Target Trutech TV / DVDstopped working after 5 months!

C
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Since I live in a small convenience apartment I no longer have the box or the receipt. I purchased one of Targets Trutech tv/dvd combo tv's for $99.00 and after five months, it now will not work and the warranty is for 90 days. This is not acceptable for the consumers.

Responses

  • Ro
    Ron Ritch Dec 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The TruTech name is only for sets sold by Target. They are made in China and imported by a company named Venturer Electronics in Canada and Buffalo NY.
    Contact me if you want telephone numbers etc. It is Federal law for a dealer to make available any written warranties before you actually make a warranty covered purchase over $15.00. This law is older than Target itself. It's called the Magnuson-Moss Act - Public Law 93-637 and is overseen by the Federal Trade Commission.
    Where I live Target does not have the warranties either on display or available - they are in the various sealed boxes. It would be a great service if those who have been cheated by Target would go to their closest Target and ask for the written warranties for several TV sets. You have the right to compare. When they turn you down - get their names and other info and join me in issuing a complaint with the FTC. We need many to do this... the quicker the better.

    0 Votes
  • Qu
    Quasi_Mondo Jul 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is exactly why buying a TV/DVD combo is a bad idea. If one component goes bad, you're stuck with it. Better to buy them separately.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laura Mar 31, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Um, it sounds like this should be an issue you take up with the manufacturer, Trutech, not Target. Unless of course Target is the one who manufactures the Trutech brand. But you get what you pay for, next time shell out a few more dollars for a Sony that will work for 10 years.

    0 Votes
  • De
    delas raiford Aug 13, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Has anyone been able to figure out what causes this to happen? Or if it can be fixed at least?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mary jane walker Jul 27, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mine is only a few weeks old and of course I've ditched the box and the receipt already... and now the d**n DVD will not play DVDs - also says "wrong disk." What a crappy product this is!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Justin shraeder Jul 26, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I can't get my universal remote to work for my stupid trutech lcd tv/dvd !!!

    0 Votes
  • Hu
    Humberto Ruiz Jul 25, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also just purchased one from Target and also get "wrong disc" message.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Walterene Atkins Jul 23, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My experience with the tv is that I bought it about 2 months ago and about two weeks ago the DVD portion plays the dvds only in black and white. But the tv maintains color.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer Ward Jul 17, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too have the same problem... except its only been 5 months. The tv itself works... but the dvd reads "wrong disk" with every dvd put in it. Ive tried everything.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.