Norton 360scam and cheating

G
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I just got off the phone with customer service from Norton.They are supposed to refund $69.99 for an order made by mistake.I renewed my subscription at$59.99 yesterday and today I got 3 emails telling me I had chosen to "opt out" of Norton 360. What a mess! Hopefully everything was fixed this time.

According to the service rep. my subscription is good until October 2017. We'll see when the credit card bill comes if everything is ok. I was ready to throw the computer out the window. Why do they do this to their subscribers? I keep on getting notices that my subscription will run out even after all of this.

Wish me luck.

Responses

  • We
    WestCoastLover Feb 25, 2014

    Are you certain your AV subscription didn't run out and didn't auto renew?

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    cheillla Feb 25, 2014

    I have being buying Norton anti virus 360 for about 3 years. I have to renew it around march but, this year the anti virus stop working in February and my computer was infected, And I called Norton many times but I just couldn't get in touch with them. Every time I called them a different company answered my call and they just wanted to clean my computer and charged me for the service.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    wifi8827 Mar 12, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have no idea why anyone continues to use Norton. Why pay for something you can get free?

    Microsoft Security Essentials works great and is free for life.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Lasnog Mar 11, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    1. I had a problem with Norton 360 after running Registry Cleanup. I tried to resolve this on-line. The exchange that occurred with a Norton Advisor can be viewed at http://www.gonsal.eu/NortonSupport.pdf . I do accept that problems will occur with software. I also fully accept that if the problem cannot be resolved it can be escalated to higher levels of expertise. What I do not expect is when the help provided is unsatisfactory and needs to be escalated that access to my computer has to be provided to the person who could not help me, before the problem is escalated!
    2. Clearly, Norton which I have used for several years now, has no intention of rising to six-sigma status as it has no provision for dealing with complaints on its web site - and it is only by dealing with complaints effectively that six sigma and higher levels can be achieved.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Norton 360 usa Apr 20, 2011

    Norton is a complete SCAM and I highly advise you not to waste your hard earned dollars on them. If you have a problem, they just ask for more money after you spend hours of time with someone in INDIA.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Norton 360 usa Apr 20, 2011

    A complete waist of money. Please do not use them, if you have a problem they want to charge you more to fix it. Get the word out SCAM.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JackPowers Nov 25, 2010

    You can't delete files you've stored on their backup site. I think this violates the DMCA.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JackPowers Nov 25, 2010

    The inability to erase backed up files is criminal.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Norton 360 Oct 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have just received an e. mail saying thank you for choosing norton 360 which I do not have and you charge me £64.99 for I do not want to renew please credit my acount for £64.99 order number vab60477042 product serial number qx2346tqr8m7 the norton program I have is the norton 2017 and the norton program I have befor the 2017 is 2017.

    My e. mail address is a. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jeremy50 Oct 23, 2010

    Norton is by far the WORST software company out there. Their products suck. Slow your computer to a crawl. You cant remove them like any other program. It will fail in the middle of uninstall and you have to use the removal tool. You use the removal tool and it wont work because of your screen resolution. You have to go into safe mode so you can use the removal tool to remove the program that should of been able to remove itself...Then after the removal tool...your computer wont boot because it deleted system files that were needed to boot. Norton had found no virus's on my computer AT ALL. Full updated version of 360. Installed Kaspersky on the system and it had 292 virus infections!!! This wouldn't be the first problem i have had with Synaptic products...but it will be the last. I have worked in the computer field for 15 years and have watched their products get worse every year. This year tops them all. Norton 360 is the worst antivirus program to date. Bye bye Norton...hello Kaspersky!!

    0 Votes
  • Wu
    wuet May 23, 2010

    I have Norton 360 installed on my Computer, but it neither detected nor was able to eliminate a virus called "Win32/Alureon.H" which is an invasive virus that has been around since 2017. When I called Norton to get help in ridding my computer of this virus, their techs were only able to offer me a service, costing $140, in which they would clean my computer, or that is what they have said. I complained that I had already paid $99 for the Norton 360 program, and that it should have done the trick. They were unforgiving and totally unhelpful. Eventually I agreed to pay the moneys and they cleaned the computer to a degree so that I was able to use the computer again.

    I finally downloaded another anti-virus-spyware program from Microsoft “Security Essentials”, which is free, and I also downloaded the malware removal program from Microsoft, free again and immediately scanned my computer and to my surprise the virus W32/Alureon.H was still on the computer. Microsoft Security Essentials removed it at the end and my computer is working ok now.

