The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
American Mall Model SearchSCAM, UH NOT!

Okay stupid ###, THE AMERICAN MALL MODEL SEARCH IS NOT A SCAM! I interned for them so I know everything about them. The only reason people think this is a scam is because you have to pay for professional pictures. YOU NEED PROFESSIONAL PICTURES TO BE IN THIS INDUSTRY! Also, sorry ### ### thinks that this is a scam because they didn't get picked to get a contract. Sorry your a ugly talentless person. That's on you. Get signed or not you still get to keep the portfolio you payed for. So all you pathetic losers who keep saying this is a scam can shut the ### up, stupid ### ###! Sorry your cheap ### can't afford $150.00 for some pictures.

Get a life, give up on acting/modeling obviously it isn't your dream. If you are one of the people that didn't get picked, BOO ###ING HOO! Ugly ###. Get some talent and maybe you'll get chosen.

Responses

  • Wj
    wjinsea Apr 09, 2018

    You DO NOT need (Professional photos) to submit to a modeling agency. Everyday people submit snapshots, which are actually preferred for the less made up more natural look, via snail mail and e-mail and to agencies. If it costs you money it is a scam.

    0 Votes
  • Dn
    D-nice-the-LADY Nov 12, 2011

    EVERYONE PASS BUT NOT EVERYONE HAS THE MONEY TO PAY...BELIEVE ME EVERYONE PASS

    1 Votes
  • Dn
    D-nice-the-LADY Nov 12, 2011

    Hey Im intern and like any other people I wonder too... however they will boost it up more, But they do seek real talent. As an intern Im professional and will say this. Make sure your pictures consist of more than 5 facial expressions and makeup your own creative poses. I can say this the photos are not what it may be worth but just depends on who is taking it.

    0 Votes
  • In
    Interested_Mom May 05, 2011

    Thank you so much! I was about to take my two year old son up there right now! I've been trying to find someone to cover my work shift because they only told me last night about this.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    simplysimpson Apr 26, 2011

    I have modelled and I am sincerely telling you that NO middle man is needed. Simply call the Department stores in your area, Niemans, Nordstroms, Macy's ..etc, and ask "What agencies do you book your Models through?" Then, call the agencies and ask "What days are your Open Calls?" Go to their Open Call and IF they want you, you will NOT pay one single penny. THEY will give you lists of photographers in your area so that you can do test shots with them. You are helping build their portfoloio and they are helping you with Free pictures. This is how it's done, on the up and up. It's a simple formula and it works.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shellbelle55 Mar 31, 2011

    I dont get it though what people have said they already professional portfolios and still had to pay ... doesn't make sense but for legal purposes... they have convered all the grey areas with perfect wording. Thats all legalities.

    0 Votes
  • We
    wes4 Feb 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are not a modeling agency! They go to malls all over america and look for potential models. I went to one and there was about 20 people competing and only about 10 went through. If they wanted the money they would have passed everyone. And my sister didn't make it through but said she would be good for the camera and not runway. So they paid for her portfolio. They take the portfolio that is your to own with all copyrights and submit them to modeling agencies like Ford, Elite, etc. THEY ARE NOT THE MODELING AGENCY! They already told us this. And I have been trying to get into modeling and everyone is saying that I need a portfolio! And now I have one that is professionaly done and for dirt cheap. They usually cost around [protected] $. I paid 150. And it was a great experience because I had to walk a runway 2 times, sing in front of 60 people and have a little speech. Plus they GAVE us shirts. Didn't have to pay.

    1 Votes
  • Je
    jenrose Jan 22, 2011

    Okay, I thought for a minute this wasnt a scam but by the way you speak this is totally unprofessional, honey you know nothing about the industry. Models and actors have been discovered without paying a single penny for there pictures. With American Mall Model Search having people intern for them with people like this it makes it seem worse than a scam! GOODBYE:)

    4 Votes
  • Tr
    TRINA UPSHAW 1 Nov 25, 2010

    LISTEN... I JUST ENTERED MY 2 DAUGHTERS & MY FRIENDS SON IN THIS MODEL SEARCH IN SIERRA VISTA ARIZONA. I MET ALOT OF REALLY COOL PEOPLE, ESPECIALLY ASHLEY... SHE HAS HELPED MY KIDS SOO MUCH. U PEOPLE CAN CALL THIS A SCAM, BUT HOW CAN U SAY THEIR RIPPING U OFF IF U GET PICTURES THAT U PAY FOR????????? ITS NOT LIKE U DONATED MONEY TO THEM & GOT NOTHING IN RETURN! I KNEW THAT I WOULD HAVE SOME EXPENSE FROM THIS, I AM NOT IGNORANT OF THE FACT THAT IN ORDER TO MAKE MONEY YOU HAVE TO SPEND MONEY!~ ALL 3 OF MY KIDS GOT CONTRACTS, AND I ORDERED THE PICTURE S TOO... ILL KEEP U POSTED OF THE MONEY THAT THEY MAKE FROM THIS 150.00 EXPENSE... PEOPLE SHOULD PUT A LITTLE MORE EFFORT INTO THEIR KIDS... AND THEIR FUTURES... IF U DIDNT HAVE 150.00 TO SPEND, U SHOULDNT HAVE SIGNED EM UP! I STAND BEHIND THIS COMPANY 100%, AND FEEL THAT U SHOULD KEEP UR MOUTH SHUT ABOUT IT BEING A SCAM, ESPECIALLY SINCE, U QUIT B4 U GAVE EM A CHANCE TO FULFILL THE CONTRACT OBLIGATIONS... LOSERS SIT BACK & TALK ###, WINNERS GET UP, SPEND A LITTLE, GET TO WORK, AND MOVE ON WITH THEIR LIVES, SOOOO SUCK IT UP & QUIT WHINING... & IF UR GONNA COMPLAIN, ADD UR NAME TO IT... AT LEAST HAVE A LITTLE BALLS... MY NAME IS TRINA UPSHAW!

    0 Votes
  • La
    LawLady Nov 24, 2010

    The American Mall Model Search is the nations's largest scouting tour, producing models for fashion industry, and promoting talent to the film industry. Founded in 1982, AMMS has over 25 years of experience in discovering new young talent and launching new careers. The AMMS has placed models and actors in top jobs for Runway, Print work, TV and Film. Our winners have been placed with premier agencies like IMG, Ford, Elite, Model Productions, Trump Model Management, and Next Models. Since most new models have no resume' or portfolio, the AMMS provides new talent across the country with the following:

    1- A photo shoot, digital portfolio, copyright to all photographs.

    2- A fashion show, DVD of performance

    3- Talent segment to demonstrate their talent, show off their look, and develop their portfolio, which is required in all castings.

    The AMMS makes it abundantly clear that it does not guarantee success for any contestant. In fact, modeling agencies select models based on various criteria such as: whether the model is photogenic; whether he or she shows different emotions; do they have 'the look'?; and the modeling agency's need in the industry at that particular time. The AMMS does not expressly or impliedly indicate that a contestants' performance or participation in the AMMS with result in the award of a contract. In fact, The AMMS clearly states in its Contestant Orientation booklet that:

    Only the top 25% of those auditioning in each age category will go on to sign contracts with national agencies. Win or lose, the contestant will get to keep the pictures from the photo shoot, along with the full copyright release to their photos. Anyone who is serious about pursing a modeling career would need everything that The AMMS is providing for a reasonable fee. The AMMS offers a service; contestants pay a fee for the service; the promised service is delivered.

    The AMMS prides itself in its work product and the services that are provided. Our public relations and legal department have therefore issued the following statement to clarify any confusion that may arise. Although laws differ from state to state, generally speaking, "Fraud" is defined as follows:

    Any act, expression, omission, or concealment calculated to deceive another to his or her disadvantage
    ;specifically : a misrepresentation or concealment with reference to some fact material to a transaction that is made with knowledge of its falsity or in reckless disregard of its truth or falsity and with the intent to deceive another and that is reasonably relied on by the other who is injured thereby

    Fraud misrepresentation means:

    an intentionally or sometimes negligently false representation made verbally, by conduct, or sometimes by nondisclosure or concealment and often for the purpose of deceiving, defrauding, or causing another to rely on it detrimentally


    "Deceit" is defined as:

    deliberate and misleading concealment, false declaration, or artifice


    The AMMS does not participate in illegal activity of any sort. If a model contestant is unsuccessful in the search, the result of his or her performance should not be interpreted as an improper business practice on the part of the AMMS.

    0 Votes
  • Wj
    wjinsea Apr 09, 2018

    @LawLady So, by definition...it's at the very least deceit.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    prxb Nov 23, 2010

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR THAT POST!! I GOT CHOSEN! & THOSE PICS I PAYED FOR ARE WELL WORTH IT!! I NOW HAVE A CONTRACT TO SIGN AT HOLLYWOOD ON THE 30th ;)

    0 Votes
  • Ry
    Ryder-Die-4-Dicey Nov 12, 2010

    The weird thing that happpend with my boyfriend and I was that besides the fact that we were chosen to move onto the next round..we were never once told, in all the phone conversations we had with the "agents", to expect to pay any amount of money. I have been scammed with jobs before and the first thing you hear that should be a sign to run is "You ONLY have to pay this much.." I have friends in the industry and not one of them has had to pay to model. If they want you, they will pay you. It's so sad to meet and hear the announcer talking all this hype then looking into the eyes of parents with small children, asking for money knowing it's not legit. It's really sad. And I'm glad I saved my money!

    2 Votes
  • Kr
    Kristiboo Oct 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was wondering if this was a scam because it's too good to be true, it seems. I guess not, lol...Thanks for clearing that up. And ya'll really need to chill out with the bashing on this chick who wrote that. She obviously really cares about her job and she's just defending it. So if you don't get chosen don't take it out on her, go punch a wall or something.
    -Kristi

    -3 Votes
  • Ti
    tianicolex3 Oct 15, 2010

    hmmm. well, actually I did get picked to be an intern. They said that they thought I was perfect for them (Im 5'9 & a size 2, whos been trying to make it in this industry for a long time.) Once I got picked, to move past the first round & saw you had to pay $150 for apparently the credentials & copyrights for the pictures.

    So I asked the "judge" - So, if I go and get you my headshot & a couple of other pictures in my portfolio, you shouldn't cost me a dime?

    Her response- No. You need OUR pictures in order to COMPETE. We need to see how you work in a photoshoot setting, and since you dont have much on your resume, the most we could do is let you pay in 20 dollar intervals.

    So I asked another question- Well, I have been involved in LOTS of things like this (Barbazon, John Robert Powers) where I've gotten through, (along with everybody else who auditoned) and they said they really like me & such, but, in order to move on, you need to pay us. Ive put way to much money into maybe's and classes.

    Her response- Well, were definetly not a scam, because were giving you the option to walk away, and its not for classes.

    I mean, I give them credit, they have the speech down. But Im sorry, if a REAL modeling angency, (which they are not, they claim to be sort of a "middle man", who will send your stuff out to the real agencies) but, if a real modeling agency was as interested in me as they said they were, they would NEVER just let me walk away. Also, I do understand that pictures cost money and your originals will probably cost you something, however, i dont think you should HAVE to get them taken with this company. For a real agency, You would NEVER pay them to represent them. In the "real world" if you are good enough, they wouldnt even bother with the little kids and people they weren't interested in, they would never let you walk away, and they know that if you have what it takes, they get paid when you get paid. Their goal is you get YOU hired, so that hopefully, they will get profit from it.

    Also, aside from the adults, all of the young people that worked for them, were exactly like this. Rude and not very helpful. Excpecially once I said I wasn't paying. So, from personal experience, if you really wanna make it, skip them, and contact the agencies yourself.

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    model.pro Sep 16, 2010

    She said intern"ED"...as in, not currently. No, she shouldnt have said what she said in the context that she said it. I agree. BUT...they have no control over what a teenager says or does after they are no longer working at the stage. Atleast take that into consideration. Attack the specific person, not the agency.

    2 Votes
  • Mo
    MOMOFTHREE74 Sep 15, 2010

    WOW THEY HAVE PEOPLE THAT TALK LIKE THAT INTERNING FOR THEM...WOW WOW WOW, HOW EMBARRASSING...I HOPE YOU DIDNT HIRE HER MALL OF AMERICA MODEL SEARCH...

    3 Votes
  • Ca
    carol92 Sep 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    bitter and angry much? with classy people like this working for them, who on earth would get involved? i'm surprised the company doesn't sue you for your comments even though you are defending them. this review certainly wouldn't make me jump on board. you sound like a bitter, angry, egotistical, self-absorbed, pathetic excuse for a human being.

    5 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.