The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Woodforest National Bankoverdraft fees

Woodforest bank overdraft fees are rediculous!! Designed specifically to keep u in debt with them while they get filthy rich off of you. The continuous fees should be illegal.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Responses

  • Mo
    mommyjoslin Nov 20, 2009

    Upon working at Walmart I was unfortunately talked into opening an account at this bank seeing it is right there i figured it was a convenience. Little to my knowledge it was their convenience. They said that if i ran short on money i could overdraw and would be charged 34.00 but to make sure i took the money from the ATM and take what i needed to avoid multiple charges. Well How convenient they failed to mention they like to hold your debits for a few days so when you do overdraw they nail you for every single purchase made. Then when you call them they offer to refund you 34.00 until you take their online course and even after you take their online course they will only refund you another 34.00. So in the last month they screwed me out of 306.00. Would someone please put an end to the banks taking advantage of people like this? If you use your card as a Debit it should go through as a debit. After all isn't this why it is called a DEBIT CARD?

    -2 Votes
  • Mo
    mommyjoslin Nov 23, 2009

    Upon reviewing my complaint i was called by Woodforest Bank and they agreed to handle this situation better than it had been dealt with to begin with and any overdraft charges that should not have occured they refunded me. Thank you .

    1 Votes
  • Ri
    rich1969 Jan 12, 2010

    I too was charged $204 in overdraft fees and was told to take the "online course" and it "would be taken care of". Well, I took their course and presented the certificate that was requested. The bank manager said it would take care of the overdrafts the day that it started to be overdrawn. Well, the day it started I had one overdraft of $34 and the next day there where $170 dollars worth more. They refunded me only $34 and said thats all they can do. I am in the process of closing my account and chasnging banks.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Techdiva Feb 02, 2010

    I have tried closing my accounts due to this banks atrocious account behavior. I have submitted a formal request to have them close my account to no avail. I also called them several times to have them close my account. They really act like they do not comprehend what I am requesting. I no longer want to bank with you. They hold monies and process debits at will. I have received a 5 dollar a day charge for about two months. They said sure we cal refund you the daily ignorant overdraft fee only after “YOU” pay us the ungodly charges I incurred due to their creative accounting practices. I am completely baffled as to how these people are considered a bank. The sad part is you don’t realize it until after you establish a banking (and I say this loosely) relationship with this organization. You charge me a 43.oo fee when the money was clearly in my account due to the fact I USED MY DEBIT CARD WHICH REQUIRES A PIN. So their reasoning that the request does not hit my account later is hogwash. So if there are any class action lawsuits going on. I would love to be privy to this information.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carrick Michael Jun 29, 2010

    It is very easy to blame everyone except youself when your account becomes overdrawn. Woodforest National Bank provides immediate availability of deposits, a deposit cut off time up until the branch closing time, direct deposit is often paid a day early and if your account goes negative and you get their before closing to cover the negative balance VIOLA, no OD fees unlike other banks who charge you even if you go negative from a pre-authorization. In today's banking environment Woodforest gives customers like me EVERY advantage to succed with their finances. They even offer a Banking GPS program so that if you do happen to make a mistake you can go online and take this course and they will even give you back all the OD fees you incur on the first day you overdrew. Not to mention that they don't charge anymore that 4 OD fees a day AND they don't have any continous OD fees so you aren't charged per day if you do overdraw.

    Take responsibility for your own actions.

    I have always been able to call and talk to my branch about any issue I was having and not to mention they even offer a repayment plan if you do get in over your head.

    6 Votes
  • Fa
    Faeriemoon77 Jun 29, 2010

    The continuous OD fees you mention aren't even incurred until the 8th day of overdrawn status...so that gives you a whole week to clear up the overdraft BEFORE they begin the continous overdraft fees. Not to mention, there isn't a bank out there that won't charge a continuous OD fee, often beginning well before Woodforest begins theirs.

    I have banked with Woodforest for almost 3 years and have found them to be willing to help me whenever I need it. Their fees aren't any more expensive than any other bank, often they are quite less. I have used two different branches in Xenia, Ohio and Huber Heights, Ohio and both provided exceptional customer service and understanding of hard times and unintentional mistakes. I would recommend this bank to anyone!

    1 Votes
  • Woodforest Customer Service Aug 05, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    At Woodforest, we take every concern seriously and make every effort to resolve issues promptly. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding your experience. Please contact our Customer Care department at [protected] and ask to speak directly with the Regional Vice President over the branch. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

    2 Votes
  • Woodforest Customer Service Aug 05, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    At Woodforest, we take every concern seriously and make every effort to resolve issues promptly. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding your experience. Please contact our Customer Care department at [protected] and ask to speak directly with the Regional Vice President over the branch. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

    1 Votes
  • Sc
    scmommyje Jan 02, 2011

    So, don't overdraw your account?

    4 Votes
  • Th
    Theresa Ravenell Aug 11, 2011

    I feel as though the fees for the over dreafts are entirely tooo much. They should at least give you a grace period before they put a fee on your account. but other than that i think that WoodForest Bank is a goood place for second chance banking.

    -3 Votes
  • Re
    renee vaughn Aug 25, 2011

    hello i am a customer of woodforest bank in bloomington, illinois i was charged an overdraft fee of 34dollars, my account was in the negative-51cents i would like to know if i could receive my 34dollars back into my account, i also have direct deposit each week can someone send a text to my phone with an answer?

    0 Votes
  • Ih
    ihatewoodforestbank Jun 22, 2012

    My account was comprimised. My money was used. And I was left with nothing. Except OD charges, and so on. I filed claims on the theft of my money. And didn't hear back from them AT ALL for 26 days. And, THEY DENIED every purchase that I filed a claim for. And they would not give me a reason why they denied them. I got a letter stating just that, very vague. DENIED. And now, they have forwarded my account to a "RISK" department, whatever that means. I tried to use my card, it wouldn't let me, I ordered a new card, and then It didn't work either, so I called in. They said that they would NOT issue me a new debit card, and would not allow me to have one to use. That makes no sense. So, because I was taken advantage of, and I had a fradulent person steal from me, Im denied my right to have my money back, and not allowed to have a card anymore...AND the last card that I ordered from them, they CHARGED me $15 for it, when they said they wouldn't, and it overdrafted my account. FEES got tacked on and tacked on...It's my mistake to think that not having a valid card or any checks on he account, OR any bill pays, that my account balance would stay the same. MY mistake to trust this bank. Im going right on back to Bank of America...SEE YA

    1 Votes
  • Sm
    Smartandcute Feb 19, 2015

    I've had nothing but good experience with Woodforest N.B Since I started banking with them this year. Everyone is super nice at the branch and they help you with everything and anything you need. It's common sense if you are going to overdraft at an ATM you want to make sure all your transactions have posted first. As for them "holding" transactions or them showing as pending, this happens at most every bank, heck it's banking and most times this happens due to the merchant you are doing business with NOT the bank. When my local BOA branch got bought out here in VA I switched to Woodforest. So glad i did. They are a great bank.

    1 Votes
  • Ht
    Htbuckingbulls Jul 19, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've been with woodforest bank for 12 years with no issues. Now that I've fallen on hard times, they want to screw me. I had an automatic payment come out early and it left me overdrawn. I don't get paid for three more days. They want to charge me a fee every day I'm over, making the total higher and higher. Mark my word, when I get paid next, I'm going to another bank. Goodbye woodforest bank.

    0 Votes
  • Woodforest Customer Service Jul 20, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Htbuckingbulls Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent experience. We'd like to take a closer look into what happened. Please send an email to [protected]@woodforest.com with your contact information. – WNB

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.