Readers Digest www. Rd. Ca / Nikonfooling us

T
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

for Gods sake, how can you send us a raffle like thing for a nikon l19 coolfix digicam that we cannot find.this webpage doesnt exist!

Responses

  • St
    stan klippenstein May 04, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As a long time customer of RD, I was expecting to be treated somewhat better than I have been.I am receiving a bill for a gift subscription tha I started a few years ago.My son, the recipient of this gift.has moved from Ont to Alberta..That was a year ago. I spoke to someone in your organization many months ago and cancelled my subscription.I now receive my monthly threat to pay a bill that I DO NOT have. I do not respond well to unwanted correspondence . If you believe that your threats are going to force me to pay, you may have to rethink what you have stated.
    Stan klippenstein
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Eu
    Eudene Schurr Mar 04, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just received a bill today for $16.92 which is for the magazine OUR CANADA, a cheque was mailed to you in January 2013 for $30.00 for the magazine, the cheque has been cashed, but now I am being billed for $16.92 - do I get a refund if the magazine is only $16.92 ? I should get back $13.08 - I have received my OH CANADA magazine - my accoount # is [protected] - E Schurr dated March 4, 2013

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nat19 Jul 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Reader's Digest----Bloody rogues!! They forced me into buying a book I did not ask for. While they send you(the subcribers) countless letters, tempting you to enter competitions, somewhere down the line, they cheat you into paying for a bk they drop at your doorstep. If you question them, they simply tell you that you requested for it and then start sending you letters issuing legal threats into paying up. they refuse to take the book back. ###s!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Margaret Guy Feb 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just received my access code but when I went to the site, it said to enter Access Code, I tried but they said that that was an invalid number, what do I do now. Access Code ws 44287

    0 Votes
  • Rd
    RDC Customer Care Jan 25, 2011

    This is in response to cliff wilson, Judyds and Claire Rice.

    My name is Sylvie and I work for Reader's Digest in Customer Care.

    I am sorry to learn that you have been unable to enter the draw but can assure you that the website exists and the contest is valid. The same was true in 2009.

    Allow me to explain that, if you are trying to find the link readersdigest.ca/nikon through a search engine (Google, Bing, Yahoo, etc.), it is possible that you will not be able to access the website to enter the contest.

    To access the URL provided on the card you received, you must type it in the address bar of your web browser (if you need help locating the address bar, perhaps you can contact a friend or your Internet Service Provider).

    You may also click "File" then "Open" in your web browser (for example, Internet Explorer) and type the address in the space provided. Be sure to type the address in lower case as upper case may not work.

    I hope this will be of help to you and I wish you the best of luck.

    If you have any questions, you can view our FAQs at www.rd.ca/contact. You may also write to us at [email protected] or call us at [protected].

    Sylvie Robert
    E-Care Coordinator
    Reader's Digest Canada

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Claire Rice Jan 25, 2011

    I totally agree with the complaints above. I have tried at different times to register to a contest. I have the Access Code but cannot enter it anywhere. Is this a a true contest? Let me know. Claire

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Judyd1 Jan 24, 2011

    I received a code # to enter the readers digest nikon coolpix camera contest and canot find a way to enter the contest. What gives? I notice there a a number of people who had a similar experience in 2009. Is this false advertising or what. Please respond.
    Judy

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    cliff wilson Jan 24, 2011

    I agree wholeheartly with the comments about not finding
    the website for thes e cards you receive with any literature from readers digest, if you are to continue with these contests get your act together

    0 Votes
  • Rd
    RDC Customer Care Jan 24, 2011

    This is in response to woodwinds-r-us.

    My name is Sylvie and I work for Reader’s Digest in Customer Care.

    I am sorry if you are having difficulties entering this contest. I did test the code and was able to enter.

    If you continue to experience difficulties, please write to us at [email protected] We will be most happy to look into the matter for you. You may also reach us by phone at [protected].

    Thank you for your interest in Reader’s Digest.

    Best regards,

    Sylvie Robert
    E-Care Coordinator
    Reader’s Digest Canada

    0 Votes
  • Rd
    RDC Customer Care Jan 24, 2011

    This is in response to Jeepers.

    My name is Sylvie and I work for Reader’s Digest in Customer Care.

    I would like to explain that we did have a previous contest that directed you to rd.ca/nikon. The current contest is at readersdigest.ca/nikon.

    I am sorry if you are having difficulties entering this contest. When you get to readersdigest.ca/nikon, the boxes where to enter the code will appear to the right of the screen, under the camera and above the Continue button. If you don’t see this, I would suggest that you try with a different web browser.

    If you continue to experience difficulties, please write to us at [email protected] We will be most happy to look into the matter for you. You may also reach us by phone at [protected].

    Thank you for your interest in Reader’s Digest.

    Best regards,

    Sylvie Robert
    E-Care Coordinator
    Reader’s Digest Canada

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    woodwinds-r-us Jan 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Strange - the card I got with my magazine directs me to readersdigest.ca/nikon (NOT rd.ca/nikon !) - and I get to the site just fine. However, it will not accept my access code as valid! Strange since its clearly printed on the card, and hard to mistype as its simply 5 numbers. Oh well, I'll try again another time

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeepers Jan 20, 2011

    All the complaints above are about a contest that closed in May of 2009.
    How do I enter the contest that closes March 31st. 2011?
    I went to the special website at "readersdligest.ca/nikon" as directed but could find no where to enter the access code.
    Help.

    0 Votes
  • Rd
    RDC Customer Care Jan 20, 2011

    Dear Mr. Hawrish,

    My name is Sylvie and I work for Reader’s Digest in Customer Care.

    I am sorry to learn that you are experiencing difficulties. I have tested the code and was able to access the contest. I would therefore suggest that you try again, perhaps with a different web browser.

    If you continue to be unable to access the contest, please contact us directly by writing to [email protected] or by calling [protected].

    Thank you for your interest in Reader’s Digest.

    Best regards,

    Sylvie Robert
    E-Care Coordinator

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fred R. Hawrish Jan 19, 2011

    Sorry, the number you entered is not correct. Please press "Back" in your web browser and enter your number exactly as supplied on your invitation.
    I have tried several times to enter the contest for the nikon camera with no luck...
    Can you explain or tell me how one goes about entering...

    Fred R. H.

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    Sylvie Robert May 28, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If you have questions about a Reader's Digest contest or the Sweepstakes, you can write to us at [email protected] or you may call our toll-free number [protected].

    Sylvie Robert
    Customer Care
    Reader's Digest

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    Pianosoft May 26, 2009

    In answer to Stan Roszell:

    My name is Sylvie Robert and I work for Reader's Digest.

    The contest is valid and open to Canadian residents.

    To access the site, simply type the URL in the address bar of your web browser (i.e.: Internet Explorer, Firefox).

    Do NOT use Google, Yahoo, etc. to search for the URL... you will likely not locate the page. The contest is only for those who are invited to participate and therefore will not show up on the main RD website or in search engines.

    Please try again. The contest is open until May 31, 2009 and you may therefore still enter.

    Good luck!

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    Pianosoft May 26, 2009

    Please folks... stop looking for these contests on Google or Yahoo.

    These contests are "invitation only" so they will not show up in a search engine.

    When you have a URL, just type it into the address bar of your web browser and you'll get to it.

    This is similar to a street address. If you have the address already, why would you look it up in the yellow pages? Using Google or Yahoo is akin to searching in the Yellow Pages. Unnecessary if you already have the URL (address).

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    AdMann May 19, 2009

    Attn:

    Anyone unable to enter the contest because of the browser security/re-derect issue can simply still do so by going to:

    https://secure.readersdigest.ca/nikon_bh_may09/login.php

    I am not now nor have I ever been a connected in any manner to RD-

    I came here to compalin like everyone else-then tried again and was in so thougjht I wouls share that with people.

    I suppose some people just have to complain-I find life to great to worry about such small things.

    have a great day and good luck all who managed to get through-I think many of you may have just got a "busy"signal ;)

    1 Votes
  • Ga
    garry s. May 19, 2009

    i cannot enter contest either i have tried all options also the ones listed but cannot enter this is a big joke and i am a canadian subscriber for now . but not for long.

    -1 Votes
  • Te
    ted May 18, 2009

    that means theyre not user friendly eh?

    0 Votes
  • Si
    silvertoes May 17, 2009

    You're a frontman for Reader's Digest, I gather.. peddle your crap elsewhere and go on entering without a problem (as you say) I don't believe a word you submit to this forum.
    You're out numbered by complaints.
    Take my entry along with you. My card and code have been destroyed in a bout of frusteration.

    Let's hear more from the 'real' entrants... those that are trying to be.

    1 Votes
  • Ad
    AdMann May 17, 2009

    If you can not understand the need for a secure https page to eneter a private code then there is little hope for you.

    i sincerely pity you.

    May I have your entry since it is so hard for you to use it?

    0 Votes
  • Si
    silvertoes May 17, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Why should we change our security settings for a contest? Post them like 'normal' contests and get on with it.! This contest was posted for subscribers with a 'special' code. We've paid the money for our subscription, now let us enter.
    Why the hoops to jump throgh when in their everyday contests, anyone can enter without a problem or a subscription.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Admann May 17, 2009

    Please people-the PAGE DOES EXIST!

    The page does indeed exist-though it re-directs to a https secure page so perhaps your browser is not allowing the re-direct.
    Try another browser ot change your security settings.
    That is the first thing anyone should think of when recieving that message-not assume a great and charitable organization like RD

    shame

    0 Votes
  • Wy
    WYMAN DAWSON May 17, 2009

    HELLO IM FROM CANADA I LIVE IN EDMONTON ALBERTA AND I CANT ENTER THIS CONTEST TO WIN A FREE CAMERA CAN SOMEONE HELP ME OR TELL ME WHAT SITE TO GO TO I TRYED www.rd.ca/nikon AND THERE IS NOTHING IS THIS A SCAM OR WHAT

    1 Votes
  • Ad
    AdMann May 15, 2009

    I can only wonder where you all live and if that is the reason you can not access the site.
    Reader Digest is a complelty honest and above board organiozation responsible for millions of dollars in charuy work and support of those in need.To slam them simply because you cannot get intio a web site-which sounds like a technical problem, not a "scam"

    What did they scam?

    I, being Canadian had no problem, ntering the site;the contest is only for Canadians residents who are also subscribers.

    I entered www.rd.ca/nikon and am directed to https://secure.readersdigest.ca/nikon_bh_may09/login.php where I entered my access code and was confirmed as entered in the contest.
    Yes they tried to sell me a sunscribtion to another magazine-but hardluy call that a scam

    This all happen 5 minutes ago 5:10 pm CST May 15th/2009.
    You all should feel ashamed.


    Dear Mr. xxx xxxxx

    Thank you for participating in our Nikon COOLPIX Prize Draw. Your entry has been confirmed. We'll notify you if you become one of our five lucky winners.

    Please visit the Reader's Digest web site for exclusive articles and MORE great prize-winning opportunities!


    Best regards,

    M. Orsini, Prize Award Administrator
    Reader's Digest Canada


    M

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    AdMann May 15, 2009

    I can only wonder where you all live and if that is the reason you can not access the site.

    I, being Canadian have no problem, the contest is only for Canadians who are also subscribers.

    I enter www.rd.ca/nikon and am directed to https://secure.readersdigest.ca/nikon_bh_may09/login.php where I entered my access code and was confirmed as entered

    This all happen 5 minutes ago 5:10 pm CST May 15th/2009

    Dear Mr. xxx xxxxx

    Thank you for participating in our Nikon COOLPIX Prize Draw. Your entry has been confirmed. We'll notify you if you become one of our five lucky winners.

    Please visit the Reader's Digest web site for exclusive articles and MORE great prize-winning opportunities!


    Best regards,

    M. Orsini, Prize Award Administrator
    Reader's Digest Canada


    M

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joanne nadon May 15, 2009

    HEY GUYS, THIS IS GREAT, IT'S EXACTLY WHAT YOU CAN EXPECT FROM THESE PEOPLE AND THE WORST THING IS OUR GOV'T ALLOW THESE, MOSTLY AMERICAN AND MANY LIKE THEM TO OPERATE IN A FRAUDULENT MATTER BUT WILL DO NOTHING!! I CALLED BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU, AB SPECIAL FRAUD DEPT. AND FINALLY THE RCMP WHO TOLD ME THEY DEFINTELY ARE FRAUDULENT BUT THE ONLY THING YOU CAN DO IS GET A LAWYER AND SUE THEM IN CIVIL COURT AS IT'S NOT CONSIDERED A CRIMINAL MATTER!! MY HUSBAND SPENT OVER $10, 000.00 TRYING TO WIN THE CONTESTS SO DON'T FEEL BAD YOU HAVE FRIENDS WHO UNDERSTAND & CARE, ME FOR ONE. REGARDS JOANNE NADON

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frans marinus May 15, 2009

    this is a lousy trick. i am not renewing my subscription to readers digest. you should be charged with false advertising. frans marinus

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stan Roszell May 14, 2009

    I have to agree with the above comments, it is pretty tacky and not what I would expect from this venerable publication that has been coming to our house as long as I can remember.

    I think what we would like is some explanation from RD, we know they put their contests in the hands of Contest Companies, does Readers Digest not care that their reputation is at stake here?

    Lets hear from your RD and quickly. Stan Roszell

    1 Votes
  • Go
    Gordon Hunter May 14, 2009

    Thanks for wasting my time trying to enter a contest. I am disappointed in RD.

    1 Votes
  • Br
    brenda May 14, 2009

    this is more then disapointing, my parents sent me a subscription this year (as well as other members in our family) and I'm sure that this is a scam focused on that volnerable group (our elders). I will call them and let them know that I am unhappy with the Readers Digest mode of advertising. Thank you "complaints board" for giving me the opportunity to see that others are also feeling scammed!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    janie May 11, 2009

    i am verry mad about this stunt about the cameras this is not funny at tall i have ben getting rd for a lot of years and this is madnen i will not be renewing again

    1 Votes
  • An
    Angelbart May 11, 2009

    -=I was really disappointed that the only entry I could find was your complaints location or Our Canada Photo contest. I think that Readers Digest better get their act together. I know I won't enter any more of their contests as I am tired of having to buy something to enter.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    silvertoes May 11, 2009

    I too, received the card to enter at www.rd.ca./nikon with my subscription. They urge you to hurry when entering b/c the draw closes May 31st, 2009.
    First, I'd think they'd have to post the contest b4 closing it. Where is this so called contest?
    Google or Yahoo are unable to find it.
    This is not the first contest that Reader's Digest has sent out with the book urging you to enter and then 'forgetting' to post the site online.

    2 Votes
  • Lo
    Lorraine May 10, 2009

    this seems to be a chronic problem...why try to make customers look foolish.

    2 Votes
  • Lo
    Lorraine May 10, 2009

    where is the site?

    2 Votes
  • Pe
    Peter Clair May 10, 2009

    Do people ever win ANYTHING at Reader's Digest? I will allow my subscription to expire if I don't receive a satisfactory response. Thank you.

    2 Votes
  • Ly
    Lynn Foster May 08, 2009

    Why would you do such a thing as falce advertising

    1 Votes
  • Ly
    Lynn Foster May 08, 2009

    Why don't you have anything in your web page about the draw for the cameras. This is a very low jesture. You should be suied.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.