The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Simmons Beautyrest pillowtop mattressDefective/poor-quality mattress causes back pain

I purchased a king-sized Simmons Beautyrest mattress set from Easy Life Furniture in 2004. I paid about $1800 for the set and recommended bed frame. This is a lot of money for me, but I was pregnant with my second child and really wanted to have a comfortable bed so that I could get plenty of rest, so I went ahead and invested in it. It was super comfortable but I noticed that it was causing a lot of lower back pain. I had to start seeing a chiropractor and it turns out the the mattress just started breaking down very quickly. It has virtually no support anymore.

Recently I moved and was living in some temporary housing for a few months. I decided to store my bed and use the queen-sized bed I had in our guest room. I didn't really think much about it, but I no longer had back pain in my lower back. However, I did think about it 2 weeks ago, when I finally got settled into my new place, with my Simmons Beautyrest mattress back in my room and out of storage.

Wow!! My back pain was back and worse than ever after a few nights back in my bed!!! I had to go see the chiropractor repeatedly and couldn't move without severe pain. Now I continue to see my chiropractor and I am managing the pain, but it has not gone away. I feel it every morning when I awake. What a bummer!! I can not afford a new mattress and have since gotten rid of the queen bed because I downsized to a small apartment and only needed one bed. I wish I kept the other one!!!

This mattress is just poor-quality and has gotten soft and mushy. I would have tried to replace it but it also has a couple of stains and I remember the mattress store salesperson stating that the warranty would be void if the mattress became stained in any way.

I would be interested in joining a class-action lawsuit if one gets set in motion. Please feel free to contact me for this purpose.

Responses

  • Na
    napervilleuser Jul 12, 2011

    From the research we have done, the company is well aware of the problem but refuses to address it. They have a test "If an unoccupied mattress has an indentation of more than 1 1/2 inches, then the mattress is considered defective and will be replaced. In reality, the problem does not occur when the mattress is unoccupied. The problem is lack of support caused by defective memory foam. We have owned ours for just over one year. My wife and I have a combined weight of less than 300 lbs. We had Carson's inspect it. They said it only is indented 3/4 inch, so claim denied. They told us to try back in six months. If it goes to 1 1/2 inches, then the mattress will be replaced. This tells you they know the unit is defective and will only worsen over time. But what they are hoping is that you will not be able to endure the back pain for any additional time and you will purchase something else As a precaution before you have an inspector out make sure the mattress is mounted on a proper bedframe or platform, perfectly secured and all surfaces level. Be fully aware, the real purpose of the inspection is to find a reason to deny your claim. They are looking for any excuse whatsoever to get out of replacing the mattress. If they find one, your chance of ever getting a replacement is nill.
    Be also cautious of another fact. The memory foam problem is not only found in the Simmons brand. So purchasing a Sealy or Serta and anyone else's may not solve your problem. The best alternative is to buy something with a lesser amount of memory foam meaning stay away from pillowtops. Also, since these mattresses seem to have a short lifespan, purchase the most inexpensive unit you can find which will satisfy your needs.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    macpenn May 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hey scubasuz, your story fits the description of mine quite well. In January of 2007 I purchased a Simmons Beautyrest Alliance, CalKing from Macy's. I think it also came from the clearance center. This was the SECOND Beautyrest I'd owned. The prior one I purchased in 2000. That one was so defective that Simmons sent a mattress inspector to my house, reviewed the gaping divots in the mattress and offered me a replacement model. I should have known not to purchase another one but I was told by Macy's and others that they had overhauled how they produce the matresses and had moved on from the days of the double-sided flippable mattress. Apparently this one is no better. Where I sleep there's an indent. Where my wife sleeps there is an indent. I am a normal height/weight so there's no reason this mattress would be seeing huge indents and a lump in the middle after 4 years of usage. Am interested to know if you've pursued anything further with the company.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Salida Mar 01, 2011

    I bought the Simmins Beautyrest Pillow top on 2-2-2011 at $1500.00 which I haad saved for a year to be able to buy it without having a credit card bill. We have slept on it for a total of 16 days. Like all of the others we both have much back pain. It already has slump spots in it.
    When they delivered the set I needed a step stool to get in bed. it was so high. After much complaining they decided to even change the frame & Box Springs (King size). I'm 81 & my husband is 88 yrs. we certinally don't need these problems. We are certinally not satisified with the bed and cannot afford to buy another one.
    I'm waiting for JC Penny's to send out a rep. to check the mattress.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mattress Sales Associate Jun 15, 2010

    What was the position of the mattress when in storage? Vertically standing or Horizontally laid down?

    0 Votes
  • La
    lazyrunner Mar 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've had my Simmons Connoisseur Alexander Glen Pl for less than a week and can't sleep on it already. When my husband and I lay on it there is a hump in the middle of the bed for the entire length of our bodies. This causes us to sleep on a slope. For the entire night it feels that we are falling off the bed. My legs and back hurt trying to hold my body steady. I can't even sleep next to my own husband anymore!! The hump/mound is in the way. I've submitted a warranty claim to Simmons. I'll update this posting when I get a response.

    The less critical problem is the height of the mattress and box spring. I did not have to jump to get on the bed in the store when I bought it at Pilgrim Furniture City. I'm heading to the store tomorrow to complain about the sneaky sales tactics that omit this important information.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael James Faris Dec 19, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Simmons Beautyrest pillowtop mattress I agree when will the lawyers wake up to sue the MFG.
    Simmons wake up before it is to late.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Torpedo Nov 25, 2009

    I am on my second Simmons Pillow top. I originally had a Sealy mattress. That mattress went bad in a couple years. Even though there was still warranty on the mattress; I did not purchase the proper frame for it so my claim was denied. I continues to sleep on this mattress until the back and neck pain sent me to the Dr. thinking I really tweaked my neck. I finally broke down and bought a Simmons mattress after the sales person talked me into it. I purchased it in the beginning of 2008. By the end of the year; this mattress was sloping to the sides and causing me neck and back pain. Learning my lesson form the previous mattress fiasco; I was sure to purchase the mated frames and the special mattress cover. In feb. of 2009 my neck & back pain got so bad; I finally filed a claim with Simmons. they sent an inspector out and did replace my mattress. Mind you I attempted and begged them to replace it with a regular old mattress that I can flip, or allow me to pay more to upgrade to a better mattress. Long story short; I was told that I HAD to get the same mattress. I accepted their offer under duress. Eight months later I am suffering neck and back pain again. I feel like I am sliding off the bed and struggle all night long to keep in balance. Fortunately Simmons is sending another inspector to look at this mattress. It is a terrible product. I will not accept a like exchange again this time.

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    sparkle.sf.beauty Oct 06, 2009

    I recently bought a Simmons Beautyrest pillowtop mattress as well. I was having back pain every day with my old Simmons mattress and BAGGED the seller to please find me a mattress that would not hurt my back. I had a Plush Sealy that was awesome and I wanted to buy the same. But this seller kept on trying to sell me this Simmons model. Bummer!! It's being 1 week I bought it for 2400 dolares and I feel so much pain!! I had to sleep on the floow last night. Now I can't return it to Sleep Train. I am still trying to see if I can return it, maybe loose some money, but get the Sealy I wanted before. Advise: Don't listen to the sellers.

    1 Votes
  • An
    anewday Sep 26, 2009

    I also purchased a Simmons Beautyrest pillowtop mattress. Mine was a queen size Alliance purchased from the Macy's clearance center in Los Angeles for a sale price of $700. I guess the up side is that I didn't pay as much as I could have. The down side is that I am having my very first daily back pain episodes and it's only the first few hours of the day, after I rise form my Simmons mattress. I purchased my mattress in April 2007 and the intensity of the back pain has doubled from last year to this year. This mattress didn't even last 3 years. I sleep alone and weigh 135 so I'd hate to hear how these mattresses are wearing for couples.

    Times are tough right now and I don't have even another $500 to replace this mattress. Very angry with Simmons product and would strongly advise others to think twice before buying one. The pillowtop breaks down very quickly until you have no support and a nagging back. My prior bed lasted me over 10 years and was fabulous. It was a Serta but can't remember anything more.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.