Direct TVearly termination fees

V
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

On 4/15/07 I purchased an hdtv at best buy, the salesperson said they were having a promo on direct-tv. I explained I was already a directv customer. The sales rep said I could just buy the hd service and add it to my existing service and that best buy would do it as part of my installation. I paid $99.00 for the hd receiver and the best buy installation guys came over and performed the install. At no point in time did I ever speak to direct-tv to have the receiver activated. The best buy installation guys did all the talking.

After three months of billing issues I decided I no longer wanted to be with direct-tv and requested cancellation of my service. I was told that I could not cancel as I was committed to a two year contract. I ask the customer service rep to verify when I agreed to those terms and they claim it was automatic when I signed up for the hd service, problem is I never signed anything or agreed to an extension of service. I never even talked to direct-tv.

They claim that when I had the receiver installed I signed the agreement. When I looked at my best buy receipt there is no mention of such agreement matter of fact theres no mention of direct-tv. Then the representative claimed I verbally agreed when they performed the install. Again I never spoke to anyone at direct-tv. The best buy installer did all the talking with direct-tv.

I dont understand how they get away with these deceptive practices and there is little or nothing out there to protect the consumer from such scams. I hope direct-tv goes under when iptv becomes available nationwide. I am currently disputing this with allied interstate a collection agency (Direct-tv).

Responses

  • Yo
    yoanka Jun 09, 2016

    I called Direct TV today on 6/8/16 do to my account. I'm being charged $88.18 for my bill. Not only that. Your company has taken out from my account in one month 140.21 so I think that wrong of them to do.. with that amount the company should add that to my account because I that's disrespectful...

    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Moontree Sep 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have been using a Roku box ever since...Netflix streaming hulu etc...you pay 60 to 9 bucks for the box and it runs off the house DSL which is something we will always need. if your into more basic TV type programing you buy a subscription to Hulu plus for 10 bucks a month or so.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    DIRVINE Sep 08, 2012

    I am going through the exact same thing...being charged for a cancellation fee I knew nothing about. These posts go way back...anyone know of any recent findings on this issue?

    0 Votes
  • Jf
    JFHarck Aug 16, 2012

    After YEARS of DirectTV "service", I've discovered that their "annual renewals" INCLUDE and annual renewal of the early termination fee! Rediculous! Futher, a recent failure of thier DVR took the about two weeks to send someone out to repair it - and they substituted an older model. Wonderful, you get to pay more for less service!

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Mel Magner Oct 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Direct TV is ripping me off, saying that I owe them a $360.00 early termination charge, stating that I agreed to a 2-yr service agreement, which I did not...My A/C# was [protected] Melvin Magner...Service address was:1435 Willow Ave, Des Plaines, IL 60016...I knew when I moved into this address that it was to be short term & no where near 2 years, one of many reasons that I never would have agreed to this deal...I ordered service thru AT&T, who partnered with Direct TV for this service...I never was verbally told about a 2-year agreement, I never received an e-mail about it & I most definitely never signed such an agreement...Direct TV is taking a position as though an alleged e-mail that was sent to me is a binding contract, which it is not, because I never received it, never agreed to such a thing (nor would I have) & they have NOTHING to establish proof that I agreed to it...e-mail's are consistently lost in the shuffle of spam & junk folders, etc...and certainly cannot constitute a binding agreement...They actually should be sending me a refund of $30, once this ridiculous $360 charge is removed...I can be contacted at: [protected]

    0 Votes
  • IronGrudge89 Jun 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Lol contracts don't suddenly change because you move. They have contracts for a reason. Do your research and grow up.

    1 Votes
  • Al
    Alodie Jun 01, 2011

    I moved into a apartment that didn't allow drilling into the building, so I called to cancel my service and explained to them what was going on. They said that they would charge me for the cancellation fee regardless of whether it simply could not work at my new apartment or not. Horrible customer service, I will tell everyone I know to stay away from Direct TV.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Moontree Mar 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These guys are total scammers...no wonder there is a 50 state wide class action lawsuit filed against them.

    0 Votes
  • Vk
    vk_ramasamy Oct 25, 2010

    The worst customer service I ever had in my whole life !!! We had direct TV for 15 days. On the 15th day I called the customer service and cancelled the service. The customer service agent told us that we have 15 days to cancel and we are doing it on the last day and termination fees won't apply. We spent 30 mins. with him explaining why we are cancelling the service etc. This happened in Match, 2010

    After few months, my husband's credit card was charged with $400+. I called the customer service and asked them why. They said the grace time for cancelling is 24 hrs!!! Unbelievable...I explained her that since the agent I spoke to orginally told me that there won't be any cancellation fees. Because of that I decided to cancel the service and make some other arrangements for my TV service. She bluntly told me to talk to billing dept. and transferred my call. The agent in billing dept. kept telling me the 24 hrs. notice period. I told her I wish to talk to her supervisor and discuss. And the supervisor came on the phone and asked me "This is regd. termination fee ?" and he kept on typing in his keyboard. He didn't say anything after that. I could hear the keyboard sound, which went on for 5 mins. And then, he disconnected the call. I called back again and asked for the supervisor who was talking to me. The agent refused to connect me to the supervisor and simply said "my supervisor said you will get your money". I asked her "Are you lying to me ? ". She got scared and connect me to the supervisor. The supervisor acted as if he doesn't know me at all and refused to answer me when I asked him "Were you guy who was talking to me earlier ?". He kept telling me the same thing about 24 hrs. grace period. what a worst customer service !!! I would never ever try Direct TV in my whole life !!! Stay awy from this crap...

    0 Votes
  • Im
    Imitation9 Aug 18, 2010

    Everybody should contact their State's Attorney General - ask if the office has a "Consumer Protection" division or something similar, and then file complaint forms there about "Unfair Trade Practices" concerning DirectTV. Maybe the Attorney's General from several states can get together and stop the crap that goes on.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BETTY JEAN KING Aug 04, 2010

    I called directv 7-6-10 and was told it the cost to cancel will be 100.00 and they will send me 2 boxes to return their units .
    Today I called and was told it will cost 180.00.I have 2 units in my home 1 has not worked for 8mos.I called for service and was told
    it would cost me 149.00 for a service call the box did not work.I called again and again and was told thay would send me
    a new box I never recieved any thing from them expect a higher and higher bill and a run around.i want out of this mess.
    I am willing to pay 100.00 for nothing since I have be paying all this time for 2 units when I have only 1unit working.
    But not 180.00 to these crooks.I am reporting this to B.B. and consumers avcDO NOT GET DUPED BY THIS COMPANY AS I HAVE

    0 Votes
  • Un
    unchienne Feb 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You can work with them to serve out the remainder of your commitment, if you want. Though it would leave a bad taste in my mouth, I'd rather be charged and get something in return (tv service) than pay a fee and get nothing.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barbara Burnham Jan 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got Diert TV service in April 2007 and reguested a Dvr recorder. I paid over $200 and was told I was purchasing the recorder. However, the recorder was defective and I returned the unit as per their instructions and they sent me a new recorder in Sept 2007.

    I stay with their service until Dec 2009 ( well over the 2 years) and was threarten if I did not return all the receivers they would charge my credit card $400 for the recorder. So I returned all the equipment so I am out the $200 I paid for the dvr recorder.

    I then received a bill for $186.90 I contact billing and was told I owed $120.00 for early termination because without my approval or consent my 2 years started when I received the new recorder. The extra 26.90 was for service. I paid thru 12/15 and canceled on 12/16 so 26.90 was one day fee?

    I contacted billing on Sat 1/23/2010 on was advised they were ajusting my bill and the bill was corrected and I owed nothing. However, Today just2 days later I got a call from their collections dept saying I still owe ALL FEES .

    I can't believe this company gets away with these under handed practices!! Their equipment broke I got a new one but now I'm out the $200 they have the recorder and I OWE THEM!

    Something must be done to stop these big companies from abuse of power and extending agreements because of their defective equipment.

    0 Votes
  • Hf
    HFINE Jan 21, 2010

    I had canceled service with this company due to being mislead on rates through a bundled package with AT&T. I was not informed of these additional fees and rates until the installer completed installation and then refused to take back the equipment. He advised I needed to contact AT&T on the following Monday as it was a Friday. It took me three business days from the date of installation to make contact with Direct TV and AT&T to find out who I had to actually cancel with. Now Direct Tv is trying to collect for two years of service on a contract I did not sign and did not agree to. The original set up was through whitefence. Fees were not discussed and as I stated Once I found out the additional fees I canceled within Three business days. Now I have Allied Collections calling my husbands work number trying to collect on services not received nor agreed to. I did file a complaint through the BBB and Direct Tv is unwilling to settle this. They are attempting to collect over 520.00 dollars. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    roadrunnercomeback Jan 16, 2010

    I totally agree...I've had direct tv servi e for two months and I've lost my satellite feed three times over this three month period, which means I've been without tv Fri through Mon or Tues depending on when they could get a serviceman out...

    I want to discontinue my serice because it's out 35% of the time and they say I'll need to pay a $400 early termination fee which was also never pointed out until now.

    Yes, CABLE TV is looking GOOD...and wish I could find a way to make the change back...Direct TV won't even tell me how many times a customer needs to be without service before we can take action against them for not providing a service they promised...I feel if someone is without service 35% of the time that the early termination fee should be waived...

    I now need to leave and go find a friend who has calble so I can watch tv...

    0 Votes
  • Di
    DirecTV is a ripoff Dec 01, 2009

    My father called DirecTV to get the basic satallite service for $29.99/mo. The installer told him it was broadcasting in Spanish only, a language my father does not understand. The work order specified, in error, that it was to be in Spanish and the installer could not change it.

    My father called DirecTV asking them to fix their mistake. They sent another installer out who changed the dish and installed two boxes and his monthly bill jumped to $49.99 even though he just wanted the $29.99 package to be broadcast in English. He then cancelled and returned both of the boxes and the remote controls the day after receiving the FedX boxes from DirecTV.

    They are now trying to collect a $480 ETF. They charged his credit card . I told him to go to the bank and have the charge reversed. The bank cooperated and charged it back. My father has had the account turned over to three different collection agencies, each of which we notified that we did not owe the bill and had no intention of ever paying it. We just got another letter from DirecTV demanding payment of the $480. No way are they getting that money. Our next step is to sue DirecTV in small claims court to stop the harrassment.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    GRV Oct 02, 2009

    I moved service from Direct tv from one address to a new address with my boyfriend at the time last winter. When the installer came out, I just wanted the old equipment set up with no new contract and when I came home the new equipment was there, I sent it back and hooked up the old and cintacted them. Now since I have moved there trying to charge me a $431.57 fee for a new agreement cancellation fee when there wasn't a new contract intiated, it was a existing. I have sent 3 letters to them for disputing this agrument, no body gets in contact with me and they sent it to a collection agency. I'm filing a letter with the BBB in MN about this and also they let my ex turn service back on in my name when he wasn't even on the contract with me in April. I have been dealing with this since April and still nobody has clarified it and supposely one rep said it wa taken care of. I can't believe this company can get away with these fees when they don't have authorization to, and also try to debit your account. I think this is ridiculious. And I have seen how many people they have did this to and no one does anything about it.

    0 Votes
  • Bm
    bmore0000 Sep 29, 2009

    You are not alone!! These trixters are trying to con me out of $320. I assure you, they will not get a penny out of me.

    I recently sold my house, and was renting briefly while looking to buy another house to buy. The place I was renting already had a Directv dish installed, so I figured I would continue my service. However, I made the critical mistake of adding a second DVR to my service. Apparently this causes you to start a new 2 year contract. IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE IF SOMEONE ALERTED ME TO THIS!!! Why would anyone in their right mind agree to a 2 year contract when they were in a short term rental while looking to buy a house. That would just be plain stupid!!! What if the new house couldn't get service, etc.? It doesn't make sense.Well, anyway, I rented for about 8 months, then bought a house. When I moved, I put my Directv service on hold (suspended) while I figured out if I still wanted the service, and looked in to getting approval from the homeowners association to put up the dish. Now these jokers are trying to say I owe them $320. NOT!!!

    I find it interesting that there is apparently no one you can talk to that has any authority to fix the issue. The only way to dispute the charges is to send a letter to the complaint department. I will definitely do that and see what happens.

    Bottom line: They completely tricked my into the 'renewed' contract by never saying ANYTHING about the contract being extended. THEY WILL NOT GET A PENNY FROM ME!! I will simply refuse to pay them. If they charge my credit card without authorization, I will dispute the charge.

    0 Votes
  • Im
    impissed Sep 24, 2009

    Ok, I've had a tough year. I lost my job at the beginning of the year (Happy New Year!), and recieving only unemployment compensation, I got behind on my payments...yada yada yada, and got evicted from my home.

    Obviously I cancelled my DirecTV service. Satellite's not much good if you don't have a house to watch it in. I sent back their boxes (though now I wish I would have waited a little longer) and everything they asked. A few days later, I went to buy groceries and my check card declined. WTF? I knew I had at least some money in there. FREAKIN' DIRECTV RAN MY CARD FOR $478!!! I was pissed, so I called up DirecTV and was told that it was an "Early Termination Fee". For what...I asked? Early termination of what? Well, at the end of last year (thinking my job was secure) I had paid $199 for an HD DVR. When I called to take advantage of the offer, they eagerly signed me up. I KNOW THAT THEY DID NOT TELL ME, that in "exchange" for this great offer of $199, I had to stay with my current package for two years. So, I'm screwed, but still looking for a good way to get them back. If anyone has any good ideas, PLEASE email me at [email protected]

    It's not like I was a new customer or anything, I had been with DirecTV for about 10 years. It was not like I was a cheap skate either, I had every channel they offer. At one point, I even had the Playboy channel. I always paid my bill on time (until I was laid off at least), and when I called them, I got the special..."because you're a special customer..." message.

    On top of all this, after speaking to several less-than-helpful-and-certainly-not-sympathetic reps, I spoke with some completely unconcerned "resolution manager" (in the freakin' Phillipenes - no wonder our economy is hurting so badly) he actually had the gall to tell me that, "sir, I can waive this fee if you will reconnect your service." I was Piiiiiiissssssseddddd and must admit that I went off on him. I told him, "listen man, will you stop reading from your script...will you pretend for one minute that you don't work for DTV, and just listen to yourself...I tell you I've been unemployed and have been EVICTED from my home of 12+ years, and you ACTUALLY TELL ME TO RECONNECT." In the end, all I said was, "you have made a great mistake and you are going to be on the news tonight, " hoping to scare him and hung up.

    Oh yeah, one more thing - I thought I'd be clever and call the corporate office and hopefully speak to someone who could do more for me. When I finally got through to someone, I started telling my sad but true story, and about halfway through (but after I told him about the unemployment and the eviction) he actually had the NERVE to just transfer me without waiting for me to finish. I get very official sounding guy who answers the phone, "DirecTV Office of the President". I thought...hell yeah, now I'm going to get action! No way, they saw me coming for miles. I could hear other reps talking in the background, probably on similar calls.

    My question is this - with so many Americans in dire straits, how can they possibly justify doing this. I admit that technically they are correct (even though I am POSITIVE, they did not mention any two year deal, they just wanted to suck me in), but not only is it unethical, it's downright WRONG. I just hope I find a non-violent way to communicate to this large, powerful, short sighted, and completely NOT customer oriented companies that they have made a HUGE mistake. I want to make they pay the only way they can understand it...IN DOLLARS AND CENTS.

    I beg of you...please...DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH DIRECTV. If you have DirecTV, CANCEL service right now. Send them a message that you're mad as hell and you're not going to take it anymore. MAKE THEM PAY!

    0 Votes
  • El
    ellieirish1 Sep 03, 2009

    The same exact thing happened to me. They could not produce a copy of any agreement to extend the contract that they claim I knew about when they upgraded our non-working system to HDTV. I am right now considering beginning a class action suit. Keep watch for when I get it going, I will need all of you out there with the same complaint to sign on so you can all get refunds. Bel Air, Maryland

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Breeplays Aug 28, 2009

    I have had Direct TV since 2005 and fullfilled my 2 year contrzct obligation. In Dec 2008 I called to get a HD DVR. I was told that because I had been a good customer I could purchase the DVR for $99.99. At that time I was told when I asked that I would not be locked into a new contract. I paid for the DVR and they set up a time for installation. The tech came installed I signed his work order for the installation and he left. I decided that I cannot afford to keep the service and would like to cancel it. When I called them they are telling me that I signed a new 2 year contract when I got the new DVR. I have asked for a copy of the contract that I signed but they say they cannot provide me one and I would have to go through the company that did the install which they told me was Ironwood Communications. I asked for the phone number which they told me they do not have as they are not allowed to speak with them. They told me it is a valid point the extension. Isee there are many complaints on this same issue. I am cancelling my service and I am not paying any type of fee. I will instruct my bank not to authorize any payment to them as I pay through my phone company and they assured me they cannot give out my financial information. I think they impose very unfair business practices and something needs to be done. I cannot find any ironwood communications to prove anything. Direct TV must be stopped. Thier bullying practices must come to an end.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    fatima19 Aug 26, 2009

    i was with direct tv since 2007. i had a two year contract paying 74.00 a month. in june when i came back from vacation my dvr was not working. all the shows i recorded was gone. so i called direct tv and spoke to there representative and he tried to fix it by reseting the cable box but in the end said that model does that so we can send you a new box for 19.99. i said to the rep no thank you. i refuse to pay for something that was not my fault. i asked when my contract was over and was told 8/09. the rep then said well wait we can credit you that amount and sendyou a new replacement box. i specifically said will this renew my contract. he said no and reassured me several times. i decided to cancel my account in 8/15/09 which is the end of my contract. i called three times in august to verify if aug 09 was the end of my contract and if i was to be charged any surprise fees. again i was reassured by three different reps that i was ok to cancel and there was no early term fee charges. today 8/25/09 i opened mail from direct tv and was charged an early termination fee of 440.00/charged on my credit card. i called direct tv and was told the rep i spoke to in june was reprimanded and that i should of read there rules posted on there web site and the only way to get 440.00 credited was to return to them. the rep said any equipment mailed to me even though it is a replacement is considered an upgrade and a renewal of contract. whatever the rep in june said was not true and that he was reprimanded for it but i will still be obligated to pay 440.00

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    musclemach Aug 25, 2009

    Hello.My wife and i have been having the same issue with the "early cancellation fee" although our contract we signed states that we have 15 days after installation to cancel in order to have the fee waived, we canceled 12 days after install and are still being charged for this due to the fact that direct tv says we live in louisisana and the state isnt covered by the 15 day rule???????? They also made an unauthorized charge to our credit card which the bank had to dispute and get back. Now we have been turned over to collections due to this, I feel helpless and my wife is looking to me for answers yet i still have none oh and our fee is $495!!

    0 Votes
  • Ot
    otto fritts Aug 20, 2009

    I also was never told of the cancellation fee untill I wanted to do so. I'm getting rid of them and they an take me to court for the $$

    0 Votes
  • P3
    [email protected] Aug 05, 2009

    I totally agree we prescribed to direct tv they said showtime was free for three months but that was a lie they wanted us to pay $150 a month because they said we'll get our money back in twelve months bull ###.. The other problem was ordered a dvdr and they forgot it the first time they installed them. So, they came a second time billing us trying to bill us an extra hundred bucks just because they forgot to bring the dvdr

    0 Votes
  • Ac
    Ace77 Aug 05, 2009

    I hear ya man! I was SPECIFICALLY told by DirecTV that I had no contract when I signed up. I canceled the service after 8 months and they hit me with a $200 ETF. They said I had an 18 month contract. I've filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, my states Attorney General, and I have filed a small claims case against them.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    johnclutch222 Aug 05, 2009

    I called in April to have my service turned off on May 19, 2009. They gave me an early termination fee of 300.00. I got upset, because I was not told that I had a two year term. When I check back in July, they were still taking money out of my account. So I called again, I was told that we did not complete the call, so they took out two more months.

    0 Votes
  • Vc
    vc1vc1 Aug 03, 2009

    Direct TV has a very poor service. I was adviced by Direct TV that there is not a charge for early termination fees because there is no contact or a commitment if I sign up. I just found out today that I can not cancel the service with them until my contact is over. I'm now stuck with them for 24 months. It's not a good business pracetice by misleading the consumers.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul K Jul 22, 2009

    I am curently with Direct TV and absolutley hate it, thought I would be saving money, which I'm not over cable.
    I was never told about an early termination fee up front, only brought to my attention when I wanted to cancel.
    I never signed anything, not even the work order when the direct tv tech installed the dish.
    I signed up through an AT&T store For the televison and wireless internet. I was told my bill would be around 70 dollars total for both ( now only the direct tv bill by itself is $70 plus tax?) Well come to find out I don't have a home phone so the internet won't work. So I cancelled the internet and AT&T didn't bill me for anything, but then Direct TV told me I had 24 hours to cancel.. Well I was way past that time frame because I DIDN"T RECEIVE MY INTERNET EQUIPMENT till 4 or 5 days after the Direct TV was installed. So I couldn't have possibly known that I was unhappy with my service... I thought it was a package deal, turns OUT THAT AT&T and DIRECT TV are NOT and I have to deal with them seperately. I have written the Office of the President of Direct TV and have not gotten a response. Unfair CRIMANL ENTERPRISE = DIRECT TV!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ls
    lsmith Jul 12, 2009

    I upgraded my DIRECTV service in 12/2007 that required a ONE year contract and $100 charge for the equipment. If I cancelled before then there was a cancellation fee of $150. From the start I experienced a blue screen with a no signal message when I changed channels. I called customer service in 12/2007 and was told it was my TV and to contact the TV manufacturer, it was not DIRECTV’s problem. In 5/2009 I started experiencing problems with my received that required me to reboot daily, at that point I decided to switch to another service. The other service was installed at the end of June 2009 and the blue screen problem was gone, obviously not my TV. On 7/1 or 2 I called DIRECTV to cancel service and asked the lady for my FINAL charges, she said I owed $140 for cancelling early and that my contract expired in 12/2009. A few days later I received an email bill that I owed $290 because my contract expired in 12/2010. I called and spoke to Sam and Knight who said I owed $290 because it was a three year contact for the HD service. When I asked for proof that I authorized this, they said it was based on my installing the HD equipment in 2007, but they can’t provide proof of this, and they explain that the lady made a mistake for the $140. I don’t believe I owe ANTHING, since I completed the first year and they have no proof of an additional 1 or 2 year contract with my authorization. Please help, this unfair business practice.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    realist Jun 11, 2009

    It looks as if you are only providing information to make directv look bad. Regardless if you have been with them for 8 years or not, if you got one of their advanced receivers you put yourself into a commitment with them, all of which you can see when you sign for any installation. If you got the reciever yourself from a retailer, you will notice that on all of the boxes the receivers come in say that its a leased receiver which makes you responsable for the terms. I will have to agree with ereka on this one, you are just being a tight wad, so if you are wanting this to report against your credit, thats your problem not theirs. AND as for the "class actions" against directv, just because you sue someone, does not mean your going to win.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    GeneralStark Jun 03, 2009

    Check out www.classadvocate.com. Click on DirectTV and view class actions against DirectTV

    0 Votes
  • Er
    ereka Jun 03, 2009

    Its so simple. You are just a tightwad who thinks he is throwing money away because he no longer has the service. "WHY SHOULD I PAY THAT??"

    Why? You entered into a contractual agreement with an early termination clause and then you broke it. So they exercised their option to charge you the fee.

    So now, they have to pay people to try and collect it. You are making them bleed for it. So keep that in mind for the future when the harsher collection agents start calling your workplace and neighbors to get you to pay that bill.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bill C Jun 03, 2009

    Directv is claiming that I owe them $377.17 for early termination. I completed my 2 year commitment to them in Feb 2008 and canceled my subscription in June 2008. They billed my credit card, which I disputed with my credit card company, who investigated and subsequently removed the charges.

    Since then, I have received two notices of collection (4/02/09 and 5/20/09) from two different "agencies" which I responded immediately in writing that I dispute the charges. It should be noted that both of these notices had 3 different addresses contained in their letter and no contact name or phone number.

    I received today a letter dated 5/20/09 from Directv that they received my correspondence, reviewed all charges, that they consider the balance to be accurate and for me to remit the amount of $377.17 to their address listed below in the letter. Again, no name or phone number.

    I am tired of dealing with this unethical company. I was with them for 8 years, never missed a payment and then when I cancel, they try to stick it to me. I would never go back to Directv and tell everyone I know to stay away from them, no matter how good of a deal they make it sound in their ads and brochures.

    0 Votes
  • 65
    654987innc Apr 17, 2009

    I'm surprised that Direct Tv is still doing business! Wow, so many of these complaints are so similar to my experience with them! How do they get away with it when there are so many people that are dealing with this situation???? Well maybe if enough people with complaints spread the word it will put them out of business or maybe they might actually starting doing some good for their CUSTOMERS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    ParrottJ Mar 26, 2009

    I have had service with this company for over 6 years. We had a very bad storm hit and I was told that it would be several days before they could fix my dish. I explained to them that I had contacted one of there competitors and they could have my service restored in under 3 days. I asked direct t.v to cancel my service. I was told that I would have to pay a early termination fee. I didn't understand because I had used the service for 6 years. Well apparently I upgraded a reciever and there is some kind of service agreement that places you under a two year contract. I asked to see something showing where I signed showing that I agreed to the terms of this contract. They told me it was a verbal agreement. WOW. I told them goodbye and will never use there service again. One of there competitiors has better service and there is no contract period. Watch Out for this company.

    0 Votes
  • Rb
    rbrown0504 Mar 18, 2009

    For financial reasons, I chose to suspend my DirecTV service in 7/08. I was told at the time that I could call on 1/6/09 and cancel my DirectTV service. I called 1/7/09 and terminated my service. I confirmed with the rep multiple times in the phone call that I would NOT be charged an early termination fee (ETF). She assured me each time that I would not. A couple weeks later I received a bill from DirecTV with an ETF on it. I called the next day and was told that because I suspended my service, that my contract was extended the amount of time my service was suspended, therefore I was billed an ETF because my contract wasn't up for another 6 mos. NO ONE EVER in previous conversations with reps mentioned this to me. I expressed this to the reps I spoke with that day. I called, spoke with a first line rep. Didn't get anywhere, spoke with supervisor. After 20 mins. of hold time and researching, I was rudely told that it is a valid fee and that no one in this company will be removing it. I found the Office of the President's phone number located in Boise, Idaho. I called, spent more time explaining my situation, and still got nowhere. After 2 hours of fighting this, I gave up. None of the reps I spoke to were able to answer my one question with any satisfaction from me: How come I'm being held responsible for reps giving me incorrect info and not documenting their 'system' correctly? Instead I was told repeatedly that it is a valid and it will not be removed.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chad Mar 16, 2009

