The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
USAAhorrible mortgage servicing

J Review updated:

I have been a member of USAA since 1953, so I never thought I would be complaining about them.

I refinanced my mortgage last year, not knowing (and not being informed) that USAA now uses US Bank as its mortgage server. Based upon years of experience as a commercial customer of US Bank, I want nothing to do with this customer-UNfriendly bank. Had I been informed in advance that US Bank is the mortgage server for USAA, I would NOT have gone through with the refinance.

I have had nothing but trouble with this loan. Never in my life have I been required to pay my property taxes and homeowner insurance into an impound account. USAA now requires this of me. Worse yet, according to US Bank, my annual homeowner insurance premium is $800, when in fact it is only $400. I am being charged double for this error and no matter how many contacts I have had with US Bank, the record is not corrected.

Last month, without legal basis US Bank demanded that I pay $1, 000 additional into the impound account, in order not to increase my monthly mortgage payment. I sent my check immediately - intending to resolve the errors and get a refund later - and it CLEARED MY BANK 4 days later, on December 12th.

Mortgage Statement received yesterday (dated January 16th) reflects NO record of this additional payment, and my mortgage payment has been bumped up, in clear violation of the instructions I received from the US Bank Mortgage customer "service" rep on December 8th.

HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE mortgage "servicing, " unless one enjoys being a target of extortion.

After researching complaints of this type, I realize that this is not an isolated incident -- it is the norm.

I urge you NOT to borrow from USAA!

Responses

  • Br
    Bryan Hilferty Jun 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Like many above said I have been a happy member of USAA for decades. No longer. DO NOT go to USAA for a mortgage. Banking, and insurance ok, but the mortgage experience was dreadful. We first sent them the ratified and signed contract 38 days ahead of the closing date we wanted, but we ended up closing 5 days late as they didn't want to work on the file, and then they "forgot" to FedEx us the closing documents, and they "could not" fax or electronically send them to us.

    0 Votes
  • Ec
    ecadams2 Mar 01, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    One of their insured, a drunk driver, hit my parked car and left the scene. I decided to call to see why I hadn't received payment why the claim was still open. After being kept on hold, they said that there was some error on their part and that the payment would be sent overnight. If I hadn't called, no telling when I would have received payment.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer32739 Oct 29, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Has anyone ever been denied a mortgage or refinance due to sexual or racial discrimination by USAA?

    0 Votes
  • Ex
    ExCalGal May 25, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband and I applied for a home loan with USAA earlier this year. He has been a USAA member for over 40 years, and we have always held the company in high regard. Now we're not so sure. The application process with them was utterly awful and included many of the negative experiences described by previous posters: rudeness and disrespect toward the customer, lack of competence and professional attitude, even accusing us of lying when in fact we had been absolutely above-board in dealing with them. We would urge anyone contemplating a home loan application with them to reconsider. After much frustration and dismay, we terminated our USAA application and went to our local bank branch (Wells Fargo). The difference has been night-and-day! Our loan processor was very competent and worked well with us. No problems with lack of communication, attitude, etc. We got the loan in a timely manner and are in the process of moving to our new home, a belated happy ending to what started out as a nightmare with USAA.

    0 Votes
  • Pissed off Princess Nov 10, 2014

    I once thought that USAA was a good bank my husband was active duty we bank with them and had auto insurance through them. My husband is now in the reserves and works full time and also gets partial disability from injuries sustained while deployed.Well a month ago decide to go through them for a mortgage loan which we were doing a VA and the first loan officer never expressed any issues but also didn't have much contact with us at all. Two weeks went by no word of nothing we were still waiting on approval, I send a complaint to the supervisor then the next day contacted by another loan officer who then said this was the first time they were touch our file and that the other loan officer would not be completing the loan that they were. Took one day to find out that the first loan officer had a list of things that we needed that she never told us to get to them then he changes the loan from 1 living in the house to 2 which we didn't know it was like that, because my husband is the only one on the loan. We didn't think this would make a difference other than then he told us that it turned the loan upside down when we added the quoted homeowners insurance. Then come to find out also after he told us this they didn't include his reserves pay at all, and not only that but the underwriters are now refusing to add this income!?!??! WTF? How are you not going to add income? They claim to be so military affiliated and yet we feel like the opposite my husband actually stated he feels his duty to the country feels trampled on right now by them. The kicker is we are like $75 from the required residual income requirement why would they not want to do what they can to get this pushed through?!?!??! We are 10 days from when we are supposed to close on the loan and still don't know if we will or not. The loan officer stated this evening that he was going to try to get an exception for the reserves pay, to me this seems ridiculous to have to get an exception. Even if they get this straightened out we are done with USAA and we will make sure nobody we know goes through them. We thought going through them would be cake since we have been loyal customers apparently that doesn't matter at all, would have been better off going to a local bank.

    1 Votes
  • Le
    leeannel Jul 09, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    getting a mortgage through USAA...
    Please save yourself a night mare and go somewhere else.
    I have submitted a new loan app, our processor, sends us a letter saying the paper work is all wrong, and we are on a time crunch to be able to close on time. I of course am freaking out with contents of a six bedroom home and no where to go. The processor takes a day off and every time I have a question she says she has 24 hours to get back to me when I clearly don't have 24 hours times 10. I finally get through to her by telling my story to different people at the bank. She is snotty and rude and says I don't have to keep calling her. She then informs me my paper work is lost. I can just see her with all her all smug tossing all my paper work in the trash. She said the paper work my realtor sent her was wrong because he wrote dr. for drive she wanted it spelled out " but when she pointed out is was wrong for her, she said she needed corrections (DR) we are not mind readers. I think the processors should be held accountable. I am sure there are plenty of qualified people who need a job.
    I

    0 Votes
  • Le
    leeannel Jul 09, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WOW, so many complaints and no resolution.
    I have to say worst experience ever for me. I get a letter saying nothing is right with my paper work and it is under a time crunch to be able to close on time. So of course I am freaking out. (have no where to go with contents of a 6 bedroom home.) Make that times 10 when the processor handling my app. takes a day off and every time I ask a question she says she will get back to me in 24 hours. I finally get to talk to of her going through different people at the bank by telling my story. She is snotty and rude and says you don't have to call me 10 times, I have 24 hours to get back to you. She kicked back the first app because our realtor wrote Dr. for drive. Now all of the sudden all my paper work is lost, I feel like she just smugly tossed it in the trash. Maybe they can give my 2 year old a job. Or better hold their processers accountable for their actions, I am sure there are plenty of qualified people who need a job

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David M. King Apr 24, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thank Goodness we had a great realtor that USAA recommended through the MoversAdvantage program. She steered us towards a very competent lender (local company) that took good care of us. I think USAA just doesn't have the requisite knowledge to compete in the Mortgage business. They wait until the last minute to do everything which indicates they don't employ enough people to take care of member needs in this area. I will NEVER recommend USAA's mortgage services to anyone and they should worry about that. I work with ALL branches of active duty military members and many retired military civilians each week. I have told more than 100 people that could use USAA to go elsewhere and will do that for years to come.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    geaners Apr 24, 2013

    We are military and have been members of USAA for over 20 years. Recently, we decided to refinance our mortgage. We submitted an online application and the whole process was unprofessional and sloppy. Six months after the refinance we moved. I called USAA Mortgages to update our new address and was told they were a different company that serviced USAA loans. I asked to speak to a manager because the rep would not change my address without a written notice signed by both borrowers. My husband was out of the country and could not sign at the time. The manager would not change the address and told me that was their policy period. She would not give me her last name and only the first name of her supervisor. She said, "Good luck finding out how to put in a complaint" then laughed and proceeded to hang up on me. I am at a loss for words. I wish we would have never refinanced with USAA. It was a major mistake.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CAinHawaii Mar 13, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been a USAA customer since 1988. They own my entire life...insurance (life, car, home, etc.), mortgage, car loan, checking, savings, and almost every other product they offer. I have had 3 previous mortgages through USAA without any problems. I considered USAA to be the best in the business until my husband and I bought our retirement home in July of 2011. We did everything asked of us. Called our loan processor (Melissa Garza) almost every day and she always said that she was working on the file. A week before closing she finally decided to really 'work on the file'. Documents that were easy to provide now became an urgent matter. We both took off a day from work and spent the entire day at the computer sending her what she needed. Just before the close of business two days before the scheduled closing on the property we had to come up with $8000. Ms. Garza's supervisor got involved and thanks to his attention we did close on time, with our pockets void of the $8k. I wrote the CEO and several other officers and never received a word in response. We still have everything with USAA and have been very pleased with all their services except that traumatic mortgage experience. About two months ago we decided to look into the IRRRL VA refi at 1% lower than our current rate. A local mortgage servicing company here in Hawaii offered a great package, however, today I thought "let's see what USAA has to offer"...OMG!!! Their terrible mortgage service is still TERRIBLE!!! I called the toll free number through PHH (the current mortgage servicing company) and when USAA answered no one said a word but I could hear voices in the background, AND this happened twice. I then called USAA directly and their offer for the refi was close for the interest rate, but the fees were absolutely ridiculous. Guess I'm going with the local company. Maybe it is time to start pulling away from USAA totally.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    David M. King Jan 18, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had nothing but grief from USAA's mortgage services. This the worst company to use to make the largest purchase(s) in your life. They need to come aboard with tcurrent events and the reality of people on the move. I'm retired U.S. Military and have been a USAA member for 28 years. I never thought I'd say this but they need to stick to car insurance and leave the rest to professionals in those respective fields. DO NOT GO TO USAA FOR MORTGAGE SERVICES. They don't know what they are doing, especially with VA loans. Use a local lender you can meet and shake hands with. This retired Warrant Officer knows BS when he sees and experiences it. I will discourage as many active duty personnel to NOT use this lousy part of this company. I work in the field so many folks will go elsewhere.

    2 Votes
  • Gu
    Gunny D Nov 09, 2012

    Even nowadays, the complaints are the same. Very poor service and not knowledgeable at all. They did not tell us about adding money for energy improvements, they could not help with any analysis on the loan/interest rate/etc. I realize I have a responsibility to know certain things but as a first time home buyer...I was hoping for a little more assistance in understanding terms, loans in general, rates, etc. Very unimpressed. Thankfully, I have found that everything else about USAA is very good...or I would be gone.

    3 Votes
  • He
    Heather Leverson Oct 27, 2012

    Just responding to your complaint. I work in the Colordao Springs office. I can tell you that at least my office is on what is known as a "work slowdown". Since us mortgage processors are not unionized, we have little recourse when huge work demands are made upon us. For example, our average caseload is 80 borrowers! We have got to process 80 different loan files concurrently with no support and no systems training! The only way to "get rid" or move oans off of our "pipelines" is to delete the documents the borrowers send in via fax (which comes right to our in bix, email OR delete the emails directly OR delete the inquiries from the member portal system. (thats where you log in to see a secure message). This is all out war and I am sorry it is you, the member that suffers. However, how do we get management's attention?

    I admit, there lso is some bitterness on our part as well- picture this: You work for slave wages at a mortgage company, you are treated like dirt, and expected to meet goals. Now, also picture looking at loan applications all day of you phucking winey cry babies retired at 39 years old with a pension for life!!! WTF? No wonder our country is in trouble- freeloaders like those members that have NEVER seen combat/war theater. I can understand taking care of our Veterans that have seen battle- I get it. Anyways, just know that you are way way way better off walking in to your local community bank and sitting across from a real person rather than dealing with a remote service center (USAA) that could care less!

    -2 Votes
  • Ri
    richard muther Jul 24, 2012

    ussa is the worest company you can have insurance with they failed to pay me then pull my rental car

    0 Votes
  • I wish I would have found theis board before i experienced thee exact same theing theat everyone else has. When was my closing date you may ask? Friday July 20the, it came and went, and I am now out of contract, and have 10 days to find a place for my family and pets to live because USAA mishandled thee entire mortgage process. The day before closing theey were still going back and forthe therough thee 3rd party vendor reviewer and thee appraisal and all of a sudden found a lower comparable put it in thee report and said thee value of thee home dropped 16K from thee original appraised value, and theey couldn't loan thee amount of thee sale. REALLY? NO one botheered to call me, I have been following up withe my loan processor every otheer day making sure we were moving in thee right direction. This has been a nightmare. I have used Wellsfargo to purchase 2 previous homes, and can't believe I trusted USAA. I was told my a mgr at USAA on Friday theat I should start proceeding withe anotheer lending institution for my own safety, as she didn't theink theis loan was going to go therough. I was told it would take 2-3 weeks to get anotheer comp reviewed even therough it took less thean a day for theem to therow one in thee day before closing to drop thee home value. I theink it is a scam, and I theink it is to make sure thee bank loans less money on a home theat is far over value. I went withe USAA as I trusted theey took care of theeir military members WRONG>

    1 Votes
  • Co
    COAST1E May 27, 2012

    Can someone here share the e-mail addresses of their CEO or President so I can voice my disgust over their poor Mortgage Service?

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Franz Sigel Shroy May 23, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    3-Tour vet has it absolutely right and Lisa28206 is a ###! I had perfect customer service from USAA for nearly 30 years. Then, I took out a personal loan. USAA mailed the first bill to me the day AFTER it was due. I paid this bill the same day I received it through bill-pay at my bank. The next day USAA had their bill collection office call me with an automated machine that didn't even identify who was calling me. The bill collector was really pissy with me on the phone even thought the bill was only late by 12 hours! I emailed a copy of my bank statement showing that the payment had cleared, twice. USAA didn't believe ME. We had the bank call USAA to tell them the bill was paid. USAA didn't believe THEM. I called USAA again when they emailed me and asked me to photocopy the front and back of the check that was sitting in THEIR mailbox. After a week, USAA finally found the check and called me to say that I mailed it to the wrong address. The bank mailed it to the address USAA put on the bill. Finally, a "supervisor" called me to explain that they'd found the check and that she'd looked over my emails and then when I told her how absolutely pissed off I was for being treated so horribly, she laughed. Where does USAA find this many stupid people to work for them all in one year? Almost 30 years of service and they they completely fall apart in one year?!? "Doris" was the ### who laughed at me when I told her how horribly I've been treated.

    2 Votes
  • Se
    Seattle 2011 Nov 29, 2011

    Horrible service and inaccurate appraisal done by a hired company. Did not follow own guidelines for appraisal and would not accept a dispute that proved the appraiser wrong.
    Never will use this bank again.

    1 Votes
  • Ms
    ms. disappointed Oct 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am very disappointed with USAA. I have been loyal customer for over 20 years and have used them for car loans, renters insurance, credit cards, mortgage, home equity loan, and homeowners insurance. I just expected more out of the company. They are unwilling to modify or refinance my mortgage and we've never made a late payment. In fact, I've never made a late payment to them on any of our accounts in 20 years. We had to move because of my husband's job change and the house didn't sell before we packed up and moved. I did the right thing and called USAA to start up renters insurance while the house remained on the market. USAA was the lien holder and also was the insurance company yet they cancelled my homeowners insurance due to non-occupancy. We were able to secure renters and have insurance reinstated. I just got a call from USAA and they told me their system showed the home was vacant. I sent them proof of renter occupancy over a year ago! I am very concerned about their data retention and privacy practices now. I may start shopping around to move all my accounts somewhere else.

    0 Votes
  • Us
    USAA victim Aug 27, 2011

    Please be advised that I have done everything these people requested of me and gave them everything they ask for so I can obtain a Veterans Mortgage for a home. I have given them everything for there final approval. I balked at giving them USAA my every financial transaction they Amber USAA rep said to me on many occasions we need to know where the $5, 000 comes from I continuously told her that it comes from my USAA savings account. Right after I proved to her with a print screen from Navy Federal Credit union that the money came to them from a deposit from USAA. I called her and she acknowledged receipt of my e-mail and said she understood and will submit my packet to the underwriter. I have now received an e-mail from this Amber three hours later that I must now disclose all deposits and monies going out of all of my USAA accounts of $1000.00 for the last 6 months. Amber told me either I comply or the loan would be denied.
    I have called the bank to night 23 Aug 2011 requesting to talk to a supervisor none was available for me. I ask the person to leave them a message to call me.
    The person that took my call today 23 Aug 2011 said that I’m obligated to give the USAA mortgage company all of my financial dealings. I told him that I was filing a complaint against USAA he got very nasty on the phone I would say. I ask him what Federal Laws he was quoting from???? I asked that a supervisor call me.
    I hope I am wrong but my gut feeling is that USAA is trying not to give me the loan and pocket my $350.00 plus other monies totaling over one thosand dollars from me that I have extended out for the purchase of this home that I already paid them. I strongly feel this.

    I’m still waiting for the supervisor to call me.

    I have done a Thrift Supervision consumer complaint against USAA. On July 21, 2011, the Office of Thrift Supervision became part of the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.


    Thank you

    1 Votes
  • Me
    mekop Aug 08, 2011

    Anyone out there noticing that USAA's website for purchasing/selling is providing erroneous info? Stock quotes, estimated gains/losses, etc., are not accurate. Decisions to sell/buy based on this erroneous info have cost me big time.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    disgruntled teacher May 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Honestly wish I would have found all the horrible complaints about USAA Mortgage services BEFORE we entered into a contract and moved our pre-approval onto the mortgage application proper. My active duty husband and I have been waiting 4 weeks to hear news of anything regarding the mortgage status. A week ago the realtor asked me if I had any different contact information since he was having a hard time getting through. I detailed to him exactly what method, what time and what days I had attempted to contact our loan officer (Nancy Sager) to no effect (fyi: phone, USAA customer service, email and fax to no avail). I actually included Nancy in that correspondence and wouldn't you know it, the one and only time she's contacted us in 4 weeks was after I complained about her to my agent and he replied with "wow - that's not good!" [Seriously, her response was only to apologize for the "delay."]

    Anyhow, we've sent in every piece of documentation we were asked for -- on time. Come to find out she's contacted the realtor yesterday to get a copy of the contract signed by all parties. That was one of the tasks we were asked to complete with the original documentation among 7 other tasks; ALL of which were included in the original FedEx envelope used to return the documentation we had to sign; ALL of which were also flagged and labeled so that even the most menially hired person would be able to tell what exactly was in the 70+ page packet. Supposedly the appraisal on the house was for Monday (no one can confirm this apparently). Supposedly we close a week from this coming Monday.

    I am beyond frustrated. At 28 weeks pregnant and with the Army sending movers in 2 weeks time we HAVE to know whether or not this deal will go through on the house. I HAVE to be in the new state in 4 weeks time per dr's orders not to travel past 32 wks. I HAVE to have a new address to give Tricare so that they can transfer my coverage appropriately. More importantly I HAVE to have a place to live that is safe and local to a MTF (I'm on Prime) to continue my prenatal care and not risk unnecessary complications to my unborn son. [The stress from this process alone has my current Dr nervous since prior to now my health and pregnancy has been impeccable and uncomplicated.]

    Hubby's response is to shut down completely and leave this all in my hands since he joined my USAA account at my insistence. It's not the best response, but he's a drill sergeant right now and doesn't have the time to call and chew out a voicemail box (since you know they won't answer to any number on the account, apparently). I'm struggling to find time between class periods with which to try and accomplish the same goal (high school students are not known for patience). So much for USAA taking care of service members.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Chicago Corpsman May 06, 2011

    Man, I'm so glad I found this forum - I only submitted my application for a mortgage not 15 minutes ago. I will definately give them a nevermind when they attempt to reach me by phone to "verify". Thank you to all who took the time to submit what has been happening. It also helps that this forum dates the comments so I can tell that this is a current issue as of May 2011 and not some old archived forum from googles cache. Thanks again all - glad to have served with you all.

    0 Votes
  • Jm
    j me pal Apr 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    USAA Mortgage has one more dissatisfied member. My husband and I were supposed to close today, but neither us, our realtor or title company have heard from our processor, Sevag, is nearly two weeks. We are completely flabbergasted that any company would operate such as they have. Whether or not USAA hires out US Bank or not, they should take responsibility and follow through with their promises.

    Our only hope is that we will hear from someone soon as we are at a complete loss and have no idea what to do next...

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    Taz100 Apr 18, 2011

    I am currently comparing mortgages between USAA and two local lenders in Minneapolis, MN. I have always loved USAA and switched our checking accounts to them about two years ago. The experience with USAA's mortgage dept. has been the worst experience ever, and it is compounded by the fact that I held them in such high regard. The service has been just horrible, and time after time they have made mistakes on estimates of the most basic level.
    Ultimately it makes my decision who to go with easier as I have given up on USAA, but I just wanted to voice how disappointed I am with the bad service and follow through that I received from them.

    1 Votes
  • Fa
    Failed by USAA Feb 12, 2011

    I have a USAA mortgage. They paid someone else's taxes in 2010. Increased my mortgage note...and still haven't paid my taxes. Had me pay in $1000 to escrow to cover negative balance. My husband who is currently at war in Afgan has had to call in to try to get it fixed. Still not fixed. Going on four months. HORRIBLE! We are going to the media with our story.

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    Boblee Feb 04, 2011

    USAA has something wrong at the top management. The whole organization is lacking something that is seriously wrong in the way they conduct business at all levels. It maybe a good place not to do business. Try a good credit Union!!!

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    CustomerFL Feb 02, 2011

    USAA is the WORST MORTGAGE COMPANY !!! DO NOT TRY TO USE THEM FOR A MORTGAGE OR YOU WILL REGRET IT!!
    I have been screwed by them and they will NEVER get my business again.
    Be warned they are awful!

    1 Votes
  • La
    Larry9900 Jan 22, 2011

    I am responding to Lisa's comment mainly because it is the most recent. Iam a USAA member and have been since I reired from the Navy in 2003. At present, I live in Tacoma Washington and work for the USPS. I started my USAA refinance (due to the low rates) back in October. The person who took my call Andre Maddox was very friendly and assured me that everything would go smoothly. We did the 350$ down payemnt to cover everything, fees, etc FEDE'D the documents and 2 months (yes, 60 days) had passed before I called and inquired to my status. I was transfered to an Alberto Feria who communicated to me briefly with "yes, I am your closing agent". Within a month I received 3 e-mails from him; all about 1 sentence in length but did manage to get a final date for my closing. January 19th, the notary from Chicago Title arrived and politely informed me that I would have to pay $1750 more. I was shocked. He asked me if this was the first I had been told. No I said, of course, I'm so rich, I'll just sit down here and write you a check..! Yes, I said, what is this 1700 for?. The notary said, the ammount financed and the ammount borrowed are 1700 dollars different. I said so, just roll that into the loan. We can't do that. So I signed all the documents but still needed to resolve the 1754 ammount. On 20 January 2011, I was so upset, I was spitting as I was talking.., more like yelling and swearing at the USAA supervisor. Quite frankly, if it was a local bank, I would be in jail right now.., that's how pissed off I am. I filed a complaint with the BBB and the FTC. I am also pressing forward with complaints to the Texas Attorney General and Washington State Attorney General. The last complaint will be to the USAA Board of Directors. After reading all your comments, I wish all of you the best of luck. As you all know, to be a USAA member means to be part of the biggest family in the world; the Military!

    1 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Kronsnebel Jan 16, 2011

    I am posting everywhere to let people know that USAA mortgage is a scam, a straight up scam. They hire "people' (sub human if you ask me) that are mean and will not return a call. When my VA Processor does talk to me, she is rude and uses Spanish. I feel like this is a joke being played on me and my husband. We keep re sending in the same documents and they keep getting "lost"...I am filing a complaint with the banking commisioner in TX.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Kronsnebel Jan 16, 2011

    I AGREE- USAA MORTGAGE SERVICES IS A COMBINATION OF 3 THINGS- INCOMPETENT MANAGMENT, INCOMPETANT STAFF AND GREED. MY VA MORTGAGE PROCESSOR IN SAN ANTONIO WAS A COMBINATION OF RUDE AND COULD NOT REALLY SPEAK ENGLISH!! I COMPLAINED TO "YOLANDA"- A STRAIGHT UP GHETTO THUG AND NOTHING EVER CAME OF MY CONCERNS- WALK DO NOT RUN!!!

    1 Votes
  • Fl
    Florida Guy Jan 09, 2011

    There is a real problem with the PHH subsidiary of USAA and it is as described above. It could be reverse discrimination and it could be more, but they need to look into fixing it before it tarnishes the USAA reputation more than it has. I have heard from friends who are long time members that this area is a real problem and USAA is not doing anything about it.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim S****** Jan 04, 2011

    I am a realtor and have done many mortgage transactions and USAA is the very worst I've ever dealt with. My client, an Afghanistan veteran, was trying to buy his first house and had used USAA in the past and went to them for a mortgage loan. He was assigned Levi, whom I believe was an unmanned answering machine somewhere in Texas rather than a person. Levi does not return telephone calls, nor does he answer his telephone. It is possible that he was dead, and then I would feel bad about this, but nobody could tell me anything. Sometimes I would get his machine and could not leave a message; it was full. His boss, Jim, returns calls when he absolutely has to, but prefers not to. The department would not allow me to go higher up than Jim, so obviously they do not want to improve on their terrible customer service. They ordered the VA appraisal weeks after getting the application, ignoring all dates and "time is of the essence" that is in the contract. My client wasted money on an appraisal and an inspection. I did get his earnest money back and we will be placing an offer on another home using a different lender. USAA offers the very worst in insulting customer service.

    2 Votes
  • Wo
    WOULDN'T YOU LIKE TO KNOW!!!! Dec 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    RUN!!! When you hear USAA. DO NOT EVER USE THEM FOR YOUR HOMEOWNERS INSURANCE!!! WE HAVE BEEN WITH THEM FOR YEARS AND OUR HOME WAS BROKEN INTO WITH A LARGE AMOUNT OF ITEMS STOLEN FROM OUR HOME 90 DAYS AGO AND THEY DO NOT WANT TO PAY. HOWEVER, THEY WANT TO GET INTO OUR BANK ACCOUNT, OUR CREDIT REPORT, AND OUR TELEPHONE RECORDS AND WE ARE THE DAMN VICTIMS!!! OUR PERSONNAL INFORMATION DOES NOT HAVE ANYTHING TO DO WITH THEM. WE HAVE PROVIDED EVERYTHING THEY NEED TO COMPENSATE US, BUT YET THEY WANT OUR PERSONNAL INFORMATION!!! NEVER!!! THIS COMPANY SUCKS WHEN IT COMES TO INSURANCE!!! DO NOT EVER EVER USE THEM FOR ANYTHING!!! NOT EVEN DOG INSURANCE, THEY ARE NOT WORTH A QUARTER.

    3 Votes
  • Fo
    Fooled me twice Dec 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Actually, General Robles needs to read these comments...I have been with USAA for 22 yrs...and as a CO I understand 3TourVet's frustration, but would recommend he could use a more professional tone. I agree with 99% of the complaints and could add many personal experiences not listed. Nonetheless, what my wife and I have experienced on a recent refinancing has been pathetic at best. We will certainly never use USAA for any of our future needs. In fact, the tele-flora program is probably their best operation and of 3 orders not one has been completed correctly.

    2 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Kronsnebel Nov 14, 2010

    I am utterly disgusted with USAA Mortgage Services. When I call for a status on my VA refinance, my processor barely can form a sentence in English and is also very rude. She will never return a call either. On 1 loan, this is my 4th processor assigned! None of them could speak very good english neither were they kind. Nothing against Mexican American people- however, in business, you need bright, articulate, knowledgeable staff that communicate kindly and effectively. I give up AND I also will be contacting Clark Howard to tell him my disgust!! USAA Mortgage is based in San Antonio. I did some checking around and found that it is the policy of USAA Mortgage to hire and promote Mexican Americans over caucasian. Who gets hurt the blatent favortism like this?? It is the Veteran!! I am trying to warn everyone I can to stay away from them! In the name of "political correctness" they are hurting the customer and I am disgusted. Hmmm is it a coincidence that the CEO is a Mexican American as well? Joe Robles USAA Mortgage Services is Toxic and should be avoided.

    2 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa28206 Nov 12, 2010

    USAA Mortgage Serviess

    -1 Votes
  • Wa
    Walter Adams Oct 22, 2010

    Dear 3TourVet,
    From the tone of your complaint, I believe you got what you deserved. You are a racist piece of waste of space. I have USAA for all my banking, even though you may have had a bad expierance with them, you don't need to call out those poor employees by thier names. And then you go call them "twopac" and "hoodlums". Why don't you grow some balls and say your name on here? I have served 2 tours in afghanistan, been in the middle of combat zone multiple times, but would never have the class as you by calling out these people by thier names. Does your comanding officer know you do this? I do hope that USAA's GENERAL JOE ROBLES does get to read this and gets your name!

    -2 Votes
  • 3t
    3-Tour vet Oct 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please save yourself and DO NOT DO BUSINESS with USAA mortgage. I am posting in sights all over the internet. The mortgage section of USAA are filled with incompetent people. The posting above by "Johny Apples" hits the nail right on the head! The sentence "The loan processor assigned to us was the most incompetent, lazy, and lease knowledgeable financial services professional with whom I have ever dealt. He never answers his phone, never returns messages left in his voicemail, doesn't respond to repeated E-Mail inquiries regarding the status of our loan..." just made my wife and I laugh out lout! It is so true. Unfortunately for us, we also missed our closing date. Mind you, it is not because we do not satisfy all 'standards' for the loan. We more than do. The reasons are simple: USAA is ripe with incompetent people. These employees have very low education and have difficulty speaking english properly. The Supervisor there, called "Yolanda", is someone that certainly should not be in any leadership position. We bargained very hard to get the owner of this particular property to sell at a extremely low price. Now, we may lose the house because Yolanda and her "TwoPac" sidekicks don't wish to work for their income. Can you imagine? On the day of the closing, we had to haggle on the phone with these hoodlums just to speak to someone in mortgaging. Then, they have the nerve to inform us that there are documents missing that I know were either sent in the packet over a month ago or, at the least, should have been told to us were missing weeks ago.

    I say: RUN and throw grenades behind you. DO NOT DO BUSINESS with USAA mortgage.

    2 Votes
  • Un
    Unhappy customer 33 Oct 12, 2010

    Sought to refinance our home with USAA as my husband had been a member for nearly 30 years. Prior to that, his family had been members for many years.

    We turned down three other loan/mortgage companies as we sought personal customer service first vs. costs. Yet, in the end - we got the worst of both...USAA had people from various departments calling us every couple of days, title people calling with information, and within an hour of closing we still did not know exactly what our closing costs would look like, and were given a call to say "oh by the way" you need to be prepared to pay some out of pocket costs at closing. We had asked and were assured all closing costs would be wrapped into the new loan. That didn't happy.

    Do your home work folks. USAA is not the best, most efficient out there. And, oh by the way - they penalize you if you are a good customer with a great credit score, no late or missed payments by charging you extra if you don't do an escrow account with them.

    There are dozens of loan/mortgage companies who want your business even in this economy - and if you have great credit they will do everything possible to waive any fees that are unnecessary like escrow fees.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.