    So Norton 360 fails on two counts: it was unable to detect or remove a widely known and very dangerous virus; and the company charged me $140 to do something that its own program should have done in the first place.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    BobTheWizard May 10, 2010

    Pretty good

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    BobTheWizard May 10, 2010

    I have owned and / or used, and recommended Norton products since Peter Norton started the company.

    I am severely disappointed that Norton / Symantec chose to release Norton 360 V4 without completely debugging. It operates like a Beta Version. Doesn't even recognize Firefox (NOT a very obscure application, I'm sure you'd agree).

    I spent 4 hrs yesterday on my own and at least an hour or 2 with your support trying to get it to work.

    Solution: Uninstall V4 and reinstall V3.

    I'd like to know what you will do to retain me as a customer.

    Of course your statement below (no personal response) further 'enhances' your image.

    Sign Me,

    Disappointed

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Helwig Mar 21, 2010

    Both Norton and McAfee are extremely "bloated" pieces of AV software which hog considerable system resources, and are over-priced to begin with. I suggest that when you go to renew your AV program, look into ESET's Nod 32 AV program. It leaves a very small system footprint. Also - there is a free, and exceptionally good spyware/malware removal program called "Spybot S & D" which is available for download at www.download.com In addition, I'd recommend getting "Malwarebytes Anti-Malware" (also available for free) and is very, very good. To get to the downloads, for Spybot, key "free spybot s&d download" (without the quotes) into your search engine...do the same for Malwarebytes (free malwarebytes anti-malware). I believe that both are available at the site I gave you - www.download.com - this is a trustworthy site, I get quite a bit there and have never had a problem.

    0 Votes
  • To
    touayang Feb 23, 2010

    Get Free AVG or Microsoft Security Essentials. They're free. I've never used paid anti-virus in my life. The first thing I do when someone gives me a new computer bought from the store is remove Norton or McAfee because they are such resource hogs and really slow down your computer.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    homeygmoneygrip Feb 23, 2010

    I believe this to be a problem not with Norton, but with yourself.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    TrishaC Feb 23, 2010

    I have two computers that was showing that I had 120 days remaining on my subscription and it did not. Both computers brought virus in and could not get Norton to update. When it ran a scan said it did not find any virus but yet the computer would not let me access the internet and Windows was telling me that Norton 360 was expired. I have always used Norton 360 but will be changing after this because I fell that they are stealing my money and the time that I have spent trying to get the virus off my computers is unbelievable. Someone needs to explain how they can say you have 120 days remaining, yet not.

    0 Votes
  • Ds
    DSM42 Feb 22, 2010

    I have Norton 360 installed on my laptop, but it neither detected nor was able to eliminate an insidious virus called "Vista Guardian" which is an invasive rogue program that has been around since 2017. When I called Norton to get help in ridding my computer of this virus, their techs were only able to offer me a service, costing $130, in which they would clean my registry. I complained that I had already paid $99 for the Norton 360 program, and that it should have done the trick. They were unforgiving and totally unhelpful.

    I finally downloaded another anti-spyware program from a different company, called "Spyware Doctor, " which cost $29.95, and immediately cleaned "Vista Guardian" out of my system.

    So Norton 360 fails on two counts: it was unable to detect or remove a widely known, and very dangerous, virus; and the company tried to rip me off by charging me an outlandish fee to do something that its own program should have done in the first place.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Jean Duncan Feb 13, 2010

    I have had the Norton virus program on my home computer for several years. However, because of computer problems during the time the renewal notice was available my computer was down and remained down for about three weeks. When I was able to comunicate I replied and requested that my subscription be cancelled and a credit be provided on my Discover Card for the total amountof $54.99. The charge was dated 1/25/10. Obviously the reply has been ignored. I have also attempted to call you by phione at #[protected] and sat listening to the thank you for your patience etc message for over an hour. I will expect a credit on my Discover account immediately. Please reply to this communication. Thank You. Mary Jean Duncan [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tickednow Dec 17, 2009

    Agree, And it is hard to get norton back off your computer ! Vista and Mcafee protect my computer great!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    placidmaster Dec 16, 2009

    biggest waste of time ever, has cost me dearly, could not protect me from a virus that it even warned me about, lost all my laptop data and as a Doctor this has caused major problems.your website is first class ### and it is simply not possible to speak to a human being, I had to find this site just to complain, you owe me 54.99 gbp and best not drag your feet. to anyone reading this, covering your pc with turds would give you more protection than norton 360 does. Dr T Chevallier

    0 Votes
  • Xs
    xstend Nov 21, 2009

    I renewed my Norton 360 on February 6, 2017. Within two weeks I got my first virus. I was told I had to pay for them to clean out the virus. I paid $140 for virus/spyware removal and pc tuneup and boost. Then again on April 11 I received another virus. Once again they told me I would have to pay to have it removed. I asked what was the point in having the protection if they weren't protecting my computer? They said they are not responsible if I open or download a virus. I have Norton on my main computer (which was hit twice with a virus) and on my laptop. I had a friend totally remove Norton from my main computer (I refused to pay them again) and uploaded another antivirus program. I've had no problems since.
    Now I am having a problem with Norton's live update program on my laptop and the Norton Icon disappeared from my bar at the bottom. When I called they said I could have them fix it for me for a price. I opted to have tech support walk me through it for free. I have literally been on the phone now at 11:55pm for WELL OVER AN HOUR waiting for tech support. Maybe they don't really have free tech support. I bet if I offered to pay, I would have had a tech on the phone long time ago.

    0 Votes
  • wilsea_2001 Nov 06, 2009

    Never download any norton products on line

    Norton is for mostly advance users, as there is no service

    Norton 360 is very dangerously to download off any site, save money and time

    Never upgrade on line, slows your computers down.

    Never allow them to connect to your computers slows our computers down.

    Never seek on line help, via chat slows your computers down.

    They want to mess up all your settings. It will really slow your computers down a lot a problem, the techs are not going to help you, if you ever notice they are all from the middle east, and they love to mess up are computers with virus and block and windows updates.

    Always near the end of your subscription, uninstall the program and click yes when it ask to save your data and reinstall from your new disk only then you can make your own settings and allow for the windows updates to keep your computers safe.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    lee Oct 21, 2009

    I would like to say that Norton in itself are scam artitsts. They had me purchase a virus removal for $99.99 to remove a virus that Norton 360 never picked up on its own. With no other soultion in mind I listened to the tech and purchased the $99.99 virus removal to fix my computer issues. After 4 consulations my problem still existed! I then called Norton and spoke to a rude women who told me the virus removal is not refunable and when I asked to speak to someone higher than her she told me she was the supervisor. When I asked for a phone number to make a complaint she still refused saying they would not tell me anything different. She barely spoke a word to me, all I could hear was her loud breathing on the phone and long pauses like she didn't want to deal with me or the issue at hand. I don't know what alternative to take. They had me pay for a program that they knew they would steal me out of $99.99 and now they tell me I have no other options or no one else to complain too. Please assist me in talking to an intelligent person who actually can be of some customer service assistance.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    donald crosby Oct 16, 2009

    call me by phone

    0 Votes
  • Do
    donald crosby Oct 16, 2009

    my old computer was destroyed- I have a new computer- please send soft ware to put on my new computer- observe my account and send what I have paid for- as soon as you do I will give you a credit card # for renewal

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Cherylsaynhi Sep 25, 2009

    I have Norton Internet Security 2017, and it SUCKS! When I first purchased it (around $70+ for the product), I had to pay an additional $99 to have a technician remove a virus from my computer. Fast forward a few months, up to about two weeks ago. I had problems with the product not updafting. It kept saying that it failed. So, I talked to a technician via the live chat, and they seemed to have resolved the issue. Not even three days later, I had the SAME issue, and they said I had a virus, so they referred me to a Norton tech who could remove the virus for $99. I told the people I had already paid $99 a few months ago to have a virus removed. WHatever. So I pay the $99, they remove the virus... AND start-up file, System32. My computer wouldn't star back up. All I got was a black screen saying, "Your system could not boot because the file (read off the file name, which included System32 in it) is either missing or corrupt. I had seen the tech delete this file, the day before. I WAS LIVID! I had to spend $75 to have my computer fixed, and the VERY DAY I brought it home from being repaired, I had a Norton tech help me re-install Norton on my computer, and what do you know - I had another virus! (Keep in mind, I had just brought my computer home that day, and had not even gone on the internet). The Norton tech did, but they went straight to the Norton web site to download and install the product. They insited that I pay ANOTHER $99 to have a tech remove the virus via remote access. I went through my entire diatribe about how the last tech who supposedly did this, ruined my computer, and how Norton owes me $75 for computer repairs because of that tech! They insisted I pay the $99. What choice did I have? I need my computer for college (reports, term papers, etc.) They assured me that if anything else went wrong, I had 7 days to notify them and have the problem resolved free of charge. SEVEN DAYS?? Sure enough, I had to contact them again! September 22 was teh last day I had to report any problems to them and have it fixed without additional cost, and of course, today is September 25, and NOrton discovered a Trojan on my computer (I am typing this from a neighbor's computer). It says the problem is "fully resoved, " but after the fiasco I've been through with Norton and the techs that work there, I don't trust that. I have downloaded Avir (which is free and does a better job of detecting stuf, and you can remove the virus from your computer for FREE)! I'll be writing a rather lengthy letter to Norton, demanding my money back, and demanding a reimbursement of the $75 for computer repairs due to their tech's SEVERE misjudgment in delting my start-up file. It is my opinion that Norton plants viruses on purpose, to get its customers to pay the $99 fee. Every time I've had a tech do remote access on my computer to help me, they have only made things worse, and causes more viruses to my computer. Norton is a crappy product with crappy customer support!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Manuel Cantu Sep 12, 2009

    I purchased Norton 360 - I have installed it on one computer, but now I want to install on a second one. My question is: how do I do this? And what if I lost my product key number?

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    paulmain Sep 01, 2009

    Norton has automatically debited my credit card, without my knowledge or without advanced warning.
    I did not want to renew my norton subscription, for another full year, as I am buyin a new pc in 3 monthes time, and the subscription would have cost me even more to transfer.
    This is demanding monies with menaces.It does not give the consumer the choice to renew or purchase a rival software programme.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    JillCCL Aug 15, 2009

    I bought Norton for my PC AND my laptop. Thinking I was protecting my computers from viruses. Yesterday I had a pop up of a rouge virus--and a company called Personal Antivirus saying I needed to buy their service to kill this virus. I spent literally three hours getting Norton on-line, only to be told that I needed to spend $99.00 more to take care of the problem. What did I pay for in the first place I wonder. They were like talking to a brick wall--just kept repeating I would have to pay for the help. I do not know what I even paid for to start with. All they could say is that no one can really protect you--so why even have Norton---it is a scam. And you can't even talk to anyone in person or even on-line that makes sense. I will NEVER renew with Norton again.

    0 Votes
  • El
    elviramotd Jul 15, 2009

    My new e-machines came with a 60 day trial of the Norton 360. It expired, I got popup after popup "renew now", so I finally paid the $59.99 for ONE YEAR (my old Dell came with McAfee, no updating or renewing needed). Immediately, my internet connection was "not responding", my photoshop programs (I have two) and Word were not responding. I couldn't even access shutdown/restart because the Norton 360 completely froze up the computer. I had to SHUT OFF THE ELECTRICITY TO MY COMPUTER!! to be able to reboot!! The problem continued, so today FOR FOUR HOURS I worked with Norton (Symantec) tech support in a chat session. Here's the fun part, the tech took control of my computer (with my permission) and HE COULDN'T ACCESS THE FIX-IT BECAUSE THE INTERNET CONNECTION WAS GONE. The internet connection continued to be jammed, so I had to shut off my computer, reboot and start over THREE TIMES. Finally, I called e-machines and told them that their recommended program was a piece of dung and to fix my computer. Of course, they disavowed all knowledge of the problem with this excrement, but did give me a phone number for Norton [protected] and [protected]). So I called. The solution? UNINSTALL THE PROGRAM. I confirmed with the technician (if that's what you want to call him) that my $59.99 would be refunded, and he assured me it would. I've contacted my bank and told them that this was a damaged product and I want the charge reversed, because I don't trust Symantec. I've uninstalled the Norton 360 program, but I had to download one of my photo programs because it still was "not responding".

    My advice? DON'T BY AN E MACHINE, they obviously don't give a s**t what program they add to their machines, and STAY AWAY FROM NORTON 360.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nadasky Jul 05, 2009

    I WOULD CALL NORTON AND I CANT EVEN GET SOMEONE WHO SPEAKS GOOD ENGLISH AND BY THE THIRD TECH I COULD HIT THI WALL GOT NOWHERE AND MY LAPTOP WAS A MESS. I JUST DELETED OUT NORTON AND NOW I WILL SEE IF I GET MY MONYE BACK?

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nadasky Jul 05, 2009

    TO MANY PROBLEMS, LIKE ALWAYS GETTING A NETWORK ERROR, OR HAVING TO DOWNLOAD EVERYDAY, NO SCREEN GOS BLANK LOSE SCREENSAVER ALREADY PAID FOR THIS SERVICE AND WOULD LIKE MY MONEY BACK $59.99 I WILL NEVER USE THIS SERVICE AGAIN

    0 Votes
  • Dh
    DHutto Jul 04, 2009

    I purchased Norton 360 with three licenses and installed them on two computers - an old desktop and a laptop. I trusted that the secure offsite backup offered by Norton would be available to me if ever needed. Before I had the laptop two years it "died" and I was unable to get anything off the hard drive. I purchased a new laptop, used my third license to install Norton 360 on it, and contacted Norton (Symantec) to request that they transfer my backup from the "dead" laptop to the new laptop so I would not lose my information. After over five hours on livechat with four technicians over two days nobody could get it through their head that I did not want the backup from my brand new computer installed onto the new computer - I wanted the backup from the "dead" laptop to be transferred to my new computer. They all kept telling me there was no backup for the new computer! Duh, it was a new computer and had no backup! A telephone call was to have been made to me within 48 hours but never came. I emailed and asked that they provide me with a computer disk containing my backup but have not received that either! I saw a recent article in a ladies magazine showing another lady who had the same problem with them. My computer repair person said he quit selling Norton products for this very reason - customer support was severely lacking. I deleted the Norton 360 product from my computers and installed Microsoft Onecare instead.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    customer Norton360 Jun 13, 2009

    Hello, recently I purchased Norton 360 from a retail store and i installed it and it seemed fine...but then it started showing error messages and your staff technicians tried to fix it and the research team said they would contact me within 24 hours...it has been more than 3DAYS!!!

    * i tried to get help from your technicians AGAIN! and someone called Vignesh said the only way to fix the newly purchased program was if i pay MORE money!!!...I have already paid for this program..THAT DOES NOT WORK! and now I am expected to pay more than the program cost to make it work!
    * I am quite outraged at this ridiculous turn of events and I demand that I get better customer service and do not have to pay for something that should not have had problems in the first place!
    * I am a patient person but I do not take kindly to being treated like a fool!
    * I want my program fixed for no charge...it is not good enough to ask me to pay when the product does not work as it should!
    * If I do not get some satisfaction from this matter, then you can be very sure that I will take this matter much further!

    Thank you,

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roger Marate Apr 06, 2009

    Bought Norton 360 for 3 computers. Istalled in on one. Tried to install on other three. But there are no instructions on how to use the same license to install on other two computers!

    Called help desk. They told me my best bet is to pay them another 50-60 bucks for them to install it on my computer. The alternative is that someone will come on line and give me instructions. I've been on hold for last 2 hours. Luckily I've speaker phone and plenty else to do.

    Worst, it does not even wor on one laptop on which it is installed. :-(

    Roger

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melvin Deas Apr 04, 2009

    I bought the Norton 360 version 3.0 upgrade. I paid for it with my credit card online. I then went to download it after I received the confirmation that the transaction had gone through. It wouldn't load, so I closed the screen and tried dowloading it agaain, using the product key number and it keeps saying invalid product key

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    pat Mar 13, 2009

    After subscribing to Norton 360, near the end of the free trial period, I continued to receive prompts re. my subscription ending and asking me to subscribe and indicating I had only several days until expiration date. I opened a CHAT with Norton/Symantec to ask that the prompt be deleted, as I already subscribed for a year; and also to be sure my subscription would not expire.

    The technician, Zaheeruddin said he would have to delete the current Norton 360 on my computer and install a new Norton 360. After he did that, which took an hour, I shut down and tried to restart my computer. My desktop looked different and when I tried to open files, every file was empty. After again shutting down and restarting, I received a brief message, "The Group Policy Client service failed the login. Access denied."

    I then traveled 45min. to Best Buy for help. The Geek Squad was able to open my computer by creating another account, but could do nothing about my lost files and folders. The backup of files which I had run with the trial cccopy of Norton, was not available either. The Geek Squad provided me with a telephone # for Symantec, but this prooved fruitless.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevin Dickson Nov 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a power failure and when my pc is powered back up, I get a notice of intrustion and my protection is tuened off . I cannot get it back on . When I try to turn it on i get a password notice . When I enter the password it goes back to the fixit window and I can't fix it without a password . I spent 1-1/2 hours waiting for a tech and get diconnected . Then go to the explorer address to norton connectme . I would enter the code if I knew what /where the hell to enter it .
    BTW a couple of weeks ago when I installed the Norton Insight update it wrecked every toolbar I had . It took me three days to find it and reconfigure what I remembered was on my toolbar and to top it off I lost a lot of my outlook express folders -mail -antispam etc .
    Not sure if Norton is protecting me or Wrecking me ?? Never mind, I just remembered what started all this . Its when they told me I had no intrusion protection and 2 trojans, that I can't remove because I can't turn the dam thing on.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marlene Inkley Nov 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have to force you to run the Norton Antivirus---it will not run everyday automatically---this is the last time I will ever use your program---when I try to contact you it is impossible to contact anybody---you send me a case # and a code # to contact someone at www.norton.com/connectme and ---blahhh--you cannot connect with anyone! You're company is pathetic---I have been a custyomer for years---but NO MORE!!!---I'm tired of wasting my time--thank you!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.