    SOMETHING YOU SHOULD KNOW.
    Whenever you speak to a directv representative - know that you are being misled. Getting it in writing will never happen because that holds directv accountable. Don’t use their service – if enough people stop things will change. Also if you are out of the contract time frame and make a single change to the account you just agreed to 2 more years. Stop watching tv spend time with your kids – fix that piece of crap house, car or whatever you’ve been putting off. Do something else.

    0 Votes
  • Vy
    Vycktoriya Mar 14, 2009

    I've had my Direct Tv service for almost 2 months before I realized that it was not exactly for me. I went through Verizon to get the service because Verizon and Direct Tv had partnered up and had a bundle package. Verizon told me that although they were bundled, I needed to call Direct Tv and have them terminate the service. When I called Direct Tv they told me that I would be charged a $320 "early activation fee" because my 24 months wasn't up. I called back about 2 hours later and was told by another person at Direct Tv that my contract was an 18 month contract. No where on Direct Tv's site does it state that they have 18 month contracts. I politely asked if there was some type of agreement letter or contract that was signed by me, agreeing to these terms. They could not provide one. At no time did ANYONE (Verizon or Direct Tv) tell me that I would be obligated to stick with them for 18 or 24 months. I paid a $300 deposit to get the service and was told that it would be completely refunded in a few months or at the time of cancellation. Now, while trying to get this back, they're telling me that this was an activation fee, while another person told me that this was indeed a deposit but would be refunded by being paid out monthly as "credits" towards my bill but I'm cancelling the service. I asked if they could show me documentation stating what they had just told me about deposits and they could not.

    0 Votes
  • Ml
    mlawler Mar 05, 2009

    I have been a customer of Direct TV for over seven years. In that seven years I only had one problem, my receiver suddenly died one day. Fortunately, we had purchased the warranty protection plan, and within a week, a new receiver was in place. That was ten months ago. Sadly, the dying economy caught up to me when my hours were cut down to 20 hours per week. Barely able to pay a mortgage, it is obvious that I was forced to cancel my subscription with Direct TV. We called, and within minutes our feed was terminated. Two days later, a box came for our receiver. Thinking all was said and done, a bill came to my home for $180.00 listed as an early termination fee. Calling the customer service rep, they stated that their record showed we replaced a receiver ten months prior. Apparently that new receiver re-instituted an 18 month contract, one that either my wife or me knew about. Furthermore, it was said that a $70.00 retention credit was applied to my account. Since we were terminating our contract that $70.00 credit was about to be reversed meaning my total bill is now $250.00! Remember, I can barely pay a mortgage right now. Words cannot possibly describe how angry I am with Direct TV over this issue. I am left asking myself two questions; first, what did I pay for when I signed up for a warranty protection plan, and second, where in my contract did it state that receipt of a new receiver enrolls me in an 18 month contract? Just so it is clear, we went through all our statements and contract looking for that fine print… it does not exist. Nowhere do I see a $70.00 retention credit. Second, no where do I see any mention or agreement on requiring me to sign up for an additional 18 month contract upon receipt of the new receiver covered under the protection plan. In conclusion, I have two options; pay the fee and be done with Direct TV forever, or re-activate my service meaning I re-do my 18 month contract, or not pay it and fight it. I want everyone to know about this as nowhere in my records do I see any mention of re-enrolment of contract, or a $70 credit. My advice to whomever reads this, stay away from Direct TV!!

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.