Acer / Aspire 5570zfaulty laptop, faulty customer service!

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I bought an Acer laptop less than 4 weeks ago. Their initial problem i had was my internet connection that kept on logging in and out by itself, i called Acer several times but still have not rectified it. To my uttermost dismay, i switch my laptop on one day and the screen went blank, i had to send it to Acer only to be told there is liquid spillage on the computer, though i have no kid at home and i am very sure i didn't spill anything on it. The service i received was so bad, the acer staff were so dismissive, they insisted it was from my end, and they had to send it back or i pay for the repair(over half the amount i bought the laptop) immediately. I am so surprised at this and will and can never buy an Acer product again!!!

Responses

  • Th
    the oz Jul 27, 2010

    I purchased my son a 5570z just afte they were released on recommendation that was the bigest F##king mistake I have ever made a far as purchasing a computer and I make sure that everyone I know and in conversations with total strangers just what I think of ACER computers ( THEY ARE F##KING CRAP). Here's basically what has happened to my son's piece of crap since date of purchase, after 2 weeks WEB CAM [censor] itself along with the CD/DVD writer, put it in to be repaired 4 weeks later get it back ( so much for all the work for his HSC that is on the hard drive) still not working properly contact ACER service department TOTAL WASTE OF F--KING TIME. Turn computer on boots up shuts down boots up again and so on just kept looping, back to the repairers again this time NEW HARD DRIVE when returned all work for HSC that I could not backup gone, what really pissed me off was the fact that we had informed them that we needed some specific files and they confirmed to us that there shouldn't be any problem retrieving them as the hard drive had not crashed it was looping through the software, then why replace the F##king hard drive just fix the software ALL TO HARD!!
    Got it back from the repairers again then the RAM [censor] itself . The battery died NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY, the screen turned blue, green, rainbow stripes now it's the MOTHERBOARD. At what point do ACER take responsability for thier product because as far as I'm concerned I believe it to be a case of major FRAUD and a class action should be started not only against ACER but all major companies that don't stand by there products and their customers and put the blame on everyone else. THE PLAIN SIMPLE FACT IS THIS ONCE THEY HAVE GOTTEN YOUR HARD EARNED CASH THEY JUST DON'T GIVE A RATS [censor] ABOUT ANYTHING OR ANYONE

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    garyinnevada Jan 11, 2010

    I love my Acere 5570Z! This is such an amazing machine that I went out and bout 2 more for my twins. Never had a single problem in the 14 monthes Ive had them. I think you people are complete ###s and dont know what you are doing or just making up stories because you have no life and nothing better to do.

    Anyone looking to buy one of te best Laptops on the market, this is the machine to buy. They are very fast and reliable and a joy to use.

    Thanks so much!

    0 Votes
  • Ac
    AcerOwner Dec 01, 2009

    Got myself an Aspire 5570Z and I actually love the thing.. Bought it used for $125 and immediately dumped the Vista, upped the RAM to 2GB and put Windows 7 Home Premium on it, runs like a champ.. Their batteries suck though, I need one, but you can grab one new off Ebay for $36.. I work at a computer repair shop and I will agree that some Acers suck and have their issues.. But so does every other manufacturer. HP/Compaq with their NVIDIA chipsets (No post, no nothing, wireless dying etc, look for the "Limited warranty enhancement" if you don't believe me.. ) Toshibas have issues with powering on/POSTing.. Dells have issues with powering on and POSTing.. Almost every manufacturer has these issues.. And broken power pins? That isn't the manufacturers problem, that's mishandling the laptop and either tripping on the cord or abuse, they don't break by themselves guys and girls!

    0 Votes
  • La
    laptopfixer Nov 18, 2009

    Am trying to fix an Acer Aspire 5570Z for a work colleague. Up until now I thought the problems were all related to Vista and viruses, but after reading these comments I'm beginning to suspect the hardware too. Main issue is the computer is very slow and unresponsive, takes minutes to do even basic tasks. Also like others have experienced, the laptop seems to run very hot and the vent on the left hand side is almost too hot to touch. In addition the left mouse button doesn't function at all, either have to tap on the touchpad our plug in an external mouse. My colleague is thinking of cutting her losses and purchsing a new laptop, if she decides to go ahead I'll advise her to look at other brands. Have also delt with another couple of Acers that were flimsy and didn't stand up to life on the road, main problem there was with the lid hinges snapping and the signal to the screen cutting in & out when the lid was moved. There's an old saying that you get what you pay for, which in this case seems pretty apt.

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    Synie Havok Nov 01, 2009

    Oh and a couple of keys on the keyboard will only work if pressed repeatedly semi-hard.

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    Synie Havok Nov 01, 2009

    Bought an Acer Aspire 5570Z a couple of years ago now. Shortly after purchase the charger port broke. They would do nothing to fix it so I had to pay 200 to get it repaired myself. Now the mouse pad doesnt work and I have to plug in a wireless mouse to be able to move the mouse around at all. The speaker volume has slowly gotten lower and lower. The wireless works most of the time but will cut out at random every now and then. And it REFUSES to have anything to do with Java which means more then a few programs/websites will not work.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    VirginiaL Oct 31, 2009

    I bought an Acer 5570z 2 years ago and have been experiencing many of the problems others have mentioned including the internal wireless lan going on and off, sometimes not working for days. It has been out of commission for 2 weeks now and today, I turned it on and lo and behold it's working again! Weird. I'm actually working on a borrowed laptop so just opened my Acer to track down an old email. Problems: Slow to boot up. The CD burner doesn't work and really never worked consistently. The burn would fail half-way through. I get so busy that I didn't follow up on that. Other problems: The mouse sticks at times so the cursor freezes. I need to manually reboot at times because the system won't turn off. At times, I'm unable to get the computer to turn back on it's been in hibernate mode so I have to manually reboot it. It heats up way too much. And I don't like Vista which isn't necessarily an Acer problem though I resented the fact that I couldn't by the machine loaded with Windows XP instead, and I also didn't know that Vista had been experiencing problems. I'm not very computer literate so I don't have the technical vocabulary, but I know that I'm dissatisfied with this computer. With the recent issue with the wireless lan, I left an email on Acer's warranty/tech website but am still waiting for a response 4 days later. I do have an extended warranty on this, bought a 2 year warranty after the initial 12 month warranty expired so it's a year old right now, but I can't find any evidence of it when I try to access it on line. All in all, I hope I'll get some resolution when the company finally contacts me but I'm feeling pessimistic after reading all of these complaints.

    0 Votes
  • 29
    296628 Oct 23, 2009

    I got suckered into this one too. My acer aspire 5570z finally broke roughly a year after I bought it. It was always slow as hell in so many ways. Right now, I'm just trying to figure out a way to scam acer back, after they ###ed me over.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jacksinkinocen Oct 12, 2009

    i got acer 5570z not so good compare to other laptop..but i still love my acer 5570z..after i upgrade to window 7 hell yes window is the ### lol..upgrade the ram the laptop seem to be running fast all i need to do now is to upgrade the hdd thats all..been using it for 2 years now..i only like to complaints about the acer obit cam..cant get it to work till now..thanks u

    0 Votes
  • Kn
    knreeves Sep 27, 2009

    I absoultely despise Acer and their Aspire 5570z. Glad I'm not the only one...

    0 Votes
  • Kn
    knreeves Sep 27, 2009

    Never again will I buy an Acer product. I have had so much trouble with my Aspire 5570Z. And when I ask for help, I am told it is Microsofts' problem and that I should talk to them. Right now, I'm trying to figure out what is wrong with my SD slot, but no luck so far. It seems that most people feel the same way about Acer products. My advice? Go for the Toshiba; my family has had no problems at all and they have Vista as well...

    0 Votes
  • Aa
    aap0208 Aug 21, 2009

    I absolutely hate this laptop. It is extremely noisy when the fans kick on and is disrupting in class. It is also incredibly annoying to type papers on since the keyboard sticks. I have had these problems since the first day I bought it. I have only had it for two years and it is a piece of garbage. The battery no longer holds a charge, so I can't use the laptop if it is not plugged in. DVDs take forever to play and the fans are extremely loud during movies. Also it is pretty heavy to carry around.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    droptine Jul 24, 2009

    if anyone knows where i can buy a recovery cd for my acer aspire 5570z please send me a comment on my email : [email protected]


    thanks so much

    0 Votes
  • Dc
    dcbrs1216 Jun 23, 2009

    alot of your driver probs is prob because if you read the bios it states that the product name is Aspire 3680 the funny thing is those drivers are diff from the 5570z drivers when searching for them the bios tells the truth about acers trickery..

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Lusti7 Jun 02, 2009

    I bought myself an acer aspire and my mother bought my son another acer computer both have something wrong with the screen in only months of use, and we did nothing to have a busted or cracked these screens (which could be caused by weather conditions etc...). Acer products suck, and they are committing fraud selling and making products that break quickly with bad customer service. They don't make repairs instead they blame you for the problem. Consumer Affairs should be notified, and the Better Business Bureau! Legal action or some sort of class action complaint should be filed against them! Pre-Law Student, New York

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    dragon-fly Jun 01, 2009

    Acer 5570Z with the Pentium dual core T2060 - max 2gb of ddr2 667mhz ram

    haven't had any of the problems mentioned, but the power button is now half usable. its a SMD Switch on the motherboard and it is not a standard one.
    I got a dead green sub pixel in the middle of my screen on the second month.

    One thing i did to my laptop on the second month of owning it was rip it fully apart, voiding the warranty, because the design was faulty. it was designed to overheat. that's right, DESIGNED TO OVERHEAT. Warranties only restore to "as was designed". they put a plastic flap on the vents, covering 80% of the vents, supposedly in order to pull the hot air from inside the system. But hey, the hole on the other side of the fan doesn't really allow that to happen. no sir. it does not. so it pulls air from 20% of the vents.

    Laptop used to go up to 70 degrees Celsius. not acceptable. after the mod, removing the plastic flap, never went above 55 degrees Celsius. then used a program to reduce CPU voltages to the minimum required for stable operation, never goes above 50 degrees Celsius now. Picture of the plastic flap included.

    This is two years later, it still works, hard drive was changed to a 100gb 7200rpm hard disk drive, and the Hitachi 80gb was set aside till today. painted the unit a mirror black finish, hate the standard dull grey acer decided on. ripped off the ACER logo on the cover. Picture of the painted laptop included.

    Unit is now replaced by a Lenovo T400, which, to date, has really satisfied me. better design all around. no need for crazy mods that void the warranty to remove design inclusions to cause premature failure of the unit. Buy business laptop guys, not cheap systems for the masses, even if you aren't going to use the laptop for a business.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pauline Torrence May 10, 2009

    I bought the Acer Aspire 5720 z 5/2008 and I haven't experienced any of the problems that I've read so far except I have problems with typing. The mouse seems to go all over the place while typing. If you aren't careful, words are typed over words and it's very frustrating. I hope I don't experience any of those serious problems. A friend told me that Acers were a good buy, but he bought a Hp. I was very upset with him, but I haven't had any real problems yet.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    sunilkumar May 10, 2009

    i had recently bought a laptop in dubai and its really dump.the power buttton i reparied it before 6 months for 3000rs and after 6 months i dump again.the worst laptop i had seen ever in my life

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sally May 09, 2009

    I have an Aspire 7720 and it began shutting down like a blackout. It gets so hot in the top left corner. I can't use a media player for too long because the laptop will get so hot and then just shut down. One of the reasons why I paid for a 900 dollar laptop is to be able to watch streaming shows or listen to streaming radio. It seems like it is too much too handle. The speakers are not loud at all, yet it is supposed to have Dolby sound system - sure what a joke. The screen is not as clear as it should be and neither are any movies. I just don't trust Acer - it is still under warranty but I have seen sooooo many complaints on the internet about Acer and the service they provide that I dread anything worse to happen. One thing for sure, I am buying a different mark next time like HP or Dell.

    0 Votes
  • No
    No More Acer Apr 25, 2009

    I bought an acer 5507z and it died after a year no power nothing, called acer i was 2 days outside of warranty they wanted to charge me 450 to repair...i own a computer consulting business believe i will never recomend acer to no one.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    mrvicious Apr 14, 2009

    I forced my poor hubby to buy an Acer Aspire, instead of the Dell he wanted, because Consumer Reports gave it a Best Buy rating, and I will never live it down. It sounds like a washing machine when turned on, strains and damages its own fan constantly, but worst of all----ITS SLOWER THAN THE FIVE-YEAR OLD HEWLETT PACKARD DINO THAT WE THREW OUT THE DAY WE BOUGHT THIS PIECE OF TISH!!!
    CONSUMER REPORTS SHOULD REIMBURSE US ALL!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rip-off-acer Mar 05, 2009

    I'm having massive problems with Acer at the moment. I won't go into all the details, but after a few weeks of buying an Acer Aspire 5735 the power jack came loose.

    I called up Acer and was advised to book it in for repair before it got worse. I sent an email agreeing to the work and the charge of £85 (after a token argument that it wasn't my fault) but they lost the email and sent the computer back to me un-repaired. They then sent it back a second time unrepaired after a mix up and after I complained they offered me a "gesture of goodwill" in which they'd pay for delivery and re-assessment costs if I agree with and pay for whatever repair work needs doing. They said that if I didn't agree with their assessment I'd have to pay for the shipping and re-assessment costs.

    I've just received it back unrepaired for a third time because it was re-assessed by another engineer who claims that it's still working and therefore can't be repaired. I tried to argue that a lose power jack will only get worse and even though technically it works, it is still faulty, however they weren't having any of it. Actually I've just realised that I'm stuck now because if I disagree with their assessment, I'll have to pay for the re-assessment costs, the postage costs and to get it repaired all over again!

    I will never buy an Acer again. Their focus seems to be on getting rid of you, rather than solving the problem. The amount of times we've sent it back and forth, they've probably lost so much money that they might as well have just delt with it.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dondi Feb 22, 2009

    I bought a Acer 5570Z with Vista in 2007. What a piece of crap! I've had nothing but trouble from day 1! First time the motherboard overheated and burnt out. Sent back to Acer and repaired under warranty. 2nd time the screen went. 3rd time the power board broke. I've also had problems trying to load drivers for the web cam which doesn't work and blue tooth which I found is not included! Acer laptops are crap! I also have 2 Acer TV's which are great and fully recommend these.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    nicholaseddie Feb 22, 2009

    I bought my 5570 back in August of 2007 for school seeing as I needed a laptop and Acer was the cheapest out there. In the nearly two years that I have had mine I think I may have gotten the BSOD once. And that was because of something I had done trying to play around with settings and ### and not knowing what the hell I was doing. I will say that the battery does tend to run out faster than it did when I first got it, but that is expected of any laptop. I do have the keyboard issue that somebody posted about before when it won't recongnize some of the strokes you make. It's actually really infuriating because I type really fast and I hate haio constantly go back to fix a mistake.
    The only big issues that I have with mine is using it on my tv. After I hook it up to use it and then unplug it, I have to completly reboot system to resore the original dimensions of my screen. The other problem I have is when the scroll function on the mousepad suddenly stops working. Other than that I love my acer and I will probably be buying another one once this one finally dies on me.

    One more thing... The loud whirring noise alot of people are complaining about is because your computer is starting to overheat and the fan kicks in to cool it down. This only happens because acer decided it would be cool to put 90% the vents on the bottom of the computer while keeping the dangerous one on the side to burn you at anytime.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James Feb 13, 2009

    I bought mine about 8 months ago. It's been through 2 hard drives (the original one failed a week after I got the laptop and the second failed when Acer sent me a restore disk for $100) and a hell of a lot of epair time (I also got the liquid spillage excuse so did repairs myself since obviously having a waruntee does nothing with these people). FINALLY after reformatting, loading XP, getting a wireless card (using XP means that wireless does not work at all), and GETTING RID OF ALL ACER SOFTWARE this laptop runs as smooth as any other laptop (and I've owned plenty of dells that work for years). Would NOT recomend this laptop to anyone unless you have a LOT of time and patience for repairs.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thunder2777 Feb 11, 2009

    My Complain is I can't find Acer Aspire 5570z Motherboard Drivers. Even I have checked the Acer Website for that.

    Did somebody know it then kindly put the Link on the web.

    Thanks in Advance.

    0 Votes
  • Im
    iman Feb 11, 2009

    I bought my acer 5570z from Dubai, I have had the blue screen problem of Physical memory dump, but that is because of the 224MB Graphics card on my system, so it will not support very demanding games!
    I stuck to Vista, overall I've been using it at the office and at home for 8 hours a day the past year and half and have had none of the problems! It is slow to start up, but that's Vista's problem!
    I'm 75% happy with this acer!

    0 Votes
  • My
    myacersucks Feb 09, 2009

    people we need to get together and FILE A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT NOW

    0 Votes
  • My
    myacersucks Feb 09, 2009

    my acer 5570Z sucks i have experienced three bsod screens...my wireless antenna turns off and on out of no where...and i like the idea of a mandatory recall and we should get our money back cause these things are a piece of ###

    0 Votes
  • Ks
    ks821 Feb 06, 2009

    I hate my acer aspire 5570z. I was online with it and all of a sudden, it stopped me from going to my website that I commonly used. All the major sites I need to work form home have started blocking me. At first I thought it was my yahoo service...well...nope, then I thought it was my cable service...nope, then I realized that my laptop decided it didn't like my website (i sell real estate) or my freaking myspace pages. It has totally been disabled. I 've tried everything from system restore to disk fragmentation...nope...nothing worked. Of course no technical help from Acer either. I say, we should start a class action suit and demand our new laptops. Apparently this is an ongoing problem, and everybody has the same gripe, customer service suck, and the product is suckier!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mac6110 Feb 04, 2009

    Acer is horrible, after I purchased the 5570z about 2 years ago I didnt use the cd/dvd drive for a month, when I finally needed to use it it didn't work, acer tech support was rediculous and blamed me as well. Over the 2 years also had driver issues that was vista related, but after updates and reinstalling things seem to do the trick, just a pain in the a_ _. And finally yesterday the computer froze, and I tried to reboot it and the power light turns on but nothing else does, screen blank, fans work, battery shows charged but nothing else.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tasha Jan 27, 2009

    I love my acer laptop my husband sent it to me from bestbuy.com while he was deployed in Iraq... it has been absolutely perfect the year that I've had it. NO complaints at all.

    0 Votes
  • Jc
    jcarlop Jan 24, 2009

    My aspire 557oZworks fine since we bought it new last september 07, my only problem so far now is the orbicam that hangs and restart itself during usage at yahoo messenger, I hope this program has an update avaliable at the acer website...

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    BIG COUNTRY Jan 17, 2009

    HI EVERYONE I HAVE THIS ACER ASPIRE 5570Z TO
    AND WHAT I LIKE TO SAY IS THAT THE NOTEBOOK IS NOT THE PROBLEM, ..ITS THE WINDOWS VISTA THATS THE PROBLEM, I REPROGRAMED THIS NOTEBOOK ABOUT 4-5 TIMES BECUSE WINDOWS VISTA KEEPS KNOKING OUT SOME DRIVERS AND THEN WHEN I GO TO RESTORE THEM OR BACKUP MY NOTEBOOK THINGS WILL NOT CHANGE, SO I GOT TO REPROGRAME AND REDO EVERYTHING AGAIN AND THEN IT WILL WORK AGAIN, SO I DO IS TURN OFF UPDATES TO WINDOW VISTA AND EVERYTHING STAYS FINE...THE NOTEBOOK IS NOW RUNNING VARY WELL ...P.S.! I ALSO TRYED WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION AND IT WILL NOT WORK WITH SOME DRIVERS AND THATS WHY I WENT BACK TO WINDOWS VISTA, ...MICROSOFT REALY NEEDS TO FIX THIS PROGRAM AND THERE UPDATES BECUSE THIS IS A NICE WINDOWS, I LIKE IT ALOT ..JUST REMEMBER TURN OFF UPDATES

    0 Votes
  • Sb
    sbmorton Dec 09, 2008

    My Acer battery life is about 20 minutes. I have it connected to the AC chord at all times...it is almost like a really bad desktop. This is the worst computer I have ever owned, and can not believe that major retailers still carry this product. Oh yea, and by the way, if you ever have to contact Acer by phone, good luck. Within a month of purchasing the Aspire, the hard drive failed, and I had to pay $40 for the back-up discs from the company. Worst computer ever.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lowell Sharrah Nov 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    First of all, I would like to say that my son bought an ACER over 2 years ago after graduating high school and has not had a problem since. I bought my wife an Aspire 5570Z with Vista last summer and starting 3 months ago, the battery is now not holding a charge. I feel this is unacceptable and that ACER should send me a new battery at no cost. The problem is not the power cord. The pc accepts the charge but does not hoold it. None of the power schemes have been played with. I even bought an extended warranty on it but I did not know the battery was not included-shame on me for not checking. I guess when you buy a laptop, you ASSume that everything will work if you properly take care of it. Good luck to all.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Gilbert Nov 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I almost forgot... i was also confrunting the "screen blacks out" problem, but it was solved by a simple driver update!!!

    After my opinion, a little care and a little updating solves a lot of problems! ;)

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Gilbert Nov 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have an Acer 5570z since 2 years, i travelled months with it, i use it 12-16 hours a day, but I DIDN'T HAD A PROBLEM WITH IT!!! ...i'm amazed at these comments... After 1 year of use, i expanded its RAM from 1 Gb, to 2, 5 Gb, and it works like charm! Maybe there are faulty ones ...like in almost every make, but it's not generally a bad product.

    0 Votes
  • De
    denver Morgan Nov 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a new acer 5530 laptop and i heard this sound like a screw that was lose so i took off the
    network card cover and lo and behold there was a screw just rolling around on the electronics inside
    im seriously considering taking it back for a refund im afraid what if they missed some thing else inside of there

    0 Votes
  • He
    Hector Nov 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I needed a laptop for college classes and because my tight budget I purchased whta believed to be a great product at a great price and unfortunately within two months period I discovered otherwise. Like many others on this group my laptop sometimes would freeze and goes intoa sleep type mode and the screen will not come back unless I conduct a hard boot. I have a wireless router in the house and it will drop off line or indicate a poor line connection even when I'm in the house. To make it worst two months after I purchsed the laptop I found the screen cracked on the inside with what it appears to be some sort of balck ink spill on the inside. I have attempted to contact Acer via phone and e-mail with no success. If you know a lawyer that could take all these complaints and go after Acer for class action it would be great...I'm a retired active duty veteran who tried to do the right thing by going back to college and her I'm stuck with this junk and no way of getting my money back! Some out there please help! Sincerely,
    Hector

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.