Enigma Software / Spyhunterunauthorized recurring charges!

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

On 12 November 2007 our credit card was charged $35.69 for "SPYHUNTER [protected]". LAST year, in 2006, one of our staff DID purchase the product, order number 1758675. Their product catalog does NOT disclose any time limitation before someone presses the "Buy Now" button:
http://www.enigmasoftware.com/spyhunter_more_info.php

Their purchase form does NOT disclose any time limitation before some enters the credit card information:
https://www.enigmasoftware.com/purchase_spyhunter.php

Since the time-limited subscription as well as the recurring charge are an ESSENTIAL aspect of the purchase (and clearly effects a consumer's purchase decision), it smells like a deceptive business practice to HIDE that information in the fine print that appears ONLY when someone actually clicks on the End User License Agreement link AFTER having already entered their credit card information. If it was disclosed that the purchase last year did also require subsequent payments, then we may or may NOT have opted for competitive products.

Responses

  • Ge
    Gerald Hintlian May 26, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well guys, I received a phone call from my bank that an attempt was made, more times than once (I think they said four times), to charge my account $39.99 for SpyHunter. Although I have had exactly ZERO problems with this program, I have to admit that there are far to many complaints from unhappy customers. I do not remember signing up for recurring billings either. I believe I should pay for a program once, not every month or year. So I am going to instruct my bank NOT to allow Safekart to bill my account, and they will have to cancel the debit card, which is a pain because now I will have to inform all the companies that use it that now they can not.
    Again I have had ZERO problems with the software, at least as far as I know anyway, but too many complaints to keep it. I will now uninstall it and that will be the end of it.

    -1 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer11793 Feb 18, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received two charges from this company on 2/6/16. One for $39.99 and one for $29.99. I didn't order this program, it is not installed, and I don't want it. The company should immediately provide a refund or a credit to my American Express.
    John K. Baldwin.
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • We
    webstar0358 Feb 08, 2016

    Dumb struck! I purchased Spy Hunter on December, 2015. At first run I was amazed hoe many adware, spyware, malware the program reported to me. After a month or so I kept noticing at each scan I was getting 50 or 60 detection's even though I had not been online, I went online and found your site with all the complaints about software. I have called my bank to cancel my debit card to avoid another auto withdraw. Well I got had and now i have to figure out how to get rid of the program. My advice DO NOT BUY THIS SOFTWARE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    philip westgate Dec 23, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    could you please help, someone has deleted my spyhunter and spyware from my computer and as these are both renewed yearly by standing order I have not got my purchase number
    and as these two are my main anti virus programs I need help
    philipwestgate

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    philip westgate Jul 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    dear sir I am unable to reactivate spyhunter on my computer
    as it does no recognise my password
    my order No #9522552
    [email protected]
    password is first and last name

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chatterbox209 Apr 06, 2010

    Thank you for your apology with all my frustration and out of pocket expense. Apparently I used the wrong number to contact you regarding the issue I was having with your product. I should have been given another number to call. Anyhow; Kudos to the Billing Department for handling my call so well and issuing me an immediate refund. Oops they told me 5-7 days. Oh by the way I'm still waiting on that refund. Has for your statement regarding credit card companies, yes I can see a valid point but what if you use a debit card, issued by your bank? Wouldn't that be an instant post to your account?

    Regarding my computer it is a fairly new Gateway with Windows Vista...my antivirus program picked up Koobface and even on safe mode I couldn't seem to get rid of it. Lucky me I found your wonderful program SpyHunter. Yes; it scanned fine and than it was like a demon took over and like I posted earlier, it should have been my warning sign to stop what I was doing. I did get it to remove the bad along with some vital applications, that were needed to keep my computer running. Hence the error message pop ups and the frozen screen. I didn't realize it at the time, I was just so happy to finally be rid of what I paid the program to do. I probably can't blame anyone here but me because I bought and used your program I had no idea that it would be overkill. The Tech (yes he was very professional) that fixed my computer is from a reputable well estalbished business. I would think he would assume it's the last thing that you did before the system crashed. My system was not unstable and working fine before this.

