The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Sonic Drive Incarhop always asking to keep change

J Review updated:

Is it becoming customary for Sonic Drive In carhops to ask "Do you want your change".. I have had several at this Sonic in Sonora Texas to ask.. I think that this is rude and have never in my 50 years ever had a business ask this. Most the carhops don't smile, say thank you and seem to not care if you are there or not.

Responses

  • An
    anonymous254 Jun 14, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ive worked at a sonic for over a year here in Texas i absolutely loved it ...
    My only problem was management wasn't very nice they talked about everybody behind their backs and when everybody started quitting i was working 11 to 12 hr shifts by myself & we got paid 7.25 plus tips which was very good and all carhops brought home more than 20$ at our location

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Magic bean stalk Apr 10, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I see nothing wrong with them asking for change compared to them walking off with like you owe them it. They make very little money and some have families to support so i see nothing wrong with them asking for a tip.

    2 Votes
  • Cr
    Crimson E Sep 01, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    More than once, I've been to Sonic and sometimes the car hops never even bothered to ask for the change involving coins. They just give me back the dollar bills and assume that the rest is their tip. The waiter did this to me yesterday for an order that came to just under $2.25. I paid a five dollar, received $2.00 in bills and the waiter was going to keep the remaining amount, which would have come to over 30% of the original bill. I had to ask for the remaining change back. I'm willing to provide a fair tip, as I believe the car hops work hard but I will not accept them taking my money on the assumption that is what I would want to tip them.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kaliiiforniaa Jun 10, 2016

    I work as a carhop in Alabama, and make $4.00 an hour. We take out orders in 30 degree and 90 degree weather, rain or snow. I agree that if a carhop seems rude, or does not provide good service, he or she may not deserve a tip. If your order is messed up, more than likely it has nothing to do with your carhop, so please don't yell or take it out on us. In the year and a half I've worked here, I have never taken a break. I work anywhere from 5 hours to 11 hours a day. The carhops at my sonic "expect" to get $0.50 off of every order they take. Some people don't tip, some tip $1.00 and some tip $5.00. I have always read off full orders, smiled, and asked customers how they are. Even holding short conversations with the regulars. I love my job, but the money doesn't always add up to minimum wage. When someone says carhops don't deserve tips, they are wrong. For those telling me to get another job, I have three. I just don't appreciate anyone saying carhops don't do anything to deserve their tips. :)

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tommy92026 Apr 16, 2016

    I just went to Sonic in San Marcos, CA tonight and ordered a hot dog and mini tots for 4 something. I always tip, and i gave the carhop a $20 bill, and was planning on giving the carhop the coins. The carhop came back and said here is your change $15. I felt passed off and violated that he didn't give me my full change, even though it was going to give it to him anyway. I won't be going to Sonic anymore, or if I ever do I will walk up and get the meal myself and won't tip nothing. This really pissed me off.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    respectisearnednotgiven Apr 01, 2016

    for all of you that work at sonic, you should know that you are NEVER to ask a guest if they want their change, you are also not suppose to ask for tips, if you provide excellent service, you will more than likely get a nice tip, if you don't then oh well, that's your job and you knew that when you got hired. You are also suppose to run/walk fast to every car and deliver with a smile and read back the order, people tip those who go out of their way for them. that is what you get paid for. I have been at sonic for 5 years and worked my way up through managment if you aren't standing for the sonic brand then you have no business working there. you're not only making yourself look bad, but you are making the company look bad, your guest sees an unhappy employee and why should they tip you? you aren't doing your job so why should you be tipped for being rude? if you are nice and friendly and read back the order and do your check backs you are more than likely going to get a tip, most tips come from check backs. I don't know how most of you still have a job because if you worked at my store all of you would be fired, it obviously comes from poor managment, because I surely make sure my carhops do their jobs and if they want to be lazy and not do anything worth recieving tips for, then they get wrote up, 3 write ups and you are gone. when the customers gets involved, so does your job, you should be fired.

