Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Banks State Bank of India [SBI] worst nri service
S
Author of the complaint
3:48 pm EDT
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Dear All, I want to share my (worst) experience with SBI to everyone. I'm basically from Chennai and relocated to Saudi Arabia last year. I have opened one NRI account in SBI on January 2011. now it's almost 6 months completed. Till now I didn't received my ATM card and internet banking letter. I never seen like this worst service before and that too for NRI service.
Is this because of government related? or every government offices are like this? shameless India...I hate indian goverment

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

10 comments
Add a comment
R
Mar 18, 2022 2:00 pm EDT

I converted my existing account to NRI status and changed the registered Indian phone number to US number. Credi/Debit activities in my account were being sent via SMS to the Indian phone, but no longer being sent to my US phone. I contacted the international customer service about two months back. They merely assigned a case number and forwarded it to my SBI branch at Bhubaneswar for resolution. I called the branch manager who said they are "working on the problem". This seems to be a simple IT problem, that should not take more than an hour to fix. However, it has been almost eight weeks, and I am still waiting for any responce from the branch office or the international customer service. I am very disappointed with the quality of service by SBI and the service does not meet my expectation at all.

D
Feb 08, 2022 11:02 pm EST

I am trying to access my NRI account for last 40 days and after all my effort with the branch in Model Town Karnal branch, they have not been able to resolve my issue and now they don't even respond to my emails. What a bunch of jokers in this branch who don't know what's going on outside SBI bank. As economists say Govt. is not for running banks and business, they are to govern and they should stop wasting tax payers money on these joker employees.

M
Feb 12, 2018 10:39 am EST

This blank is going in hellll

P
Jun 23, 2017 9:09 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

PM Modi is wasting his time and energy change these Babus, whether they are located in India or USA, low level or on higher post. My brother-in-law requested to open an account some 30 years ago. To contact someone in Mumbai, or here in USA is chore. They expert in hanging up phones. I spent complete night chasing them and the [protected] service provided me no existing phone number. The lady in New York branch was so much was in rush, she hung up phone before I could finish sentence. Praful Shah, Houston, Texas

M
May 30, 2017 6:52 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

we made a complain to SBI NRI Branch Jallandar where we hold the account as our account was hacked and money taken out.
First it took them four days to just lodge the complain then another week for complain number.
Since then we have send twenty two email to Jallandar, ludhiana and chandigarah NRI office but we hade email from Jallandar branch saying they looking into the case, but NOTHING from Ludhiana or Chandigaragh
It is very frustrating that whwn you call tephone number you given on internet nobody answer them
Mr. Dalbir Nahal.

K
Jun 27, 2016 6:16 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Yes, SBI has ZERO customer service. My branch in Mumbai doesn't even provide a number you can call. The numbers listed on their business cards are 'not registered' i.e. bogus/invalid. Even the mail SBI website lists the same numbers. I have complained several times but they haven't done anything about it. The only one number they have that connects is the fax line! This shows they are doing this on purpose so that customers can't call and DISTURB them. Emails are rarely answered, and if they are, the response will be a short, 1 line, message that will be vague and incomplete!
If you live in India then you can deal with them. If they don't respond by e-mail or phone, you can go personally to the branch and face them. However, if you live overseas, then it is much much more frustrating! I would avoid SBI .

M
Aug 12, 2014 2:43 am EDT

dear may be u have any problem with your home adress 3 months back i open a nri account in my hometown with in 3 months i get ATM cheq book and internet banking plz dont tell like this

B
Aug 22, 2013 5:45 am EDT

NEVER OPEN AN NRE ACCOUNT IN SBI ! Totally unprofessional and rude staff...zero customer service.

P
Feb 12, 2013 12:26 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I agree with you, I tried to take home loan but instead of helping me they given me very complicated suggestion which will never help me to take home loan from SBI. Recently they are deduction irreverent tax from my NRO A/c balance which is total wrong as my balance is not coming tax category and addressing this matter from last one year so for no action and no is ready to reply...

N
Jan 19, 2013 10:41 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I would suggest never open account with SBI. I sent a cheque for Rs. 15000/- to my friend in India and it was not cleared by bank on the ground that the cheque book issued is obsolete. Inspite of various request, they never sent me new cheque book. The bureauecracy is at the highest level in SBI. Once they have grabbed your money, they won't care or respond to your requests. Their websites don't work properly. For NRI, it could be a very bad experience.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

536 complaints
194 resolved 342 unresolved

State Bank of India [SBI] contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
State Bank Bhavan, 16th Floor, Madam Cama Road, India
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT