SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Usenet.nlthey keep trying to steal my money after I canceled membership

1
N Review updated:

I think it is a right scam they said i could try the site out for 14 days if i like it then i have to pay 100 euros to use it, i tried it it has nothing useful to download on there i tried cancelling the membership being bought deleted the software but was not able too cancel they keep trying to take the money out of my account which has become a right nightmare for me which will give me bank fines and a bad credit rating as im in minus and it will also take the money out as soon as i get paid which leaves me having to starve for weeks.. or having to cancel my card which will be a nightmare as i won't be able to withdraw money to get food for the month until my new card arrives!!! So i now have to starve for a week... this is a polite way of looking at the site...

Responses

  • U
      Jan 04, 2011

    Dear Nukkine,

    We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you had with Usenet.nl.

    To make sure it is clear what our service is all about we would like to explain what Usenet.nl is and how it works. Usenet.nl is a usenet provider which comes with easy and safe software to enter the worldwide network of the usenet. It is fairly simple to gain access via Usenet.nl. All you have to do is signing up on our website and you can start. The first 14 days, the so called trial period, are completely for free and you can check out all about how Usenet.nl works. After that, if you do not cancel within the trial period, you enter the full membership depending on what package you chose during signing up (as mentioned in this process as well as in the TOS). You can cancel anytime by simply using the Cancel Button or by sending us a Support inquiry, which both can be found in the member area, or of course by mail or email.

    However, it is not our intention to give incorrect or untruthful information on our website or hide anything referring to the trial period or the contracts. If you had any problems with our service, if there is something you would like to mention or if you have any suggestions on how to improve the transparency on our website, please contact us at [protected]@usenet.nl. We will gladly come back to you.

    All the best,
    Your Usenet.nl Team

    -31 Votes
  • K
      Mar 04, 2017

    @Usenet.nl Team I have email and used your interface on accounts 6 months ago, you changed my card again today. If it goes through I am pressing charges, i already sent 3 emails to your support today and called the number at 4pm cen and of course you where closed.

    +3 Votes
  • H
      Mar 04, 2017

    @Keith Stoneback Believe me, they won't answer you on here. What is the issue?

    0 Votes
  • T
      Apr 29, 2017

    @Keith Stoneback never had a problem with them

    -4 Votes
  • W
      Sep 18, 2017

    @Usenet.nl Team Stop stealing people's money

    +4 Votes
  • S
      Oct 02, 2019

    @Usenet.nl Team Confirmation of your cancellation!

    "Hello SHAZRENNBAK

    Your contract with customer number 1058538 will presumably be terminated on 10/11/2019 and it will not be renewed anymore."

    GUYS...statement above I got received by email from this idiot website yesterday. I have same issue like u all and want to make cancellation. FYI i still have about a week before the trial ends. But I still feel insecure when I saw the word "presumably". Is it the way u said to ur customer ? maybe ?? U should terminate it immediately as soon as i make a requested ! my instinct feel like u [censored]ing freak will still take my money and will said its my fault bcoz cancel it a day before my trial ends. i dont know yet...but my instinct always right. we will see it soon what will happen to me. I'll update it later to u guys.

    0 Votes
  • Y
      Feb 01, 2011

    usenet.nl, you are useless, your site is the worst that i have seen in my life, every thing is rubbish. The worst is that you are a big robber... You stall my money. 100euro, i live in a poor country and i have to work 2 weeks for 100 euro. Now i gonna starve 2 weeks. May god make you and your family`s starve. You have to know that your way is too short, you can`t keep the robbery going on like that.

    +23 Votes
  • T
      Oct 23, 2011

    When I signed up for the free 14 day trial, usenet's website was not letting me get past the signup page. So I tried a couple more times, and it finally worked. I tried their service, downloaded a couple of things and ended up getting a virus on my computer. So, I cancelled my membership and deleted the program. I received the confirmation email that it was cancelled. Then, I got charged the 100 euro, and when I called them, they said that I had signed up for two accounts and only cancelled one. Their customer service was the worst I have ever heard. The girl was absolutely awful and downright mean. She said that I was the one who signed two contracts and she "absolutely will not give your money back." She wasn't polite about it, she was horrible. She said it was because they do things different in her country and while she could see that I was the same person, and the two accounts were signed up within 10 minutes of each other, and it was most likely a mistake, she didn't care. Its my "stupid" mistake. Why would they rather have unhappy customers who are not even going to use their service then treat people with respect? They are not at all a good company, don't care about their customers, only their customers money even if it takes trickery.

    +5 Votes
  • U
      Oct 24, 2011

    Dear tjmoll31,

    we are very sorry if you had any problems with our service.

    In order to gain access to the usenet via usenet.nl, you need to sign up on our website. After the registration you enter the free trial period which lasts for 14 days. As mentioned several times during the sign up process as well as in the TOS (which have to be accepted by the customer) you have to cancel our service during the trial period if you do not want your membership to be converted into a paid contract. You can cancel anytime via mail, support inquiry or simply by using the cancel button in the member area.

    Usenet.nl offers only access to the usenet and is not responsible for the contents of the usenet! Virusses and other malware can be avoided by using the commentary function.

    However, since we are constantly trying to make our service as easy and transparent as possible, we would like to ask you to send an e-mail describing your problem to [protected]@usenet.nl. We will then try to find a satisfactory solution.

    Best regards,
    Your Usenet.nl Team

    -7 Votes
  • N
      Sep 06, 2017

    @Usenet.nl Team You completely negated their main problem, which was that he/she registered for two accounts. Oh the irony in bad customer service.

    +2 Votes
  • N
      Oct 06, 2015

    I registered with usenet.nl trial and downloaded the application. But I could not download any file. Thus, I uninstalled the program and tried to cancel the registration. But about two weeks later, I received SMS alert from my bank saying that I have been debited INR 6535 by usenet.nl. This was a shocker. I want my money back. I just want to cancel my registration. Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Dec 23, 2015

    Phoning between business hours and they say hotline is closed, but yet in between their posted hours
    Tried numerous emails to customer support, no reply
    Signed up for a free-trial, but don't let you cancel without calling a hotline, which is closed
    I see where they are headed; robbing me of a years subscription by not responding to my cancellation

    +4 Votes
  • R
      Jan 02, 2016

    I also signed up for the free trial and only a few days into my 2 weeks, decided I couldn't find anything I needed from Usenet and decided to cancel. I signed into my account and went to cancel my subscription and was redirected to this toll-free number that I called well within the posted business hours that constantly disconnected me. So then I attempted to email the posted support email, to which I got a postmaster kickback notice in German. Do not get pulled into this con! There is nobody standing by to cancel your "14-day trial" I'm lucky I didn't wait til the last minute to try and unsubscribe, because at the end I was able to call Paypal and stop the payment from their end. But we'll see. In a week or so, when the trial is actually up, it's possible Usenet will still charge me, but at that point, it'll be a declaration of war. So. I hope not.

    +4 Votes
  • Q
      Jan 21, 2016

    I am able to cancel it today during my 14 days free trial by sending the online form yesterday https://en.usenet.nl/service/support-form/. At the beginning I am very much worried if my account can be cancelled because the US hotline can never be called in. But today when I can check my online account status, it becomes "Subscription cancelled". I checked the "Massage" under the "my account", there is a confirmation massage showing my account is cancelled. So now I just need to make sure they do not pull any money from my bank account. It seems everything should be fine so far. The only issue to me is that I could not receive the confirmation massage by email although the "massage" showing it is sent to my gmail account.

    0 Votes
  • J
      Mar 09, 2017

    @Qi Wang Hi there - have you got a copy of the cancellation message? I may be able to help and show you what i did

    0 Votes
  • T
      Mar 01, 2016

    I registered for usenet today, couldn't find my goddamn file in their crappy software and I wanna cancel my 14 days trial membership immediately. Sent an email to usenet, but they said they are busy when it is in the middle of the night in UK? Seriously I'm worried they would charge me those 99 euros. That is a hell lot of money man! I'm a student living in a small city in Indonesia right now. What is the best way to cancel it? Call the hotline

    0 Votes
  • D
      Oct 22, 2019

    @thedudelebowski Hi .im from Indonesia also.. had just made a mistake of signing up an hour ago .I called uk hotline and received a confirmation email of terminated subscription. So will they charge me with anything else even though i have cancelled my subs.. im quite worried here since i used my CC.please kindly reply..terima kasih

    0 Votes
  • R
      Mar 01, 2016

    I registered for usenet today, couldn't find my goddamn file in their crappy software and I wanna cancel my 14 days trial membership immediately. Sent an email to usenet, but they said they are busy when it is in the middle of the night in UK? Seriously I'm worried they would charge me those 99 euros. That is a hell lot of money man! I'm a student living in a small city in Indonesia right now. What is the best way to cancel it? Call the hotline? Keep writing that email?

    0 Votes
  • I
      Apr 13, 2016

    I'm also trying to unsubscribe my account. I'm still in the free trial period. Will update soon.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Apr 20, 2016

    Lesson learned: don't give your credit card information to ANY sketchy website. They lured me in with the 14 day free trial and the ability to cancel at any time. I tried canceling via hotline literally 5 minutes after signing up, realizing the site wasn't any good. Started getting real freaked out when their automated message said I was calling outside of their office hours when that clearly wasn't the case. I never got a hold of anyone on the phone, but I sent a message by going to 'customer service' then 'contact form' telling them I wanted to cancel immediately and their hotline was down during its office hours. The next morning I checked my account and it said my subscription was canceled. Hope this helps!

    +2 Votes
  • I
      May 11, 2016

    As I promised, I'm updating. I've managed to unsubscribe while on my free trial period by submitting a contact form available in their site.
    They confirmed the unsubscribe request by sending me an email and my account was deleted the next day. Everything is fine so far. If they ever send me another email or something I might as well come back here to share with you people.
    So my tip is: End the subscription as fast as you can before the free trial period expires and you'll probably have no trouble.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Jun 07, 2016

    I also make emergency login to this web site thinking that I can get what I'm looking for. and after 10 minutes I find that the case is without meaning. I immediately wanted to terminate the relationship and told them by e-mail and fill out the online form to unsubscribe but without success. I sent many e-mail and requests for cancellation of the contract but without success. After 14 days they send a notice that they can not take money from PayPal ACCOUNT because I blocked it. Now I would like to know if anyone has done the same? Did he have then seen the problems caused by the payment? What they can do, if I do not pay?
    Thank you!

    +1 Votes
  • R
      Jun 07, 2016

    I also make emergency login to this web site thinking that I can get what I'm looking for. and after 10 minutes I find that the case is without meaning. I immediately wanted to terminate the relationship and told them by e-mail and fill out the online form to unsubscribe but without success. I sent many e-mail and requests for cancellation of the contract but without success. After 14 days they send a notice that they can not take money from PayPal ACCOUNT because I blocked it. Now I would like to know if anyone has done the same? Did he have then seen the problems caused by the payment? What can they do, if I do not pay?
    Thank you!

    0 Votes
  • N
      Jul 07, 2016

    I don't know what they can do.
    I think they are not serious, i had the same problem. I tried to terminated several times to cancel without succeed . I as soon uninstall the application.
    After they gave me a fee, some month after the fees had increase and additionnal fees for remind. I told they what's happenned but they said i have a contract and they don't received cancel.
    I think this is a scam! other sites operate normally, why is it different for this site and when you want to cancel?
    when I look on their website, there is nothing for comments, opinions, why?

    0 Votes
  • H
      Jul 17, 2016

    I just fix this by cancelling from "pre-authorised payment" in paypal. If you subscribe with CC, you can only try to cancel it by sending their online form. Good luck.

    -1 Votes
  • L
      Dec 06, 2016

    @Hải Nam I thought that canceling the payment in PayPal would solve my problem too. No good. I just got socked with a bill sent to my home address saying I owe back payment for the two months that I didn't pay through PayPal. You have to find a way to actually cancel your account, or they will keep billing you.

