an account with Citizen's Bank, but don't know what relation it would be between the two. I haven't taken any offers and just use the card for an emergency payment when short of cash.
    Russ Carter, New Brighton, PA

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Russ Carter Mar 17, 2012

    I am getting charged $16.99 a month on my Capital One statement and I have never had a BOA account. I do have an account with Citizen's Bank, but don't know what relation it would be between the two. I haven't taken any offers and just use the card for an emergency payment when short of cash.
    Russ Carter, New Brighton, PA

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BenjaminV Aug 29, 2012

    HERE IS A CLASS ACTION BEING STARTED... http://www.gilmanlawllp.com/consumer-protection/apollo-trilegiant-affinion-tlg-scam-alert-for-membership-clubs-appollo-complaints-trilegiant-complaints-affinion-complaints/

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BenjaminV Aug 29, 2012

    here is a calls action being filed... http://www.gilmanlawllp.com/consumer-protection/apollo-trilegiant-affinion-tlg-scam-alert-for-membership-clubs-appollo-complaints-trilegiant-complaints-affinion-complaints/

    0 Votes
  • Iy
    iynen Nov 19, 2012

    Since my bank account is dynamically active, I could not able to check transactions very carefully. Two days ago, I knew that only 19 dollars left in my bank account, one day later once I went to ATM to deposit cash to my account, I have seen that 4 dollars left. That gave me a question mark in my mind, then I went back to home and checked buyer advantage company withdrew money from my account even though I did not spent any more with my debit card. Then I checked this transaction carefully, then realized they had been withdrawing 14.99 dollars every month since 2008. I have contacted them, then guess what customer representative told me, this company is a third party company of bank of america. I called back to Bank of america then I told me they dont have any third party company. Lets guess what happened afterwards, I have just only got 13 months money back, not for 5 years!! What should I do now?

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barbags Jan 20, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm getting the same $16.99 charge per month on my credit card. Please let me know if there is a suit against these people because I'm on board to go after them. This is ridiculous - there are TONS of complaint boards about this company doing this to DOZENS of customers. Can we report them?

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Leslie Quick Mar 21, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    TLGBuyersAdvantage [protected], should be made an example of for fraudulent and unauthorized charges to my account like they have done to so many others. I purchased Pedi-paws back in March of 2009, Pedi-paw has given my credit card number to a third party TlgbuyersAdvantage without my Authorization. I called my bank who then immediately cancelled my card they give me the number to TLGBUYERSADVANTAGE i called them on 3/20/13, an spoke to the supervisor Mr.Jose cardenas who apologized to me up to the high heavens, but that will never do, he then cancelled a membership that i never know of let alone authorized he kindly give me a cancellation #w134rzwr and said he would mail me an affidavit to fill out in about 10-15 business days so as to reimburse me for $559.96 for a yearly membership that they were deducting out of my account since 2009 up until 2013. How about that they deserve to be made an example of don"t you think so. I dont know about you but i am going to highly recommend TLGbuyersAdvantage to fradulent legal services.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    MRaftery Mar 11, 2015

    I talked to an FB I agent. He says file complaints at ic3.gov. That's the Internet Crimes Complaint Center. These thieves ripped off a senior volunteer with our nonprofit. You can help nail them by filing complaints.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    MRaftery Mar 11, 2015

    An FBI agent I know says to file complaints with www.ic3.gov the Internet Crimes Complaint division. These thieves stole money through the same scam from a senior volunteer at our nonprofit. Please file a complaint all and help nail these con artists.

    0 Votes
  • Rn
    rnpam69 Aug 05, 2015

    My card has been charged every month for about 6 months now...some months I was double charged!!! I have NEVER authorized this company or scammers to charge my card ever!!! going to see an Attorney today, my income is very limited, I have small children who need to eat and you scammers are STEALING their food right out of their tummy...you should be ashamed and you WILL be prosecuted!!! GET A REAL JOB YOU LAZY A**** INSTEAD OF STEALING MONEY SOMEONE ELSE WORKED HARD FOR...GOD SEES YOU AND YOU WILL PAY THE PRICE here by a judge and also in the after life!!! ###!!! SE YOU IN COURT... BTW I'm suing for damages too so you will pay more than you got from me that's for sure!!! I hope everyone gets their money back after this lawsuit!!!

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AmandaSt Jan 16, 2016

    I tried an offer offered by Super Shuttle - they said we would get $20 off - I signed up and got signed up with service called Great Fun. That's run by TLG Buyers. I cancelled within the month - not to mention we never got our $20 off from Super Shuttle. I cancelled - even have email cancellation verification - AND I have been charged $16.99 a month since then. I just now saw this charge. Disputed it with my credit card company who can only give us 4 months back. Called Great Fun who promptly interrupted me when I started to explain the situation and said I was talking to the wrong group. Then transferred me to this TLG Buyers Advantage company. Who said it doesn't matter you have to cancel with them not Great Fun. This is total 100% FRAUD. This company is SCAMMING people and STEALING their money. I will NEVER use SUPER SHUTTLE ever again. I will never recommend them to anyone. They stole close to $300 dollars from a family of 4. They need to be sued. Someone needs to file a class action lawsuit against ALL 3 of these companies for running a SCAM. And I can probably bet the Super Shuttle get some sort of kick back form sign ups.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daniel Miess Feb 07, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Be careful: sometimes if you buy a product, because of careful wording what seems like being signed up for one membership really is signing up for multiple. So if you signed up for Buyer's Advantage for example -- you could also be signed up for Everyday Privilege's Gold, Shopper's Advantage, Traveller's Advantage, etc. My advice is this: when you call ask the representative to transfer you to a supervisor if you want to cancel all TLG memberships. When you speak to the supervisor say: "I want you to look up in your system. I want you to look up all of my TLG/Affinion memberships. If there is a cost associated with any of them cancel them. Also, if I have been charged for any of them tell me how long I have been charged, including the year, and I would like a refund for all charges.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Ruf26us! Apr 19, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Unauthorized credit card charge. I have seen these charges on my statement for the past few months. They charge me $16.99 twice. I never signed up for any withdrawal.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Ruf26us! Apr 19, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Very unhappy this is happening.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Edmundo Peralta Jun 08, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i was charged $14.99 by TLG*GREATFN, i search for this company on the web and found that many people have the same fraud charges.
    i called their toll free number [protected] to ask them my money back. they ask me for my member #, how the hell do i know what my "member #" is, is i have never signed or asked for one. Then they told me that my member# are some numbers that appear in my credit card statement.
    anyway, i was told that i was automatically enrolled in their program because of some other company, Advantage ... something..
    that tell me that this king of fraud can happen every time. you don’t even need to sign by mistake something.. seems that this is an automatic fraud.
    they said that i should get my money back around 10 to 15 days. and that my "membership" is cancelled. let's see if true.

    so be aware of your card statement. i check my statements online and i receive email alerts for charges, that’s why i noticed this charge, otherwise i wouldn’t noticed.

    Regards

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions