The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Selene Financehelping people stay in thier homes

C Review updated:

Selene Finance is full of deception and falisifing promises. Offering suggestions of what to do which only leads to causing deeper problems in making your situation worse and in an attempt to make it easier for them to foreclose on your property. In the beginning they make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside (Yes that would be you Kevin...) making small talk, calling you all the time, and assure you that their goal is to place you in a more affordable mortagage when apparently their attempt is to do an appraisal to find out how much equity exists in your home. Once they find out the actual equity in your home they bully and try to force those that don't understand their rights out of their home. Now their story changes...saying, sorry, we can't help you, your home is worth too much! Or you don't qualify, after you have already committed time and effort to them and they have promised to have everything wrapped up within 30 days! Ultimately attempting to destroy your credit so that you cannot go elswhere for another loan! Then you are stuck with this BS scam whose sole purpose was to steal your home in the first place and NOT help you, just to find out how much they can make on your home when they sell it in a short sale or Sheriff's foreclosure. We all need to band together and take LEGAL ACTION against this corrupt group of scam artists that pray on trusting families. By the way...those of you that post the positive comments...we know that you WORK FOR SELENE! What goes around comes around...You know what they say about Karma...

Responses

  • Dm
    DMG960 Aug 07, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Good Morning, My home is facing foreclosure.
    I went thru all the steps to try and make this not happen.
    Back last fall I reached out to Selene Finance and went through a loan modification.
    The payments were at an amount I could now afford. I was making my payments up until April
    When I received a notice in the mail saying my payments were going back up to the original amount
    Because my escrow account was in the negative and this was to get it caught up.
    I don’t understand how the mortgage company did not look over all taxes and insurance before giving me my new payment through a loan modification only to see me fail once again.
    I am desperate to keep my house.
    I tried reaching out to Step forward Michigan and was denied because I did not have a life changing event happen to me (hardship).

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bryan Salzman Jun 06, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are in the business of acquiring homes as investments.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    ScaredinNJ Nov 23, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Oh my goodness! They (Selene) acquired my debt and have offered me a mod, that if I accept, the first payment must be paid in 1 week. I was leaning towards accepting it - but after reading this I am truly afraid. I am in NJ - my head is spinning! Yikes thanks for all taking the time to write and vent.

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    tipton Sep 14, 2015

    After reading all the complains against them. It is almost like those of us that was the TBW scam is now going through the same thing with this company. If anybody has had been in contact with a lawyer please let me know. I think they may be including another scam. To long to explain and to many other details.

    Thank you

    1 Votes
  • Dana Shafman Jul 13, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello Selene Finance customers,

    It is absolutely disgraceful not to mention abhorrent and egregious how Selene has treated all of you as customers. With that said, you do have rights and by simply understanding them and knowing how to exercise them, you can hold Selene Finance accountable for their actions. I would first suggest that you visit the CFPB's website at ConsumerFinance.gov to learn more about your consumer rights and you will also want to visit the FTC’s website at ftc.gov to learn more about the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) as that dictates what debt collectors can and can’t do when collecting your debt…Selene Fiannce is acting as a debt collector in these instances.

    We have battled Selene Finance and won with a forbearance agreement issues as well as other debt restructuring issues so just keep fighting until you get the solution that you are seeking. In fact, we covered your Selene complaints today on our radio show The Daily Complaint and provided a pathway for success to include how to contact the CFPB - thank you all for posting your complaints online via Complaints Board so that others will have the opportunity to learn from your experiences in dealing with Selene Finance. There are firm rules in place with regard to mortgage servicing and debt collection but you must know your rights in order to exercise your rights.

    In addition to submitting complaints to the CFPB and FTC, I would always suggest preparing a QWR or Request for information for Selene Finance that you can submit via fax or email – you can learn how through the CFPB by typing in QWR in their search bar. Selene is required to acknowledge the QWR or Request for information per RESPA in 5 business days and answer it in 30 business days or you do have recourse, so listen to us address the Selene issues on The Daily Complaint today and contact us if you need further information on how to not only attack your problem but to get the solutions that you are seeking. You can absolutely hold Selene Finance accountable for their actions while obtaining the mortgage solutions that you are seeking without a legal battle but there is always small claims court if you must battle legally (a minimal outlay of cash versus an attorney and doesn’t require an attorney).

    Good luck!

    Respectfully,

    Dana Shafman
    www.TheDailyComplaint.com

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    chikiis Jun 18, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    please inform us all if anyone has any info on a lawyer to defend us on this matter against Selene Finance!!

    Lawyers & Attorneys, please come fwd & help.

    3 Votes
  • Ch
    chikiis Jun 18, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Im in Tx and i need help on refinacing. this Selene company ia eating me alive with all their bs, scams, the lies and stealing my money... If anyone knows of a good attorney near dallas tx, , please contact me at [email protected]


    and never ever consider them . all they do is steal!!

    1 Votes
  • Ba
    Barbara Schustrich Jun 01, 2015

    I am in the same situation - stuck on the never ending remodification treadmill. How can we find a reputable lawyer to file a class action?

    2 Votes
  • Ti
    Timothy M. Stull May 13, 2015

    Selene Finance is a non bank mortgage servicer, essentially a debt collector. Since they are a debt collector, they must abide by the FDCPA. Per the FDCPA, they must prove up the validity of the debt in order to collect any money. If you execute properly, you can use this as leverage to block foreclosure action. The longer you can block the collection / foreclosure efforts, the more likely they are to roll out a modification deal. This is a long and brutal process with a lot of complex twists. Understand that Selene makes the least amount of money by modifying your loan. They make a much higher profit margin by foreclosing. Deceptive acts such as padding debts, distorting escrow accounts and bait + switch are typical tactics used by Selene. If you do not have an aggressive strategic plan to defend your home, you will lose in the long run. Feel free to call us at 877.297.7011 for free advice on this topic.

    1 Votes
  • Ji
    J I Abernathy May 12, 2015

    They did the same to us. Sent them over 10, 000 they wanted to stop foreclosure for being 3 months behind on house payments of $650 each. Then paid $1100 for three months then after all this received sheriff notice of eviction with court date. They sold house sold on April 7th. So why did they take out another house payment on April 15th directly from our account?
    This company is a thief and liar. BBB does not endorse this company. Too many complaints with several as being unresolved.

    1 Votes
  • Cr
    creoldaddy Apr 01, 2015

    3rd request I have made to selene to send modification forms, and all I receive is letters asking me if I need help I called about a payment I sent and the customer service rep told me that their office was so small that they would know if they received a payment for a large amount. I am going to an attorney and start legal action. something I do want to do.when I call they talk as if I called a church soooo nice.

    2 Votes
  • De
    derrith Mar 13, 2015

    Bank of America sold our mortgage to Selene in September of 2014. This was around the same time I was transitioning from a government job that had laid of hundred of people into another job. I called Selene in November, before my payment was due, just to ask what the grace period was because I knew I would be a few days late due to my new job having a delay on my first check. I did not say I could not make my payment, and I have never been late before or never had I not been able to pay. The representative told me that as a service to their customers they had a repayment plan that I could do. She said I could skip November's payment to help me get ahead and the payment would be divided into three installments added to the next three normal monthly payments. She offered this service to me, I did not ask for any assistance. On the final month of my repayment they pulled my final payment then they pulled $2300 extra dollars out of my account for which I am not sure why. I called them and they were adamant that they did not even though my bank verified this. They would not give me back the money. My bank gave it back to me and they filed it with Selene to get their money back. Two days later my bank informed me Selene was trying to take another $1150 out of my account. I had to pay my bank to stop them from being able to take ANYTHING out of my account ever again. When I called Selene to ask why they were trying to take all this money from me, the individual i spoke to was extrememly rude and huffed in aggravation, and even mumbled ### at one point. By this point I had had enough of Selene and we went to my bank to refinance. Upon doing this, we find out that Selene had been reporting us to the credit bureau as delinquent for November's payment. They reported us every month after. This destroyed both out credit and since we had been reported we were unable to refinance. Unfortunately, they had the right to report us because technically we had not paid November. I felt that they should have informed us this would happen if we did this repayment plan because I never would have agreed to it especially since I didn't really need to. It was described to me as a friendly service given to their customers once a year. Also, this repayment plan was never done in writing. It was verbal. I do not know that if I had gotten it in writing if it would have disclosed this information, but I was never told I would receive paperwork about this agreement nor did I receive anything. I feel that they deceived us and this is NOT how you do business. SELENE DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS. WE ARE JUST OBJECTS. THEY WANT OUR PROPERTY. THEY WILL GET WHAT IS COMING TO THEM. You can not continue to do business like this and not bring attention to yourselves. Reading everyone else's experiences, it is clear to me that this has to end.

    1 Votes
  • Se
    Selene client Nov 27, 2014

    I am currently in the process of losing my house to them. They keep sending my mail to the wrong address. They don't ever answer the phone and they have already increased my mortgage. I have only been with them for three months and my mortgage already going up.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    seleney 1 christ Nov 03, 2014

    too much gas. not enough originality. this is real selene (selene christ) (yes the mother of jesus christ the 2nd) seleney financy is not real. i only and number 1 selene not seleney.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joserr Oct 09, 2014

    I'm very unhappy with Selene Finance, my loan was paid off and 19 days later they still haven't send me my escrow account check. Hello!!! How long does it take to realize that they need to pay the money back!!

    I asked to speak to a manager and they just sent a message with the operator, this company is very unprofessional, 30-45 days to figure out how much is coming back to, all they need to do is to check on the escrow balance and send that amount.

    I guess I should Hate Bank of America for selling my mortgage to them, SELENE very very unprofessional

    0 Votes
  • To
    tony doss Oct 04, 2014

    Bank of America just sold my note to Selene, and that is not a typo. BOA said they sold my note. I am not behind, I am not late, I can afford my monthly payment. Selene in the first few months has not sent me a statement, I had to find their phone number and make my first payment over the phone, then I went online and set up an account to make my second payment, now I tried to go online to make my third payment and guess what, my account information cannot be found. I am now sending a check by registered mail to them for my third payment. I have been in my home making on time payments since 2008. I have never been late. Why is it so difficult to make a house payment? I think they are trying to avoid me to make me late so they can pull some of the crap that is listed above. Beware of this company. I will be taking extra care to get my payments to them, and may bump them up to get my house paid for in advance. Why don't I refinance, You ask. Because I own a manufactured home in the state of Texas and can't refi a manufactured home in this state.

    0 Votes
  • Dana Shafman Sep 17, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello distressed Selene Finance mortgage holders,

    WOW, there are some truly unbelievable things that are occurring over there at Selene Finance and I am truly sorry to hear all that you have been put through at your expense. While I am sorry for the abuse that you all have suffered at the hands of Selene, it is not surprising as we have the unfortunate pleasure of dealing with Selene Finance in the past and they are anything but compliant with consumer rights laws and regulations as evidenced by your complaints above.

    I routinely look for posts to answer in hopes that it will not only bring hope and optimism to those homeowners and borrowers in distress but also some basic information to assist in fighting the banks like Bank of America, Chase, Citi and Wells Fargo that are "too big to fail" but yet don't appreciate the bailout that we provided in their time of need. The debt collectors like ASC, SPS, SLS, Green Tree, Bayview, Caliber, Selene, Ocwen and Nationstar are simply just piranhas but they can be beat at their own game too just like the big banks can be defeated.

    It pains me that you have fallen victim to the illegal, unfair, deceptive and abusive acts and practices of Selene but I commend you for stating then sharing your grief with Selene and other customers in order to assert your consumer and constitutional rights! With that said, many of you have overlooked a key aspect to your fight, which is putting it in writing in the form of a proper QWR and submitting a formal complaint to the FTC or CFPB or HUD or any other regulatory agency for immediate response; it’s sad that it takes regulatory muscle to affect change but it is true. My firm routinely seeks out complaints online so that we can educate as to how to fight back on our weekday show called "The Daily Complaint" where we review a complaint and how to tackle it successfully.

    We reviewed your complaints on the show today if you would like to listen, visit www.TheDailyComplaint.com.

    Selene is clearly wrong in their behavior, regardless of acting as a debt collector or a mortgage servicer, and they have violated all of your consumer rights. Here is a link to the CFPB's new mortgage servicing rules http://www.consumerfinance.gov/newsroom/consumer-financial-protection-bureau-rules-establish-strong-protections-for-homeowners-facing-foreclosure/

    In the event you have further questions, you can contact me via email at [email protected] or via the website at www.ConsultingEND.com or via phone (my full contact information at www.TheDailyComplaint.com) as I would be more than happy to contact Selene on your behalf or with you to determine the status of your loan as well as what options exist for you as a borrower/homeowner...free of charge to you!

    Every new beginning comes from some other beginning's END

    Sincerely,
    Dana

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    New Jersey home owner Sep 02, 2014

    Contact the taxes dept of banking and also hud goverment. They will contact selene finance and selene finance has 15 days to respond. You can also write a letter to reaps and find out who really has your mortgage, as selene finance is just a services, not the mortgage holder
    I my self am going thru all of this right now because they are not cashing my checks... They are trying to push me into foreclosure..

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    FIGHT FOR YOUR RIGHTS ! Sep 11, 2013

    TO ALL DISTRESSED HOMEOWNERS,
    PLEASE DOCUMENT EVERYTHING SELENE FINANCE LP AS WELL AS RECORD YOUR CONVERSATION WITH THE COMPANY BUT ONLY WITH THEIR PERMISSION BY LAW AS THEY RECORD AS WELL. IF THE COMPANY IS ACTING IN ANY FRAUDULENT WAY OR BELIEVE THEY MIGHT BE THEN REPORT IT TO YOUR ATTORNEY GENERAL IMMEDIATELY. THE ATTORNEY GENERAL ARE HERE FOR US AND WILL INVESTIGATE THE COMPANY.

    0 Votes
  • Rc
    Rchavez Aug 28, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have file many coplaints with this company nothing been done if you go to Facebook and go to selene finance complaints theirs somone staring petition with selene you guys should joyed !!! It's on Facebook. Look for Selenes complaints join us

    0 Votes
  • Kp
    KPearce Mar 20, 2013

    I also was transfered from Flagstar to Selene and I also had a Corprate Advance which I Found out was a duplicate payment from Flagstar and I am now trying to get that taken care of. I am worried about dealing with Selene Finance because of all the forums I have seen about it. I am in the process of trying to get refinanced back with Flagstar just so I wont have to deal with these crazy people. Good Luck to all and keep your reciepts, also helps to record the calls in case of a lawsuit.

    0 Votes
  • De
    DeanG1 Mar 01, 2013

    Hi all,

    I completed a refinace last year with a mortgage company and they sold my loan to Selene. I have never been in default and have always paid my mortgage on time, no matter who held the mortgage. Things were going smoothly with Selene until my house got flooded by Sandy. I continued to pay my mortgage throughout the disaster and paid for all of the repairs out of my own pocket. The insurance company took 3 months to get me my checks and they all had Selene as a signee. I was told I had to send them those checks and they would deposit them and then send me the money back once i jumped through hoops for them.. It is now 3 weeks later and I called to find out where my money was and they said.. "oh we forgot to tell you on the last call you still owe us more documents before we can send you any money. They are holding $40, 000 of my money for over 3 weeks and jerking me around!

    0 Votes
  • Ps
    PSHULTZ Feb 21, 2013

    My mortgage was also sold by Flagstar to Selene. I made my 1st mortgage payment to them Jan. 4th. I mailed my payment to them and enclosed my flagstar coupon so they could cross reference. Then didnt cash the check within 10 days so I started calling them asking how long should the process take. They assured me everything would be fine and not to worry. Starting on Jan. 16th I started getting harrassing phone calls and letters in the mail about making my payment and was I in financial trouble. I was very upset about this. It has not stopped ... They have never found my Jan. payment. They requested that I put a stop payment on the check and pay them over the phone for Jan. They claim they will reimburse me the $30 for the stop payment. I have yet to get confirmation in writting and they will not take the $30. off my payment. Almost every day I am on the phone with rude people from there. It has added a lot of stress and as of today I am shopping around to refi...GOOD LUCK TO ANYONE THAT STAYS!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeremy Schmidt Feb 14, 2013

    Company is unwilling and apparently unable to provide the customer with a pay off letter. They provide every excuse in the book.. Over all very unhappy with Selene.. I will tell all family and friends to RUN if they end up with them.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    Worried Homeowner Feb 13, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My mortgage was bought by Selene. I feel very worried as they seem like they are still in the stone ages!!! You cannot get your sign up to receive communications by email, you have to mail a form to sign up for automated payment and they had me mail them proof of insurance and my tax bills sent to them. Basically I have to do their work!!! I had about 10 refi's before and it always happens automatically. Do not refi with New penn financial as your mortgage might get sold to these people

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Selene is a nightmare Feb 12, 2013

    We have been in a "temporary" payment plan with Selene for more than two years, since they bought our loan from Citi. They are a nightmare. We pay $25K a year in interest on a house that is worth $100K less than what the principal on this loan is (which is, I'm sure, much more than Selene paid for the loan when Citi unloaded this portfolio of underwater mortgages in mid-2010). Not a penny of our payments goes to principal. They are supposedly finding us a lender to do a permanent re-fi. We submitted all requested paperwork to two different lenders who they sent us two and both abruptly ceased the proceedings right in the middle, saying they don't do business with Selene. Because the loan is under water, we can't re-fi on our own. And because Selene is not an FHA lender, these loans are not eligible for the government's short re-fi program. Additionally, they no longer answer the phone. So we can continue to pay an obscene amount of money each month for a home we'll never own, or walk away and live with the consequences of a foreclosure, which is ridiculous because we can afford a normal mortgage payment. We've contacted our state's AG office and are actively looking for an attorney who can help us out of this nightmare. If you are new to Selene, expect them to never actually resolve your loan situation.

    0 Votes
  • Oh
    Ohnopleaseno Feb 05, 2013

    Well I'm reading all these comments posted in the last few days and I have to say I'm in the same boat. Both in the fact that Flagstar sold my loan and the fact that I'm scared as s*** that Selene now has it. I'm fortunate enough to be able to pay my mortgage every month, I just hope they take my money quietly, easily, and don't make it a hassle. Seeing all these comments though.. I am extraordinarily nervous! Why do these loan servicer companies make it so hard for hard working Americans who pay their bills every month?!

    0 Votes
  • Nj
    njpeters23 Feb 01, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too was formerly with Flagstar and then all of a sudden got a collection letter from Selene. I had never heard of them. I thought was being scammed, but later found out that they bought my loan. I've never been late with payments. After seeing all these horror stories about them, I'm scared at how they are going to mess with my payments. I see I missed a call from them but they didn't leave a message. They just cashed my February payment, so I wonder what this call was about.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    Won't get my house Jan 24, 2013

    I've been in "negotiations" with them for over 2 years. The moment I found out that they bought my mortgage, I contacted them and asked if I could start making my monthly payments and also set up a plan to repay the arreage. They said no. Well, I can promise you, I have RUN THEM THROUGH THE RINGER. I was offered 10K to move out, known as "cash for keys", I declined it. I've also contacted my states Governor, both Senator's and my districts congressman. They are VERY concerned. I gave them all the details and they are NOT PLEASED!! From conversations with my representatives, there may be an investigation of Selen by my state. I am in the process of working with my local gov't officials to start some legislation to prevent compainies like Selene from doing business in the manner they currently operate. I encourage EACH of you to do the same. I was also offerred a forebearance program. I refused it based on the fact that they could not promise a refi much less give details on condtions of refi. Basically you can pay into your forebearance program for 4 months only to be turned down for a refi. It's just smoke and mirrors, they get 4 months of payments, deny a refi "sorry, you're not qualified" and still forclose. They are sneaky. I also suggest hiring an attorney, mine has helped tremendously. Try to find a lawyer that specializes in representing banks in foreclosers, that's what I've got and he knows ALL THE TRICKS!! I am also in the process of taking legal action against them. Good luck to all of you.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    Won't get my house Jan 24, 2013

    I've been in "negotiations" with them for over a year. The moment I found out that they bought my mortgage, I contacted them and asked if I could start making my monthly payments and also set up a plan to repay the arreage. They said no. Well, I can promise you, I have RUN THEM THROUGH THE RINGER. I was offered 10K to move out, known as "cash for keys", I declined it. I've also contacted my states Governor, both Senator's and my districts congressman. They are VERY concerned. I gave them all the details and they are NOT PLEASED!! From conversations with my representatives, there may be an investigation of Selen by my state. I am in the process of working with my local gov't officials to start some legislation to prevent compainies like Selene from doing business in the manner they currently operate. I encourage EACH of you to do the same. I was also offerred a forebearance program. I refused it based on the fact that they could not promise a refi much less give details on condtions of refi. Basically you can pay into your forebearance program for 4 months only to be turned down for a refi. It's just smoke and mirrors, they get 4 months of payments, deny a refi "sorry, you're not qualified" and still forclose. They are sneaky. I also suggest hiring an attorney, mine has helped tremendously. Try to find a lawyer that specializes in representing banks in foreclosers, that's what I've got and he knows ALL THE TRICKS!! I am also in the process of taking legal action against them. Good luck to all of you.

    0 Votes
  • Yh
    yhd Jan 23, 2013

    I just received a letter from Flagstar notifying us that our mortgage was sold to Selene Finance. After reading all the comments, I must say that I am a bit concerned. We shopped around for Flagstar when we refinanced -- we always research every financial entity before choosing to do business with them. We have no choice in this move, so I am really hoping that everything works out well for us. I always set up automatic payments and it really gave me peace of mind knowing that Flagstar had this. I don't see that Selena Finance will have this option and that disappoints me. I went ahead and made my Feb. 1 mortgage payment with Flagstar just in case Selena is slow getting my payment documents and information in place because this seems to be one of the complaints listed. We have an excellent credit rating and have never been late on our mortgage payments. It looks to me like most of the mortgages that Selena handles are for people who are late and having trouble paying their mortgage. I don't understand why we were sold to them. Could someone explain?

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    B&L Jan 18, 2013

    Same here. We've been with Flagstar for 5 years. We are also current on our loan. I received February's payment coupon, and noticed my payment is $101.50 more per month. Not sure where that's coming from since the loan and escrow are both current. There's also a $616.47 Corporate Advance charge. Have no clue on that one either. After reading these comments, I have to say I'm more than a little concerned.

    0 Votes
  • Cd
    cdbrooks Jan 17, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My mortgage was also just sold to Selene Finane by Flagstar Bank. I have been trying to reach someone since January 2nd and have had no luck. The call automatically disconnects after I listen to the long greeting, or I am on hold forever and the person who finally answers and takes all my information tells me that one specific person is handling my account. Each time tI am told this I am transferred to a vooicemail that always has a different name on it. If one person is handling my account, why am I being transferred to so many different people's voicemails? Also, the people who answer the phone sound like they do not want to be at work at all and some of them sound like they are talking with a mouth full of marshamallows. Where is the quality customer service? I am not pleased at all!!

    0 Votes
  • Ko
    Koopsj Jan 17, 2013

    We were just transferred to Selene too and I just set up our first online payment. I don't see any option for automatic monthly withdrawal. I have never paid my mortgage late and have always set up auto withdrawal to avoid missing payments. I surely hope they have this option. Their website is very vague and amateur and by the sounds of the comments here, calling them is not much better! Not happy about this!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DontBeABarnaby Jan 14, 2013

    My loan from FlagStar was sold to Selene too! Hmm... my wife and I hover at around 800 credit score. We have never been late on a payment for our mortgage, car, etc. I got my letter a month ago and I have not heard anything from Selene. I tried their customer service number only to get " this number has been disconnected or no longer in service (20 times in a row - checking and rechecking the number). I finally got a "back up" number from the complaints department. Here I am on hold for over 15 minutes now. WOW - WHAT A GREAT COMPANY THIS IS GOING TO BE TO WORK WITH! This is the kind of crap that pisses me off.

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    GruntDoc Jan 07, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Also got the Flagstar letter. What's up with them? Perhaps it time to look into a refi, I sure get plenty of invitations in the mail... It certainly does not sound like this is a company I want to deal with.

    0 Votes
  • Hl
    hlwaller Jan 03, 2013

    Dear FruseratedatVMF -- I'm in the same position. Been with Flagstar Bank for 5+ years, never had a problem and received the letter from Flagstar that my mortgage has been sold. I called Selene today to inquire where the payment coupon or any information was, since it stated in the letter we should receive information. Once I finally got someone, she just raved about how great their company is even though the system wouldn't be updated until Monday with my account info. I told her they've made a lousy first impression --- this board is really having me nervous

    -1 Votes
  • Fr
    FruseratedatVMF Jan 03, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am NOT in forclosure, not are we behind all of our payments have been ontime and extra paid each month. Our mortage was sold from Flagstar Bank to Selene Finance. Do we need to be worried?

    2 Votes
  • Sc
    scottyscott1 May 21, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I came on to this website to see if Selene had treated other people unfairly. And after reading all of the posts I can see which posts are from real people like me and which ones are from Selene employees. I have paid my mortgage on time every month for 4 years and made one late payment, only because I deposited a check from someone that bounced so I have no caught up on my last payment that was only 10 days late. I have been trying to get a loan modification for three years and its nothing but ### from the last three companies that have owned or serviced my loan. They have no interest in helping anyone. I have talked to several people at Selene and I think they are truly a bunch of ###S!!! I hope there is a class action suit on this company, But I doubt it will happen. I cant wait to sell my house so I don't have to deal with mortgage companies ever again. I have several hundred thousand dollars of equity in my home but cant sell it in this economy and refuse to give my house away. Cant refinance my house cause my income has gone down sufficiently and banks are not easy to get mortgage money from now.The Obama plan is a joke, these banks don't give a ### about all the money they got a couple years ago. They just use it as bonuses to ### employees to screw over the public. They can do more than they are doing to help people out. I hope when someone they screwed over finds out they have a terminal disease they pack themselves up good and go to a Selene office and goes out with a bang. Maybe then Selene will wake up and smell the coffee!! Until that time FU Selene finance!! I will pay my mortgage and you will never get my home. I will call their office everyday and harass everyone that answers the phone. And I will pay my loan on the last day of the grace period EVERY month and when they call me I will treat them like ### and be a rude as possible to who ever calls me. Karma is a ### Selene!!!

    1 Votes
  • Co
    ConcernedMortgagePayer May 19, 2012

    Wait wait. Someone actually said two posts ago that they are upset that their mortgage company wants them to pay the money they haven't paid in the past few months (so probably longer) Omg. You're living RENT FREE and you want that all excused. I don't understand your logic. Your congressman is going to help you? How about you pay your mortgage every month just like I do. I struggle every month to make sure it's the first thing I pay. You've decided it's too much to pay and probably paid most other bills. I bet they'd help you sell your house. I know you may not WANT to but maybe you have too. I don't live in a 350k house because I can't afford that. My 200k is just enough for me to afford.

    This attitude of "your screwing me by making me pay for my home" is absolutely insane. You lived in it pay for it. What do u do for clothes? Make them from tree bark?

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.