Burger Kingeven manager thinks it sucks!

1
S Review updated:

My husband and I went to Burger King drive thru and placed an order. The order was a Double Whopper with cheese and onion rings and a whopper junior with cheese and onion rings. The attendant told us that no onion rings were available and we substituted fries. We proceeded to the drive thru area and pid for the meal. The attendant told us to pull over to the side to get our order. No one was inside the Burger King and no one was behind us. My husband asked why we had to move when there was no one behind us and we were told that they had just had a very large order and that our food was being cooked on the other side of the kitchen. My husband asked them to give him his money back. In truth, he was very aggravated about this. To make a long story short, we know the manager personally at the Burger King in Columbia, Ms. and even though he was not on duty at the time, we have learned since that he has elaborated on this confrontation and embellished the details as far as using very fowl language and an order that my husband would have never made. Neither one of us eat chicken. He was discussing us at a meal at the Olive Garden in Hattiesburg, Ms. with his wife and my brother and sister in law. I was told that we were being laughed at. I don't appreciate it and if the owners would ever step in there and see the hygiene of the building and what is running it they would see where I am coming from. Not only did we receive poor service we were discussed at a meal and laughed at. Dale is the the manager at the Burger King in Columbia, Ms. and to his credit he had left them for a while. He was not on duty at the time of the incident but he chose to criticize us during a meal at the Olive Garden on 12-2-06. I love Burger King and I will never go the store in Columbia, Ms. Dale, the manager, says that a bunch of Indians own it and even he thinks it sucks. I am a very dissatisfied customer and will never buy another Whopper as long as I live from Burger King and I intend to pass the word.

Responses

  • Ci
    cid Dec 01, 2007

    The only reason you were asked to pull up is because Drive-Thru is on a TIMER. And even if there's no one behind you, they still have to move you because the timer is on and counting how long you're there. And if it get's past two minutes, the person serving you gets in trouble. And really, getting in trouble with the managers isn't my idea of a perfect day at work.

    I work at a Burger King, and it annoys me when customers like you give me attitude "But there's NO ONE BEHIND ME!"

    "I'm sorry sir but I'm on a timer,"

    "THIS IS BAD SERVICE, GIMMIE MY MONEY BACK, WAAAA!"

    3 Votes
  • Ru
    rungirlto1 Aug 10, 2008

    burger king opens at 6 am their menu time for lunch is 10:30.
    i go to the drive thru here in birmingham at 10:29 to order and their not ready want take my order the staff is walking around saying that the toaster is not hot enough for the buns.i work at mcdonald's and the prep is always done at 9:45 the toasters are on, giving us enough time to b ready.so we are ready for lunch and breakfast until we run out at the end of breakfast.they need better managers and a whole new staff.



    terrible service

    -2 Votes
  • Ju
    Just Mark May 30, 2009

    The Burger King on Western branch Blvd, Chesapeake, VA (Store #1073) has provided me extremely poor service since it opened a few weeks ago. I forgave it the first time as it had just opened and was probably in training mode but by the third time, I am going to have to assume that it is just very poorly managed. I went to the corporate site to complain as this is a corporate owned store and not a franchise but htey offer no means to file a complaint. So, i guess crying hete is the next best thing.

    This last time (and it will be my last time), it took me over 45 Minutes to get my food and only 6 cars total were in front of me. Two were in front of me to place and order and it took me 15 minutes to get my order placed. It took another 20 minutes to get to the pick-up window and once at the window i was first offered drinks that I had not ordered, I was then asked what my order was to be told before I could answer: "Oh wait, I Know". I attempted to confirm what she thought I ordered and was given the hand. five minutes later, a different person came to the window and again asked what I had ordered. She walks away and then returns with my order. The sandwiches were cold when I checked them.

    I asked what the store number was or how I could identify it to corporate and it was stated: "Bon't know Nuttin bout that" and screamed towards the back of the store to request the information at which point I decided to end all inteaction with this store permanently and drove off.

    Once home I discovered the cheese was missing from one of the sandwiches.

    1 Votes
  • Bl
    blackrose18 Jun 22, 2009

    OH yeah. I just went there. Brice rd in reynoldsburg ohio store. I ordered a junior whopper, side salad with italian, and small strawberry shake. at the second item he asked me to repeat the salad, then he asked"chocolate shake?" I said "no it was strawberry" like he didn't listen to a word I said!! As I was driving off in the bag big enough for both food items there was ONLY SALAD and I had to drive back around, wait for 2 cars and 15 minutes!!!They took forever to get these people food, actually maybe 3 cars 20 minutes and my shake was going to get warm and I MADE IT KNOWN that they had definately screwed up and I was pissed!!! He shoved the burger out the window at me and instead of being a junior whopper it was bigger than a usual whopper. WHAT??!!!
    never defend burger king employees. They are stoned, not all there, completely unresponsive and don't understand simple things, speak a hybrid of english and gibberish, and the women have nails 5 inches long painted with ungly designs I am sure unhygenic with food and dirt underneath! so gross.

    1 Votes
  • Cc
    ccm Jun 29, 2009

    Maybe I am ignorant, but as a consumer I would think the timer is intended to let workers know (and inform managers) when they are getting off the pace of an average service time. It is fast food after all... beating the timer should not be an issue if everyone is working responsively.

    1 Votes
  • Cc
    ccm Jun 29, 2009

    Want free softdrinks at Burger King...?

    Ask for a large ice water... chances are they will provide you with a very small courtesy cup that they will insist is the only free water cup they can provide. Of course they will also inform you that you can pay the full soft drink price to receive a larger cup of water.

    With the right arguments you can establish one simple fact that they will agree with everytime... a larger cup is the same price whether it contains water or a soft drink and they will insist it is simply the price of the cup.

    Once they have agreed that the price is the same for the water and the softdrink, simply ask them for some softdrink in the courtsey cup.

    If you are really good, you will get them to tell you that you can have more then one courtesy cup before you discuss the price of the larger cups.

    -2 Votes
  • Cy
    cyberKICK Mar 01, 2010

    I asked for a whopper with cheese "off the broiler". I don't like the nuked burgers. They made me wait 8 minutes for the burger. Okay, good. It should be hot and fresh right? We watched them take it off the broiler and microwave it? My way right away? When was the last time you took a burger off your grill at home and ran inside to nuke it?

    I told them I didn't want it microwaved, but they said they have to microwave all burgers. I was able to get a burger not microwaved by showing a letter I received from burger king saying they can serve a burger without nuking it first. Oh yea, they also don't toast their buns anymore, only nuke them.

    -1 Votes
  • Su
    Sue Fad Jul 13, 2010

    I agree I should not be asked to pull over to put in an order. It is dangerous as there are cars trying to park and get by me at this point. I have been honked at before because I am inconveniencing other people. I talked to the manager about this and she said oh yea you should pull into a parking spot because we have had incidents where people have gotten into fights outside their cars because they are pulled over. So they are aware it causes issues! And they are still advocating this at the store manager level? Is making the numbers that important that you risk the safety of the customers. If i wanted to park and get my food I would just walk in. The point of a drive thru is to be able to drive thru!!! I called BK corporate and a regional manager told me this is not advocated by the company. I am expecting a call back today and I will inform him that this problem seems to be nationwide and there needs to be a stop to this at a national level. It is a dirty little manager secret that they have devised and burger king needs to address the issue and perhaps increase the timer on which employees are judged becuase it is just causing a bad customer experience and if I am worried every time I go to the drive thru I will just take my business elsewhere.

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    talorin Aug 29, 2010

    Give me a break. People who complain obviously don't work in this business. I bet most of you pull up to the speaker and say "Give me a sec, or I need a minute, or let me look at the menu board." this is a dt at a food restaurant it isn't a fine dining experience. you get what you pay for. value menu??? give me a break take your kids home and feed them real food that you cook for them.

    "it's dangerous to park a car." bull it's dangerous to go outside and breathe the air. whine about important things like the fact that your adding a million calories just for eating fast food anyways. If everyone spent a year in this kind of business there would be no complaints ever from anyone about service.

    6 Votes
  • Co
    Corey Warren Oct 15, 2018

    @talorin Oh stop most people that work in fast food are just lazy as fuck trying to find the easiest way out try working any real job and yourll see where people are coming from

    1 Votes
  • St
    StonePanther Oct 19, 2010

    BK Store 464 Court Street
    Binghamton, NY 13904-1656
    (607) 724-5121

    At 12:40 10/19 I ordered a small fry and a drink in drive through. When I got to the windows I asked how come I didn't get the smallest fry they had. I was told a small fry is really a "Value Fry" I really don't like Fries that much and told her I wanted the smaller fry... she screwed up her face and rolled her eyes, snatched up the receipt and off she went in a huff. So I just drove off and will not be returning anytime soon, if ever. If it's not the small fry then call it the "almost a small fry but not the fry that is really smaller with a weird name, not listed on the DT menu so will have to make a darn good guess at what you are really ordering"

    -3 Votes
  • Ch
    chay75 Oct 28, 2010

    The value fry is the smallest fry they have. They can not read your mind. And yes all Bk employees and managers LAUGH at stupid people and discuss the dumbest most obnoxious customers of the day. So you and your husband must have topped the list for that day. What makes you think you can mistreat people when you go thru DT. Do you realize most managers are college educated and make more than the average person? And Dt times are one incentive for bonuses putting their salary in the 60, 000 dollar range. So do not mistake them for being stupid and wanting to be abused.

    4 Votes
  • Ge
    gene barnes Nov 14, 2010

    burger kind in elizabeth city n c . is probaly the sorrest in the world . I order a whopper their yesterday with no chs they put so much chs on it I could not find the meat. so no more burger king for me and I am giving up on all fast food greasy spoons . all my food will be fixed at home from now on.

    -2 Votes
  • Ge
    gene barnes Nov 14, 2010

    some of you probaly dont know about this but did you know when the rev jessie jackson black guy. was working
    as a waiter he would spit in white people food and stand back and watch them eat it and laugh at them. also not long ago another black spit in a state troopers fish sand wich and they did some dna there and it was a black guy
    so the state trooper probaly owns that place now.

    -4 Votes
  • Mrs Bean Jan 21, 2019

    @gene barnes Without knowing that for fact I knew that.

    -1 Votes
  • Ge
    gene barnes Nov 14, 2010

    no excuse they should get it right the first time especially when you say 2 or three times no chs.

    2 Votes
  • Am
    Amber Gris Dec 07, 2010

    I agree there are many reasons to truly complain, but a lot of the things I read on here are just crybaby whining from over-entitled spoiled Americans. Here's an idea: STOP EATING FAST FOOD! Your body will thank you.

    4 Votes
  • St
    Steenetrick Feb 10, 2011

    Burger King is not a social service funded by your taxes. They're a private business. If they tell you to park up, don't argue - just [censor]ing do it.

    You'll find managers and crew members will laugh at you a lot less when you stop being such an arrogant bellend.

    5 Votes
  • Sa
    savesprite Jun 17, 2011

    ...They're talking about square butts. You know, because he's Spongebob SQUAREPANTS. Kids love that stupid song, too, so they figured it was a win/win.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Q Customer Jun 22, 2011

    Nashville, TN - For the fifth and FINAL time Burger King got my order wrong. I went to the drive thru, ordered a triple stacker w/no stacker sauce and a medium onion ring. My stacker had sauce on it so i am done with Burger King. This incident is not isolated.
    I shouldn't have to check my order they should get it right.
    I don't like McDonalds/Hardee's/Wendy's/Jack in the Box as much as Burger King but at least they don't seem to screw up my order. I am not exagerating these 5 incidents have happened within the past 20 visits. I am not being vengeful or spiteful I just will choose not to patron a business that does not invest in quality assurance.

    BTW - The timer goes for all drive thrus. You want them to stop making you move whenn nobody is behind you in line? Contact the company's corporate office and rationally explain the situation and circumstances. There are interested to hear when rogue managers are trying to make their numbers look better through fraudulent practices.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    marnita cameron Aug 25, 2012

    after working for Burger King for many years, i had to go the new management team that came, was lazy they let other works work more hours workers from that store.And any worker that ask why their hours got cut they let them go. Also the owners have been getting cut off note and past due notes if this is how the second largest fast food chain works then it time to find, some other place to work. It hurts to see a company i work for so many years can do workers like that and it is sad to know that the work that has been put over all those years are gone.

    2 Votes
  • Bk
    BK Employee Dec 27, 2012

    I've worked for Burger King for 3.5 years now, and those who are complaining simply don't understand our system. Yes we are on a timer, however my store does not have people pull off if there aren't people behind that car. It is a different story if there are other people waiting. Now yes it is extremely annoying when your order is not right, however when you take upwards of 3, 000 orders a day or make 3, 000 sandwiches a day, at least one order is bound to get messed up somehow. It's unintentional, but we're only human. The person who's triple stacker has been messed up 5 times, I'd definitely blame the store, that's ridiculous! Otherwise, I see reason behind those I did not comment on. Also yes thank you to the person discussing how BK employees are not to be mistreated, I am a college student, and quite educated, and it really annoys me when people treat me as if I'm stupid for no good reason.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Corey Warren Oct 15, 2018

    @BK Employee Oh come on when I was a teenager I worked at a really busy pizza place and noone messed up any orders 3000 sandwiches in one day for one person I highly doubt anyone especially a fast food worker is doing anything close to that you cant make an excuse for laziness or just not caring

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brianna94 Jan 02, 2013

    Ive worked at burger king for 2 years now and I've had to deal with customers like you so many times. What I don't understand is why people get mad because they have to pull up and wait a couple minutes, it's not even a big deal.Ive had people threaten to kill me because I've had them pull up. Especially at night when we're pretty slow we're not going to have tons of food up so it wastes.At least you're getting fresh food at a decent amount of time. Honestly if you've never worked at a fast food restaurant then you have no reason to complain.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem