Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Banks Bank of America edd debit card
More

Bank of America - edd debit card

S
Author of the complaint
2:56 pm
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Subject: EDD Prepaid Debit Card

Dear California State Senator's and Assembly Members.. As some of you may know! I am a former California State employee of the California State Senate and the California State Assembly. I am currently on Unemployment Insurance. I have a major issue with the options we have as an unemployed state worker currently receiving Unemployment Insurance. As you know EDD is contracted with Bank of America to deposit funds on a prepaid debit card. Below, please find my issues. Maybe after reading at some point in the coming years you as our California State
Representatives you will be so inclined to write and introduce a Bill that will allow different choices for EDD deposits. We should be able to have our funds deposited in the institution of our choice. It appears our funds are not protected on a Bank of America Prepaid debit card.

My statement:
Bank of America is a joke.. It should be name Bank of Rudeness... I went to get money out of my account around 12 noon on August 20, 2017. Upon getting an inquiry I realized my account balance was not correct.

I went to the car and called Bank of America and was told my card was used in Stanton and Anaheim CA. on August 19 & the early morning of August 20, 2017.

Now, the issue that I have with this is; I've always had my debit card, I have not given my PIN number to anyone and I have not been in Stanton or Anaheim in a few months.

However, Bank of America is telling me I had to have given someone my card and PIN number. I was told today that Bank of America will not reimburse me my unemployment funds. I filed a police report with my local sheriff department and they in turn will file complaints with the cities where the fruad occurred. There were 3 or 4 inquiries before my account was debited each time. You would think to Bank of America that would be suspect activity and would call me on the first day or at the least send me an email like every other bank or credit union. They didn't do anything to even try to prevent or protect my from the fruad the next day.

Not to mention the woman @ Bank of America in both the call center that took the report and in my local branch in Diamond Bar Ca. was extremely rude.

While I was in Bank of America on August 22, 2017 there were other people in the bank complaining about fraud on their accounts also. Something is just not right.
I feel as though I was financially RAPED.. Once by whoever stole my funds and secondly by BANK of AMERICA..
My Bank of America claim # is 6043559

HOW SAFE IS OUR MONEY?

Sharnette Clemons
[protected]

Sent from my iPhone. Sharnette Clemons

ADVERTISIMENT
Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply

More Bank of America complaints & reviews

Bank of America - Incompetent Department and Service
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Bank of America - claims department
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Bank of America - fraud and misrepresentation, abuse of customers
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Bank of America - bad customer service
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
13 comments
Add a comment
J
Dec 28, 2021 2:56 pm

Bank of America EDD customer service representatives suck a$$. Sorry to place it like that, I called twice today second lady answered me but placed me on hold, mind you that there’s so much screaming in the background I understand some work from home. Apart from that, BOA or EDD should fly to the customer reps, a nice working phone that blocks off background noises and can make their voice stand out clear.
This lady placed me on hold, but then sounded like she picked up the phone, I noticed it and started saying.. hello! Hello! Anybody home! And out of no where she hung up. And some sound like robots speaking 😭😭
Not saying all are the same, some are rude and as well I’m rude in return, on the other hand lady I talked to few days ago was so kind and helpful.
That’s all from my part, get them better phone systems, come on..

Helpful?
0 0
J
Dec 28, 2021 2:56 pm

I’m over here cleaning my ears, trying to pop my ears to be able to hear better.. speaker.. back to my ear.. saying sorry repeat that please.. sorry say that again.. 😭

Helpful?
0 0

I HAVE BEEN DISPUTED ALL MY TRANSATIONS SEND JULY2020 AND THE CLAIM IS APPROVE AND THE STILL DONT PUT NOTHING AVABLE IAM GOING THROUGH HARD SHIP

Helpful?
0 0
T
Aug 23, 2021 2:56 pm

How do you put someone on line for 9hrs, transfer them to all these departments, making them verify each time, and still REFUSE TO PAY OR GIVE THEM THEIR MONEY. I had no idea how hateful this institution is, worse than the Terrorists they condemn. You deny a woman, her child her money and consecutive 2 months and then make me wait on for 9hours yet I provide everything you asked and then take me to tour damn Western Union department that wants a few and when the fee is waived, you refuse to give me the code so I can go to withdraw all my money. Like how how heartless and corporate murderous are you people? I curse the day I allowed to use that prepaid card. You are the terrorists here abducting and refusing to pay out our money.

Helpful?
0 0
T
Aug 23, 2021 2:56 pm

The MOST HORRIFIC INSTITUTION ESPECIALLY BANK OF AMERICA TO HANDLE OUR PAYMENTS. My goodness! I don’t know where to begin from. I hope anyone working for this departments (BOA) receive a life long karma. They denied me my EDD card to access my payments from JULY 15, 21 - end of August and never sent the card. Then they tell you that if you want your emergency funds, western Union can get them foe you. Those are the DEVILS. I won’t forget being put on phone on hold on the August 23rd 2021 for 9 hrs STRAIGHT. 9 damn hours, they even asked me to send them my verification ID to [email protected] put me on hold for another 2Hrs and at the end of the day dropped my calls. I now understand how one is really treated in America. I don’t know if it’s done maliciously, intentional, racially because of my lay name, I will never know. A total of 11hrs, 2 months and still deny you the money you are awarded.

Helpful?
0 0
D
Jul 08, 2021 2:56 pm

On August 17th 2020, I found out that someone applied and was recievcing benefits in my name. I immediately called Bank of America to canceled the card that was issued. They assured me that the card was cancelled and that no other card would be issued until EDD had the corrected address. I was informed not to file a claim on the funds taken out yet until EDD updated my address. In December 2020, EDD informed me that they have corrected everything and I should call Bank oF America andc have thenm expide me a car, so I did, tjhats when I learned that they issued another card on August 21 2020 that went to the wrong, fraudulate address and with it was $11778.58 on the card. In October 2020 after all the funds were spent, Bank Of Americs fugured out that this was fraud and withdrew the money putting that account at a negative balance of $11778.58. I was finally able to get a card sent to me in March of 2021. They also went ahead and put back the $11778.58 but the account was all ready overdrawn by that much so it was eaten up. Then I was told to file a claim, I did, it was approved. the total amount spent by these crooks was $25527.79. They finally reimbursed me the $13749.21 but not the $11778.58. I am still waiting.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Nov 04, 2020 2:56 pm

I'm receiving unemployment and Edd temporary froze my account due to I'd verification BofA claims my account was closed putting my balance at negative 20, 000 saying debit adjustment from Edd which I contact Edd they said they never debited anything had no clue so I contact BofA for them to say it was them and it was a problem they were trying to fix and it will be fixed in upto ten days it's been a month which I have deposits from Edd that BofA took putting it against that negative balance .I call every day to get no help BofA puts me on hold one day 8 hours then in the middle of conversation they hang up in my face one lady at BofA argues with me and I tell her she's very rude and she says look I have money you don't good luck with ur problem!

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jan 31, 2021 2:56 pm

did they ever reply to u? or correct your balance?

Helpful?
0 0

How long did your ID verification take with EDD? I sent mine in a week ago... still waiting. BOA is no help. They denied my claim that someone took 740$ out of my account via their atm, without ever taking a statement from me or sending me the fraud forms. I’m at my wits end with EDD and BOA.

Helpful?
0 0
P
Oct 23, 2020 2:56 pm

Worst experience ever, called to do a 1 time Western union transfer and they messed up and sent to another state called all week no help all they did was another transaction with out my permission with out me knowing until i called and asked myself . On phone for 2 hrs or more trying to fix it nothing was ever fixed and now ihad to claim and can take up to 45 days for me to see the money back on card and also got charged 30 fee for something i never recieved . Worst experience. Please becarful because they do things incorrectly and with out your permission and still charge

Helpful?
0 0
M
Aug 23, 2018 2:56 pm

I have been dealing with a similar issue. On 8/14 called check status on my ESD debit card my option was to pay $10.00 to get it sent out on two days. Two days passed nothing arrived, on the 3rd day I called and Bank of American I formed me due to fraudulent activities my account was being investigated and the funds would be held and unable to be released to me. In the mean time they accepted another direct deposits from EDD 32 days worth of pay and they are treating me like a criminal. Yes they are very rude and will not take ownership of solving the issue for me... Never even received the debit card ... EDD states they can’t help me until Bank of America closes the account and the bank claims it’s not up to them... anyone have any suggestions...

Helpful?
0 0
J
Jun 20, 2018 2:56 pm

Yes I went there and they insisted that I provide the amount on that account, I did have it. They than told me they couldn't check that account. Than the counter person got up and wen't to the rear and had the amount I stated. The rudeness and crass harassment is unbelievable. Than they asked for my Bank Of America account, and I also had it. But again the balcony person was very unpleasant and sardonic. The employer I worked for had passed away, so it was not like I didn't wan't to work. But they sure make it seem like they are doing you a great favor. OK it happened three time, same cashier same Branch. This is how we are treated there. But hey this is the new attitude of service.Ounce on the month of may and ounce in June 2018. If they don't want to serve the California EDD card they n, and their crassness is no surprise. should be unlisted. But this during the present Administration in no coincidence. The State of California should investigate and fine them.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Mar 14, 2018 2:56 pm

I've been having similar issues as an EDD recipient! BofA's awful website will NOT let me create an account for MY CARD, and I've given them my social way more times than reasonable only to get nowhere. Attempting to sign in, make a username, or even just reset my password is plagued with nothing but errors and non-existent emails. I cannot access my account from home except over the phone, and usually I end up just taking it all out except the last few dollars because I CANNOT deal with how rude the bank tellers are to those who have EDD/SDI accounts. This is flat-out discrimination!

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

1336 complaints
450 resolved 886 unresolved

Bank of America contacts

(added by reviewer)
100 N Tryon St., New York United States
ADVERTISIMENT