SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Georgia Powersmart meter

Review updated:

We recently were "upgraded" to the new smart meter. The first bill we received was about thirty-five dollars above average. I thought this might be an anomaly. I decided to go easy on the air conditioning. Then Georgia experienced horrific flooding. My bill then jumped to $290 for one month!! My bill used to average $160 or so dollars.See the Top 10 Worst Complaints in Tucker, GA Let me explain, my bill was $160 with my thermostat set at 65 degrees and on 24 hours a day! Now my bill is $290 dollars with my thermostat set to 78 degrees. Seems very peculiar and down right crooked. Now I have completely turned my thermostat off. I do not even plan on using the heat in the winter, for fear of another "dumb meter" inflated bill. Power consumers beware, they are out to rob us!!!

Georgia Power

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • To
      Nov 04, 2009

    My kilowatt reading has more than doubled in the three months since the smart meter was installed. This month my bill is $206, compared to $78 a year ago. Realizing that this wasn't just a case of running the air conditioning too much, I finally called yesterday and was basically kissed off. I was told the reading can't wrong, that the new meters just run "faster" than the old ones. They are having someone check the billing and supposedly getting back to me, but after a night's sleep, and checking on what the average kilowatt usage is for a single family home, I think I will be contact the Public Service Commission.

    Wish I had done it sooner.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
      Jan 09, 2010

    We had a smart meter installed in dec and just got our first bill which is $476.00 and we keep our heat at 50 degrees and turn all lights off when we are not here, our bill has trippled with the new meter! We have a small three bedroom house and keep our heat minimum because we can't afford a huge bill, this is ridiculous, who do you recommend contacting to rectify this situation? I feel like Georgia power is trying to raise peoples bills just because the temperature dropped! I'm extremely frustrated!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
      Jan 27, 2010

    I LIVE IN A SMALL HOUSE ALONE ONE BEDROOM WITH A BATHROOM LIVING ROOM AND KITCHEN. MY BILL RAN $60 IN THE SUMMER AND $80 IN THE WINTER I WAS TOTAL ELECTRIC BUT AFTER MY BILL JUMPED TO $211 & $238 I CALLED GA POWERAND THEY SENT SOMEONE TO AUDIT MY HOUSE BUT COULD NOT EXPLAIN THE RAISED RATE SO THEY PUT A SECOND METER ON MY HOUSE AND MY BILL DROPPED TO $75 FOR THE 2 MONTHS IT WAS ON MY HOUSE BUT TO THIS DAY NO ONE HAS GIVEN ME A REASON WHY MY BILL WENT UP AND FLAT OUT TOLD ME ONCE I PAID MY BILL I COULD NOT GET ANY MONEY BACK. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF YOU CAN FIND A WAY TO DEAL WITH GA POWER I HAVE ALREADY CONTACTED THE FAIR TRADE COMMISSION THAT WAS WHEN I GOT A PHONE CALL TELLING ME THEY WERE NOT GOING TO DO ANYTHING ELSE.

    SCOTT GODIN

    +1 Votes
  • As
      Feb 10, 2010

    we had a smart meter installed around christmas and since then we have had this incessant beeping that is tremendously annoying, especially at night when we're trying to sleep. we contacted GA Power about it for over a month and initally they seemed to be helpful but now they say that it's our problem and we have to pay an electrician to come to our home and check it out. i'm in strong disagreement w/ this as we did not have this problem prior to the smart meter installation. when the dials are turning you hear the beeping, but when there's no movement there's no beeping. hard to believe it's anything else causing it...
    a sengel

    +1 Votes
  • Do
      Feb 11, 2010

    I have had the same experience. I know it's been pretty cold the last few months, but our electric bills have doubled to over $600 for the last two billing cycles. I have a smart meter, but don't know when it was installed. Has anyone gotten anywhere with GA Power customer service? I've seen reports on TV of people with abnormally high bills.

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Mar 10, 2010

    Here is the solution to the Smart Meters that are being installed throughout the United States not just here in Georgia. We are a new corporation to help reduce your energy bills at least 25% GUARANTEED. Power companies have found a way to charge more using these Smart Meters to accurately read your energy usage...the appliances you have in your homes can be 'energy hogs' if they are not Energy Star rated. So what does a family do if their appliances aren't Energy Star appliances? Buy new appliances??

    We have the solution...and it is GUARANTEED. If you do not save what we offer, you get 100% of your money back...no games. Please visit my site to learn more and please let me know if you have any questions...I would like to be able to help everyone experiencing these hikes and find ways to help them save:

    http://djocson.ameriwattesp.com/

    Dennis Jocson
    Ameriwatt Corporation

    0 Votes
  • Do
      Mar 16, 2010

    I got a response back from GA Power on why my bills have been so high for the past three months, and it may be the fix for a lot of people with the same problem. The GAP representative said that the rate on my account was set to Residential - General(GR) instead of just Residential. She said my rate was switched when my SmartMeter was installed in November. She also said the keys for Residential and Residential-General in the system are really close together and easy to mess up. She took a look at our February bill and said with the Residential-General rates, our bill was at least $200 too high. They agreed to go back through our bills since the new meter had been installed and give us a credit. I hope this helps anyone else out.

    +1 Votes
  • To
      Mar 25, 2010

    Smart meters are not just an updated replacement for your old meter. They utilize an entirely different method of measuring your household's consumption of electricity. We taxpayers are paying for this through the federal money that is being given to the electric utilities to install and use the smart meters. The government and utility companies are doing little if anything at all to educate the public about this new technology.

    In a couple of weeks or so, we will have a 14 to 16 page, informative booklet that will help you get smart about smart meters. Contact us if you would like to receive a free copy.

    Tom Doiron
    Tom.[protected]@gmail.com

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
      Mar 29, 2010

    I DO NOT KNOW WHAT TYPE METER GA. POWER INSTALLED AT MY HOME BUT MY BILL AVERAGES 400 TO $430.00 A MONTH FOR A THREE BED MOBILE HOME THEY (GA. POWER) KEEPS TELLING ME THAT IT MUST BE AN APPLIANCE OR TOO MUCH LAUNDRY OR THE HEAT BECAUSE OF THE WEATHER AND THAT MY BILL HAS BEEN THE SAME YEAR AFTER YEAR WHICH BY THE WAY SHOWS THAT IN THE HISTORY ON MY BILL BUT I PAY MY OWN BILL AND I KNOW I HAVE NOT BEEN PAYING MORE THAN $150.00 TO $180.00 A MONTH I HAVE INSTALLED A GAS LOG IN MY FIREPLACE AND MY BILL DO NOT REFLECT ANY CHANGE!

    +1 Votes
  • To
      Mar 29, 2010

    Carey,
    With the hot weather coming, your bill is only going to get bigger. We can help you save money on your electric bill. Please contact us at the email below.
    Tom.[protected]@gmail.com

    +1 Votes
  • Cz
      Sep 03, 2010

    I received my 1st bill in June after the installation of the smart meter in May and it was $320. My 2nd bill was $323. I called Ga Power and was told they would send some one out to do an audit which of course they found that everything was working OK. I explained that it can't be right. Ever since the new meter was installed my bill more than doubled. Now, I understand that the summer months the bills are normally higher. But this is more than $100 more than my normal summer rates. Well, I thought that once the kids started back school and was no longer home during the day, my usage should decrease. 2 out of the 4 weeks in this billing cycle, they were in school. But my bill is even higher - $332. I called Ga Power again. Now they are suggesting they do an energy audit on my home. I explained that nothing has changed in my home except for the smart meter. I am left feeling that it must be my problem. They say they want to satisfy me but not really because they are insisting there is nothing wrong on their end. I think it's very coincidental that my bill more that double after the new meter was installed.

    +2 Votes
  • Ed
      Sep 04, 2010

    I have the same problem with the smart meter. Ever since it's installation I have seen a dramatic increase in my summer bill. I have serviced my AC, changed my PROGRAMMABLE thermostat, set the temp to operate between 80 - 84 deg and still bill remains at $400. Compared to the summer before with my settings at for 77-79 deg my was $283

    +2 Votes
  • Po
      Sep 08, 2010

    All: I have a smart meter at my house and saw an increase like many did. I even paid to have my meter independantly tested only to find the meter was not the issue. In fact, talking with the company that tested my meter, the meter is rarely the problem. 99% of the time the meter meter is accurate.

    While the technician was at my house, he helped me find the issue buy using a simple amp meter. We turned off all breakers and watched usage go to 0. We turned on one breaker at a time. When we turned on the HVAC unit my use tripled. It turned out my heat strips were running the same time the AC was on. this caused the unit to run triple as hard to cool my house. The technician mentioned that he has gone on over 50 meter audits and found issues in the house 49 times.

    Doing more research, I have found if your usage is the same from the same perioud last year taking into account any new LCD (major energy hogs) Tv or hot tube additions, you have a billing issue. Billing issues happen. If your usage sky rockets, you have something wrong in the house. it is all abou the KWH.

    I am emphatic to your concerns, I am concerned also, but I took it upon myself to learn what was going on. My bills are higher due to the weather now and not a malfunctioning HVAC unit. Learn about heating and cooling days and why they matter. You will be surprised what a little awareness does. My family now calls me the KWH Nazis at home.

    +2 Votes
  • Sa
      Sep 20, 2010

    I'm having the same problems with this so called smart meter. I'm so upset and worried that i cannot even see straight when i think about it. I have complained so many times I've lost count to the Ga Power Company. Right now i have made a complaint to the Georgia Public Service Commission. You can go on their web site and file a complaint. Funny thing upon making this complaint I have been contacted by GA Power [they never called me before concerning this]. Myself and my husband were on the phone with this individual for over a hour, she went through every reason why its our home and not there meter, of course we disagreed. Which is why we were on the phone so long with this women. It felt like she was trying everything she could to get us to agree with her.[Of course we did not] The conversation ended with a crew would be out to check the area due to high complaints in that area .[ Of course we were dumbfounded it does not take a hour to make that statement]
    However upon talking to Ga Power, I go on the Georgia Public Service Commission
    website. I felt the need to check the status of my complaint, to only find that this individual whom i had spoke to flat out lied to the Georgia Public Service Commission concerning our conversation.All her lies or in my complaint documented in black in white. Once again i can not see straight when i think about it. She told the Georgia Public Service Commission
    are compressor on are AC was not working . Which is not what was said at all! She was told numerous times that are compressor was replaced in the spring, At the start of May to be exact. My bills did not start going up until June.
    So what do i do now, i made another complaint against Ga Power and this individual.I'm running out of option here, If I move it does not matter where ever i go in the state of Ga .I'm going to be looking at a high bill from Ga power. Funny thing it does not matter if you live in a small home, apartment, or mobile homes everyone is complaining. Maybe enough compalints to the Georgia Public Service Commission will raise some questions.I do know once a complaint is put in Ga Power has to do something concerning it.
    However what the results will be remain unknown at this time.We all know Ga Power has deep pockets.Please note if anyone does decide to make a complaint copy the compliant in a note pad .There are a few glitchs in the system when you click next, I've had it erase 3 times on me trying to click next.You have a box at the top and one at the bottem if one does not work chose the other one and stick with it.However before you click anything after you have wrote out your complaint. Save it in notepad just in case it erases .That way you do not have to go through rewriting your complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
      Oct 07, 2010

    As for today I have had it out with GA power again. For the past 10 years wtih them, they always think that they are right. I made a complaint to the CEO and then I went to the Georgia Public Service Commission. To me they don;t help. THe GA public service commission thinks they will help consumers but I truly really doubt it. I agreed verbally to the smart meter thinking it will save me money. None what so ever. I complained about $81.00 bill since I kept my thermosat at 85 degrees. They go and tell me I need to switch my usage. What you want me to set it up at 90 degrees. The person I had it out with is in the CEO office female who claims to be with them 28 years(so what) and stating there is nothing wrong with your meter. I asked how do you know since it is behind a desk. I want someone physcially to come and refuse. I told her that the reps at the center are very rude and I have recordings. They stated I need to call her right away and so they can listen. I said what is the point when I have a recording. They said the previous recording say I was rude when in fact they were. WHERE IS THE SAYING CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS RIGHT. NOT WITH GA POWER. I told them with a verbal agreement is not valid and consumer should have the option to discontinue it. They stated a recording is valid. I said really. I don;t think so. I already told them it might take some time but GA power is going to make a mistake and it and when it does it will fall on them. I asked them also how come the $7.50 customer service charge is not detailed showing the customer service charge. Right now they are hiding it from consumers. I stated I am sure that most consumers don;t know this. They ask well if you want a detail bill every month will be glad to. The rep stated that it is not a hidden charge and most consumers know that. I said I don;t think so. I mean the gas bill is detailed wtih the customer service charge. Now I hear that GA power wants to raise more rates.
    Again I feel that GA power thinks that they are in the right. They protect their employees in the customer service center and think the consumer is the wrong one and the consumer gets treated wtih disrespect.
    Maybe a website needs to be set up and see how many complaints are against GA power and bill disputes. I am sure it is going to be overwhelming. When the smart meter took place they replaced my meter and stated that was never stated to me. She could not answer that to me but it was done. I really don;t see a huge savings with this. To me I think this is the lazy man way of checking meters from a computer and think that there is nothing wrong with the meters etc. WRONG. I THINK THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH GA POWER.

    0 Votes
  • To
      Oct 28, 2010

    We are about to go to a Smart meter int he next few months. I hope I don't have these problems. I'll try to report back.

    +1 Votes
  • Ha
      Dec 02, 2010

    GA power and the Public Service commission who allowed this to go in should be held accountable. It's a travesty to allow the power company to steal from the same taxpayers who have funded most of this. GA Power is just another Enron trying to steal all they can as quick as they can.

    0 Votes
  • To
      Jan 07, 2011

    I live in a 3 bedroom Apartment unit and every one Power Bills is $529.00 How could everyone have the same amount ? I unplugge my washer and dryer when I dont use it, my light bulb 65 wattin in my apartment I dont have a fire placee My apartment is toiled electriciry I dont cook I buy food already cooked . Last Novemeber my bill was $ 120.00 This month which was December is $529.00 I called Ga Power they said this Smart meter send signal to them I told t her it sending the wrong signal it might have a bug in it when you install. something it might not work properly and you the company thinks the Smart meter is right when its sending out the wrong singal it could have been set wrong and i want credit for this

    0 Votes
  • Jm
      Jan 14, 2011

    Every month since the smart meter was installed my GP bill has gone up. This months bill has tripled. I called GP and they said I have had more usage. No I have not. I really don`t know what to do. They have us right where they want us.

    -1 Votes
  • Wh
      Jan 14, 2011

    If you bill has tripled, ask them to install a test meter. If they refused, make sure you go to every supervisor and make sure you have
    their names. I would then send a CERTIFIED LETTER to the corporate office and give them 20 days to respond. If not then send it to
    Public Service Commission but they PROTECT GA power. If the last resort I would look into to see if a news media will take your
    story. They keep saying they are lowest in the nation, I still waiting for them to provide any kind of proof showing that they are the lowest in teh nation. That statement to me is false and deceiving the consumer. Raising our bill by 14.00 this year is not considered
    rates of being the lowest in the nation. I would keep fightning on this but also be careful with the reps there, they will get nasty and
    be rude. They also claim that they are #1 in customer service. Don;t think so.

    0 Votes
  • To
      Feb 12, 2011

    Hello. All i agree with everyone here who feel there are being robe to the bone... I am are there serious about this it needs to be stop because I promise they will lose their integrity and most all customers and dull like they really care. Any ways my husband and I have been in our home for almost 5 years now and I promise our bill has been constant at a rate of $95-268 due to the winter and snow for the following years. And what do you know GA Power gets smart and hate the consumers are paying less, but we were only paying what we used. However, they want to skin us and monitor our every usage and robe us cold blind, with knowing we are in a RECESSION .So, here it is DEC 2010 IN DECEMBER, THEY DECIDE TO PUT A SMART METER IN PLACE WHICH SHOULD BE CALLED A ROBE METER. So, we get our first bill its out CONTROL JAN $432 and this month Feb 2011 $455 that is almost $250 -$275 difference if that’s not robe what’s the name for it. And yes they tell me the same thing you are using too much and it’s set to high our tempo is set at 75 for the pass 4years, and they also said its the wheat her and snow and it’s the coldest it’s ever been since 20years that chicken head is lying. So, she tell me to set it to 68 that’s there recommend, I say o yeah and what’s your set to, your lying and know that’s you all way of getting a raise or a lil bonus, because they know got dog on well that’s not right and the bills are out of control at Georgia Power. But hey I tell you what they can pay that bull there self LOL because we are MOVEING YEAH THAT’S RIGHT MOVING AND I PROMISE THAT SMART METER BETTER BE SMART ENOUGHT TO PAY THAT... I HOPE OTHERS TRY TO FIND A SOLUTIONS BECAUSE IT SEEMS TO BE HARD TO GET PEOPLE ON OUR SIDE AS CONSUMERS, , , PS, I HAVE A DOC ATTACHED PLEASE CHECK IT OUT MY BILL YOU WILL BE SURPRISE.

    0 Votes
  • To
      Feb 12, 2011

    Bill & Payment History Show Graph


    Total Due $455.00 Please Pay By 02/22/2011


    Date Description Usage(kWh) Days
    on Bill Amount

    02/08/2011
    Bill 4382 31 $456.00
    02/07/2011 Payment $201.00
    01/18/2011 Payment $213.30
    01/08/2011
    Bill 4317 32 $413.74
    12/21/2010 Payment $214.00
    12/07/2010
    Bill 2474 32 $236.73
    11/16/2010 Payment $130.00
    11/05/2010 Bill 1039 29 $107.72
    10/19/2010 Payment $92.00
    10/07/2010 Bill 889 29 $94.14
    09/21/2010 Payment $145.00
    09/08/2010 Bill 1133 30 $142.42
    08/24/2010 Payment $184.00
    08/09/2010 Bill 1429 32 $184.00
    07/16/2010 Payment $208.00
    07/08/2010 Bill 1614 28 $210.00
    06/21/2010 Payment $120.00
    06/10/2010 Bill 962 30 $118.48
    05/19/2010 Payment $84.00
    05/11/2010 Bill 773 34 $83.61
    04/20/2010 Payment $105.00
    04/07/2010 Bill 1005 30 $104.66
    03/12/2010 Payment $198.00
    03/08/2010 Bill 2139 28 $198.02
    02/11/2010 Payment $166.00
    02/08/2010 Bill 1774 28 $166.67
    01/21/2010 Payment $267.00
    01/11/2010 Bill 2960 34 $268.56
    12/15/2009 Payment $120.00
    Click Download to get your entire history of usage and bill amounts


    my bill everyone check it out///////////////////????????????????

    0 Votes
  • We
      May 06, 2011

    My electric bill has tripled since the Smart Meter went in, even during the months I am not using AC or heat. I have a small household, and rarely run the dishwasher and only full loads of clothes, and have only a gas hot water heater. I keep the lights turned off, and don't watch TV very often. Georgia Power just blew me off and refused to test my meter. They were more than rude on the phone to top it off. Would anyone be interested in filing a class action lawsuit against them? It's the only way I think we will receive any kind of satisfaction.

    +2 Votes
  • Me
      Jun 06, 2011

    I have a vacant, one-story investment property that measures about 1, 200 square feet. I kept it heated at a voracious 45 degrees this past winter. On average, we incurred about $140/month in heating expenses from this Smart meter. How is that possible, then, when I occupy a house slightly larger, that is heated above 75 degrees throughout the entire winter? According to the whore at Georgia Power, it may be due to "insufficient insulation." When I told her that insulation is one of the products that I, a salesman, sell, she drew a blank and cited a possible problem with the HVAC unit. I then told her it was serviced 6 months ago. She had nothing else to say except that she could split the payments to make it easier for me to pay. This is over four months of back payments, which resulted in a bill of $637.

    0 Votes
  • Ih
      Jun 28, 2011

    OMG! I just got my bill and it was $247. Mind you I am new to Atlanta and my bill has been no more than $120 for the past 3 months. We live in a two bedroom apt. myself and fiance both work and are hardly home. I called their customer service dept. only to hear that their rates double in the summer months. I repeated this to my fiance and the rep said "Isn't that what I just said?" I was shocked and appalled, My fiance grabbed the phone and asked was there a problem; she stated she was "disturbed". He then asked to speak with someone who wasn't and she sent us back to the automated prompt. I can't wait to buy a house so I can get solar panels and put holes in Georgia Power's pocket.

    0 Votes
  • Rc
      Jul 10, 2011

    Our Ga Power bill went up to $329 in June, after the instalation of the so-called "smart meter". So, we began cutting down on our power ussage and raised the temperature in the house. Even though the daytime temperatures have been a little cooler and we have gotten rainfall during the last few weeks, our bill jumped to $431 this month. We need to demand from our representatives in Atlanta and the PSC to get off their irresponsible behinds and do something, for a change, to help the people of Georgia. With the economy situation as it is, with our federal government leading the way as the cause, Georgia Power, our elected officials, and the PSC are pawns in the plan to destroy the spirit of free Americans. We must band together. Remember this when election time comes to "replace" the PSC.

    0 Votes
  • Di
      Jul 20, 2011

    I'm interested in filing a lawsuit. Please name the time, date and place and I'll be there. My lightbill is 445.87 and the stupid robots I've been speaking to at Georgia Power tries to blame it on me. I just moved to my home, I'm never at home, I work 10-12 hour days, my hotwater and stove runs off of gas and my gas bill is only 46.00 water bill for 2 months is 46.00... So just name it and I'll sign it.

    0 Votes
  • En
      Sep 01, 2011

    I have a smart meter too and my bill for June was $400! I am not working since June so now, every morning, I check my "smart" meter and log the number of kwh used in a 24 hour period. I have been doing this since July1, 2011 so I have a log of daily usage for 2 full months. I cut usage down to a crawl. Only 3 rooms are used in my 2300 sq. ft house. The bathroom only has the night light in use, no light bulbs. We shower in the low watt night light at night and my husband shaves only during the day (he sometimes sneaks the lamp over the sink on--I let him). I keep the a/c on at 83 degrees but sometimes, with the Georgia heat, we have brought it down to 78 degrees for a couple of hours. My bill has come down--down by $60 then another $80 this last bill (meter just read 8/30/11). But there are still 2 BIG PROBLEMS: 1. Some days, the kw usage just skyrocketed. No reason for it. We shut down all circuit breakers and got great, I mean great results for the following 24 hour period. Why? 2. Georgia Power read our meter on August 2nd and then again on August 30th! This is a setup to bill me before the rates go down October 1st. Every bill I have had since May has been from meter readings the 1st or the 2nd of the month. The higher summer rates went into effect June1st, my May usage was read June 1st. Now I am sure they are looking to bill me for September usage on or before September 30th. I don't know about you, but I HAVE HAD ENOUGH! I have reported this to the Public Service Commission and I have contacted a lawyer. I suggest WE ALL DO THE SAME!

    0 Votes
  • Mc
      Sep 21, 2011

    I am so sick of Georgia Power getting away with price hikes especailly with the economy the way it is now. If feel like it is the equilivant to rape!! Not only did the do an ov er the top rate hike this summer, but extened these prices for another month for what they say is extreme heat. This month has been in the 80's and I don't see any reason for the extension. Wonder if they will go back and recalcuate due to low temps. My bill last year at this time was $12.06 per kwh - this month $29. How can they do this and why is no one stopping them. How the hell does one get a $300 avg bill last year during the summer, and then end up with an $800 avg bill this year. Called them to have the meter checked, they said they sent someone and it was fine. I am on the brink of financial disaster due to GA Power and their lame excuses for rate increases. I have checked with other electric companies in the states of Georgai and Alabama just to compare, and the highest rate charged by any was $16.42 per kwh. and these compaines are much smaller than GA Power. I wish I could covert to solar power with panels in the shape of my middle finger placed on my roof - wishful thinking on my part. So damn sick, and wonder what political pockets they have their hands in as this is allowed to continue. I really feel for those families and senior citizens on fixed incomes. I am they typical person financially, not well off, but not broke either - however GA Power is pushing me to the brink of financial disater!! You guys SUCK!!!

    0 Votes
  • Fu
      Oct 17, 2011

    Ga Power got me for 629.00 from a 150.00 bill. I went from using 130kwh to 630? Whatever. I contacted them and they used a new excuse different from everyone else, they said our meter reader was under reading the old meters. Why is that my problem? I know have a huge bill. I complained several times and guess what the second bill since the smart meter my bill was 160.00. I contacted GA Public Commission and asked for a full investigation. Also reading several blogs a blogger mentioned finding out what your categorized as, Residential-GR or Residential. Residential is what you need to be not the GR. That could save you money. Lets keep complaining and if need enter into a large law suit GA Residents VS GA Power sounds like what we will have to do. I pray for deregulation!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Apr 05, 2014

    Surely there must be a class-action lawsuit (vs) Ga. Power and their "Smart-meters"?
    I opted out as feel real reason is "control" of our HVAC by Ga. Power, @ my expense.


    Yesterday I got a "threatening letter" from the "Smart Meter TEAM" (no individual name, just an
    800 # to call. Letter says I WILL agree to S/Meter or pay $19/mo.($228/yr) to keep existing one.
    Gave me 27 days to comply before they slap me with this FEE. If I refuse? They will cut off my
    power! Looks like they have learned from Obama Gov't how to threaten to get what they want.


    Ironically, earlier in week I got my bill with brochure wanting me to give THEM authority to put
    an "off switch" on my HVAC so they can "control " my air conditioner whenever they want, and,
    they want me to pay them $5 /mo.to do it! Nope, not kidding...is called "going Green" program.


    I am more convinced than ever this is just a ploy to get "control" over our lifestyles, just like the
    Federal gov't is doing in our daily lives. We need a class-action lawsuit to slow them down.
    Any idea if there is one now? I'll be happy to sigh up, that is for sure!
    mike huitton...[protected]@bellsouth.net

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Jul 08, 2014

    I was gone most of the month of June and came home to a georgia power bill twice was it was in May!!! And I was informed by gp that they charge higher rates in the summer. WHAT!!! When it is hard to live without air they are charging HIGHER rates!!! That is thievery!!! And what a line of bull you get when you complain - "let's see - it ran higher this day and that" well I was not home!!! No one was!!! And very rude employees. You do know the employees- higher ranking of course - take very expensive trips on georgia power's tab. Well, technically speaking on OUR tab. What a rip off!!! I am going to look into alternative power. This is just ridiculous.Just big corporations taking advantage and thinking the public is stupid.

    0 Votes
  • Br
      Sep 27, 2015

    I agree that Georgia power is stealing! Been in my house 5 years and immediately after the "smart" meter went in m bill skyrocketed to 400.00/mo. Keep in mind this is a tiny house whose electric bill had been 60-70 a month for YEARS? Also runs on a heat pump. Using budget billing the rate was not adjusted until summer so I thought it was summer rates. Who's power bill is 400.00 in the winter and 150.00 in the summer. Got the same crap - lack of insulation from them. If insulation was the issue wouldn't that be the case summer and winter?

    This year I am investing in some indoor propane heaters. GA power can kiss my butt! At least with the heaters I know what I am spending and why. I doubt I could spend three to four hundred dollars a month including the price if two heaters.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Mar 11, 2016

    I have the same problem WITH THE SMART METER MY BILL IS TRIPLE SINSE THEY PUT IT IN SEPTEMBER 2015, I AM DISABLED I DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO I PAY THEM 411.00 AND I HAVENT GOT ANOUGH TO BUY FOOD OR PAY MY RENT GAS CAR INS ETC AND NO MONEY TO FIGHTER THEM, WE ALL NEED TO FILE A CLASS ACTION AGAINST THEM FOR OVER CHARGEING US WHAT YALL THINK, BECAUSE ITS GOING TO GET WORSE, I USED TO PAY 164.00 AMONTH AND NOW 411.00 A MONTH

    0 Votes

Post your comment