    0 Votes
  • As
    ashleyonwheels Jan 15, 2016

    I have been a carhop for many years! I will say it is not a hard job, but it's also not an easy one! My example I am a very reliable dedicated hard working employee. I come to work on time clock in and get straight to work! I lift 50 llb boxes of ice cream on skates to fill the machine for the shakes you ordered! I lift 40llb buckets of ice so your beverages are cold! I stock all day/night long so that your order doesn't take longer than necessary to receive! I get chewed out for unreasonable things I have no control over (an item you think is overpriced) I freeze in the winter and burn up in the summer. My feet hurt at the end of the night because of the skates I wear for your entertainment and for the one of a kind sonic experience. I take multiple orders on the headset and on my tray. I do all of this with a smile on my face. The parking lot is full and you get hateful with me because your order took almost 10 min yet you chose to pull in seeing we were busy . sometimes sonic is understaffed just as much as it's not your fault it is ours neither! Talk to our hiring manager not us! So yes we do far more than walk 10 feet to your car. I am cross trained like many other carhops so I am everywhere helping out! When I bring your food to your car you may think the only thing I did was skate to you with a tray but the items on your tray including your food could have also been made by me! We have good carhops and bad but the good ones always get the end of the stick. I work with many lazy people and I'm dealing with this inside of the store on top of everything else and if I still bring your food to you with a smile then you should put all in all aside think of the things I just mentioned and TIP YOUR CARHOP!

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tashena holmes Jan 03, 2016

    I pulled up at sonic around 1 something in the afternoon oder my food I was sitting there for more than 30 minutes never seen my total on the screen my drink had ice in it I didnt want any ice and my food was cold.

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    NikiRobinson Sep 11, 2015

    Well lets see...where should i start? I have been working for sonic on and off for over 6yrs. I am not sure about other sonics but the one i work for is amazing! We go above and beyond to make our customers happy. I am a car hop and i skate all day long. Our car hops do way more work than any other worker in the store, besides our general manager. Through out the entire day i bounce around from one station to another. I take orders, I make the drinks and/or ice creams, I bag up the food and also watch the kitchen workers to make sure they are making the burgers correctly, after im done bagging orders i go around the counter and scan for the order then deliver the order (on my skates) to the customers. I throw peoples trash away for them if they ask, i sweep up trash off the lot that customes throw out of their windows, i ask if there is anything else needed and if the customer needs any other condiments or napkins or even mints, i go back inside and then bring them whatever they need. And just to mention this again the whole time i am bouncing from taking orders to making drinks to taking out orders or whatever I AM ON SKATES! My feet kill me by the time i get home at 6pm. I love my job! i love skating! and i love the fast pace environment! Luckily we have a great general manager that knows how to treat him employees and pays them well. But don't for one second believe that a car hop does not deserve to be tipped because they do!!! and also i have worked as a waitress before, at olive garden, and sonic car hops work 10 times harder than any waitress could ever imagine...waitress have about 3-5 tables to take care of at a time. car hops have over 30 vehicles to tend to all at the same time. Oh and by the way i am 28 years old not just some kid trying to make extra cash, i have three children to raise.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hannah54321 Sep 06, 2015

    Hi guys-
    I am 16, and i work at sonic . This is my first job. I am trying to prove to my parents i can make it in the real world just like most teenagers. To see how everyone feels about what i go threw on a dailey basis is awful. My boss has now implimented a rule where if you work at the drive threw window you are on a tip wage of 6.05 an hour, last time i checked they did not do that at burger king or McDonald's. I can work an 8 hour shift (with one 30 minute break if im lucky) and only make maybe 5$ in tips. And at the end of the night when the computer asks me how many tips i made and i put in 5$ my boss gets pissed. APPARENTLY were supposed to put in enough in tips to make us to minimum wage. So 8hours x 2.22 is how much im supposed to type in, wel if i dont make it then i dont make it, sonic cheats me out of my money making me say that i made more "bring home" money then what i acctually did. I am not hear to offend everyone. I am here to let you know that if you wanna see the carhops stop "Begging " for your change so that they can go home and support there kids then call sonic corporate and do something about it.

