The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Mor Furniturelies

T

My husband and I have been waiting for over a month to be refunded $2, 698.00 for a damaged curio cabinet and matching dinette set that was purchased at MOR Furniture in San Marcos, CA. HDL Delivery services is their sub-contracted delivery company that set-up our Curio cabinet incompletely. The second shelf collapsed and destroyed $800 worth of our China and Stemware that were given to us as wedding gifts.

A MOR service technician came to our house to inspect what was damaged and determined the root cause to be an incomplete installation due to the 2nd shelf only having half of the support pegs installed during setup of the curio.

MOR Furniture decided that it would be easier if they blamed the manufacturer of the furniture, claiming it was "defective" even though the furniture was assembled with pieces missing so MOR Furniture could receive the refund for the furniture we returned to them.

Our furniture has been in MORs possession for almost 3 weeks now and we still have not received the $2, 698.00 they owe us for the furniture we returned to them. We have contacted Dave, their Customer Service manager who has done nothing but feed us lies. In the meantime, MOR Furniture has our furniture AND the $2, 698.00 we paid for it.

Responses

  • Jo
    jose Apr 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchsed my bedroom set which was very expenssive for the quality not even 3 months and my mattress set had already dents in them. very poor quality . After several attempts to contact them it has already been more than a year, and i am about to go drop them off at their store. I am very tired that still nothing has been done.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jackie Sep 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We bought a dining table set from Mor Furniture for $1200 in February 2017. We didn't receive our furniture (including a sectional we got) until April. By May the chairs started to wobble and the screws came lose on most of them. By June one of the legs busted on one chair and by September another leg busted. You'd think that for all the money we paid that it last a LOT LONGER than a few months. Fortunately, the sectional we got is still in excellent condition. As far as the dining chairs, I am extremely disappointed at the quality especially for the amount that we paid for them. You can bet that I won't be back there.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lin Laurie Oct 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased an entertainment center on 9-30 and they changed delivery dates 3 times. When I tried to cancel the order, I left messages and no one returned my calls. Finally I did get through to an operator but they said they could cancel the order but would not refund my money on my credit card unless I came into the store to do it in person. I complained to my bank and got a temporary refund while they investigate but even the temporary refund will take 7 days to processs so Mor gets to use my money until then and I have a bare spot in my living room where the entertainment center should go.

    I am going to Jeromes, where they deliver the furniture in 24 hours and don't lie about it.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terri Park Mar 27, 2009

    Purchased two end tables on 15 March 2017. I would be called when they arrived and I would pick them up. After 2 weeks, I called and inquired about them. I was then told that they would not be here until 30 APRIL 2017. That is 7 weeks to wair for two end tables. I asked if I could have the ones on the floor of their store and I was told no and that there is nothing they could do about it. I was extrememly disappointed with the customer service. I could not beleive it would take 7 weeks to get an item ordered.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    TedI67 Nov 11, 2009

    I bought a table from mor furniture 08/23/09 it was supposed to be delivered 9/19. They kept pushing the delivery date back, so finally on 10/23 they gave me a new delivery date of 11/01. well my housewarming/daughters 3rd birthday party was scheduled for that day. needless to say that was not going to work for us. so they said we could come and pick it up. we did that. brought it home and put it together. when we took the top of the table out of the packaging, we noticed it was chipped. so we called them to complain and do you think they would pay us back for the delivery fee or replace the table top??? no they blamed us and told me that i chose to pick the table up. Then they offered us 100$ to just keep the damaged table. after constant phone calls to complain, they offered to send out a technician to inspect the table but would not guarantee a thing and would not reimburse their previous offer of 100$. we spent over 2017$ in their store...their customer service help and policies are bull ###. I will NEVER buy another item from Mor nor will i ever tell anyone to shop there.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Complaints Nov 17, 2009

    Mor Furniture has no customer service. We recently bought a couch & loveseat, they said it would be delivered that evening. The delivery truck arrived at 12:30 in the morning. We were so tired we were not thinking straight & accepted it. The next morning it was obvious that the furniture was too large for the room. We called their so called customer service dept less than 12 hours after it was delivered. They told us, too bad you'll have to keep it we don't accept returns once an item is delivered. Have you ever heard of a reputable company pulling a stunt like that? I would never buy anything from this company again. If you read any positive reviews regarding Mor Furniture it was probably planted there by one of there sales people. Do yourself a favor buy your furniture from
    a more reputable company!!

    0 Votes
  • Ku
    Kurban Jul 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My couch broke just after a year! Half of the couch is sitting on the ground due to the frame being broken. I contacted Mor and was told sorry it's after a year (1 week) and it's not warrantied. But the couch has a LIFETIME warranty. After 6 MONTHS, of me calling back over and over again they agreed to send someone. Five minutes before the guy was supposed to show up we get a call saying sorry we canceled your appt. we won't come out until you pay us $50. So waiting and waiting for a call from the Manager never came... I called again and again then I was told that the couch and the manufacture are out of business so sorry.. Huh? I called again today and now was told that the couch is discontinued but I will have to take my problem up with the manufacture. I thought that they were out of business??? SO now I am being told that even if we were to pay them the service fee they wouldn't be able to do anything for us anyway because the couch is discontinued and the parts are not available. So you were going to charge me knowing that you couldn't even get the parts? So now I have the manufacture's number that was supposedly out of business and was told so sorry.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chle Oct 09, 2010

    I worked in a furniture store as salesperson and delivery man for many years. A delivery truck delivering at 12:30 AM??? Never heard of anything like that before. When a customer orders something and then decides they don't like it in their room, that should be their own problem as long as the furniture is not damaged. We as salespeople are trained to spot a customer such as this. We charge them extra for delivery, and if the piece is not on the floor, we quote them a higher price. This is because in the long run we are going to have to send someone out to fix an imaginary problem. If you want better service and products, buy from a smaller, family-owned store that deals with locally made products. People think locally handcrafted, solid wood furniture is way out of their price range, but the truth is that if its locally made its the about the same price as the China made pieces. Pennsylvania, Virginia & New York have some of the best solid wood stores in the country. So you live on the west coast? No problems here either. If its shipped you don't have to pay sales tax. Shipping is often less than sales tax.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.