Aspen Dentalunsatisfactory work

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

My mother went to aspen dental in orange Connecticut, she went in they gave her a price of 1200.00 and they agreed ok she ask for dentures ok all was well until she received her dentures and they were extremely to big for her mouth and what ever chemical they used on her dentures made her face swell up. So she called aspen dental and told them her problem and they brushed her. They told her there was nothing to be done, now she received her credit card statement and saw they charged her card 1700.00 and now she have dentures that look like horse teeth and they have a bad smell to them the dentures smell rotten. And think that is wrong for them to treat their new customers. I feel they should help and solve this problem by giving all that money back or fix the dentures and give some of the money back. Now i know this is a win win situation and i am not gonna sit back and let them scam my mother like this so someone needs to get back to me as soon as possible i will be forced to get the professionals involved. The patient name is mary johnson and if you need to get in touch with any one contact me her daughter amanda johnson at this e- mail address [protected]@comcast.net and i hope to hear from someone very soon. Thank you very much because aspen dental you made my day by scamming my mother.

Responses

  • Ch
    Christian Smith May 21, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sorry to hear you got scammed as well. I am in agreement Aspen Dental is the WORST. I am 29 and I had to get a full upper denture, it has been nothing less than a painful experience. To start, they were all nice when I went in and came up with a treatment plan, went over the insurance coverage and even gave me a 5% discount for paying my portion ($1,680.00) in advance. It seemed great, until the day of the extractions. I got a lady who did not speak english to well, spend 4 hours in the chair getting teeth pulled. She numbed me only to walk away for about 20 mins and then started working, even after I told her I wasnt numb anymore. After 4 hours of gripping the chair and the assistant urging her to give me more numbing shots, I looked like I went 25 rounds with a boxer. Now I had 14 teeth extracted at once, she sent me on my way with Tylenol to ease the pain. I ended up calling back 2 hours later only to wait another 2 hours to get her to write a prescription for something stronger. Fast froward to a week later, the swelling went down but I looked in the mirror and I as well had horse teeth and they were crooked. When I went back for my check up and to have my stitches out, I saw yet another dentist (an ongoing saga of dentist musical chairs), I was then told no my lip is crooked that is what is throwing off the look. It has been 3 months now, and without going into everything, it is the worst. Every time I have to go for an adjustment, I get a new dentist who doesnt pay any mind to me, doesnt adjust them properly and I end up coming back the next day in more pain then what I was in. All to hear from everyone this is normal, and push you in an out of the office. If I have to hear their annoying "Chart Up" one more time I am going to scream, it feels more like a dental farm than a dental office. So besides all the headaches, I get yet one last surprise from Aspen, the bill. They are telling me now I owe another 1,200.00 but cannot explain why. Going through my insurance company and seeing the explanation of benefits, I see what the insurance company paid, what I paid and what aspen has to write off. With all those figures, they owe me $1,000 back. Yet again in the true "Aspen Shuffle" I get a new answer each time I talk to someone. Today its "we haven't received the check from the insurance and once we do that, we can apply our write offs and I also see an outstanding claim for the xrays and exam... To which my response was, what xray and exams, they were free....
    This company is beyond absurd and the worst scam out there. I am giving them 5 more days then I am getting the attorney general involved. The downside is I already paid for the dentures so I have to deal with them until I get the perm ones in 6 months, but I refuse to have anymore work done.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    walt yarnall Oct 23, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had a pre-approved credit card from Aspen Dental in July 2007 when I first entered their office. The maximum was for $5500. After examination the total cost of all dental work would be about $8800. I also provided them with my dental insurance card. I signed an authorization which allowed Aspen to take the maximium of $5500 from my credit account as work was being done. After 3 visits, I really did not like the personnel there and canceled my future appointments / work. I received a bill from Apsen Dental via GE Bank and made a payment of $259.00. I then received a statement from my dental insurance that indicated the insurance had paid most for my initial appointments but a small amount was due from me. However, I kept receiving invoices from GE Bank for $259 payments. Apen Dental withdrew the entire $5500 credit max I had and placed it in their bank, having me pay the installments on work that was not going to be completed and Aspen billed my insurance for the same work! I have been threatened daily by phone calls from GE Bank as Aspen Dental refuses to return the money.

    1 Votes
  • Di
    diane michael Dec 17, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had a bad experience with aspen dental, also. Rather than go into what has happened and is happening,I wondered if anyone has taken them to court . I don't know how to get out of my psituation with them. I was charged $2500,00 up front and am too dissatisfied to go further with getting my permanent dentures with them. Yes they took my money and give me a run around. They are only supposed to be given 60% up front. They took 100% using Care Credit. I can't deal with alone. I need HELP!

    2 Votes
  • De
    Debra Koski Jan 21, 2020

    @diane michael I am going through exactly the same thing now.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    mia Feb 16, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Aspen dental is the worst. I had the same problem ill fittin g and loose dentures. Swelling in my face due to dentueres and alot of pain.They kept giving me the brush off and when I said I wanted new dentures that fit better they refused. The location is in Medford Mass.mass.. Very nice when they are taking yor money very uncooprative when there is a problem or complaints about ill fitting dentures. I have not gone back to them. VERY POOR SERVICE ND NO COMPASSION OR UNDERSTANDING FOR THE SUFFERIBG YOU ARE GOING THROUGH. Stay as far away from them as you can.