    0 Votes
  • A
      Apr 02, 2017

    @Lyn W-D I have had the same problem. Continues with new bills and threats, however, I did file a complaint with Paypal and they canceled their ability to access my account. All they have is a lot of letters/emails with threats. To actually bring about a lawsuit and/or go through the trouble of reporting a claim with just one customer would be ludicrous. I would love to get this in front of a judge and push a class action lawsuit if they really went that way. The disgruntled/scammed customers far outweigh any amount of legal backbone they have. Just tear up the letters...

    0 Votes
  • M
      Aug 04, 2016

    i want to report
    i also feel i only agree for free trial and then they don't give us email and warning..
    then comes the bill.
    i already email the customer service. and they make me have to pay 99 dollars.
    it's really expensive for something i don't use.
    that's totally insane

    0 Votes
  • D
      Aug 25, 2016

    This website is a scam, there is no chance to cancel subscription in the normal way and just trying to pretend like they are "legal business". Stay away!

    0 Votes
  • A
      Aug 26, 2016

    If you want to cancel the phone number is in European time zone so you have to make sure your time zone fits with their customer service open hours. If you are having trouble getting a representative to talk to just keep trying. I had the same issue but I canceled my membership easily.

    +1 Votes
  • A
      Aug 26, 2016

    Also, the membership if canceled correctly will still be in free-trial for 14 days and then after that nothing will happen if you canceled your membership right. Stay on top of emails especially 1-2 days before the trial is up. I know it's frustrating but you can't jump to solutions I thought I was going to loose $112(100eu) but you really have to step back and analyze because it was tricky at first but I solved their scamming ways! Good Luck!

    0 Votes
  • M
      Oct 05, 2016

    I cancelled my trial with usenet.nl before the trial period ended. Having received no feedback I tried again to cancel via their contact form. Still no response. Then I got an invoice for 99$ and this amount deducted from my credit card. I have still received no email response apart from their noreply messages. Thank you usenet.nl team - that money was for my children's Christmas.

    Are there any legal procedures I can follow for this king of internet fraud for claiming black money?

    0 Votes
  • X
      Oct 07, 2016

    I also couldn't cancel my subscription, so then I canceled pre-authorised payment in Paypal, but now they sent me this reminder to pay, by post mail. No way I'm gonna pay this. This site doesn't even work. So I sent them my complaint, I will update soon!

    0 Votes
  • A
      Oct 24, 2016

    I cancelled my trial via Paypal well within the time frame. I received two emails (which I responded to), and just today got an actual snail mail stating I was still overdue. Since I cancelled with Paypal, I don't know what that means in terms of owing money, but as they make it impossible to cancel on their site, and I've cancelled recurring payments through Paypal before, I figured it was all good. I don't know if they can actually go after me, considering how scammy they seem, but if they don't allow someone to cancel via Paypal, they should have a huge notice right on their site, in plain view. I just sent them a third email, but I'm guessing it will be ignored.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Nov 23, 2016

    I feel like maybe I don't have a grace period where I can cancel my account. I downloaded usenet.nl in order a download an ebook (which I found another site anyway) and forgot about the free trial until it ran out and they charged me and kept charging me for non-payment. Here is a copy-pasted version of the email they sent me most recently:

    I'll admit, I sent them kind of a pissed off email in the heat of the moment that said that I had no way of paying the charge and I just wanted to get right of the charge as soon as possible instead of promising I would in the future but the response back was that I had my contract was still valid and would I "kundly" settle the debt by Nov. 5th.

    Is there any way of getting rid of the charge completely or should I just block their emails?

    0 Votes
  • H
      Nov 26, 2016

    @mechashiva The only way to get rid of it is to pay. You can take the risk and ignore it, no one has ever been taken to court by these fools.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Nov 28, 2016

    @Hunterx27 I can try. It's going to take me a while to get enough money to pay the charge but I just got an invoice in the mail today so I feel like they're not going to leave me alone until I pay them. >_

    0 Votes
  • H
      Dec 01, 2016

    @mechashiva Oh they're not. It will go on for years. But they will never take you to court. I would advise paying as quickly as you can because the fees will keep rising.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Dec 09, 2016

    I am in same position. With us they are using a company called Teschinkasso to recover the debt. (Unless this is also a fraud). This company is ultimately owned by Pemira Funds, supposedly a reputable Investment company. Do they know the kind of clients they have, and does this fit with their ethical policy.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Dec 14, 2016

    I just got an invoice for $110... I tried five times months ago to cancel my subscription, only to be blocked each time. I cancelled the recurring payments with Paypal, thinking they would close my account with no payment. Nope, still billing... Just sent them a really angry e-mail. They need to make it easier to unsubscribe, they can't seriously think they'll get money this way.

    0 Votes
  • H
      Dec 14, 2016

    @rosexthorn I did the same thing and have gone through the same thing. I have severe anxiety, so i paid them, which according to many reports is the only way to get them to leave you alone. It's how they've managed to stay around legally for such a long time. Like most business they take advantage of small faults and run with it. We have to pay attention and read the fine print. That's how they get you. You can ignore it, no one has ever gone to court. Unless you want them trying to contact you for six years.

    0 Votes
  • E
      Jan 07, 2017

    @rosexthorn Did you ever get an email back? I'm in the same problem.

    0 Votes
  • P
      Feb 06, 2017

    "Uselessnet.nl" cheated me to with their canceling bs. Now they got away with 99€ from my Pay-Pal before I knew it. Can't somebody make the stop cheating people like this? I'm unemployed and can't afford this kind of fraudulent behaviour.

    0 Votes
  • C
      Mar 27, 2017

    Last Friday (25/3/2017) my account was charged with 99.96 euros for I don't know what. I even wasn't heard the name of that company. On the line of purchase is written [UNF23] Relax 99, 96 EUR. Can somebody help in this matter ?

    0 Votes
  • H
      Mar 27, 2017

    @carbamid Sounds like someone stole your card number. Call your bank and get a new card.

    0 Votes
  • I
      Dec 08, 2018

    @Hunterx27 I was in the same situation. Many people (in USA I guess) recognise the company for other things than its frauds. I was redirected to their website by Google, spent there literally 5 minutes and didn't leave any payment data, because it's something I don't do and they're still after me considering it both a registration and a purchase.
    When I got the email from there I had absolutely no idea what it was about and I had to search in my memory really hard...

    0 Votes
  • L
      Apr 23, 2017

    Hi! I made a huge mistake by providing my CC info to this page. I knew it the moment I tried to cancel that useless free trial. It´s been a hour since I subscribed to this scam. I filled a report in the support area and sent them an e-mail. Since it is Sunday, maybe it´s taking them longer to answer. How long did it take for them to answer to you, guys? I feel like a fool...

    0 Votes
  • H
      Apr 23, 2017

    @Laura Reyes They are not open on Sundays. Luckily it is still early in your trial. It's better to call, they don't seem to be answering a lot of contact forms lately. It will not be a quick fix. You really have to hound them.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Apr 23, 2017

    @Hunterx27 I live in Argentina, the cost of those phone calls will be horrific. It's just a few hours since I gave them my CC details... What a mistake!

    0 Votes
  • H
      Apr 23, 2017

    @Laura Reyes Oh I'm sorry. My suggestion would be to send them messages through their contact form at least twice a day. If you don't hear anything by the tenth day call your bank and get your card replaced, but be warned, replacing the card is only a temporary fix. To get rid of them you have to get a cancellation confirmation from them, and NEVER throw it away.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Apr 24, 2017

    @Hunterx27 I've received an email from them confirming the cancelation of my contract. They said that my subscription will not be renewed after the trial period expires. Do you think I should have any problem after this?

    0 Votes
  • H
      Apr 24, 2017

    @Laura Reyes No!! You got EXTREMELY lucky to have gotten this. Most prople don't succeed in canceling. DO NOT throw away that cancellation. It very rarely happens, but keep that cancellation just in case they charge you anyway. When you log in make sure your account status says subscription cancelled. I wouldn't worry though. You have everything you need with that cancellation.

    0 Votes
  • J
      May 20, 2018

    @Laura Reyes Hola Laura. yo tambien cometi el error de suscribirme a este site de estafadores via paypal, buscando un libro que finalmente encontre en otro lado. Trate de cancelar la suscripcion online y via formulario de contacto unos 2 o 3 minutos luego de darme de alta. Ademas cancele los pagos de Paypal. Tambien estoy en Argentina. Como solucionaste el problema? Gracias x tu ayuda. Estoy muy preocupada.

    0 Votes
  • A
      Apr 25, 2017

    They are really ### thieves, I tried to cancel but they told me call to confirm cancellation, I called them, in the duty hours no replay, so I sent numerous number of messages to their customer support through the site they answer like this "dear usenet.nl customer, thank you for your inquiry. Unfortunately, it will take a little more time than usual to answer your request, as we currently have a very high amount of inquiries. Thank you for your patience! "
    So I kept sending the same inquiry that says "cancel my membership immediately, don't please ask me to do anything else or to bother me with your questions, just cancel my membership, not by phone or email or by any other steps, you kindly will click the cancel button or the rest of my life I Will worn people from you, and you will get nothing because I will simply cancel my low limit credit card" so finally after 5 minutes they gave up and send for me the cancellation confirmation

    0 Votes
  • I
      Jun 12, 2017

    I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. I MADE THE ACCOUNT TODAY. I SEND THEM 3 E-MAILS BUT I DON T WHANT TO CALL THEM BEACOUSE IT WILL COST ME AND I DON T HAVE MONEY ON THE PHONE. ON THE VISA CARD I DONT HAVE ANY MONEY AT ALL. THEY HAVEN T SEND ME ANY E-MAIL WITH THE CONFIRMATION!!! I HAVE DONE ALL THE CANCELLATION FORMS EXEPT CALLING THEM...! I HAVE A VISA CARD. CAN I BLOCK THEM?

    0 Votes
  •   Aug 14, 2017

    Hey guys. I was like shocked after finding out that the only way to finish the cancellation is by calling them. There's no way that I can call them, our telephone only supports local calls besides even if I can reach them, I heard that they're always not available. So I was like trying to cancel my subscription, I sent them multiple forms and luckily after few minutes I received a confirmation on my email that my account has already been cancelled.

    0 Votes
  • A
      Sep 22, 2017

    Trying to phone from Australia with the [protected] number but says not connected, I've been trying to cancel this subscription/membership for ages without success. Need to hear from someone who was actually successful.

    0 Votes
  • H
      Sep 25, 2017

    @AusMick Make sure you're calling them in their timezone not yours. Call first thing in the morning.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Oct 11, 2017

    Fraud 14 days trial subscription and forced to pay every month even after cancellation.

    I have subscribed for this 14 days trial, and they stored my card, then without notice or intimation or consent they have charged 1st month, when I cancelled this subscription, I have received an email that I even have to pay the next month fee, also when I log in to account I cannot see my payment option anywhere.

    What a criminal minded people you are, why the hell you cannot allow the subscribers to edit their payment method, this is to steal the hard earned money of your innocent customers?

    Let them charge anything next month, I will make this go viral on every social media.

    +1 Votes
  • R
      Apr 03, 2018

    I created an account for downloading some files.But on creation of the account I realised its not accesible.
    Tried to cancel the account which was a herculean task.At the end of second week I got a shocking message that, Rs 6432 got deducted from account.Its such a SCAM.Plz dont fall for it

    0 Votes
  • T
      Jun 01, 2018

    I forgot my log in details and no one is responding to me

    0 Votes
  • L
      Jul 31, 2018

    I canceled my trial with usenet.nl before the trial period ended. And there was no response what soever. Then I got an invoice of 99$. I, unfortunately, use a credit card. It basically stole money from me!

    I will fire a legal procedure so that we could end this SCAM!!!

    +3 Votes
  • C
      Sep 01, 2018

    I do not get any email that's really the email I'm entering
    I need to cancel the transaction

    0 Votes

Post your comment