Raymour & Flaniganlie, lie, lie!

1
S Review updated:

I purchased an entertainment center (4 piece wall unit) from Raymour & Flanigan for delivery on 7/3/06. I was called the day before to confirm a delivery window of 1pm-4pm. At 4pm on 7/3/06, still no delivery - so I called the Oakland, NJ customer service center. The customer service rep said they were trying to locate the truck - the stop ahead of me was also calling wondering where their furniture was - and she would call me back. At 5pm, I hadn't received a call, or my furniture, so I called back. The same rep said they were at stop 6 and I was stop 8 - so they should be there by 6:00pm. She also said she was crediting me back the delivery charge (which I have not yet received - and am not holding my breath for). At 6:45, I called again because I still hadn't received the furniture. The customer service rep said the truck was "definitely" on it's way and should be there within the hour. At 8:30, the truck FINALLY showed up - and one of the audio piers for the unit was BROKEN. I immediately called the customer service center again and they said they would arrange for an exchange on 7/8/06. I said fine. The delivery men left both audio piers, TV stand, and the still-packaged bridge/shelf which would be installed by the exchange team on 7/8/06. Later that night, my boyfriend and I decided that we should open the bridge/shelf package to make sure there was no damage to those pieces - turns out, the shelf had a big gouge in the front and was also missing hardware. The customer service center was already closed for the night, and was also closed the next day (July 4), so I called first thing on the morning of 7/5/06. I explained to the customer service rep the situation and she said they could also deliver an exchange bridge/shelf to me with the new audio pier on 7/8/06. I was happy with that. A customer service rep called me on 7/7/06 to confirm delivery on the 8th, and I specifically asked whether the bridge/shelf were being exchanged along with the audio pier and she said YES. But then, on 7/8/06, the delivery team showed up with only the audio pier - no bridge/shelf replacement. I immediately called the customer service center, and the rep said that they had me down for a technician to come fix the bridge/shelf. I explained that that was not what I had agreed to and confirmed already, and it didn't take a technician to see that there was no way to fix the gouge in the wood, to which she replied that she 'could not take my word for it'. I further insisted that I wanted the NEW furniture that I PAID for, NOT 'fixed' furniture. She went on about their policy and claimed that I had arranged for service not an exchange on those pieces - which was simply not true. After much, much arguing - I told her that I wanted the delivery men to take all the pieces back and I wanted a refund. She called back a few minutes later and told me she could do the exchange on 7/11, without a technician verifying the damage. I told her I was NOT taking off another day of work, and they needed to deliver after 6pm. She said they couldn't do that - so I told her again that I wanted the delivery men to take all the furniture back. She called me back again, and told me she spoke to the Delivery Manager, and they could arrange a Special Delivery for me on 7/11, after 6pm. I said fine. About 2 hours later, a different rep called me to confirm the delivery window on 7/11 between 6pm and 9pm. Fine. On 7/10/06 I received a call to confirm delivery on 7/11 from 2pm - 5pm. I said, NO - this is NOT what was agreed to AND confirmed! The service rep said there were no notes in the system about the special delivery and that they absolutely could not deliver after 6pm. I argued with her, and then later talked to the Customer Service Manager, SIERRA, who told me that no such special delivery arrangement had been made (basically calling me a liar) and was there another time I could take delivery. I said I was absolutely NOT taking another day off of work to sit and wait for them. A whole lot of arguing later, and all I got was that they will try to make me the first delivery stop on 7/15/06 with the replacement pieces. They will call 2 days ahead of time to confirm the delivery window - which I'm already guessing will not be early morning as I requested. Bottom line, this Company's customer service will only LIE, LIE, LIE to get you off the phone. They don't document anything in their system, so you have to go through the whole story with everyone you talk to. The only reason I even agreed to take a third chance on delivery was because based on the incompetence of the people I have spoken to, and the utter disregard for customer satisfaction, I could only assume that if they DID take the furniture back, I would NEVER get my money back from this Company. DO NOT BUY FROM RAYMOUR AND FLANIGAN - IT IS NOT WORTH THE TIME, ENERGY, OR FRUSTRATION (NOT TO MENTION THE MONEY PAID FOR SHODDY MERCHANDISE).

Responses

  • An
    Angelina Morello May 16, 2007

    I am glad I read the complaint. Now I know that I will never shop at Raymour & Flanigan.

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    cmc Jul 05, 2007

    This company does not stand by their products. The Store manager and Sales Staff are nice until they have your money in their hands and then they will not help when their is a problem. We are waiting three months for our 5,000 set to be fixed. In the meantime, it has damaged our brand new floors. Theresea Mar. from the Farmingville store told us "I'm here for you if you need me". We have tried to contact her several times and she told the receptionist she is too busy. What a hurtful and rude sales rep. We will never shop at Raymour & Rlanigan again.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Antonia Torres Jul 06, 2007

    I am currently experiencing a bad deal with this 'family oriented, quality' furniture store. Too bad their customer service is the contrary! I am stuck with a mattress I did not order (the sku was entered incorrectly by the store attendant) and because the mattress had been delivered (even though I claimed the issue within 3 weeks of discovering I had the wrong mattress) they could not do anything for me! I am disgusted with the little effort by the store manager and sales associates and 'the' Regional' manager they dealt with to supposedly help me come to a deal. I WILL NEVER SHOP AT RAYMOUR & FLANIGAN AGAIN EVER! I AM SO DISAPPOINTED! I WILL MAKE SURE TO MENTION THIS TO ANYONE WHO MENTIONS SHOPPING AT THIS STORE! I WILL MAKE SURE THEY KNOW THEY WILL NOT BE RESPECTED AS A PERSON, LESS AS A CUSTOMER AS THEY ONLY CARED ABOUT GETTING THE FIRST DEAL AND ONCE ITS IN THE CUSTOMERS HANDS THEY COULD CARE LESS ABOUT YOUR SATISFACTION! THIS HAS BEEN A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! I have been treated better at lesser priced furniture stores!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe Jul 08, 2007

    Raymour and Flanigan is horrible. We were told the day we purchased all of our furniture that we could have it all delivered the following saturday, and that everything we saw in the store was in their wearhouse which wasn't far from the store. A few days before we had a different company calling to schedule a delivery, and we find out that the bedroom set we ordered was not coming from raymour, but from some company in Toronto which only delivers mondays and wednesdays. This was on a thursday, and they said the following monday was was already booked up, so much for their 3 day guaranteed delivery.

    I decided I would inconvenience myself and take the day off wednesday to wait for the 2nd delivery of my furniture. Saturday the couches, mattress, and table and chairs were coming. We were told between 8-12, most likely closer 8 or 9 am so we went to the apartment and they didn't arrive until 12:15. They bring the furniture in, and we noticed one of the couches had about a 6" gash on the side, and the other couch had a scratch on it as well. At this point were pretty aggravated after being jerked around about the delivery of the bedroom set, so raymour said if they delivered new couches, the people would only bring them in through a door, not a window or from the balcony sliding door as we got the other couches in. The store manager said to send everything back, and cancel the entire order. Great customer service huh? This was at the Farmingdale NY store, Mitchell was the manager. I'd never use them again, and ill be sure to inform everyone i know how they run their business.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Davidson Jul 22, 2007

    In October of 2006 My wife and I purchased a bedroom set consisting of 2 nightstands/TV armoire/mattresses/head and footboards,king size bed. Paid approx $7k total. Since then we had made many calls concerning our memory foam losing its "memory". My wife and I slept in holes while inexplicable terrible customer service fended me off until we finally got our current mattress a few months ago which is now showing signs of the same problem. WHen the second mattress came my 11 year old step-daughter jumped on (not jumping up and down on) next to me and we felt a thump, it was the center support for the king bed and then fell in towards the center.

    From the first call, which there were many, We had asked about repairs to scratching and chip taken out of bed during delivery. The clip that holds the TV armoire was smashed in but I fixed it enough myself to make it work. My nightstand requires a fight to open or close depending on the humidity. After all this, including having to speak to the absolutely rudest "customer service reps" who actually just hung upon me once, we finally contact our salesman, Jerry, who we demand that we speak to his manager, Chris, who after pretending to care, said that his regional manager, Mike, would definitely call us the following day,Monday, he reassured us as much as he possibly could. Well this was 2 weeks ago and finally my wife came to tell me she called there and gave them a piece of her mind.

    So this is where we stand now, back into the "dodge the customer" phone game. When the false promises come from such a high level one has to wonder how well this company is run and is attention to quality handled in the same manner (obviously yes). If they would like to hire me on to help this situation I would certainly enjoy the challenge and thats a challenge to turn that "system" (as they call it) around.

    Although we aren't finished with our situation yet I am planning on legal recourse because I can see where this is going. If there is anyone who would like to be part of our petition please email me at [email protected] and I will let you know where we stand and if we proceed legally or not.

