Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Scam & Fake Checks Reader's Digest / Trusted Media Brands prize money
More
A
Author of the complaint
3:16 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Received a letter from Pepsi Co., co sponsorship with Readers Digest located in Plano Texas stating my wife has won the grand prize of one million dollars. Inside is a check for $5400.00 to cover any outstanding fees that have not been paid by Pepsi Co. directly. Before she is to cash this check, she is supposed to contact a Mr. Ron Pittsfield, a representative, phone No. [protected] ext. #1. with the prize claim #. This check is a citibank check, drawn from Strategic Focus Cities in New York city, New York. This enveloped my wife received appears to have come from Canada. I thought I should pass this on and make your Company aware!

Sincerely Armando Romo

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply

More Reader's Digest / Trusted Media Brands complaints & reviews

108 comments
Add a comment
J
Sep 17, 2007 3:16 pm

Yea. I won a surprise gift. That is what the card read that came with my latest copy of Readers Digest. I hurried to my computer. Free surprise OPPORTUNITY reads the screen. What a sneaky way to solicit for the CD Club. Two free CD's and then one every 6-8 weeks that I can purchase. SNEAKY SNEAKY SNEAKY. I am disappointed with the sneaky tactics to get someone to join a CD or book club.

Helpful?
0 0

I recently sent for a free selection edition, never recieved it, second book came with a bill attached, wrote cancell on invoice, inserted a note explaining that i never got free book or gift, put book in mail for return, yesterday i got another bill, i will return this invoice also, marking it as cancel and another note to state that i never recieved the first one and returned the second one
Thanks, Dale

Helpful?
0 0
J
Aug 16, 2008 3:16 pm

I had a subscription, bought and paid for, THEN, because of my own recklessness, when one of the things for entering your contest came, (if I ordered a subscription) thinking my subscription must have been nearly over, (don't keep track of those things very well knowing you will remind me, I ordered, to get into the draw. THEN, I started to get 2 subscriptions at once. I found the phone # somewhere and spoke to a very nice young man who understood perfectly, AND, he just added the newest subscription to the one I was already recieving.
NOW, a few days ago, I recieved the 2 duplicate magazines again. I contacted someone by e-mail and asked them to once again SORT IT OUT. Yesterday, Friday 15th, I recieved a message on my answering service that there had been some mistake and one of my subscriptions had been cancelled. I could not hear very well, my answering machine is cheap and doesn't work very well, HENCE, I keep following thru with the contests to try to win. Now, it just so happens when I recieved the last message, I was sitting at the kitchen table going thru the lastest contest, AND, LOW AND BEHOLD, I could enter if I placed another order. HELP ME

Helpful?
0 0
R
Jul 27, 2016 3:16 pm

Ok I got a bill in the mail saying I owe money I never ordered jack.it sent me a free book.I'm only 15.Me and my family saw on the book you get $50, 000.So we did it in they sent me a bill I'm going to report them.Or they better stop it.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jun 07, 2016 3:16 pm

Anyone else out there as disappointed as I am in the so called Reader's Digest : "Win 1 of 3 Sony GPS Devices"? I've been receiving this magazine for more years than I can count and I do enjoy reading them, obviously or I wouldn't receive them anymore. But this is the second time this contest has had no web site to enter. Also with this issue I received a letter stating that "We've earned Canada's "most trusted" magazine reputation". Well, I think that reputation is about to take a nose dive. Come on guys! If you're going to put the junk mail in with your magazine, then at least make sure it's not a scam. I can go online if I want that.

Alison Storry

Helpful?
0 0

In my attempt to log into your given website-( www.rd.ca/ssvault)
the site appeared but there was no opportunity given to enter the
combination No. given on the Free Entry slip . Instead - a request to send in a complaint.. which is what you are reading!

This is about the 3rd or 4th time I have found the same result.. which I find to be very negative publicity. Is that your aim?

Helpful?
0 0
I
Jun 07, 2016 3:16 pm

I received a card in the latest edition of Readers Digest to enter a contest to win an ipodtouch. When I entered the URL, there was no such website! Very poorly done!

Helpful?
0 0
D
Jun 07, 2016 3:16 pm

I tried to access the website
Apparently website does not exists and how can you enter to win a new Ipod after the RD give you a personal access code and there is no website to get into.
This is one of the many scams of Readers Digest they make you believe you are going to win and when you want to register or find out no such possibility is available. The only thing they want you to do is subscribe to another magazine or bookscam
Lousy company

Helpful?
0 0
B
Jun 07, 2016 3:16 pm

It seems unlikely that Readers Digest would mess up like this as they have always had a very professional media system. Therefor, one must assume this contest is not genuine, even someone has gone to some large expense in printing and arranging distribution through bonefide companies. READER'S DIGEST NEEDS TO INVESTIGATE!

Helpful?
0 0
T
Jun 07, 2016 3:16 pm

I am getting VERY ANNOYED l sent books back in JULY by PURAOLATER [protected] l have written, called, sent copy of my reciept l was told head office would call me. The only mail l have had from you is saying l would not receive any more junk mail as l call it. My cheque was 118 for$33.56 plus mailingof $16 78 WHAT DO I HAVE TO DO TO GET IT BACK You always say return if you do not want the books. l am a widow now and can not afford to having money owed when l have expences.
I WONT THIS CLEARED AS SOON AS POSSABLE

[protected]

Helpful?
0 0
J
Jun 07, 2016 3:16 pm

I like so many others are not able to complete for contest offered.

www.rd.ca/ssvault

I have heard of this happening before and would appreciate if someone who has the position to check this out.

This is a form of fraud I think. We get so many offers for contest and offers to buy books etc

thank you

Jean

Helpful?
0 0
B
Jun 07, 2016 3:16 pm

im sick of them sending stuff like dvd's that i didnt order, plus i aready sent it back . it's like they dont care or they dont read or get anything you send back to them . then they give you a address or a email that says we cannot help you right now, are site is being work on try again later. WELL I THINK IT'S ABOUT TIME FOR SOMEONE OR THE COMPLAINT DEPARTMENT TO LOOK INTO THIS ' OR GET SOME LAWSUITS GOING! sign tired of their buu shttttt.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Jun 07, 2016 3:16 pm

I have just recieved a bill from Readers Digest asking if I overlooked paying my bill for "The Christmas List" that I suppossedly ordered and it was suppossedly sent to me on 11/10. I have never ordered anything from Readers Digest. I have recieved Readers Digest as a gift from someone 2 years ago! Nothing since. I haven't recieved this book, and I would not order anything as expensive as this book. I am on SS. I have no money to buy this book. I too looked for a phone number to call & straighten this out, but no phone number. I will also write a letter to them & complain. Thanks, Carol Lee- Kewanee, Ill.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Jun 07, 2016 3:16 pm

I received a bill for a subscription that to my knowledge I never ordered. I looked over the bill very carefully and I find that it is very convenient that there is no contact phone number. So I sent in a check for payment of this bill and I'm still receiveing Reminder notices for keep in mind this is a subscription that I don't recall asking for. I do not order magazines as a rule I make any of my purchases only when I want them from a local store.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jun 07, 2016 3:16 pm

From:
"Reader's Digest" | Add to Address book |This is spam

To: [email protected], [email protected]

Subject: Regarding payment of Rs 999 for the yoga book [Incident: [protected]]

Date: Thu, 17 Dec 2009 15:41:11 IST

Your question has been received. You should expect a response from us within 1 business day. Your patience is appreciated.

If you would like to update your inquiry to us by email, please click the "reply" button in your email software then type your response between the two lines below.

[===> Please click reply then enter your reply below this line Please click reply then enter your reply above this line

Helpful?
0 0
I
Jun 07, 2016 3:16 pm

wow! this "select editions" is a BIG SCAM! please does anyone know a number..e-mail..website..to visit to stop this! 30 dollars for some suckish book! please!

Helpful?
0 0
J
Jun 07, 2016 3:16 pm

They send a card with your first magazine to claim a free gift. Go thru to claim it. Yeah, right free gift. As long as you enroll in their book club. Every three to four months pay $20.00 bucks. Even if it is without obligation. Who wants to take the time to cancel an unwanted book club? I've got better things to do. I don't even want the "free" book.

Helpful?
0 0
K
Jun 07, 2016 3:16 pm

I paid for Readers Digest From some woman claiming to be a student on August 15, 2008 Check cleared my bank on 8/18/08 Is this a scam, how do I get a refund please let me know what the refund process is I have no magazine and I am out $42.00 and I am extremely angry at myself for being such a sucker. These people claim to be students earning scholarship money?Does this company even exist? My receipt is M474779 I think the name reads Dana Gould as the participant please contact me ASAP

Helpful?
0 0
B
Jun 07, 2016 3:16 pm

We are sent a code to enter Reading other reader's complaint, he mentions his code is the same as mine Doesn't that tell you something What kind of contest is that We finally find the rd.ca/wii but only complaints are found Nowhere to enter code I intend to cancel my subscription to the magazine and not to answer any more of the numerous contest folders that arrive daily in my mailbox It is a scam fullblown for sure Only a trick to get us to purchase their products in order to win the BIG prize I am fed up

Helpful?
0 0
G

We recieved a book in the mail where the wrapper said it was free. In side is a contest that we have already been entered and that we did not have to send anything back. I read the contest information and it said we would recieve new books every 2-3 months. Thes price for these books would be $22.98 plus deivery and sales tax with a results of which we do not know because the delivery and sales tax are not given an amount. We did not order these books or resquest to be entered into the contest. The book is maked free on the external wrapping and there is no sugestion of price in the shippment. Therefore, I will not return and if a bill is sent I will not pay it, If any other books are sent I will give them to the libary and will not pay for them as I do not want them this is a scam to get me to pay for books I did not want or order. This is a very poor way to get business. I have subscribed to the Readers Digest Magazine for years, but when the renewal comes up I will not renew it as I do not like this kind of dishonesty. We were in business for 50 years and never had to revert to dishonesty to make our living. Maybe Mr. Ronal J Leslie should be fired or who ever set this up should be if he is not guilty.

Gwendoly Carol Glogas Dunkirk IN 47336 June 30, 2010

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jan 12, 2013 3:16 pm

I received an amnesty notice saying that I owed $30.92 for a "special editions" book that I have NEVER signed up for and NEVER received. I called the number [protected]) and the lady told me I had already made one payment for $30 & something on September via a check to Reader's Digest. I know I have NEVER written a check to Reader's Digest but I checked my bank records anyways - no record of any check written in this amount or to Reader's Digest. This MUST be a scam.

Helpful?
0 0
B
May 13, 2010 3:16 pm

we have received these books and I called to complain that we did not order and we were told SORRY and they would stop the books from coming yet here is another book. We just can not afford this book club as I was laid off of my job seven months ago and there is not enough maney to pay for these books. Please unsubscribe bessie from this book club. customer # [protected]

Helpful?
0 0
R
Mar 09, 2010 3:16 pm

I also received a book from the Readers Digest Company, who stated that by replying to their sweepstakes request I automatically join the book club even though no where on the sweepstakes form does it state that you do so. But by calling the Readers Digest Book Department at [protected], I told them that I did not ask to join their book club and should have never received any books from their company. I was able to talk to a customer service representative who politely apologized for the misunderstanding and cancelled my account. Good Job!

Helpful?
0 0
S
Jul 07, 2012 3:16 pm

I ordered a book and then got billed twice without the book. Then I Cancelled because I was so frustrated with getting billed for something I didn't receive. Weeks after canceling I then received a package saying I had two free gifts. I open the box and there was the book I cancelled along with another bill. I request this cancelled and was assured I would not receive it. I want to return it and I would like you to send me return postage. I'm very upset over this and do not want anything more to do with your company after this book is returned.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Mar 20, 2009 3:16 pm

It is incredible how people like me pay $52.99 for magazine subscription and company like Magazinepit get the money use the method ( you have to wait 12 week) to receives the the magazine and NOTHING.
Wow my daughter waiting too.

Amado Viera

Helpful?
0 0
D
Feb 22, 2008 3:16 pm

I received a card in the mail to enter to win a Lexus Sedan worth $60,000. I tried to find a place to enter my access code number but cannot find one.

Helpful?
0 0
J
May 02, 2008 3:16 pm

Every contest readers' Digest comes out with, that has to be entered on computer - there is no such entry site. I have even write a letter to them to complain. Here is another one: go online to www.rd.ca/ipodtouch. No such place. What a rip off. Don't issue contests if they don't exist - turns people off your magazine.

Helpful?
0 0
D
Apr 27, 2008 3:16 pm

I have been trying unsuccessfully for several months to be reimbursed for a Reader's Digest order debited from my bank account without authorization, but with no success. Now a few days ago they hit my account for 27.00 for a magazine called Money also not ordered or authorized. Calling the number that shows up on the bank account is just a machine no help at all. The Reader's Digest charge was for 24.99. I would really appreciate any help in getting this straitened out, & the money returned to my bank account. I even had posted a message with my bank NOT to allow this company to help themselves to my money, but that didn't help much because they still allowed the last charge for Money.

Helpful?
0 0

iam not really complaining.i got a mind stretcher crossword book, it is too hard, so i dont want anymore.my name is gary fetterman.p.obox 103 catawissa, pa 17820

Helpful?
0 0
B

I received the book entitled "Crossfire" and immediately sent it back to you. Date sent was 3/14/11 . I sent it to : 7501 Winstead Dr., Louisville, Ky. 40281. I thought that was probably a better guess as to where to return it than the payment processing center. Was I wrong? Sorry. Anyway, I do not have the book. Please straighten out transaction. Thank you.
I really miss the fact that you do not give us a phone number to clarify these kind of things.I know that I am not the only one who has complained about these things.
Thank you
Bev Christensen acct. #[protected]

Helpful?
0 0
C
Apr 28, 2008 3:16 pm

Why are there so many people complaining about this there is no place on site to enter this zi - pod contest, my entry # is 65976. Hope this is not a way to give my personal info to anyother web site

Helpful?
0 0

I am a subscriber to Reader's Digest. In the booklet is a small card enabling me to enter a contest for an ipod touch 64GB. I went online only to find out they have all been given away! How the hell am I supposed to enter a contest when there isn't a blessed thing to win? The contest closes feb. 29th, 2012. I would like something done about this and as soon as possible. This is the second time I've tried to enter and I do not think I will be subscribing to Reader's Digest again. Thank you very much.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Jan 06, 2009 3:16 pm

I ordered the initial subscription of Best Health promoted by Readers Digest and RBC Visa. The offer also included a free "Weather Station" which was never received although I telephone the company at least twice and have forwarded 3 letters advising of my dis-satisfaction and that I did not wish to renew the subscription, upon the first subscription running out. My letters have been ignored, they continue to send invoices for payment for renewal, (which by the way the first subscription ends in May 2009. Their invoices state that I have accepted renewal when in fact I do have the written correspondence clearly instructing the company that I do not wish to renew. I am sure that RBC Visa will not wish to be associated with this group once I notify of the false advertising.

With this experience, I will not subscribe to or purchase any further products from Readers Digest, who used to have a credible reputation.

C. Leite
[email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
O
Apr 14, 2010 3:16 pm

Lately, I have been aware that OLD Reader's Digest magazines are being shuffled IN WITH NEW READERS DIGEST MAGAZINES at the supermarket. What a scam and a good way for their ailing company to get rid of old issues!

Once you get the magazine home, at $4 an issue, you discover that you have an old issue. In my case, I had two February issues. And, the store was still selling the February issues at the very end of March. Then, you can't return the issue to the store 'cause it's a magazine and that's their policy.

So, then you call Reader's Digest and the real aggravation starts. I had one guy tell me: We ain't going to send you another magazine. And, this is the same magazine that is purportedly interested in grammar and high standards and they are employing someone in their Customer Service Dept who can't speak the language correctly. Then, another person in Customer Service refuses to do anything for me since I don't have a subscription with them. Then, they recommend that I buy a subscription. Huh!

The issue only costs .75 cents a month if you have a subscription but yet they won't honor a long-time (store) customer. And, I pay $4 each month at my supermarket and in February I ended up with two of them. And, the store won't return it 'cause it's a magazine. What a scam.

Shame on you, Reader's Digest Magazine.

I will never, never buy your magazine again.

Helpful?
0 0
D
Mar 19, 2008 3:16 pm

For the first time I actually logged on to a site offering a free prize. I picked Readers Digest because I have always felt that this was an honest upfront company. Boy was I wrong!
I logged on as a "preferred subscriber" as directed to claim my "free surprise". Well it only took 15 seconds to discover that the surprise was that there was NO SURPRISE!

This will be the last time I log into one of these sites, and as for Readers Digest, their reputation has just taken a major nosedive in my books.
In addition I'll be spreading this "good news".

Signed
A formerly happy subscriber

Helpful?
0 0
L
Apr 22, 2008 3:16 pm

I have received a card to go online for a chance to win a 16 GB ipod touch from Readers Digest and I cannot find a contest on this website to enter my pin# This is so frustrating and dissapointing.I was thourghly hoping to win this ipod., but was very dissapointed

Helpful?
0 0
M
May 31, 2008 3:16 pm

Sorry RD but putting out chances to win online but having no such site is misleading and discouraging to your faithful customers. We have more to do than following red tape that leads nowhere.

Helpful?
0 0
R
Jun 06, 2008 3:16 pm

if the gift is free why do i have to subscribe to get more books first i do not want to subscribe to any other but
reader's digest

Helpful?
0 0
J
Sep 15, 2011 3:16 pm

I have subscription that doesn't expire until 2017. Recently diagnosed with macular degeneration so I emailed asking if they could convert my subscription to large print. They would not consider it. Really arrogant company.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Jul 29, 2008 3:16 pm

I rec'd a card in the mail to enter a code for a chance to win money and the web. site that it states on the card is not found. What is readers digest doing sending these cards out with no place on the internet to enter said code.

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

100 complaints
48 resolved 52 unresolved

Reader's Digest / Trusted Media Brands contacts

(added by reviewer)
PO Box 6095, Iowa United States
ADVERTISIMENT