The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Petsmartthey don't sell feeder mice

A Review updated:

The Petsmart where I live sells six varieties of boa/python but refuses to sell feeder mice (because of their cruelty-free policy). This is like a computer store selling laptops but not stocking power sources - what are we supposed to feed the poor things? It also raises the question: what do they feed the snakes they sell - tofu? Pet stores probably should not sell pets that require other animals for food - unless they also stock the food.

One last thing. They sell crickets as feeders. Crickets probably dislike being fed to other animals as well. So much for cruelty free.

Responses

  • Na
    [email protected] Jul 12, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Y'all do know that frozen mice/rats were once live rats that were KILLED for Petsmart, right?? So, what's the difference in letting the snake do what comes natural vs some person killing and stuffing it in a freezer?
    Y'all know horses, cows, pigs, fish, and chickens were KILLED to feed your dogs and cats right?

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Dr. Dimples Nov 11, 2015

    I totally disagree with Pet Smarts policy, thus I will do my shopping elsewhere. Snakes need food like any animal. My snake will not eat frozen rats, only live. Snakes kill their food very humanely and it is over in a matter of seconds. I don't understand the argument Pet Smart proposes that they kill their feeder rats and mice humanely. They suffocated them, only in a different way. How about the rest of the pet food? Chickens, pigs, cattle, fish are all killed for food. Just because a snake can do it without anybody's help does not make it inhumane. No blood, no guts, a very clean kill. I have had my boa for over 20 years, and not once has the rat turned on the snake. A lot less messy than shooting a metal plunger into the skull of a cow or slitting the throat of a pig. I find Pet Smart absolutely laughable !!!

    0 Votes
  • Dm
    dmstafford79 Mar 15, 2015

    Well first off ash you never leave a mouse in any snake cage overnight that's just dumb... Pheobe u are a ###. I have 2 redtail Boas I " rescued " from an abandoned house. They WILL NOT eat frozen mice. They are not a conversation piece i handle them everyday and treat them like a part of my family so go play y in traffic...And coming from an ex petsmart employee no they don't feed frozen mice or rats.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    CreamOfWeber Mar 20, 2014

    "Actually, Petsmart DOES only feed frozen mice."

    Not if the snake won't eat frozen they don't. Pet Smart and Petco BOTH feed live mice to snakes that won't eat frozen.

    Pet Smart also keep their reptiles like ****. I've seen snakes dying from loss of mass in Pet Smart stores.

    Disgusting people with a distorted view of reality.

    1 Votes
  • Samuel Thompson Jul 19, 2012

    I agree, all creatures need to eat. I used to go to the store when they did not have that policy. They had a lot of feeder rodents and fancy pet only rodents. I have been going to one of that pet store locations to get some Mystery Snails, and I saw that they do not have any feeder rats or mice. A matter of fact, they barely had any rodents at all. What a disappointment. I am looking all over the place for to get live pink eyed rats and mice to keep as pets and I cannot find them. I guess that people feel too guilty to kill a rat or a mouse so they buy it frozen. By the way, I even saw that they do not sell feeder goldfish any more. What are the fish supposed to eat?

    0 Votes
  • El
    Eliza K. May 24, 2012

    Holly12- White's tree frogs should not be fed pinky mice. They are high in fat and not necessary to their diet. Pinkies could be offered very sparingly, if at all. These frogs are very likely to become obese in captivity, so a strict diet of feeder insects is highly preferable to a fattening rodent.

    0 Votes
  • El
    Eliza K. May 24, 2012

    Petsmart feeds their snakes arctic feeder mice. These mice and rats are humanely euthanized and frozen to preserve them. Personally I had rather my snakes be safe from bites and possible parasites, so I feed mine frozen feeders. You can find them in the freezer located in the aquatics section. Snakes do not need live prey. Please do not be annoyed or angry that the store will not sell you live feeders. They cannot, it is against policy, and an associate can find themselves in trouble for giving in to your request. They have given you a healthy alternative for your snake, so pipe down.