    When you see the truck with the sign denouncing Raymour and Flanigan you will know it's me. We spent $7000. on furniture that hasn't lasted a year, had to and are still enduring the harassment Raymour and Flanigan call customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe Smith Aug 11, 2007

    I am SO glad I've read these comments. I am shopping for a ton of furniture and now know to pass right by Raymour and Flanigan. I HATE companies like this!!!

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Eric Randolph Aug 23, 2007

    THEY SUCK!!!! 3 days or less is a scam. They deliver on the 3rd day so that you can no longer void the contract. I ordered a dining set and when it was delivered it looked black in my house yet brown in the store. Ultimately, I did not want it because it did not match the rest of my furniture. They refused to take it back, cannot return there. I explained that I would exchange it for something that did match and they refused. Hate that store. They attack you at the door like vultures!!!!!!! Very rude lady with short hair and glasses. Supposed to be a "higher up" too boot.....

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike G Aug 25, 2007

    They totally suck. 3 times before the item was undamaged, and the delivery guy gave us an attitude (said that he had as much experience as their tech guys) and questioned the exchange. DO NOT BUY FROM RAYMOUR AND FLANIGAN!

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bruce K Sep 07, 2007

    I have purchased from this company and found nothing but high quality furniture. We had only one problem with a chair and they took care of the problem quickly and professionally.

    0 Votes
  • Pc
    P.C Sep 19, 2007

    This company is terrible. I too had issues with a delivery service. They were over 2 hours late delivering (3 days of this crap), however when I complained they did take of the $90.00 delivery charge. I also had two damaged chairs and the delivery men didn't want to take them back however with my big mouth and attitude they didn't have much choice, I asked one of the guys, did you purchase this table/chairs, he said no, I then said well then if you want to give me 1800 bucks then leave the crap here otherwise, take this crap out of my house, they too said that someone would come out and repair the chairs, however what the hell, do I look stupid to you I said, why on earth would I purchase something brand spanking new and then wait for someone to come out and repair when you people mess it up are you crazy and Raymour wants me to pay top dollar and have a "repair" person come out...Yeah right, take these chairs back now...They did...then I ended up having trouble getting the New two chairs re-delivered so like this woman, I called told them to come and pick up all the furniture, I too was also told they would deliver at special time etc., that too was not true so I waited and waited and I really got pissed this time I called said to come pick up all this crap, they too tried to say I couldn't return it and I told them if they didn't come and get it I would personally bring it to the store and drop it off at the front door...The next day they came out pick up the other two chairs/table and refunded "ALL" my money....I'll never shop there again! If you want satisfaction, it terrible to say but be a ###, keep demanding your money and you'll win...

    0 Votes
  • Lb
    L. Browdy Oct 07, 2007

    I purchased a floor sample from Raymour & Flanigan. I had to since anothe furniture company took 50% of our money and never delivered. I was told that the floor sample was "as is", which was fine, however I found it not believable that furniture that would be used in a showroom not have protective coating since more people would be sitting on it then in a home. Within a few days the fabric imediately started showing spots. I called the company and was told that it didn't come with a protective coating and since it was a floor sample there was nothing they can do about it. I told them I wasn't looking for our money back, but if they could send someone from their company to clean it at a charge to me and shield it, as well it would be greatly appreciated. I told them several times that I would pay for it. All I was told was that it was a floor sample and there was nothing I could do about it. I asked them what would happen in the future when all furniture needs cleaning and a protection. They didn't seem to care. I researched everywhere on line to find a cleaner that would rectify our situation. I couldn't. Never in my entire adult life have I ever experienced a fabric that one couldn't clean. My husband and I are now looking for new furniture. You can't make this up. Oh...and as for the other store Thank G-d my credit card company went after them. They are now out of business. As for Raymour & Flanigan...it's just a matter of time for them if they continue to sell garbage and not stand behind their product.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    Irate Customer Dec 05, 2007

    I recently received several pieces of furniture (dresser, chest, etc...) from Raymour Flanigan's Build-a-Bear collection. The leadtime on this furniture was 8 weeks, due to the fact that it was manufactured in China. In any case, the toxic smell coming from this furniture is unbearable. My child has been forced to sleep in the guess room as a result. We have tried every concoction under the sun to eliminate this odor. Nothing seems to work. In the interim, Raymour and Flanigan have been notified about this issue. However, they had no viable solutions and/or comments. My next step will be to make an appearance on their showroom floor to publicly voice my concerns.

    0 Votes
  • Bh
    B. Harrsion Dec 28, 2007

    I purchased a leather sofa from Raymour & Flanigan and told the salesman that my front door was narrow. I was told that it would not be a problem, and that they would take the legs off of the chair. However, when the delivery men came they did not have the tool to remove the legs. Therefore, they told me to reschedule to have the sofa delivered. They attempted to deliver this sofa three times and on the last day the delivery man told me he did not have time to remove the legs from the sofa, and therefore, they were going to take the sofa back to the store. I called the store while they were putting the sofa back on the truck, and spoke to a customer service rep who called the delivery men on their cell to ask what the problem was. the delivery man told the rep with me standing there,that he did not have time for this, and that he was not going to remove the legs from the sofa. the delivery man was very nasty and got back into the truck drinking a bottle of water and later threw the empty bottle in the street in front of my home. I took two days to claim myself down and then I went to the lawrenceville store. As soon as I walked into the store I was greeted by a male. The male asked me if he could help me. I told him what happen and informed him that I was there to cancel my order. He was very helpful and walked with me to customer service and told the rep to cancel my order. As previous emails have stated, she wanted me to explain again why I wanted to cancel my order. I told her that she had better listen very closely, because i was not going to repeat this again. I told her what happen, and she canceled my order. I could not believe that this happen and have never been treated so badly. I left the store and went to another store and received my sofa. Raymour & Flanigan do not care about their customers. I will never shop their again.

    0 Votes
  • Iv
    Ivan Apr 03, 2008

    I wish I would have came to the web to see all of the complaints that someone has left about Raymour & Flanigan. I purchase from my local store about two weeks ago and had a problem with an Armoir. I was told by the sales person that I would want to buy both the base and the top together or it would not match. So, I purchased the whole armoir. When it came the top and bottom didn't match at all. The base had defects that I can't believe the store let out of there site. This had some major defects that couldn't be missed. Also, their return policy is "no return". If you purchase from someone buy from a home town, home owned store. You will be treated much better.

    0 Votes
  • An
    annonymous Apr 24, 2008

    I happen to work for raymour and flanigan and have for 8 yrs. I have had numerous deliveries as have my family and my friends and I remained anonymous for my deliveries they never new i worked for the company, i have never had any problem on my more then 10 deliveries nor have my friends or family... I have worked in the showrooms as well as currently in one of the distribution centers and rarely hear a complaint..most of the time when we do hear complaints they are taken care of in a satisfactory mannor. no company is perfect there are going to be errors made (we are all human) and there are going to be unsatisfied customers no matter where you go, that does not make a company bad nor does it mean it has poor customer service. If we took back every peice of furniture that a customer decided after already having in the home for any amount of time the company would be out of business. these are not cars you can not resell the majority of this furniture and the manufacturer that we bought from will not give us credit for a peice of furniture that was returned after delivery because a customer does not like it...put yourself in the oweners shoes and maybe then you will understand that there are policys that are put in place for a good reason, when you have 75 plus stores and deliver within three days which means you hold thousands of peices of furniture in a warehouse to accomodate this here are going to be damages...I can tell you that in the warehouses 3 people check every peice of furniture on every truck and their are constantly being changes made to improve...it is a constant battle to improve and we are very dillegent in making sure that no peice of furniture leaves damaged but as i said previously we are all human and all make mistakes there are going to be peices that we miss and for that i am sorry but most of it is minor and can be made brand new if you dont want a repair then tell the delivery person to take it back. of course they dont want to take it back they only get paid for the deliverys that have been made, if you had your paycheck riding on wether a customer kept it or not what would you want, but they will take it back just be persistent, ...if you decide not to check your furniture when it is delivered then enjoy our wonderfull technicians who are factory trained and in many cases make the furniture look better then it ever did on the show room floor...in any case remember the world does not revolve around you we were not put here on this earth to serve you we are not your slaves, do not treat us this way or you will get absolutly no where with us...how would you like to be screamed at called incompetant, stupid, or be told that you are a liar just for doing your job? think about that next time...

