BB&T Bankthey will flat ruin you!

1
J Review updated:

I have had access to my direct-deposited funds on the same day, but the online banking is a big problem. It is true that you cannot know your actual balance online, particularly if you use the debit card. It seems the balance only reflects a nominal portion or maybe a percentage of the actual amount debited and it won't post the full amount or where it went to until 2-3 days later. So those funds look online like they're available to you, but you'll get burned with fees later when you find out that the balance is entirely inaccurate.

I deposited a payroll check from a second job, as well as a state tax refund check on Wednesday morning and it wasn't credited until Thursday. And here's the fun part, which I'm battling with them on at the moment:

At my full-time job I have direct deposit, am always paid on Fridays, and I use their online bill pay set up to have all my bills come out on payday Fridays. I discovered this morning that they changed my payment date on all my currently due bills to THURSDAY. I didn't tell them to do that. They didn't send me an email to let me know anything about why I might need to check my payment dates and make changes. They just changed it. So, of course now I am hit with nasty overdraft fees because they paid my bills out of my account on Thursday but of course my payday didn't change, I still got paid on Friday.

This is theft, and I told them so.

I am done with BB&T. They will flat ruin you. They don't credit your deposits until after they pull your debits, so this is another way they get rich off of responsible, hardworking people who think that once they make their deposit that they should have access to their money (in this day and age, when they can make automatic deductions the second you write a check, there is no excuse for there not to be). It's just wrong.

Responses

  • Fr
    Frank Smith Mar 20, 2007

    To BB&T Bank: Your agent Mark Wenick came to my place of employment and messed up my 401-K. The way I see it is your bank made a profit and I lost money in my 401-K. I called Federated Funds and Federated Funds told me that my 401-K was not in Federated Funds. BB&T you messed up my retirement. BB&T Bank should put Mark Wenick in line X. My retirement plan should work for me not BB&T Bank. Who stole my 401-K? Your Bank made money and I lost.

    3 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Katherine Hunt May 16, 2007

    BBT is the worst bank out there people have got to start leaving this bank they live on all of the fees they are charging you. I agree also the online banking is horrible you do not see any payments for days and site is down a lot. Horrible bank... just left them

    3 Votes
  • Gr
    Gregory Lynn Mouser Sep 19, 2018

    @Mary Katherine Hunt I agree... I have asked to talk to the local Branch Banking & Trust upper management about my concerns... I was told to file a complaint, and the local management would not be able to talk to me.. "Totally A Bunch Of Banksters "

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Dan Coble Jun 02, 2007

    I posted a complaint earlier, and it has been brought to my attention that 6 identical complaints warrants a Class-Action Lawsuit...

    Anyone in?

    email me at: [email protected]

    Dan Coble.

    4 Votes
  • Se
    Sean2Sean Jun 04, 2018

    @Dan Coble [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Gregory Lynn Mouser Sep 19, 2018

    @Dan Coble $adly Dan, Class Action Lawsuits mainly Benefit The Law Firms Handling Them... I personally have never participated in one.. Best Wishes Getting Some Money Back... Just my opinion of course... I am just now seeing my BB&T Bank Account Quickly Evaporating with excessive fees and I am one who is so broke right now, I honestly cannot even have money to even take Bankruptsy... try existing on Social Security and recently had to go on SSI I am completely devastated... over the last 3 yrs going on 4 now since August... I have seen what savings that I did have shrink... " Yes, BB&T are Banksters For $ure..." The Whole Bunch are Banksters... I cannot afford to lose a penny, let alone lose $45.00 +++++ other fees a month for not having a balance in my checking account and savings. Best Wishes Dan and Others Who Posted On Here..

    1 Votes
  • La
    Larry Curtis Jun 04, 2007

    BBT has stold money from me I told them if it was not a check do not pay it, for some reason they are still paying charges that are made on line and I am sick and tired of this and they will not give me a number to call upper management.

    1 Votes
  • Lb
    L Bailey Jul 31, 2007

    I have been trying to get someone on the phone at BB&T all day. I have a question about some mysterious charge that is on my husbands credit card bill each month. It's something charged by BB& T, but I can't find any information on the website. I sat on hold one time for 15 solid minutes. I am now on my fourth attempt at calling them. This is just ridiculous. I have never had this much trouble getting anyone on the phone.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Gregory Lynn Mouser Sep 19, 2018