    2 Votes
  • As
    Ash_C Oct 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Actually, Petsmart DOES only feed frozen mice. Its not so much a worry about being less cruel to the mice, though that is there too, its mostly to prevent injure to the snake. (Check attached photo. A live mouse was left in a ball pythons' tank over night.)
    Mice can fight back and if they bite a snake, they can cause some serious damage. Being a reptile, snakes do not heal as well as a mammal would and the damage and infection resulting from such a bite would not only cost alot of money when it comes to vet bills, but it could also potentially kill the snake. THATS the main reason that Petsmart does not feed live mice. Besides... frozen tends to be a little more convenient.
    And for the condescending question of 'what snakes did for the last few millennia before frozen mice were available"... Probably the same thing that WILD snakes do now. And if a snake happens to get bit, and gets infection from being bit... well, it dies. Don't keep them as pets and you won't have to worry about how they get fed.

    Comments

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Matthew Monson Oct 25, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Ash_C If you're feeding your snake live rats or mice and what happened in that picture is a result, then you are [censored]ing retarded. because you are supposed to monitor your snake while it feeds and if you see the rodent close enough to your snake to bite it then you're the [censored]ty owner, I have owned snakes since I was 7 years old and have ALWAYS fed live to them, and nothing like this has ever happened. Don't give us the half assed excuse that this is what always happens when you feed live, no this is what happens when you're a [censored]ty owner and you don't monitor your snake while it feeds.

    3 Votes
  • Mo
    momoverboard5 Sep 05, 2011

    There is no way Petsmart actually feeds their snakes frozen mice. They don't really boil water to thaw the mice like they told us. We have had our new snake two weeks and he hasn't even nibbled at the frozen mouse -- even though we have thawed according to directions. So, in the name of "cruelty-free" our ball python will starve to death. Too bad they don't eat the crickets they sell.

    BTW, I wonder what snakes did for the last few millennia, before frozen mice were available?

    -3 Votes
  • Ir
    Irving12 Aug 18, 2011

    pheobe, you're a f***ing idiot. You obviosly have never owned a snake and have no room to even post about snakes. Did it ever occur to you that people can have a snake as a pet and not a conversation piece or a decorative item?! I own 6 snakes and happen to be attached to them like your [censored] would be to a dog. Think before you post things pheobe...you're only proving to us all that you're a complete f*** up.

    1 Votes
  • Ph
    phoebe123 May 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I knew that there would be no response from the snake people.

    -2 Votes
  • Ph
    phoebe123 May 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Snakes, and birds, should not be kept in a tank or a cage for the amusement of people...they should be free to roam and fly...why anyone would want to "own" one of these beautiful creatures and keep them confined is beyond my comprehension...they find their own food in the wild...therefore quit ### about what and where to find them food...if you want a "pet" please go to a rescue site and get a dog who will love you forever...a snake? hmmmm...I think that you want a conversation piece or a "decoration" added perhaps to your lifestyle...sorry, but unless you have researched food sources for your snake you shouldn't even have one.

    -5 Votes
  • Sk
    Skylor12 May 22, 2011

    You want me to pay ###ing 10$ for a med rat ### no...im starting to breed my own mice because i need to feed my snake and the only place that sells live in my town is closing do to stupid petsmart

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    farpnot Apr 06, 2011

    Watching snakes eat live food is fascinating, because it is part of the big wonderful world of nature. I used to study animal behavior, and this is specifically what I was interested in. You can find an old paper of mine from high school by Googling "Constricting Habits of Lampropeltis and Elaphe". I have run into this same thing at Petsmart. I raise my own mice, and I wanted one of theirs to introduce some genetic diversity to my colony. Their "fancy mice" are different from those available at other stores. Buy I was told they would not sell to me to "feed or breed." And the store person claimed that the meds they were given would carry on into the second generation and possibly harm or kill my snake. I found this very hard to believe. Especially since she was using the word "vaccinations, " which are given in tiny quantities which then stimulate the immune system to make antibodies, which are the real med. I really don't know what is up with Petsmart, but I think they are feeding me a big load of bull ----. Although they have the closest location to my house, I am trying to shop as much as possible at other stores.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Holly12 Sep 10, 2010