    I will send an e-mail to complaints and see what they say. I know that I will be playing the refund/blame game for awhile longer. I hope no one else has to go through what I've been through. I think I will keep this saved to my favorites to see how many others have problems and the response.

    Thanks Mr. Malaspina for posting a reply. I know you are paid to make sure customers are happy and to make sure others out there will still buy SpyHunter. Maybe they will be the lucky ones that have no issues.

    0 Votes
  • Hello chatterbox209,

    I apologize in advance for the problems you had.

    Regarding to the fact that apparently you were told that SpyHunter crashed your computer, I am sure that, at this point, I cannot change your mind, but I would like to say that usually, when you take your computer to be repaired and it is crashed, the techs have the urge of finding the problem where it does not exist. To blame the last program installed is very common and at the same time very unprofessional, if you cannot confirm it. Usually, when a system crashes, the tech only can redo the system and guess the problem. Most likely, your computer system crashed because of the infection, which is very usual, not because of the last program installed and that was the professional answer that you should have gotten from any well informed technician. Then you ask me, Could SpyHunter have caused the crash? A professional answer from me would be: "maybe in a very unstable system but most likely no". We test SpyHunter extensively, in order to be able to catch every single problem that the program can have. It is a faulty program? The answer is NO. We have SpyHunter installed in over one million machines and perfectly working.

    Regarding to the way the representative treated you over the phone is not surprising to us. You called our billing company Reg.net. They are a billing department only designed to answer and resolve billing questions. If you had a problem and you did not like the program, they will not question you and just give your money back. I guess this is a good thing, correct? :-)

    Regarding to the time frame for the refund, credit card companies (not vendors) are very good taking money out of account but a little tough to return the money back into your account. Some credit card companies take one or two billing cycles to return money refunded to your account. We, the vendors, give them the money back right away, but they, the credit card companies, even though they tell you otherwise, take forever to return the money into your account. Wonders Why!

    Disclaimer: The statement above does not apply to any specific credit card company and it is based on previous experiences as a credit card user. Most credit card companies follow internal protocols and their own method and time frame for refunding accounts and all their rules are usually very well discribed in their contract agreement with the user.

    Anyway, we are here to satisfy our customers, if we cannot satisfy you we will certainly make sure that you have your money back.

    This is what I would advise you to do, please send an email to [email protected] with the email address in the account and the order number, and we will make sure that your money has been refunded properly and follow up with you until you have the money back into your credit card account.

    Enigma Software Group is a legitimate company, located in Clearwater, FL, and we have been in the market of removing Malware for 7 years.

    Again, I am sorry for the inconvenience and I hope that my words can reach you.

    Regards,

    Alec Malaspina
    Enigma Software Group USA, LLC.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chatterbox209 Apr 02, 2010

    I purchased spy hunter to get rid of the worm Koobface. Aftter countless links sending you to Spyhunter I decided to try it to get rid of it. Huge mistake!!! I was able to download it fine, but than it was like a demon took over the computer. It froze up and I had to force it to shut down and turn it back on. It took me hours to get the program to work. Stupid me didn't get the red flags not to use this program. After getting it to scan it made the computer have oodles of pop ups with error messages and freezing up and refusing to do anything. Than my computer crashed. I called the [protected] to request a refund and explain my delima. Apparenty it was nothing new for them to hear my complaint. She wasn't even shocked my computer acted the way it did. No empathy nothing just will close your account and issue you a refund. Problem being I'm still waiting for a refund. They closed my accont but apparently I have to wait till they feel like refunding. I had to have my compuer fixed and was told the program wrecked havoc on my system causing it to crash. So I will never puchase any progam till I triple check if it is any good. Beware and I hope this will save others from going through what I did. Now if I get a refund...I already contacted my bank to dispute the charges it may be a long battle.

