SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Macy's Credit Cardcredit card fraud

Review updated:

Macy's Credit card fraud

It happened to me, the Macy's credit card fraud. I am writing this to alert anyone reading of this Macy's fraud department.

It works like this, when you buy any products from Macy's they ask you if you want to signup for their card service, if you say yes, they try to put your new purchase on the new card so that it gets activated immediately and you become liable to use it. I had given them my existing credit card, I dont know why they put the charges on the new card.

I called their customer service to remove the charge from their card and put it on my card. They went ahead and closed it and put a balance on my credit report. All without informing me or contacting me.

I paid their card balance in full this is after they charged me a hefty penalty fees they wont send me a itemized bill. The penalty amounted to 271$, for a charge of 46$. The Macy's customer rep said that I should not have paid without getting a itemized bill, completely side stepping the issue.

I think I am legally entitled to an itemized bill. Please can anyone reading this advise me.

Macy's really hurt my credit score.

And now after having paid them for an year, they wont update my credit report. I call them get transfered from department to department.

I am also writing to find out if there any thing legally. In retrospect , any card which is offered in a Shopping mall is risky, this is to all teenagers and youngsters.

Hope that helps
Concerned Consumer.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Bl
      Sep 29, 2007

    Yes everyone needs to be aware of Macy's sneaky ways of getting charges on your card and then annoyingly calling both your personal and business phones regarding your payment.

    I too had the same issue of requesting to see the itemized bill since yes and I will take blame, I did not make the payment on time and yes I do know you are assessed finance charges/late fees. Nonetheless, I wanted to have something in writing so I know what I'm paying for. The customer service personnel gave me the list of the itemized charges via the phone and low and behold, it didn't even add up. They were charging me more for what the itemized charges were. Figure how that happens.

    I am now trying to follow up on something else on my bill called "FLEX". If anyone knows what this is, let me know because Macy's keeps calling my cell and business phone, but whenever I answer it, no one answers. This same thing happened with my first issue with them. I finally called several numbers and spoke to someone and request they stop calling me. They said if I would like them to stop calling me, then I'd have to submit something in writing, which of course I did. And of course it didn't work because it's happening again.

    The most frustrating thing is that communication is only one way, they charge you, phone you when you don't pay on time, but they don't listen to your concerns.

    I'm cutting up my card and closing this Macy's account. Their discount is not worth my time sorting out these nonesense with them.

    0 Votes
  • Pj
      Oct 30, 2007

    Hi. I don't know if this will be helpful to you or not, but several years ago I had a charge on a Macy's card ($45) that went into collections unknown to me. (Macy's was at fault. They had entered an incorrect address for me in their computer, and I never received their bills). When I discovered it, I wasn't sure how to correct it (since the information had been entered on my credit report) . A friend suggested that I make an official complaint at the President's/CEO's level, because the President doesn't want any problems like this on their level. I did just that, first with a phone call, then followed up with a letter. I paid the original amount I owed them, (I wasn't disputing that), and had them remove the bad credit mark from my credit report, as well as the collections information, and I closed the account. Result: The bad mark placed on my credit report was removed, as if it had never been there (I think it took about three weeks). Note: You must tell your creditors that you want the bad/wrong information removed from your credit report once the problem is cleared up with them because it is not automatic (although it seems like it should be) to do that. (Creditors are quick to put back marks on someone's credit report, but don't make the same effort to remove info that has been disputed and found in favor of the client). Start at the top. I think you will see a difference. Good luck. PJ

    -1 Votes
  • Sc
      Aug 11, 2018

    @PJ Funny, they did the exact same thing to me, coerced me into opening up a Macy's account instore, etc. Then, allegedly sent the bill to the wrong address. THREE TIMES!!! Never bothered to call to confirm my correct one. For several months, I never got a bill. Because I never got a bill I called them, then tried in vain to pay online (I'm in Canada). They wouldn't accept my payment over the phone or online because I needed to pay with an American credit card (WTF?). They also wouldn't tell me my balance on the phone or allow me to send any money without the statement. Catch 22. When I finally received it, months later, it had over $100 in late payment charges on a $165 purchase. This whole situation seems intentional at the least, fraudulent at the worst. Macy's should be charged with a criminal offence. I will never shop there again. Oh, and I NEVER did receive my Macy's card. EVER. Lost in the mail??? Wonder who is making purchases on it now...

    +1 Votes
  • Si
      Nov 03, 2007

    I just had a problem with my (now canceled) Macy's credit card.

    It turns out when you open a card, there are TWO accounts on said card. One is a regular Macy's Visa, and one is an "in-store account" or flex account.

    The trick of it all is that when you pay the card, you must specify which account. Not knowing there were two accounts, I incorrectly paid my balance to the Visa account, effectively giving me a negative balance on that account and then being penalized for not paying the correct account which still had the original balance.

    Thankfully a call to customer service was mostly helpful. They transferred the balance to the correct account and removed the fee. But then they told me that I had a 3.60 "insurance" fee because apparently I (or rather, the salesman) initialed somewhere that I wanted insurance.

    I knew nothing of insurance, nothing of the dual accounts . . . I fell for a salesman's push to get a percentage off on a purchase. Obviously I should have questioned everything and scrutinized the contract for an hour or so in the store to avoid these charges.

    Needless to say, avoid the Macy's credit card unless you have considerable time on your hands to understand its nuances.

    +1 Votes
  • Tr
      Dec 17, 2007

    Oh my god!!! u have to be so [censored]in careful.. when i signed up for their card... they automatically checked the box that i want to enroll in some kind of crap.. which was almost 99$ a year (one of those protection program)... and guess what i paid i saved 10$ for purchase and my finance charge was 4$..what if i missed the payment... it would have been almost 30$... the thing is you have to be manually uncheck those box...they just assume that you want their fraudulant service... I will never shop at Macy's for their unfair business...

    +1 Votes
  • Ro
      Dec 26, 2007

    Just had the same routine with those conniving theives... and the Amazon VISA I signed up for at amazon.com did the same nasty little stunt last year...

    Face it folks, stealing by deception is apparently legal and in practice by major US retailers across the country...

    I signed up for a big instore discount to open a new credit card account at Macys December 2007.

    They DON'T mail a bill... but set a due date that guarantees by the time you do get a bill, they have already socked you with enough late fees to make back the instore discount they gave you.

    And, to make it even more vile and decptive, their web site (macys.com) and their mailings make it almost impossible to figure out what you actually owe ... on what account .. and where to send the bill among several vague addresses, names and titles.

    It's flat out deception and stealing and a intentional program to screw their own cutomers.

    Macy's should be ashamed. Amazon.com should be ashamed.

    No better than simple theives and liars in my opinion.

    Deceptive, decietful marketing at it's worst.

    I just spent another 90 minutes working to defeat them at their own game ... we'll see, I mailed a check with no bill being delivered but I bet they find some loophole to fine, levy and steal regardless of what I do to pay my bill honestly.

    It should be again'st the law and hopefully, it will be some day.

    Sincerely,
    robert anderson
    former Macy's customer.

    +1 Votes
  • In
      Dec 26, 2007

    It happened to me as well. I am still fighting with the store to clear my name. I am currently looking for an attorney that would help all of the customers to end this fraudulent activity by Macy's.

    +3 Votes
  • Ro
      Feb 01, 2008

    I had a similar experience- Put a couch on 6 month, no pay, no interest. Every month they tried to put payments on the statement for the couch. When I paid for charges on other items, they transferred payments to the couch. I had to call every month to backout finance charges and the charges. I expressed concern about credit score (mine is 800+) and they assured me that there would be NO issue. WELL, they automatically put me down as sl0w. It has taken me another 6 months to try to get them to fix the credit report.

    +1 Votes
  • Su
      Feb 02, 2008

    I too have been a victim of the 2 account situation - I am finding that it is not uncommon. Once it is straightened out I will be cutting up my Macy's card.

    +2 Votes
  • Ph
      Feb 24, 2008

    I have been trying for 2 days to pay off and get rid of my Macy's card.
    The website makes it impossible to pay the macys side of the card.
    It will allow me to make a payment on the Visa side whrere I have a Zero balance, But when I try to pay my macys side I can see only the balance and there is nothing to click to pay it off.
    I have enrolled in their on line payment and now they have all kinds on info (banking etc.) and giving it to them was totally useless to me. I wish I had never got this card. I knew i shouldnt have, but sucked into the 20% discount when christmas shopping.
    Now I have spent enough time on this to make the 20% discount seem like is costing me more.
    So I didnt save 20% on the Coach bag I actually paid 120% because time and frustration costs.

    +2 Votes
  • Sp
      Mar 04, 2008

    Had the same thing happen. Went to the store, they opened two accounts at the register without telling me they were doing so. They then sent me one statement (for the Macy's account), which I paid. They then applied my payment for that statement to my VISA acct (that I didn't know I had). This left me with a credit on my VISA and a late fee on my Macy's, unbeknownst to me.

    The next time I went to Macy's and tried to use my card, the clerk told me there was a hold on my card for failure to pay. It was really embarassing as there were several other customers around.

    Days later Macys admitted that they had made the mistake. They credited the payment to the correct account, and said they would send a statement for the remaining balance. Today I had to call and request the statement... it's due in a week and was never sent. They no doubt will again attempt to charge a late fee if I don't pay on time.

    It's surprising to me that a company this large would resort to generating cash by ripping off its repeat customers.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Mar 15, 2008

    Same thing happened to me. I have had a Macy's card for 30 years. I fell for the extra 20% off a leather coat and opened an account, prepared to pay in full when I received the bill. I did that and requested that that acct. be closed. Funny thing though, is that the next few times I shopped and used my (original) Macy's card, my "closed" Macy's card got the charge, and I received no bill! I kept trying to contact them and figure why I wasn't receiving a bill. In the end, creditors from INDIA were calling me (for Macy's) and I could barely communicate with them as their English was so poor. My gosh, can they not hire people to talk on the phone who can speak ENGLISH, when dealing with the U.S.? I had acquired all these "late charges" and didn't realize that I still had 2 Macy's cards. I was very frustrated but persevered and finally got the "new" credit card account deleted.

    I feel the whole situation was a scam to recoup the 20% discount I had received. Buyer beware!!! Don't do this. Macy's is definitely not my favorite any longer.

    +1 Votes
  • Be
      Apr 11, 2008

    Call Collection Agency and ONLY speak to the Supervisor. Never give your account number to the automated voice. Keep repeating Customer Service. Eventually you will get through.
    DO NOT talk to a CUSTOMER SERVICE REP. Ask for Supervisor. DO NOT give ANY information to REP.
    Supervisor should be able to help you. They did with me.
    If not call Corporate Credit Services at [protected]-Mr. Gatio.

    I agree-Credit Card account department is bizzare. REMEMBER - NEVER CALL OR ANSWER THE CREDIT CARD COLLECTIONS. ONLY DEAL WITH MACY'S CREDIT. AND ONLY A SUPERVISOR. THE MINUTE A REP. HEARS YOUR ACCOUNT NUMBER, YOU WILL ONLY BE DEALT WITH BY THEM.

    HOPE THIS HELPS.

    +1 Votes
  • Sa
      May 31, 2008

    I am ashamed of Macy's.
    I was ONE DAY LATE on payment (good platinum customer for 5 years; no late payments) and they FROZE the account, reduced my credit limit. What's THAT about? Spoke to a snotty supervisor. I was told that "the economy being what it is..." What does that mean?
    Unforgivable baloney.
    I am slow to anger, but this pissed me off.
    In the same breath she says "Thank you fpr being one of our best customers."
    Huh?!?!?!

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Jun 09, 2008

    BEWARE FRAUD AT MACY FROM THE INSIDE !!I KNOW I AM YELLING BUT I AM PISSED.THEY WILL ASK YOU TO OPEN AN ACCOUNT THEN TAKE YOUR INFO AND HAVE SOME USE IT WITH OUT ASKING FOR ID AND THEN LET THEM CHARGE!!!THE FRAUD DEPARTMENT IS A RIDICULOUS JOKE PLUS THEY NEVER ANSWERS THE PHONE !!!

    +1 Votes
  • La
      Jun 14, 2008

    What a nightmare. I charged 21.94 on a new card and it becomes a 2 hour ordeal. I am so glad I found this board. The first rep I spoke to had no english skills and did not understand my request. The rep who took my information at the time of the application did not enter my address correct and I never recieved anything. All the rep kept saying is we did mail the information. The rep did not understand someone who I do not know has my information and was not willing to report the first card stolen and issue me a new one to the correct address.
    I had to call back and NOT give any information and ask for a supervisor, who did speak english and understood my problem. Macy's will issue a new card and advised how to pay the balance prior to the card being recieved.
    SHAME ON YOU MACYS why can you not take a payment over the phone without charging your customer a fee? I will go into one of your stores and pay the balance off, but I will be cancelling the card as soon as I get it and NEVER shopping at Macys again.

    +1 Votes
  • Ka
      Jul 03, 2008

    I have a small amount owed to Macys (290) and my payment is $10, I have always paid early. Last month I recieved a late payment of $28. I figured the payment had arrived a day late. I paid the late payment + that months bill, but did not send in the $10 I had already paid. Now I get Julys bill and they are charging another late fee. I called my bank and the payments all cleared the bank BEFORE the due dates. I called Macys and call was droped 4 times before I got someone in India (all calls go there). He told me to fax copies of the canceled checks. Guess what- there are no canceled checks- all checks are intered electronicaly. Good luck to me!!! Not only am I closing my account but I will never step foot in their store again.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Aug 12, 2008

    I signed up for a Macy's card a while ago on the promise of 35% discount in my first 2 days. Straight after I made the purchases (and of course it doesn't show the discount immediately - you have to wait for your statement) I googled the Macy's card and came across this page, so I've had it bookmarked ever since, waiting for my statement.

    Anyway, I received my card in the mail, as well as other junk from Macy's, but never my statement. As soon as I received my card I signed up for online statements too (as I was worried about some of the comments above). By yesterday (5 weeks after the initial purchases), I hadn't received a statement, neither in the post nor online. Just now I received an online statement telling me I still had my balance outstanding, along with late fees!

    I just rang the helpline, and talked to the Indian guy. He's canceling my late fee, but couldn't do anything about the credit protection fees I'd incurred (as I understand it, these are only incurred on an outstanding balance, but since there were apparently 2 amounts, they must've charged me both months - I'll have to look this up at home). They're reissuing the original statement which will still have the late fee on it, and the late fee will be deducted next time (although there won't be a next time). I have to take up the credit protection with the (independent) credit protection agency - something tells me that they're not going to care that I've been refunded the late fee and refund me the credit protection fee!

    I then asked him to go through the amounts I'd spent (since I didn't have the statement, just the late balance), which involved 3 separate purchases over the first two days, which should all have received the 35% discount. He didn't express any surprise that the total discounts I received were 21%, 20% and 24%. I mean, it's one thing to not receive what you were promised, but it's a little ridiculous that the amounts are so arbitrary! He said I have to take this up with the Macy's store.

    So more legwork, more phone calls required... After reading the above, I'm really not surprised - just shocked that they can continue to get away with this. I concur with everyone above saying they'll never shop there again.

    0 Votes
  • El
      Aug 25, 2008

    I work for Macy's and you would not believe the pressure employees are under to open new accounts. This is the least favorite part of my job and I hate to ask customers.

    Beware of Macy's and their "sales", discounts and other special offers. If you are using a Macy's charge, chances are you are not getting much of a deal.

    Stick with the regular sales and coupons from the newspaper.

    Their coupons (and Star Rewards) are usually only good for items you don't want to purchase. All of the good stuff is an exception.

    I can no longer take their deceptive practices and plan on leaving soon.

    +1 Votes
  • Fi
      Aug 29, 2008

    I am also an employee at Macy's and can't stand the fact that my job is threatened with wheter or not i have the ability to pressure customers to open credit cards. At the same time, after reading a lot of the complaints, I'd like to take the chance to clear up some misunderstandings. First off, for those of you who open up cards (and you have a great credit score) more than likely you will receive a Macy's Visa card. Any time you use this card in Macy's or any other of it's affiliated companies, your purchases are put towards your 'Revolving' account. If you choose to use the card outside the store, your purchases are put towards your 'Visa' account. If you only use your card in the store, don't pay on your Visa. Also, unless you are planning to put yourself into serious debt with this card, or might pass soon, DO NOT sign up for credit protection. It is a waste of your money!! But, at the same time, realize that you are the only person who can agree or disagree to it. The sales associate has no say in that. If you decide to sign up for a Macy's credit card, read everything carefully and feel free to answer questions. If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Unfortunately I can sit here and tell you that I know a number of co-workers that will tell a customer the most bizarre lies just to open a credit card. In my opinion, if I'm going to lose my job because I refuse to pressure people into something they probably don't want, then I didn't need to be there in the first place. And I also believe that the only people who truly benefit from opening a Macy's credit card are those making large purchases, such as furniture, or those who solely shop at Macy's. You are the ones who will benefit the most. The rest of you, just politely say no. I'd like to stress the word 'politely', because we don't like asking you any more than you like being asked.

    +1 Votes
  • Sa
      Aug 31, 2008

    Thank you very much for your comments and help. I was thinking of getting one until I read this. As an international student from a country where no one uses credit cards unless it's online, this has only proved to me the importance of using cash. :-/

    +2 Votes
  • Lo
      Nov 01, 2008

    I have had my Macy's credit card for 7 years and have always been a good customer (i.e., making payments on time and paying off the account twice), but have been deceived. I went into the store to purchase some perfume in October and was told that my card had been declined. When I called them, I was informed that my credit limit had been reduced from $5, 500 down to $2, 800 with no notice whatsoever. They told me that with the current economic times, they were lowering people's limits at random in order to keep Macy's in business. After contacting the executive office, I was told there was nothing they could do. Now I have a card I can't use, and am absolutely furious. I can't believe they can just lower credit limits with no advance notification, especially to good customers.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Nov 02, 2008

    I agree whole-heartedly. I just called Macy's about my credit account. My balance was 15% of my credit limit and the last time I tried to use my card at Macy's it was declined. I called them just now to find out what was wrong with my card only for them to RUDELY tell me that my credit limit had been reduced back in August...AUGUST from $500 down to $100. WTF?!

    I asked her if they sent me a notice in the mail of this and she says very snotty, "No, this was in your terms of service when you opened the account." I opened my account several years ago - my bad, I guess my memory should be better so I could remember that Macy's can play with the credit limits whenever they wanted without notifying you.

    So now, my balance is now over my little $100 credit limit so I'm waiting for them to screw me even more with over the limit fees.

    I've been doing business with Macy's for many years and I spend well over $1000/mo in their store. Like the original poster, I too will be blogging about my recent Macy's experience. I've always been such a happy customer of theirs ... until today.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Jan 13, 2009

    I am experiencing the same problems with Macy's credit card, as previously stated. I have not received a statement for January 09 yet. I told one of their customer services representatives in India that Macy's billing process stinks.
    This is the third time this has happend within the last 13 months.

    When I asked to speak with a manager or supervisor, I was put on hold for about 5 minutes --- when the manager came
    on the line and I proceeded to discuss the problem with him, the call was dropped. At any rate am going to cancel
    Macy's credit card.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Jan 23, 2009

    Macy's credit card is owned by Department Stores National Bank, a subsidiary of CitiBank - now owned by the US Government (actually by taxpayers). The collection department is in another country. English is not their first language and listening is not a skill employed by them. Try to explain that a payment has been made electronically and they refuse to listen - "no, you must pay now" is the oft repeated phrase. When asked what country they are calling from they'll tell you it's none of your business where they are calling from. They are just RUDE and when you call the so called Customer Service line they may listen but do nothing. No one in that organization is empowered! Macy - take your card and shove it! Mike

    +1 Votes
  • Lo
      Feb 05, 2009

    I too have had a problem with Macy's. When I opened my acct they did not (of course) tell me that I was actually opening 2 accts! So here I was paying my account in full early only to find that I was paying the wrong account and they were charging me late fees and interest on the account I knew nothing about. Rude people who do not speak decent English, who do not listen or do not understand what you are saying. I had to call them 4 times before I even discovered I had more than one account, on previous calls I was told I did NOT have more than one account, now surprise I did all along and my payments were posted to the store account not the visa account. I had supposedly had notes put on my acct about payments being made and not posted, I was told my account was "fine" and not to worry, I was told to fax over paperwork proving I had made the payments (which I did) with the payment tracking information. On my last call to them NONE of this info was available in regards to my account at all! I was simply told I was past due yet again. I asked for a supervisor, I was refused.
    After well over an hour on the phone I discover I do have the infamous 2 accounts and payments are in the wrong place. Finally it is explained to me if I use the Visa card in the store it is charged to the store account, if I use it anywhere else it is charged to the Visa account (what?????) and payments are separate (what??????). I THINK I finally have it straightened out with them, they removed the late fee but refused to remove the finance charge. We will see, time will tell.
    BTW when they told me my balance and the charges made to the card they did not add up! They said I owed over $100 more than the charges they show I made! They could not tell me why, took forever finally they say there was another charge for $100.50 but they don't know who it was for. How is that even possible? They could not tell me, told me to wait for my statement and see.
    BAD business practices. Shame on you Macy's. I used to like that store. You can imagine how I feel about them now.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      Feb 06, 2009

    Can anyone please provide me with Macys Collections phone#? The customer service depart does not want to deal w/accounts that went into collections..or at least w/mine...
    [protected]@gmail.com
    THANKS!
    Nika

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Feb 20, 2009

    The same thing happened to me. All of a sudden an INSERT/SERVICE on a FLEX - REVOLVING ACC of a $119.99 showed on bill from Macy's on a card I didn't know I opened when I purchased something and didn't have my card at that precised moment. The sales agent took it upon herself to open such FLEX - REVOLVING ACC and I thought all along it was in my gold card account, the only card I have from Macy's. Now every time I call to resolve this problem, no one can help me including supervisors. They say I signed for insurance, but can't get in touch with such people. What is going on? This is fraud and no one can do anything about it. I will cut the card in half when I'm done with this nonsense

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Apr 01, 2009

    I just noticed there is recurring charge about $16 every month. I called several times and they transferred me to [protected], an insurance company. I canceled my enrollment of their credit protection plan, which I never remember I enrolled. I asked them to send me a copy of the transcript of my enrollment, they let me write to their headquarter requesting it. The address is

    National Union Fire Insurance Company
    Department SD, P.O. Box 44260
    Jacksonville, FL 32231

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Apr 02, 2009

    Macys seems to be doing this a lot to many people. They charged late fee over late fee even after I was reassured that I only had to pay my current balance. I was out of town for a few months and when I came back I saw a hefty late fee waiting for me. When I called, they said it wasnt their fault and and denied a reversal of the late fees. The representative was very professional, however when I asked to speak to supervisor, the supervisor was very rude and hung up on me when I questioned the logic behind charging the late fee.

    0 Votes
  • Zu
      Apr 04, 2009

    Macy's does not care about their customers - all they want is to get money. Don't get a Macy's card! If you're getting it for the savings, beware! The money you get frauded may be much more than what you save with that card!
    My experience with Macy's credit card has been none other than horrible. I applied for the card in a store and didn't receive it for two whole months - it turned out that they had sent the card to a wrong address. The person to whom the card was mistakenly sent had used it to make a large purchase, and I was billed for it! When I called customer service they finally se…nt me a new card, but I was still made to pay for the purchase I didn't make! Their reason was "the purchase was made while no lost card report was filed" - but how can I report the loss of a card that I had never received? In the several times I called their customer service department, I got nothing else than delays and put-offs.
    I'm shocked by the lack of protection that allowed the fraud to happen in the first place, and the ineptitude (or even the unwillingness to take the trouble) of the credit card department to correct their errors.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 07, 2009

    I also got screwed by Macy's. I was signed up to get both an online statement as well as a statement in the mail. I only use the online one if I was out of town. I began receiving a call from a number I did not recognize so I never answered it and no one ever left a message. I answered it one day and it was a Macy's agent telling me that they realize times were tough, but that I had not payed my Macy's bill and they wanted to help me figure out what I could do to pay it off. They went on about how this hadn't been reported to the credit bureau. I was extremely confused because I'm the type of person that pays my bills as soon as they come in. I told her that there must have been some mix up and that I would see what happened, and If the bill was not paid that I would pay it. She said the she would make a note of it so that they would not keep calling me. I investigated the matter and found out that they had never sent me the bill in the mail. They had only sent me an online statement. I paid the bill, including the fees and a little extra. Everything was fine till about a month later. After I had paid my bill, Macy's reported to one of the credit bureaus that I had missed the payment. Consequently, they also reduced my line of credit and increased my minimum payment to an outrageous amount. I have extremely good credit for my age and have never missed a payment until Macy's messed me over. It all seems really fishy to me. It's their scam to get you to pay more money on your account. As soon as I pay off my account, I am going to cancel it and never shop at Macy's again!!!

    +2 Votes
  • An
      Apr 18, 2009

    Anyone having any problems with collection, call collectionstoppers.com!!! [protected]. Awesome staff who is a huge help!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Jo
      Apr 24, 2009

    I am SO ANGRY I can scream!!! Macy's is a CROOKED THIEFS!!! I am going to write on as many blogs as possible because I was LIED into getting a card, I even have names and phone numbers of witnesses because I was so outraged at the counter. I told the lady if I have an account sure charge it but IT WAS CRITICAL SHE NOT OPEN A NEW ONE because I have a real estate transaction going through in 2 weeks. Guess what????? After standing in line forever and then all of a sudden she says, "It's all okay go ahead and sign". I asked, so you mean you found my old account? "Oh, I did new." I specificall said NO NEW!! The lady beside me gave me her name and number because she could see how upset I was. This was here on Barrett Parkway in Kennesaw, Georgia. So I got SCREWED into a card!!! Then I paid it off, went on an extended vacation in Hawaii, I paid all bills ahead of time. Then TODAY I went to use the piece of ### credit card and it was declined!!! Somehow I was charged FIVE DOLLARS for something!!! For WHAT???? I had taken the time to verify a couple days after paying my bill and saw "balance ZERO". I am SO PISSED!!!

    0 Votes
  • De
      May 06, 2009

    Macy's is the most ... I dont even think there is a word for them that is how bad they are. I kept paying at the store for months they kept applying it to the store side of the card not the visa so here I am on vacation and I get declined for a purchase. I call and find out of the mistake the girl transferrs it to the visa side. Ok everything is fine YEAH RIGHT...four months later I get a huge bill stating the girl made a mistake and transferred to much money and now they add on late payment charges!!! I called and spoke to so many unprofessional people non of whom ever helped me!!! Now this last month I pay on May 4 and my check doesnt clear. I call Macys and they tell me Oh your in good standing. We have the payment it just takes us time. So tonight I call them and the girl says Oh the check was returned due to the fact our system cant find your account so we added the payment to this months along with a LATE FEE CHARGE!! Then I talk to a supervisor Mrs Wells and she says Oh we dont know why it was returned then 10 minutes later she said it was for insufficient funds...so I call my bank they never ever turned the check in!!! The freakin check is LOST so now they want me to pay a late fee..they can all go to hell. I have outstanding credit and I am so thankful my son came here and found all these complaints and now I have a phone number I will call in the morning and if that doesnt work I am calling the attorney general. This is worse then if I borrowed money from the MOB!!!

    +2 Votes
  • Jo
      Jul 14, 2009

    I have had my Macy's credit card for a couple of years. I have paid my account off once. I have always paid my bill on time. Recently I was making a purchase for back to school clothes and my card wad declined. I had the associate call credit and was told they wish to talk to me. I was informed that my credit limit was reduced drastically. I was told this was due to how I pay my bill which I pay on time and the minium amount required. Than they through in how my other cards are paid and they are paid on time and I have only two other cards. I was told they do not send letters letting you know of the change to your account. So I am in the same boat as some others I have read. I have a card I cannot use. I was very upset when I left the store and plan to never shop at Macy's again.

    +1 Votes
  • An
      Jul 23, 2009

    I had the same problem with Macy's. Like many before me I opened an account to recieve the 20% automatically whenever they had sales instead of having to worry about cutting the coupon out of the newspaper. Macy's automatically enrolled me in the protection program also. Not to mention they only gave me a $300 limit when I have been spending an average of $600 in there store for the past three years. I was ok with the limit though because I did not have any other credit cards. I had great credit until I got this card. It turns out that if you use more than 25% of your credit amount each month you lose points off your overall credit score. It doesn't matter whether or not you pay off the entire amount before you get the bill. Besides the fact that paying the bill is next to impossible when you do it online. It is odd how all my other bills seem to go through but I had to submit Macy's payment a few times before it would go through. When this happened the second time I called to cancel the card.

    This is when I found out that my credit had been affected because they lowered my credit line to $200 dollars. The person on the phone told me it was because of outside credit issues so out of fear my identity had been stolen I got a copy of my credit report and discoved the only problem on there was due to the stupid Macy's card.

    The worse thing about this whole process is the guy on the phone could barely speak english and then they felt as though if they offered me another coupon for 20% off I would keep the card! Of course I told them to cancel the card immediately. I will NEVER shop at Macy's again.

    +1 Votes
  • Ly
      Jul 30, 2009

    Its been an up hill battle for me as well. I have been trying to dispute a $50 charge on my account for over 5 months! I call and Macy's says they will send me a letter to verify I didnt make the charges but I havent received anything! I hate Macy's and refuse to buy anything there now because of this ordeal!!

    +1 Votes
  • Ms
      Aug 20, 2009

    BE SURE TO MONITOR YOUR STATEMENTS.

    I opened an account over three years ago, and paid late one time during the month of March 2009. My interest rate was increased to 26.99% because of it, without notice. After paying a late fee, why was this action warranted. Needless to say, my account has been paid in full and the card destroyed. What a rip-off they are.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      Aug 20, 2009

    I've had this happen to me too! I closed my account immediately. They seem to be having major problems with the hard economic times, but taking it out on their loyal customers is just outragious. :(

    +1 Votes
  • Se
      Aug 28, 2009

    I agreed to sign up for a Macy's card at the register in order to receive a discount on my purchase. I had a Marshall Fields card that was working at Macy's since the takeover, but the sales clerk convinced me it would not work anymore. I was not told that my Marshall Field's account would remain open. Two accounts!

    I paid the balance in full, but Macy's erred and applied the funds to the old Marshall Fields account. I didn't realize this until I received threatening phone calls from foreigners who claimed they were calling from Indiana. Hah! Eventually, Macy's reversed the charges and credited the correct account.

    I will not shop at Macy's or use their card again. I like Nordstroms much better. No gimmicks. Just good service.

    +2 Votes

Post your comment