Simmons BeautyrestThere is something to hide

G
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I tested a Simmons Beautyrest mattress in Kirschmans Furniture Store in Metarie, La. The bed was wonderful in the store. I had the bed delivered on Jan. 17, 2004. It was a Simmons Beautyrest Avenue edition bed. Also purchased was the recommended bed frame and mattress pad. The bed was fine for about two months, then I noticed that it started to sag and cause back aches. I contacted Kirschmans about the problem several times, as the recorded info for Simmons warranty advises you to do. I received no response. This went on for about 2 years. I finally got someone from Kirschmans to assign a service ticket for the bed to be inspected. No one showed up nor called.

I since had to move from La., due to hurricane Katrina, to California. I contacted Simmons directly and filed the claim. Simmons sent someone out from Sleepteks to inspect the bed. The inspector used a metal measuring tool, placed it across the bed and specifically told my finance and I that there was "definitely a defect with this bed." He further advised that we should call Simmons if we don't hear from them within a weeks time.

I received a letter from Simmons stating that they would not warranty the bed because the there was a red tint on the surface of the mattress. This tint was cause from using red sheets on the bed. Furthermore, they stated that they would not warranty the bed due to it not being in an approved frame, even though the bed was used in a frame recommended by the furniture store. We purchased a new bedroom set approximately 3 months prior to the inspection, which has more cross member support than the metal frame it was purchased with. Simmons further stated that the bed depression wasn't sufficient enough to warrant replacing the bed. I asked to have the tech report sent to me which Simmons denied. They stated that it was property of Simmons and "none of my business."

Simmons is only looking for ways to not cover their product. When we buy merchandise we as consumers should feel confident that we are buying quality and have the assurance of the warranty, which is one of the selling points. I feel that Simmons has misrepresented itself and feel that their actions are despicable.

Additional note: After telling Simmons reps about the conversation with Sleepteks rep. They said that he was not supposed to tell anyone about the findings and that they would look to have him fired. I believe that there is something to hide with that statement alone.

Please respond with further complaints or any advise on this matter smb!!!

Responses

  • Ja
    Jackie Harris Apr 22, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with you completely. My husband and i bought the simmons/bradley/exceptionable, king size for nearly $2600.00 and that d*** thing broke down after only 6 months. Sagging and you wouldn't believe the yellowish stains all over the mattress. And believe me, it's not human stains, if you know what i mean. I couldn't tell you how many times i called with no response. It has now been 5 yrs. And I'm sure it's not covered now. We have no idea who to contact to get results in this matter. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bonnie Pollok May 29, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We just purchased a Simmons Beautyrest queen size set in March 2007 and by April 2007 (only 1 month) it had 3" body depressions in the head and center of the mattress. We purchased it from Vermeulen's in Jackson, Michigan for $1,299. When we called for service all they wanted was the "law tags" that we didn't have. The service rep said it looked defective but he never followed through with us. No one has ever returned our calls and the "poor girl" in the service department only says "sorry". You're right - we're sorry. Sorry we purchased a Simmons Beautyrest and sorry we did business with Vermeulen's Furniture. We asked to talk to the owner and he's always in a meeting or out on errands. So, we're going to small claims court.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mark lane Aug 15, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also bought a simmions beautyrest cal-king mattress, with a lot of the same results, sagging and the bed rail has broken twice in 3 and a half years. Supposed to be warranty of ten years had an inspector come out and was denied replacement, because of a small burn mark on the mattress. What the hell does a burn mark have to do with crappy manufacturing??? You can sure bet that i will never purchase any simmions products ever again. Also sleepteks inspector was very unprofessional and acted like an ###, so as far as i am concerned you people at sleeptek suck...

    0 Votes
  • So
    Sonja G Dec 28, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a Simmons Westerkerk California King in April 2006. I am 5'8" 150 lbs. I am physically fit and don't have physical problems. My 55 pound dog sleeps near me. I was told by the mattress company that this combined weight was well beyond the limit of what this bed would hold. By this summer, 2007, my back and hips began to hurt so much I was thinking there was something wrong with me. I even went to the doctor and had an x-ray. She told me not to lift anything heavy, so I have cut back on doing so. It seems crazy because I have never had problems lifting and carrying things but I gave it a go. It's now December and my back still hurts and is getting worse! I finally figured out it's the mattress! It sags so much in the middle that I can barely turn over at night. My hips hurt so much to turn over, it takes my breathe away. The pain in my back seems to be radiating from my hips. Rather than my hip pain coming from my back. I just checked how far the mattress is sagging and I would estimate it's 4-5 inches. I doubt I'll get any refund or replacement based on everyone's comments here. Also, I didn't buy their boxsprings. Mine were only a few years lold and in like new condition. I was told at the time that my warranty is void if I didn't buy them. So this $3000 bed (I paid $1800 on sale) is now worthless. I cannot believe how badly it sags and how poorly it has held up. I will not buy another Simmons bed regardless of the model.

    0 Votes
  • Up
    Upset Cynthia Jan 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We also have had problems with the Simmons Beautyrest. We have had two of them, both bad. We had our bed for ten years, even thought it was not bad, we decided since both my husband and myself have back problems, it was time to buy a new bed. We purchased a California King Simmons Beauty rest because of the name and thought it had a good reputation. After only about 3 months the bed had big sags. We called the furniture store and they were very helpful in getting us on touch with the mattress rep. They came out and after much arguing, they agreed to take back the bed telling us it had a rare defect. They would not refund our money but said we could get another bed from them, an improved model. Relunctant, we agreed. Again, after a few months we started to see sags. Calls to the reps went unanswered. After talking with many store owners, and others, we find that many people have been having the same problems with Simmons Beautyrest. It is unacceptable that one pays thousands of dollars for a bed that is of such poor quality.

    We now have ordered a special bed made for us from Day Bed and Mattress in Santa Cruz. They made one side a litle softer for my husband and one a little firmer for me. The top zips open so if our needs change the bed can be adjusted. They use the highest qualiy materials in their beds and stand by them. We will never even consider another Simmons Beauty Rest mattress and will tell everyone we know about this problem.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jessica Morales Jan 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We bought the Simmons Beautyrest Westerkerk mattress in July 2006 and after about a year it started to sag. This mattress cost $3,300 and is supposed to be a non-flip mattress that is an "ultra super pillow top latex ultra plush" model. We did not purchase the box spring but did put the required wood slats underneath to provide proper support. Sleeptek is supposed to come next week to inspect it. I am betting money that they will say because we didn't purchase the box spring that our warranty is invalid. I am so glad I read all the other complaints however because I am armed to go back to Simmons and complain in a legal format. My husband and I are both in physical therapy for our lower back SI problems. It is a direct result of this stupid mattress!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris Mar 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My story is almost a carbon copy of what everyone else has said. Saggging causing major back pain and resless nights. I bought my mattress 60 days ago and have been complaining since day one. The sales person sold me on the warranty. I do have an indent/defecit in my bed, however, after 2 months it's a quarter short of their 1 1/2 inch warranty. I guess I figure it will only take days before I get there, yet you can have an inspection every 6 months. I cant sleep on this mattress because no sleep is acually gotten. My PULL OUT couch is providing me a better sleep. I have TRIED to make contact with all people they have directed me to, but I seem to only get recordings and incorrect extension numbers. As consumers do we have any right?

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Bent Back Apr 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have written to the BBB in Georgia (where Simmons bedding is based) and basically they just relayed the messages back and forth between the company and I. When the company decided to just close the case BBB relayed the results and close the case. I don't think that it is fair that this business or any other business for the matter, can promise any customer whatever they feel and just renege whenever they feel. There should be penalties or consumer protection laws in place. I was advised to contact the consumer affairs governors office for them to investigate, but I don't think one voice will be enough.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Bent Back Apr 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Furthermore, make sure you go to Consumeraffairs.gov for georgia. Make note that it is not the same as .com.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lori Shreve May 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have the sags on both sides of the bed, I bought the Simmons rejuvenate lumbar
    back support. Non flip. I called the simmons number off the web site there is a recording that tells you to contact the place of purchase but we have moved from
    Florida to South Carolina. They sent someone out to measure the sags. He told me he works for four different mattress companies and 95% are about sags. ours measured
    13/4 and 1 1/2 inches. He said generally speaking it needs to be at least 1 1/2
    He told me they usually give a credit voucher or a new mattress. The person that answered the phone said that the majorityof complaints were about sags, so Simmons
    are well aware of the problem. I suggest each person call BBB they need a certain number of complaints before they will take action. Also call the news stations in your area 5 on your side ABC, CBS, NBC all have cunsumer help. The person I talked to said she was in Atlanta Georgia. My matress states it was made in Charlotte, NC. Mine still had all the tags attached. I am waiting for a response as they just inspected it today.Bought july 2004 today May 9th 2008. Keep mking calls and complaints you will find RESULTS!!! God Bless All.With a good night sleep.

    0 Votes
  • Ml
    ml Jun 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just purchased the Granite model of the Simmons Beautyrest mattress from sleep country canada (extra firm mattress) and am super worried. I just got the mattress today and the seams are already coming apart! I am totally afraid now about the near non-existent warranty and sagging.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nancy Jun 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Was the Sleeptek's inspector's name Ken? He did the same thing to us with the metal rod (which was taped together and totally flimsy. He also lied repeatedly about himself, winking the whole time as if things were fine. He lied blatantly in his report to Sealy about our Stearns & Foster mattress inspection. He did none of the things he told them he did during our inspection. He didn't even turn over the mattress! He had no business card, so he wrote down telephone numbers that were not the ones on Sleeptek's web site. When we complained, Sealy said he was a great employee who'd had no complaints ever in his years of inspecting? (He told us he was retired and took the job because he had to get out of the house once in awhile). Sealy said we could wait 90 days or pay $45 and get another inspection from him immediately. What a joke Sealy customer “support” is, about as much of a joke as their mattress “support”! What a con man Ken is! Con men just love Nevada! Which is where Sleeptek does business from (with nothing but a Post Office Box to boot…). Don’t expect anything from them.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    IRIS SIMMONS Nov 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I signed up for a $4.99 introductory tooth whitening kit, not an $88.97 unauthorized debit to my account! That money is grocery money for 5 teenagers! THE NERVE!! Never again will I buy something like this online!!! I had better see a credit and TODAY!...

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chuck Nov 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a Simmons Beautyrest West Hampshire model in 2002. The mattress is supposed to have a 10 year warranty. I contacted Simmons when an area of the bed was not providing support when I laid on it. The company sent someone out to look who took measurements and pictures. Simmons then told me that it was not a manufacturing defect and that the pillowtop was contouring to my shape. I tried to explain to them that it is not the indentation/compaction of the pillowtop, but the lack of support provided by the springs in the mattress. BUT, no one in their customer service department could comprehend my statements. I have now filed a complaint with the BBB.

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    Phil Jan 25, 2009

    I totally agree. I am having the same issue with Simmons as I write. I called and reported an issue nearly two years ago. Just recently I finally got them to send out a local tech to inspect the mattress. He conceded after the test that the mattress was sagging beyond the allowable limit. He indicated that Simmons would send out a letter in a "week or so." That was a month ago and I have heard nothing...

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    buttercatz Mar 02, 2009

    I have the same issues. They are crooks. I am all in if someone starts a class action law suit. I have pictures, evidence and a near perfect mattress that is sinking 2 inches . Just erect a web site and I will find it!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Bedding Sales Mar 03, 2009

    There has been one thing that I noticed when people complain about the bedding they purchased. I noticed that people fail to include in their complaint the full make and model of the bedding and if they purchased the mattress and box spring or just the mattress. This information is extremely helpful to the consumer. Blaming the company in full is not the way to go when you just had a bad experience with one particular model, customer service rep., whatever. I don't believe that makes the company that makes the beds bad to deal with. I sell beds for a living and maybe our company is different but, whenever one of our customers has a problem with a bed they purchased from us, we are more than happy to rectify the situation ASAP. Most of the time the problem is a comfort issue and they don't give the bed time to break in. Other times, they don't purchase the box spring that was meant for the mattress so they get sagging and then there are the occassional manufacturers defects. I have noticed that a great deal of people when they shop for a mattress they look at price. That's NOT how you shop for comfort. You have to lay down on the mattress for a couple of minutes to get a feel for the mattress. Pick a couple of very comfortable beds, then work on pricing. YOU CAN'T PUT A PRICE ON COMFORT OR A GOOD NIGHTS SLEEP!! So PLEASE!! Think about what I just said before criticizing a company for one defective product. You can say something bad about a lot of beds from all manufacturers, but you can also say a lot of good things about them as well.

    0 Votes
  • My
    mysterelover Oct 15, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Bedding Sales Nice try. I LOVE my nine year old ComforPedic Mystere. I bought an adjustable bed as the base. Both work fine together.
    I recently asked and was informed that this mattress would be fine by itself on a platform bed. So, how can Simmons reject sagging mattresses due to not having the "right" frame for it?

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terri Mar 05, 2009

    These mattresses are simply the WORST. We've had to replace ours THREE times in the last eight years, forking out big money each and every time. We've complained to the distributor (Sleep Country USA), which said that the sagging is NORMAL. I asked, "Doesn't that speak to the need to get a mattress you can flip in order to minimize the routine weight wear?" We were told, "No, these mattresses don't need to be flipped - that's the beauty of them. . . " Blah, blah, blah, blah. . . Whatever it takes to make the sale. In the meantime, my husband and I routinely wake up with significant back, hip and neck pain that's only getting worse. My question is this - which mattresses perform better??? Not even ConsumerReports.org has a comparitive analysis available!

    0 Votes
  • De
    dennis Mar 12, 2009

    Add me to the list . I purchased a Beautyrest Exceptionale cost $1800. Within 3 years the backaches started. We never thought it could be related to this relatively new mattress. Indeed it was. Lucky for us we purchased this mattress through Carson Pirie Scott. They sent out an inspector and he said we did qualify for a new mattress, he said it must be defective. My new Beautyrest Black "Edaline"was delivered this morning. It was an additional $300. for this model. I hope I don't regret getting another Simmons. Up until reading these posts I had assumed my experience was unusual and isolated. The one thing that I am confident about is Carson's customer service if I experience problems again.

    0 Votes
  • Ol
    Oliver Mar 23, 2009

    We owned the above mentioned mattress a very short time when it began to sag on both sides. When it was still less than two years old I made a claim with Simmons. They sent out a form with specific instructions for measuring the "gullies". The deepest depression was approx. 1". Simmons has denied the claim stating that this is normal and to be expected. They say it is contouring to the shape of our bodies. Several letters have gone back and forth to no avail. They seem to be responding to me in a preset manner and refuse to do anything to help me. The bed is completely uncomfortable and we are really forced to sleep in the deep gullies.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Measha Mar 23, 2009

    I bout a Simmons Beautyrest from Sleepy's in Phialdelphia and it is the worst bed i have ever slept in!!! I paid 1700 dollars... that's right... $1700!!! Thge bed sinks inalmost 11 inches when two people get into the bed. I am 130 lbs at 5 foot 10 and my boyfriend is 195 at 6 foot 3. We are not over weight and it is impossible to sleep in it. I bought the box spring and it makes no difference. If you are lookinginto this bed... DO NOT PURCHACE! they will not give me my money back due to a small stain the size of a dime, they said it viods the warrenty but clearly agree the bed is defective! this is horrble. They just told me too bad and let it be. So now i have a ### bed and am out $1700. I will NEVER but from them again.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    charlie harper Mar 23, 2009

    I work for a retail company that sells simmons. Its not uncommon what you're going through.

    I have seen it from every brand, simmons, bedford, sealy, serta, kingkoil. Beds can start to sag or form body impressions over time in sets that are defective, however. All of the manufacturers are aligned in their warranties. The sag has to measure 2" or more. The bed must be supported by an appropriate boxspring. If it's double, queen or king... there must be a centre support leg on the frame to the floor. Otherwise, the warranty is void. Also if there are stains on the bed, the warranty is void. I suggest you ask them for a copy of the warranty and measure the bed monthly. Use two people to hold a string over the affected areas and use a ruller set in the centre of the dip, take pictures. Once it reaches 2" go back after them.

    1 Votes
  • Fr
    Fred Mar 30, 2009

    My wife and I purchased a Simmons Joseph Abboud pillowtop bed about 5-7 years ago. Having had a prior good experience with a Simmons wool-top bed, we wanted one that had a wool top and thus would breathe better. This was the best mattress that J. L. Hudson's had at their store, and I remember paining over spending almost $3, 000 for a mattress... but was assured by the salesperson that Simmons was the best in the industry and they stood by their products. Wow, reading all of these complaints now makes me realize that we are certainly not alone in our dissatisfaction with this product. Months after we bought it, my wife and I both began to notice depressions in the bed surface. We assumed some of this would be normal, and that perhaps it would not get worse. Since J.L. Hudson stores were taken over by Macy's we didn't feel we had any recourse to go back to the original seller, so we never lodged a formal complaint. Now, several years later, both my wife and I can hardly get a good night's rest on this bed, and we are seriously talking about getting a new mattress even though we really can't afford to right now. Like others have said, I get a better night's rest on a couple of the couches in our home than I do on this bed! I don't think I would want another Simmons product, but it would be nice if we could get some financial consideration for our troubles. I would also be interested in joining a class action suit. When you charge the kind of money these people do for a product that is basically simple materials, there ought to be enough profit in it for them that they can stand behind their product!

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Adam Apr 06, 2009

    Bad news on two fronts: Simmons Pillow Top and Simmons response to defective mattresses. In October 2004, we purchased the top of the line Beechwood Summit from Simmons (Mattress Gallery in a Southern California store). Out of the box, the mattress was uneven and caused sinking into crevasses. Since this was contrary to the showroom experience, either: a delivery mistake was made, the showroom mattress was not what Simmons delivered or we had a rare defective. No, it was the proper delivery. Assuming the latter we went through the defective policy inspection routine. If you make a defective claim (even on a brand new mattress) then you are in for a treat. The 3rd party inspection company (Sleepteks America) uses tools and methods that are less advanced than those used by Barney Rubble and Fred Flintstone. I won’t humor with their mattress company biased process; just pray that you will not need to go through it. In the end they determined that the mattress was within specification; not defective. This was not a surprise since they really do not test anything. Rather than sue (which was a real possibility and would only be appropriate for Simmons and Mattress Gallery), we chose to do the comfort guarantee return (a feature that they offered if you are not happy with the comfort of high end mattresses after a purchase). We selected a non-pillow-top mattress of the same brand-model. It worked. Recommendations: 1. Assume that your warranty (even when brand new) is worthless 2. Do not buy a pillow top 3.

    0 Votes
  • Il
    ILoveMyBed Apr 29, 2009

    Most of these complains are unfairly directed at Simmons and should be aimed at the dealer who left you in the dirt. The problem is most of these complaints are purchased from huge companies/furniture stores. When you go to them for help, you are a policy, not a person. Try shopping at specialty sleep shops, review the warranty policy, and get to know who you're spending your money with. Listen for key words like hassle free warranty. Places like www.sdmattress.com offer great coverage less the cost of shipping which they make pretty reasonable. We had a similar problem after about a year with a pillow top mattress we bought in 2005. All we did was send them pictures showing the mattress wasn't stained and showing the problem. It was $150 to exchange the mattress and about 2-3 weeks later, the new mattress arrived and this one has been fine. My previous experiences with mattress companies were similar to these other posts, but This time I went with a family owned business and they treated me great.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    legit May 19, 2009

    This just happened to me today. I bought the Simmons Joseph Abboud top of the line with the cashmere top, the fanciest mattress they had at their store. Initially they avoided me for a year then they sent out someone and took measurements and left. I received a letter saying to follow the instructions and that could not exchange it. I have bought every single thing they recommended and paid in excess of $2500 and yet now that there are depressions deep enough to cause both my wife and I to have backaches due to the bed and a very obvious valley with a center, . This is a no flip mattress too. I am ticked off enough at Macy's and Simmons to know I got ripped off by Macy's and that Simmons puts out a crappy product. I talked with a Sleep train sales person and they said Simmons knows it had a problem with their old product.. this is false advertising in my opinion and action should be taken against MACY's and SIMMONS... I recommend a boycott of both these companies until they take action.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    ripped off in wyomissing pa Jul 06, 2009

    We are in the same situation. Bought a Simmons Beautyrest in February. Sagging 1 5/8 inches (not enough to warrant a new mattress). Called, complained, sending same man out tomorrow to do a bed check. Probably will find the same results. I plan on calling all the news stations and filing a complaint with bbb. Hopefully someone smarter than us read theses complaints before buying a simmons. Definately do not go to Sleepy's!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jolly good promos Feb 01, 2010

    We bought a supposedly top of the line beauty rest pillow top, it was from a store going out of business 7/08. I started getting ear infections 2 months later (first time in my 50 year life ) Plus all sorts of sinus problems and fevers on and off as high as 102 at times. Over the last 14 months I have spent well over $8000 in medical bills co pays to try and solve the problem. # ENTs, 2CTs, 2 MRI's and even a TMJ specialist plus enough antibiotics to cure a small village. Still no answers, We too noticed all the Brown spots on the mattress and they kept getting larger along with the sagging. We bought the bed as is, due to they said it was just placed on the floor so no factory warranty. I contacted Simmons and they could of cared less. I made a complaint with the consumer protection agency, they may or may not take the case. We since in the last three weeks have switched out the beds and wallah no more fever or sinus problems, still have ear pain but is subsiding. How can these manufacturers be so greedy to care less that they are making people ill. Anyway, I sent out the info with pics to the CPA. I urge anyone who has problems to do the same, maybe they'll finally do the right thing. I am self employed and along with the expenses and travel, I lost over $50, 000 in lost sales due to the down time of being sick. Please anyone who reads this, file a complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tammy Gar Feb 04, 2010

    20 years ago, we bought a Simmons BeautyRest bed, and LOVED IT!... but did as most do and decided it was time for a new bed. We went to American Signature Furnature in Daytona Beach FL, and bought the most expensive, plush, pillow top...Marquis "Summerville" King Bed. Our thought was that the top of the line bed would be the most comfortable! After one night I knew the bed was terrible! But in fairness we wanted to give it time to get adjusted! Now a year has past... I can not sleep in the bed. My husband and I fight over who GETS to sleep on the couch! He has finally convinced me to go back to the store to see what they could do! They offered to send out a tech to take measurements and see if there was a defect in the bed. The tech showed up exactly on time... and was very courteous. He said the bed was sagging in the middle (and not on each side like you would normally see with normal body impressions) and was obviously defective!!! Within one hour American Signature Furnature called to tell us the tech reported more than a 3.5 inch depression in the bed and they wanted us to come pick a new bed! Today we went back... asked the very knowledgable sales woman which bed would be MOST like our old (20 year old) bed. Apparently, years before all this new foam stuff came out, before latex foam, or memory foam, it was just regular old pillowtop! They had one. Seemed like the bed we used to have but it was half the price as the one we bought! It was the "CLASSIC" model. We have decided to try that bed! We have high hopes for it! They are delivering it next week and will pick up the old bed, and they are giving us store credit for the difference in the price! I feel like Amercian Signature has gone over and above what they needed to do to make us happy. I HOPE AND PRAY that I like this bed, as they have said that we can not switch it if we don't... but they will honor a warranty on it! I hope we are able to get a good nights sleep in it. I am keeping my fingers crossed that the GOOD ole' 'classic' is going to be "THE ONE" for us!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alajoh Jul 29, 2010

    Same problem. Is there a class action lawsuit ongoing? Our original mattress failed the warranty after only 8 months we had sags of more than 2 inches. The replacement from Simmons is doing the same thing. We both have restless night. We are about ready to buy another. 2500.00 down the drain.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    skubydoo Dec 01, 2010

    Incident = I had purchased a Simmons NXG in February 2010. In August my husband was complaining that he felt like he was rolling off the bed and in September I actually looked and noticed a bulge so large (for a bed under a year old). It was so unbearable he literally was sleeping in another room and I called to complain. I was told it would be 2 weeks until an inspector would call with an appt and we were called and the soonest appt was the middle of October. We waiting and that day the inspector (from BEDCHECK) cancelled and told me a person would be coming back from leave and servicing my account. I was actually never called and called Sleepy's 5 business days later to inform them of my lack of communication. I was then called by Vicky, inspector number 2. I had a date scheduled again and that day she cancelled. She rescheduled for a Saturday 1.5 weeks later. She no showed. I called sleepy's who not only gave me the run around but who blew me off and was told w
    ell she was no longer working there and guy number 1 was going to be on my account. We are working on 2 months now. He comes the day before thanksgiving. Looks at the bed - tells me happening to all of my beds (again spending $2400) and that the defect was beginning on my side now.

    I have to then call Sleepy's who tells me that my husband who literally is falling off the bed that the damage isn't bad enough and that the warrantee won't cover. Sleepy's will do a partial credit.

    Between customer service, their third party inspections, and their lack of service...I would suggest that anyone, anywhere never purchase from this company. It has been a headache, heartache, and wasted thousands of dollars as well as work time for a true issue that is left unresolved.
    Damage Resulting = Loss $2400 for a bed I have had for 9 months, plus not able to sleep with my husband for 2-3 months

    0 Votes
  • Ks
    KSadie Jan 23, 2011

    Same thing here - I bought a twin-size Simmons Beautyrest Hudson at Sleep Country Canada and started complaining about 3 months after I bought it - it was sagging and sinking in the middle and I would wake up with a bad backache every morning. I am only 5' tall and 115 lbs so it couldn't be a weight issue. I complained to Sleep Country, but since it was past their 60-day return policy, they would not take it back without a fee of $250 for a new mattress. They sent someone out to measure the mattress, but only when no one was on the mattress and found no defects (duh! It's like bringing in a car into the repair shop, turning the engine off, and saying, "There's an noise coming from the engine when I drive it, " and the technician saying, "I don't hear anything with the engine off, so there is no problem.") I ended up flipping the mattress over (even though it is not supposed to be flipped) and am now sleeping on the side of the mattress without the pillow top! My back is feeling better thankfully; however, I could have bought a basic mattress for a lot less money and a lot less hassle. The pillow tops are terrible and a real scam.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike06 Feb 07, 2011