    0 Votes
  • Ts
    t_star_77 Mar 16, 2010

    While running the "stinger" program through microsoft several times and having it not report any problems, I went into the "preferences" tab and found it set at "disabled". I set it to "very high" sensitivity and it found the trojan "enigma spy hunter uninstall" and said it couldn't be repaired. I also keep getting the pop up that takes over my computer which is why I downloaded the spy hunter program. What can be done to uninstall this program and fix this problem for good?

    0 Votes
  • Hello Janice Hope and Others,

    Also, I would like to inform you that I have looked at all the identifiable complaints listed above and they all have been dealt with, including the initial complaint from Mr. Andy Schmidt.

    We would like to keep no outstanding complaints and again we work hard to make sure that every customer becomes a satisfied customer.

    We sell a service and it is of our best interest that our customers remain satisfied.

    All the best,

    Alec Malaspina
    Enigma Software Group USA, LLC.

    0 Votes
  • Hello Janice Hope and Others,

    I am the Vice President of Technical Support and Research at Enigma Software Group. I read the complaint above and in behalf of Enigma, I would like to say that Enigma is not and do not run a scam.

    We are a legitimate private company located in Clearwater, FL, USA and we work hard to maintain the best level of service and make sure that every customer becomes a satisfied customer.

    I would like to inform you that we have an email specifically for complaints ([email protected]) and that I personally read all messages on that account.

    I guarantee you that we will find a suitable solution for any problem related to our product or service.

    Regards,

    Alec Malaspina
    Enigma Software Group USA, LLC.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    janice hope Feb 05, 2010

    I am disgusted.
    I do not want your product.
    I sent an email to unsubscribe and that activated an automatic billing.
    I am sending this email to new Zealand investigators who will alert all New Zealanders via live TV that your company is not to be trusted.
    I demand you uninstall auto repayment on my account.
    [protected]
    I am prepared to go on live TV and tell all of New Zealand on TV news your company is running a scam.

    0 Votes
  • In
    India Villarreal Feb 03, 2010

    I've heard the same complaints again and again!

    If you feel like you've been wronged by Enigma Software, please email me:

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Qu
    Queenpeafrog Sep 22, 2009

    My laptop caught a pop up worm virus and I could not access any internet sites apart from Enigma. I should have smelt a rat, but it was late at night and I bought their product as surpris surprise they new all about my exact virus. I went to pay 29.99 euros for the product but was actually billed for £62.70. Thi is fraud and I am trying to get my credit card company to retrieve payment. But they haven't been particularly helpful so far - Barclaycard Goldfish. If I have to pay this time I will cancel the credit card so that I don't have to pay the renewal. When I woke up in the morning I realised exactly what I had done. Tiredness and overwork can be expensive.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Ken Deane Sep 01, 2009

    I purchased Spyhunter 3.0. It could not do what they advertised. I asked for a refund and they refused. I complained to my credit card company and it finally sided with me when I told them to cancel my account. STAY AWAY FROM ENIGMA SOFTWARE PRODUCTS!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Brown Oct 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I like many others purchased the software to make my laptop secure, unfortunately it was a futile purchase. the program detected a Trojan but was unable to remove it, so I created a ticket and sent it to customer support who sent back a custom fix for the problem that did not work. On the third attempt at a custom fix the entire laptop shutdown and I was unable to restart it. I had to take the laptop to get a reformat and this cost me.
    I complained to Enigma and asked for a refund of the purchase price, as the software was unable to do what it was supposed to do, and compensation for the cost of the repair, they basically said tough luck, no refunds after 30 days and no reimburstment of the repair cost and then at the bottom of the email they had the hide to thank me for the purchase of the software.
    I agree with the other respondents this company has little or no interest in their product once payment has been received, not at all satisfactory for a company that is supposed to know what hey are doing.
    I would recommend to anyone thinking of buying from this company NOT to do it, research all software of this type and buy only from a reputable dealer with a proper office and contact details and good customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe williamson Oct 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ironically, my computer was not infected until after I purchased Spyhunter 3.0. After no less than the creation of 6 support logs requesting the removal of "Burritos Winreanimator", absolutely NO support was given. Not even "impossible to follow" directions as a recent poster was given. I would certainly NOT recommend this product to anyone and would absolutely define Spyhunter as a SCAM!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Cheekibegger Sep 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I heard about this 'scam' through one of my customers, I sent Enigma a 'ticket', as section 3 of their terms and conditions state:

    3. Renewals When you purchase Spyhunter, your account will configured for automatic billing. If you choose not to utilize our automatic billing option, you can change this option only by opening a ticket with technical support and requesting to remove the automatic billing option.

    You may do this from the webpage http://www.enigmasoftware.com/support/.

    If you cancel automatic billing, we will not bill you for continued service when your account expires and it will be your responsibility to renew your account if you desire continued service. If you remain on automatic billing, your account will automatically renew at the end of your subscription and your credit card will be billed accordingly.

    The response to the 'ticket' I sent was:

    ... cancel your auto-renewal, or print your receipt at anytime by clicking on the link below.

    https://secure.reg.net/Customers/[email protected].uk&OrderID=1234567

    So basically, they are saying, go to their website, enter your info, and cancel the billing, make sure you cancel everything! Hopefully this means I won't get another charge against my business credit card.

    1 Votes
  • Se
    Seth Walker Sep 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had the same problem, they have stated they issue full refunds, but good luck contacting them. All of the links are broken circles with no real way of contacting the company. I am going to fine a claim with my credit card company.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charles Severs Aug 24, 2008

    The program DID NOT WORK. The Customer contact page did not work and gave instructions that were impossible to follow. I purchased as it was especially for UAV 2008.
    Incidentally some of the UAV claims to be a Microsoft Program. as some pages call it Ultimate Antivirus XP2008 and are labeled MICROSOFT.
    I am complaining to Visa..
    This is a SCAM noone could be that dumb if not SCAM

    0 Votes
  • Lm
    l marems Aug 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They did the same to me. I have to check my credit card. They said they would refund the money. We'll see. Their offered a cancellation which I clicked on and it was a purchase instead.
    THEY ARE SCAMMERS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    Lyn Aug 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I specifically purchased SpyHunter because it purported to get rid of the virus "Antivirus XP 2008". However, it did not do that, and I now suspect that tactics used by "Antivirus XP" are also used by SpyHunter, in that the scans bring up the same problem cookies, etc., even during periods when the internet has not been accessed. I tried emailing Enigma, but of course the emails got kicked back. Thanks for the tips about improper charges, I will keep checking the credit card billings. Now I not only have to get rid of "Antivirus XP", but also have to get SpyHunter off of my computer. Makes one not likely to trust anything on the net.

    0 Votes
  • En
    enrico Aug 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    total scam. damn

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sam Jul 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dri Spyhunter software is faulty and contravenes the Sale of Goods Act (UK), because they are a net company they have managed to deceive innumerable consumers. There is no contact information and any emails you send are replied with a standard automated response. They charged my credit card twice for goods they never supplied and was faulty too. WARNING !! DO NOT BUY ENIGMA SOFTWARE

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john Jun 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have the same problem with Enigma, very deceptive business practice. not only that, the program didn't work and i had to buy
    another one to fix the problem. I urge everyone to file a complaint thru your credit card company.Notice how they have no phone # listed anywhere. There is a company in canada with the same name that i called by mistake, and their customer service rep
    said they recieve about 10 calls per week complaining about this issue.
    John H.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    geo May 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Enigma Software is a Scam, they renew and charge without consent and don't give you cancellation policy.

    I raised a fraud investigation on my credit card. Please do the same thing if you are victim of Enigma Software scam in order for he credit card companies to take legal action against them

    0 Votes
  • Al
    al Apr 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i had the exact same problem, plus the program is totally useless !!!
    buyer be aware, DO NOT BUY FROM ENIGMA SOFTWARE (ironic name of business too LOL) !
    Al.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    lilith cohen Mar 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've had exactly the same problem with Spyhunter. Ironic, given that the product is supposed to detect fraudulent internet activities.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.