USAA Bankpossible fraud?

F
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I had established a new bank account to use for my online buisness. So after some searching i decided to go with USAA bank's free checking account wich only required at the time of writting this a minimum $25 opening deposit so i set it up to take $35 from my other bank account to my new usaa account. A day later i got an email from USAA saying my account has been approved and it has been opened. GREAT!!! Well two days later i check my other bank account and i see an ach/debit of 35.00 going to my usaa bank account. I thought wow ok that went so smoothly (so i thought) i went to login to my usaa account to verify that they received the funds low and behold i get an error message. For security reasons, your access to usaa.com is currently restricted. Call [protected] for assistance. (2:71). I call that number and they now tell me they need me to fax a copy of my id and ss card to them and within 48 hours my account will be unlocked. Today is day 5 and it still isnt unlocked and when i call the number back i keep getting told wait till the next day. USAA is starting to show the evidence that they are a fraudulent company. My account got locked on the hour my opening payment cleared my bank. I will be filing a dispute with my debited bank account

possible fraud?
possible fraud?

Responses

  • ctp2236 Dec 21, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ALWAYS ALWAYS get everything in writing print out and email exchanges and go to the physical bank- please.

    1 Votes
  • St
    StaceyE Dec 17, 2016

    Personally, I have never had a problem with them and have actually found them very helpful...

    0 Votes
  • De
    DebraPresley Dec 17, 2016

    I have been a member of USAA for close to 15 years now, for my auto insurance and my banking. I cant say enough good things about them. Their auto insurance coverage when I have needed it has always excelled in getting my vehicle repaired/replaced, and the services with my banking account has been of the same caliber~ always excellent, very helpful and taking the time to find and answer any questions I have had. No complaints!

    I know that I am not alone in this as my mother has been with USAA for over 20 years now and has received the same great care and service.

    There are a couple of issues which you wont encounter when dealing with another bank which is limited locations for any type of personal service (such as making deposits) if direct deposit wasnt an option, (there is still snail mail however) or accepting funds for deposit into our account from individuals or outside resources. Those are the only two issues that I have found to be a bit of a hassle, but a work around was easy to do.

    To those individuals who stated they were denied opening of an account with USAA, I would ask if they had checked with CHEXsystems, (or similar service if there is one?) to see of if they showed or listed any outstanding, insufficient funds reported or closed accounts where balances were owed which would be reported upon any new inquiries? Chex monitors check cashing security not just for merchants they also monitor for new accounts being opened by people who are listed with them. ~ Just a thought anyway.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vicki Ann Callara Garcia Dec 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Went and going through same thing!!! Been a "member" since 1999. Never in my life have I ever felt worked against and rather than with or for! USAA HAS TAKEN A TREMENDOUS DOWNHILL SLIDE.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vicki Ann Callara Garcia Dec 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Went and going through same thing!!! Been a "member" since 1999. Never in my life have I ever felt worked against and with or for! USAA HAS TAKEN A TREMENDOUS DOWNHILL SLIDE.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roryleewest Jan 01, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dude I'm going through the same thing except o never even had an account with them ever until me and my dad tryed signing up today 12-31-15 and I was told that I am restricted from doing any business there and they they can't help me. When I told them I never have opened an account here before they turned a blind eye. I also asked for proof of what I did wrong and they had none. After reading these peoples reviews I'm glad I didn't get a membership

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jayla Lovette Oct 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Created an account with USAA while I'm in Delayed Entry Program (DEP). The worst decision I've made in my life. My account was created on July 30, 2015. By August 15, 2015, my online account was locked. I called the support number to unlock my account. I was told by a representative that my account would automatically be unlocked after 3 days. However, that never happened. Called back a few weeks later and was told my entire account was locked and USAA was exercising their rights not to do business with me anymore. I tried to ask why, or even when did this happened. No one wanted to give me answer. Neither did I receive a notification saying that they were closing my account. After several more phone calls, I finally was able to talk to a respectable representative and was told that they would go back and review my account to see why it was closed. Even though they did go back and review my account, they did not contact after the review was done. I had to go through more phone calls just to go any results. I was to that my account was closed due to "fraud". Yet, I never made a deposit/withdrawal, I've never been convicted of a crime, I didn't even get a chance to activate my debit card because my account had been locked before it came in the mail. So how did "fraud" end up on my account. In October of 2015, a representative had a theory. The representative suggested that USAA requested for documents through email and because I never submitted or signed those documents, they closed the account. However, I never received such email. If there was a problem of miscommunication, you would think that USAA would want to find ways to resolve the problem or at least take "fraud" away from my name. But no, not with USAA. Their favorite line is, "We're exercising our right not to do business with you." Tip for Today: Just go with Navy Federal. Saves a lot of headaches.

    0 Votes
  • An
    angry customer2012 Nov 13, 2012

    USAA this bank is ridiculous with their policies, very unreliable at a point you need them most they close your accounts for no just cause, i have my wife receive money for me ...large sums of money for an account she recently opened with just $25, she is no military neither am i, and large sums started entering the account from me just for her to keep it there, on accessing the account this morning, online it says "for security reasons your access to usaa.com has been restricted .Call [protected] for assistance" me thinking some hacker tried accessing the account told my wife to call them and have them unlock the online access, when she called the customer care response shocked me for minutes without recovery, , the customer care said that ...all they can see is that the account is being closed and any funds that clear will be sent back in 14 business days ...that's approximately three weeks from now...that's so sad ...for these reasons and that there physical branches are very far from the masses i will say the bank is very unreliable ...keep your money in your houses people don't trust banks with your money...i know the dividends i will get if i invested my money for 14 business days USAA shouldn't take me for a fool...and i will never tell anyone to bank with them they lost every bit of trust i had for them...its my money you owe me an authentic phone call, you may require my physical presence and get it done with faster in less than 14 business days for christ sake...why would i want to steal my own money for Christ sake, , , damn

    1 Votes
  • Am
    amy-b Jun 26, 2010

    Yeah..I should've followed my instincts 5 1/2 yrs ago, when my husband kept bugging me about getting an account there.. ( I had such and awful experience with their insurance side back in 1999, the guy at fault had his policy with them, and i had such a mess getting me car repaired. Still to this day, several rear ends later, they are still the worst i ever had to deal with) .. Sadly my husband talk me into doing business with them totally for banking and insurance..
    It was sort of fine for the first, perhaps 2 years... Still, even then, you could certainly tell that they way they do business isn't at all military spouse friendly. I have way much better credit than my husband, but they would deny me things, but approve him.. I could always tell, and still can tell the differences with the way they handle him and i..
    But the past year has been the worst of years with doing business ( banking, and insurance).
    USAA actually just froze all of our accounts, for a legit check that i deposited at home.. It has already cleared the other bank, too! They will not let us have access to our money, plus my husband gets paid, what, in a couple days, plus is getting a bonus of a large amount, that they will not let us touch when it comes through there... My husband is in afghanistan where heavy stuff is going on, i am stuck in nowhere land, because that is where the AF likes to always station us...Top it off... i have no way to get money for myself and my 4 kids... Then I have my nephew for the summer to feed as well...I want to switch to another bank so badly.. But I am so scared that i will get the same issues.. there are complaints for so many banks out there.. I just don't want to deal with the banking system anymore.. Before my husband and i got together, I didn't have a bank account.. I KNOW i was better off at that time..
    We have been doing deposit at home since they made it available, but the last year, they have done said stupid crap regarding it.. Don't offer that service if you're going to screw with people, and freeze their accounts, even after the check clears on the other end.. what more is there to investigate.. Checks cleared.. All said and done... NOPE!!!

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.