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michelle chestnut May 09, 2008

    raymour and flannigan the worst furniture store that i have ever delt with in my life purchased a king bed they said it would deliver it in three days called same day of delivery to say the side rails were not in mind you i took off from work had to wait another week for another delivery day when they finally get to my house they have the wrong side rails called the store and they have the nerve to want to debate about who is going to pay the delivey guys now i have to wait for another delivery day they spend to much money on adverstiment that customer service is horrible i would never spend a another dime in that chezy store

    0 Votes
  • As
    ashley Jul 14, 2008

    Raymour &Flanigan new store looks very nice from outside, and their merchandise looks good from a distance.
    I liked one sofa on line from this store and then checked it out from their stores in Union Square. They have only 2 color of this item.(blue and expresso(brown)and they said the manufacturer does not have a ny other color. When I check the store on queens boulevard they had green one. I simply tried to figure out with the salesperson that it could be possible to have any other color if they bother to call the manufacturer. Then he called the manager and this guy was so arrogant and obviously lying to my face that the green that I saw actually called expresso in this company and he asks me to check the color in different light??
    His arrogant behaviour, as if I'm totally dum and stupid unaccurate explanations pissed me off so bad. I just said "you're very interesting" just to polite not to swear and then I left the store. Thank god that I did not buy anything from them after reading the other complains of their delivery and after sale service?? .They better change their attitude toward customers not to jump on people and tailgate them during their stay in the shop (it is so annoying) and dont lie about the thing you dont
    know. Get proffesional..

    0 Votes
  • As
    ashley Jul 14, 2008

    Thank s to this site I did not buy anything from them. Stay away from this shop if you dont want any haedache..

    0 Votes
  • As
    ashley Jul 14, 2008

    By the way long story short they were trying to sell me whatever they had in the store .They called a green sofa set "fontana" as expresso (brown). When I told the manager this sofa is green he told me this company calls this color as expresso??He was so arrogant and intimidating, and they dont let you breathe in the store. Some customer service...It's so annoying

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Just a Thought Sep 12, 2008

    WOW so many complaints and they are still the biggest furniture retailer in the north east. Wonder why HUH? May be they are doing something right. For every bad issue there must be at least 10 good ones. You only hear about the bad ones though kinda sad we are all humans and yes big companies will get hit with all the negative things from one disatisfied customer but make your own choice Dont let some angree person make it for you. Levitz had complaints Seamans had complaints Huffman Koos had complaint and yes even the big and bad Thomasville has had complaints. Don't be sheep make your choice and ask questions and please for the love of God !!! READ WHAT YOU PUT YOUR JOHN HANCOCK ON !!!

    Also get a good sales person the ones that have made the Raymour and Flanigan President Club they are the best in the company and will take good care of you.

    And Ashley if you take the Fontana to natural light the kind that comes threw the windows in your home it is a Brown not green and not chocolate. Good luck

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jose Oct 25, 2008

    Raymour and flanigan is like a circus. The people who represent the company do an absolutely horrible job. There are some good people out that do work for the company including my self. I am a delivery driver or I should say was. Recently my supervisors made a decision on changing my position to a warehouse position. When i was a driver I would go above and beyond the call of duty. My impression was always wrap the furniture as if I was going to bring it home to my family. Its the customers who pay our salaries as employee's why not spend a little extra time on assuring the customer is happy with the furniture. I could tell so many story of how people at Raymour don't even care about the furniture.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carlos Bennett Nov 25, 2008

    I agree with your comments, I will never buy furnisher again from Raymont. I am a hard working man with 5 kids in Elmont NY, I do not need the agravation ... BUT I WAS WRONG...The salesperson and supervisor at this store LIE to me from the begining !! BUT I AM NOT GOING DOWN WITH OUT A FIGHT . I am taking this to court. It is not fair for all the hard working people out there who keeps a good credit report/score and has no money to spare . Here is what hapen... . We needed a TV stand so I checked online for prices, I ran into an offer of "NO PAYMENT NO INTEREST UNTIL 2013' so i aply for credit. I was aproved for $20, 000.00 . Salesperson JUSTINE at Valley Stream called me on the phone a few minutes later I WILL BE ABLE TO HELP YOU `...yes you help me !!!ok. you drained my pocked !!! She said to qualify for the "non payment no interes for 5 years " you will need to buy $6, 000.00 worth of fornisher. Remember I am here only to buy a $300.00 TV stand... NOw since my living room at home need a upgrade PLus I need not to make a payment for 5 years, I AGREED WITH OUT ANITHING IN WRITTING. NOw I got to make payment of $77.00 a month the following the purchase. I got a sofa and loveseat made from leather each for $1800.00. an ottorman for $400. a chair for $500.00. and my TV STAND for $400.00 total $6, 000.00. Now in this economic time. HOW AM I GOING TO PAY FOR THIS>> Now as far as the stuff I bought, the sofa is showing sight of sinking (where people sit a lot) just a week later, this is prove to me that the quality of these furnisher are inferior... There is no return policy on any item. So be carefull.. Get everyting in writting, and read before you sing.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carlos Bennett Nov 25, 2008

