US Bankripped me off

These guys are unprofessional, and have no idea what they're doing! Here's an awesome story about how a lovely teller at my local branch doesn't know how to read my account and really gave it to me good.

Saturday: 31 January, 2015: I cancelled my Netflix back in December and still got a charge for January. I called this lady (01/31), and she says she can block all attempts from Netflix if they try taking any more out. They take out a February payment and got away with it. I'm negative 1.50. okay, I call, complain about her, and move 3.00 from savings to checking. Monday rolls around, and I'm all of a sudden 6.00 in the hole. Okay, I call the bank, and the girl actually found why. I transfer 12.00 over to my checking. Tuesday, I get hit with an overdraft fee. I call, and she says there's nothing she can do about it. Great! Thursday morning hits, and I have another 30.00 charge! now I'm 60.00 in the hole. I call and she has no idea why I was charged a second overdraft fee. I talk to the manager, and she says I must've done something, and whatever it is, isn't showing up on her end... OKAY! Thursday night (02/05/2015) ((THE SAME DAY I WAS GIVEN A SECOND OVERDRAFT FEE)), I am doing my budget, and get online to get the full amount, so I can figure out my rent... NOW I'M 102.00 IN THE HOLE! I call the bank, and the lovely manager says it's not her problem! She has no idea why it would do that, and I just have to deal with it! My check posted in my acct this morning, and now I'm behind on bills, thanks to 2 incredibly intelligent ladies, and one scandalous banking program.
If you are a veteran like I am, and going to US Bank for their free "Platinum Account", BEWARE! This bank doesn't care for veterans! They WILL take full on advantage of you!

Responses

  • Ba
    banksters Aug 03, 2012

    Dealing with US bank after they put money in my account by mistake- the Branch manger treated me like I was a child-didn't answer direct questions...rude.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joseph12 Nov 05, 2011

    talked to us bank back in 2007 when i leased my new car they said there would be no termination charges if i leased with them again in 2011 they changed there mind and said they did a charge off and it appears on my credit they can just do what they wont i have scene paid off my 2007 car i would never do any type of business with them again

    0 Votes
  • Zg
    ZGirl2011 Sep 04, 2011

    Why don't you just throw your CVV code and exp date up there as well?

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
    Camaron Sep 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This bank sux. They allowed someone to open a bank account using my social security number, then write almost $500 in NSF checks. Of course, the person disappeared and US Bank gave a negative report to MY CREDIT!! I've been working with them for over 3 months to get this resolved but they don't seem to think it's a big deal! If they treat fraud victims this way, I'd hate to see how they treat their customers !

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tired of taken advantage of Jul 23, 2011

    Customer service wait times always 8 minutes plus reps don't know anything. Wanted to close checking and savings and charged $25 per account. Bank rep a bi*ch. Don't bank at US BANK!

    0 Votes
  • VonBrumm Jan 27, 2011

    DONT OVER DRAW YOUR ACCOUNT. Maybe if you had CREDIT a reserve line could be in place. Its a checking account, not a LOAN. You expect something for nothing. Good luck finding Utopia.

    0 Votes
  • VonBrumm Jan 27, 2011

    Yes...Use a checkbook register and write down all the deposits and withdrawls and voila...no overdraft fees. Checking accounts are not loans ###.

    0 Votes
  • VonBrumm Jan 27, 2011

    surely she has been fired

    0 Votes
  • Po
    pobarjenkins Oct 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Exactly what Dawn said. I use a credit union and my direct deposit doesn't go through until 7 AM when they open.

    1 Votes
  • Al
    Allan22 Oct 06, 2010

    that is correct, dont blame them for your deadbeat ways...

    1 Votes
  • Le
    Lesli Oct 06, 2010

    US Bank SUCKS!!! They rip you off!! They hold your direct deposit, let all the items that are pending clear, then let your deposit go through then charge you over draft fees!! Not to mention they hold your direct deposit till 5AM!!! Its againts the law to do that!!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scocoot Oct 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    DO NOT USE US BANK! They are experts at taking your money for no reason! A few months back, after an overdraft fiasco, the bank "officer" I spoke with asked me if I wanted to sign up for overdraft protection by connecting my savings account to my debit card. I said "SURE!" (having just lost $150 in overdraft fees it sounded like a good idea). Here's the catch ... for every item that comes through your account the day the "overdraft protection" kicks in they charge you $5.00! TO USE YOUR OWN MONEY!!! I was NEVER told there was any charge whatsoever. Where is OUR protection from such scams, I ask? Here is the email I received after submitting the question online:

    Thank you for using U.S. Bank's email service.

    I apologize for the confusion.

    When you have a savings or checking account attached for overdraft protection, there is a $5.00 charge per item that overdraws the checking account each time overdraft protection advances occur. For example, if you have two items presented for payment on the same day that exceed your available balance in the checking account, the fee would be $10.00 to cover the two items. The fee is deducted from the checking account. Advances are processed in increments of $200.00, or up to your available balance in the savings or checking account.

    So, take heed, my friends! I think they hire con-men to figure out even more ways to get our hard-earned money!!!

    0 Votes
  • Si
    SierraB Sep 22, 2010

    As a long time customer, I had signed up years ago for a fixed rate card, never missing payment. They jacked up my rate and jacked up the interest rate.
    I would NEVER recommend this bank to anyone! They play around with your mortgage (fixed) rate too!...They are not your friend, nor do they care about long time excellent standing customers, so run as far away from this bank! Because they will use small print and government rules to screw you!

    0 Votes
  • Su
    sucker from pa Sep 08, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Charged excessive charges at termnation of car lease after every payment was made and car was turned in under mileage and in excellent condition.

    0 Votes
  • Us
    US BANK Jun 03, 2010

    I HAD 89.00 DOLLARS NEGATIVE IN MY BANK ACCOUNT. NOW I HAVE 544.12 DOLLARS OF OVERDRAFT CHARGES. 8.00 DOLLARS OVERDRAFT A DAY. HOW CAN THIS BE LEGAL. THIS BANK IS MAKING SO MUCH MONEY FROM PEOPLE THAT ARE NOT TOLD ABOUT THIS CHARGE OF 8.00 A DAY.

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    SmartLady90 Apr 27, 2010

    Actually its not possible to get your limit decreased so you go over your limit, that is illegal, what brought you over the limit could be interest charges, so take a look at your statement before starting to put out blame, maybe you should pay your bills on time, banks have the right to lower your credit limit at anytime they feel like it, since it is their money.

    I've been where you are, but maybe you should start taking care of your finances before you start judging.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Her Big Sister Apr 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My disabled (on an oxygen tank) sister went to closed her recently deceased husband's accounts; she was treated rudely by the "Customer Service Coordinator"; told to made an appointment so as not to interfer with the employees lunches. (That was the second visit-on the first we waited 20 minutes in an empty bank before she could bother seeing us).

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kingf76 Mar 07, 2010

    had balance of $57.00. debit purchases of $20. received overdraft notice, made $500 deposit. Charges $140.oo overdraftcharges. Now have a negatve $40 balance. Wont resolve by phone.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kiss_this Feb 21, 2010

    US Bank are straight crooks. I made one payment late, they lowered my limit to less than what I owed, then charged me not only a late fee but an over the limit fee. It made me so mad I stopped making payments to them all together. Now its totally ruined my credit. They call 20 times a day even on Sun at &:00 am. They can kiss my ###. What they do should be illegal. They can ### off...

    0 Votes
  • Rt
    rtj Dec 24, 2009

    I deposited a payroll check and then the next day went to the ATM and withdrew money and then I get a letter in the mail saying I was overdrawen, when the ATM gave me the money. It should of not given me the money. This is not the first time this has happened. I'm closing my account on Monday. Plus they are the highest charging bank at $37.50 for an over draft fee. I work very hard for my money and will not deal with some one who is out to cheat you out of every penny they can

    0 Votes
  • Us
    usbankblows Sep 23, 2009

    I agree. I setup an equity line over the phone and was told the line would be for a certain amount and rate. However when I went to use the line the rate I was charged was different. Apparently with their premier equity line there is no one single rate, you get charged a different rate depending on how much you 'withdraw' from it. That is not the bad part the really bad part is that when I called to complain I was treated like crap, Michelle (id 77750) told me rudely 'it is not our fault' we sent you a contract or statement that listed what the rates and conditions were, you should have reviewed it. I agree with her I should have, but when I asked her repeatedly to admit that the bank could do a better job of explaining these things 'verbally', all she said was 'we sent you the terms and conditions', 'that is all we have to do'.

    Crap service in my opinion, will be changing banks.

    1 Votes
  • Mr
    MrLew1 Sep 03, 2009

    US Bank has the highest fees of any bank. And they do what ever they can to extract fees from you. Their Overdraft Fee is the highest ever: $37.50. I made an ATM withdrawal at a US Bank ATM that put me over by$3. They charged me $37.50! All they had to was say Insufficient Funds and I would have withdrew $20 less and avoided that huge fee. Allowing me to go $3 overdrawn so they could charge me an outrageous fee is awful! US Bank is awful.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John-Rodger Aug 21, 2009

    I think the allegations against US Bank are serious indeed . The US Dept of Consumer Affairs lists 17 pages of complaints against this bank and the complaints all have a common theme; erroneous fees charged, mainly for 'overdrafts' when in fact the funds have been in the account.
    I was sucked into US Bank by Safeway Supermarket, again saying $75 in 'free groceries' simply for opening an account. Long story short, they charge me $190 in fees plus, are you ready for this, a $25 'account closure fee' wait it gets better, and report me to Chex Systems because a check I deposited proved to be no good. (I still can't figure that one out, I am out the money, I never drew any funds from the check and I am the one they go after?)
    Clearly US Bank is in the business of collecting fees, not banking. I think the tie in with different supermarket chains is noteworthy and I think there is a HUGE class action suit here.
    John-Rodger
    www.rockstarattitude.com

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Ripoffed Jan 05, 2009

    I opened an accout at US Bank to take advantage of a $75.00 in Free groceries promotion at Albertson during Thanksgiving. I was informed Christmas Eve eve that my account went over by about $7.00. They are now insisting I pay fees of over $200.00. After calling the 800 number I was informed that the site manager must reverse the fees. I asked to speak with the manager the clear the matter up but was informed that this location has no manager until some time in January and that I would be billed $8.oo every day until I pay the fees.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.