    1 Votes
  • Ki
    Kim Mar 31, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband, sister and myself were all once patients at Aspen Dental. We have all since been to another dentist and had to have all fillings that were done replaced due to the improper techniques they use. My fillings were placed by the dentist placing the filling material and then pushing it in with her finger (no instrument!). I know someone who used to work at an Aspen Dental and have heard horror stories. Most of the denists they use are right out of Dental School. This is their first "real" dental job. I know that the office manager as well as the dentist receive bonuses for how much production is done each month. They don't care about their patients, they only care about making money. If you go to an Aspen Dental you will have nothing but problems in the future. All of their work needs to be replaced shortly after being done.

    0 Votes
  • Tm
    tm Apr 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also am having the problem with the dentures and the humiliation of the fact that at the oral surgeons office mine could not be seated on the lower they were like horse teeth also it has been 2 months with no teeth how humiliating. I was told by the dentist that I was making to big a deal out of nothing because my mouth would not close on the wax try in he tried to push my jaw shut and caused alot of pain in the jaw was told to rub it out and the teeth would not come back from the lab like this it is the wax that makes them like this. NOT true at all got them back and they were horrible could not close my mouth at all have pictures of it and witnesses as to what all happened. The office manager got me another dentist who is now working on my teeth and made me a new set was suppose to get them this week I have a family gathering with alot of people there but as usual my dentures are not in yet and so I am waiting to hear if I will have them I told them I have them or I call the news for action and my attorney I have had enough this is very degrading. Please let me know about the attorney general and what is going on I pray I get a decent set of denturs I paid for them 2 months ago almost this is very unprofessional. I also told them I am now on a fixed income you would think they would do their best and make it right not to mention refund the copay for the humiliation.

    1 Votes
  • Wa
    Wanda Smith Apr 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been going to Aspen Dental for 2 years now. I first started going when I was in horrible pain due to mass decay. I went in for my x-rays and exam, sat through the consult and decided on going with the cheapest dentures. After extractions, I was in quite a bit of pain. Who would have thought having 28 teeth pulled would have hurt? Seriously, you don't have to be a genius to figure that one out! Of course you're going to be in pain, but once that period of time is over the healing begins. I decided to upgrade to the comfilytes 1 month after the extractions and delivery. I have never been happier. Sure, it took time to get the teeth adjusted so I could eat without getting sore spots..but that's going to happen with any denture. Have any of you ever thought that maybe going with the cheapest denture could be causing that problem? You pay for what you get. Stop complaining and go back to the offices you go to and get your adjustments. Dentures are not meant to be the perfect fit the first time you place them. Stop complaining and go somewhere else..I guarantee you that you'll be complaining about the next places you go to. Aspen targets those who have not been to the dentist in years...not necessarily a family dentist. If you have children take them to pediatric dentists. Stop your complaining and go somewhere else!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carey Trotter Apr 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I don't understand what the point of complaining about different things prove. The Aspen Dental by my house is great! They have a great staff and a fantastic dentist. Have you ever thought about trying a different office? It kills me how many people show up to the Aspen offices only because they offer free exams and x-rays...and never intend on doing any type of treatment. Seriously, stop wasting there time and get jobs!

    -5 Votes
  • Fu
    fuaspendentallias Aug 04, 2018

    @Carey Trotter your so clueless its sad, i had 25k treatment plan from them and they ruined my teeth ! you gave yourself away because nothing you posted had to do with anything but aspen is great and fantastic, lol get a real job loser other than making cash from aspen to write five star reviews ! aspen is going to pay for their unethical behavior! oh some people are retired or disabled you fool so cant work, idiot!!!

    3 Votes
  • Ka
    kathy Apr 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i believe Wand and Carey are 'plants' and are covering for their employer which is Aspen Dental

    3 Votes
  • Di
    Dianne Jun 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had my appointments from Aspen Dental canceled twice & when I made the third one I left work early to go & have them tell me I had no appointment. I left & told them I was not coming back...I'm so happy I read all your complaints & saved myself time, money & and probably a messed up mouth.

    3 Votes
  • Su
    sue Aug 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    aspen sucks! I work full time so its not the free I was looking for...I went in to get a tooth pulled and they couldnt handle the job. they kept telling me i wasn't feeling any paid is was just pressure, I KNOW WHAT PRESSURE IS and it was pure pain. so on a friday after with the nerves exposed they tell me they cant do anything more for me to go find a oral surgeon, well I went the whole weekend in pain ...I left a number of messages and no call back. its been 1 week today and they still havent called me. I called 3 different locations and left messages for help and none of them called me. I ended up having to go to a oral surgeon who didnt take my dental insurance to have the job done right.

    -3 Votes
  • Gr
    Greg Nov 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I went to the Aspen dental in leominster Ma, Here is my list of complaints.

    1- They didn't inform me that my first appt. was a check up, I went in to have a cleaning not a check up.
    2- Since I didn't get my cleaning I scheduled one, when I went to it 1 week later after leaving work early I arrived and they informed me that I didn't have one scheduled, I showed them the card they gave me with the date and time and they just said "ooops, they must have forgotten to put into system.
    3- I then scheduled an appt. for new dentures (uppers only). I arrive for my appt and they tell me I have to leave my old ones there for 1 hour, having not been informed of this earlier, I told them I couldn't just leave them but would make a new appt.
    4- I went to new appt expecting to leave them for 1 hr and now they inform me I have to leave them overnight which would have left me with no upper teeth in work the next day.
    Because they new I was upset they were able to do it in an hour after all.
    5-After going though 4 wax fits they told me if I didnt here from them in a couple days everything was all set and they would order them . One week later I called them, oooops again they never called me for a 5th fitting and they said they couldn't order until I approved the final wax fit.
    6-I showed up for the final wax fit, They brought in dentures asked me to try them, they didnt fit... She said while check out the problem try the lowers on!!! Lowers???? I didnt have lowers, they had me trying on someone elses dentures!!! They finally found my wax dentures, they looked all right. Now I wait, I originally was told it takes 4 days to get the perminant dentures after being ordered, at last appt they said 7 to 10 days. but they said they would rush them because I am going on vacation in 5 days. Lets see what happens next, I am sure something else will go wrong.

    I have since canceled my sons extractions, My wifes cleaning and my daughters cleaning. I also will not continue with them again.

    -1 Votes
  • Ch
    Chad Nov 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Aspen is horrible. Charged my Mom for dentures that do not fit. Adjustments don't help. Staff is unprofessional. Dentists that can't get jobs elsewhere work there. STAY AWAY. I had problems when I went there too. I am going to sue them!

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Cathy Nov 28, 2008

    I too am a very dissatisfied patient ("customer") of Aspen Dental. Have been going thru heck with these people for almost a year. Too many problems to list here, still haven't gotten the money back I deserve, and they are refusing at this point to reimburse my insurance co. and I never accepted their crummy ill fitting dentures or partials. Still have their crummy ill fitting "temporary" teeth, only because I cannot afford to go elsewhere until I get my problems resolved with my insurance co. They are theives who only care about the "bottom line" like most corporations. PLEASE if you are having problems with them, do what I have done and contact your state's Attorney General. Let them know what a scam this place is and then maybe someone will do something about them! I live in Ohio and would like very much to take them to court, but cannot afford an attorney right now. Anyone know about a class action suit going on? I would certainly join in!!!

    0 Votes
  • Tt
    ttoon Dec 21, 2008

    Well here's one for you. I have never been sooooo humiliated in my whole life. I had to wait 1 hr. for my denture (they were making a new one and needed my old one for the impression etc.) so had to wait w/o dentures for 1 hr. The horrible part was going back into the waiting room and sitting there for 15 minutes, then the receptionists holds up my denture in a clear plastic baggy and yells my name so the entire waiting room looks at my teeth in the bag. I never!! My new teeth look awful and then they said the only way they would make new ones is if my family comes in to look at the wax try on. Crap. I had the same swelling and thought I was allergic to the denture material. They are ill fitting and I am sooooo dissatisfied. I could cry. Don't know what to do. I am 55 and Dont' want to smile or see anyone. It was SOOOOO expensive. I am from Ohio.

    2 Votes
  • Vi
    Vince Feb 23, 2009

    Aspen Dental is a boiler room and they must be in competition with all of the other Aspen Dental locations to see who can bring in the most money. They should be closed down.

    2 Votes
  • Allie at Aspen Dental Apr 10, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Aspen Dental is committed to providing all patients with exceptional service and care. Megan, we sincerely apologize if your mother's visit to our office was anything less. We want to do everything we can to address your concerns. I have forwarded your message to a member of our Patient Satisfaction team who will get back to you shortly. Megan, we are committed to your total satisfaction and we look forward resolving any issues quickly and courteously. Thank you for letting Aspen Dental serve you.

    -4 Votes
  • Fu
    fuaspendentallias Aug 04, 2018

    @Allie at Aspen Dental i have major concerns why you hide all your bad reviews and practice illegal conversion in your finance departments, time to picket !!! my life is ruined because of aspen!!!

    1 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs. B May 07, 2009

    OH MY WORD!!! I feel so sorry for everyone posting here. Just reading your complaints boils my blood! I'll be sure to warn everyone I know. My husband works for a union in Massachusetts so we have health insurance through the state of MA. but live in NH. Any dentist I choose here in NH is pretty much out of network . I'm told if I choose "Aspen Dental" in NH I will have complete coverage. After my last cleaning from my "out of network" dentist I was discouraged by how little my insurance covered the bill. I am truly satisfied with my dentist and all the employees there... very professional, caring and thorough. I just thought it might be wise to choose a dentist in my network to have better coverage. The receptionist told me to have my husband contact the human resources dept. of our insurance company to upgrade to a better plan because she knows my dental plan has better options. In the meantime, while I'm looking into that, I have a friend who went to an Aspen Dental office in Concord, NH and told me to never use this company. She said it's like a clinic of unprofessional foreign speaking dental students and that she felt like a guinea pig. Probably the reason one poster has stated here that Aspen is like a "dental farm". Thinking my friend just had a bad experience with a particular dentist, I mentioned to the receptionist of my dentist that maybe I'd be better off taking advantage of my dental insurance by going to Aspen Dental. With the look on her face you'd swear she bit into a lemon! She said: "oh no, you don't wanna go there". So, thinking my dental office (of course) would never recommend I go anywhere else, as not to lose one of their patients, I came here to this website just to see if Aspen Dental was as bad as my dental office led me to believe and my friend who personally went to an Aspen appointment. All I can say is this... As sorry as I feel for everyone here for their barbaric experiences (and I truly do feel sorry)I thank you all for posting your warnings for others to be aware! I would rather go broke paying 100% out of pocket with my current dentist who is a true professional than to go to a bunch of barbarians at Aspen Dental for free.

    To "Allie at Aspen Dental",
    You're truly wasting your time by posting your "Aspen Dental is committed to providing all patients..." blah, blah, blah crap. With all these complaints against you no one with half a brain would choose Aspen Dental! Also, anyone posting here pretending to be a satisfied patient of Aspen Dental is very shallow... we know who you really are!

    1 Votes
  • Tr
    Trent448 May 13, 2009

    I've been seeing commercials for Aspen Dental a lot lately.

    I was thinking about going to them to talk to them about a new set of dentures. The key word is 'was'! After reading all of these stories of what people went through, it's a wonder that any state would license them to do any sort of medical practice. I think I'll try some where else before I even think about going to Aspen Dental.

    Trent

    3 Votes
  • De
    dentalblunder May 17, 2009

    I wish I had read all these postings earlier. My wife had some procedure done there in early Feb 2009 and we are still fighting the dispute with the "CARE CREDIT" credit card company that my wife was lured into signing up for availing the 18 mo interest free financing since her dental bill was going to be around $1000. Guess what, they told her that the procedures would cost around $750, and said, the max it would go up to was $1000. She was made to sign a $1000 receipt during her initial visit and she was told that would be held on her file until the final charges are determined. During her second visit, she had to sign another payment slip for $500 and she really thought it was for the "actual" charges and that the office would return her $1000 once they determined what her next and final appointment would cost... During the final appointment, she came to know that she was being charged another $200 and that is when she realised that her credit card company already showed her balance to be $1500 and that this company was overcharging her for some antibiotics injections that was administered to her during her previous visit. Although she approached the office manager and spoke to him, she was told that these things sometimes do happen and that it was just lack of communication on their part to have not told her... Each injection cost around $35 and she was given 23 injections of just pure antibiotics ARESTIN... It looked like they just made a whole lot of money since they must have been one of those dentist offices re-selling this and making money out of it...

    GE Money credit card company rejected our dispute stating that the ASPEN DENTAL had come back saying "PATIENT WAS AWARE OF CHARGES". That is the response we got for our whole page of dispute argument... You can see that GE MONEY rep was also not very much interested in digging deaper... for known reasons... she must have thought that we would just get tired and pay up... We are not sure what to do next, but we are going to redispute... and possibly take it to the next level and report this issue to the Attorney General's office... I am also looking into reporting/filing a complaint against this dental practice ASPEN DENTAL, 265 CHELMSFORD ST, CHELMSFORD, MA - 01824.

    For those of you who are smart enough to review this website before making a visit, please do read all the above complaints and save yourself some hastle... STAY AWAY FROM THEM... RUN AS FAR AS POSSIBLE !!!

    1 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs. B May 21, 2009

    If it were me in this situation and I was unfortunate enough to have regrettably gone to Aspen Dental, I would seriously not pay the bill and put that money, instead, on hiring a lawyer! With sooo many complaints against them, there just has to be a lawsuit filed against them somewhere and I would join that lawsuit. It's ridiculous how this company is getting away with such corrupt practices while so many people are getting taken with these Care Credit and GE Money Credit cards, and so forth, not to mention their quality of work. Action can only be taken against them if enough people file complaints, legally. I hope everyone who is posting their bad experiences is taken that step. Your posts here are extremely beneficial to warn others but you must take legal action. Taking them on may seem insurmountable, but if enough people file complaints it can't be ignored. I wish the best for everyone and hope this company shuts down and has to pay out millions to everyone they screwed... pardon the language.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    matt Jun 16, 2009

    Aspend get's a D- grade from the BBB. I did not discover this until after I had set up an appointment and did my x-rays and exam. Even after this discovery decided to role the dice, however 5 days after the exam one of the fillings that were to be replaced fell out and I was in severe pain. I called them and they informed me I could not be seen until by scheduled appointment 2 weeks later. That put a fire under my behind and I was treated that day by a real dentist...by the way for $39 less then I was begging to pay at Aspen. Thank you Aspen for treating me like an animal from the beginning.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs. Clark Jul 10, 2009

    Wow do I feel better! I thought it was just me, didn't realize a site like this existed. I have been a denture wearer since I was 19 years old in 1967 so I am a well experienced denture wearer. Needing a replacement after my dentist passed away, I chose to go to what was then Upstate Dental. I had a new top of the line set crafted and loved them. After 5 years, in 2004, a front tooth broke so I returned for repair only to find Upstate had been bought by Aspen. After taking all my information as they could not locate my patient profile from Upstate, I was informed that the tooth could not be replaced as my denture was 5 years old. Had I known that "rule" I would have not told them the age of the denture. In spite of the fact that I had no problems, I would need a whole new denture. I tried to explain that I would just prefer the tooth replacement for now, I would take their advice but I would need about 6 months to save for new ones. They continued to refuse saying the dentist refused to authorize the repair. Feeling like I had been coerced into the expense and not knowing any where else to go, I went ahead with the work. I was assigned to a dentist who immediately got to work. After evaluating my mouth he asked why the teeth on my denture were crooked and not white. I explained that my original dentist made my first denture in his own lab to replicate my own teeth and that is how my replacements were made also. He said that it was about time I had a straight smile. I said that I preferred them to look natural, not perfect. Well, you guessed it! I ended up with the previously described"horse teeth", way whiter than my lower teeth and set into so much acrylic I gagged every time I tried to wear them. Mind you these were promised to be the top of the line, not the cheap ones! It has now been 5 years and they are in my closet in a cup. I have never been able to wear them no matter how many refittings and adjustments. I am still upset because I was handed many stupid explainations of " there's nothing wrong with them", you just need to adjust, and the final "you signed off on them" that I decided to save myself the stress by just forgetting about it. I am still angry over the 1500$ loss. Please anyone deciding to use Aspen dental should to be aware of their strong sales technique and lack of concern for customer satisfaction.

    1 Votes
  • Je
    Jean Takarada Jul 13, 2009

    Gee wiz...I recommended my spouse go to Aspen Dental because I had gone there for the free x-ray and evaluation, and he is in serious need of those at this point. They didn't charge me, which is why I suggested he use them, but what peeves me is that I had gotten a deep cleaning and fluoride treatment there, and noticed there was still stain and/or tartar buildup on my lower front teeth after the cleaning. Also, the girl who did the cleaning never gave me any water to rinse, but kept giving me mouth wash, which just created more saliva and I ended up swallowing some of the mouthwash. This is all very minor compared to everyone else's complaints here, but it was still annoying, and the attitude there seems to be overly casual and fast-paced (Fairfield, CT). My spouse is also on a serious road to getting gum disease and will need thorough treatment, but now I will be making sure he never gets it done at Aspen Dental, he will just be going for today's exam!!

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    KarenL Jul 21, 2009

    Reading these complaints is absolutely ridiculous. First of all, everyone of you should realize that if you don't take care of your teeth, you are the only one responsible for your problems. Dentists are not magicians - they're simply doing the very best they can with patients who have neglected their mouths to the point of (most of the time) having to REMOVE ALL YOUR TEETH. How can you expect any man-made teeth to be as perfectly fit to your mouth as the ones you were born with??? Nothing will ever feel the same as the teeth that have been in your mouth for years.

    Secondly, EVERY SINGLE DENTAL OFFICE is only as good as the dentist who is working there. It doesn't matter if it's a private practice office or an office like Aspen Dental. There are great dentist, mediocre dentists and really bad dentists - just as in every other profession on this planet. If you have a complaint about your particular dentist, then complain about him/her - NOT THE ENTIRE COMPANY.

    And every one of you who complains about being "lured" into Care Credit, grow up and take responsibility for yourselves. Keep track of your charges and ask questions - just like you should NO MATTER WHAT YOU'RE PAYING FOR OR WHO YOU'RE PAYING. If you don't understand a charge, ask what it's for. Don't sit back, make assumptions and rant about it later. BUT REMEMBER: everything costs money. If you need antibiotics, additional anesthetic or anything other than what the "usual" routine calls for, someone has to pay for it, and because it's your mouth, YOU are responsible for the payment.

    THE BOTTOM LINE IS: Aspen Dental didn't make you have dental problems, they make you neglect your mouth so much that you need to have all your teeth pulled, they didn't make you need dentures, they can't control how your body reacts to any of the products used in dentistry, and it's not their fault that you're in pain, annoyed with yourselves and need to have services that they offer. SO, would you yell at the oncologist who would help to treat your cancer, or would you thank him/her for trying to help you?

    THE ANSWER IS:

    THANK THE PERSON WHO IS TRYING TO CURE WHAT YOU HAVE DESTROYED. They are helping you.
    BE PATIENT. You didn't destroy your teeth in one day so you can't expect to completely fix them in one day.
    BE UNDERSTANDING. They are doing the best they can. If they aren't, tell them and go elsewhere.
    ASK QUESTIONS AND EDUCATE YOURSELF. You are your own responsibility.
    DON'T PROJECT BLAME AND ANGER ON OTHERS FOR YOUR NEGLECT. It just makes you look really bad.

    -2 Votes
  • Mk
    MK44039 Jul 26, 2009

    Karen which Aspen Dental do you work at?

    -1 Votes
  • An
    Andrea O. Aug 11, 2009

    I am actually very surprised with all these complaints. Last year I was in my final semester at CCSU when my wisdom teeth started to come in. I was in horrble pain because they were inpacted and coming in at all angles. I couldn't even eat the noodles in soup. I had to wait a week for my insurance to kick in, but no one would give me an appointment sooner than a week later.
    I was able to make an appointment with Aspen. Thursday they took some x-rays and gave me painkillers, and Friday I was in for surgery. They removed all four of my wisdom teeth within half an hour. My recovery was seamless.
    I went to the Aspen Dental office by West Farms Mall in Farmington. Maybe thats why? I don't know. I didn't have any trouble with them. The payment process took twice as long as nessesary, but I don't doubt that it was my insurance carrier's fault. My insurance was trhough my school, and they were horrible. Everytime I called it took them 25 minutes to find me in the system.

    1 Votes
  • Cm
    C Manns Aug 16, 2009

    To MK44039,
    WHO ARE YOU TO JUDGE? How dare you make wreckless comments as you have about "neglecting their teeth"!!! Have you ever heard of auto accidents? Gum disease, or any of the other oral diseases that can send your teeth into decay? Oh, and your comment about "they can't help it if you're in pain" - THATS A LIE!!! Have you ever had a pair of oversized, misfitting dentures? Let me tell you, they are far worse than what you started with. These people are calling themselves "professionals". They are suppose to FIX the problem, thats what a customer pays for!!! If they cant fix it, then they need to make a FULL refund, and let that person go some where else that can make the dentures that fit and are comfortable. These "oversized" teeth seem to be quite popular at Aspen. I myself received an upper that was 3X the size it should have been. The lower plate didnt fit at all!! I went over 5 months with them trying to make these dentures work. I have never gone through so much pain and aggravation in my life!! There was constantly new rubbing spots, my upper lip was so huge, it was chewing my lower lip and making them a constant cracked, split, and bloody mess. I could not bite a single piece of bread with these teeth without them trying to flip out (and I even had them glued in with adhesives). Finally, it came to the point that I had enough. I went in and demanded they replace both top and bottom plates, or they would be hearing from an attorney. They agreed, and after 6 wax samples, and 3 different dentists, I have gotten the new set. I can bite into food now - the upper plate is normal size - the bottom plate fits better, but still has sore spots needing fixed. When you call to have them grinded down, they can get you in ONLY when their schedule is permitting (Professional dentist tell you when you get new dentures to just come in - no appointment needed, they must know how badly it hurts and can cause damage to the gum area) hmmmmmmmm. The bite is WAY off on these new dentures, but I am ready to call it quits and just go somewhere else. This company is a joke, and DEFINATELY should not be in business!!! OH, and just for MK44039 information, I did NOT get the cheaper sets of plates!!! Check your records - I'm sure you work there!!! Also, I did pay cash, otherwise, the payments would have been stopped a loong time ago!!! A word of advise to anyone needing dentures - Go to a REAL dentist!!! You think youre getting a great price with this company, but in the end, its no cheaper, and all the pain and headache you will go thru with Aspen is not worth it. I am dealing with the one in Valparaiso, Indiana - DONT GO THERE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Kb
    kbranska Aug 18, 2009

    I have not been to a dentist in 7 years but good teeth run in the family, so I didn't worry to much. I brushed and flossed and when I finally go insurance I made an appointment with aspen to see what's going on with my teeth. And just like I expected I only needed cleaning and 5 cavities replaced. But also they said all new patients need an oral cancer scan which my insurance didn't cover, but it was $60 so I thought that shouldn't be a problem it can come out of my gas money and i would pick up a few shift at work later that week. (college student poor as hell) Then they said my wisdom teeth had to come out! and I had to pay 1000.00 for that! They said since the wisdom teeth didn't penetrate my gums yet they would have to cut the gum and extract them. I never had an operation so I said I would just put that off for later when I had cash to pay for it maybe in a couple of months they said no problem. Once I got there for my 2nd app the wait was rather long, and I had to pay up front $185. I was told at check up it would be $40 +change the first visit, I thought ok maybe they just want to do all my cavities at once so I gave them my card and didn't take a second look at it. I waited a bit longer after that and finally I was called in to the office of musical chairs, I sat in the first one as two girls chatted away about their weekend, and one of them flossed her teeth right in front of me. Finally one left and the other started scraping at my teeth with the bended needle on a stick tool, but not before wasting my time with useless conversation I wasn't surprised when I tasted blood I doubt she was paying attention. Just to point this out this girl was younger then me, I'M ONLY 22, just turned a month earlier and she was 21 meaning she couldn't have been in school more than 2 years. And I don't see how she did it but when she polished my teeth after, she only did half the teeth I don't know if she was trying to save on polish or she was blind but it looks unfinished and now I will probably have to go and those whitening strips to whiten my teeth my self to even them out.
    Anyways, after that torture (for she wasn't gentle) I went back to the waiting room licking the raspberry disinfectant off my teeth(would have been nice if I was given a chance to wash it off) and waited some more to get my cavities done, I was numbed which I never have been before in my life but I allowed it this time not feeling in the mood for pain, but little good did it do me I still felt every little thing as they drilled away at the side of my teeth (side cavities). The dent assistant that was suppose to drain my mouth of saliva and water and debris, little good did she do as I struggled not to choke and not swallow everything, and as they sat there over my mouth they discussed their private life I didn't pay attention I was to busy trying not to drown in my own filthy saliva. After that horror the dentist with her back turned to me wrote on my chart and said I had two more next time. I was so happy she was done with me I didn't think twice that I paid in full, and ran for the desk to schedule the next visit with my mouth finally numb to a point where half my lip would not move. And no they didn't tell me the side effects of the shot or how long it would last. I was standing at the desk when the girl at the desk said their computers where down and they would be calling everyone once they were up to schedule appointments. I said ok and went home as a migraine began developing on the way back home. The rest of the night I spent numb and bent over the toilet throwing up with a migraine. I don't know what they gave me but I doubt it was suppose to be for humans.

    Ps it's been a little over the week, they still haven't called me, and one of the fillings fell out the day before. Now I'm just royally pissed, I want my money back for the next two fillings they are suppose to put in and my x-ray photos I don't want them anywhere near my mouth. And after reading these reviews the fillings they replaced I bet they didn't need replacing, my mom has a filling that was put in 17 years ago and its still ok.
    These people need to be shut down. The one I went to is in stroudsburg PA.
    BE WARNED

    2 Votes
  • Ha
    haiming Aug 20, 2009

    after 3-5 minutes eye inspection, aspen gave me a solution costs $1300 for curing periodontal even though they know i do not have bleeding or other symptoms. kidding me?

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    MissionImpossible Aug 21, 2009

    I am an extremely dissatisfied "patient" of Aspend dental. After reading through hundreds of complaints which echo mine, I am going to make it my mission to bring their fraudulent and unethical practices to light and bring them down. Anyone with ANY inside info or complaint, please post it! Don't allow this criminal practice to continue. Class action lawsuit coming!

    2 Votes
  • De
    Debra Koski Jan 21, 2020

    @MissionImpossible I have same problem. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Dm
    dmoschella Aug 25, 2009

    I got my dentures 1 yr ago and ever since I got them they don't fit properly and the lower denture has broken 2 times already. I have been into their office to have it repaired and I've been in for a relign and I'm still not satisfied at all..
    Now today it broke again and I'm really disgusted with their work..

    2 Votes
  • Oa
    oaroxy Aug 25, 2009

    I am a dental hygienist and a long-time dental assistant. I am absolutely apalled by the horror stories that you all have been through. I work at free clinic for low income families in Illinois (all the dentists are volunteers) and we do MUCH better work there than what these people do at Aspen...and we don't charge a penny for our services! Anyways, I am really sorry to hear the awful experiences that you all have been through and it's very unfortuante that there are terrible people such as those that are in the dental field, it honestly is embarassing.

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    lovemygeek Aug 26, 2009

    I am not sure if anyone will read this since it seems like old complaints, but here is my situation. About 2 years ago I went to Aspen Dental (Easton, PA) to get teeth pulled and partial dentures. I only have 2 complaints from this...1st when they pulled my teeth the novocaine or whatever they used didn't last so the last 2 teeth they pulled hurt like the dickens and when I got my dentures they didnt have the proper amount of teeth. I signed off on the paperwork and it stated the correct amount of teeth and that they fit properly which at the time they did. While all this was going on with my teeth I was in the process of moving. I had my records transferred to the Pottstown, PA office and received my 2nd set of teeth there. The only problem I had with this set was the color was off and the teeth weren't centered in my mouth. The dentist at this office made new impressions and I got my new set with no further complaints and they didn't charge me. Thank goodness since I maxed out my CareCredit card. I do have to say I cannot trust Aspen Dental to save my life. I took my teenage daughter to Aspen Dental in Easton, PA and the dentist literally scared the hell out of me by telling me she needed her wisdom teeth removed or one day she will wake up and not be able to open her mouth at all. He also said she needed braces. As most of you may already know insurance doesn't cover it or covers very little. Today, I took her to a new dentist closer to my house (not Aspen Dental) and the dentist said in no uncertain terms does she need her wisdom teeth removed and since braces are out of the question there were other options for her teeth crowding which would solve her issues with her wisdom teeth (only 1 is impacted if I am not mistaken). Thank goodness I never paid a specialist to pull her wisdom teeth out of haste or spent myself into bankruptcy trying to pay for braces treatment. I hate dentists to begin with but would definitely stay away from the "dental farms" like Aspen Dental or at least get a second opinion. It would definitely be worth it.

    1 Votes
  • Fa
    fahmah Sep 03, 2009

    I have had problems with aspen dental from day one - when the girl did not know how to do the full mouth x-rays and my gums bled for 3 days. At that point I should have run. They also could not do the cleaning at the same time as the x-rays - because you had to have another appointment for that. They are notorious for that. At the next appointment for my cleaning - they told me I had all kinds of deep pockets and they had to do a deep cleaning and I had to buy this rinse, etc. When I was checking out - the lady in front of me said she was paying for a deep cleaning and was buying this rinse - exactly like they told me. They must have been telling everyone that. This is the good part of the story - it gets worse. I made an appointment for my son in the morning for an appointment 2 hours later - which they confirmed. He got there for the appointment and waited 30 minutes and asked when he would be taken. They said they didn't have an appointment for him. Then he left and the lady called me at home and said 'ooops' he had an appointment - their mistake. I made him another appointment one day - he was in the background and the receptionist was on the phone - and we confirmed the appointment for the next day - my son said ok and she said ok. The next day he arrived for his appointment and waited 20 minutes. He went up to the desk to ask when he would be seen - and they said - you don't have an appointment this morning - you have one this afternoon. When the appointment was made - I was on the phone - the receptionist was on the phone and my son was in the background and we all agreed on the same day and time. She called me after she told my son he didn't have his appointment and I said 'that's not funny' - thinking she was joking and she was dead serious. My son also had his teeth whitened there - major mistake - don't do it! His teeth were the same before and after. They told him to use this special toothpaste and they would get whiter - so I never said anything initially. But what they told me is his teeth were whitened one shade. His teeth were not whitened - they probably took the money and ran with it. Well - there's so much more - when I went in there for a cleaning - the hygienist said she would not clean my teeth until I signed a piece of paper that said I would come back every three months. I questioned her on that - and she got extremely annoyed at me. I just signed it so I could have my teeth cleaned - but before she started - she said 'I might not be able to finish cleaning your teeth because you asked too many questions and took up all your time.' I said 'what does that mean - you might not be able to finish cleaning my teeth?' She said you might have to come back to have them polished because look at the clock - you wasted all your time. I looked at the clock and my watch and her clock was about 15 minutes fast - but I didn't say anything - so she would just clean my darn teeth and I could get out of there. At this same visit - when she first came in she said 'your top right teeth all have deep pockets and you have bad headaches.' I said, my top right teeth are fine and I don't have headaches. She said, 'well that what's it says on your record.' And I said, "I think you have the wrong records." She said she was going to do a deep cleaning and I said there's nothing wrong with my teeth. She begrudingly looked in my mouth at my teeth - and told her assistant to fix the file. I could go on and on...I have seen people walk out of there screaming and yelling at the staff. There is something seriously wrong with this place and someone needs to taken action to fix it. I followed protocol with my issues - I went in and spoke with the office manager and I also emailed Aspen Dental which emailed me back and said the 'customer is always right.' The office manager didn't do anything - just listened to me. After another issue I realized that this needed to go further so I emailed the Better Business Bureau to tell them of the situation - which they are working in. Yesterday in the mail I received a letter from Amrita Reddy, DMD, PC and Dr. Catherine Murphy that says it serves as written notification that they must terminate our patient provider relationship with me at all of the Aspen Dental locations and I am no longer considered a patient at Aspen Dental. This is from the Nashua, NH office. Beware!

    0 Votes
  • No
    NoMore22 Sep 08, 2009

    I have only dealt with Aspen for cleanings in fact I was looking up their number and this page popped up. I was dreading going back but have not been able to find a replacement on my employer's insurance. My first experience was bad - before they even looked at my teeth they lectured me and warned me about how it had been too long since I saw a dentist and that they would have to do alot of work...WELL...there was NOTHING wrong with my teeth so they simply wasted my time being rude and lecturing. I take care of my teeth. But they did sell me 20 dollar toothpaste. My next visit the girl was rude and messed up my xrays so I had to do it all over again. Lead bib or not I dont like being exposed to that much radiation.(by the way she forgot to ask if I was pregnant but I let that go since I wasnt) THEN I got another lecture about how bad my teeth are even though I brush and floss and used that stupid 20 dollar paste! I asked about a filling that was painful(not done there) and the dentist made it sound like I was being a baby - xrays later showed the filling is sitting on my nerve but he still wouldnt fix it. THEN I get a bill in the mail charging me a large fee - I called my insurance and asked why they didnt cover it and the dentist office has mischarged me (including the extra xrays which I did not mess up!!) Monthes later I actually got reimbursed for what I have overpayed that year...forget what I overpayed last year...
    Glad I came across this site so I know not to deal with them anymore...

    2 Votes
  • Tr
    tracy222009 Sep 08, 2009

    My left upper wisdom tooth is completely errupted but half broken. I wanted to get that tooth removed as it gives pain. I do not have insurance, i browsed for dental discount plans in lansing, michigan area and found out that mostly all the discount plans do cover only Allcare dental and Aspen Dental near to my place. Both of these companies have bad reviews and lot of complaints on the complaint board. No one wrote anything bad about how their dentists do the procedures. All that was written is about the time they make us wait and the fraud about credit card and insurance and for the prepaid money taken for preparing the dentures. They do offer free exam and xrays. Is someone charged for the free exam and xrays by these companies. I do not want to take their payment plan or their credit card. Even they give me a list of procedures to be done, i would like to get only that single tooth removed and pay for that tooth fully after the extraction. Will their be any problem in this case as i pay for that single tooth completely and their is no insurance for them to charge as well. Please let me know as soon as possible as i need to decide on this fastly because of the pain. Can someone recommend me to a good and cheap place to go for the single extraction. I am ok to take any insurance or discount plan which costs less. please email me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Dissatisfiedtotally Sep 11, 2009

    I went to Aspen Dental because of some close people to and in my family raved about them. Well they were okay in the beginning. I had to have some teeth pulled, the front. And they were great. I got my temporary which lasted 2 months then it broke, they were good in repairing it. It was fine far about a month then it broke again. They fixed it sorta. Then this last month it broke in the same spot and was hanging on by a small piece. This happened on a Saturday night, so I called Monday to get in to have it fixed and all the said was it will be a week. Keep in mind, I wasn't able to eat anything at this point. I told them that I could eat anything, but that didn't matter. I emphasized that it was an emergency. Still nothing for a week. I called again on Tuesday, I got the same run around. The office Manager called me and was able to get me in a day earlier than the original date. Well in the mean time my permanent on came in. I got my permanent one finally in. All I got was a doctor coming in and asking if it is ok and fit ok. I didn't get anything like a REAL dentist would do or say. Then, I had an appointment this past Thursday, and as usual I am there 5 minutes early, there was no one else in there. While waiting to be called, three other people walked in. They were called before me. I sat there for 45 minutes and within that time 2 other people walked in a went before me. I told them that I had to leave for another appointment and they said that the doctor had an emergency case. That just made it worse. That person was one of the ones that came in after me. I told them that I will find someplace other than there to get work done on me. I have never seen any place treat people they way they do. It like moving cattle through the slaughterhouses.

    1 Votes
  • M0
    M094 Sep 28, 2009

    I feel so bad for all the people that went to Aspen Dental, no one has anything good to say about this facility. I live in CT & visited their office in manchester & I got to say that it is a very up to date office. I only went in for an evaluation & after getting my x-rays done the doctor mentioned that all I needed was a deep cleaning, so I had to set another appt to come back for this so called deep cleaning. The person at the front desk then said that Aspen would charge my insurance over $2000.00 & that I would need to pay about $1100.00 out of pocket. I have never been to a dentist office where I was told such a thing, my face just dropped, I asked what was this for, & they just told me that it would be for a deep cleaning. I started to think for a bit & decided not to go back for this so called deep cleaning. Looking around this office helped me understand why they were charging so much $, everything their is high tech, so in fact every patient that they have helps to pay for this equipment, why do they need to have an HD monitor near the patients chair. I told some people about this dentist visit, & before I said anything about the charges, they already knew what office I had visited, wow amazing that this company has not been shut down, no one has anything positive to say about them. Again, sorry too hear about the bad experience that everyone has had, but we must all keep complaining about this type of practice in order to make sure this comes to a stop!

    1 Votes
  • Ga
    gabrielleisabelle Oct 30, 2009

    After 5 minutes they told my friend she definitely needed a root canal. They seemed "shady" so she went and got a second opinion. They said nothing was wrong with her tooth, she just had a bad sinus infection!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem