SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Macy'srip-off fees on revolving credit card

1
B Review updated:

Revolving credit card balance from November 2010 was paid in full (card balance of $180 plus change) to Macy's. December - I bought a Christmas ornament for total of $7.45. Went out of town for Christmas 2010 and missed paying my $7.45 Macy's bill before the January 22, 2010 deadline. Criminal, I know. Received my January statement and they charged me a late fee of $7.45, and a minimum interest charge of $2.00 (if your computed interest for the month is less than $2.00 - too bad, you pay $2.00, minimum). Paid the $16.70 on Feb 9, 2011 - 13 days before the Feb 22, 2011 deadline for payment. Received my February statement - (now, mind you, I hadn't used the Macy's card AT ALL since December 7, 2010 - nada, nothing charged on it) - and it shows that I paid the entire $16.70 balance leaving a balance due of $0.00 (nothing due). Yet, there's a 'fee' being charged of $2.00. So, I call Macy's - and I want to know - "What is this $2.00 fee?" 40 minutes later (35 minutes of being on hold - talking to 4 different people and being transferred by 'customer service' from the credit/billing department to the macys.com department and back again) - and they're trying to convince me that it's a minimum interest charge somehow related to the balance that was paid in full 13 days before the Feb 22, 2011 deadline. I have a BA degree in math/computer science and an MBA - the customer service people didn't have a clue - they couldn't find anyone who did - so they stonewalled with a circular argument. Basically, what's happened here, I think, is that they computed the interest charge on the $7.45 that I owed them to three decimal places - and then rounded that number on my statement to two decimal places. When I paid what they said I owed - they deducted it - not from the two decimal place number - but from the three decimal place number - i.e. I will never pay off Macy's and they will forever, then, be assessing me a $2.00 interest fee every month on that haning third decimal place. I'm not paying Macy's $2.00 a month for the 'privilege' of carrying around their plastic in my wallet. After I paid the $2.00 - I closed the account. I don't do business with unethical companies who can't own up to their mistakes, do this kind of questionable accounting, charge an outrageous minimum interest on any amount due on your account (like $.001), and hire the incompetent in foreign call centers where US dollars are not the native currency. So, Macy's lost a +20 year customer who has spent, literally, thousands of dollars in their store over their greedy practices to gouge credit customers - hope they're happy they got their $.001 worth.

Responses

  • St
    starlet317 Mar 27, 2011

    They waived the fee for me. I had no issue at all. And I did conclude from my conversation from them that the reason for the fee being posted was because I didn't pay off my card in February and therefore was charged $2.00 service fee. Even though I did pay off my card in March the service fee didn't post to my account until after my March statement was issued. So when I got my newest statement I owed $2 of which they kindly waived when I called. Now I know and won't let that happen again. It is sort of stupid though that this charge doesn't get charged to the account until two billing cycles later. That's why people are confused because they don't look at there bills assuming it was paid off yet there was a service fee from a prior month. Good lesson in always reading your statements and assuming nothing. Is Macy's trying to scam us over and over by not paying attention to this service fee? Maybe, but I'm smarter than they think I am and it won't happen again. And I'll still be a Macy's shopper.

    -1 Votes
  • Oi
    oilyfatness Apr 06, 2011

    Also coupon doesn't work on certain items such as the impulse department, fine jewelry, or and high end expensive items! Geez! Next time read the coupon before you go and yell at the cashier!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chrisbdz Apr 11, 2011

    I just saw I had the same $2 fee on my account. I think it's crap of Macy's saying it's a minimal interest charge and there being a residual balance. I had a balance of $401 and change due by April 6. I paid in full on Mar 10, almost a month prior. So it showed my balance as zero. Not possible for there to be interest on that last balance. And if so, it would be more than the minimal interest. I haven't called yet... but am about to.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Tracy K. Dec 24, 2012

    I am very upset. I got a call (AGAIN) that I had not paid my bill and I looked at my e bill records (Yahoo) and saw that there have been MANY months they did not bother to send me a bill. I have been talking to them the last year and have had to make payments over the phone because I did not get an ebill. I was told again today that whether I receive a bill or not that I am responsible which is fine but are they not supposed to bill me? And I said "Oh, so you don't have to bill me"? It feels like this is something that happens to others and I would like to know. I have made a copy of my Macy's records on yahoo and there are many months that I did not get e billed at all.

    0 Votes
  • Dc
    DCDallas Jul 05, 2013

    I paid pff, u $1, 000+ Macy's balance last month and have not made any purchases since that time. My statement this month has a balance of $14.66 which shows as interest charged. When I called Macy's extremely difficult to navigate voice response system and finally got an agent to speak with, I was told this amount was a carryover from a late payment in April - 3 months ago! They did waive it for me, but my point to the agent was that had I known about it, I would have paid it when I paid my entire balance. I really question their interest charge practices.

