The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
BestBuygeek squad tv installation

I contracted with Best Buy to put a LCD TV on the wall. the first time they came out theyhad the wrong bolts. They said they would order new ones, after a week I called and no one had ordered any. I ordered them on the phone and two weeks later they came out to install with the new bolts...You guessed it wrong bolts.

Now when I call back no one really seems to care. They keep saying we will schedule another time to come out. At now eight hours of my time they want to come out again. I am going to take back the stuff and go somewhere else.

I would never buy another thing from that store. Please stay away they do not care about you the customer.

Responses

  • Mi
    Michael Blik Feb 10, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On January 20, 2014 I purchased a PlayStation 4 gaming system and I was unsure of what hook-ups I needed for it and they told me I needed a HDMI cable and a selector box with an red/yellow/white cable adaptor for it to work. That was my first mistake to listen to them because I thought they were knownledgible about the products that they sell; but I guessed I was wrong. So I purchased everything they told me and I spent roughly about $700. I was excited about hooking my PlayStation 4 up since I had to wait past Christmas for it to come in. I hooked it up on Friday and learned it came with a hdmi cable and I didn't need the selector box that they tried to sell me. Ok not a big deal, I'll just return it and get my money back. In the meantime I didn't get out to return it until February 7, 2014 because of all the snow storms and the bad weather we had. I sent my wife to the returns department to return the merchandise, while I shopped for some more ps4 games. To my surprise my wife told me that they would not return the product. I proceeded to ask for a general manager and he said since it is past the 15 day return policy he could do nothing not even a in store credit FOR $25.00. $25.00 IS ALL I WANTED BACK ON MY CREDIT CARD. I proceeded to ask for customer relationship and he gave me there phone number, but he said it won't do you any good because you will have to deal with me and I won't give you your money back. So I called customer service on my cell phone in front of the returns department, as the general manager disappeared. It is not customer service when they tell me it is up to the general manager. The only thing they offered me was to file a case and you might get your money back. I spent the next 15 to 20 minutes talking to customer service as my voice got louder and louder and louder of because no one would help me. Finally after about 25 minutes they must of got tried of me making a seen because one of the employees came back and gave me my money back without the general manager coming back. I have been a manager in the automotive industry for over 14 years and this is the worst customer service I have ever seen. I am not a person that usually gets upset over things like this, but there is a time and a place for everything. I am writing this not for me, but the customers out there like me that may not go to extremes like I did. Because consumers should not have to put up with businesses like this. So if you have read this I encourage you to tell all that you know weather on face book, twitter, or email; because it is not the companies that have the power it is the consumers! BUYERS BEWARE.

    0 Votes
  • El
    Elgido Mar 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased premium service plan on my dryer that went unused for 5yr. The company, Bestbuy, never contacted me to renew, no I did not need service work done and yes they were more than welcome to verify the operational status of my equipment, I called a week ago I was told that I never had plan. I dug through my old receipts [protected]) and found that I had indeed had a warranty. I called back 2/5/11 and talked to a rep that originally could not find me in the system until she went to other entries did finally find me. I asked why I was never notified as to when it would expire she said …you must have been notified we have a different system that automatically sends out the notices… I asked how could it have been sent when she couldn’t even find me in their system.She asked what my complaint, was I told her that I was confused as to why I wasn’t notified before my warranty ran out so that I could renew it. She said again that a notice was sent I asked for verification esp since I couldn’t be found in their system at first. She said to the effect that it didn’t matter since the warranty could not be extended now. I asked to speak to her supervisor, she asked why I said that I was confused on the topic and wished to discuss it with her supervisor. she hung up on me.
    I called back to the rewards department to see if I was credited the triple points for not using the warranty on all my items as my warranty clearly says I should have been, this is to include never even getting the “Annual Maintainance Diagnostic test to find potential problems” as I was entitled to but was neglected by Bestbuy, again the assistant could not find my info. She, after finally finding my info again, asked me what my problem was… I explained that so far I had been called a liar then hung up on, as well as being hung up on a second time. She said that she was sorry about my experience but could not help me with a warranty problem. I again stated I didn’t need warranty work, my items work fine, I explained that my problem was with customer service and attitude. She again stated that my problem was with warranty and had to talk to them about it I again asked how to file a complain since I was getting no where with warranty department nor with her … she told me to “CALM DOWN” I was calm, I even had my young son with me.. I was calm, just getting the run around. I asked to speak to her supervisor in ref to her telling me to calm down. She hung up on me… third time in less than a week. I called back again this time I asked how to registar a complaint on customer service over the telephone, her department, she said I had to talk to warranty, I again said it was not a warranty issue but a telephone customer service problem.. Again I asked to speak to her supervisor she again said it was a warranty issue regardless of how I explained it to her that my complaint was with the customer service call center not warranty, that was a mute issue. She hung up on me also.

    In a nut shell the customer service call center is omnipotant and have no supervisors nor do they have to explain themselves, they have the all mighty power to just hang up on the customer since the customer is only a voice on the end of a line. I beg to disagree, the customer 1. has the money to purchase, 2. the customer has the privilege to go to another venue to make purchases and 3. the customer has the responsibilty to tell other customers how they were treated so that future customers can use the resources of other stores so as to avoid similiar situations with Bestbuy

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    johnoshag Jan 05, 2011

    Bought a Laptop and was given several pieces of Software that I did not ask for including a 6 month trial Virus package and 6 months free Geek Squad support. When the register rings up your purchase it will show the price of the laptop then the price of the additional software. After ringing up the software total has raised the price approximately $100. You will be reassured that this is all free and then the cashier will systematically credit you the cost of this extra "junk ware". In the end you'll pay only the advertised price. However... The laptop went on sale 2 days later and they promised to credit me the additional $50.00. When I brought in the receipt I was only given a $30.00 credit. When questioned about the other $2o I was told that this was the price of the additional software??? This is "crap ware" that you don't ask for but they bundled it into the refund price. When I told them that I will never use the software they gave me back the balance owed but sent me emails telling me that the "free" software was no longer valid.
    Moral of the story is this: Don't take any additional "free" software from them because it's not free!

    0 Votes
  • Za
    Zaklen Jun 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We went to the local Best Buy Store to buy a Washer/Dryer. After waiting for what seemed like an eternity and reminding staff that the Appliance section was not manned by an associate, we were helped by someone from their Electronics department. The associate was nice and helped us buy the Washer/Dryer ($1, 200). But we later found out that we were erroneously charged for haul-away (of our old appliance) and also over-charged for delivery! He also forgot to mention to us that we needed a PROFESSIONAL installation of the gas dryer and had to pay $135 for that. All this was only brought to our attention when we came to their store two (2) days before the actual delivery date to resolve the haul-away charge. My wife contacted the Manager and he agreed that it was an error on the store's part and reduced the installation charge to $50 and refunded the $20 haul-away charge.We were also told that the installation specialist was scheduled to arrive at our house the day after the delivery. I just got a call from the installation specialist and was told that the store erred (again) and he won't be able to come to my house until the following Tuesday! Our simple question to them was: "Does the left hand in your company know what the right hand is doing or saying?"

    We were over-charged. Not told that we needed to schedule and pay for professional (gas-dryer) installation and now the installation date has been moved to next week. I wonder if they'd like if we sent them our laundromat bills!!

    We feel their name is a misnomer - it'd be more accurate to say: "Best Buy / Worst Customer Service." Over the past year, we've dealt with Lowes and Home Depot and none of their service has been as sloppy as "BESTBuy's."

    Lesson to be learned: Question your bill because you never know if the charges are rightfully applied; and, question ... well, question EVERYTHING at BestBuy!

    0 Votes
  • No
    notnicetopointfingers Mar 01, 2010

    Best Buy reps have a really bad time answering phones because people haven't heard of the internet and call 100 times a day to ask if there are Wii's in stock. Either use the interent, purchase online for instore pick up. Or just go in and actually talk to them so that people with actual issues (that's what customer service is for, to resolve issues, not be a human inventory checker) can be taken care of. On another note, when a PC is out of stock, it's not the store's fault. And when an entire district is out of stock. That means, that they are selling more than CompUSA for a very good reason (compUSA is for more techsavy customers) and that because of that, the manufacturer's supply has probably dried up prematurely.

    0 Votes
  • No
    notnicetopointfingers Mar 01, 2010

    For future reference for people reading this. If you buy a computer from anyone outside of the actual manufacturer, you WILL NOT qualify for the warranties that the manufacturers offer. I believe the exception to this is that you can still get Apple Care with Apples. But they won't cover accidental damage to your insanely expensive Mac.

    0 Votes
  • No
    notnicetopointfingers Mar 01, 2010

    I do not speak on behalf of best buy. But if you know you're going to buy something, and it's not an impulse buy, GRAB A CART AT THE FRONT! There is no excuse for the responses that you received from the associates, but most every customer treats us like we are personal shoppers from nordstrom's or something. Technology is something that requires every customer get the right information, and if someone calls in, we have to tough it out. That may mean that we can't carry the tv to the front for you, but if you had a cart, we do have a couple warehouse people that will gladly help load the thing into your car.

    0 Votes
  • No
    notnicetopointfingers Mar 01, 2010

    This is unfortunate. I work at one of the stores in Austin, TX and we make it our goal to not only contact customers but to actually engage in conversation with them within 30 seconds of entering the department. The biggest problem you will find is that sometimes you get teenagers working in the departments who avoid customers. The other problem you get is that we are there to be informative about product decisions. We are customer specialists that usually don't bother to train outside of our department. I hate to call you out for this, but it really is annoying when 8 out of 10 customers approach the printer/ink section and A) didn't bother looking at the empty ink/toner cartridge in their printer. B) Come in with no knowledge of what model their printer is, or C) get mad at you when you can't help them without any relevant information. Please just keep in mind that while we shouldn't be judging or cherry picking the people that we help. Most customers are blatantly disrespectful to employees in the PC department. I am glad that while it was inconvenient, you guys managed to have a laugh out of it though :)

    0 Votes
  • Pu
    Purte Feb 03, 2010

    We recently went to our local Best Buy (Tucson, AZ) to purchase a laser toner cartridge. We entered the store and proceeded t the back of the store where laser toner cartridges are displayed. We were unsure what cartridges would fit our printer and began looking for help. There were 2 other people on the aisle looking for help as well. I spotted an employee on the next aisle who quickly looked away and walked into the back when we made eye contact. A couple minutes later he returned and began doing slow laps around us making sure not to get within 2 aisles of us and not make eye contact. I have never seen anyone act this way. The other people on the aisle just laughed and threw their hands up. My wife asked someone in another department for help. They stated someone will be there soon and went back to holding up the counter and carrying on their conversation with another counter support agent. I then proceeded to the Apple department and began searching the internet on a Mac to find the part number for my toner. After finding the part number and still being ignored we decided to use the Mac to find another store to purchase the toner. I found an office max and looked up the phone number. I called office max and they performed a stock check while I was on hold in Best Buy. After confirming they had the toner in stock my wife and I began to exit the store. 15 minutes after entering not a single associate had acknowledged we existed, that is until we walked out the "entrance" doors. Then Security and a manager (also in the counter support department) stopped their conversation to let us know we had to use the exit doors. My wife and I laughed all the way to Office Max.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Nownim Feb 02, 2010

    I just want to start off by saying I work in a pretty ruthless retail environment, and there is no excuse for the treatment I received for the best buy on Staten island (Richmond ave.) I walked in looking to buy a 32" LCD, first I waited a half hour for the ONLY person on the TV floor to finish talking to someone who bought nothing.

    The sales person brought me over to the television, which they had in stock, little did I know I'd have to drag this bulky box around the store, I asked him for help with it, no go, he can't leave the floor, I asked for a wagon up front, I asked four separate people. The responses I received.

    1. Not my problem buddy (exact words)
    2. they are outside, go get one.
    3. sorry I am busy
    4. the 4th person just walked away from me.

    I asked to speak with a manager, who was extremely rude about the whole thing, stating that they were busy.

    Being busy is no excuse for the feeling I left that store with, like my money didn't matter in the least, my hard earned money matters to me, even if it doesn't matter to best buy, I will be looking to spend it elsewhere from now on.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chibaj Jan 19, 2010

    Returned an item to Portland Oregon BestBuy Item purchased online. Was told that item was credited to my account and that I was "Good to go", but that they couldn't give me a written receipt because of an error code. They've got to be kidding!! If they goofed up so badly that there was no printable receipt, how do I know they credited my account. Told them to give me a receipt or give me back item and cancel return. They said that they couldn't do that and that they would "mail the receipt". Are they kidding!!

    Took a half an hour, but finally got a handwritten receipt from general manger showing that I returned item. I had to find the manager myself even though I asked several times. Have yet to see funds credited back to my credit card, but it's only been a day.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    Gester Dec 21, 2009

    Bought a Dell desktop computer in May had 2 problems with this. Found out Dell Does Not offer any warranity with this since it was bought at Best Buy. Could not get any tech support until we purchased approx. $200.00 of in home extended warranity. Geek Squad were "not allowed" to discuss anything over the phone with the cheaper extended warranity. Best Buy did not advise us there would not be any warranity from Dell. Found out the hard way..do not make the same mistake.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rik Dec 15, 2009

    We purchased a ipod for a Christmas gift and it froze on us in March of 2008. We took it back to the Burlington Store and the so called punk Geek Squad refused to even look at it. They said we had to go to Durham and let them look at it at the Apple Store. After talking to the store manager he refused to help us as well. This is the third ipod and we have had problems with my sons lap top as well. Their warranties and customer service are horrifying. I would not go to the Burlington NC store to buy a paper clip. I will never refer anyone to any Best Buy Store, not even if I had a worst enemy. I feel they should just close down and quit wasting everyone's time with their lies and false promises. I even placed a call to corporate office and they have not had the courtesy to call me back with any kind of apology. The store personnel was very rude and disrespectful. I would travel to another state if I had to if Best Buy was the onl store we had in Burlington to buy electronics.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandman Dec 14, 2009

    I bought a plasma from Best Buy four years ago and purchased the extended warranty. I was psyched when my TV broke 3 years and 10 months into the warranty. Best Buy couldn't handle the volume of repairs at the time, outsourced to another local repair shop and I have not seen my T.V. in 3 months. No calls and promises by Best Buy to look into it go nowhere.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Danilo Dec 04, 2009

    On July 17 I left film to be transferred to DVD. I was told it would be 2 to 3 weeks. At the end of the three weeks I called and was told someone would return my call. Two more weeks went by and no one called. I called again and the photo person apologized, he had been assured someone would return my previous call. He said he called the lab and was told the transfers had been put in the mail the week before and they would be in the store any day. Another week and a half went by so I called again. It was now Aug. 28. Again, I was told they hadn’t come back. I called the lab and asked them to put a tracer on the transfers. The transfers had been accepted by Best Buy on Aug. 9 and signed by an employee. I called Best Buy back and told them my order was in the store and I wanted to pick it up that day. I was told they couldn’t be found. I asked that the person who signed for them be asked. He didn’t know where they were. I asked to speak to the manager. I gave him the whole story and said I wanted them found and I wanted to pick them up today. The first thing he said to me was, “You are being very demanding.” Demanding? After calling for three weeks and being told my order wasn’t back when in fact it was there the whole time and now no one knew where it was, I did not think I was being demanding. The second thing he said to me was, “Well, you aren’t being very nice.” Does Best Buy have a store policy that if the customer elevates to a specific level of agitation the store can refuse service? This sure seemed to be the store manager’s goal. When I didn’t elevate to a more agitated level he transferred me. I gave my story again and the person said he was a TV salesman (more of the store manager’s attempt to elevate my level of agitation?) but he would put the supervisor of the department on the phone. I went through my store again and the supervisor told me in a very unfriendly tone that he had 4 people turning the store upside down and he would call me back in an hour if that would be okay. Within 15 minutes he called to say my order had been found, would I like to pick it up today and there would be no charge. I said I expected to pay, I just wanted it found so I could pick it up. Neither the store manager nor the supervisor said they were sorry about this, apologized, nothing. Their attitude was that I was being unreasonable in wanting my order found and to pick it up that day after learning from the lab it had been returned to the store three weeks before and being told by Best Buy each time I called that it had not been returned. The lady in Customer Service apologized to me twice when I picked up my order, but she was the only one who did.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Feb 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    No its the sales persons job to know what they need. Dude go to hhgregg they know alot more and the service is a little better.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark Nov 19, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My grandma wanted to get a new computer, so I went with her to Best Buy to help pick out a PC. We were checking the shelves and found a great deal on a PC and monitor bundle package. After waiting for a few minutes we were able to track down a sales floor rep and told him we wanted to get that PC bundle. After a few minutes he came back with the bad news that they were out of stock and no stores in the surrounding area had that same model, but being the customer service rep he is he tried to get us to buy another PC that was either too much or too little for what my grandma needed. They said we could order the PC model but the price wasn't going to be the same for the bundle. What’s worse is that the reps friend jumped on him and interrupted him while he was answering one of our questions. Talk about unprofessional. So we fill out the form, and said we would get a called when it was shipped in store. We didn't pay anything up front, it was more of a "call us when you might get it" kind of paperwork. Well we drove to CompUSA and bought the same model and LCD screen there, no problem. Price was a little more but the sales rep there was more friendly and even gave us his home and cell number in case we had any questions. Now that’s personal service.

    So to be fair we decide to call back Best Buy and tell them we didn't need that request anymore, but turns out no one would pick up the phone. We called 5 times, but they never called us back. I've learned that Best Buys Reps have a really bad time at answering the phones there in-store. Hell to be honest, they never do, and the irony of it is that there a notice on most of those phones that say “pick up when ringing, no excuses”. Best Buy Reps act more like college dropouts.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kevin gillette Nov 07, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How about you actually research the cables that you will need by contacting the manufacturer of said systems.

    It's your job to know what your buying.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cole Jan 04, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    January 2, 2007, I bought a HDMI-DVI cable for my monitor and to use it for my PS3. I asked 3 different employees if they would work. Two of the BestBuy employees said "Yeah, it should work on any monitor and for your PS3!" and brushed me off. I asked another employee just to make sure and said the same thing, trying to hide in some corner aisle on his cell phone while on the floor working. So when I got home, I've tried to plug it in and it was not even compatible with my systems! I came back to return it to make an exchange. I also bought a VGA cable. An employee gave me a MAC VGA cable saying "it should work". I didn't buy it! Don't listen to BestBuy employees! THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.