Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Hosting and Web Design 1&1 Ionos extortion - 1and1 unfair business practice
1&1 Ionos

1&1 Ionos review: extortion - 1and1 unfair business practice 20

C
Author of the review
1:00 pm EDT
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I'd like to file a class action lawsuit against this company. Anyone with me?

1and1 is ruining people's credit if people let their subscription expire. That's crazy! I have plenty of hosting accounts on the internet, so I am very familiar with hosting policies. When a subscription expires, and your card is expired, your prepay doesn't go through. That then cancels the account. But I guess 1and1 finds that it's profitable to threaten people with a collection agency if they don't prepay for the next term without clicking the 'cancel' button, which is not even available on your control panel!

Anyone else think this is an unfair business practice? I think we should contact the Abbey Spanier law firm and file a class action lawsuit!

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More 1&1 Ionos reviews & complaints

1&1 Ionos - billing and collection scam 54
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
1&1 Ionos - fraud marketing 15
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
1&1 Ionos - horrible cancellation process
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
1&1 Ionos - customer service
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
1&1 Ionos - very bad company 5
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
20 comments
Add a comment
L
L
Lance Wittenmyer
, US
Nov 14, 2022 10:53 am EST

I'm with you! I'm having the same experience. They forced a contract on me without any further action. I had spoken with a lady over the phone and was supposed to fill out a form. I never filled out the form, now they've sent a debt of $35 to collections.

D
D
DallasBrian
Dallas, US
Nov 03, 2022 12:09 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

2022, they are slow learners. I signed up for web hosting, they decided to sign me up for a $26/month online store. I don't need an online store, never ordered an online store, won't pay for an online store. I've started getting collections notices from Radius Global Solutions LLC. I don't see how this fraud is able to stay in business for so long

W
W
Wendy Leigh (Tigermom)
, US
Oct 16, 2023 3:45 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I am having the same problem. Canceled several times still billed for accounts never used. Said they would take care of it a year ago! Still nothing. Called again today. All kinds of excuses why they didn't terminate contract and how they "couldn't" did you go to court? I am willing to due to deceptive practices and incompetent agents!

O
O
Oddstick
Troy, US
Apr 20, 2015 9:49 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

my e-commerce site went down and their support service is hideous. I could hardly understand the people due to an accent that is foreign to me, in a country somewhere outside the USA. I was on hold today a total of three hours and still nothing fixed. BEWARE of them.

M
M
mofoz
, US
Nov 08, 2011 4:14 pm EST

Their systems are inconsistent. tried to cancel my account multiple times and with customer service. they have stuck me with a 30.00 charge.

K
K
kornflakes1
Union, US
Aug 23, 2011 6:49 pm EDT

I STILL can't locate my website '"UnionBookRenter.com" after paying for the website/domain name pkg. It's been MORE than a week! COME ON! My hubby gave it to me as an anniversary gift. WHAT GIVES?! I'm losing my business b4 it has begun:(

S
S
Sabbler
, US
May 16, 2011 6:49 pm EDT

Since I never used the site I was paying for over 3 years I decided to cancel my subscription. 1 & 1 Internet's policy is very restrictive and it became almost impossible to stop them from billing me for a service I never used.

U
U
unsatisfy 1and1 hosting
,
Oct 24, 2008 6:31 pm EDT

We have few sites the hosted with 1and1 .

They have problem and we was down 3 days, , , , YES 3 DAYS it is not mistake.

After they "fixed" the poblem they lost 13 days, they recove our data 13 before the event.

UNBELIEVABLE it it real it is not jok

EducatorCA
EducatorCA
, US
Mar 18, 2015 12:29 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Hello everybody whose complaints on 1and1.com,
I was dealing with them back in August 2010. I cannot believe that this crooks are continuing mistreating customer for so long a period of time!
How many complaints on them for years, and people still get caught in their fraudulent practices that are the most popular with the frauds nowadays: to get a hold of your credit card number and continue charging it. Even if you change the credit card they will start reporting you to credit bureau saying that you have to pay to the end of the contract that you signed in an honest belief that this is a normal company who would cancel your contract as soon as you do not like it.
If anybody knows how to fight the crooks, people should unite and stop them.
I know my message is not too convincing: I just could not believe these crooks are still living at the expense of honest taxpayers! That much for freedom and democracy! Only crooks enjoy it. Simple people are always fighting the crooked corporations like 1AND1.

J
J
johnnnnnn
southampton, GB
Dec 12, 2014 12:42 am EST

1and1 is blocking any email I try to send to any customers, they are going to make my business go bust, maybe that is their intention. Do not use this company.

H
H
hate1and1
, US
Feb 04, 2011 5:56 pm EST

Stay far away from this company. Their customer service is horrible. Godaddy is way better

J
J
joelee
, CA
Mar 07, 2012 1:56 am EST

SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM 1AND1, COM IS A SCAM THEY ARE A COMPLETE RIPP OFF DO NOT HOST WITH THEM THEY WILL SCAM YOU TO THE MOON
1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
SCAM YOU TO THE MOON

1and1.com is the worst a ripp off dont host with them

1AND1.COM IS A COMPLETE RIPP OFF THE WORST ONLINE WEB HOSTING COMPANY

BAD HOSTING COMPANY 1AND1.COM DO NOT HOST WITH THEM

THIS IS THE WORST HOSTING COMPANY AND THEY ARE A COMPLETE RIPP OFF. WHEN YOU FIRST JOIN YOUR CALL IS ANSWERED IMMEDIATELY

WHEN YOU BECOME A CUSTOMER THEIR WAIT TIMES ARE OVER AN HOUR AND IF YOU COMPLAIN THEY LOCK YOUR ACCOUNT.

DO NOT HOST WITH 1AND1.COM THEY ALSO CHARGE YOUR CREDIT CARD WITHOUT AUSTHORIZATION AND YOU CANNOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT

1AND1Q.COM IS A COMPLETE SCAM BEWARE AND DO NOT JOIN THIS LOUSY COMPANY FOR YOUR WEB HOSTING NEEDS

1and1.com is the worst a ripp off dont host with them

1AND1.COM IS A COMPLETE RIPP OFF THE WORST ONLINE WEB HOSTING COMPANY

BAD HOSTING COMPANY 1AND1.COM DO NOT HOST WITH THEM

THIS IS THE WORST HOSTING COMPANY AND THEY ARE A COMPLETE RIPP OFF. WHEN YOU FIRST JOIN YOUR CALL IS ANSWERED IMMEDIATELY

WHEN YOU BECOME A CUSTOMER THEIR WAIT TIMES ARE OVER AN HOUR AND IF YOU COMPLAIN THEY LOCK YOUR ACCOUNT.

DO NOT HOST WITH 1AND1.COM THEY ALSO CHARGE YOUR CREDIT CARD WITHOUT AUSTHORIZATION AND YOU CANNOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT

1AND1Q.COM IS A COMPLETE SCAM BEWARE AND DO NOT JOIN THIS LOUSY COMPANY FOR YOUR WEB HOSTING NEEDS
1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM

SCAM YOU TO THE MOON
1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM

SCAM YOU TO THE MOON
1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM

SCAM YOU TO THE MOON
1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM

SCAM YOU TO THE MOON
1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM

SCAM YOU TO THE MOON
1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM

SCAM YOU TO THE MOON
1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM

SCAM YOU TO THE MOON
1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM 1AND1, COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM
1AND1.COM

1and1.com is the worst a ripp off dont host with them

1AND1.COM IS A COMPLETE RIPP OFF THE WORST ONLINE WEB HOSTING COMPANY

BAD HOSTING COMPANY 1AND1.COM DO NOT HOST WITH THEM

THIS IS THE WORST HOSTING COMPANY AND THEY ARE A COMPLETE RIPP OFF. WHEN YOU FIRST JOIN YOUR CALL IS ANSWERED IMMEDIATELY

WHEN YOU BECOME A CUSTOMER THEIR WAIT TIMES ARE OVER AN HOUR AND IF YOU COMPLAIN THEY LOCK YOUR ACCOUNT.

DO NOT HOST WITH 1AND1.COM THEY ALSO CHARGE YOUR CREDIT CARD WITHOUT AUSTHORIZATION AND YOU CANNOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT

1AND1Q.COM IS A COMPLETE SCAM BEWARE AND DO NOT JOIN THIS LOUSY COMPANY FOR YOUR WEB HOSTING NEEDS

M
M
mlpppp
, US
Apr 29, 2011 8:12 am EDT

We canceled it online prior to renewal, removed all the info, got a bill months later, called and canceled it again, and then about 6 months later we a letter from dept collection.

EducatorCA
EducatorCA
, US
Aug 08, 2010 10:59 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Yes, please tell me who to contact to file a class action lawsuit against 1and1.com. If they are not stopped they will ruin many people's credits and peace. I've been suffering from them 9 months. Their business practices make me sick.
Please advise how to start a lawsuit.
zoiariga@yahoo.com

A
A
abyes
los angeles, US
Jun 30, 2010 3:51 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

yes, I'm with you

C
C
crcus14
Chino, US
Mar 21, 2010 6:43 pm EDT

Guys, thank you for your insight. I was about to register 20 website doamin. When I thought to check customer support online and got your feedback. --- You Saved me from future torture

A
A
1and1sucks
Atwater, US
Jan 22, 2010 9:18 pm EST

I'm onboard, they suck and deserve to be sued!

S
S
San Diego Bob
San Diego, US
Jan 08, 2010 2:37 pm EST

Yes, they don't honor the cancellation policy, even after confirming my cancellation, they proceeded to bill me and now say that the cancellation didn't go through because I didn't transfer the domain.

I
I
ihate1and1
Peoria Heights, US
Dec 22, 2009 11:54 am EST

Iam with anyone willing to draw a class action lawsuit..this is a ### company..I hate it from the bottom of my heart! I let my subscription expire and they still want to charge me by threats of a collection agency.
As some one mentioned earlier they are a bunch of ###s!

G
G
geek2010
LF, US
Dec 19, 2009 8:00 pm EST

yes it is very unfair. I'm with you. I have had bad experience with them too but differnt. I referred somone from the UK and never said anyting within their damn affiliate program that I have to signup for a seperate non us affiliate program. That is ###. I never got my money and they told me it was my fault. They dont care if you do them a favor. Those ###ing ###s.

  1. 1&1 Ionos Contacts

  2. 1&1 Ionos phone numbers
    +1 (484) 254-5555
    +1 (484) 254-5555
    Click up if you have successfully reached 1&1 Ionos by calling +1 (484) 254-5555 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached 1&1 Ionos by calling +1 (484) 254-5555 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached 1&1 Ionos by calling +1 (484) 254-5555 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached 1&1 Ionos by calling +1 (484) 254-5555 phone number
    24/7 Support
    +1 (267) 481-7982
    +1 (267) 481-7982
    Click up if you have successfully reached 1&1 Ionos by calling +1 (267) 481-7982 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached 1&1 Ionos by calling +1 (267) 481-7982 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached 1&1 Ionos by calling +1 (267) 481-7982 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached 1&1 Ionos by calling +1 (267) 481-7982 phone number
    Enterprise Cloud customers
  3. 1&1 Ionos emails
  4. 1&1 Ionos address
    Elgendorfer Str. 57, Montabaur, 56410, Germany
  5. 1&1 Ionos social media
  6. Michael
    Checked and verified by Michael This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 13, 2024
1&1 Ionos Category
1&1 Ionos is ranked 22 among 158 companies in the Hosting and Web Design category