Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Telus Mobility

Posted:    

very, very unhappy customer!

Complaint Rating:  86 % with 37 votes
86% 37
4.3
As a Telus customer for almost a year, I am very unhappy to say that my phone has consistently been giving me a lot of problems with reception, battery life, display problems, and sometimes I don't even receive calls or messages. When I called Telus on Tuesday July 4, 2006 for the first time, I was put of hold for 15 minutes until I finally hung up. Later that day I called again and talked to another representative, Carol. I told her the problem that I was having and explained that I had already sent the phone to be repaired once before with the same problems recurring.

This cellular phone is under warranty and I am regretting having a Telus phone, I would like someone to review this complaint. As a paying client, I feel as if my concerns are not taken seriously, please get back to me with respect to this urgent matter. If I did not need the use of a cellular phone, I would not have purchased one, I am a very, very unhappy customer.

Regards,
Orel.
Complaint comments Comments (101)    Updated: Complaint country Canada Complaint category Telecommunications

Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
N  27th of Feb, 2011 by    0 Votes
They have told me my $100.00 pay as you go card is only a $10.00 card, and asked that I fax a copy of the card, bothh sides, the receipt from walmart and the activation pin from walmart to get it straightened out, so I did my due diligence and faxed
the info at my cost of course, and now the card is not valid, so I payed $100.00 they said it was worth only $10.00 and now that I faxed all the info, the card is now worth nothing, so 2 telus reps said it was only worth $10.00 now the third says it was worth nothing, what a bunch of thieves this corporation is, watch your back with TELUS !, I have had major problems with them for years, I don't know why I ever went back, I guess I thought they couldn, t screw up a pay and talk card, oh yes they
can, I have more horror stories to tell and will not let up until I cost them at least a hundred customers, word of mouth internet, whatever it takes to protect the public from these crooks, people it is time to put your foot down and screw them right back, I am starting now, they can be beat down, there are many good providers, there service sucks and they are going down the tubes spread the word, this is just the beginning, , , , , ,
N  18th of Apr, 2011 by    0 Votes
Even now ... years later ... NOTHING has changed. TELUS' customer service continues to be absolutely appalling. Try calling them !!! The "higher than average call volumes" they experience are ROUTINE. Telus is quite simply under-staffing their customer service /tech. support department because their current customers are NOT important to them. Watch their actions - don't listen to their [censor]. They are well aware they require customers to wait ... often for over an hour. They suggest for faster service we use their online tech. chat service. THAT wait is ALSO over an HOUR !!!

I am a tech. support guy who does a lot of work with elders who quite often require technical support. I am VERY pleased with the service provided by SHAW and I recommend my clients switch to a SHAW bundle with phone, internet and cable. I also assist them to contact Telus customer support, but in my hour-long appointments I have NEVER been able to get through to TELUS. It seems their attitude is ... "if you have a problem ... DON'T ask us. We don't have time to help you." Now, I simply assist ALL of my clients to switch. I do it for FREE. Bye Bye TELUS !!! It makes my customers VERY happy! Oh ... and thanks for the business TELUS. People have to pay me to get the support they already pay YOU for.

TELUS' recorded message SHOULD read: "We are experiencing a large number of calls for customer service / technical support. Your call is not important to us. Please call someone who cares and pay them for their help." WOOHOO TELUS !!!"
N  23rd of Apr, 2011 by    0 Votes
Telus only cares about one thing. Money! Not the customer. I got out of my contract without charge because of constant dropped calls, even though Telus said I would have to pay nearly $400 in early cancellation fee. I filed a complaint with the Commissioner for Complaints for Telecommunications Services. IT WORKS! Got an issue with Telus? Kick em to the curb!! File a complaint with the Commissioner for Complaints for Telecommunications Services.

http://www.ccts-cprst.ca/
N  1st of May, 2011 by    0 Votes
My telus phone was destroyed by accident. My dog bite it off and it's irreparable. Then obviously, I had to start a new contract with Telus. I went to a boutique where they told me that all I would need to do is start a new contract zero fees with a brand new iphone 4. All I would need to do was pay the 200 dollars to start the new contract. I said I didn't have the money but I would try to get it and get back at them. I went to borrow the money from someone. When I got there on the same day they told me it was a mistake and I would have to pay the cancelation fee plus the 200 dollars. I told them I would have to get back at them or repair the phone. I called Telus that night and they told me I would only pay the cancelation fee and I could start a new contract with an iphone 4 for no extra fee. I thought ok then, fair enough. I said ok, can I do it over the phone. She said yes but I would have to use a credit card or do it at a store and the cancelation fee would go on the next bill. When I went to the store, they said there was no such thing, and that if I wanted the iphone 4, I would have to pay an extra 200 dollars. I was so tired, I told them "ok, I'll get the iphone 3 gs" which seemed like not so bad a good trade. So I called telus and told them about all the musinformation. They replied that the other agents did not know what they were talking about. I said "and what about the girl at the store that told me at first that I would have to pay nothing" and they replied that this boutique I went to was not a real telus store. I wondered why is there real telus stores and fake telus stores. So I went to a real telus store, and I had to pay 100 dollars for the new contract plus the cancelation fee. The girl at the store told me that everything should be as it was before. Well, she may have been a real telus store person, but it turned I had 30 messages before and now I had 3, so I called upset and they accepted to add another 7 to make 10. The story didn't end there, as the cancelation fee was still there, so I've been paying it ever since every month as much as I can to pay it off. This last month, I made a mistake with my bank transaction, and paid my insurance company instead of them. Well, it turned out that all of a sudden I lost signal and they say my account is restricted, and if I don't pay the full balance right away, they are going to terminate my account. I got a very, very rude agent on the phone. I asked him to appologise and he did, but only because he had to, and I'm really pissed off right now. I had to agree to pay 150 on the first and another 150 at the middle of the month and that would not restore the account until they received the whole thing and had to practically beg to them. I paid 200 dollars in march, 100 dollars in February, 200 in january, 389 in december 2010. It feels that all I've been paying since december is Telus!! I'm so fed up, I'm thinking of suing them!!! DOWN WITH TELUS!!!
N  3rd of May, 2011 by    0 Votes

Telus Internet Service - OVERCHARGED
Telus - British Columbia
Vancouver
British Columbia
Canada

I ordered the Internet Service back in December 2009 when I moved to apartment in Vancouver. First month I got my bill correct with no problem.From the second month until December 2010 (date I closed the account) they charged me with TELEPHONE - LAND LINE Service which I never have!! Never have home phone and never plug land line cable whatsoever. I called them millions times up to this date. And they never changed. Sometimes I got fed up and did not bother at all. But I know I have to straighten this up. Until one day the called me for overdue payment and I explained to the last person which the most cooperative staff so far I've been spoke with; and explained to him about what is going on. He seemed nice and he said he will forward this to the higher officer to figure out why I got charged for phone line. But until this day I never receive anything or heard anything back from TELUS besides e-bill statement that asking me to pay full amount that did not change and still have the phone line charges. Its insane! Not to mention the scream and yelled that I got from the phone owner that I try to phoned couples times to cooperate with me and ask if they receive bill for their phone line, cause I've been getting theirs...
It's totally drain my energy and mind to figure things out.
Please consider this before you sign up with TELUS. I hope this doesn't happen to anyone else. AND if TELUS staff read this. Please get this over with... aren't we have something else better to deal with in this life???!?? *sigh!*
N  11th of May, 2011 by    0 Votes

Telus Communications - Fight back
Telus Communications
United States

Like everyone who recently got their Telus bill and was dismayed to find that the Internet price had been raised (even if it was $2 it's the point of the matter) that you can contact the Commissioner for Complaints for Telecommunications Services (CCTS) in Ottawa to file a complaint with them.

This morning I received a reply from the CCTS informing me that my 'complaint falls within the scope of our mandate and will be processed in accordance with the Procedural Code'.

If enough people act upon this we may be able to turn around Telus' increase and put them in their place by honoring previous agreements they made with their customers.

The more complaints the better chance we have in quashing Telus' bogus increase to customers that they promised that the price would remain as is.

A number of months ago, I was having all sorts of Internet problems (very slow speed, signal drops) and had enough of Telus's service. I called to voice my displeasure and was told by their Rep who I spoke with that they would drop my Internet price and it would remain that same price for 'as long as I remained with Telus for Internet service'. I asked to verify 'No Increase?' and was told no increase.

Basically they lied to me.
N  9th of Jun, 2011 by    0 Votes

Telus Cellular - Fraudulent billing
TELUS MOBILITY
Toronto
Ontario
Canada

My contract with telus was over. and 1 month after my contract was done.. they took all the features off and started billing me for calls after 6pm... and they notified me that i should have been aware of that i would lose my evenings and weekends free option once my contract was done. I had no clue that thats how they had worked.. over a hundred dollars, they sent my file to collections.. i did pay the usage charges but left the 100 dollars for evenings and weekend usage for dispute.. NO MANAGER CALLED ME.. NO ONE CALLED AND THEY SENT MY FILE TO COLLECTIONS.. SO UPSET
N  11th of Jun, 2011 by    0 Votes
I work for Loyalty and Retention for TELUS mobility and have come across such situations many a time. If a two parties decide to get into a contract you'd have to think about what's going to happen at the end of this contract. So for TELUS to give you a discount on a phone and free features that save you air time (minutes) and obviously money you agree to stay with TELUS for x amount of years. At the end of this contract your saved money isn't going to keep on going unless a new agreement is discussed. After explaining this if the customer is willing to work with us, we would be willing to work with them. We'd take half of the owner ship on say, this not being explained or asked about at the beginning of the agreement as long as the client is willing to accept half of the ownership. Now we do talk with a lot of good people and a lot of difficult people. And of course depending on the agent and how miserable they may be, we are all humans, a resolution can be made. I don't know how the calls went and what was said, but the nicer you are to people who can hand over money to you, the better.
N  13th of Jun, 2011 by    0 Votes
I understand. i actually was very nice but they were sooo rude to me. I was very disappointed in the service i got. Believe it or not, we had 6 lines in the family with telus.. we all disconnect when our contracts are done. I was the only one that is disputing the charges cause i think it was not rightfully charged. I am a single mother and relay heavly on my credit and for a hundred bucks, TELUS really screwed me over. All i did was ask to speak to a manager. I paid what i thouht i owed them.. plus more. Just not the calls i made after 6 and the weekend. In order to keep my business, they could have asked a manager to call me and i would have probably stayed with them.
N  15th of Jun, 2011 by    0 Votes

Telus Mobility - Asking for a Refund for fees charged on my cell phone - textchallengetriviagamesservices of over $17
Personal
197 Harper Drive. Apt 19
Shediac
New Brunswick
Canada
Phone: 506 229 5848

Recently i have been charged over $17 from text messages received from Textchallengetriviagameservices and I am asking you to stop sending and charging me $2 per message immediately... Also i am asking you to for a refund for all the $2 fees charged on my phone since the beginning of June 2011... I have already called Telus Mobility and I have been advised to write to you immediately giving a code # 84040 and if i do not get a refund back or do get additional charged messages on my phone in the future... I am planning to take legal action against that Textchallengetriviagameservices website ...

So i am asking for a full refund of all the fees charged on my phone immediately totalling over $17.00 and want you to STOP charging me for those messages... I have never authorized you to do that so please do stop.

Sincerely,

Rosia Doucette
N  3rd of Nov, 2011 by    0 Votes

Telus Communications - SERVICES
TELUS COMMUNICATIONS
Revelstoke BC
Canada

i was suppose to get a hook up on oct 26th 2011 for home phone and internet, they switched the service date without notifying me for oct 27th 2011. Service for oct 27th was not done due to technition stating he was there for noon, we were home until 1pm. he did not show. nov 1st 2011 was suppose to be a hook up, Telus sent out a tech from a different town when there were service tech in our town that could be there to help. He did NOT know what he was doing ( even told my fiance that) wasted our time. nov 2nd hooked up our home phone and internet worked for ONE night. Then on Nov 3rd everything STOP working, not sure why, but they screwed up and keep screwing up(even admitted it over the phone) then tells me i will have to wait another day (probably for them to screw up some more)I am pregnant. due any day and can not get in touch with fiance while im visiting the family. Also he cannot find work due to having to switch the phone number on resume twice from Telus's screw ups. WORST COMPANY ever. Recommended for stress and frusteration and not getting the jobs done.
A  28th of Nov, 2011 by    0 Votes
I have recently transferred from Rogers to a Telus corporate plan for two iphones and for a week now I am having technical issues with the two iphones. The transfer has not been done properly and I still have the messages received on the rogers phone at times and the Telus phone at other times. Regards the phone calls, I receive all calls at the Rogers phone and could at some times make phone calls from the Telus phone. However most of the time the call fails before the other party receives it or the other party cannot hear me. Another problem is that the signal shows one or two bars maximum at times and because of this the battery last few hours only every day.

I tried calling technical support twice during the week and they did not help so I decided to go to the store in Bayshore to show them the problem live.

I would like to inform you that the manager of the store was the most rude sales person I have ever met. She was busy with another customer setting up a new phone and asked me and the customer that came few minutes after me if we have quick questions. I answered that I have problem receiving calls on my phone and she asked me to wait for her colleague to help me. The other customer wanted a hardware upgrade and she asked her to wait as well. I have waited for about 10 minutes in the store to get my turn and when her colleague came to help me and after starting the conversation with me she asked him to help the other customer. At that time the customer said that I came first and the manager still asked him to help the other customer. I had to wait their for an hour to get help without even anyone apologising for the delay. I had to ask for an explanation for the bad service to hear an apology that was not really sincere.

The Telus manager apparently cared for the sales transaction more than the support transaction which is on the short and long term hurting your business. Because of this bad service I left the store with a very bad experience about Telus that I will spread this within my work and family community. I have also decided to cancel the plan with Telus and never go to this store again. I have already called Rogers to keep my plan with them and to tell them the bad experience I got from Telus Technical support and after sales services. If it was only bad technical support I would have been more patient until the transfer is finalized. However, I am not ready to pay one cent to an organization that does not treat their customers well.
N  18th of Mar, 2012 by    0 Votes

Telus Mobility - Telus Bill
Telus Mobility
British Columbia
Canada

I recently switched from Rogers to Telus in January 2012.
Since then I have had numerous problems with my bill.
Upon activating my phone, the guys at BestBuy needed to activate two numbers as the server froze the first time. They did not fix this over at Telus HQ, so i got billed not one, but TWO Activation fees and service charges.
They took it off my bill for THAT MONTH, however now it remains on my bill constantly.
They keep saying they will change it and never do.

Now, this month they are charging me for data I didn't use (but moreso transferred the data charges from my last bill onto this one, which I already paid for). I can prove this, because I turned OFF my mobile packet data several days ago, when it was still 35 mb off my limit.


I'm not sure how to get Telus to finally do their job and serve me, a PAYING CLIENT properly.


I need help!
I cannot afford messups as a student!
N  24th of Apr, 2012 by    0 Votes

Telus - Service
United States
Phone: 403-472-1917

Looking for Service with shaw I have amazing offers for customers that wish to leave telus please call 403-472-1917
N  24th of Apr, 2012 by    0 Votes
Shaw spamming Complaintsboard, com

lol
N  28th of Apr, 2012 by    0 Votes

Telus - bad service and poor program
telus
Calgary
Alberta
Canada

Worst service I have ever delt with. It all started when I initially signed up with telus. I received my PVR Digital TV Box. Everything went gret untill I realised that the box they gave me was not the box they promised. They advertise the PVR to record pause and play live TV. The box they gave me did not work! When I called to complain about my box not working and did I mention I was on hold for an hour and it took the CSR 2 hours to figure out what the problem wass. I was eventually told that the box did not have recording capabilities. WHAT! Then why am I paying as much as a customer who has recording/pausing capabilities?! Telus told me that that's how it is. I Requested a new box and instead of apologizing to me they insisted that I give them all my information because they did not believe that they were talking to the account holder. Why do I NEED to give them my drivers licence, SIN # and credit card again! They have all that info! So after arguing on the phone with them about the problem they came up with the idea to charge me a reinstallation fee of $150, plus a service fee for $50 dollars to bring out a new WORKING box!! This was just outrageous to me!! I told them they can count on me NEVER doing business with TELUS AGAIN!!!
N  4th of May, 2012 by    0 Votes
Well you have to verify all your info because of Canadian privacy laws. It's the same for many company's so get use to it. And maybe instead of arguing with the person you were speaking to (I imagine you were probably yelling and swearing as well), you could of acted like a mature adult and maybe they would have been willing to be more accommodating toward you.
N  19th of Mar, 2013 by    0 Votes

Telus - Long Distance
Northwest Territories
Canada

So, I get hit with overages on local minutes and long distance. I call Telus and am told that since I am not on a long distance plan that in I have to pay local minutes and long distance charges on a incoming long distance call @ $0.45/minute. Now this seems shady to me because they are charging long distance fees on both ends of the call. You really are forced into a long distance plan. The hit to local minutes also seems like a cash grab. Basically I was paying $0.90/minute on my end (local and long distance overage fees). This added to the fees the originator was also paying it is no wonder providers are always posting huge profits. This seems excessive to me.
N  8th of Dec, 2013 by    0 Votes

Telus Phone Line - repair phone line
Integra Housing Co-operative
Edmonton
Alberta
Canada

I need to post a few enquiries about repairs on our telephone line on a good forum. I hope posting it here helps. Our apartments office phone is phone number is 780 426-3171. We are a not for profit housing co-operative at 11027, 109 Street, Edmonton and the phone number is a telus account. When accessing the http://www.telus.com/ link to check for internet availability, we are told that internet is not available. I cannot get any further than that. I suspect that Telus have found the line to be old and defective. Perhaps they have decided that our not for profit status means that we cannot pay for the repair. We have the money for such repairs and until Telus repair the line we cannot get internet. If it means purchasing Telus Services to get the line repaired that is fine but we need to get moving on this.
N  20th of Jul, 2016 by    0 Votes

Telus - Stay away from Telus!
Telus
34 York St.
Guelph
Ontario
Canada
Phone: 519-803-5167

When I signed up with telus - I got there 'top of the line' phone at the time. It broke down within the first month and I got it fixed under warranty. It broke down 11 months later (just after my warranty), and I brought it in and the younger person in the store said they had 'huge issues with this phone and the software was ###'. But when I called to get it fixed for free, they would not take any responsibility. The best answer I got was 'the phones are massed produced, you got to expect a defect'. However, it was there best phone at the time.

After a long and pointless fight with customer service, I got a new phone. 2 months later, it broke down again. Wow! They have taken absolutely no ownership, and for a firm that hides behind a good environmental image, they do not seem to be concerned with all the crap cell phones which are breaking down and going to the dump.

Also, my bills are often extremely high for ridiculous hidden charges. My text messages never go through on weekends since there 'network gets clogged up' so I have missed many important messages.

Many of my friends have had similar experiences with Telus.

My advice - stay far far away!

Cheers,
Will.

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards Complaint Agree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

TELUS Communications Logo TELUS Communications
Customer Care Service
PO Box 7575
Vancouver
British Columbia
Canada - V6B8N9
+1 866 558 2273
View Full Information
Contact Us
bdomains.com
     

Reply to

Send