    0 Votes
  • So
    soniccarhopper Jun 29, 2015

    I would like to point out that carhops at most sonics don't just carry your food out. From the time you press the red button to the time you receive your order the car hop does most of the work. The car cop takes your order, if there is drinks/ ice cream the car hop makes the drinks and ice cream. The car hop bags your food. And then takes out your order. All while being expected to take other orders, make other drinks, bag other food, take out other orders. Some car hops even help cook the food.
    I do everything from fountain and ice cream to cooking and
    expediting. It's actually a really hard and stressful fast paced job for less than minimum wage. However I would never ask for ️Tips. I make about 15$ average in ️Tips. On a really great day for me 40$. BUT my sister works at another sonic nearby and some days can come home with 75$ in ️Tips. I always attempt to give people back their change but 90% of the time they say don't worry about it. Especially when it's just coins. That's probably why some car hops expect it.

    0 Votes
  • As
    Asap Smitty Feb 08, 2015

    Ill just say I'm 16 and work as a sonic carhop roughly 14.5 hours a week. I honestly make about $100 in tips in three days when i work Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. The other day i was the only carhop and it was busy. I made 97.00 in one day. I dont think Sonic carhops should be asking for change. If you do your job well youll make good money. But i do understand that a lot of people tell you to keep coin change and just want their cash back. So it does seem like some carhops may start asking "do you want your change?" and I think they aren't asking about the cash just the coin change. I also love working for sonic, ive worked at grocery chains before and i find it really boring to just stand around ringing orders up all day. Im content as i make more than my friends do in a week and they work more hours.

    0 Votes
  • Ij
    ijustwantmoney Dec 19, 2014

    I actually just started working For sonic as a carhop.
    I'm 16 .
    I get paid $4.00/ hr. Kinda sucks when you only work 12 hours a week.
    Tips actually do help. And I feel as if we (carhops) deserve it. We have to take 2-3 orders out at a time and remember which is which. I've made $40 in tips in a week. I think its because I'm nice to the customers . But my manager told me by the summer time.sonics gonna be very busy and everyone's gonna have more hours .. which is great because I got paid today.. and this paycheck sucks. Ill be looking For another job next year. One that pays more.

    0 Votes
  • M1
    m1zzk1mberly Nov 14, 2014

    First of all i work at sonic 6 sometimes 7 days a week i take orders cook the food bag the food make the drinks take it out to the car and always double check on my customers in the heat rain snow and now freezing ###ing cold and im a full time college student who doesnt have rich parents to pay for school so yes i rely on my tips to pay my tuition installments and have bus fare to go to school clear across town and sometimes i dont even make tht. So b4 u all go criticizing us u try working here busting your ### for less than minimum wage... n for those of u saying get another job. If the economy wasnt so ###ed up maybe i could. Sonic is the only job tht i culd find. So get off your high horses

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hate rude people Oct 06, 2014

    Ok I get that this was posted a while back, but I need to say something.

    I work at sonic and I occasionally do ask if a customer would like their change. I don't ask this because I'm "trying to take their money", I ask because customers aren't very clear when they give me their money.

    I work in Texas and it can get very hot here. We're expected to run back and forth in 100 degree weather, and get paid 3.50 an hour. So yeah we do rely on tips. I greet every customer with a smile on my face, so all I'm saying is TIP FOR CHRISTS SAKE. If you're buying a $2 drink, you can afford to tip at least 50 cents. We put up with a lot of bull crap from customers, and we deserve at least a tip.

    1 Votes
  • Sl
    slaveworker Jul 12, 2014

    Also something I think worthy of mentioning is if we spend too much time with the customer we get YELLED at for being SLOW. You shouldn't take it as being rude if the carhop acts like they're in a rush. The management yells at you for anything and everything, most of which we can't help. I had to give extra ketchup to a customer once, I was yelled at because I had 8 other orders to take out! It's ridiculous. There is no way to win if you work at sonic. Do me a favor and don't go to sonic if you don't tip.

    1 Votes
  • Sl
    slaveworker Jul 12, 2014

    I work at sonic and i can honestly say it's the worst ###ing slave job anyone can ever have in their life. It's so frustrating and stressful coming home with 5 dollars in change after working like 10 hours without a break. I don't want to blame customers for not tipping because most of them don't even know! It's the whole evil body that runs sonic. Bosses are cheap and don't care about you and your pay. You best believe if you lose any tips it comes out of your pay. Also it's ignorant and completely ###ed to say get a new job. Take into account: location, lack of vehicle. Alot of people who work at sonic don't have a vehicle so they have no choice but to work there, and there's no way they're ever gonna have money to buy a car..

    1 Votes
  • Op
    OptimisticSummer Apr 05, 2014

    I'm am 16yo Sonic car hop in Texas and just like the rest of us, I partially live off tips (I make enough money to pay one family bill from my paycheck and since my parents have no job, I am supporting my family alone so no get another job or get an allowance bullcrap applies here). My job is to make sure the right order went on the right try along with the right drinks. Make sure you get straws, peppermints and anything else you want. When I walk up to a car. I wait a moment for you to notice me, then I smile and say my name. Then I read out your order and start handing you food. Once I've finished handing you every thing on the tray (while smiling), I remind you of your total politely. (Pretend its 6.58) You hand me a twenty, I pull out a ten and three ones and a quarter, a dime, a nickel, and two pennies, then scoop it up and hand it back to you. Then lastly I ask if there is anything else I can get you (all the while smiling even though I do all this 100 times a day and my feet and back ache constantly no matter where I am or what I'm doing). You may say no or if you really liked my service you give a tip. I DO NOT EXPECT A TIP AND I ALWAYS HAND BACK ALL YOUR CHANGE UNLESS YOU TELL ME NOT TO BEFOREHAND. I love my job because I get to do something that helps other people, even though I may not like how it effects my body or the amount of pay. If I ask if you want your change it is because (normally/most of the time) I might have not heard what you said when starting to pull out change, even though you might be talking to someone in the car, if you said it in my direction, I want to make sure it wasn't you requesting for something. I would hate to forget to give you something you wanted. PLEASE DON'T MUMBLE AT US, WE AREN'T MIND READERS.

    Little Known Facts:
    **If a carhop messes up on your change, they are either new or having a rough day (when I mess up, I blush and apologize a lot, and if you try to hand me a tip after I that, I ask "Are you sure?" because I feel like I just ruined the world! So please take my comment into consideration when dealing with embarrassed/new carhops) BTW you can tell they are new if 1) They are NOT on skates, 2) They are wearing a hat*, and 3) They look flustered or scared, have a hard time understanding the acronyms on the receipt, and are quite slow at getting you change (or pull out a calculator like I did my first week)
    **We, carhops, fight to bring you you're order. There is one scanner and that scanner is what tells us where you are and your order number. We have to scan to get YOUR SPECIFIC ORDER. The more orders we do the greater possibility for tips and/or sweet customers and/or getting a better position ( there are several types of carhops *signified by wearing a hat or visor), so yes we run to the scanners and run back after deliveries for the chance to meet you wonderful people (NO SARCASM INTENDED). I honestly love meeting chatty customers because even though it give me a bad average on my scan time, I get to meet some really nice people and learn something new.
    **Lastly, when your order is messed up (not drink wise***(like mayo instead of mustard type thing, not completely wrong order thing)) we had nothing to do with it. We do not cook your food at all. ***If your drink has coffee, soda, or ice cream and we are not wearing a visor (even if we are, we probably didn't make it considering we are car-hopping not drink-stationing), then we didn't make it. BUT, YES THERE IS A BUT, If you got tea or a slush (and is messed up) or the cup is broken in anyway, that IS our fault, and If it was me, I would apologize and get you a new one and politely decline your tip if you try to give one unless you insist because, like I said, I feel like I ruined the world by messing up your order.

    Thank you for reading and taking into consideration the next time you go to a Sonic... (:

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    skatehop Sep 26, 2013

    i work for sonic here in kansas. It is in our job description to WOW the customer. We never ask the customer to tip us. I always give the customer ALL of their change. I get tipped very well because I don't make the customer feel rushed, I try to make their visit as comfortable as possible and if there is any problem with their order I do everything possible to make it right. Obviously those carhops don't like their job and don't take pride in what they do for a living.

