Woodforest National Bankmassive overdrafts

K
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

We've been hit with about 15 overdrafts by this bank totaling 500 + dollars in the negative towards our account. EVERY pay check we've been getting further and further in the negative causing us HUGE financial troubles. Some how despite having a negative balance while any other bank debit/charge card would stop working this bank continues to allow transactions upwards of being over 200 dollars negative on the account. I've never heard of a bank allowing this before, though they claim they have no control over it. I think its just a way for them to get rich off other peoples hardships.

Responses

  • Wl
    wlcampbell351 Dec 20, 2012

    I had a dispute through Woodforest that lasted TWO months. The transaction was what caused my account to go into the negative. I kept calling and calling, and they kept telling me that it was being investigated. (I was NOT about to fund an account for someone to withdraw from freely so I didn't make any deposits.) Eventually the account closed for not being used for sixty days. Day 63, I was notified that my dispute had been resolved and approved, BUT my account was closed for nonuse and a negative balance...NOW, WF is in the process of sending me a cashiers check. I am still waiting on it, but they haven't been too bad about getting me my money yet.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    HONESTCUSTOMER832 Oct 01, 2011

    Woodforest has charged and credited me so many times its ridiculous. Upper management down to the tellers dont know whats going on. I was identity thefted 7/29/11 and my checks went direct deposit after the fact. I withdrew my money and opened a new account at another bank. I asked them to not send me another card. They did anyway and charged me for that. They also charge u like the previous customer said for every month until ur account is 64 days with no activity. I asked them to close my account and they wont til tomorrow. Thank the Lord. With a balance of -85.55 which should be +.35 . Worse banking experience ever. Oh and for poor working men and women. U dont have to even report ur identity theft. The police havent called me and I have pictures of the person who identity thefted me and copies of the ads she posted. Still no call from the fraud or forgery department. BEWARE...WOODFOREST IS GETTING RICH OFF OF CHARGING PEOPLE FEES FOR NO SERVICE AND DESTROYING HONEST WORKING MAN/WOMAN'S CREDIT :(

    -1 Votes
  • Mr
    mr bm Jul 02, 2011

    I am a customer of the bank. I have been a customer for about 3 years. I will tell you why some people complain. 1.) They do not keep a ledger and keep it up to date. 2.) If you experience a problem or make a mistake, contact them ASAP! The sooner the better. The longer you wait, the harder it is for you to be helped. 3.) This bank has always gone out of it's way to help me when I've been in a bind and its the ONLY bank I've ever been a member of that actually will give me an of fee refund once in awhile. 4.) Take responsibility for YOUR actions. 5.) PLEASE keep in mind people will go out of there way to complain before they would praise. My friends, family, and I love this bank. It is the biggest community bank and they treat me like a person, not a number. Its kinda like Cheers, everyone know my name! :+)

    Also they have the best hours, convienience, and offer products and services that other banks and credit unions can not compete with. Can u day open 364 days a year? My pay check also posts a day before the other banks post it.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ravenray Jul 01, 2011

    I'm an employee and can tell you that woodforest knownly opens acounts with invalid names, SS#, and addresses. They also order personal and buisness checks for accounts that are negative for 30 days or more. Their call center is run by Hitler (VP Belinda Muras). If an employee even thinks about given a suggestion that might benefit the customer and not the bank they are told "You should be happy you have a job". The assitant VP Jena Jack is no help either as all she does is agree with the VP no matter how dum her ideas might be. My daughter works in their call center and tells me some stories about belinda and jenna that sound like a looney toons cartoon . Keep in mind these are the two in charge of both woodforest call centers.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jacqueline Crowl May 11, 2011

    I have just tried to open a account with Woodforest, I have never been so humiliated in my life, I do not have a drivers license as I have several illnesses that could cause me to blackout, but I have a green card that I paid $4, 500 to get as well as having to have my eyes scanned, all my finger prints taken, blood samples, A doctor had to examen my, I was tested for T/B, Aids and several other things this all took me 2 1/2 years but I can not open a bank account at Wood forest with my green card, Well thats OK as I just take it to RBC I had no problems opening a account there, and I will never tell any one to go there.The best thing was the lady who was serving me was from Asia and had a green card so she must not bank at the bank she work's for, I work and pay my taxes like every one else but got refused by this bank, it is Raciest ...

    -1 Votes
  • 24
    24/7 WORK May 02, 2011

    I have had an account with WFB for 10 years and have never had a problem!!! I have never been an employee of the bank or any other bank. I have accounts at other banks and have not had problems with them either. They do not just take money out of your account because they do not like you, if you barrow money you pay intrest, when you are over drawn you are barrowing money from them without asking. How about they do not cover your overdrawn checks and let you go to prison for hot checks.
    As far as the person that said the branch was cashing blank cashiers checks without an ID, I HAVE TO CALL BS on that. They require an ID to make a deposit. quit spending money you do not have and they will quit charging you fees

    1 Votes
  • Ar
    Aries Storm Apr 18, 2011

    Some of you idiots that defend Woodforest is either a niave customer or an employee. You don't really have to do hardly anything to get some kind of high [censor] fees dealing with them. I said it myself, it is almost like they are run by the mafia the way they go way out of the traditional ways of other bank procedures. Pathedic! They muscle you and man handle your money and they do their best to catch you slipping . They are not doing anything to change their ways at all.

    -1 Votes
  • Eb
    E-BONE Jan 23, 2011

    I love woodforest never had a problem, if you are good with your money then the bank will be good as well. some of you people don't understand that.

    1 Votes
  • Sc
    scmommyje Jan 02, 2011

    It's YOUR job to know what is in your account. Stop blaming the bank for your mistakes.

    1 Votes
  • To
    Toni F. Nov 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I appreciate the advice. You learn from mistakes! I will have separate accts. next time. I am working with them now. I will say that the branch manager has been very nice and helpful. The hotel that continued to charge our debit card for 2 weeks after his stay there is the responsible party in this big mess!)

    0 Votes
  • Jd
    jdmack Nov 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Toni F. Here's a little Financial Advice, A Couple (MARRIED OR NOT) should ALWAYS KEEP SEPERATE ACCOUNTS. This happens often to a lot of young couples. At this point, the most you can do is TRY to see if the bank will release you guys from some of the fees. Or, see if you can come to some sort of agreement to settle on a reduced fee amount. if you can't it's all on you, and you have to pay the fees.

    Sorry, there's no magic bullet here. Always keep track of your spending, and remember (((((PENDING TRANSACTION ARE NOT CLEARD TRANSACTIONS))))) and are subject to fees.

    Good Luck.

    0 Votes
  • Jd
    jdmack Nov 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The bank has to pay by law. however, if your husband or you should (loose your card), than the bank will,
    (issue you a new card, with a new number). at this point,
    (the hotel can not charge your new card and new number)..
    Because by law, (the bank will be unable to allow them to charge your account)

    Good luck toni f.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Toni F. Nov 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Cont. We are $900 overdrawn now. They won't close acct. untill it is paid! The debit cards have had to be replaced three times, the strips are not able to be read! It took me 3 weeks to receive my replacement card. A lot of places will not accept their checks. When your account gets in the negative, they hit you with so many fees that you cannot get your head above the water! I have cancelled my debit card and I am disputing the hotel charges!As soon as I can clear out the negative balance...I will be closing both of our accounts! They also dont process debits for 5 to 7 days that way they can hit you with NSF charges. They are kicking people when they are down! I hope you get it straightened out! Good luck and God bless!

    0 Votes
  • To
    Toni F. Nov 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    inPeople are so quick to judge! We are in a recession, people! People everywhere are having hard times! It is now time for the holidays, have some compassion! You never know someone's story. Be grateful that you are in good standing at your bank, others aren't as lucky. My husband and I are Woodforest customers as well. My husband travels for buisness and used his debit card to pay for a hotel. They overcharged us causing us to be overdrawn. While in the negative this hotel continues to hit our account for bogus charges! The bank is paying it saying that the way it comes thru, by law they have to pay it! We are $900.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    taycory Nov 09, 2010

    I bank with woodforest.On now 3rd went to walmart to buy money orders and couldnt so I called the bank and the atm debit cards were not working.My bank still took 916.20 cents out and Now Im over 1000 overdrawn and It was there fault.Im still waitng for my money .The people that work for them are very rude.I have 5 kids and bills to pay.Eletric will be cut off today and the stupid azzzzz dont care.Dont bank with WOODFOREST.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dasuther Oct 10, 2010

    I agree with some of the above statements about checks a 10 day hold is normal. However, if this bank cared for its customers they could verify the money by phone pretty easily. It would appear that they just didn't want to or couldn't for some reason. But if my customer had 11000 dollar account I would pretty much bend over backwards to try and get them there money. I sure as hell wouldn't put a hold on there account (unless it was just the check that was 11, 000). But then again banks don't seem to make that much money on investments anymore as much as the do on overdraft protection.

    I work paycheck to paycheck many times on a night shift. Everything that I know about banks has come from either personal experience or secondhand experience. THE MAJORITY OF POLICIES ARE IMPOSSIBLE TO FOLLOW UNTIL YOU RUN INTO THE CIRCUMSTANCE APPLICABLE TO THAT POLICY. Banking has become a gamble these days, as of recently an expensive gamble that many can afford, but some cant. What happens when you lose your job and an overdraft fee becomes a quarter of your weekly pay? Is it good for the economy? does the bank wisely spend your fees? Maybe, but I happen to believe that someone is making a lot of money from people that do not have very much. I am currently closing my accounts with woodforest, because I cannot afford to pay there nsf fees of 34.00. Is it my fault that my account doesn't have money in it, of course it is. Its my fault that my paycheck came through on the SAME DAY but the next business day. But this is where Woodforest National Bank gets a little confusing. Keep in mind that this is not written anywhere and none of there tellers could answer me, I had to call there customer service line to get a proper answer from someone across a very large body of water. In fact the tellers and managers could only give me a deer in the headlights look shrug there shoulders or cringe as they say its only a couple of overdrafts fees... which to me is saying don't worry the government gives your family assistance right? No, sorry I make to much to qualify HAHAHAHAHA... but thats another issue.

    After calling to find out why my account shows that at 2-3am in the morning it is fine and is updated with completely different dates on my debits on the same day at a different time. I received this answer. Woodforest National Bank does not operate normal business days which i believe ends around 2pm this bank ends at 8pm. I am used to getting up and having time to go by the bank the bank with another paycheck or some cash to bring my balance current. But with Woodforest, there business day ends at 8pm, and while everything is being pushed through to your account you cannot see it happening. again at 2am everything seems fine and I can get up in the morning and put some extra money into my account to bring it to a good standing balance... wrong, sometime between 8am and the time my bank opens is when everything goes through and so when I ask for my balance after making a deposit is when I get that same shoulder shrug and painful its only one overdraft fee... its only a third of the paycheck you just cashed on the same day.

    I wouldn't be upset if it didn't take so long to finally figure out how they work. There tellers should know, there customers should know. But somehow the only one who could tell me how the bank is taking my money is oversees on a crappy telephone. Yeah the bank itself is not bad, its just like every other bank. However, I feel their tellers let me down, I feel i have paid them a lot of money to handle an account that doesn't keep a lot of money, and I feel that not just this bank but others as well serve predatory practices that take advantage of confused and low income bankers.

    I disagree with the above statement because usually a bank has some sort of policy disclosed somewhere where you weren't or aren't looking.

    I agree with it because someone could have pointed me to that policy a couple of months ago.

    Banks in general are hard to trust, if you find one I'm happy for you. If you don't, maybe we should write to a senator or something?

    But why should I pay 34.00 dollars to someone I owe 5 dollars to? is it because its a fee? because I see it as a loan... they paid something for me and I am going to pay them back... at almost 600% interest owed immediately

    btw there changing service fee has to do with the amount of money you spend and the amount you have in your account, try calling the lady oversees she can explain it to you in a pleasant accent

    0 Votes
  • He
    helpmesomebody Sep 30, 2010

    I have had a checking account with Woodforest Bank since 2005. I have had no problems at my local branch. The tellers are polite and helpful. I had a silver checking account, no fees, later I got a Discover card with a 500.00 limit. I paid my discover card by automatic withdrawals from my checking account, much more than the minimum payment due. I was notified that the Discover card would no longer be available to me Affective August 15th, no more purchases. My last payment to be made was on August 11th. On August 6th, Woodforest called to ask if I had used my debit card to make purchases totaling 795.00. I told them I had not, that I had my card on me, and my card had not been used on that date. When I checked my online account, there were numerous charges for airline tickets purchased in Afghanistan, by this time totaling over $1, 000. My account was -795.00. and growing with NSF's for each check. During this time, I did not have access to my funds, I did have money in my account at that time, but it was subtracted from the amount charged. I was told to go into my branch and sign some papers indicating that I had not made those charges, which I did. I asked about my automatic payments, and I was told everything would be taken care of when they could confirm that I had not made these purchases. I then had to wait. On August 13th my account was restored, and all of the NSF' fees were deducted and I am good to go, I thought. By the way I never found out what happened with my account, I was told it was a bank, or vendor error. It could not have been a vendor error, because they did not have my card, nor check to charge my account. It had to be a bank error.

    In September the balance on my Discover Card was transferred to a Woodforest reserve payment account, which means that it can only be used to pay if you overdraw your checking account. There was a 500.00 reserve, however 252.00 was deducted from the 500.00 because that was the balance transferred over from Discover. After August 15th, I cancelled my automatic payment to Discover, and scheduled automatic payments to Woodforest reserve account, I made a minimum payment on September 8th and another payment on September 23 which I directed to be paid on the principal. On September 25th I got a bill from Discover in the amount of 65.00. 15.00 of that being a late payment for their not receiving the August payment. This amount had been deducted from the account, but they stated that on August 30th the payment was reversed by Woodforest for Lack of funds, therefore the balance that was transfered to Woodforest Reserve was not the correct amount. It seems that the payment was applied to my account although they had not in fact received the money.

    Let me state that on August 13th there was more than enough money in my account to cover that automatic withdrawal, and on August 30th when the automatic withdrawal was reversed, there was enough money in my account to cover that withdrawal. I had no knowledge of that the payment had not been made until I received the Discover bill last week. In the meantime, the two payments that I made to Woodforest on my Reserve account, was never posted, and my balance has gone from $252. to 256. I have made a third payment on Sept 29.

    Today, I received my statement from Woodforest showing the two payments of 25.00 each coming out of my checking account, showing a credit of 50.00 and 53.00 to my reserve account but my balance is still more than it was in the beginning. I talked to customer service on the 27th, I was told that I would get a call back when they figured it out, before that I was told I had to go to my branch. I did not receive a call back, so I went to my branch today. They told me that they did not know very much about this at the branch level. They called, and was told that the money had gone to pay the Discover bill. I told her that was not true, because Discover had sent me a bill with a late payment fee. She then called Discover, although she had told me that they now had nothing to do with Discover, and Discover said that I owed them $66. and change, late payment plus interest, and they had not received a payment from Woodforest. She explained what happened and Discover agreed to accept just 50.00 and she then asked them who should she talk to at Woodforest. They told her, and she attempted to call, but the line was busy. She told me that only one person was handling that, and he was swamped, She would call me when she was able to reach him.

    Where are the regulators. Why are they not held accountable. If I am late I must pay. If they mess up, I must pay. Where are he consumer advocates?

    0 Votes
  • Pu
    purpledolphin Jun 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I Opened an accout at Woodforest in November of 2006. I have not had any trouble until now. I looked on line and a fee of 5.95 was took out of my account. i called and the branch manager said we are starting something new. it's is no longer a free checking account. you have to keep a 100.00 dollars in there everyday and have direct deposit or you will be charged a service fee of 5.95 a month. first off i work pay check to pay check and there is no money left in my account. i think this is ridiclous. you has the money to keep a 100.00 in there everyday unless you have plenty of money. well i dont i am a single mother and money is very tight right now. i said i will be closing my account and they said every bank is charging that fee. i have looked aroung and no they are not. when they say free banking the other banks mean free banking.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    disgusted beyound belief Jun 09, 2010

    I have been in the banking world for 11 years working credit unions and now Woodforest almost two. I started instore at a wal mart later moving to a traditional location. First I have to say that it does not matter what.financial institution you go through they all have fees. When you sign the account card s banker goes over all the.stipulations including fees which they give you this for future reference. Being able to sit and ask questions on checks and balances always helps for one, two keeping a register even better. I hear everyday what is a register then followed by nope I don't remember to write down. Ummm ok here is a big mistake. just remember the bankers don't make rules we have guidlines set forth to protect the bank and the customers. As for holds not everything goes on hold.depends on relationship with bank and where it is coming from usually max of 7 business days. Please keep in mind not every bank open till 7 but we are with several locations open till 12 and 24 hours. I know compass and B of A are not. Also, .how many banks make deposits available immediately up till 8 pm not B of.A.or compass even Regions plus if we can't make avaliable we.let you know when it will be. Legislation makes rules for banks if you follow you stay in business if not you fail simple as that keep a register and don't spend more than what you have. Always read statements to compare or go to local site and get printout. Also keep in mind economy terrible fraud on rise and we are all victims. Another reason to check account.and keep a relationship with your bank. All banks have fees that you will never see unless you spend out of means. Just urks.me one person makes mistake on their account and then it is banks fault. I am 31 with 7 accounts easy to make a mistake being single.mom but watching my accounts and having sweeps.even better. I too am paycheck to paycheck more reason to keep on top my credit union are.not responsible for my errors they don't.spend those funds. Might I also add you can sign up to remove your overdraft protection won't pay items.you cant afford just will charge you the fee. Take responsibily.don't just. Place blame we don't have your checkbook or debit card. Yikes!

    Distrubed beyound belief.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joshua from DFW Jun 07, 2010

    Mad customer in TX, keep in mind that bank associates anywhere are much more easygoing with customers than they are with representatives from other banks. If I, as a consumer, deposit a Bank of America check into my Wells Fargo account, i can call Bank of America in a few days and the rep will tell me the check has cleared. However, if I call the same Bank of America branch as a representative of another bank trying to verifying a Bank of America check, they are much more difficult to work with and often make excuses such as "it's against policy to say if a check has cleared" or something to that effect. Not only is it competition, but that bank rep is also putting their job on the line by saying "that check has definitely cleared and there's nothing more to worry about."

    So just because you can call the bank and the teller will say "yea it's cleared", don't expect them to give the same answer to a rep of a competitor bank. They'll probably get more of a "we have seen the check but we cannot tell you if it will clear"

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    mad cutstomer in TX May 25, 2010

    This is the worst bank ever! They put checks on hold until they clear. Fine. So does everyone. The problem is their verification process and the different answers you get from each employee you talk to. I can call and verify the checks each time they "say" they have been unsuccessful at doing so. Each time they have told me that if I could verify the checks that they would also if I would give them the number I called. Why do I have to do their job for them? I have just called the issuing bank each time and had no problems verifying. Each time I have called customer service to complain about this they have told me that it is up to each branch as to how long the money isg andd on hold and that they can release all or some of it at any time they choose once they verify the check. It's obvious that they have no desire to verify anything just to keep the ledger up on their branch. Screw them. I am switching to a local bank as soon as this most recent hold is off.

    -1 Votes
  • Je
    jeooh May 20, 2010

    Wow. All I have to say is that there are a lot of ignorant "the world owes me something" people out there. Be responsible for yourselves and your own finances. And also, just because you had a bad experience with a particular branch, or a particular employee, you have to remember that all companies have their "bad apples" and they don't necessarily reflect the larger practices and values of the company.

    -1 Votes
  • No
    NOTALLISBADORISIT? Apr 22, 2010

    Let me just say this... I have been working for Woodforest National Bank for almost a year... I see and deal with customers upset about their account everyday. Yes Woodforest does charge for overdrafts as any other bank does and yes it charges COF but all of this is explained when the account is opened. Some customers get careless with their accounts and dont notice they are spending to much, for those of you who get charge for no reaseon WFNB tries to help, I have read a lot of bad things here and I do not know what branches you are going to but believe me... that kind of service would not be given here. I just think that not all branches operate the same and you'll have your good and bad just as other banks do.

    0 Votes
  • Jd
    jdmack Apr 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If you have prending transactions, just go to your branch ATM and get the (Available Balance) print out or onscreen of the ATM.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    mr. dante' Apr 14, 2010

    I called and ask for information about opening up an account. The customer service rep told me I had to go to a branch to open an account and then she literally hung up in my face. I was a potential new customer and she rushed me off the phone. If they do their potential customers like this, I can only imagine how they do their customers.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dan Masters Feb 18, 2010

    STAY AWAY FROM THIS BANK!!! THEY WILL TELL YOU ONE THING THEN DO ANOTHER!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lorenzo Sanders Jan 29, 2010

    I am really unsatisfied with the woodforest bank. I was a wal-mart employee and thought what better to have yor bank at your job with direct deposit? Wrong! I guess it's better to keep it the old fashion way getting your check in your hand. I worked for a month and a half with them taking my checks from wal-mart basically I was working for free and I could not pay my bills. They were charging outrageous surcharges and I even asked them to stop my account and they said they could not unless I talked to a manager.The manager was never available eventually I quit my job because I was feeling that I was working just to pay those crooks .

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    bigfootpcs-oregon Jan 22, 2010

    I am the owner of a computer repair company in Veneta, Oregon. A little over a month ago, A representative of a credit card processing company which is associated with WoodForest National Bank, came into my office and promised me a positive experience with this company in helping me to process credit cards in my shop. Since that time, I have had nothing but headaches, and unanswered questions. I was told that I would only be charged around $50 per month, and I would be told ahead of time, what date I would be charged, so that I knew to have the funds available. That failed to happen. I was hit with charges right away into my account, resulting in several overdraft fees. I made only one transaction into the account, using the machine, which funds I never got to use, because it was never available because of all the charges made by the processor, and all the subsequent over draft fee’s that were generated as a result of these charges. Then the account continued to be hit by further charges that were unexplained to me. the representative. He swears he doesnt know anything about it, and will find out and get back to me. That was three weeks ago. He refunded me $100 to offset this issue, but that did not even come close to reversing the large negative balance, nor put it into the positive close to $200 where it should have been. I have called and left messages with the guy, and most of the other companies involved with them that I no longer wish to try to work with any of these institutions in order to process credit cards. I have left several messages with the rep, as well as the other companies involved, but as of yet, no one has returned any of my calls. I want this policy canceled and I feel that they have breached the contract, not me. On top of everything else, our account was just hit again today for the ridiculous amount of $667.15, putting us into the negative -$404, before further overdraft charges and insufficient funds fees! This is after receiving a letter that they are going to charge me $769.25 with absolutely no explanation as to why I am being charged! We have gone to our Bank, and challenged all of the charges and instructed them not to allow any more charges to go through. Please tell me how to return the equipment and end this nightmare. If someone does not make this right, I am going to contact the Better Business Bureau, and any other authoritative agencies that I can find, as well as take legal action. Thank you for letting me rant.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    Duckie Jan 15, 2010

    I just opened a checking account at WNB with the ideal I would participate in the "move your money" project. This project suggests that to fight the big Wall Street banks people should consider moving their money into the smaller local banks. These local banks invest locally to increase jobs and commerce in your area.

    After I had time to digest how WNB functions and how their online billpay functions I have come to the conclusion that their services are not very good. I got the impression that WNB preys upon the young and inexperienced by offering a very confusing operation with an extensive maze like fee structures deliberately designed to trap their own depositors. I suspect that a good portion of this bank's profits come from levied feed and penalties collected. I also suspect WNB's system is purposely designed this way. Their system is not designed to be consumer friendly on purpose. This bank is a scavenger bank plain and simple.

    I have had an checking account and on-line billpay with Chase Bank for over 15 years. They have great service. Compared to Chase WNB offers substandard services and their online banking billpay is a joke. Their processing is slow and the online accounts are updated too late to be of much use to the customer. In fact I believe one should avoid their online services and ATMs altogether. Sadly to say, that doesn't leave much reason to open any account with them.

    I just opened my WNB checking account a few days ago and I have already seen enough. MY advice to those who wish to "move their money" is to forget about WNB and consider a local credit union.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jonnell Jan 03, 2010

    I for one hate woodforest bank. Ive had an account with them for about a year and a half. I overdraft about $35 in feb last year, and I didnt know I did based on the misunderstanding of the online banking website. I didnt have th money to pay them and I moved away to go to school. in the middle of no where for 7 months, no walmart accessible. I came back in Dec. to find out my account accumulated to $417. $5 everyday is added until you pay. woodforest is the only bank that does that, I asked if I could do some sort of payment plan, I was told no. I would not recommend this awful bank to any, It completely, well nearly messed up my credit and I still dont have the money to pay it. I just finished school less than a month ago.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hank8146 Jan 02, 2010

    this bank will steal your money an then charge you a fee each month for doing it

    0 Votes
  • Be
    beyondfrustrated Dec 11, 2009

    I cannot... let me repeat... I cannot stand this bank. I've banked with two other banks: Wells Fargo and another Credit union and let me just say these banks know about customer service. I cannot begin to tell you how frustrated I am with Woodforest. Here is my situation: I had good intentions on having an account with this Bank. After I signed the paperwork I did not feel good with what I was told... I know, bad on my part. I begin reading the fine print after I signed and left (again, my bad... I know). HOWEVER, I did NOT have proof of address on me OR money/ check to deposit into the account and I was told by the teller that I would have a time limit to get it in or my mastercard would be put on hold and my account will be enabled and closed in a matter of two weeks. So I got home and started looking at reviews and a lot of you have proved my gut feeling right... this bank is a scam. So I figured "Don't worry about it... I did not deposit any money into the account and I didn't show the necessary paperwork to finish processing the account and they (meaning Woodforest themselves) even told me the account would be close due to this lack of info." It didn't sit so well in my gut that I emailed customer service and explained the situation to them and they emailed me back saying indeed that the mastercard order will not process and my account would be closed. Whew! what a relief. NOPE! Just a few days later I received my mastercard. Im like "What the?" and so I emailed customer service saying that I received the mastercard but that I have their email proving what they said. They wrote back "You're account will still close". Whew! that was close! Uh oh, not out of this sticky mess just yet!!! A few more days passed and I received a statement saying I was -$10. "What the?!?!??!" So I called customer service and they said: "Sorry, ma'am, you have to GO INTO the branch and talk to a manager!" and I asked them "What is customer service for then?" and he replied "Ma'am, to provide you with information!" and I said "So you're telling me this: I emailed your representatives, the company that YOU WORK FOR, The customer service section that YOU WORK IN, and THEY (You're office) told me this information, what do you say about that?!?!?!" and he said "Ma'am, I am sorry... you have to go into a branch and speak to a manager!" and I said "Why was I not told this in the first place???!!!" to make it short... He just kept repeating his nonsense and he got a little more than chewing out from me. So I looked at the time and said "Crap! I won't make it to the bank before it closes" so I called and asked for the manager. This is how our convo went: I explained to him about everything from beginning to end mentioning the fact that I still had the emails that customer service said. "Okay, I will refund the amount needed and close you're account." and me being paranoid (i've earned it) said "How will I know? Will I receive a statement?" and he paused "Um, well, no. I will do it now and it will be closed tomorrow" and I asked "You swear that you're going to close it?" and he said "Yes, ma'am, as we speak". Whew! thats a load off my mind. HAHAHA ya right! Bringing you to the present as this painful journey continues, I receive an offer to upgrade my account. I am thinking "It's closed... why would they send this?" and there is the bad feeling in my stomach again. I call customer service immediately and asked "Is my account closed?" and they replied "Oh no, ma'am... it's still open!" And you must be scratching your head and asking "Why is this lady not going into the branch?" Well timing is just perfect and every time I am brought to awareness on what's going on the bank is nearly at closing time. I tried reaching the manager on the phone but no such luck. I will be going into the branch tomorrow with copies of the emails and I will demand my account be closed like the manager promised. And you must be wondering: Why worry then? Well, I know they record phone calls but this institution has yet to prove themselves trustworthy so what if the manager says: I never talked to you? Thats a game of his word against mine. Also, like I said... I NEVER deposited money but because of the -$10 and the $25 they charge to close it... that brings me at $35 that I owe to them... and for what? I haven't even used their services!!! I am so beyond frustrated!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Perturbed101 Dec 08, 2009

    I believe that the people that are defending this bank are of the same educational level as the employees themselves. They may correct grammatical errors (which is the only way to really get under someones skin), but aside from that, actually bring no valid points to the table. If you work for a scam of a company, accept your losses, and find a better job. There's a reason that they have scored an "F" with the Better Business Bureau, and aside from the select few people to defend have had nothing posted anywhere that may hold themselves in high regards.
    In research into this bank, they actually have several lawsuits pending that do not look at all in their favor, so for those defending (I am assuming that you are on their lowest level) I would quiet the mouths and be more concerned with your job stability.
    As for my situation, I run a business and we were scammed into a false contract with them. Although, it's not completely their fault, as we had to go through a third party credit card company, the blindsided fees that we are facing has everything to do with them.
    In our "contract", which is actually very loosely called a contract, we were promised the best credit card machine, the lowest fees, a contract with no termination fee, and many other subtle things that have been blatantly thrown back at our bank statement. Not only are we dealing with monthly fees (which are much higher and seem to be kept adding onto every month with a new fee), but daily discount fees that were not told to us upfront. At this point, they are at least doubling our monthly fees.
    The terminal that we received is not only an older model, but the very basic model of an outdated machine. I have looked into other companies, and they won't even extend a hand until we update our machine so that they can actually process cards.
    And as for their business measures, I have been attempting to reach a supervisor of any sorts for the past month and a half to resolve this issue and move past this bank.
    It's absolutely horrendous not only that this issue is even coming into play, but the attempts to resolve it are still being unheard.
    Horrendous.

    0 Votes
  • Rm
    rmularz78 Dec 02, 2009

    This "bank" is the worst bank I have EVER come in contact with. These people are the rudest, most ignorant people in the world. I too had NSF charges on my account and wasn't aware of the "take charge loan" that they "offer". They took over $400 out of my other account and told me at headquarters that i was screwed and there was nothing anybody could do for me. I hate this bank. The people are worthless.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    madmominohio Dec 01, 2009

    i had a WF checking and they closed my account due to lack of activity. There was still money in there. I called them after I got aressted for bad checks. I had almost 300.00 dollars left in there from tax time and was saving it for my daughters birthday. so when he birthday came i went a wrote checks out not knowing that my account was closed. Months later a cop is at my door aressting me. I never got a notice or anything from the back. I have tried to get a hold of the bank manager but no luck. WOODFORST BANK IS AWFUL. They will screw you take your money out now.

    0 Votes
  • Vj
    Vjochens Nov 21, 2009

    Hi i opened an account with them because i need a bank account, im 18 almost 19 and was at walmart and decided to do so, i have not deposited any money and i am not planning on it after how much bad news i have heard from them, if i leave the account alone and do nothing with it since it does not have a monthly cost can i destroy the debit card they send me and get away from any charges that they would charge for closing and account? I also just went over the paper work i signed and when i made the account i asked her if i had to make a deposit into the account she said no, and i just plainly saw that i need to deposit 25 dollars to open the account, did i luck out and the account will not work because i did not make the deposit? and Is there a fee to close an account? Also as for the complaint, the women i opened the account with was so ...ditsy i would say i was fearful to open the account but i did so out of the benefits of opening it.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    meyer lansky Oct 29, 2009

    Bank is absolute low-rent... they held a state check for 12 days. 2-4 days for "ELECTRONIC" TRANSFERS, 7-10 FOR A PAPER CHECK. I'll be keeping my money in a coffee can.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Trajik29 Oct 02, 2009

    Well for whatever it's worth, here is my experience with WF and please, keep the childish insults to a minimum, they only annoy me. I opened an account with them in July of 2008, a checking account. Not a second chance checking but a real, honest to God, checking account. Right off the bat, I was charged $12 for the debit card. I have never, in my life, had to pay for a debit card. Generally, a bank will GIVE you the debit card for your convenienve and for theirs. But I thought, ok, it's only $12. Everything was fine, had no issues with them whatsoever. UNTIL Sept of 2008, I went to work a 6 month contract job in Manhattan. After researching, I found that there would be no WF branches within even 50 miles of New York City. I called them up and said I needed to close the account as there would be no branches close to where I would be for the next six months. I was advised by the retention department not to worry, they would waive ATM fees for the first 5 transactions per month, provided my direct deposits were still coming in. I said ok, what about depositing any checks I receive? I was advised that I could just mail them in and as soon as they were received, they would be available. Since my account was already open for over 30 days, there would be no reason to hold checks. I said ok, I will keep it open. Everything went great for about 3 months and then my purse was stolen. I contacted WF and reported the debit card and checks stolen and asked for the account to be closed and a check mailed to me for the balance. At the time that I had reported, there were no unfamiliar pending authorizations on the account. Again, I was sent to retention where a banking rep told me that closing the account was not necessary, they could put it on a deposit only status, cancel the debit card so it would not work and any checks that would be written would not be honored and nor would I be charged. I was told that when I got back to PA I could take care of opening the new account and transfering the money over. I said no, I would rather just close it unless you can open another account for me now and transfer everything over. She said she could not because of the Patriot Act, how could she be sure of who I was? I said well you are willing to cancel the debit card because I asked, put the account on deposit only status, and you had me verify all personally identifying information, is that not enough proof that I am who I say? She said no. I said ok, just keep it on deposit only status and I will take care of it when I return from NYC. I contacted my employer and changed my direct deposit to reflect that from each of my paychecks, only $25 would be deposited into the WF account, remaining balance to go to my fiance's bank account with BOA. That was in late November, early December. I finally get back to PA in February 2009. Upon picking my mail up at the post office, I notice there are alot of those little green and white, fold over notification cards that WF sends out. I am thinking...hmm wonder what these are for?
    I open 27 of them in total and just could not believe what I was reading. For an account that was supposed to be deposit only, someone had written a number of checks, which of course after the 5th one, all bounced like kindergartners in a bouncy castle. And for each one I received a $32 NSF fee, now after the first bounced item (which of course I was not aware of) I began to rack up the COD charge. How nice. But I am shocked because they never called me and they had my cell phone number, my home number (which rolls over to my cell), even my parents number as an emergency contact, yet they never called. Now you skeptics out there might ask "Why didn't you check your balance online?". Why would I? The account, to my knowledge, was on a deposit only status. In my mind, Im saving $100 a month by having the small direct deposit put in with NOTHING coming out, so no reason to check it. I call them and explode because this should not have happened. I said close the account IMMEDIATELY, only to be told, they will not close an account where money is owing and that I will continue to incur the COD charge until it is settled. I asked why were these charges allowed to go through on an account that was in DEPOSIT ONLY status? I was told they have no record of that anywhere in their system and when could I pay the balance to zero out the account?WTF? Why would I pay for THEIR mistake? So, at last count, I owed WFNB over $1000 and I will not pay it. I filed a police report, I tried to go through their fraud department who would not help me at all. I could not even get them to send me the fraud complaint forms. I will say, however, that the lovely people at WFNB did offer to forgive one of the NSF fees if I would just complete this silly, little, online overdraft course and fax them a copy of the printable certificate once I completed it. Gee, thanks! It's now sitting on my credit report and I am currently disputing it. And to all of you who said most of WFNB customers are ignorant, felons or immigrants, I am none of those, so please, speak of what you know and don't assume anything. This bank is garbage and I DO NO recommend using them.

    0 Votes
  • Ax
    axlaws Sep 22, 2009

    I read the comments about woodforest bank, all I can say about your situation is try to be nicer when you approach their employees.
    I have nothing at this time other than kudos for this bank. If they continue on the same customer satisfaction with me, I will be their customer for life.

    Allen Laws

    0 Votes
  • Up
    upset parent Aug 18, 2009

    I have had good experiences with this bank. However, when I tried to open an account for my 17 year old in a state where one is not an adult until age 18, I instructed they were to not issue her a debit card and I selected the "totally free checking". They refused to let me read any of the material or detail on her account. I insisted I had the right, but they said I did not because it was "her account". Then when she was all alone with them to read the information and sign, they read to her certain sections and told her it was totally free, but did not give it to her to read. They kept telling her it was totally free.
    When she came out with the paperwork, it was full of potential charges for a debit card, fees, checks, and fees if she closed the account in 6 months.
    When I asked why she didn't challenge it she said the guy told her he would be keeping a close eye on her account to see if she was trying to pull something illegal with the account and it intimidated her.

    This jerk is named Derek and is at the Kingwood Texas West Lake Houston branch. I'm going to give him a piece of my mind in the morning.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.