    RAYMOUR & FLANIGAN I HOPE YOU GO IN BANKRUPSY LIKE ALL THESE OTHER STORE. YOU SALESPERSON LIES AND ARE HONEST TO THE CUSTOMER.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carlos Bennett Nov 25, 2008

    are not honest to the customer..!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ai
    airborne Dec 19, 2008

    bad expierence, please listen to me, do not buy from raymour and flanigan, i brought over ten thousand dollars worth of furniture from them, i brought a bedroom set, a livingroom set, a dining room set and a wall unit, its been two months now and i still havent recieved everything, they delivered broken furniture after broken furniture, they even came back with the same broken furniture three times, good luck trying to talk to someone in customer service that cares, i still have no chairs to my dining room and finially recieved a right pier to my entertainment center, you do not get what you pay for with raymour and flanigan

    1 Votes
  • Me
    Mel Dec 19, 2008

    Raymour and flanigan treats their employees like they treat their customers. They are a greedy company that puts money before ethics. They are a disgraceful company to work for and to buy from. DON'T BUY FROM THEM AND DON'T WORK FOR THEM!!

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jill Ludwig Feb 01, 2009

    Sorry to hear you all think htis way. I have always had a great experience with Raymour, especially at the Nanuet showroom. I live over an hour away from that showroom, however I will only shop with Cindy there. She is professional, sourteous and follows up all the time. Any issues, she takes care of it.
    I would highly reccomend her and Raymour! She made a difficult decision quite easy. My mom was looking for a living room for over a year and she custom designed it! When it arrived, my mom cryed because it was so beautiful.
    Not everyone has the same issues. Get a good salesperson and it will work out okay! Even my daughters have purchased their entire house with her!

    0 Votes
  • Su
    SUSY Feb 03, 2009

    I have shopped at raymour and i love it there. I've sent my entire family to the same guy Eric from the co op city location in the bronx, NY. They treat us so good .. make us laugh and deliveries have always gone great. now i cannot speak for every single purchase, but me and my family have spent well over 30, 000 dollars in the co op location and the only complaint i have is why hasnt Eric called me for a new sale. I love Raymour and will fully endorse that location at least. The store always feels like there having a party in there. i love it

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reese Feb 14, 2009

    Wow. What anightmare! I am so glad that I read these complaints. It saved me alot of frustration. Thank you all.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anonymous Feb 19, 2009

    I would not trust Raymour & Flanigan. In November 2008 I visited the E. 14th St store in NYC. I saw the Almalfi sofa listed (NOT on sale) for $999.00. The saleman did not know if or when it would go on sale. I decided to wait for a sale.

    I checked the R&F web site around the holidays and still no sale…it was listed for $999.00. I checked teh web site again around middle of January No change.

    I checked again before President’s weekend and it was on sale for $1089.00…Yes the price went up and they listed it on sale.

    I decided to check the R&F web site again the following week and it was on sale for $989.00…$10.00 less than it was listed in November and January.

    I decided to have an online chat with customer service and questioned the $989 sale price vs the 999.00 price in January. They told me the sofa LISTED for $1089.00. I asked why then was it on SALE for $1089.00 during President’s weekend for $1089.00 if that was the list price. NO ANSWER.


    BUYER BEWARE

    -1 Votes
  • An
    anonymous 2 Feb 19, 2009

    I used to be an employee for Raymour & Flanigan and I can't disagree with any of you. The things I saw while working there were unforgivable. First of all they don't even repair furniture, they paint over damaged areas such as sofas and wood. If you notice damage look at it very closely and you can see what they've done to it. Second they force their delivery teams to deliver sometimes the exact same piece of furniture that was damaged to different customers with specific orders to hide the damaged areas. If the delivery teams object, they get written up. This furniture thing is only their side gig, their main gig is real estate so they don't really care about the furniture deal or their employees for that matter. They finished condensing two of their distribution centers to one new location and still get angry if an employee makes 2 hours of overtime. Not to mention the areas they condensed, they still own and plan to lease them out to whoevers willing to pay. If you notice, all of their stores are located on plazas, which they also own and have all other stores paying them rent for the sites. You would figure a company that owns so much property and keeps finding ways to condense to save money would have better quality of furniture and better treatment of their employees as well as customers. Btw that free mattress removal deal they have going on is also dangerous and illegal. They force their delivery teams to remove mattresses from homes and tie them up in the trucks.. ALONG WITH CLEAN FURNITURE!!! In case no one knew that's immoral and illegal. If someone has an infected mattress, i.e. bed bugs, lice, fleas, stains, ( which is really gross!!) and it gets put with new furniture, it's endangering the public with the spreading of diseases. I'm pretty sure the C.D.C. wouldn't be to happy with that report!! I don't know about any of you but I definitely wouldn't want my kids with furniture that's been mixed with possibly infected mattresses. This is another example of what corporate businesses are doing to save money. If you ask me, its time to either set that company straight or shut them down by boycotting it. They probably won't care anyways, seeing that they run on real estate, but it's time to stand up and set things right for the good of all..

    -1 Votes
  • An
    anonymous 2 Feb 19, 2009

    I used to work for Raymour & Flannigan and I couldn't disagree with any of you. During my time there the things I saw were unforgivable. First of all they don't really fix the furniture, they just paint over it with a marker if its wood, even ottomans and sofas. Sometimes they even force their delivery teams to deliver already damaged and returned furniture to different customers with specific orders to hide the damaged sections. If the delivery teams object, they get written up or suspended. They just finished condensing two distribution centers into one new location to save money, and still complain when someone makes 5 hours of overtime. Btw the locations they moved from, they still own and plan to lease them out to whosoever willing to pay them rent. Have you noticed that every one of their stores is located on a plaza? That's because they own the entire plaza too, and have other stores paying them rent for their sites. See, Raymour & Flannigan only deals furniture for fun, their real gig is real estate. You would figure that for a company that has and makes so much money they would have better quality furniture and treat their employees and customers better. By the way, that free mattress removal deal they do is also immoral and illegal. See, they force their delivery teams to remove old mattresses and tie them up in the trucks.. ALONG WITH FRESH FURNITURE!! Now I'm sure the C.D.C. wouldn't be too happy with that. If an infected mattress, i.e. fleas, lice, s.t.ds and other diseased mattress gets put in with clean furniture, it's increasing the chance of passing infections to others, including children. I don't know about any of you but I sure as hell don't want my kids with furniture that's been mixed with old, possibly infected mattresses. This is just another example of how corporate businesses are endangering the public just to save money. It's about time to take steps and either set them straight or shut them down. They probably won't care anyways, seeing that real estate is their main gig, but now's the time to step up.

    -1 Votes
  • Je
    Jessica Zaccairo Mar 04, 2009

    Wow!!!  I am so happy I read your story!!!  That is just crazy!  Furniture stores never seem to keep their promises, expecially when it comes to delivery.  I remember, one year, I purchased a coffee table (not from R&F) and it took 6 weeks to receive it; I understand that it could take that long to come it, however, the day I was in that particualr store looking to purchase a table, the customer service rep told me that the table I wanted was, in fact, in stock and they could have it to me within 48hours (i was having  a party that coming weekend and really wanted my living room set to be complete) well, it took 6 weeks and the table turned out to be a piece of crap!!!.  Anyway, my husband and I are looking to redecorate our bedroom; well, we are actually decorating it for the first time.  We have two small children who we have always put ahead of us; toys, clothes, etc (the things kids really do not need, just the things they want, lol).  We are not even near having alot of money but we have always been abale to do well for our children.  This year with our tax refund we wanted to do something for ourselves, so we decided to purchase a bedroom set.  My girlfriend purchased from R&F a couple years ago; we actaully lost touch so I do not know exactly how she made out but I, techinally, cant even afford to purchase a new bedroom set but I am pushing for it.  The bottom line is, I will not shop at R&F for it; not only do they have bad service; I honestly do not think they are reasonable with their pircses but I was going to buy it there anyway becuase I was thinking maybe there is a good reason they are not cheap, I now know they do not have a good reason.  Thank you, so much, for your story!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Sc
    scammed grammy Mar 08, 2009

    I have been scammed by Raymour and Flanigan in Whitehall, PA! My mother decided to buy a new bedroom set for my daughter. We spent well over an hour in the store talking to the Saleswoman Nancy as well as the manager. We carefully picked out each piece using measuring tape while discussing where to place each item. I myself tried out mattresses and chose the one displayed with the set. We purchased a twin bed, desk with hutch, 7 drawer dresser, and a 5 drawer tall chest. The furniture arrived one week later missing the mattress to the bed as well as the 5 drawer tall chest. I had just GIVEN AWAY my daughter's old furniture and had an empty room to fill! My mother was livid and called the store. Nancy told her that she does not have the chest or mattress on the order form. She stated that it would have to be purchased. My mother demanded to speak to the "Customer Care" manager who simply did not care. His name was Jamie. After wasting a beautiful Saturday waiting around for the delivery, we refused the shipment. I have never experienced such despicable treatment by a store. Please be wary when dealing with these people.

    -1 Votes
  • Wa
    wasted money Mar 11, 2009

    As a former employee i should have realized that profit is the only thing they care about. pushy sales people and trusting in their so called worthless protection plan with a person who is just out of high school are standards that demonstrate their lack of commitment to customer satisfaction. We wasted the money we saved and now have severly worn material that we have to cover with spreads so people will not see when they sit down. Enjoy our savings and i will tell your reputation to as many people as i can. i am only waiting for the day when we see Going out of buisness, that shouldn't be far off at this rate.

    -1 Votes
  • Es
    esquilin Apr 09, 2009

    Raymour and Flanigan, I am so angry, and I guess I'd better join the club! Just last year I purchased a three piece leather livingroom set.And the wood I guess you would call the the support planks, snapped when ever you sit DOWN! I have a family of four, no one is over weight, my hushand is 6 foot one 190lbs I am 5.4, 140, my daught, 5.6, 125 and my nine year old weights in a a whopping 60, lbs! Are you kidding me! And when I called a long with my five year protection plan, oh god is that a dam joke!!! They send this guy out three months later with a little support leg, and he tells me from his own mouth that the set is a piece of ###! Then I go back and forth with Raymour & Flanigan, they play dumb and slow all at the same time.I feel sick and unhappy.I am a School Crossing Guard and my husband is a Fork Lift Operator, no we are farrrrrrrrrrrrrrr from rich, well off or have money to throw the hell away! And oh yet we do'nt flop down on our livingroom furniture or any thing elese for that matter, as a matter of fact we barely us the livingroom, because my husband and I are from the old school, (company only) thank god for that! So my whole point of this is, You guys are liar's sell outs and are a up and down hot messsssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss!!! You have not only burned me and some of my family members but this site speaks for it self!

    -1 Votes
  • Ia
    IamGG Apr 12, 2009

    The espresso color really does look green under artificial lighting.

    0 Votes
  • I had a very similar situation way back in 2000! The customer servioce center had the nerve to tell me that they didn't know who or why I was told that my furniture would be delivered in 3 days or less.
    I exploded and said "That's your whole marketing campaign!"
    I was 8 months pregnant, took apart my bed for delivery of a new bed, and they told me it was on a slow boat from China.
    I ordered it Labor Day Weekend, and they wanted to deliver it January!!!

    I'm so glad I googled R &F to look for a dresser for my son.

    This reminded me of how RUDE and LUDICROUS they are

    -1 Votes
  • Av
    AVOID THEM LIKE THE PLAGUE May 31, 2009

    I recently bought a mattress at Raymour & Flanigan and the first night I found out it was not the mattress I had paid for.

    The dimensions were way off & it was very uncomfotable so I called the store in Warwick and they suggested I try it for 30 days like you would a pair of shoes.

    I said I would not do that because in 30 days you will say it is now a used mattress & unreturnable like the shoes they used as an example.

    The next day I visited the store and told them it was not the mattress I ordered and paid for. They tried the bait & switch deal by trying to get me to finance into a better more expensive item which I refused to do as I either wanted what I had paid for or my money back.

    No, was their answer do what you want. So if you do not want the hassle of what I now have to go through AVOID them like the plague.

    -1 Votes
  • Am
    AMP Jun 02, 2009

    I have furnished my whole house with Raymour and Flanigan, along with many pieces for my mother's house. We have dealt with the Exton PA store and with our GREAT saleperson Andrew. He is in the President's club and has been with the store since it's opening. I have also financed through the company. In all the deliveries, I have had only 2 problems and both were fixes ASAP. Also, one of their delivery trucks hit a wall in the front of our house and they sent a check (after we sent an estimate) within 2 weeks. But, I do have to say, without Andrew, I am not sure if it would have been that easy. He is one of the best salespeople I have ever dealt with. Also, remember financing is through Wells Fargo and I have found them to be very rude, but have not had any problems with that end of the R&F deals.

    -2 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem