The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
BP Mosaic Shinglesshingle problems

R

Our roof was 6 years old when we finally contacted BP Canada to advise them of the fact that the shingles were occasionally being blown off by wind. This spring, the damage was more severe which prompted us to finally contact BP Canada. Prior to this, our roofing contractor returned to install the few shingles that were lifted off. Given that only one or two shingles were lifted off, I did not think it was a major issue to contact the manufacturer earlier.<br /><br />
<br /><br />
We received a decision from BP stating that the damage was sustained due to wind and that their 5-year Wind warranty had expired. We provided samples of shingles that showed an insufficient amount of adhesive, signs of cracking and blistering yet BP Canada simply replied that the wind warranty has expired. They have not acknowledged these other physical problems with the shingles, nor have they offered to send someone to evaluate the roof. <br /><br />
<br /><br />
One week ago, I had our roofing contractor apply several tubes of roofing adhesive to bond the shingles together. <br /><br />
<br /><br />
We have noticed that the Mosaic shingle is no longer being made. I wonder if there were defects with this product which prompted BP Canada to discontinue it.

Responses

  • Gt
    [email protected] Jul 22, 2014

    The above picture is a classic symptom of organic (not fiberglass) shingles in which the paper mat was not fully saturated with asphalt. Organic shingles, unlike fiberglass mat shingles, require two grades of asphalt: "saturant" to permeate the mat and "coating" for the top to accept the granules and another underside layer to accept the treatment to prevent sticking together in the bundles. Fiberglass mat shingles do not require saturant, just top and back coating. Roofers, especially those in cold climates, prefer organic shingles because they handle more easily during application. Unfortunately, the availability of quality organic mats is very poor; the result is poor shingles.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rick Fradette Feb 20, 2014

    We put Harmony Beachwood shingles on our 3 car garage 6 years ago and the wind has ripped them off our roof 3 times since then and the winds were no more than 80 km/h. I contacted the manufacturer and they said they wouldn't cover them since they were installed in October. You would think that if being installed in the fall was the issue that the shingles would no longer be peeling off after 6 hot summers!!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Renwd Sep 24, 2011

    I am in the process of winding up my warranty claim for 14 year old BP Rampart shingles in Saskatchewan. It has taken almost a year to get a settlement. I filed a warranty claim, jumped through all the hoops BP requested including all the documentation and many pictures. And then I waited, and waited some more. Finally I emailed them for an answer and a few days later got the standard letter others have presented denying my claim. All through the process I stated that if BP ignored my warranty claim that I would go to court. Well to small claims court I went, prepared the necessary documentation, served the court summons and received a court date. Three months later (small claims court waiting list is similar to medical waiting lists - long) and about a month before court date, I received an e-mail from BP offering a what I believe to be their standard warranty settlement. The next day I received a phone call from a local law firm representing BP. They were not aware of the settlement offered. I said I was not comfortable with BP's settlement offer as it left out many details, required replacing with BP shingles, and entailed a complicated settlement process. It did not address my court costs and frustration with the standard BP warranty response - deny, deny, and deny. I told the law firm the price of the replacement shingle quote that I received from a BP recommended installer. The law firm suggested a suitable cash settlement, which I am not permitted to disclose. My advice is to take BP to small claims court to get their attention and be patient.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    doug1968 Aug 04, 2011

    What about IKO??? i have heard nothing but bad about them as well... i need to reshingle my house and am wondering... what is the "LEAST DEFECTIVE" shingle on the market?

    0 Votes
  • Jl
    JLFrancis Jun 13, 2011

    I just got off the phone from a BP customer service rep. The shingles on our house, which we purchased last fall, are Rampart and were installed 7 years ago. We lost some shingles a couple of months ago in a high wind. When I managed to get up on the roof, it was evident that the adhesive on the shingles was gone, making them susceptible to wind damage. I called BP and they said that the warranty for wind damage is 5 years so we are out of luck. What a poor quality product, and what poor customer service and customer relations. When we reshingle we will not be using BP products. Their warranties are a sham. DO NOT USE BP PRODUCTS!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jerry Fullarton May 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    7 yr old house - citadel shingles - half the roof blew off - none of the tar bead set - nothing but problems from day one
    The builder and roofing contractore actually screwed me up by repairing the shingles that blew up the first two years - they should have gotten BP out there to warranty the whole roof instead of patching problems spots - now BP is saying I am past the 5yr wind warranty- If the shingles aren't setting properly, that is a deffect in my mind - I will be contact this laywer Chris Ellis - Not being a building proffesional, I rely on my builder to steer me in the right direction . Maybe I should be holding Greenboro to account for utilizing these crappy shingles.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    godbilla Apr 09, 2011

    I must say that these shingles are junk! I am a contractor who used this brand on my own project and have lost many shingles due to wind. This is after they have been on for 4 years. We have heat of over 100 degrees Fahrenheit so the sealing should not have been a problem. Great ventilation so no problems there. Worst shingle I have ever had to use. I am glad I used them on my own project and not for another customer. Now I am tearing them off and going with another brand.

    0 Votes
  • Pilsnerfan Mar 25, 2011

    @ BEF: are there any vents on that roof? that looks like decay caused by poor ventilation.

    0 Votes
  • Pilsnerfan Mar 25, 2011

    SBS Modified Shingles!!! - choose these types!
    You will NEVER have this issue!
    Do your homework people!
    You get what you pay for! ( this goes for the material you choose AND the contractor you choose).
    Spend the extra money for a product that's proven and a contractor that cares, or get burned in the end. It's really that simple.

    0 Votes
  • De
    demscott Jan 02, 2011

    We have had the same issue with blow off. Our home is only six years old and this has happended on two occasions. In the most recent, only two weeks ago, we lost more than half of the shingles on the back side of our home. Our contractor to install the new shingles said the BP ones had never adhered, causing them to blow off. The wind gusts on the night they blew off was only 70 km per hr!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BEF Dec 11, 2010

    We ourselfves have had a 10 year failure on 20 year shingles. In fact, our roofer stated everyone who purchased BPoC shingles have had failures as it IS a material defect. However, BPoC is NOT honoring their warrenties, and if they do it will take months to even a year to get the most minimal of compensation.

    Though a product issue, the crux of the matter is that it is more a BPoC company issue backing their products. The best advice I can give would be for any to not purchase BPoC products, refuse to allow roofers to use them, and pressure your local vendors and suppliers to cease doing business with them.

    The shingles are simply a symptom of the disease...Bad Business.
    I will be posting this and more as many places as I can find.

    B.E. Fleenor, Lakeland Michigan

    p.s...The letter another posted above is their standard form letter. Everyone receives exactly the same one

    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Pilsnerfan Dec 01, 2010

    My name is Brandon and I have been in the industry for 20 years. I thought I would chime in here and give you guys a little of the info and knowledge I have gained over the years.
    The first thing i would like to say is that I believe BP shingles are one of the lowest quality shingles on the market today. The Rampart line is being discontinued as we speak. Harmony are notorious for blow-offs as well, however in many cases, roofer error (poor nailing, cold weather application, etc) is to blame.
    I have installed many varieties of shingles in my time, and honestly BP sucks. Remeber, everything is built to fail.
    Here are some things to remeber:
    The MOST important thing to consider in regards to your roof is VENTILATION. 99 out of 100 roofing salesmen will never look in your attic. This is the sign of a company that doesn't care. A properly ventilated attic space should always be the same temperature as the outside temp. Many older homes have had insulation blown in and in many cases it has been blown into the soffit area. Soffits are perferated to allow fresh air into the attic, which in turn forces any warm air out the exhaust vents at the top of the roof. Improper ventilation can be VERY detrimental to the life expectancy of any shingle. An inproperly ventilated attic can reduce the life of a shingle by half in some cases.
    Another point: many roofers these days use air-nailers. Installers need to be very aware of things like nail location on the shingle, pressure being used, etc. Cold weather and air-nailing will cause "blow-through's" and piece work installers unfortunately will just slap the shingles on and move on to the next house. It's sad but it is the truth. Companies (good ones) will have in-house post-inspectors that will thoroughly inspect the roof upon completion before paying their contractors.
    I have a few other points I Could mention but I am out of time at present. Please feel free to forward any questions of a technical nature to my email at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jenny |Burness Nov 28, 2010

    I just read all your complaints I feel for you all as I am ion the same situation as you people now I wash someone would help us

    Jenny

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Janet M Nov 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There are a group of law firms working together to help people affected by BP Canada organic shingle issues. Please contact Chris Ellis at [email protected] for more information.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    bad shingles Nov 15, 2010

    I would like to go after BP with you. Let me know how you want to do it. Maybe we can get everyone who has the same problem with BP shingles to form a class action suit against them. I posted a similar message on this forum with the same letter I got from them.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    fofo21582 Nov 15, 2010

    Hi All,

    My home is only 9 years old and I have a lot of curling, rotting, and blistering going on. It's a BP Citadel 20 yr shingle. Four roofing companies who looked at my roof call it "pre mature shingle deteriation." First warranty claim was denied of course, now under 2nd claim review after I paid an inspector to write a letter to BP. They will probably deny again. I don't know how pre-mature shingle deteriation is not a manufacturer's defect. Ridiculous! I am seeking help from all parties who are interested in filing a class-action lawsuit. If interested in helping please send me a message via this forum. Thanks!

    This is what seems to be a generic claim denial letter that BP sends:

    Dear Homeowner,
    In response to your concerns about the shingles on your roof, located at the above mentioned
    address, a thorough assessment of the information in your file was completed. The evaluation of
    your shingles confirms they do not exhibit any problems that would be caused by manufacturing
    deficiencies.
    Roof systems are complex and entail more than quality manufactured shingles. BP Canada stands
    behind its products and has the best warranty in the industry, however as no manufacturing
    deficiencies were identified; we regret our inability to act further in this matter.
    Should you need to have more information about your roof problem, you may choose to hire a
    qualified/certified building inspector to identify the cause of your issues.
    Very truly yours,
    Warranty Services
    Building Products of Canada Corp.

    1 Votes
  • Me
    Meadowlark Sep 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I live in Manitoba and had BP Citadel shingles installed 10 years ago. They have started leaking with no visible sign of a surface problem. On reading the letters above I do not expect any better treatment in my case.
    Their statement "best warranty in the business" is a joke. I would nor expect them to find a problem by visual inspection. The shingles would have to be removed and the plywood inspected to find exactly where they are leaking. I expect the shingles are just falling apart.
    We got this type of treatment from Sealy with defective mattresses.

    0 Votes
  • Bp
    BP shingles Sep 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had my roof shingled 10 years ago by Avenue Road Roofing. They used BP Rampart shingles. Today the shingles have bald spots on them and are curling at the edges. The roofing company will not take any responsibilities and so told me to file a manuafcturer's claim against BP. The roofing company completed an inspection of the roof, attic, took pictures and sent the package to BP Building Products of Canada on September 2. No shingle samples were included in the package. I received the following form letter from them on September 15, similar to the letter received by other complaintants. No representative from the company has come to inspect the roof. The decision was made based on the photos.
    " In response to your concerns about the shingles on your roof, located at the above mentioned address, a thorough assessment of the information in your file was completed. Th evaluation of your shingles confimrs they do not exhibit any problems that would be caused by manufacturing deficiences.
    Roof systems are complex and entail more than quality manufactured shingles. BP Canada stands behind its products and has the best warrantry in the industry, however, as no manufacturing deficiences were identified; we regret our inability to act further in this matter. Should you need to have more information about your roof problem, you choose to hire a qualified/certified inspector to identify the cause of your issues."
    Signed by a scribbled initial.
    It seems there are a number of people with the same complaint. Is there any way we can all get together to go after BP.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    District9 Aug 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please contact Chris Ellis. He might be able to help. http://www.brelaw.com
    There are a lot of people with similar problems.

    0 Votes
  • La
    ladygodiva3 Aug 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well, this doesn't look good. BP's Rampart shingles were installed on my new home build 8 years ago. They have all curled and are disintegrating by the day. I've got pieces of shingles all around the perimeter of my home as well as blocking the eavestroughs. I've had 2 roofing companies out to inspect and both said they are definately Rampart shingles from BP. Both companies refuse to install organic shingles (Rampart and Citadel) because of the problems they've seen with them. I've been in contact with BP's warranty claim department, who've promised to send out a claim kit. It was mentioned, that if I can't get copy of the materials bill, the warranty would be based on their Citadel shingle. A shingle not mentioned on their website or brochures, so I assume, no longer in production. The builder apparently doesn't keep these things on file. So, it looks like I've got quite a fight in front of me.

    These companies need to be held accountable. To have the gall to tout their warranties "BP Canada stands behind its products and has the best warranty in the industry" is, at the very least, false advertising. There must be a legal recourse for consumers with a legitimate issue. In my industry, package designer, if something as simple as the calorie count is incorrect, the product is pulled from the shelf and the manufacturer is fined by the retailer and the government. Has anyone tried to get legal advice? Perhaps CBC's Marketplace needs to hear about this, again.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Janet M Aug 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To District 9,
    I received the exact same letter today and am in total shock. My 30 year Eclipse roof is in horrible shape, with the asphalt all coming off and the shingles all curling. Just curious, did you take any further steps to argue this?

    1 Votes
  • Ks
    K Sal May 06, 2010

    I have a Harmony 30 year shingle less than three years old with a wind warranty for 115 km/h. Gusts in our area were 84 km/h and the shingles were lifting and flying off. I took video of the event. This was after the shingles had been resealed due to a previous warranty claim. I was assured that the reseal would be be as good if not better than new. I questioned their product during the first warranty claim because I was advised by two separate roofers that BP has had issues with some of their products. I am now searching for information on more claims similar to mine, as I have been told by BP that I no longer have warranty.

    1 Votes
  • Di
    District9 Apr 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have the BP Citadel shingles with a 20 year warranty. After only 9 years the shingles on our roof are in really bad shape. You can see paper in some areas. The asphalt is already gone. We had already a leak in our kitchen roof. I submited a warranty claim to BP, but the customer service is the worst I have ever seen. I receive the letter below.
    I am just wondering how they managed to access our kitchen roof for the assesment. We have a 6 foot high fence around the backyard with no street access. 2 more neighbours on every side. The kitchen roof is only accessible from the backyard and the backyard can only be accessed through our locked garage. Maybe they used a helicopter. I have to assume they are just randomly denying warranty claims.


    Dear Homeowner,
    In response to your concerns about the shingles on your roof, located at the above mentioned
    address, a thorough assessment of the information in your file was completed. The evaluation of
    your shingles confirms they do not exhibit any problems that would be caused by manufacturing
    deficiencies.
    Roof systems are complex and entail more than quality manufactured shingles. BP Canada stands
    behind its products and has the best warranty in the industry, however as no manufacturing
    deficiencies were identified; we regret our inability to act further in this matter.
    Should you need to have more information about your roof problem, you may choose to hire a
    qualified/certified building inspector to identify the cause of your issues.
    Very truly yours,
    Warranty Services
    Building Products of Canada Corp.

    1 Votes
  • Bp
    BP - Calgary Dec 21, 2009

    I had similar issues with my BP Mosaic shingles blowing off just prior to the 5-year mark. The shingles can be ripped easily and are cracked. I've been trying to also find the reason why these singles were discontinued. Please let me know if you find anything.

    1 Votes
  • Rl
    R. Lee Nov 14, 2009

    I forgot to add the following that is listed on BP Canada's Dreamroofs.com site,

    "After-sales service

    Manufacturers should recognize the long-term investment made by you. Warranty claim information and contact details should be visible and available. Manufacturers who stand by their warranty are usually willing to send a specialist to the site to inspect and appraise the claim, then react promptly once the claim is deemed legitimate."

    BP Canada has not sent someone to evaluate my roof.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.