SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

TJ Maxxlied about return policy

Review updated:

TJ Maxx has a return policy that you can return merchandise w/o a receipt within 90 days. I went in to get store credit for an item and the employee - Jenn Whiting and the manager - Shan Lee would not return the item.

They said it was not "in the system. However, I bought the item and tried to return it within 3 weeks --well within TJ Maxx's 90 day return period.

PROBLEM:

Misleading return policy. Item should have been in TJ Maxx's database and it wasn't.

Jenn Whiting was a rude employee and Shan Lee, the manager, was not helpful.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • D2
      Nov 14, 2009

    And your one of those ### customers. You ###.

    -1 Votes
  • Ke
      Jan 19, 2010

    30 days actually.

    0 Votes
  • At
      Jan 20, 2010

    Have you read the return policy? Most stores have them posted at either the doors or at their customer service desk. I have never heard of a store with a certain number of days for a return with NO receipt, in fact very few store will return without a receipt. If the store is willing to return it is very rare a customer would receive anything more than a few dollars.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Mar 06, 2010

    I agree mhmm! If it's not there it's not there. Can't be returned period.

    0 Votes
  • Il
      Jun 14, 2010

    Umm the return policy is stated on the receipt & it is only 30 days with original receipt. If you don't have a receipt, they have to look it up in the system. And yes, if it's not there.. it's not there.

    +1 Votes
  • Ja
      Aug 05, 2010

    Well I work at TJ Maxx and I think they were wrong and I actually agree with the complaint. If you do not have the reciept we look it up in the system and if it say "Item not found" we write inf on the store copy of the reciept after we do the return. You must have went to a crappy TJ Maxx because the employer's policy is to keep the customers happy and they did not meet their standards.

    -2 Votes
  • Jl
      Aug 28, 2011

    30 days ###. and don't use their real names.

    -1 Votes
  • Pp
      Sep 01, 2011

    The actual policy if you read it states 30 days w/ receipt. They'll take items back for store credit up to 90 days but only if it's in the system. And they count that based off of when the item arrived in the store. NOT when you bought it (that would be a virtual nightmare for any POS system to track).

    +2 Votes
  • Re
      Feb 22, 2016

    You have 30 days to return
    Stores encourage customers to keep their receipts for proof of purchase during returns
    Due to the fact that their systems are very basic they need to have the tag or receipt to verify the item
    If you do not have your receipt and they cannot verify the item they cannot return the item
    Having your return denied does not mean a crappy store... It means that store is sticking to company policy
    some stores will make exceptions others won't they are not obligated to make exceptions
    Tjmaxx Marshalls Homegoods Sierra trading Post etc. return policy is the same
    If they were rude that's different you have a reason to be upset but if you were ify with the item to begin with you should have saved your receipt and asked for them to verbally tell you the return policy so ... Yo bad !!!
    Just because in retail the customer is always right you do know you aren't always right, right ?

    +1 Votes
  • Qu
      May 07, 2017

    I find they make up things as the go, and it differs from location to location and type of clientel, if u understand what I am saying

    +1 Votes

Post your comment