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    Kath. Nov 05, 2013

    I got the same issues with Macy's Account. I paid my last statement balance IN FULL, including INTEREST of $2.90 on less than $180 purchases but my new statement now shows a "balance - due $2" which is a "$2 Fee", not an interest, but a FEE. I got on CHAT with a CS rep (to avoid being on hold and talking on the phone with hard to understand people from some undisclosed location), but this person on the chat was equally annoying a? Cancell Macy's before Holidays? s she would type the same answer over rand over again like a robot... Well... Upsetting but what am I to do - cancel Macy's account just before Holidays? :/

    1 Votes
  • Vs
    V. Stewart Apr 01, 2014

    After reading the above post and realizing that the famous 2$ residual interest fee is a common practice with Macy's, and after my phone call with Macy's customer service which did not result in a waive of the fee (on my initial 0 balance) I have decided to pay the 2$ Fee and close the account. I have a $2, 000.00 credit line with Macy's which I don' t plan to use. So this relationship is over, due to Macy's price gouge of their interest fee.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    [email protected]?! Apr 22, 2014

    Paid off $35.16 balance, received bill with a $00.00 balance and they charged the $2.00 fee! Really?!! Cancelling account, rather use a card that gives me back...

    2 Votes
  • Lj
    ljoy Jul 22, 2014

    Same exact thing happened to me as the OP. I know how to pay my bills IN FULL, I'm not ###ed, and I have excellent credit. Macy's just completely screws over their customers to make money. 2.00 from everyone is a lot of illegal revenue. Nope, sorry, card closed,

    3 Votes
  • Sh
    Shon_602 Jul 29, 2014

    Same thing happened to me as the OP too. They charged me $2 on a zero balance. Then tried to say it was interest on a purchase. I hadn't use my Macy's card in two months and balance was paid in full. The agent did not know what she was talking about and was basically useless except for waiving the $2 fee.

    I'm cancelling my card at the end of the week. I'm not going to pay Macy's just to have their card in my wallet.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lia R Apr 01, 2015

    We paid off our Macy's acct. as well and then got a bill for $2.00. This happened before and we called like we did the last time and they did remove the fee. Try asking them what this fee is for? Nobody seems to know. It's not interest. They cannot seem to explain what exactly it is. You get all kinds of answers. They do this to all credit card customers. So if everyone does not question it and pays it, imagine the amount of money they make. No other place we deal with does this. Why is Macy's doing this. Our attitude is we will just close the credit card as well if it continues.

    1 Votes
  • Id
    Idaho Steph Jul 08, 2015

    Yep. Same story... Account paid in full last month, 3 wks before due date. Now I have a bill for $2. I won't deal w/ this crap. I've had this card for 34 yrs, but I - like others - am NOT willing to pay $2/month to be a credit card customer and incur bogus fees! Going into the store today to cancel my acct.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    taptew Oct 03, 2015

    Same story here, we closed the account for good right there after paying off final $4.00 charges. I am never ever going to shop at Macy's stores for their dishonesty.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Anna Dan Oct 14, 2015

    Please help me bc i called and they told me the $2 fee is taken off last month and now they add another $2 and if i do not pay there will b $38 late fee. On the phone 4 times 30mins each. Macys is SUCH B.S. I WILL NEVER SHOP THERE AGAIN. Help plz.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Debbie Sills Oct 16, 2015

    I have a better one...because I had paid my account off in full, I did not check the balance. Now my account has gone into collections through Macy's! For $4.00! Can you believe it? And their collections department is only open during normall business hours!

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    Tafere Zegeye Dec 22, 2015

    I received a $2.00 bill recently and I just paid it even though I said to myself "I have paid my bill in full why are they sending this" but then my has similar card and I pay her bills. That's when this raised my eyebrows. I called the CS and I was being put on hold for 30 min and I set my phone on mic and decided to look it up online. Sure enough, I cam across this site and learned why Macy's is doing this. Well, after about 40 min. a different CSR showed and goes "thanks for holding how may I help you today" I go " I have been put on hold for 40 min. and you are asking me anew?" anyways, I told the CSR to not bother explaining because I already know the answer. I settled the issue with the $2.00 being credited. The funniest thing is Macy's awed me $8.00 and they didn't bother to deduct the bogus fee out of it. I have been Macy's customer since when it was Foley's and now I am parting ways in bad terms because I refuse to be scummed.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kavyag Dec 23, 2015

    It's total fraud . They are doing this to me second time . They have charged my 2$ after I closed my account clearing all the balances . I did not check statements after I closed my account paying everything . After 6 months they are calling me and asking me to pay 60$. I have not even used their card . This hits my credit lik hell . Am not sure what to do . Mystery is how can they charge after account is closed ?????

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Cari Lundgren Dec 31, 2015

    Today I rec'd a call from Macys saying because of the $2.00 interest fee I incurred (unknown to me) after I closed my account, I am now 6 months behind and owe $63.00. Does anyone know what to do about this because obviously it will affect my credit history.

    1 Votes
  • Si
    Silke Dandy Jan 01, 2016

    I paid off my Macy's credit card 8/31/15. My balance was then $0. I made no further purchases, but continued to get monthly $2 'fees charged' for my September statement, then again in October, again in November, and a 4th charge this December, 2015. These charges occurred despite having a balance of $0. On the phone, one person told me it was 'residual interest', but the bottom of the statements say 'Interest Charged' is $0.00. There is no reference to these $2 anywhere in the fine print on the statememts either. I had to cancel the card, since I am protecting my top-notch credit rating and cannot afford deceptive charging practices. A few pieces of clothes and whatnot at a discount at Macy's are not worth it to me anymore. I do not trust Macy's anymore.

    1 Votes
  • Pa
    Paloma8 Jan 01, 2016

    They are basically charging customers, including me, a $2 fee monthly for their perceived "HONOR" of having an account wit them. Time to cancel my card!

    1 Votes
  • Je
    Jecka1107 Jan 04, 2016

    I'm being charged $38.00 late fee on a 21.00 balance. I always pay this bill on the 15th of the month, Macy's is charging in the 12th of the month. When I call customer service, I get "Disconnected". My balance is now $132.00 just for "Late Fees"!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ki
    Kim9801 Feb 15, 2016

    This is the first time I've noticed this ridiculous $2.00 "Minimum Interest" fee, which is not interest at all. I found this out after calling customer service and being forced to listen to ad after ad after ad and having to press "#" after each ad in order to continue being put on hold. That alone had me going, are you F'n kidding me? I'm calling to dispute an erroneous charge, and now you're forcing me to listen to ads? C'mon! After much frustration, I finally get to talk to someone that explained that if you carry a balance from month to month, that when you pay your card off they then assess you this $2.00 Minimum Interest fee. In fact, the customer service rep told me to just include $2.00 when I pay off my balance. What customer would know to do this? She did agree to reverse the charges (and the fact that they're so eager to do this for you should make you wonder about this practice as well), but from reading other comments it sounds as if I may see another $2.00 charge next month if I don't use the card again. This must be illegal and if it's not it is definitely unethical. I'm planning to cancel my card as well, and I have been a card holder since 1991.

    1 Votes
  • Ho
    Holly Reeves Feb 19, 2016

    Macy's has done the same exact thing to me! I paid of multiple balances in FULL and didn't use my card for several months. I figured that since I paid the "total amount due" that I wouldn't owe anything additional, but I was completely wrong. I ended up finding out while monitoring my credit report and the charge showed up from Macy's being 2 months late! I was absolutely furious!!! After calling them the fees were reversed and they apologized and fixed my credit report. I was told them that it was a fee that everyone gets, but the CSR couldn't explain it or why I got them. I was told to check each bill even if I didn't use my card and if the fee showed up then to call them and they would remove it. After several months I used my card yet again and paid it off and got the fee yet again to I called and was informed that it was an interest charge from the time the actual last bill was printed until the bill was actually paid. I went back and forth with them and the ridiculousness of it all explaining well are you gonna charge me an interest charge for the 2 dollar interest which is never included in the total balance due! The girl was so rude that i asked for her supervisor and she was the one who explained that all to me, but honestly it's a crock of crack!!! My favorite part was when they lowered my credit card limit because of the "late" payments not realizing I had a bill to pay since it was paid in full prior to the due date, which lowered my credit score this resulting in Macy's final decision to lower my credit limit! I will be paying it off and cancelling my card.

    2 Votes
  • Mi
    Mitrov Apr 21, 2016

    Same thing. Fraudulent. You full and well have the technology to post (in realtime) any account related fees.I had closed my account after being promised cash return on my purchase if I opened a Macy's credit card. I didn't look too much into the offer but the additional discount was a nice perk after spending upwards of 600 dollars.

    (January) The rep stated that I would receive roughly an 80 dollar cash return value if I opened a card due to a promotion. I was fooled - whatever - moving on. I had left town for a month, before leaving I made an additional purchase of roughly 50 dollars.

    (March 1st) Upon my return I noticed that I had not received a Macys statement. Immediately, I create an account online to review my statement to ensure that the 'cash return value' covered my purchase. To my surprise the 50 dollars was now in the ballpark figure of 80+ ($25 dollar late fee). I inquired and got no where, bit the bullet and accepted that I was duped. Paid it off immediately - Late fee and additional charges included, and demanded that my card be cancelled and a notification of the cancellation be sent to me. 30 days later!!! I receive a notification of 0 balance - card cancelled.

    (April - week and some change before June) fast forward to April I get an email notification from Macys saying my statement is ready for review. 2 dollars. What? I get that their 'interest' takes time to hit, but that would technically be two billing cycles. It's a scam through and through. Look. I gave Macys a call and spoke to a very nice filipina who is only doing her job. I insisted the charge be removed. She said she removed it, but I am waiting on yet another notification with 0 balance. If it happens again I will file a report against Macys and take them to small claims court.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    Sakasama Apr 21, 2016

    just like everybody else here... 2 dollar charge on a zero balance out of nowhere! How can they legaly get away with this? This is outright theft! We have to pay 2 dollars a month just to HAVE the card? I don't use my card every month or even every few months - pretty much just at xmas... but now I gotta log in every month to pay a new 2 dollar charge on nothing?! Aren't there government agencies that monitor this kind of unethical stuff?

    1 Votes
  • Je
    Jecka1107 Apr 26, 2016

    Why isn't anyone doing anything about these false charges? After making several false/inaccurate charges and fees, I paid these fraudulent extortion fees then I closed my account/ Three months later I received an email from Macy's charging me yet again more fees and telling me my account was past due. I told them it was a closed account and paid in full and they will not remove these false charges. I'm at their mercy. SOMEONE HELP!!!

    1 Votes
  • Re
    Reverendrod Jul 20, 2016

    Macy's "fees" and interest rates IMHO are CRIMINAL. Got my first bill on a new card where I purchased a $49 coat and they claim my payment is late SO they add a $29 late fee and $2 interest fee. It looks like the $2 fee is, as others have said a fee for the "honor" of having their card. Their published interest rate by the way is a whopping 25.49% (insane, horrible customer treatment IMHO). They keep proving that they cannot be trusted. I will pay them and cancel. Along with that TERRIBLE customer service in store (trying to find ANYONE to help or take purchases). I agree with the poster who said "I do not trust Macy's..."

    3 Votes
  • Je
    Jecka1107 Jul 21, 2016

    Be warned. I paid the extortion fee to Macy's then cancelled my card. Three months later I received a bill for late charges. Nobody is doing anything for the consumer. We are at that mercy.

    2 Votes
  • Am
    Amy Greenhouse Oct 03, 2017

    @Jecka1107 What happened after you paid for the late charges. Do you still get the $2 fee, month after month, forever? I don't know what to do, should I close my account, I have finally reached $0 balance.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    Geraldine Burroughs Aug 06, 2018

    I noticed this on my statement and decided to call. I have now been on hold for 25 minutes. If you think about it, I had my Macy's credit card for 4 years and that is $100.00 over the course. I always make the minimal amount to ensure my account is not closed. I called Macys customer service department and advised anytime you balance will be an additional $2.00 in fees. My current balance is $20.13 and today it is $22.13. The rep just advised that since it was a carry over, there is a $2.00 charge that will be assessed in August bill. I am not closing my account now because I want the credit to reflect on my report, however after the purchase of my home I will be closing this account.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    Geraldine Burroughs Aug 06, 2018

    I also saw this online...

    https://www.bigclassaction.com/lawsuit/macy-bloomingdale-face-consumer-fraud-class-action.php

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Rebecca Kim Oct 11, 2019

    These $2 fees have happened to me 3 times over maybe 5 years. It happens sporadically when I pay the balance in full. I pay it off and then SOMETIMES get a $2 fee on the next statement. Each time I call and each time they reverse the fee. Never get an answer as to why they charge it in the first place! First 2 times they told me it was a mistake and took off the fee. This third time I was very irritated! The customer service person told me it was because I have a "history" of making partial payments.WHAT??? Yes, sometimes I pay my bill in full, sometimes split it into a couple payments. He acted like nobody ever carries over a balance. I told him it didn't matter and I pay interest if balance is carried over. Basically he couldn't give me a legitimate answer. They charge this hoping people pay it. I'm sure many do. The fee is always taken off when you call, but it's a shifty scam! Imagine how much money they make from the people who do pay this. I only use my card a few times a year. I'll be checking my account online now since I've read some people are getting this fee after months with no balance. DISHONEST!

    0 Votes

Post your comment