    Iam agreeing with you all the way I have 4 whites dumpy tree frogs and one of them is fully grown it still eats crickets but a live pinky or fuzzie would be better for her. Petsmart does not like selling live mice and rats for reptiles cuz they think it is animal crulty to feed live rodents. Well Iam sorry but I don't think that a dead pinky mouse is going to get my frogs to eat lol. Frogs have to see thier food moving befor they will take it well mines do lol so if it does not move then it does not get eaten. Now pets supplies plus sell live mice and rats but no pinky mice so I have to go to this pet store called two turtles they are the only pets store by me that have live mice live pinky mice. I think that petsmart should start selling live mice and pinkys and rats for our reptiles.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Holly12 Sep 10, 2010

    Iam sorry but I think that petsmart should be selling live mice and rats for snake and frog food. I have 4 white dumpy tee frogs now females get 5 inches and males get 4.5 inches. So when they get that big crickets will not be part of thier diet anymore. They will be into mice so I think that petsmart should sell live feeder mice. Now pets supplies plus sells live mice and live rats but no pinky mice or fuzzies wish my frogs would eat. I go to this pet store called two turtles and they sell live pinky mice and live mice. So thats whear I go they are the only pet store whear Iam from that sells live mice. So I do understand what you are saying about petsmart not selling live mice I wish they did it would be alot closer to dive to lol.

    -2 Votes
  • Ca
    captainsgirl98 Mar 22, 2010

    Frozen mice are not frozen they are gased with co2 before they are frozen. I have fed frozen for 15 years now it is safer for your pet not just snakes as I have frogs that eat frozen mice. Live mice can have all kinds of parasites that can be passed on to what ever eats it. Frozen guarantees anything bad is dead.

    2 Votes
  • Ba
    Ballpython99 Aug 17, 2009

    As far as i can tell freezing a mouse or rat is not exactly cruelty free either

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    MonicaP Jul 17, 2009

    Petsmart feeds their snakes frozen mice, and sells them in the fish department in the freezer. They do not sell live feeders because all their animals are vet treated and any animal you buy to feed to another will have meds in them. So, if they did sell you one and then your snake got sick, you would be on here complaining about that! And they sell crickets that do not appreciate being fed to other animals, are you kidding me? You are really grasping for straws there buddy!

    1 Votes
  • Sk
    Skitals Apr 04, 2009

    @ember: If you are not a vegetarian, you are the biggest hypocrite on the internet. Cows are pretty defenseless, living mammals too. And they are delicious. Dogs and cats aren't vegetarian either. They eat chicken, fish, lamb, beef, etc in their canned food. How is any of this any more or less humane than feeding a mouse or rat to a snake? ESPECIALLY if you feed frozen feeders, which have been killed in a much more humane way (co2 gas) than the chicken from my mcchicken sandwhich, which was most likely tied up sidedown and dipped in boiling water to be defeathered while still alive. Its the food chain... just be glad we are on the top of it instead of the bottom.

    8 Votes
  • Em
    ember Mar 22, 2009

    I don't know how anyone could get pleasure out of having a pet that regularly eats defenseless, living mammals. I know, circle of life and all that, but seriously. And it's not like you don't know this is the case when you buy the snake anyway. If you don't like it, shop somewhere else.

    -7 Votes
  • Vi
    VintageLydia Mar 22, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The snakes are rased on frozen food. They know nothing different. And PetSmart does sell frozen mice and small rats. And come on, you're comparing to insects to mammals? I've owned and cared for both rats and mice. They are intelligent animals. I'm not saying they should be fed as it is the way of things, but I can understand PetSmart's stand on this, given that they do sell these animals as pets.

    0 Votes
  • My
    Mystdragon1 Feb 14, 2009

    It's not because of a cruelty problem it is for the safety of your pet.
    Feeding live food can be dangerous for the pet because the prey can injury and even kill the pet that is trying to eat it.
    Yes, it is tricky get some reptiles to eat frozen foods, but it can be done without starving the pet.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Feb 11, 2009

    The snakes at petsmart are actually fed frozen mice, that are also for sale in the freezer over by the fish department.

    6 Votes
  • Ca
    Calipzo22 Jan 22, 2009

    I totally agree with you - you should be able to purchase everything needed to care for your new pet all at once. Otherwise they shouldn't see the animal - and i had to laugh about the crickets, I don't think they like being fed to anything;)

    FYI - they feed after hours don't worry they get mice.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.