    @L Bailey Wow, Yeah they did that to me too... on my BB&T Bank Card... I have seen increases of questionable accounting practices... So as of August 31, 2018... I suspended my credit card completely and will not ever get another card...from any Bank...Today, September 19, will go out and question them about getting some instant credit or what they call "Constant Credit" to protect my Savings as Overdraft Fees ate what I had deposited to only cover what I owed to creditors as local utility companies and usual expenses.. I froze my account after leaving the bank back in August... I had to take what I had in Savings Out of BB&T and Opened A New Account at a local Credit Union... BTW, They did this to me when I used to live in West Virginia...back in 2011 thru 2015. I only decided to use BB&T again for basic banking and since they had a vast network of branches throughout the Eastern, part of USA for traveling... Someone has got greedy and I simply will Not Tolerate Being Manipulated Anymore... I never call on the phone... L.B... I always go in person, .. and I never have used or trusted Online Banking...

    1 Votes
  • Fr
    Frank Smith Aug 08, 2007

    BB&T will not tell me what happened to my missing 401-K. Now thats a Bank that you could depend on?

    1 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard Rally Aug 17, 2007

    Branch manager Rude... unwilling to work with me over a $70.00 returned ATM charges.

    I have in hand a written balance at that time (Aug 13 07) by the bank teller at the window. 2 charges posted at 12/o1 am (Monday) were returned for ISF. My balance more than covered those 2 debit charges! She was belligerent, insulting and accused me of committing fraud! She wasn't interested... and i have been with BB&T since the building was built (23 years)! Originally was Farmers and Merchants.

    2 Votes
  • Ed
    Edy Whitehead Oct 04, 2007

    BB&T has drained me of almost an entire year of my disability payments through their "rob the patron" program of overdraft fees. They even charge overdraft fees on their overdraft fees! In one week I have had over $400 of fees levied on my account. This system is like a whirlpool, as hard I as try, just when I think I'm getting out, they suck me back down and I'm drowning in overdraft fees. HELP!!

    2 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandra Abruzzo Sep 05, 2019

    @Edy Whitehead Contact your senator, I am . The more complaints they get on this Bank maybe they'll shut them down. Americans should not be robbed like this

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    Shawna Roberts Oct 04, 2007

    B B & T are certainly crooked. My husband's account was closed today (not to mention its pay day) without any explanation. He was told they would be deducting whatever fees or what was negative in his account and they will MAIL him the remainder of his money. He is not allowed to go to a branch to get his money. Bills are due, we have no grocery, we have two kids, and I'm not able to work. My husband calmly explained his situation to at least 3 representatives and they could only offer him a "bed-side manner sorry".
    I think this was so unfair and it could have been handled different. B B &T has no compassion for people. Their customer service is horrible. I'm going to make sure I tell everyone I know not to deal with B B & T.

    2 Votes
  • Ta
    Tanya Kachirski Oct 12, 2007

    I am also experiencing problems with BB&T robbing me of my money. Their online bill payment service is terrible! I set up a payment to be deducted from my account on a Friday. Instead, they charge me overdraft fees for that payment 2 days before it was supposed to be withdrawn from my account. Because of that payment, every other online payment that followed that one was charged an overdraft fee. On top of that, I was charged an additional $30, just for being overdrawn on the account, due to all of their fees! That should be illegal! I will NEVER bank with BB&T ever again!!! DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS BANK!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Railyn D Oct 23, 2007

    I have been with BB&T for about 4 years and I have experienced problems the entire time. Just recently it seemed to get worst. Every week on payday I encounter these so called Fees. They are severely robbing my account and taking full advantage of any opportunity to take money from me. In a months times they will take about $500.00 from me. I so thought I really was doing something wrong and blamed myself. After doing some homework and researching other issues people are having with this same bank I then decided to pay close attention to my account to the very penny. I still encountered the fees. I then called the bank to find out exactly what was going on with my account. My situation would go something like this.. On Wednesday I might have $350.00 in the morning and my account will be debited for $220.00 for my car insurance and $50.00 for gas along with another $75.00 for my kids trips at school or something, but keep in mind the account is not debited until that evening at midnight or the next day, but my payroll check has already hit the account at the same time. The relationship banker stated that I might can see my check, but it's not available. My question to her was if it's not available how come I can access it from the ATM machine that same day... She claims the money that I am taking out of the ATM is a credit they give me. So if you can give me credit why can't you pay my account debits with the credit (that I so easily access from the ATM). She was unable to give me a legitimate answer. Then I knew at that time their practice is not going to work for me. I have never experienced anything like this before. If your money goes into your account before 2pm your suppose to be able to access it right away that very same day. So why don't they cover my bills that clearly come through the same time the direct deposits come through... I am filing a complaint. This can't be ethical...

    2 Votes
  • Ga
    Gary Reidenbach Nov 16, 2007

    Yes the have nearly ruined me too.The same way A suit is in order.

    1 Votes
  • Ap
    April Ippolito Nov 23, 2007

    I was googling to see if there were any other cases against BBT and here they are. I am on my way to the branch today with everything in line. Since May this year there have been estimated 1500 dollars in fees. A few I negotiated to be returned. Some of which I can admit my mistakes in my register. But their philosphy of taking transactions that have not posted out of your balance and then charging you fees - is insane - my error was an addition error where I expected 3 at the most fees I was hit with 4 two days in a row - on a single income family how can you recover from losing 500 a month in fees? Each week I pray that we can get caught up and BAM another fee - It is the holiday season and we don't have money for food and barely can scrape through the week. Another glitch that I have come across is our direct deposit actually comes to the bank on Tues or WED - posting on Friday - but they do not apply it to the balance so how can they take off for transactions that have not posted to my acct and they have not paid for.
    I will be closing my acct and I am willing to enter into a suit. This should be against the law to take so much money from customers - and that is what we are we ARE THEIR CUSTOMERS - I don't feel their way of banking is the right way to do business.

    2 Votes
  • Ap
    April Ippolito Nov 26, 2007

    I went to BBT and the manager was all smiles as I closed my account. I tried to explain to her the way they are doing business is stealing. She just kept telling me that when you swipe your card we take it out of your account. Which DUH I understand that - but explain to me how I might have been short for ONE transaction yet I ended up with FOUR bank fees??? She couldn't. I than asked her why my Direct Deposit wasn't getting posted first - and I was getting a transaction and fee on the same day my deposit went it she told me it is because the transaction tried to go in the night before. The issue is that BBT cannot charge more than 4 banks fees per day - so my transactions were held - to insure they could get their money. My mistake that should have cosed us the most of $105 - as ended up costing me over $900 dollars in the past few months.

    When asked why my direct deposit that shows up Tuesday but yet doesn't post till Friday - doesn't get added in anywhere till Saturday she had no explanation. To me that is a transaction just like any other and it gets treated differently. I am at a lost for words now - angry, mistreated - I thought I was a customer to a bank that had my best interests - BRANCH BANKING and TRUST??? Trust that I will end up more broke than I started!

    1 Votes
  • Ga
    Gary Reidenbach Dec 05, 2007

    BBT bank is robbing me blind.Dirty SOBs

    1 Votes
  • Em
    em27blacktop Dec 09, 2007

    I am a college-age student who goes down to Ocean City, md, has a good time, and comes back to college reality every year. This past summer, I banked with BBT. When I moved back home, I used the phone-banking to check my statement. With 10.01 left according to the statement, I made 4 small charges adding up to 9.80, and called to close the account. Imagine how surprised I was to find out that my account was nearly 200 dollars in the hole! and that I had 3 days to pay it or an addition 30 dollar fine would be enacted. This was a Friday, how the HELL would I magically get them a check by Monday morning?! BBT is a joke, they rob people, straight up rob them, why haven't people gotten together and sued these ###??? We are the reason they exist, no reason why we cant help shut them down.

    Oh, and the ***** on the other end of the phone told me to "grow up and learn how to manage my finances on paper" ... real mature... then she told me 72 hours or more fees and hung up.

    1 Votes
  • Pa
    Patricia Baldwin Jan 09, 2008

    Wow, how many of us are out there? I am also a victim of BB&T's CREATIVE banking. I got charged $105 while my account was still in the positive. They told me I swiped my card which then caused the balance to go $20 negative. The $105 in charges came out a full day before my account went negative. Figure that out. I would have been glad to go and put cash in but she told me they would not refund me the $105 so I stopped my direct deposit and will be going somewhere else. A smaller bank! If there are any left.

    I have printouts and voicemails from the bank telling me that it was the one swipe that affected my account, when I challenged it they then left another voicemail saying oh it was 6 charges that were actually the day before. Well guess what the charges she was talking about were NOT the day before. I have saved all the voice mails and printouts, receipts etc. showing how my accounts keeps dwindling from their fees.

    In summary what they did was held charges throughout the weekend until i accidentially dipped below and they put the charges through in an order where they got 3 fees instead of just the ONE which is what should have happened.

    I am all for a lawsuit. With this many compalints something has to be done about this.

    1 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer Jan 22, 2008

    My husband and I will be closing our account with BB&T tomorrow. I am sick and tired them charging overdraft fees for charges that haven't even posted yet. My deposits go through at midnight, and more than cover the charges, but we still get the fines.

    The real kicker is that they don't care. That is how they do banking. We have been with them for over 2 years, and haven't gotten a straight answer about overdraft fees out of them yet. We're going to NBSC. They do not charge overdraft fees until they hard post to the account, and, here's the AWESOME part: your deposits are credited BEFORE your debits are taken out.

    NBSC will be a banking dream for us.

    I never thought I would EVER say this: I dislike BB&T MORE than I dislike Bank of America!

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    CHARLES GRAY Jan 24, 2008

    I'VE BEEN WITH BB&T FOR ABOUT 4 YEARS, I PAY THEM AT LEAST $1000.00 A YEAR IN OVERDRAFT FEES! THIS IS DUE TO THE LACK OF INFORMATION BB&T'S WEBSITE HAS TO OFFER & THE NATURE THEY PORTRAY IT IN. BB&T HAS CURRENT BALANCE & AVAILABLE BALANCE EVEN THOUGH YOUR AVAILABLE BALANCE GOES DOWN THE INSTANT YOU USE YOUR CARD ,THE CHARGE WILL NOT SHOW UP FOR THREE BUSINESS DAYS.ITS FUNNY HOW THEY CAN SEE THE PENDING CHARGE THAT DAY ALTHOUGH YOUR NOT ALLOWED TO SEE IT. BEFORE YOU KNOW IT (KAPOWEE) YOUR IN THE HOLE WITH THEM FOR $35 UP! IT ALL DEPENDS WHAT THEY FEEL LIKE WITHHOLDING FROM YOUR EYES TO SEE & AFTER ALL YOUR FUNDS ARE DEPLETED YOU GET A SERVICE CHARGE $5-25 WHO KNOWS MINE DIFFERS EACH MONTH, THAT LEADS YOU INTO ONE MORE $35 OVERDRAFT FEE THEY CHARGE. THEY CHARGE THAT FEE AS SOON AS YOU DO NOT HAVE ENOUGH IN THE BANK TO COVER IT. BB&T HAS GOT ENOUGH $ OUT OF JR. I'LL BE UP THERE TOMORROW TO CLOSE THE ACCOUNT! BB&T IS A FRAUDULENT BANK SAVE YOURSELF NOW BEFORE YOUR SAYING WHAT I HAVE TYPED!!!

    1 Votes
  • De
    denise ann cook Jan 30, 2008

    MY HUSBAND AND I USED TO USE COASTAL FEDERAL. WE NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS WITH THEM. THEN BB&T BOUGHT OUT COASTAL FEDERAL, AND ALL OF THE SUDDENWE HAD BOUNCED CHECKS, OVERDRAFT FEES AND STUFF JUST WASN"T ADDING UP. I CALLED AND COMPLAINED ABOUT IT, TOLD THEM I NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WHEN OUR ACCT. WAS WITH COASTAL, HER REPLY TO THAT WAS " MAYBE OUR SERVICE IS A LITTLE DIFFERENT THAN YOU"RE USED TO." THATS FOR SURE!!!!!! I"M NOT USED TO PEOPLE TAKING OUR HARD EARNED MONEY!!!!!!! WE ARE SWITCHING ALSO! THERES NO WAY WHAT THEY"RE DOING IS LEGAL!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gabi Feb 27, 2008

    I have experienced the exact same problem with the overdraft fees. If there is a class action forming, count me in!

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    fatimah Mar 05, 2008

    BB&T is a horrible institution. I, too, called the automated phone service to see if there was enough to pay for a second mechanic job, 45 minutes after I had paid the first time. Since it had credited the first job, I figured the phone teller was super accurate. WRONG! Was charged $35 in overdraft fees because another charge went through... too bad the teller mentioned NOTHING of held transactions. I left some money, too. To top it off, it was a saturday when i found out that my acct was in the hole and there were no banks open. I've sent them letters with no response. There is no doubt that i will be closing my account as soon as i settle on which credit union to switch to. bb&t is the worst banking institution I've ever dealt with! CLASS ACTION SUIT HERE WE COME.

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    Kaitlin Mar 12, 2008

    I signed up for free student checking about a year and a half ago because they offered a free blender and 25.00 to start the account. I use another bank and left the 25.00 untouched (for a rainy day) for a year. I went throught the BB&T drive-thru to take out 20.00 of the 25.00 where the teller handed me the money and I was on my merry way.

    I started receiving these ridiculous statements saying my account was inactive all this time and was informed of charges for an inactive account and NSF?? fees totally around 50.00. Now the charges are somehow around 108.00 because I took 20.00 out of my account??!?!?! The teller never told me my account was inactive...how can they even take money out of an inactive account??

    It's ridiculous and I honestly can't believe this nonsense. I will have to settle it eventually I'm sure because I need to build my credit. I can't believe how I was taken to the cleaners on this one though.

    Has this happened to anyone else? Can they do this??

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jaime Mar 21, 2008

    Friday I deposited More then $1500.00 into my checking account, I also had funds available so my balance was well over this amout. I also posted 2 bill pays online in the amount of $1140 to be paid on Monday. On Monday evening I checked my account online and it was fine no overdrafts. I checked my account on Tuesday and it was fine no overdraft. I checked the account on Wednesday and it shows I was charged a $350 overdraft fee on Monday and a $175 overdraft fee on Tuesday... the kicker of it is my account balance was still positive. I spoke to 2 people on the customer service line and one at the actual bank because I could not understand how I could be charged overdraft fees when my account was still POSITIVE. I was told it was because I did not have the money, how do I not have the money if my account is POSITIVE. And that I needed to use a check register, I check my balance daily why do I need to use a check register.
    Finally I sat down on my own and figured it out, The bill pays I posted on friday where on hold to come out of the account and that money went into hold on Friday not Monday but do not show up online, so anything I spent over the weekend came out of my available balance which was not correctly stated as they take the billpay out also. Needless to say the bill pays did not come out of my balance until Friday and I was charged an overdraft fee for those as well even though, the bank holding those funds caused me to go into overdraft on Monday though it was not stated on my online statement For Monday until Wednesday!

    No one wanted to explain this to me in a way I understood, I was told repeatedly I needded to use a check register, though even If I had used one I would have still overdrafted considering funds did not come out in the order I spent them.

    After adding up funds spent and funds available there was about a $120 difference, so I do admit I should be responsible for some of the overdrafts, But the fact is I was charged in all $600 in fees while my account balance was still POSITIVE per the internet statement, my account balance did not become negative until the 2 bill pays were posted.

    I just need to know if it is legal to charge me nsf fees when even according to them ( I have a satement printout from the branch office also) my balance is not issuficiant.
    My money will not be staying in this bank!

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    A. Roach Mar 28, 2008

    BB&T has consistently and systematically manipulated by account to charge me outrageous ISF fees. They prey on consumers that live paycheck to paycheck. They hold cash deposits, yet the deposits reflect availability, and when you try to use the money they approve the debit only to charge a $35 dollar fee and later tell you the money was not available. They are absolute rip-off artists. I banked with First Citizens for years and never had this kind of problem. I am filing a complaint with the South Carolina Office of Consumer Affairs and the US Attorney General's office. I've submitted a FOIA (Freedom of Information Act) to the SC office of Consumer Affairs to see if there are any other complaints out there. I plan to use any information I can obtain on their 'consumer un-friendly" banking practices to force them to refund the erroneous charges. I would be interested in hearing from otherswith similar experiences and I would be willing to share any information I obtain.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    terry lovette Mar 29, 2008

    i have no respect for this bank, i too question there banking ethics, and feel if u get knocked off your feet due to financial problems they are ready to sweep u under a rug.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stephanie Crowley Apr 02, 2008

    I agree about this bank. If I would of known any of this or how I was to be treated then I would have never opened an account. When we opened one we like all other accounts we put on the overdraft protection. That was five years ago. Little things here and there til Jan. when they said that we didnt have the protection. They took it. I was also told that I needed to grow up and if the money is not in the bank dont swipe the card. DUH. But when phone 24, and the online and even when I went to the bank none of the totals added up. Recently I had some fraud and had to talk to five different people and all they could do was refund some of the charges and not even the fraud since they said the banks collection did it. I have lost in this year alone over $2000 in fees and thats not even including the fees from my actual bills to charge to resubmit. I hate this bank. If their is a lawsuit against it I will be front and center. I am also submitting complaints to BBB, and a few federal offices. I saw on BBB that in the last 12 mths that their has been 24 complaints and that is just those that were put to the corporate office in NC. I am switching to AllSouth Credit since all I have heard and seen is great things.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    melody Apr 12, 2008

    I too have been charged numerous overdraft fees by BB&T. Even though I have a credit card for overdraft protection, I was charged $70 dollars in overdraft fees for $7 dollars worth of purchases, and they said that the reason that they did not pull money from my credit card to cover it was because they can only pull money in $100 increments and I only had $96 available for my balance. So...my question is why can they not pull less than $100 dollars?
    Also, they will deduct purchases made immediately from your account, however, deposits are TOTALLY different. IF you deposit a check before the designated time each day, it is not credited until after midnight. If you miss the designated time, it is not deposited until the FOLLOWING business day after midnight. Even when I deposited a check to cover the overdraft fees and bring my balance out of the red, I was charged yet another overdraft fee for an automatic payment that cleared after my check was deposited but before BB&T actually put it into my account. Do not bank with them.

    0 Votes
  • Jc
    J C Apr 14, 2008

    I have direct deposit. I work for a major company- Fortune 500. YES, HELL YES, I AGREE STRONGLY that BB& T is a rip-off and people should run RUN away from this bank. My paycheck was deposited on Friday, but only $100 was showing online. You can bet I went in first thing Monday to the bank with my deposit slip to find out where my money went...they were holding it until TUESDAY MORNING and the $100 was a "COURTESY DEPOSIT"!!! IT'S A "COURTESY"????????????? TO KEEP MY (MY, MY MY MONEY NOT BBT'S MONEY) FOR 4 DAYS SO THEY CAN INVEST IT, MAKE MONEY OFF IT, AND CHARGE ME FEES ON TOP OF IT WHEN I USED MY DEBIT CARD(THE DAY AFTER I MADE THE DEPOSIT). A COURTESY? TO STEAL FROM ME FOR 4 DAYS IS A COURTESY!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jess B Apr 15, 2008

    OMG! My husband and I have gotten in a million fights over this damn bank!!! He keeps asking me how is this happening. We have the same debits post before the deposit...I have direct deposit at this bank and Navy Federal Credit union. Funny thing is that my direct deposit hits BB & T a day sooner but, I always get fees... I am a negative 257 Right now. The last fee was a fee for being overdrafted... come on.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jay taylor Apr 22, 2008

    bbandt is a terrible bank i really wish all of this had been made public when i first got the account. we really need to help eachother out and get the word about places like this out there.

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    Nick Apr 24, 2008

    BB&T is a terrible bank. They are crooks.

    This is really sad, people rely on their bank for virtually everything and BB&T is essentially stealing from their customers. Look at this message board and there are countless others I found. It is sad, and the government lets them get away with it.

    I was charged $140 overdraft fee when my check register never went to a negative balance. I didn't miss writing down any transactions either. They claimed to have given $100 credit towards the deposited check. But the $100 never actually posted. It just went to avail. balance section.

    I deposited my paycheck Friday evening. The check posted Monday night, AFTER ALL OF THE OTHER TRANSACTIONS. They post debit and credit transactions before any deposits. Even though the deposit should have been considered a Monday morning deposit.
    Nothing like waiting all weekend for your paycheck to post. Then having unfair $140 fee when they should have posted the deposit FIRST.

    1 Votes
  • An
    anonymous Apr 28, 2008

    STOP BEING A VICTIM - COMPLAIN TO THE RIGHT PEOPLE. The more that complain to these sources the more practices will be questioned and hopefully something will be done and we'll get our money back IN FULL! This is not an exhaustive list - but a place to start working on bringing as much truth as possible to the issue to 21st Century banking procedures - and they are not loosing money - they are all making a lot of money - and that bailout for the banking industry ludicrous! Just more raping of the American public!

    Complaints need to go to the following:

    Federal Trade Commission
    Consumer Response Center
    600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
    Washington, DC 20580

    U.S. Department of Justice
    US Attorney General
    950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
    Washington, DC 20530-0001

    The State Attorney General in which you reside - google State of ____, State Attorney General.

    The State Banking Commissioner in which you live - although federal administrative law creates the regulations that govern the industry, each state creates its own commission for enforcement.

    Better Business Bureau for the City in which you live.

    House of Representatives
    House Committee on Financial Services
    House Financial Services Committee
    Democratic Staff
    2129 Rayburn House Office Building
    Ph: (202) 225-4247

    Members

    Chairman Barney Frank represents Massachusetts' Fourth Congressional District. The other Democratic members of the Committee are:

    Rep. Paul E. Kanjorski, PA
    Rep. Maxine Waters, CA
    Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney, NY
    Rep. Luis V. Gutierrez, IL
    Rep. Nydia M. Velázquez, NY
    Rep. Melvin L. Watt, NC
    Rep. Gary L. Ackerman, NY
    Rep. Brad Sherman, CA
    Rep. Gregory W. Meeks, NY
    Rep. Dennis Moore, KS
    Rep. Michael E. Capuano, MA
    Rep. Rubén Hinojosa, TX
    Rep. William Lacy Clay, MO
    Rep. Carolyn McCarthy, NY
    Rep. Joe Baca, CA
    Rep. Stephen F. Lynch, MA
    Rep. Brad Miller, NC
    Rep. David Scott, GA
    Rep. Al Green, TX
    Rep. Emanuel Cleaver, MO
    Rep. Melissa L. Bean, IL
    Rep. Gwen Moore, WI
    Rep. Lincoln Davis, TN
    Rep. Paul W. Hodes, NH
    Rep. Keith Ellison, MN
    Rep. Ron Klein, FL
    Rep. Tim Mahoney, FL
    Rep. Charles Wilson, OH
    Rep. Ed Perlmutter, CO
    Rep. Christopher S. Murphy, CT
    Rep. Joe Donnelly, IN
    Rep. Robert Wexler, (FL)
    Rep. Jim Marshall, GA
    Rep. Dan Boren, OK
    (Vacancy)

    Republican Members

    Rep. Spencer Bachus, AL
    Rep. Deborah Pryce, OH
    Rep. Michael N. Castle, DE
    Rep. Peter King, NY
    Rep. Edward R. Royce, CA
    Rep. Frank D. Lucas, OK
    Rep. Ron Paul, TX
    Rep. Steven C. LaTourette, OH
    Rep. Donald A. Manzullo, IL
    Rep. Walter B. Jones, NC
    Rep. Judy Biggert, IL
    Rep. Christopher Shays, CT
    Rep. Gary G. Miller, CA
    Rep. Shelley Moore Capito, WV
    Rep. Tom Feeney, FL
    Rep. Jeb Hensarling, TX
    Rep. Scott Garrett, NJ
    Rep. Ginny Brown-Waite, FL
    Rep. J. Gresham Barrett, SC
    Rep. Jim Gerlach, PA
    Rep. Stevan Pearce, NM
    Rep. Randy Neugebauer, TX
    Rep. Tom Price, GA
    Rep. Geoff Davis, KY
    Rep. Patrick T. McHenry, NC
    Rep. John Campbell, CA
    Rep. Adam Putnam, FL
    Rep. Michele Bachmann, MN
    Rep. Peter J. Roskam, IL

    Rep. Kenny Marchant, TX

    Rep. Thaddeus McCotter, MI
    Rep. Kevin McCarthy, CA
    Rep. Dean Heller, NV









    House Financial Services Committee
    Democratic Staff
    2129 Rayburn House Office Building
    Ph: (202) 225-4247
    Click here to write to your Representative about issues relating to the Financial Services Committee.

    Senate House Committee
    Committee On Finance
    219 Dirksen Senate Office Building
    Washington, DC 20510-6200
    (202) 224-4515

    MAX BAUCUS, MT
    JOHN D. ROCKEFELLER IV, WV
    KENT CONRAD, ND
    JEFF BINGAMAN, NM
    JOHN F. KERRY, MA
    BLANCHE L. LINCOLN, AR
    RON WYDEN, OR
    CHARLES E. SCHUMER, NY
    DEBBIE STABENOW, MI
    MARIA CANTWELL, WA
    KEN SALAZAR, CO
    CHUCK GRASSLEY, IA
    ORRIN G. HATCH, UT
    OLYMPIA J. SNOWE, ME
    JON KYL, AZ
    GORDON SMITH, OR
    JIM BUNNING, KY
    MIKE CRAPO, ID
    PAT ROBERTS, KS
    JOHN ENSIGN, NV
    JOHN E. SUNUNU, NH

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frank Smith May 06, 2008

    Mr. Wenick who stole my 401-K money? My 401-K money was not in Federated Funds as you were to make me think. Federated Funds told me that my money (401-K) was not in Federated Funds. Mr. Wenick and BB&T why will you not tell me the truth as to what happened to my missing 401-K money? I know who cheated me it was Mr. Wenick and BB&T Bank! Frank Smith 3615 Highspire Dr. Barberton, Ohio 44203.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James May 23, 2008

    bb&T,

    My wife and I have impeccable credit and recently applied for a loan. Your loan manager was m0re like a car saleman and very insulting. I have a 792 credite score and my wife is a few points less and the income to back it. I was trying to get a land loan and the process just kept getting drug on and on . I went to Wachovia and I was approved in fifteen minutes. BB&T was intrusive and I will never do business with them nor will any of my corporations. I was totally insulted by the experience and have never been treated this way.. I withdrew my loan application and yet I was declined in the mail. In fact, I just applied for a $900, 000 constuction loan and it took about 4 hours for approval. BB&T is the worst and will never ever considering doing any kind of business with them.

    J

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James May 23, 2008

    HORRIBLE!!! That is what this bank is.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    judy anglin Jun 02, 2008

    Here I thought I didn't know how to balance my checking accout. I guess none of us do.I deposited after 2:00 on a Friday which should have been posted on Monday Had payments come out on Monday (thought I had Money in there) and low and behold 210.00 in over draft fees Didn't know that I couldn't use my money until Tuesday But I bet they use our money when we put it in the Bank. If they can see charges to our account from our Debit cards before they post surley they can see our DEPOSITS when there put in (THEIR)Bank more than a day in advance . Have banked with BB&T for more than 10 years and have never had this problem. When I told them "Now I understand why I have been hearing so much BAD about them. And said maybe I needed to go somewhere else I was told maybe I should. GREAT WAY TO RUN A BUSINESS If I told someone that in my work and my boss knew that, I would be looking for a new job.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandra Jun 08, 2008

    MY HUSBAND AND I HAVE AN ACCOUNT WITH BB&T AND THEY SEEM TO BE CRAZY FROM BRANCH TO BRANCH. WE HAVE PLENTY OF MONEY IN OUR CHECKING ACCT. BUT WHEN WE GIVE PEOPLE A PERSONAL CHECK THEY WON'T CASH IT FOR THEM WITHOUT A $5.00 FEE. THIS MAKES ME SICK. WHEN A CHECK IS DRAWN ON A BANK AND THE PERSON WHO WROTE THE CHECK HAS 1000 TIMES THE AMT. OF THE CHECK IN THIER ACCT...THEN CASH THE CHECK IDIOTS!!! I ASKED THEM FOR OUR MONEY IN CASH AND THEY SAID IT WOULD BE 2 WEEKS TO GET IT. THEN WE ASKED FOR A CASHIERS CHECK FOR THE MONEY IN OUR ACCOUNT THEY SAID TO WAIT AND TALK TO THE MANAGER...THE MANAGER..HA..HA..HA. WHEN WE MADE A LARGE DEPOSIT INTO OUR ACCOUNT FROM A CAR ACCIDENT PAY OFF HE TREATED UP LIKE WE WERE CRIMINALS AND MAYBE WE FORGED THAT LARGE CHECK. I SHOULD OF NIPPED IT RIGHT THEN AND THERE, BUT DIDN'T. THE NEXT TIME I GIVE A FAMILY MEMBER A CHECK AND THEY DON'T CASH IT FOR THEM, THEY WILL GIVE ME A CAHIERS CHECK...AND I WILL GET MY MOTHER TO DO THE SAME...AND MY AUNTS AND UNCLES...AND MY FRIENDS...AND SEVERAL BUSINESSES WE HAVE A SAY SO IN. RULES MY FAT BUTT, MY MONEY IS IN THE CHECKING ACCOUNT AND YOU ARE MAKING MONEY OFF OF IT AND WHEN I WRITE A CHECK YOU CASH IT BB&T!!! WE DON'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT OVERDRAFT CHARGES, JUST ABOUT THE BB&T CASHING OTHE CHECKS TO PEOPLE WITHOUT CHARGING THEM A FEE. MONEY GRUBBERS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Willy Jun 19, 2008

    BB&T is the worst kind of finacial institution. I recently called to make a customer service complaint. While I was on hold I got their "Commercial" all about how they started out as a po little bank in a po little town and never forgot thier roots. How important customer service is to them and how well they treat you. All this so you'll believe they actually care about you. What a crock...

    After paying off an auto loan I called several times to inquire about the title. The person on the other end of the phone acted like I killed thier parents for calling. They were not just rude, but openly hostile at my questions. BB&T doesn't know what real customer service is, that's why they play that stupid " we're just a po little old bank" crap while you wait for the next person to insult you on the phone.

    Will I be a BB&T customer in the future? What do you think?

    0 Votes
  • Re
    ReAnn Rig Jun 25, 2008

    I see I am one of a million like you all with the same mess. They have ruined my small business and I am about to sue myself. They are ridiculous with their fees as I just checked my balance today with an overdraft total of $970 accumulated in two days, ALL THE WHILE MY CHECK CARD WAS WORKING AND THEY WERE PROCESSING BUSINESS CHECKS.

    They are horrid, I hate them, I hope they ared sued out their noses and we need to file with the better business bureau, and other places like your editorial page of the largest paper you can find in your city.

    I also was told by the bank that this the way all banks are going to be doing business now, and that they are one of the "first" who hold checks to make sure they are cleared, all the while they allow transactions to go through on your account in order to charge you a fee.

    Wow, I am smoking mad at this one and sorry for us all to have been burned by them. God help them on judgement day.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem