Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Banks JPMorgan Chase Denied fraud claim
More

JPMorgan Chase - Denied fraud claim

B
Author of the complaint
2:14 pm
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

My debit card was stolen and over $850 was withdrawn from my account in several unauthorized transactions. I reported the fraudulent activity the next day after receiving a call from the "fraud prevention" department. I filed a claim a few days later after the charges cleared - the first person I spoke with at the claims department implied it would be a relatively simple process to have my claim processed and the money stolen from my account credited back. All I would need to do is sign an affidavit and return back to Chase stating I did not authorize the transactions.

I waited a few days and called back the "claims" department after receiving nothing. I was told by this representative that my claim would be handled in 24-48 hours, with the implication that I would receive back my stolen funds. After not hearing anything 5 days later, I called claims once again, only to be told my claim had been denied. I asked why and was told that since the disputed transactions occurred very soon after my last authorized transaction, and the correct PIN was used each time, that my claim had been denied because Chase believed the transactions MUST have been authorized. I was told I would need to provide proof that it was not me making the transactions. I asked if Chase could review the ATM videos, and the representative told me I should go to the corresponding banks to the ATMs where the theft occurred and ask to see the videos, and then have the banker there contact Chase Claims Dept and explain that it was not me who took the money out. After a little investigation of the addresses of the ATMs, I found out one was actually at a CHASE ATM.

Before I could call in again, I received two separate letters in the mail explaining that my claims had been denied (the claims were divided into two sections for some reason). A direct excerpt from the letter reads "You are welcome to view the research documents used in resolving your claim." I found out that is not the case at all. Upon calling in to the claims department, I first talked to a representative who could not answer my questions directly, such as "since the transaction occurred at a CHASE ATM, can't you just look at the video and see who it is making the transaction?" Since it was definitely not me making the transaction, it seems pretty straight-forward to me that it was not an authorized transaction, right? WRONG!

I was connected to the first representative's "supervisor", named Gary, who was to answer (or rather, avoid answering) my questions. I asked him why my claim was denied. He said it was because it met Chase's criteria for denial, which he repeatedly refused to divulge. Come to find out, they never even looked at the video. They simply took a quick look and denied it since the thief had my pin #. I asked whether it would make a difference if I filed a police report and had the police dept. directly request the video - and when it clearly was NOT ME making the withdrawal - if my claim would be approved. The answer is NO. It wouldn't even matter if someone else is in the video making the transaction, because, as Gary put it, I could have "compromised" my pin # to this person, and basically, they could have been withdrawing money on my behalf. So basically what it comes down to is Chase does not believe you that fraudulent activity occurred. It was your fault, so too bad.

I asked Gary if he had ever heard of the Electronic Funds Transfer Act - he said this didn't apply since it was not an electronic funds transfer. I said it does apply, and that since I notified Chase within two days of the fraudulent activity, that I should only be liable for $50 of the charges. He said it doesn't apply. I asked him what it DOES apply to then, but sadly, Gary did not know. It was "outside his area of expertise". Ok, well then whose area of expertise is it then, Gary? Not the people handling the claims, obviously. I was told there was nothing I could do to have my claim approved. I concluded the call by kindly notifying Gary that Chase had just lost all of my business forever, which they have.

What a joke of a company - blatantly crooked. Time to shift everything over to my trusty local bank where I know I'm a valued customer.

ADVERTISIMENT
Update by BJ79
Jan 20, 2010 1:29 pm

I should clarify that I called the police and had the conversation I'm referencing right after I found out this happened a couple weeks back and have not tried calling back.

Update by BJ79
Jan 20, 2010 1:28 pm

I called the police dept and was told they do not fill out police reports for things like this and that I'd have to take it up to my bank. The officer I spoke with made it clear though that the bank MUST look at the video to use as evidence in the claim, which they did not do. Perhaps if I call the police once again and explain that the bank improperly handled my claim I could get them to force the bank to review the video. Thanks for the input.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Helpful? 1 0
Share
Reply

More JPMorgan Chase complaints & reviews

JPMorgan Chase - Closed my account without notice
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
JPMorgan Chase - mortgage fraud/scam
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
JPMorgan Chase - chase now causing and encouraging foreclosure!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
JPMorgan Chase - closing all washington mutual customers credit cards
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
JPMorgan Chase - chase raising rates!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
JPMorgan Chase - stalling on refinancing my mortgage
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
JPMorgan Chase - deposit accounts
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
44 comments
Add a comment
M
Feb 27, 2022 2:14 pm

2/6 I was contacted by Chase fraud department stating a Google Pay account was being used in NY & NJ to $1400. I denied the purchases since I was sitting in my living in Nevada. Plus I do not have a Google Pay Acct. Chase did not cancel the Google pay exposing my funds to more fraud. These funds were given back within 2?days then almost a month later denied. I was not contacted by Chase but noticed my balance was down and I had not spent any $$. Chase a Philippine rep said since I lived close to NY/NJ in Nevada that I could have made the purchase. My cell phone was used to purchase but my cell phone was with me and I have never lost it. Google Pay is an app used by android phones. I have an IPhone. Plus the chase rep said several attempts were made to purchase but denied do to low balance, which is a clear sign of a run away card to fraud. I have spent 20 hours on the phone speaking to people in the Philippines (Chase) and two local branch visits. Chase said they only allow one appeal. I don’t have my denial letter yet and was told when I called that was my appeal. This problem is not over I’m contacting the Fed Consumer Protection Bureau, my government representative, local TV stations and calling Chase everyday in NY to voice my compliant. I have been with Chase for 20 years. I will be pulling my funds out. From viewing the Chase complaints on this site I am not alone being treated like a criminal instead of a customer. I think we should all join together and lodge a “Class Action Suit” against Chase. Let me know if you are interested.

Helpful?
3 0
T
Mar 17, 2017 2:14 pm

I had almost $4000 stolen from me yesterday. I reported it to Chase today who is telling me my claim is denied because it was a chiped card used with a pin. my card has not left my possession and the transaction was made 3000 miles away from me. They said they have no proof that I did not do this. I am sick to my stomach I don't know what else to do. This can't possibly be legal. They have a zero fraud like ability policy. I guess these chips were created to shift the liability from the bank to the customer

Helpful?
0 0
S
Sep 01, 2017 2:14 pm

Chase is a joke. I'm going through same thing now. I'm thinking I need a lawyer

Helpful?
0 0
A
Mar 28, 2017 2:14 pm

are they asking you to pay this back? i'm in the same position and i don't know what to do.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Jan 23, 2017 2:14 pm

The very same thing happened to me. Chase refuses to refund the money. I have no choice but to take my business account to one of their competitors.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Feb 11, 2016 2:14 pm

I have been a Chase customer for years, recently there was a $500.00 unauthorized withdrawl from my account and another charge at Vons directly afterward. When I noticed these charges the next day, I reported them. Now because there was a $5.00 charge from the board of education, mind you that comes out automatically every single month, they are saying I had my card and that the unauthorized transactions were actually authorized...So basically they are calling me a thief! Unbelievable! They said I would need hard evidence as to my location while these transactions were being made...Hard evidence? WTF! Maybe they could ask my 3 year old where I was at 11pm on a Saturday night? Ya, I am done with Chase...

Helpful?
1 0
F
Feb 10, 2016 2:14 pm

Here's my problem,
I lost my atm card. I've been sick and home in bed for a week. Not realizing I lost my card. I called to make a payment to my Dr's office. They said my account was invalid. I called Chase, the said the bank closed my account. No reason no nothing. They couldn't answer any questions. I looked on my mobile app. Apparently 6k worth of checks has been deposited and withdrawn from my account. In Chicago! My signature is clearly not the same. I have zero idea what is going on. No info, nothing. I was just told whatever I have will be sent to me by mail.
I've had that account for years. So now I'm accountless in California!

Helpful?
0 0
F
Dec 01, 2015 2:14 pm

Same exact thing:

Chase doesn't care to believe your story, obviously things happen and they of all people should know this yet they fail time and time again (apparently) to protect you. It is a shame to see so many people rely on what is supposed to be a first class institution and get screwed. I personally had my debit card stolen and 5k withdrawn with a series of atm and walmart charges that scream fraud - I even received an email at the time alerting me of "fraudulent activity" yet at in the end they didn't have "enough evidence to overturn the claim denial" - about the only thing I heard from the "supervisor" that I shared my story with, these people recite the same line over and over again. Biggest load of bs I've ever seen.

good bye chase

Helpful?
0 0
V
Nov 21, 2015 2:14 pm

If some one sold ur credi card and used it in store with out pin just they taped the card can police still finde the victim. Please help. ..?

Helpful?
0 0
C
Oct 19, 2015 2:14 pm

Chase is a Joke. I want tp take legal action against them for telling me the terminate service with me for being a victim of fraud. Which happend in Las Vegas and they did not look ito the cameras or anything they strictly base their "investigation" off of thwir personal judgment and opinions.

Helpful?
0 0
S
Oct 12, 2015 2:14 pm

We currently are in a very similar situation and after Chase reactivating our cancelled/stolen debit card multiple times after we asked for it to be deactivated so the criminals could continue to make transactions, we are left now believing this is an inside job at Chase. Have you tried to cancel a stolen card before and reactivate it? Everyone I speak to says that you CAN'T reactivate it even if you find the card. Chase did this multiple times with a fraudulent caller and they have drained our accounts in excess of $19, 000. We have been Chase patrons for many years and have trusted them with all of our money, mortgage, and credit cards. They still have not returned the funds or even so much as responded to our complaints. If the funds are not returned we will be forced into delinquency on all of our credit cards and our mortgage. This was all of our savings. Had they truly cancelled the card after our first conversation reporting the card as stolen, none of this would have happened. There is no other explanation other than there being someone at Chase that has an interest in this crime.

Helpful?
0 0
V
Oct 02, 2015 2:14 pm

PSA ** CHASE BANK CUSTOMERS ** !

Apparently alerting this bank with a police report that cards / ID was stolen is not sufficient - CHASE allowed this person to withdraw ALL my funds 4 days after being notified - claim processed (same day of withdrawal only thanks to wells fargo for alerting me) - today claim was DENIED .

I applaud WELLS FARGO - not only was acct frozen immediately to protect me, on the same day after going to CHASE (last Friday) this person also impersonated me at WF, WELLS FARGO realized and took ID / card & she left without my funds.

2 banks were provided same information, same day... One acted proactively while the other !?

Chase is a complete joke and their reasoning behind the denial (not to mention my disappointment with them throughout [before knowing of denial] is utterly disgraceful. For those who have accts with them - beware ! You have been warned !

Helpful?
0 0
J
Jun 21, 2015 2:14 pm

Someone went to the bank last month and withdrew $4700 from an account that i have never withdrawn money from before. The banker called me and let me know after they gave this fraudster the money that he thinks someone came in with a fake id and claimed he was me. They tell me to file a claim because they think it's fraud. Fast forward after spending 4 hours at a branch answering stupid questions from a rep somewhere offshore, i get a stupid letter saying "we are denying your claim" WHAT? You tell me its fraud and that I should fill out a claim and then you deny it?!

The think worse than the person who robs the bank is the bank who takes no responsibility for your money being stolen. I can get better protection leaving my money in cardboard box in front of my house with tape over the top. What absolute crooks. I wonder what jail the bank "executive" who came up with this policy graduated from.

Chase is absolutely the worst bank ever. Tax payers should never have bailed out this stupid bank

Helpful?
0 0
C
May 09, 2015 2:14 pm

I honestly don't think Chase "investigate" these claims as they say. I had my account closed by them because I was told I had too many claims and an investigation is occurring. I think Chase know they are at fault but they love making the customers feel as if we have done something wrong. Chase needs to be stopped because it is not safe having an account with them

Helpful?
0 0
S
Apr 04, 2015 2:14 pm

Chase is protected and bailed out by the government who isn't any better - I'm in same situation as all the people - ### and lip service. Sad sad that chase continues to treat customers and situations with no regard or ACCOUNTABILITY

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jan 15, 2015 2:14 pm

This happened to me too. They actually replaced the point of sale purchases done BETWEEN the ATM withdrawls but not the withdrawls themselves. Someone should do something about this. We should be refunded our money and then some!

Helpful?
0 0
C
Dec 16, 2014 2:14 pm

Has anyone had any success in getting Chase to reimburse the stolen money? If so, how? I am dealing with this and Chase is telling me to file a police report and to have the police subpoena the video file to see who stole the money.

Helpful?
0 0

Chase SUCKS! I was the victim of the same thing and not only once but twice. The first time was the weekend before Christmas and I figured it out by going to buy my four year old sons gifts and turned away by the store because my card wasn't going through. Strange cause I had just deposited $2000.00 and I had an existing balance nowhere near zero. So I called Chase and reported the fraud and they told me it could take up to 10 business days to review all the information and replace the money if they found it was fraud. Mind you I am a single mother trying to do the first of my shopping on the only day I didn't have my son before Christmas. I lost it on the guy on the phone and I didn't even have some poor kid on the phone I had already asked for the supervisor on the floor as soon as I called since I was dealing with limited time. So not only had I just deposited all my money into the bank and had my savings for all my shopping I needed to do but my spending money for the week for food and essentials. Luckily my dad loaned me money till I got mine back, but this was no 10 business days it took almost a whole month it was the end of January before I got money back and it wasn't all the money. They found that $200.89 was approved, funny cause I hadn't even heard of the store they said it was from and it was over 150 miles from where I live and had been the entire day of that purchase. So I called a lawyer and had them write a letter to chase and within 5 days the $200.89 was back in the account. The second one, which I am dealing with right now actually. Chase has allowed a newspaper company to debit my account for 7 months @ 9.98 a month. I have called, walked in and written letters to chase stating that I don't receive any newspaper since the very first month this all started. They still continue to allow the charges to be debited monthly, then I had deposited $1200.00 before my sons birthday party as well as having 15 family members birthdays in July to budget for with the money saved in little ways and stashed in my room so I didn't spend it. I was checking all my bills and balances of the account before going shopping for the party and gifts for my family members and see multiple charges not approved : $540.56 charge at Victoria Secret, $240.98 at Nordstroms and a few other smaller purchases adding up $1540.00 total. Then my automatic payments came out as scheduled and that made me overdraft. I had already called Chase and after waiting for over an hour on hold for them to speak to me they said that the purchases didn't look like fraud but like I just didn't know how to budget. I am still out the money now having to get a lawyer involved again. But also out of a job at the moment so paying for the lawyer and life with no job and them allowing my money to be spent by someone else is just hard. Seriously hate Chase bank and think they are the biggest crooks out there. I will never allow anyone I love to bank with them for the risk that they don't keep peoples identity secure at all. I have now found out I have identity theft and since I do not have any other credit cards and I didn't have any other banks when the credit cards were opened in my name I have nothing to look at other than Chase. They are the worse financial institution ever and the customer service is horrific. (tellers at the bank not included they were always nice but they don't make the calls)

Helpful?
0 0
K
Oct 15, 2014 2:14 pm

I experienced the same thing. I received letters from chase in the mail showing atm withdrawals and deposits in another state that I didn't make nor did I authorize. I then realized I was not in possession of a pouch that usually contains my debit card social security cards and other items. I don't use my debit card everyday after having multiple overdraft fees. I immediately called into chase customer service and filed a claim, simultaneously my two checks from the two jobs I work were being direct deposited to my account. Only 1 or 2 days later chase decided to deny the claim. I thought maybe someone would call me for more info because I only provided minimal info initializing the claim. I went into a branch to discuss the claim and to inquire about my pay checks. I never felt so disrespected and dismissed in my life! The manager did not greet me at all I attempted to explain several things to her about the claim and the fraudulent activity. She didn’t say really anything to me just picked up the phone and started dialing as I talked and attempted to give facts and details. I assume she called corporate and sat there and spoke on the phone with a rep as if I was not there stating ”yes I know about these type of situations” Rolling her eyes, and scrolling on her iPhone. The manager handed me the phone without saying a word. I then spoke to the rep on the phone and she was just as dismissive, rude and talked to me in an accusative manner. I attempted to go over facts of the claim she was not even aware that there were claims made that I didn’t even make! I felt as though I was being treated as the criminal when I am the victim of fraudulent activity. The rep on the phone said very harshly “your pay checks will not be returned to you and chase wishes to end its relationship with you goodbye!” Once I hung up the phone the manger just looked at me and didn’t say a word. I gathered my things and walked out. I am hard working single mother working two jobs to take care of my daughter. I have banked with chase for several years I have never ever had my identity stolen and I felt like I was not only victimized once but twice! Once by the thieves who stole my information and money but now by chase who totally dismissed me as a criminal myself.

Helpful?
0 0
M

This is a damn shame same thing happened to me over 5 years ago

Helpful?
0 0
G
Aug 10, 2013 2:14 pm

It is sad that when your wallet or purse is stolen and you cannot count on Chase to help solve the issue. Instead of acting like their customers matter Chase seems to think that they have criminals as customers. I lucky have a credit union that cares about me and my banking needs. Recently my boyfriend had his phone case stole and lost all his information because his phone had a wallet component. Instead of chase notifying him that his account was comprised he went to the bank to deposit a check and the account said it was not found. He immediately called and at that time they notified him that checks were made in his name however the spelling was wrong and deposited in his account 40 miles away from his house. Instead of Chase acting in a concerning manner they blamed him and said his friend should pay back the bank. My boyfriend explained he had nothing to do with the bad checks and he wanted to find out who did it. Chase said he had to make a police report and before he could pick up the police report they denied his claim. So now he has to file a new claim and try and resolve this issue. Chase bank has been a huge disappointment and for people that are still in their teens please be wares and do not bank at Chase.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Mar 28, 2017 2:14 pm

i'm going through the same thing was this resolved?

Helpful?
0 0
T
Feb 22, 2013 2:14 pm

I am from Chicago and my bank is Chase. I was a victim of $4, 000 unauthorized/illegal transactions three weeks ago done in New Jersey. I immediately called to freeze my accounts while the first transaction was made but 3 more went through. The debit card was actually shredded over a year ago (doesn't exist anymore). I have been fighting with Chase for the past two weeks. My claims were denied three times. To keep it short, they keep telling me that I must know the person because they had the card and pin, thus nothing illegal or fraudulent happened. I am completely baffled by the lack of professionalism and the pure dishonesty from Chase. I am in the process of getting a subpoena for the ATM/store video footage with the help of the Chicago police department but I doubt that it will make a difference since Chase told me that all that mattered really is that whoever did this had the pin so ultimately somehow I am really responsible. I will file a complaint with consumerfinance.gov and the BBB, on top of my FTC and police reports. If no success, I will be suing. I'd rather pay legal fees than pay for FRAUD from both a criminal and CHASE!

Helpful?
0 0

What happened in the end? Similar situation here. Thanks

Helpful?
0 0
R
Jan 23, 2013 2:14 pm

Wow...seems Chase has a pattern of which EVERYONE should beware. Just last week I too was a victim of a stolen debit card and after $4000 of deductions Chase denied the claim stating "not enough proof" and "suspect was known to me"...which apparently is all enough for them to not act. WHAT'S EVERYONE DOING ABOUT IT? besides closing their Chase accounts.

Helpful?
0 0
R
Dec 22, 2012 2:14 pm

Im 16 and i need help fast ! I had no money in my account and someone stole my card and used it. They put a fraudulent check in my account and took off $600 dollars, then I realized what was going on and i called the bank. They denied my claim and said I was liable. The bank returned the fraudulent check, and told me I have to pay them $600 dollars because I'm in the negative.. My mother thinks they'll put this on her credit report, because I don't have $600 dollars to pay, , PLEASE help I'm really scared!

Helpful?
0 0
C
Dec 11, 2012 2:14 pm

Hello,
I was involved in an unfortunate situation that involves being defrauded and perhaps a victim of negligent or at least unscrupulous activity from Chase Manhattan. Earlier this year I was traveling through the Philippines when my card and presumably my pin number was copied. In less than a week no less than 52 ATM attempts were made on my debit card with a total over $6500.00 being stolen. My normal activity is approximately one ATM withdrawal per week and approx. $3-400 being taken out. The activity was clearly outside of my normal range and being in Philippines also should have created a flag or hold. No contact nor any stop was placed on my account until I called to cancel it. I immediately filed two police reports along with statements at the mall security and acquired witness statements. I even requested help from the embassy. With all of this chase still denied my claim stating that it was denied due to my pin being used and also because I admitted to being in the Philippines. 

The criminals took my card while drugging me and keeping me abducted, thus creating a traumatic situation for me. The five months of fighting my banking institution and reliving/defending my story has kept these injuries alive, especially since the insinuation is that I am in some way trying to defraud my bank or at fault for my victimization. 

My banking institution claims to provide fail safes that prevent or minimize fraud, they claim my money is safe and insured in the case of theft. Not only have they failed to provide even the faintest security measure in this case, but they have blatantly profiled me as a criminal unless otherwise proven. I was told that even the atm videos would not provide evidence for the case as I could have had people making withdrawals on my behalf. I was also told that the circumstances were suspicious and repeatedly asked how the criminals received my pin number, even though it is common knowledge that a number of devices and techniques exist to steal pin numbers. This among many other directed statements and questions imply that to them I am the criminal rather than the victim or even just a valued customer. 

This may not be relevant but they also stated online and in our initial conversation that they would refund my account while the verification of the claim was underway, this they did not do. I have been a victim to more than fraud, but in this case also of my banks misleading, harmful, and untrustworthy behavior. 

Helpful?
0 0
M
Oct 24, 2012 2:14 pm

Hello, I can't believe the exact same thing gas happened to me. Someone stoled my debit card when I accidentally left it in my son friends car. Right away I noticed, and had my wallet. There days later I checked my balance through my cell, and it was wrong. I immediately looked in my wallet, and sure enough my card was missing. I immediately called Chase to close my card, and to file these unauthorized transactions. The customer service rep was understanding, she closed that card, issued me a new one, and patiently went through each transaction to figure out which I didn't authorized. Afterwards, she transferred me to claims department to file a claim to get a investigation started, and get a provisional credit. She asked me questions, which I truthfully answered. On some I didn't know the answer, I could only speculate what could of happened. They used my debit with my pin to pay Verizon prepay cell, .they took money out of two ATM machines, went to Denny's, and to the market. The total was $862.72. They told me they would investigate, and reverse these charges. Few days later, I decided to call to see if they needed anything else. At that point they told me my claim was denied, I couldn't understand the reasoning for this. I asked to speak to a supervisor named Mike. He was worst, and plain rude. Basically couldn't give me a real answer. Basically told me it was my fault for letting the other person look at my pin when I used my card. I told him if a proper investigation was done they could get the number from Verizon, look at the pictures the ATM took. Very rude staying the claim is complete, and there is nothing I or they can do to reverse this decision. I was so upset, .I asked for his boss. Well apparently he doesn't take calls or received letters. Basically, he doesn't help the customers. I asked if I make a police report, can that help? Again, .there's nothing not anyone can help. I told him I'm the victim here, and all the documents I have received state I would have zero liability as long as I called in a reasonable time to report it. The only thing I can do is complain to their executive office. So he transferred me, and quickly Mr. Mendoza had a different attitude. He understood my frustration, he gave me his direcT number. He assured me he would look into it, .and see if he can do anything to help me. Today I got there denial letters stating that their investigation concluded that these charges were authorized by me. Also, I can request the documentation they used in their investigation. The craziest part is that the denial letter was dated the same day I called them! So right there shows nothing was done for me. I will be complaining to the.federal departments that regulate these banks. Even though the supervisor said laughing that they can't do anything. I can't believe so many people have gone through the same issue. Something needs to change...

Helpful?
0 0
T
Sep 20, 2011 2:14 pm

Hi, the exact same thing as the original poster happened to did happen to me too several days ago.
Chase is now denying to pay back 920$.
I´d be interested:
a) What are my options if the continue to deny the money? Is there some consumer protection agency that could put pressure on them? Do I even have to go to a lawyer? Is there something else that can be done?
b) How did all the cases of the posters above end? Did you have to bear the loss or did the bank eventually pay you back?

Helpful?
0 0
K
Sep 12, 2011 2:14 pm

Contact the better business bureau n make a claim

Helpful?
0 0
K
Sep 12, 2011 2:14 pm

Contact Better Business Bureau n make a claim

Helpful?
0 0
A
May 26, 2011 2:14 pm

I have a similar situation to file $100 savings account ATM withdrawal in California, the first person I spoke with at the claims department told me he already credited the $100 to my account, cancelled the ATM card and will send a new ATM card to me. One week later I received the new ATM card and a confirmation letter confirmed Chase credited the $100 to my account. However, I found Chase credited the money to my closed checking account not active savings account ? It's a savings transaction why credit to checking and it's a closed checking ! I called the claims department again, the specialist say will credit back $100 to my active savings account within 48 hours. After 144 hours I didn't see the credit and didn't hear anything from Chase, I called the claims department once again, the specialist told me my claim has been denied, the reason is the withdrawal PIN# same as my new ATM card PIN#. Oh man, Chase didn't give me a new PIN# just sent me a new ATM card to replace the old ATM card, if I'm not use the old ATM card PIN# then what PIN# allow me access the ATM machine ? What excuse is it? Chase joked me like a fool, it's only $100 no big deal, $100 can break Chase's goodwill is a very cheap price. Thanks Chase, you lose one more valued customer.

Helpful?
0 0
N
Nov 04, 2010 2:14 pm

I had a similiar situation happen to me using a check that was cashed at a chase teller. This individual used a fradulent check no id only my pin and atm card and was cashed the same day for $2400 dollars. I only had $40 in my account when it was cashed. Not only that but the name on the check was spelled incorrectly as well as the complete address was not written nor was the signature similar to mines. Even after submitting a police report my claim was still denied TWICE... thanks chase

Helpful?
0 0
J
Aug 17, 2010 2:14 pm

I also got my ATM card stolen and got a call from Chase, they said there was some account activity that looked suspicious. I told them that I lost/or someone stole my wallet with the card in it. So Chase reversed the charges, one for $50 and one for $75. Then a few days later the debited my account for the $50 again. I suppose they can not make up their mind.

Helpful?
0 0
K
Jul 28, 2010 2:14 pm

They never notified me about my dispute being denied, and told me to go to the police to get the report #. This took days and when I finally called back to add to my dispute claim (to show proof that it was me because if I reported fraud and lied I could get arrested) they had already denied me without waiting to add the fact that I had gone to the police.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jul 22, 2010 2:14 pm

I am experiencing the same thing. Someone apparently used a skimmer to duplicate my husband's debit card and pin #. Then, I am assuming made a duplicate card and deposited a phoney check in our account and witdhrew $480. The card has been in our posession the entire time. Chase denied our claim because a PIN number was used and said that it must be us or someone we know. In addition, they took the liberty of moving $350 from my husband's chase credit card into our bank account without our permission to cover Overdraft Protection Fees and charged more fees on top of this. We filed a police report but the cops basically said they don't pursue anything under $10 grand. We are left getting [censor] on by Chase. I even got the time stamps and ATM#s (ATMs we NEVER used before) to ask Chase to view the cameras. Chase said they need a subpoena to view the cameras. This is ridiculous. I can't wait to close this account and go to a local bank or credit union. I hear there is a class action lawsuit brewing as well..if so, I am in!

Helpful?
0 0
A

I am going through the same thing. I was at a friends house and someone stole my cards. They made two credit purchases totaling only 27.00 thank god. First they gave me the money then said my claim was denied and took the money back out! I asked them if they got the receipts from the place to verify my signature and if they looked at the video. NO, they didn't do either. They kept telling me to file a police report also. C'mon really the police aren't going to look into something that small. They also told me even if I did file a report and they proved it was someone else that I still may not get my money back because the purchase matched normal transactions.

AH! They don't even know what the purchases where! Probably gas and the second transactions I'm thinking they went inside! Show me the proof its not me instead of treating us like we are all liars!

Helpful?
0 0
T
May 04, 2010 2:14 pm

SAME exact thing happened to me, and in Chicago as well, and with Chase, as well. I just got my letter which is identical and says that I am welcome to view the research documents, yet they will not divulge any information pertaining to it. I lost over 500 dollars and they say it was me. Thanks, Chase.

Helpful?
0 0
N
Feb 23, 2010 2:14 pm

I have been working on a dispute since last October and can't get anyone to help me. I have been disconnected multiple times and receive the same kind of letter you did saying that it has been denied but with no information on why. I am so frustrated. I even have an email from the retailer agreeing that they will allow Chase to push through the chargeback. Yet, Chase denied it! I cannot wait to change banks.

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

1340 complaints
581 resolved 759 unresolved

JPMorgan Chase contacts

(added by reviewer)
270 Park Ave., New York United States
ADVERTISIMENT