    0 Votes
  • Jl
    jlyn77 Aug 20, 2013

    Yes I just had a car hop in ROWLETT, TEXAS ask me "How much change do you want back?"--I think this is very inappropriate and rude! Obviously if I wanted her to keep the change I would have said so-- ridiculous!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kitkat96 Aug 15, 2013

    I am a carhop in another state, and I must say, The girls at my sonic, and i myself do ask customers if they want their change, if its a few cents or like 35 cents or something, but it's not just to keep their change or to get a tip. Honestly, coming home with tons of pennies, nickels and dimes is more trouble anyways so it's not as if I'm trying to keep it, but most times people tell us to keep it anyways, and we ask before we have to dig all of it out of the stupid changer around our waist because once that's done and the people say "oh yeah, Nevermind, keep that" it becomes a hassle sometimes.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Riviera maya Aug 12, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sonic need to go back to its roots!!! I live in Oklahoma ---- not far from the home office of Sonic. When Sonic was smaller they were the best! -- best food, best customer service, etc but now it is a different story. The carhops at my Sonic DON'T ASK -- THEY JUST KEEP THE CHANGE AND WALK OFF. No matter how small or how large the amount. a few months ago our carhop asked to keep the change -- we said no and she walked off anyway!!! ------------ now they don't even ask.
    Dear sonic, remember where you came from and what is important!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hardworker2002 Jun 29, 2013

    I have worked at Sonic for 11 years, 6 of which were as a carhop. The pay wage is determined by the managing partners and their bosses. Here they make minimum wage or better. Tips are not required but very much appreciated.The carhops do work very hard. And I do agree that if they are smiling and polite and made sure you were happy then if you want to tip them. But if you have a rude carhop or a bad experience let the manager know. How else will we fix the problem. But carhops should never ask if you want your change. You earned your money if they are doing a good job then they will earn theirs. But also please remember that sometimes they are hurting. Or they had someone scream at them and call them names, even make them cry. Sometimes a tip or a kind word and smile will make them even nicer the next time they see you. And just because I don't have a degree doesn't mean I am less than you. I love my job and do care about my customers even the rude ones. I just hope we all remember that we are people too and we all matter no matter what our jobs are. Just be nice to each other.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    cubbydoo10 Mar 19, 2013

    I am transferring to a Sonic that pays $6 per/hr plus tips. I do not know how corporate gets buy with paying carhops $3.13 per/hr plus tips. At these Sonic's that pay that low of wages, I think a sign should be placed on each of the speakers that carhops are paid at a tipped wage. Half of the people that go in there don't even know you can tip.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    cubbydoo10 Mar 05, 2013

    Yes, Jack that is stealing and them people should not have a job if they are stealing customers money. It can be a very discouraging job as a Sonic Carhop but no one should be stealing a customers money. No you dont have to tip but remember carhops do just as much waitresses do at a sit down restaraunt. Most of us get a tipped wage at $3.13 per/hr.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jack256 Feb 26, 2013

    Here in Memphis the carhops just flat out steal your change not once or twice, but every time. As soon as they have your money, they run back to the building . It doesn't matter if the change is over $5 or whatever, your not gonna see any change. After this happened on every visit to Sonic drive-in, at different locations, i will never ever go to sonic again. People should not have to be robbed just to get something to eat. I didn't know they made so little until i read tis complaint board. I would be glad to give a tip if they wouldn't steal. This is unacceptable and police should be involved !!!

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    Sammycookies Feb 25, 2013

    First off, I'm 16 and I work at Sonic as a carhop, as well. I have many people give me the money for their order, I go through the trouble to make their change, then they tell me they don't want it. The only time I ask a customer if they want their change is when their total is say, $5 and they hand me something like a 5 and a 1. I don't agree with normally asking people if they want their change, but I can see why some carhops do it. We get yelled at, written up, and even fired for not delivering food in a timely manner so if a customer hands us too much money, sometimes we are unsure of their intentions. I have gotten some complaints that carhops don't spend enough time with the customers but if we spend more than a few seconds with each customer, we can get into serious trouble. Carhops who don't RUN or skate are often sent home and given less hours for being "slow". A lot people don't realize that sometimes we really are just too busy to sit there and chat. I work a lot of the time with only 3 or 4 people, meaning I'm the only one giving out orders, I'm the one giving out food/drinks/ice cream to both the drive through AND the stalls. I'm also the only one making your orders (besides cooks). On top of bringing out your orders, carhops are expected to take your orders (hence why many of us wear headsets), make any drinks, make ice cream, make food if the cooks need help, bag said food, deal with any complaints, and keep the place clean. Whilst doing all of this, we're expected to make tips. Carhops who don't make tips (at least in my Sonic in Spring, Tx) get yelled at, have their hours cut, and, eventually, are fired. I always try to smile and be pleasant but it does get hard when people haven't been tipping all day and you know that YOU'RE the one who's going to get in trouble for it at the end of the day. Overall, people should tip at Sonic because carhops do A LOT more than regular waitresses do. Waitresses don't usually have to RUN in the heat/cold/rain, clean the bathrooms, deal with people driving off, make food, wash dishes, sweep the parking lots, clean tables, etc. Yes I have heard the "you should get another job" argument but times are hard around here; there aren't a lot of "better" jobs to be had and I'm good at my job. Even so, I have been offered higher paying jobs and even waitressing jobs but, first, I have to save up enough to buy a new car. A lot of people have to take whatever's closest to them because of transportation issues (I live and go to school within 1/4 of my Sonic, or else I would have another job by now).

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    nik stew Aug 23, 2012

    GHM78: So...your calling sonic employees dumb for having a job & working, unlike most teens these days? I'm a teen and I make a living just fine myself. Just because your older does not mean your wiser, I'm sorry. You seem like one of the idiots that think they're better than people that work in customer service just because you get paid more. Which you are not. And I'm sure some people would like to work somewhere else, but can't find another job. So if you want a burger, go get a burger. But remember...those "idiots" are the one making it for you;)

    0 Votes
  • Gm
    GMH78 Aug 07, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Teenagers dont know the fist thing about making a living. Especially the dumb ones that work at Sonic. You have to be a complete idiot to keep going back to a place to make $3 an hour. Work somewhere else fools. If we want a burger, we will get one. We dont need you to bring it to us begging for money.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    BlueDreams Jul 23, 2012

    , i work at sonic and i feel the same way jasnjett and dezi wezi feels you dont understand what we go thru especially if you have a [censored] boss, im 16 and its been hell but money is money, it wouldnt hurt if you could show respect called common courtesy be a real american and tip at least 25 cents. it doesnt hurt to give. if you worked at sonic you would understand and would want some kind of tip too, and by the way you get trained to ask if you want your change back, were jus doing our job. some respect it and some dont. if you wanna fight and be a [censored] about some spare change, then dont eat at sonic.. plain and simple

    -1 Votes
  • Du
    Ducky87 Jul 19, 2012

    I always thought it was normal to tip your carhop. They are essentially a waitress. I realize that Sonic is a chain, but we have a small town drive-in where I'm from and everyone tips. It's too bad that so many customers going to Sonic don't realize this. It's no wonder some restaurants have gone to writing in a minimum tip on your bill.

    -1 Votes
  • Ni
    Nikki Stewart Jul 19, 2012

    I think everyone needs a taste of workin with the public. They would change the way they think about us car hops at sonic, We have it alot harder than alot of other fast food places. people think all we have to do is bring their food to them and we don't deserve a tip for that. What they don't realize is we bring their food, check back on everyone every 8 minutes, sweep everyone's trash, clean the tables and chairs out front everytime someone leaves from them, make drinks and ice cream, bag their food, take their orders, sometimes make the food, keep everything stocked and clean inside, and tend to the customers every need as soon as they need us. Atleast thats how we do it at the one in South Pittsburg. We get in trouble for standing around unless were on break. I think that deserves a pretty good tip. We are just like waitresses except at a drive in not a indoor resturaunt. If your car hop is very friendly with you when they bring your order and do their job right THEY DO DESERVE A TIP! tips are what we live off of & we depend on them. I wish yall could work as a carhop for just one hour & yall would change yalls minds! I promise!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lily_Lou May 02, 2012

    You all are so rude! a carhop is a waitress! you just dont have to get off of your lazy butts and go inside! I work at a 50s style drive in similar to sonic, but less chain restauaunt/fast foody, since everythings made fresh to order. And what we do is exactly like being a waitress, only out in the sweltering heat and the blistering cold. IT IS WAITRESSING WITHOUT WALLS. Any drive in is just an outdoor restauaunt! And for those of you who dont tip, I hope they spit in your drinks! RUDE. I seriously cannot believe you people. I have also been a normal waitress in an indoor restaurant. And being a carhop is 10x harder. So you can all stop being stingy penny pinching jerks, and try paying a 15-25% tip just like you would a NORMAL WAITRESS.

    -1 Votes
  • Mi
    MISTA YUMI Feb 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    lol yo first of all i hold in northwest ellet magizine as a top northwest fighter in amiture and i am one of soverreagions top fighters so ya and ya 2 inches of rock hard rofl
    so stop trolling n00bs and tip the people that are serving ur lazy nerdy ###

    -3 Votes
  • Mi
    MISTA YUMI Feb 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ya i was talking to the punk talking crap and don't worie bout me bro i go to work and say nothing i am friendly and have great work ethic but off worke its me time and i do and say as i please bro so dont judge me i just hate ungrateful pigs so ya and i would beat ur punk ### given the opportunity trust tat ud be a 1 hitta quitta and i am no longer na convict u see i paid my fines and all is expunged as of 2 days ago so ya blow me n00b

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MISTA YUMI Feb 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    KDE look KDE no need in being rude i for one am cover in tatts and have been to prison all when i termed 18 i am now 26 with a kid on the way and i cage fight for what tips i can get there and regret every thing i did that got me here but i cant change the past only worke on the present and sonic was kind enough to give me a job when no one for last 2 years would some of us have no choice so if i see u at my sonic expect me to pull u out of ur car and beat the hell out of and take ur money u ungrateful child ps if u wanna meet and challeng me name place and time and ill get u for every damb pinny looser u are the thief tight pocketed punk AND ALL U OTHER LOOSERE WHO ARE TIGHT WADS TAKE UR BUISNES ELSEWHERE GREEDY FOOLS

    0 Votes
  • It
    It's Just not Right Dec 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How sad is this! We are blaming these young people, but isn't this instead exploitation? Sonic is the guilty party here. Minimum wage was created to protect the employee from this unfairness. The employee is responsible to pay their employee, not the customer and the tip is a gratuity, a gratitude for good service. As a customer of Sonic I never knew about this until my nephew worked there, which leads me to believe others may be ignorant of this fact. In fact, no one even believes me that any company can get away with this, which led me to this website today, trying to confirm my story. Unfortunate, the story is true. What law has Sonic broken and what fines do they owe on top of being closed down.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    satxcarhop Aug 26, 2011

    To jenn m...
    As a carhop at sonic for over 4 years, the reason sonic does not have a place for a tip is because when the credit card machines were first put out there (i dont know how long ago) some of the carhops would change the numbers in the tip line to get some extra cash. So to avoid lawsuits or what have you sonic decided to stop printing the tip portion on your receipt. And have you ever noticed you never have to sign anything? Its also because its alot quicker. Really you dont have to give like 2$ a couple quarters or some Spare change lying around in your car is fine anything helps. we do actually do more than pepole think because ya'll only see us bring out the food. So next time if you do go back take a second and look in the window you 'll see us making drinks, bagging food, and TAKING YOUR ORDERS. It is actually a stressful job im not complaining. But if you see the carhop that brings your order out, run (like actually run not a little trot) ((or skate)) past your car about 5 times, im pretty sure you can take a hint that theyre working their butts off. So im sure you could spare a couple of quarters :)

    thanks :)

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carhopper Jun 19, 2011

    Sonic carhops at corporate make 3.13 an hour & we are suppose to smile, ask if they need anything& say press the red button if you need anything else& have a good day! We are suppose to care for our customers first.they are nice & will remember you.but good tips always help make the day better: )

    0 Votes
  • Br
    BrittanyS. Apr 17, 2011

    I am currently a sonic carhop in PA. I have got to disagree. Carhops who are friendly and nice to their customer get tipped very well. It is all in the attitude of the carhop. Also many customers will pay their bill and not expect to get change and commonly will say "keep it" when you try to give them change. Asking if they want their change only clarifies wether or not they are tipping without being outright rude.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.