    Could not agree with these posts more. Bought a queen beautyrest on 9/28/07. The mattress started sagging around summer 2010. I contacted simmons on 1/17 and they scheduled an inspector to could out to look at the mattress. The inspector used a weighted string placed across the mattress with a ruler to measure the depression in the mattress. However, the inspector's tactics were very underhanded. He pressed down on the mattress but before he took the photos he talked to me about the acceptable numbers that simmons needs to see before they will consider the mattress defective. Then when he was done talking he took his pictures. Looking back on it now I cannot believe I did not catch this trick at the time. By the time he took the photos the depression number was at 1 3/8 inches, this is what he wrote in his report. Coincidentally simmons requires a minimum of 1.5 inches. So my mattress was off by 1/8 of an inch. If he had taken the picture without talking to me it would have easily ready 2.5 inches. After this I received a letter in the mail saying the claim was denied and the level of depression that we had was considered normal wear and tear BULL$*&$. I sent 4 emails to [protected]@simmons.com requesting the contact information for a supervisor or manager with the warranty department, I never received a response. Today I called them and the customer service woman that I talked would not give me any contact information for a supervisor, she said I could leave a message and she would make sure it gets to the supervisor... yea right, I'm sure, just like my emails were replied to. Then she said that my warranty claim had already been denied and I could open a new claim again in 90 days but "I would just be wasting my time because that one would be denied too" ... those were her exact words. What a despicable company with despicable customer service reps. I am going to invest in a memory foam mattress as soon as I can afford one. I am also going to cut the pillow top off the simmons mattress and take video of what I am sure will be defective coil springs (which is the case with the majority of beautyrest complaints) and I will then post this video online. I have already submitted 2 BBB complaints and I am going to spend as much time as I can getting the word about about this garbage company and their products. I already told my story to 2 women at a sears department this past weekend and steered them away from buying a simmons mattress (they bought a stearns and foster instead). At least I know that by word of mouth I can get some level of satisfaction by informing others about this company, their horrible products and awful customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Vu
    Vuyer Feb 08, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On 1/17 I contacted simmons related to our 3 year old beautyrest mattress sagging. Simmons opened an inspection case 477494B/fa. The mattress inspector came to check the mattress. His inspection consisted of running a weighted piece of sting across the mattress and placing a level bottomed ruler in the middle of the mattress so that the actual indentation would be measurable. He then pressed down on the mattress and while the mattress was resetting to its normal position he then took a picture and said that it was 1 3/8in depressed and simmons usually requires 1.5in depression to replace the mattress. Well, I can assure you that this mattress is far more than 1 3/8in depressed. The sag in the mattress is more than noticeable to the naked eye. Chatting to me while waiting for the mattress to rise ensured that the inspector got the type of numbers that he wanted. This inspection was absolutely flawed and in no way did it measure the type of depression that the mattress is actually experiencing. In addition to this, I have sent 4 unanswered emails to the customer assistance email address that I was first corresponding with. My emails were asking for the contact information for a supervisor or a manager at the warranty department. All 4 emails when unanswered. This type of customer service and warranty service is an absolute disgrace. I am willing to go to great lengths to ensure that many people hear this story and see the actual mattress. I will take the mattress apart if I do not receive a fair warranty settlement, I will display videos of the disassembled mattress online to warn potential customers what to expect with a 3 year old mattress from simmons. I will instruct potential customers how to identify simmons mattresses (even if branded by a different name) and I will definitely make sure that simmons bottom line (their profits) are negatively impacted. This complaint is the beginning of my online campaign to bring awareness to mattress shoppers to avoid simmons products at all costs. I have also filed 2 BBB complaints and a complaint on www.pissedconsumer.com

    Today (2/2/11) I called simmons customer service at [protected]. The customer service rep that I spoke to would not put me in touch with a supervisor or give me any contact information for a supervisor. She informed me that my claim had been denied and that I could re-file again in 90 days but that would be useless because that new claim would also be denied. Such despicable customer service from this despicable company.

    0 Votes
  • Wow! Wish we had found these reviews before we bought our POS Simmons Joseph Aboud King from Macy's for $3k+tax = Over $4000. Our first one smelled so bad for months, we were finally able to get it switched out. The second one smelled of the same chemical, but not as badly and went away after a couple of weeks. Didn't matter though. Within a month we had huge depressions where each of us sleeps on the bed. At this point, it's been probably 5 or 6 years, I've had major back surgery, and will have to have more, which could easily be attributed the failure of this bed supporting my back, and our bed still SUCKS. However, after several stays at Hilton Hotels throughout the country over the years, we have decided this is the best bed we've ever slept in, and today my husband surprised me with the invoice of a brand new King Size Hilton Suite Dreams Mattress & Boxspring, for under $2000 delivered. Each bed is made to order and has a 10 year warentee. We cannot wait!! I think we'll have a bed burning party in the back yard when our new one is delivered and set the Simmons junk bunk ablaze for good!! Any class-actions, I'm in.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    les400coupa Mar 28, 2011

    I was considering buying a king size firm plush beautyrest anniversary mattress for $950 from Overstock but now I don't know. I'm afraid of the sagging issues. I think the reviews/complaints would be more helpful though if everyone stated what model they have and their weight. I was told pillow tops are a bad idea in general because they will dent, so will really soft mattresses like "plush" ones.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    Sleep Number May 11, 2011

    My wife and I bought a king size Joseph Abboud (sp?) model beautyrest super pillowtop, non-flip, etc. $4, 000!! in 2006. Our neck and back kills the both of us. It is even so bad I have found that sleeping without a pillow is more comfortable. The sagging is about 2 to 3 inches; it is worse on her side...she weighs 96 lbs. The sagging occurs in the pillowtop, not the springs (springs will not break down unless the steel's yield strength is compromised due to ridiculous weight on the bed). Her parents bought the exact same mattress at the same time and they had the same issues. Two years ago they had the bed inspected and got the same run-around with no luck. Six months ago they finally had enough and bought a Sleep Number Bed (p5); they said it took about two weeks of sleeping on it and their back and hip pain dissappeared 100%. My wife and I finally became so exhausted from the pain and lack of sleep that last week we went into the Sleep Number store and explained the issue to the lady. She put us on a pressure sensing bed and mapped our body contours, then adjusted the bed to find our individual sleep number that produced the least pressure on the body. We then looked at several models they had (the major difference being pillowtop thickness). We went with the p5 model which has a smaller pillowtop due to the concern with sagging of a thicker pillowtop (any pillowtop will sag to some degree); its pretty hard for 'air' to sag, if we want it softer we can just adjust our number. So, after we picked our bed the lady let me lay down on the p5 and told me to just take a 15 minute snooze (they weren't busy at the time). My wife said I fell asleep within two minutes and even that little amount of time that I slept, I could tell my back, neck, hips, and shoulders were really going to enjoy our new bed. It takes about two weeks to get the bed; we're one week away from getting it...and it just can't get here soon enough. I recommend anyone dealing with sags to purchase a Sleep Number Bed model p5 (about $2, 800 for a king). Do me a favor and tell them Tom Haggarty from Spokane referred you...that way I can try to make back some of the money I've lost on the stupid expensive bed!! Good Luck!

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Diane GallimoreTaylor May 19, 2011

    In 2010, my husband and I bought a Skylar Firm King Size Mattress and box springs from "The Bed Gallery" in Greensboro. North Carolina. About 2 months we noticed that the edge (across the bottom) was sinking in. It was like something inside was broken inside. After calling the store, we were told to take pictures and bring them over or send them. We took pictures and mailed them along with a copy of the receipt. We waited for several weeks for a reply. After calling several times the owner finally called and told us that the pictures didn't show the whole surface of the bed. They had to make sure the bed was not stained. Why would this matter? If I had spilled a cup of coffee on it, what would that have to do with the condition of the broken spot in the bed?? We had no stains and again I sent pictures. We were then told after three weeks that it would cost us $60.00 for them to bring out a new one. This kind of business really SUCKS!!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rosaz May 29, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We looked around for a mattress for weeks & thought that if the company was the same we should be good shopping on line & saved a bit of $. Were we wrong this mattress is so hard on the edges it's uncomfortable to sit the middle gets a little better but not even close to the ones we looked at in stores. So next time we want to save a little $ we won't be shopping on this site. Very poor customer service too

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Janina Carrasquillo Nov 29, 2012

    WOW!! I am so enraged at this moment as I STAND to type because my back and hips hurt so bad after YES ANOTHER HORRIBLE night of little sleep! As I read story after story ALL pretty much with the same complaints, I can only imagine how many others have had the same problems and BAD experience with this company AND their products. This IS UNACCEPTABLE people and WE need to be a LOUDER voice and do something!! I AM suggesting a CLASS ACTION SUIT. I know we personally spent $1200.00 on their useless product, have gotten the run around as far as their NON EXISTING warranty and left to suffer with back, hip and neck pain. I am going to make it MY business to get this rolling IMMEDIATELY. I will be tweeting, facebooking and sending letters to CBS<NBC<ABC and every TV talk show I can think of while I file LEGAL claims and take the steps of a CLASS ACT. Please feel free to USE your voice and contact me via email as I collect as many stories as I can. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE people dont just give into this crap WE ALL DESERVE BETTER!!! [protected]@aol.com TBC

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions