Virgin Active South Africabad customer service

Z Review updated:

I am very upset! I go to Broadacres Virgin Active, and have been a happy customer until NOW! I started spinning a while ago, the spinning classes are very popular as they get very full, so I was advised by a consultant to rather book online to avoid disappointment. I did this and i booked my spinning bike for today's 17h30 spinning class. BUT at 17h30 when i got to the class, to my dismay, the bike was given away by one of the gym fitness consultants! He told me that because this class is very popular and they have "no-shows", he gave away my bike! This made me very upset as you might imagine! So what is the point of booking online if your bike will be given away? Especially us working people, who most times get stuck in peak time traffic, i book online so that I can get there change quickly and get to my bike that I BOOKED! The reason this makes me extremely angry only because I was once asked to move off someone else's bike who had booked, and I kindly did so. Yet I could not get the same service after I had booked a bike for a spinning class. The service at Broadacres Virgin active club is terrible and unacceptable. I would like to take this complaint up with the club's Manager as well.

Responses

  • Ar
    Arma May 13, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am so furious! My daughter a student at NWU contacted me on Friday 9/5/2014 asking to become a member at Virgin Active in Potchefstroom. She gave the phone to one of the consultants that explained to me the she has to pay a once off fee of R120 for her card and a once of fee of R495 only at the end of the month together with the pro-rata monthly fee. He further asked what medical aid we were. I gave him all the info that we were at Momentum health & that we were also members of multiply, i told him that she was a dependant on my medical aid. He said that in that case we qualify for a minimum premium of R115 per month should she use their facility for more that 12 days in a month. I was very happy with the deal and immediately told the consultant to give all the documentation to my daughter and that we will take the contract. Today 13/5/2004 another consultant from the club phoned to ask if I can make payment of R545 today as my daughter can only start once this amount was paid. I was so upset and explained to her what the previous consultant said. She was so surprised and instead said the following that the monthly fee is R298 and only after six months will my premium change to R165...I as so upset with this and immediately asked to speak to the club manager and she instead said that they will contact me back. No call was received up to now! This is unacceptable and I want this matter to be resolved a.s.a.p!

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thammy Jul 04, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I joined virgin active when I got a job and I was already sick and diagnosed with bi polar, When I was gyming there my sickness got severe and virgin active called my family to come fetch me, I was immediately admitted to hospital, During that time I lost memory and I was in rehabilitation for the disease, II was handed over to debt collectors and the amount is now 2000, the original statement shows, 749 from virgin active, If I call the management from virgin active, they don't return my calls and these guys who are debt collectors are pestering me calling my mother who is illiterate, , they seem to just don't get what I am explaining, and I m now fed up, I have medical records

    I owed virgin Active R749 in areas now the amount is R 2000-00, This is madness

    my email is :[email protected]

    Please help

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    clinttheboss Jul 14, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was approached by Rodney of Canal walk Virgin Active. he wanted us to join and we said we were not ready. then he called and said we get R800 back in September. all we need to do is gym 36 times for the year so we don't pay the activation fee again. we joined and now i find out we need to gym 24 times before the end of august. don't trust the Virgin active guys at all. i told him we can only gym from end of July. he said don't worry you will get you R800 back. its not about the money but about morals. they should tell you all of this when you sign the contract. no where does it state this. i have all his messages and everything. he refuses to reply or answer his phone now. if this is the type of employees Virgin active employ i do not see myself being associated with them for long. so please people watch out as they are all con artist.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer17629 Feb 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am complaining about the kauai in Virgin active, rustenburg .
    The equipment is broken or thay do not have small plastic holders .
    I am by vitality and all my fees are payed every month and not late so I don't expect this service . Please follow up

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Christinebruce Mar 10, 2016

    Virgin Active cant be trust

    0 Votes
  • Ax
    Axel Cary Oct 26, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I AM THE MEMBER OF CLASSIC AT DURBAN 2YEAS NOW... VERY BAD SERVICES WE GETTING FROM STUFF AS WE ALWAYS HAVE PARKING PROBLEM WHEN EVERY THERE IS EVENT AT THE SOCCER GROUND. JYM DONT HAVE THERE OWN PARKING SO WHEN EVERY IS THE GAME WE NOT ALLOW TO ENTER IN THE PARKING AND CANT DO THE TANNING ON THAT DAY.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angelica Gorbunova Jul 22, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Good day
    Complaint regarding lack of management skills of Sule Human, Bryanston club manager.
    My daughter, Maxine Gorbunova, use to work at Bryanston VA as a personal trainer for almost 2 years. She was not able to pay full amount for rent for December 2018 & January 2019, she informed Sule Human regarding the matter and asked if it is a problem? To which she was told to contact financial department and arrange for repayments, which was done on advise of Sule Human. In January 2019, while training her clients, she was approached by a manager on duty and told in front of client to leave premises for non-payment. She advised that agreement was in order, at that stage she had proof of emails etc. Then she was told that it was a wrong advise to arrange for repayments, and Sule Human would not take responsibility for the embarrassment she caused by daughter in this regard. Thus leading to my daughters resignation, which was accepted by Sule Human in writing on 28 February. The agreement was arranged for to pay the outstanding money till end of March, since my daughter was leaving the country. On her request if all in order, she was told that it was all sorted out. Four months later I receive a phone call from Sule Human stating that my daughter owes gym R 22 000, which is WRONG. The proof, AGAIN, was provided, this time directly to Sule Human, regarding payment done in accordance to their demand. The amount of R 15 000 was done, before end of March and proof sent. Sule Human instead of sorting matter out and apologizing for another mess up on her side, got unreasonable and said that she does not want to be contacted regarding the matter anymore, since obviously she could not sort it out at the first place, and it took here 4 months to start all over again. The job of a branch manager is to ASSIST people, and not get moody and unprofessional. We still did not get anything from here stating that matter is solved, she just went into "hiding". My question is: what is manager's job description, ignore and accuse???
    I am awaiting for your urgent response, have no intentions any longer to deal with Sule Human, since I am not sure if she has enough skills to do her job.
    Please contact me and investigate the matter. If, for whatever reason, which we were not informed originally when resignation was accepted, there is outstanding amount, it is most definitely is not R 22 000, and if there was a short payment on our side, purely because of ill advise from financial department and Sule Human. Why does it take 4 months after resignation for her to start "digging" into the matter and accusing of something that is not true. On top of everything it came to my attention, so one of the managers of Bryanston club was approached by a totally non-related person to the matter and was told that my daughter owes money and never paid before she left. This is a total bridge of confidentiality, and unacceptable yet again. Is there any control in the management of the Bryanston VA or nobody cares???
    Please contact me on 082-3355-381 with explanations.
    Regards, Angelica Gorbunova ([email protected])

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem