The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
EOS CCASCAM

V Review updated:

They called me with a claim of a bill they were trying to collect on from Verizon. The Bill was for over $900. I had an account with Verizon years ago and closed it - years ago.

They claim that the bill was for a phone number I know nothing about. They have not sent me any bill, or evidence that they hold any debt or what it might be for, but they did say that the "uncollected funds" has gone on my credit report. I doubt that .

I'll check, but their story keeps changing. They gave me a "reference number" that I tried to use but they do not recognize. So there is no accountability. No evidence of anything other than a scam.

Responses

  • Ag
    Agnes Maria Jun 12, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Don't know how they got my number, which I've had since 2014. Suspect online service using SMS confirmation. I have never had any credit cards. I have no major bank accounts and have never taken out any loans. I have no outstanding bills and I do my taxes. This is a scam and I have blocked all of their numbers so far. They will get a cease and desist letter if they continue to call me.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    cullen hankerson May 29, 2017

    I have been incarcerated for 7 years and I should have no credit balance. I need u to correct this problem

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    Agnes Maria May 26, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They woke me up this morning. I simply hung up. I have never had a credit card, I have not had a bank account in over 16 years, and I have only worked for myself (using a small local Credit Union for all transactions). I have never borrowed money, I have no debts with any company and I do not owe the government. And I do my taxes, etc, etc, etc. There is no way for EOS to have gotten my contact information except through one of the companies that uses a phone number for confirmation for the use of their services, such as AdobeID, IPSOS iSay, PayPal, etc. In all likelihood, someone with access to the information obtained by legitimate companies is using this information, and it is most likely a low-level employee. I can see that EOS is scaring a lot of people with actual debts or who are unsure. EOS uses illegal tactics and should be reported to the appropriate authorities. They are illegitimate and have awakened the wrong person from their slumber this morning. I am not even on the financial map and yet they are trying to claim all sorts of outrageous nonsense regarding debts that I cannot possibly have. Let this be a warning to all who might be worried. EOS represents no one but their fraudulent selves, and should be taken down like the [censor] that they are :)

    0 Votes
  • No
    NotYourAverageIdiot May 30, 2014

    I for one disagree with Caitybaby93 as well as most people in this posting. This company does harass people. They called me looking for a very ex boyfriend about a month ago. On the first call I told them he doesn't live here anymore, hasn't in a year and a half . I don't know where he is or how to get in touch with him & do not care. I asked them to remove my number from their file and was assured that it would be... but...since then I have received 5 more calls. Each time I have told them to stop! They insist on cross examining me each and every time. Each and Every time I also tell them to cease and desist. Today I called back and asked for a supervisor and was transferred to someone who told me the the file had been marked that my phone was not to be called back on the 17th. Well today is the 30th. And I was awakened to yet another of their highly trained harassment specialists. I informed this 'Supervisor' that I have a full record of dates and calls and names. If I receive another call now they will be facing a major lawsuit because the next call they receive will be from my attorney and the states Attorney General!

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    marrisa407 Apr 27, 2014

    I just received a notice from EOS CCA regarding a debt that I know I have with At&t. My intuition has led me to investigate further. I am positive I owe a different amount. What should i do. I know a software the Galaxy's s 3 had a Lookout Security app to protect our phone from hackers. However, a few weeks ago Lookout Security emailed me telling of a system bleed which consumers personal info may or may not have been leaked. Any suggestions?

    thanks marrisa

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    mr. wounderful Jan 19, 2014

    I worked there for 3 months. It was the worst place ever. I have 20 years collection background and they treat the debtors and employees like crap. They are proud to have a 80% employee turn over each year. Do not pay them anything since the accounts are out of statute. If you pay even $5.00 you restart the statute.

    1 Votes
  • Br
    Browniepoints Sep 11, 2013

    I received a bill from EOS CCA for $92 for AT&T Mobility. We contacted AT&T and found this charge to be an accounting error on their end. We were in the process of buying a house, and didn't have time to wait for them to get the information to EOS CCA. We contacted EOS CCA, sucked it up and paid the bill with the understanding that it would be removed from my credit report. WRONG! Not only was it not removed, it was never updated as full paid. Best part- I paid the account in November of 2012. I still have a copy of the credit card statement with the charge on it. I just received another letter from them dated September 5th of 2013 for the exact same debt.
    So, not only did they not follow the terms the of the payment agreement, they never credited my account.
    Needless to say, I've already bought my home. I'm sending them a certified letter today. If they don't fix it, I will spend the money to sue for violations of the FDCPA, FCRA and defamation of character.

    0 Votes
  • Et
    ethos Aug 04, 2012

    If you don't owe a debt don't be had by these clowns. Google cease and desist letters and you will banish these clowns so quickly out of your life.

    1 Votes
  • Tiffany Washington Aug 03, 2012

    If you think they are wrong, call Verizon and ask why/if they put you in collections..

    That would explain everything.

    Check your facts first, it's your best defense.

    0 Votes
  • Tiffany Washington Aug 03, 2012

    I agree, they work with you.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    aromano101 Jul 27, 2012

    I am currently going through a rehabilitation pay with them on my student loan. The gentleman who called me first (they hunted me down for it) was... NICE about it (Granted, I wasn't a jerk to him so I am sure that helped as well). We discussed my situation, and we made arrangements that actually work. I had to move a payment (due to uncontrollable circumstances) and even though I know they have to give me a grace period, I wasn't made to feel bad about it (Not like when I had to move one of my husband's payments with NCO).
    One of the reps even gave me the IRS number to check and see if you have a lien against your refund, and told me with what payment I could file my taxes without the gov't taking any of my refund for my DEFAULTED (put that in caps because it was my fault) student loan.
    The only thing I wish they would do is correct my name. Somewhere along the line it got switched around, but even that I don't consider a real negative (My married name is now my first name, and my maiden name is my last name).

    0 Votes
  • Jt
    jteri Jun 04, 2012

    I recently attempted to purchase a home. I pulled my credit report to find a claim on th from ECS CCA. The claim stated the ATT had place this account with them for a 301.00. This struck me as strange since I have a active account with Att. and have been a customer for the past 12 year. Needless to say I contacted Att, they have no record of the debt, they didn't recognize the account number. The next thing I tried was to contact EOS CCA. They have given the run around. I have requested more information on the debt, they don't recognized the account number and i have disputed it three times and it still has not been removed from my credit report. If anyone has had any success i getting rid of these clowns please help they are killing me.

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    Cyr2012 May 29, 2012

    They have a name, then they do a White Pages search of the country for that name, calling and harassing people who have nothing to do with their bill. They even called my mother (that's going a long way to find connections to their collections). They left messages daily. Finally I answered the phone and got through to a supervisor, because despite asking ME for personal information, would not even disclose the company they were representing. Turns out, they were looking for someone with my husband's name, whose address was over a thousand miles from us. They had the wrong person. Major hassle for anyone who has the same name as their clients. Geez. Bottom line, don't tell them ANYTHING. Demand that they send a certified letter to the address on record. Chances are it's not YOURS.

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    Cyr2012 May 29, 2012

    They called every day, leaving messages, and even called my mother, apparently after searching the Internet looking for a connection to my husband. She didn't give information either. They finally got through to me and got to listen to me and my challenges and raised voice.

    This company asks for personal information, which I would not give. They said my husband owed money to a company, which they wouldn't disclose. I said that they needed to send a letter. They said that they did. Finally they gave me the address that they sent it to... a city more than a thousand miles away where we've never lived. So, they are searching Internet White Pages looking for phone numbers for names of people who may (or may not) owe money. Do not talk to these people. Tell them to send a certified letter to the address of record. Don't even give them your address! Check your credit report frequently to make sure you really don't owe a debt. And if they continue to harrass you, tell them they're being reported.

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    Murdockns Apr 10, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They employ illegal debt collection practices. Horrible, unethical people.

    1 Votes
  • Ki
    Kiely Jan 24, 2012

    I thought everyone was very nice there. I got transferred a few times but got to the right Rep. She offered several solutions to help me with this before it went on my credit bureau. Wouls recommend them again.

    0 Votes
  • Ye
    yeayeayea43 Nov 26, 2011

    i worked for them the top boss for the dallas office is indeed a felon and was locked up for 10 years...my former supervisor was fired for making up false checks and stealing money eos cca is a high school full of people who are ALL crooks!

    2 Votes
  • Xx
    xxeosccaxx Nov 18, 2011

    To all of those who have something to say about eos cca. all i have to say is you would not be getting these harrassing phone calls and we would not being calling your work if you paid your bills. Just beacuse you people want to be complicated and hang up and pick fights with the bill collector (and just and fyi we get paid to sit there and listen to you ###, when you dont) then you clearly have no other way to waste your time then to ### on the phone then write about it on some bogas website. Just pay your bills on time and your wouldnt have to deal with us. AND JUST AN FYI we are all professionals, non fellons so idk who gave you that idea. and that fine dont pay your bills you just either go to court, it effects your credit, or they will just garnish your wages. its really no sweat off my back

    -2 Votes
  • Sa
    Sam Garrett Jan 22, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @xxeosccaxx You really are a ###. These people have legitament complaints about bills they don't owe, but this company still harasses them, even when they have proof, and when they say they will take it off of the credit report, just take it off. problem solved, that way you don't get cussed out and they don't have to deal with you ###'s anymore.

    1 Votes
  • Mr
    MRGrant Nov 03, 2011

    After getting a call this morning, on the same phone line that they said was in collections, my husband waited for me to get home before dealing with them. I immediately called Verizon and asked how it was possible for me to have a $341 collection payment against a phone bill that I have proof is current. Verizon assured me there was no collection out on our phone number/bill, said they do not even send anyone to collections until 6 months after phone has been shut off. Our phone is not shut off, our bill is current. I called EOS/CCA and spoke to Rachel who told me Verizon sent it to collections September 19th. I told her, no they didn't, I just spoke to them. I'm looking at a current bill and I don't owe anything for 2more weeks and it's no where near $341! Then she said it was $357. What?? How did it go from $341 to $357 in half an hour?? Rachel told me I needed to pay the bill with her, then submit the proof to Verizon and they will reimburse me. Really? A) I don't have $357 laying around to play a game with and B) I have proof I don't owe them anything so why would I pay for something I don't owe? She said, I don't know what to tell you, but that's what you have to do to have it resolved. No, no it's not. I will be calling Verizon back, asking for their legal dept and we will go over step by step what the problem is and I plan to have them take care of the problem. Unfortunately, until I read these boards I hadn't even thought of our credit report. I have print outs of all my bills and I'll mail them, fax them and email them or send by pigeon to any and all that need to see that proof. My husband just mentioned the media... Hmmm, maybe them too.

    0 Votes
  • Ex
    Expodis Sep 12, 2011

    We just received a collection notice stating that we owe $86.18 to AT&T. We set up our first account with AT&T 12 months ago for wireless service, then for U-Verse about 5 months ago. We have had no accounts with them prior to this. They would not have allowed us to set up new accounts with them if we owed them money or they had sent us to collections. It's in my husband's name, so I can't call either AT&T or the collection company to see what's going on. My guess is that AT&T will have no clue what the collection letter is about, and the collection company will sound like blubbering idiots trying to explain this away. Either way, they aren't getting a cent out of us. We have no such debt. If they want to try and scare us with things like ruining our credit score, I'd say have fun with that. It would anger me, but our home and vehicles are already paid for, so throwing a bogus collection on our report is not going to be the end of us. My husband has a passion for making idiots who hide behind phones either cry, or making them VERY uncomfortable, and he is very good at it, too. He will have fun with this.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    bubule Aug 09, 2011

    I never heard people that ignorant, like the one writting here, , , , pay your bills, and no one will call you...do I have to inlustrate you? came on, , , , american people, , , , you better than this...

    -2 Votes
  • Un
    Unhappy Camper 555 1234 Jun 28, 2011

    Some lady who identified herself as Talica or Taliea Domico just called me on behalf of the EOSCCA and asked me to verify that I was XXXXX (a name similer to mine but still someone who I am not) and and if my SS# is XXX-XX-XXXX (also not my SS#). She called and gave me a strangers name and SS#. There was a lot of noise in the background and it was hard to hear her so at first I thought she seed my name, then she gave me the wrong SS#. I wonted more info but it would be illegal for me to assume someones identity so I decided to end the conversation to avoid Breaking the law, which she set me up to do.

    0 Votes
  • On
    One in the Same Jun 17, 2011

    I believe this collection company is legit but I also believe that they are rude and not easy to deal with. You want the customer with the debt to pay you not sue you for illegal tactics. If you own the debt pay what you can $5, $10, $15, or $20 if the collection agency decline ask them to send a letter and you do the same to the collection agency, attorney general, and to the original creditor stating that you offered a payment plan that you could afford and the collection agency declined. A collection agency cannot refuse payment (if a person informs them of a hardship that maybe hindering their ability to pay). If you do not owe them anything send a little similar to “Bayman” including copies of invoices and payment methods made. This collection company needs to go back to customer service/collection 101. The methods that they are using are illegal I have a talked with them on the phone numerous times. You cannot tell people that you can do this or that. The only thing they can do is place the debt on your credit and the original creditor has to file anything court related. My advice to all is to pay the debt in full, make payment arrangement, or dispute the debt (the right way). The conversation between you and the collection agency is here-say if there is not a paper trail to support you claims, payments, or disputes. We all need to pull together to eliminate companies like this who use illegal tactics to scare people into paying. The said thing is that it works and this is the reason they continue to do it. The more they call and send letters it pushes you do pay the debt. A person stated that people need to pay their debts; in a perfect world this will be ideal. There are people who have lost their job or are on a fix income. My store is that my mom co-sign a loan for me make in 2007. I was under-age at the time so the college allowed my mom to put the loan in her name. My mom never told me about the loan until 2010. Since the loan was in my mom name she had to pay on it monthly. In 2011 the loan went into default since the loan was not in my name I could not do anything until my mom could find the paper work. Yes, it was my mom fault and my fault for not following up after she told. This past May mom received a call from a representative who was very rude. He started the conversation off my stating that the U.S. Department of Education was going to garnish a portion of her income if she did not pay the balance in full (this is illegal). He did not ask her if she was aware of an outstanding balance, can you make a payment today to clear the balance in full. It is not what you say but how you say it. My mother is disable and she cannot hear that well and she ask the rep if she could conference me into the conversation so we could get this settle...He said no this is your debt and it must be handle by you. My mom tried to conference me in but he hung up on her. My immediately call me and we call them back. The reps were rude but we manage to get them to send us some information about the debt. I am now talking with the U.S. Department of Education (they are helpful) and the matter is being taken care of. They call my mother every day in the month of May trying to collect remaining balance of $1000. The loan was taken out because my scholarships did not cover all of my tuition. Yes, it is there job but if you know the rules they listen but if you don't they take advantage. The rules should be the same for everyone. My mother was so worried she thought that I was not going to be able to finish school on time because she did not give me the information about the loan until it was just about in default. People should not be treated like they are nothing just because we are unable to pay a bill. I was not going to let my mother become a victim just because she became ill at the time and forgot to tell me about the loan. My dad and husband wanted to pay the loan off but for me it is the principal. They treated my mother like she was worthless and talk to her any kind of way and laughed in the process. I never forget it one rep told her to stop being cheap and pay the $1000 because they know she have it, because up until last year(2010 when she got sick) you was making your regular payments, he then laugh and said that he deals with people who have hundred-thousand dollar loans. He basically told my mom to pay the bill and stop wasting our time. To the people who have worked for this company I am glad that you do not anymore. I understand that everyone have to make a living but if is like this then I do not want to. Also to the people who say pay your bill on time and this would not happen. I say to them, I would rather have my mother with great health than to have a bill paid and no mother.

    0 Votes
  • Lc
    lctads Jun 17, 2011

    I am leaning more towards ATT fraud then EOS. ATT is charging for a service they do not offer, for a location I used to live after the date they provided the service. I have recenty canceled an account that is in good stand with ATT. I believe that now they have all my personal information and they are using that to try to collect a debt from whoever lived at my previous address before I did. Very fishy!

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    fububoi83 Jun 15, 2011

    thanks Bayman.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jodyg Jun 15, 2011

    pos wont even answer their phones!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ba
    Bayman Jun 14, 2011

    Folks, relax, calm down. Let me tell you something. Whenever you receive a notice from any Debt Collector (regardless if the debt is legit or not) You must send them a dispute letter. That is all it takes. Send them by certified mail a letter requesting for Validations of Debt, and keep all copies of your correspondence. I recently received a notification from EOS CCA or whatever thier name is. Within a week I sent them Debt Validation Letter bellow. It is the ulimate weapon against debt collectors. By law (FDCPA), they are required to verify the validity of the alleged debt, which they don't have. They only have your name, address, the alleged account number and alleged money you owe. If you send them this letter, 99.99% they will drop the case.

    Your Name
    Address
    City, Zip State

    EOS CCA
    700 Longwater Drive
    Norwell, MA 02061

    Date

    Re: # (Enter the file name here)

    Sent by Certified Mail Return Receipt Request #: xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx

    To Whom It May Concern:

    This letter is being sent to you in response to a notice sent to me dated (write the date here). Be advised that this is not a refusal to pay, but a notice sent pursuant to the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 USC 1692g Sec. 809 (b) that your claim is disputed and validation is requested.

    This is NOT a request for “verification” or proof of my mailing address, but a request for VALIDATION made pursuant to the above named Title and Section. Be advised that this letter constitutes a timely request for validation of debt as mandated byFDCPA. I respectfully request that your offices provide me with competent evidence that I have any legal obligation to pay you.

    Please provide me with the following:

    • Complete payment history, the requirement of which has been established via Spears v Brennan 745 N.E.2d 862; 2001 Ind. App. LEXIS 509 and
    • Agreement that bears the signature of the alleged debtor wherein he agreed to pay the original creditor.
    • Itemized account of the alleged debt, as established by Fields v. Wilber Law Firm, P.C., 383 F.3d 562, 564-66 (7th Cir. 2004)
    • Letter of sale or assignment from the original creditor to your company. (Agreement with your client that grants you the authority to collect on this alleged debt.)
    • Intimate knowledge of the creation of the alleged debt by you, the collection agency

    At this time I will also inform you that if your offices have reported invalidated information to any of the 3 major Credit Bureau’s (Equifax, Experian or TransUnion) this action might constitute fraud under both Federal and State Laws. Due to this fact, if any negative mark is found on any of my credit reports by your company or the company that you represent I will not hesitate in bringing legal action against you for the following:

    • Violation of the Fair Credit Reporting Act
    • Violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act
    • Defamation of Character


    If your offices are able to provide the proper documentation as requested in the following Declaration, I will require at least 30 days to investigate this information and during such time all collection activity must cease and desist.

    Also during this validation period, if any action is taken which could be considered detrimental to any of my credit reports, I will file suit against you without further notice. If you make a “hard pull” on any of my credit reports and cause my FICO score to drop, you will be sued without further notice.

    I would also like to request, in writing, that no telephone contact be made by your offices to my home, cell phone or place of employment. If your offices attempt telephone communication with me, including but not limited to computer generated calls and calls or correspondence sent to or with any third parties, it will be considered harassment and I will have no choice but to file suit. All future communications with me MUST be done in writing and sent to the address noted in this letter by USPS.

    Your next contact with me should either be:

    I. notice that you believe that this debt is valid and are providing therein documented proof of my responsibility, or

    II. notice that your firm andor the alleged original creditor has failed to provide appropriate verification of the alleged debt andor proof of transfer, and that the matter has been closed.

    Furthermore, if the former, please also provide demonstration that your firm is licensed to collect in my state, and provide me with your license numbers and Registered Agent. Failure to comply with the above, or any further lack of communication for 30 days from receipt of this notice, shall constitute waiver of claim and release of obligation.

    Please note that should you be in possession of any privileged, private, andor confidential personal information, including but not limited to financial data, it will constitute a violation of the Personal Data Information Privacy Act to sell, transfer, release, or disclose any such information to any unauthorized third party without my explicit prior consent.


    Your Name

    ---------------------------------
    Do not sign the dispute letter! The crooks can lift any signature off a print document.

    2 Votes
  • So
    sobreezy Jun 10, 2011

    I agree that some companies have stooped to low levels when trying to collect debts. If it isn't your debt you shouldn't have to pay. On the reverse of that if it is your debt than you need to own it. However no one has the right to blatantly disrespect anyone based on the perceived notion that that person is a bum because they don't pay their debts. If these debts are being unfairly placed on your credit report you do have ways of correcting this. There is a free website that gives sample documents and other good info for doing just this. The website is http: //www.creditinfocenter.com. It's pretty awesome. I've also used the following link to access credit repair products: http://b539162iqioatmrvk0gp2t2kfd.hop.clickbank.net/?tid=ZL1BMXPR

    Good Luck with this!

    0 Votes
  • No
    No_Cheaters Apr 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Received a threatening letter from EOS CCA Stating that a person at my address, who has never lived here, owed Qwest, a communications company affiliated with Verizon, owed a little over $200.00. So, I wrote them letters to both the Longwater address, and the P.O. box explaining what I was going to do, then did it. You can file a complaint with the FTC on line, and get a canned response, but with a reference number on it. I went a step further and did the same with the Attorney General's office for the State of Massachusetts. Printed out the forms, and included them with the letter. I sent it certified, requiring a return with the name of the person's signature who signed for it.

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Cinge88 Mar 31, 2011

    To all the IDIOTS saying they work for this company and verify that its legit, i call B*$L S%@T!!! How is it legal to pry into phone records and address records? I recieved a letter under my dads name with my address which he doesnt even know. Then the same date on the letter is the same date my mother recieved a phone call from this stupid company in regards to my dads name. Guess what, my parents have been divorced for 20 years now. My dad does not use my mother as a reference and he doesnt know my current address with out asking me. My dad has an ATT account currently and this letter is stating he owes 114.99 in collections. how can he still have service with this provider if there is a collection? I too have my own account with ATT and if i go 1 week past my due date they shut my service off. This company IS a SCAM!!! So as for the [censor]S trying to protect them, We will be contacting my dads attorney and getting this ridiculous BS resolved. Quit prying into private records and contacting the wrong people.

    1 Votes
  • Be
    Beyond Frustrated Mar 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm not sure what I believe at this point. In my situation someone I knew received the notice of collection, when I called EOS they claimed it was my name, home phone, address and SS#. They supposedly bought the account from Verizon in 2008 but the account was closed in Jan 2004. When I contacted Verizon they had nothing on their system under my name and SS#. Neither I or any of my family members have had any dealings with verizon... past, present or future. therefore I can only surmise that this is a scam or fraud. Nonetheless how do I make it go away? I refuse to pay out any money on a debt I did not accrue.

    0 Votes
  • De
    DebbR Mar 25, 2011

    I have been receiving calls from these people for someone I do not know who happens to have the same last name as me? Today I received a bill under his name at my address. When I called them they tried to pull the "opening someone else's mail" thing with me too, until I reminded them they have been harassing an innocent person and have been told this numerous times. And that I am filing complaints with FTC, BBB. Attorney General and last but not least our local news company to expose them and at&t for [censor] business practices. They said I won't hear from them again, and hopefully I won't, but on behalf poor fellow, down on his luck I want this exposed. They told me that basically anyone in my region with the same last name (which is a VERY common name) could be on their contact list until they locate him. This is wrong and very bad business, they need to be stopped. Anyone think class action?

    1 Votes
  • Al
    alal001 Mar 13, 2011

    EOS CCA you guys are ridiculous. Seriously, in such a terrible economy you guys are actually trying to get money out of law abiding citizens? Way to kick people while they are down. Any monkey can put up a website and make their company look legit. I have studied [censor]s like you, nice try. By any chance are you related to the Prince of Nigeria? At&t will contact you if you have an outstanding bill. And how stupid do you think people are? No functional legitimate business lets their employees disrespect people over the phone. Plus, you guys are giving false names and fail to come up with factual evidence. Do you think putting a fake barcode that probably reads "lettuce" makes it real? Come on, this is just sad. I got this letter in the mail and even the ink print on the letter is fake. Pay no attention to such fraudulent people. STOP DEMORALIZING YOURSELVES FOR MONEY BECAUSE IN THE END, YOU WILL HAVE TO LIVE WITH THE CHOICE YOU MADE. You have kids, mothers, fathers, grandparents, etc, would you like someone stealing from them? Learn to be a human being.

    1 Votes
  • Bu
    Busterscam Mar 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Patience please: this DOES have to do with EOS CCA, or somebody pretending to be them, as someone else previously tried to scam me in close to the same way, using the same so-called debt delinquency, and now “EOS CCA” is trying the same thing. Six months ago, I was telephoned by one "Bay Area Credit Services" claiming I had a delinquent debt of $53.81 to ATT, for which ATT itself has never billed me. I asked them to send me a bill with particulars that I might verify the charge, but they refused to do so. Instead they attempted to extract credit card and bank account information from me in the name of paying the debt by that method, and would not accept my offer of a money order, which was my way of testing what they were really after, because of course a money order is the best guarantee of payment there is, but gives no personal information. In any event, I managed to wear them down and extract a promise to send a bill. But it never came. Though they called themselves "Bay Area, etc., " implying a presence in the San Francisco Bay Area where I lived at the time, they gave their location as Ft Collins, Co. I investigated by web, as well as by telephone to the Ft Collins Chamber of Commerce to determine whether such an entity actually existed, and came up empty. I took the foregoing information to the FBI, since, after all, it seemed an attempt to defraud across state lines and to steal my identity in the process. The agent I spoke to thanked me and told me two things: 1) Yes, their behavior was consistent with attempted identity theft; 2) It is common for these scammers to order credit reports in volume, find some obscure charge buried therein that may or may not have been paid, no matter the year, in order to give their scam some feeble credibility, and pretend to be a debt collection agency. A couple of weeks later, I called the number that had called me to see if the scam was still operating under the same cover, and got, not a "disconnected" message, but a "no such number” message. In other words, they were unknown, and had never been known, to the very phone company they were pretending to represent. This tends to confirm my suspicions, since, when they first contacted me, I hung up and dialed them back on the number they had called, and did get them at the time. They must have felt some heat, folded the tent, and moved on. I like to think it was because I called the cops. NOW, this very day, many months later with nothing related happening in between, I get a letter from someone claiming to be EOS CCA (what a great cover! pretending to be one of the biggest and most reputable!), and attempting to collect the same putative debt. Given my experience with the previous scam attempt, every fiber of my being shouted NO! So I am loaded for bear and taking it to the FBI again who, at least this time, can verify the document and its source, as there is now a physical address, and add mail fraud to the bill of charges. Just as if every Jew had shot an SS goon when they tried to take them away and there would have been no Holocaust, if every one of us who gets these calls and letters from across state lines took them to the FBI as I have done, the scams would eventually disappear. Sure, EOS CCA may be bad enough on its own, hence this web site dedicated to complaints about them. But heck, what a great cover for a scammer: hide under the name of a "legitimate" company whose practices are questionable and scam-like to begin with! Who's the ghoul? And who's the guy in the ghoul costume? By the way, the phone number for ATT given in the letter by way of invitation to verify the debt winds up putting you through to the ATT customer service line, which offers you absolutely no way to inquire about the debt. I tried several times on the first occasion of the scam to access someone at ATT to talk to about it, but it gives you no such avenue. Similarly, I found no means on the ATT website to address the matter. You have to have an active account with ATT, or be trying to purchase services, to get through to anything at all. I checked the foregoing reality with my sister, a 30+ year ATT management veteran who was instrumental in setting up their current billing system, and she confirmed it: there just ain’t no way. How clever therefore to choose ATT as a front, since you can’t get through to ATT to verify the charge and/or tell them about the scam! Oh yes: her enquiries on my behalf through her personal “back channels” at ATT verified that I had no outstanding charges. So this is definitely the “scam what am” that has me in its crosshairs.

    1 Votes
  • Sc
    scootercat Feb 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    EOs CCA is legit-though they walk the line on how they collect.
    Verizon seems to love these folks-and engages in spitful methods.
    I closed my Verizon account-and Verizon sent me a final bill-which went 30 days past due. It was the Holidays, my son was home from iraq-it was an oversight. Verizon never called me-or checked-to see if there was a problem-usually they do-and not when it's only 30 days past due! The minute i switched to another phone co. they shut me down fast-internet/phone..and sent my bill to this collection agency.
    Sour grapes-all the way. I've been contacted by EOs three times in last month. I sent them my due to Verizon-first verifying my debt. I've photcopied everything-including my check sent out with date and by certified mail. Then wrote Verizon a nasty letter-with copies of my bill owed to them- and it's payment to the collection agency EOS CCA. All this in less than a month. telling them-Verizon"Wonder if i didn't like who i switched to? Now, with this tactic-you think i'll go back to you? I think not!"
    Copy everything

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    slimc84 Feb 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have recently received a collection letter from this company pertaining to a Sprint bill. I contacted Sprint directly and they actually owe me $275. When I reported this to the credit agency they immediately removed it from my credit report. Don't waste your time with this company, just fight it with the credit bureau.

    0 Votes
  • Lt
    lt michele Feb 12, 2011

    I just had the same situation happen to me. i received a collection notice (and numerous phone calls) fro EOS CCA. They claimed ATT was their client. I had switched from ATT to Vonage, closed that account with a zero balance, and opened a new internet only account which was current. ATT comfirmed i did not owe them any money and they could find no record anywhere of having sent anything to collection. The rep fromA TT told me she had never even heard of EOS CCA. Total scam! When I called the company directly, i got the runaround at first, then they just said basically, oh, never mind weve closed that collection account.They would not answer how they had come to serve me with this coleection notice inthe first place. People, do not give this company any money for any reason.

    1 Votes
  • Po
    powerofknowledge Feb 02, 2011

    Be aware that the collection firm seems legitimate and judging by the posts will affect your credit report. I just ran into them thanks to XM Radio. I had previously bought two annual subscriptions, opted not to renew this time. Seemed obvious to me like a magazine, just don't renew. I told the rep when asked to renew on the phone and she said nothing else and hung up. XM Radio has a "verbal agreement" regarding cancellation process. It's wrong and frankly wasn't handled properly nor was I ever told of a collection agency. However, they submitted it to EOS CCA who is a real firm. Fighting them will affect my credit and they are not the culprit. The submitting firm (XM Radio) is in the wrong and is doing this unethically. I have filed BBB against XM Radio. I have spoken to XM on the phone, they don't understand how wrong they are, nor do they care. Fighting EOS CCA is the wrong fight.

    1 Votes
  • Po
    powerofknowledge Feb 02, 2011

    They are a real company and not the ones to blame. I too got one of their calls and was quite irritated as there was no warning. In my case it was XM radio, which I didn't want to renew and told the rep that on the phone, a call they managed to lose. XM has a "verbal agreement" I kid you not to cancel. When I didn't renew their subscription, they sent it off to collections without warning. EOS CCA is a real company and not the culprit, the sending company XM Radio is the violator and they are clueless about how wrong their actions are. I've filed a complaint to BBB for what it's worth. This is wrong behavior, but don't think the collection folks are fake.

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
    jajanelle1214 Jan 10, 2011

    All of you people are idiots. This is not a scam. I know someone who works for the company.

    -2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.