The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Time Warner Cablescam charges

R

I was using AT&T and was happy but decided to try TWC for the single billing. They came out to install but didn't have all of the parts needed so had to set another appt. They were supposed to come out at different times but never showed & I couldn't get a hold of them to verify. I have to be at work at 6:45 so I go to bed early. The tech called at 9:00 after I was in bed ready to come out & finish the install.

At this point I had been stewing all evening but getting me out of bed at their convenience was the icing on the cake. I told him that their service was lousy and that I was going back to AT&T but I guess he never called in that information because they have been billing me for almost 2 years telling me that I still owe them.

I have been receiving letters from collection agencies & finally phone calls telling me that my credit will be ruined if I don't pay. So in lieu of bad credit I bent over and paid the money. Granted the amount is less than $300 but it's the principal & their lousy service that has put me in a high state of positivity for too long. They are supposed to be a communication company - well COMMUNITATE!! Also their web sight brags on how they service the customer at THEIR CONVENIENCE. I don't think so.

The real kicker is that I moved into a new townhome & AT&T doesn't service them & I don't want the 'cosmic dish' look so my only choice was once again TWC. I had my roommate put the service in her name since I was still under their microscope. There was also multiple problems with their installation but finally got resolved. One of the things I learned was that they sublet installers or as I called them 'slice & dicers.'

Truely someone needs to do something about this lousy company. Not meaning to sound like a Judge Judy litigant but there was a lot of mental anguish during that time & still is since I got ripped off.

Responses

  • Tu
    turtleboy1947 Jan 24, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    don't make the same mistake that I did. I fell for their ad about the $300 dollar rewards card. in july of last year I had cable installed because of an ad they ran on tv for a $300 dollar rewards card if you switched providers I had all three services an filled out the forms for the visa card, that was the beginning of my troubles, first they lost my forms then I sent them another an after a whole lot of calls to their customer service offices I finally got a email yesterday that I would be getting a $50 dollar card in the mail. i'm paid up until the end of feb.[ PEOPLE DON'T TRUST THIER ADS AN DON'T TRUST THIER CUSTOMER SERVICE EVERY OTHER WORD OUT OF THIER MOUTH IS A LIE. I'M DOING AWAY WITH CABLE AN GOING TO ANALOG AN A DVD PLAYER THAT WAY I DON'T HAVE TO PAY THEM EVERY MONTH TO WATCH COMERCIALS.] I lived with local channels for many years an for under a hundred dollars I can buy the antenna an have no mo. payments an I can rent any movie for just a dollar. for a company that will spend hundred of thousand of dollars on ads you would think that they would want to keep their customers but they don't give a rats a$$ about us.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bradley hazelwood Dec 23, 2013

    was told to pay a 50 dollar deposit and first months bill then was told three days later that they where shutting the service off due to a bill my wife owed from 15 yrs ago paid them a 108.96 total to have the service turned on was told i would have a refund and that i would have it within 5-7 business days that never happend then when i called was told they messed up and where going to be sending me a check that i would have it by the 11 of the month never came then was told again i would have it on the 23 never came again then was told when i called that it was in the mail and thats not there problem that they messed up and did not refund the way i paid what do i do this is pissing me off so bad i was expecting that money back so i went got another provider using my xmas money because i was told i would have that other money now i cant even buy cristmas>>>>>

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bradley hazelwood Dec 23, 2013

    Hello time waRNER CABLE HOOKED UP OUT INTERNETON THE 29 0F NOV THEN 3 DAYS LATER SHUT IT OFF SAYING MY WIFE OWED A BILL FROM 15YRS AGO THEN SAID THEY WOULD REFUND MY DEPOSIT AND FIRST MONTHS BILL BACK INTO MY CHECKING ACT WITHIN 5-7 BUSINESS DAYS THEN WHEN THAT DID NOT HAPPEN I WAS TOLD THEY DID NOT PUT IT INTO THE COMPUTER CORECTLY AND THAT THEY WOULD BE SENDING A CHECK ORIGONALLY WHEN I WAS TOLD I WOULD HAVE IT BACK INTO MY ACT I WENT TO ANOTHER COMPANY AND GOT INTERNET THROUGH THEM BECAUSE I WAS UNDERSTANDING THEY WOULD BE TRUE TO THERE WORD THAT MONEY I SPENT ON THE OTHER COMPANY WAS MY CHRISTMAS MONEY. THEN I WAS TOLD BY THEM I WOULD HAVE IT BY THE 11 OF THE MONTH WHEN I CALLED AND ASKED ABOUT IT WHEN IT DID NOT COME THE SAID AGAIN BY THE 23 OF DEC I WOULD HAVE IT WELL IT DID NOT COME AGAIN I AM FED UP WITH THE LIES FROM THIS BUISNESS THIS IS NOT A WAY TO RUN ANYTHING THEY LIE AND STEAL YOUR MONEY NOW I CANT EVEN BUY MY GRAND KIDS ANYTHING FOR CHRISTMAS BECAUSE OF THIS IM DISABLED AND FEEL LIKE I HAVE ###ED WHEN I CALLED TODAY THE 23RD I WAS TOLD IT WOULD BE ANOTHER 2 WEEKS THIS IS SO ###ED UP ON SO MANY LEVELS ITS NOT FUNNY AND WHEN YOU TALK TO A REP THEY ACT LIKE OH WELL ITS NOT MY PROBLEM U HAVENT GOTTEN YOUR REFUND

    0 Votes
  • Da
    darmor941 Nov 19, 2013

    We bundled phone, internet & cable with them. They promised a $200 Visa card. We provided all the necessary requirements, and were approved, and it has been over 6 months that the reward has been "processing". No satisfaction when calling them & complaining. They said it was approved and our waiting period has been over for a long time. No card in the mail.

    0 Votes
  • Ld
    ldee9941 Nov 13, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There internet speed is terrible.They have a tool on there own web that tests their speed . Im paying for Turbo internet and only receiving not even Basic services.They just double billed me.My account is payed in full. Seem they have a monopoly here in the building where I live we aren't allowed to carry anyone else.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Time Warner is a disgrace Aug 25, 2013

    Ok for as much as they charge their service should be alot more efficient.. Everything I watch is always lagging and pixilated.. Complained and had new wires ran and still happening. Complained again and they say its the area I live in. I live smack in the middle of town where the service should be at its maximum. Honestly for as much as they charge they should have more consideration for the customers and not be greedy money grubbin ###. Everyone I know that has Time Warner is disgusted with there service. And all the complaints are pretty much the same. Whoever runs this company should be fired and honestly they need to be put out of business..

    0 Votes
  • Jp
    j. parnell Mar 26, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I know what your talking about! Every paycheck my brother gets he puts at least 2-3 hundred dollars toward his cable bill. The only thing is the bill never goes down...it increases.
    I'd like to see what type of calculator they use-----evidently it needs serviced!!

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    jimaneal Mar 06, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Time Warner has no shame. My beloved cousin died in early November, and I have been trying to close out her account since then. She had a bundle package with internet, television, and a landline home phone. We cancelled some of the service shortly after my cousin's death. We also returned two converters at this time (I have a receipt for these returns). We chose to retain the cable coverage till the 15th of January. I called Time Warner on the 16th to cancel the remainder of the service. They stated they couldn't cancel the service till the modem was returned. I returned the modem to one of their stores on the 19th of January. I asked the person receiving the equipment if this was all I needed to cancel the account, and he said yes. I asked if I would be receiving a credit on the account and he said yes. On the 10th of February, I received a bill for $81.36 still showing that the modem was not returned. My account has a $98.07 credit without the modem and card. I was told that the account did show that the modem was returned and that it "just had not been put into the system" and that it now had and that a credit would be issued shortly. They further stated that nothing was owed on the bill. On March 1st, I received a bill from a credit collection agency for the $81.36; I had received no other notification between the 10th of February and this notice. I immediately called Time Warner and was assigned a case number. The rep again stated that it was clear I had returned the modem, but that they would need to verify that it was in their facility. I don't know what that has to do with anything since they noted that the modem had been returned. He stated that I would receive a call back by the 5th of March letting me know what the status was. I did not receive a call yesterday so in the afternoon I again called customer service. Again I was told that it was clear that I had returned the modem. This rep stated that the previous rep should not have told me I would receive a call by Tuesday because it would take up to 8 business days to research the situation. I asked to speak to a Supervisor and was placed on hold for a long period of time. When the representative came back on the line, she stated there was a backlog of calls (not surprising after looking at all the complaints) for supervisors and someone would give me a call back within 24 hours. In one hour it will be 24 hours and not surprisingly I have not received a call.

    0 Votes
  • Dm
    DMW57 Feb 26, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Off and on I have had all kinds of issues with Time Warner Cable (TWC), but I always went back to them whenever they had a good special. I guess it is like when someone goes back into a relationship with an abusive person who offers them a better deal this time. Now it is doubtful that I will ever use them again after this 7 month ordeal. In the past TWC’s customer service quality used to depend on the amount of services you had; the more services you had, the better the customer service and equipment. This fact was confirmed by a former TWC rep that I know.
    My major issue with TWC began in August of 2017. I called to cancel my services because I could not find a decent place to move and I thought I would have to stay with family, but a couple weeks later I tried to get them to change my request to cancel service to a request to move my service to my new place, but after hours of getting the run around; disconnecting me from the department that would help me. I decided to go with AT&T; one of the best decisions I've made in a long time. I absolutely love their U-Verse service so much that within the first month I added additional services.
    Shortly after paying my bill and returning the modem I had, I received a bill for an “unreturned modem”. I had the receipt for the only modem that I had so I made several calls, online chats, and emails and finally I was given a number to fax copies of my receipts. I also had a receipt for a converter box that I returned on December 28, 2017 because I just wanted internet after they jacked up the prices to a ridiculous amount once the special expired.
    After faxing these receipts and the statement with the modem charge plus screenshots of their site which showed only a credit-making it impossible to pay online, I followed up with them in September because they failed to contact me. (The site still shows the credit.) After I sent another email to them and I got a response which indicated I would have my refund of a whopping $34.62 within 4 to 6 weeks after services were discontinued. The effective date of my request to discontinue services was 7/31/2017 so the refund should have arrived within a week or so I thought. I contacted them again and received another response dated 11/1/12 which stated I would have my refund within 5-7 business days. I still did not receive the refund and when I called or chatted online with them I became truly upset. They continue to say I have an "unreturned modem" and when I expressed my feelings they became very condescending which is amazing because they still seemed to be accusatory. They obviously had some messed up records which I am sure it due to the time that the tech came shortly after I returned my converter box, because the modem I had no longer worked. The tech ended up replacing the non-functioning modem which I am positive that they were trying to bill for and gave me a really crummy one which I returned on 8/1/2017. The service tech did NOT have any paperwork. As a matter of fact, this guy was so creepy and unfriendly that I could not wait for him to leave. He reminded me of the guys you see in the prison shows. The latest condescending and accusatory TWC rep indicated they could not retrieve the service records. Glossing it over with the fact that I got the “unreturned modem” in 2017 and failing to mention the tech service done the beginning of January 2017 and when I asked about my refund she said she indicated that I should have assumed that when she said, “I apologize that the refund was not mentioned I assumed you would know once the modem was removed from the account that the refund would process. “ UGH!! I just want to scream in her face. This apology is insulting…I assumed you would know.
    Sorry to make this such a long story, but I really want to get all of this out there, because the more I mention the problems I have, the more I hear about other issues people have had with TWC. I do not understand why they have these “come back” special advertisements, but when I speak to them in person they don’t seem to care if I ever come back. When attempting to resolve the issue they maintain the attitude that you are wrong. I want to warn everyone I can that they are really NOT worth any of the bribes they are offering.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    popmeister Oct 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also received inexcusable service from TWC. I wanted to shop for upgrades to my cable/internet, having only the lowest tier of tv and wanting to move up a notch. First called TWC in Charlotte and the rep offered me a bump up in tv, plus the cable box with DVR, for around $24 more a month than my current charges, price guaranteed for 2 years and no contract. I verified all the points of the service and equipment, then said yes. I received the wrong box (no DVR) in the mail, then called a second rep who said I could exchange the box at the local office. I again asked that the price be verified, and he assured me there would be "no problem, we have a promotion on the dvr." So I took off a half day from work today to exchange the box at my local office. Sorry, the local rep said, we can't honor the price. I would have to call the Charlotte office where the promo was promised. Talked to the rep there who refused to honor the price. After I decided to cancel ALL service she switched me to the customer service dept. The rep there ALSO refused to honor the agreement, saying the reps were "mistaken." NOT MY PROBLEM. I worked in retail for years, I made mistakes, but I always STOOD BY MY WORD!
    Spending the rest of my wasted half day off looking for alternate providers, filing a complaint with the BBB, and looking for a HD antenna for my tv to hold me over til I can find a reliable provider.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dalton Jackson Oct 09, 2012

    My services was installed on [protected], and the information requested was submitted within the 30 days. I faxed the information over and every time I called they said they received and when I called after a 3rd or 4th time, they said you submitted your information in the correct time but something was wrong with our system and we you need to mail the bill from the bills you changed from which was ATT and Direct-tv. Now i keep getting emails that says something different. This is false advertisement and they only wanted me to switch and as of this date i haven't received my gift card. Would someone please contact me

    0 Votes
  • Na
    NA - Anonymous Aug 08, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Our experience with Time Warner Cable has been absolutely horrible so far. The first time we called TWC, we were hung up on. The second time, we were finally able to get through to someone after a very long wait time. Once we were able to speak to a customer service rep, he was hard to understand and so slow. We ended up being on the phone with him for an hour just trying to set up new service. He scheduled the installation appointment for a week later and said the technician would be there sometime between 10am & 12pm. The technician did not show up until 3:00pm. The technician clearly had no idea what she was doing. She called someone for help many times and finally got the cable working but never could get the Internet to work. She said she would come back tomorrow to fix it. She left at 7:15pm. No one ever showed up the next day and no one ever called. At the end of the day after not hearing from TWC, we called their customer service and after a 30 minute wait, someone answered and we requested to speak to a supervisor. After a another 30 minute hold, we explained the situation to the supervisor and he said he would schedule another technician to come out the next day between 10am and 12pm. Again, no one ever showed up. This issue has still not been resolved after calling again and speaking to a supervisor for another hour. Wow, what will it take for someone to help us? We have had nothing but extremely poor customer service since the moment we starting dealing with Time Warner Cable and have yet to get the services set up that we are being charged for. Unfortunately, I just don't think they care about resolving customer issues or even providing quality customer service. I guess we are going to have to go through another battle now just to get them to cancel everything. We just can't do this anymore. Please, please beware.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    nikki12 Jul 05, 2012

    The volume and power on my remote was not working so I called Time warner cable customer service for assistance and to my misfortune I was connected to an individual named "Kimathie". From the very beginning he was unprofessional, he asked for my acct. info and would cut me off mid sentence before I could finish answering his question. Then he began to give me instructions that I was supposed to follow if only he was not speaking @100MPM, it was incredible he ran thought the instructions so fast that I had to stop him and ask him to slow down please, he just went silent when I asked "are you there" he said "well yes I am but you asked me to slow down so I did." I realized then that this was going nowhere and I should've hung up then. The remote was not responding so he told me he would reboot the box just hold on and tell him when the time comes back on the box. In the mean time I can hear him in the background saying to someone that a customer called him earlier and asked him a question (I didn't hear what the question was) he said "and I was like really *** really are you really that *** oh my God". I immediately felt *** because I realized he was looking at me in that same light. I am an educated woman with a masters degree in nursing working in an ER saving lives everyday and here is this person making me feel as though I am bothering him. Towards the end of this arduous phone call when all his attempts failed he ended by saying "well I don't know what else to tell you cause I can't help you." The entire call this person had a condescending pissed off tone . When I asked him his name and didn't understand what he said he responded, "no, no, no my name Kim-ma-tie you know like a woman's name. My remote still does not work, as soon as FIOS come to my neighbourhood I want TWC out of my house!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ml
    Mladydavis Jan 20, 2012

    Will never deal with Time Warner Cable again! Was told it would be 79.99 for Basic cable and Turbo high speed Internet when i moved to NC from Indiana to new apartment, then bill stated 114 dollars!!! Some idiot misquoted the price, so after spending 2 hours and 8 different people on the phone, I canceled services! In this economy, who the hell wants to be jacked around? Screw their services!

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    P.R. Howard Nov 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I called in for service to Time Warner Cable about 2 months ago and asked for the cheapest plan and with how many channels. The female representative told me I would be paying 15.99 a month. That's taxes included. Time Warner rep stated, they would need to draft that amt from my cking acct. When I asked her why, she could not give me a reason. She stated, that is something new they had just started. Well, I said, " okay!" Before I made any agreements I asked her, "how many channels am I getting?" I asked her three times. She kept telling me 22 channels. Well, I now have 20 channels. I called the company and got Annette on the phone. All she could say, "well Mr. Howard I am so sorry for the misunderstanding but you are only paying for 20 channels. I stated to her, " that is not my fault because the representative promise me something that I wasn't suppose to get." How would I have known without proper information? That just shows you TWC has very poor Customer Service who knows nothing about their product and services to the customers. Those boxes they sell in stores where you receive certain channels w/o paying for cable services does not give me a clear picture. So, to get a clear picture, I am stuck with TWC for the time being.

    0 Votes
  • Tg
    T Greaux Nov 05, 2011

    Time Warner Cable is the worst cable provider I have ever come across. They lied to me to sell me faster internet speeds for an additional charge when the problem was that they were actually capping my bandwidth. Customer service then told me that their system was down when I told them that I wanted to cancel my subscription regardless of a ridiculously high cancellation fee. The computers over there were working just fine until I told them I wanted to cancel...hmmmm...yea...right. Liars and cheats...thats all they are, in fact they are so horrible that even though I do NOT like Verizon FiOS at all, that Im willing to switch to them anyway...I could not be more angry at these brash, inconsiderate, jerks...who hangs up on a customer that has been with your company for 23 years?!?!?!?! Simply Unacceptable... Good Bye Time Warner Cable and good riddance.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frances Bogart Oct 03, 2011

    Time Warner better call me, [protected])other wise I will be so done with you!!!I'not playing game
    NO MORE FALSE PROMISES.
    STOP THE PROMISE YOU CAN NOT COMPLY!

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Ruth Grunberg Jul 18, 2011

    Channel 18 has been removed from our BASIC cable lineup due to a dispute with Time Warner cable. This has been going on for about a month. TW refuses to provide any info on what is happening with the problem. There is no substitute programming. Our franchise agreement says that we are supposed to get a credit on our bill when there is a channel disruption. This is not being done. Instead, TW is collecting money that used to go to the missing network. They are now keeping this money. I consider this fraud. Consumers are tired and outraged at being caught in the middle of these constant disputes between arrogant large companies who only want more and more of our money all the time.

    0 Votes
  • Js
    jsliva Jul 13, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have time warner road runner internet service and over the course of the last 10 months I have had 4 techs out to fix the problem. What is the problem you ask? Well I get intermittent internet service. My modem shuts down and then takes appox 10 to 15 minutes to come back on. The last 2 techs I've had out both have told me that it's not a modem problem it's a problem with the Mass Pro Taps at the street that were left over from Adelphia and Comcast cable. They are going bad and cause the problem yet since there is no other cable company to compete in my area the powers that be have decided to look the other way and just hope you deal with it. According to techs the corporate big wigs don't want to spend the money to fix the issue. I don't know about others in the area who are having this problem but this is no way to run a business. I understand that the issue arises from when the weather changes with the seasons and now that it is again my internet is encountering the same signal loss and reboots yet again. Elyria, Ohio

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    Florence Thorntons Jun 09, 2011

    I live in NYC-twice service people came out to hook up the modem to connect my main computer internet service to my second computer. Twice they told me that for some reason they were unable to do it. So, they talked me into getting a 4G wireless and said it would be $12.95. When I received my first bill there was an additional usage overage charge of $250. When I called them they said that it had been explained to me that my contract was for a monthly usage of 250mb. I told them that this was absurd. Why would anyone take out a service that limited your usage, when they already had internet service (package deal). Now they are telling me that I did not cancel the service, and of course I did. That I owe them the monthly charge, which by the way turns out to be $19.99 per month and if I cancel the service there is a$135.
    I'm going to take them to small claims court. My bill for just that month is $432. and this bill is $404. plus I owe the early cancellation charge.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mistiqnunu May 24, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered a bundle packet from Time Warner Cable (Phone, Internet and Cable) and was offered a $150 dollar rebate. I supposedly recieved an email with the forms necessary to fullfill my rebate. When I call time warner they stated that Leapfrog is the issuer of the rebate, when i call Leapfrog, they say that time warner should have sent me the forms.

    This is a scam. Time Warner has no idea what is going on. Its really a lie and a scam.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Ann34 May 11, 2011

    I understand the off of $33 for phone, cable, and high speed internet. but we are in the age of cell phones and many people cannot have landline AND cell phone bill. I 've been calling Time Warner Cable every month for an offer or plan for just TV and high speed internet . Because their is no competition, they are taking advantage of the price ceiling and can offer less service for more money and now I end up with one part of the service I dont use . Many people have cell phones these days. I have to have someone else pay for my cell phone because my budget is already used up from "triple play" cable plan.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    danm1993 Apr 14, 2011

    I was a customer of Time Warner in a contract. After I had renewed my contract, I got a job in an area out of their service area. I had to cancel this contract. I find out that I have to pay $250 for early termination because I am moving to a place they are not located. Their answer, "Well, you shouldn't have done a contract." "I can't get service without a contract." "Then you shouldn't have had service." WOW. So, I either pay for service I don't use or I pay to terminate a service that I do not have access to anyway. Crooks!

    0 Votes
  • Ze
    Zebulon Feb 26, 2011

    My problem with TWC started on Nov 1st 2017 when I moved into my new home. It is 480 Feet off the road and TWC installed 560 of cable, even after telling me that 400 feet of cable was hard to get a signal through. I went by what they had done after all they are suppose to be the professionals. I made multiple calls to TWC after moving in because my signal was bad and they would just say they were working in the area or they would refresh my boxes, which seemed to help for periods of time. But I live alone and rarely used more than one service at a time, So I really never noticed a problem just glitches and things when the phone would ring or if i was uploading an upgrade for a game or something the phone would cut off every few min even down to every few seconds. In June of 2017 just 6 1/2 months of living here I was Hit from behind in my truck while i was working by someone on their cell phone. I sustained many injuries and the worst one was to my head. I could no longer watch a regular TV any more because for some reason i could see the frame works flashing down and it would make me pass out. I was in 3 times a day therepy and having head injections through my forehead and temples and soft spot and such it hurt so bad, When i would get home all i wanted to do was cry and sit in the dark. My TV of course was an old one so I did not watch TV/Internet again until May 2017. That was when for a present i was given a 46" LCD TV I was so happy That I could finally catch up on my shows lol. I even went and got the HD box and everything, soon as its all installed and ready to go "BOOM" half picture, words blurring together I have plenty of Videos, Audios and such that they wont even look at. So i started calling them to get it fixed and also my Pricelock guarantee that they would not honor even though I had fullfilled my part of the contract and they are the ones who mailed it to me, It took them 2 weeks and still could not figure out how to bill me even though im standing there with a paper in my hand, that they should be able to print off since they sent it to me. I had to finally step up and say hey since you cant figure it out "Managers" just throw me on the 33, 33, 33 deal on the TV right now and they did in just less that 30 min probably (WoW). They started to work on my house and found that i was receiving a -17 signal coming into my house. Now for anyone out there i really dont want to pay 166 bucks a month for a -17 signal when im suppose to have super turbo boost... The wire running to my house was no bigger than a pencil and the "New Ones (x)6" were all bigger than 2 or 3 fingers put together... Thats when they started cutting the lines of the 2 house's in front of me. So they would come out to fix their lines and cut mine then fix mine and cut theirs again this happened 6 times over 6 months right at christmas too. I have lost over 2017 dollars on my pay check due to having to be off days for them to be here and the 5 hours they were here the day after Thanksgiving on a sunday when i wanted to be a church. And especially the days where they dont show up and when you call in they want you to take another day off work... How am I to pay the bill if I cannot work because TWC is at my house all the time it just doesnt make any sense. They dug 3 times before they ever sent out a locator and when one finally showed up they painted their marks on top of the snow... One question kept popping up from them and it was "How can we make you happy and fix this" I could not believe what I was hearing, how can they not know how to fix the problem they created. Honor your contract you sent to me that was underlined "you don't have to do a thing" and yes they used slang I could not believe it. In a business like theirs they should be a little more cafeful wording with their contracts. And second give me the correct equipment and such to run the service that I am paying for is that to much to ask? BUT!!! all i have gotten is the run around, threatend, hung up on, and called names, and a few other things. They did not know I had video everytime they were working at my house, even when they were inside my house the cameras were rolling ^^. (2nd) One of the people from TWC that is handling the BBB complaint hung up on me tonight (I have it all recorded), this is after a call from the same department the day before on a wrong number. They have been given the number 40 times or more to call instead of the one they did and I have personally witnessed them put the number in as the prime number to call and they still dont so that is total harassment, but i still talked with them and they said they would not honor the terms I was asked to give them from the BBB so I am going to rebut their claims. They say they did not cut or disrupt my neighbors lines and such which were also credited on their bills and the horrible landscaping now will prove other wise lol. They say there was nothing wrong with my service even when one of the Managers was here and saw the TV box rebooting every 8 minutes, but on their report they have they stated they remove my radio shack wires i had put in... This is after they had been here numerous times and had installed the wires themselves. I had the bag and receipt from the HD box i had received from them and the wires laid out on my couch and everything ready for the tech to fix my problem and the tech came with out any of the equipment that was listed on the wrok order. The resposnse from the tech while i was on the phone with TWC customer service he would not call and they would not call the tech was "Where am I gonna get new boxes on sunday"... In the middle of a conversation with the tech about my service the tech's personal phone rang and the tech answered it while i was in mid sentenceand walked out of the house for 22 min 12 sec then the tech brought up a beat up HD cable box (all the tech had in the van) and hooked it up to my TV in the bedroom where I dont even watch TV, this is the same tech that registered my -17 signal and had the new wire scheduled to be installed. I was told tonight by the person from TWC handling the BBB complaint that I was a complaining customer they were just giving me new stuff to make me happy and there was nothing wrong with my service -- My service was finally almost fully restored on this last sunday 2-20-11. I have been credited from the top people in TWC over this area and if that doesnt say something i dont know what does around 500 dollars so far but i have not had regular service for 6 months so why was i receiving past due bills even though i had completed my renewal contract and they were working on my service? I have given you have of the story so far I have videos, audios and recording from them and they are still denying it all. Someone dropped the ball and they just kept of kicking it I guess, and now they think they can just sweep me under the rug? Well They have never met the likes of me before, I have my soapbox to stand on and a voice that can be heard. We allow them to be here and we can just as easily as a majority kick em out. After all look how long it tok us to agree on the new FedX Hub ^^. I say treat us like people again and not numbers and maybe we will begin building trust in TWC again. Thank you for reading my post I have plenty more information and will be adding it tomorrow this is enough for tonight they have already taken up 2 years and 6 months of my life I refuse to give them more than this tonight.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    disgruntled for good reason Feb 23, 2011

    From its misleading, deceptive advertising and unscrupulous sales reps to poorly maintained equipment and cabling - you will only be more disappointed by their jaw-droppingly horrific customer service. Buyer beware. If you have no choice but to utilize TWC, READ ALL proverbial SMALL PRINT CAREFULLY - and then, DOCUMENT, DOCUMENT, DOCUMENT! Do not trust TWC with auto pay, as you can expect even a contract invoice to fluctuate wildly. Make sure you have limitless phone minutes, as you will need them when attempting to secure tech support or correct your invoice. Oh, and one more thing, do not bother reading the BBB report... What a surprise - it is biased.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mikejass Oct 28, 2010

    I am a Telecommunications Consultant I had a client of mine switch to another provider well they received a $3, 000 cancellation fee from TW, low and behold the contract said a $250 penalty we got on the phone with TW and asked for proof of how they got to that dollar amount. We spoke to about 4 or 5 different people till finally no one could give us written documentation on how they got to $3, 000. They finally left the penalty at $250, it's just a smoking gun they just want to scare you to stay with them.

    0 Votes
  • Kd
    K. Ditty Sep 21, 2010

    I have been a customer of TWC for many years, always paying on time while often putting up with less than stellar service. I get all channel offerings and road runner at a cost of $150/mo. TWC advertises on line that the same offering can be had for $70 so I stopped by their office to sign up for it, but guess what...not available to good solid existing customers only new accounts. Imagine that! So I requested account termination so I could get this great deal but the rep said they would not offer me this deal under those circumstances. So I requested an alteration of the present account to get rid of everything above ch 99 and you quessed it the price for this would be as much or MORE than the present service. Has this world gone completely gaga with greed?

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roxie and Ken 2011 Sep 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We moved from Charter Communications svc area to TWC on 9/1/10. On 8/27/10 I called to set up new svc which is cable / internet. I was told on 9/2/10 a tech would be out to install between 2-5 pm. That day came and around 4:32 I called spent over an hr waiting to talk to someone and find out where the tech was. I was informed that we cxld our appt.. I explain we did no such thing so we got another install appt on 9/4/10 between 8am-11am tech showed up @ around 9 am spent hrs getting the receivers ready and about 2 hrs later comes back in saying the wires are bad and they will need to send out a wire team... Keep in mind this is Labor Day wkend so he said Tuesday someone would call me. I called TWC as soon as he left because I work from home and need svc asap. I waited another 2 hrs for a supervisor who said I am sorry there is nothing we can do.
    On Tuesday I called and spoke to another sup. who said on 9/20/10 they will be out to wire! I said its 9/7/10 and 9/20/10 isnt going to work I need internet as I work from home... He said I am sorry there isnt an earlier time I just hung up. I called back on Wed 9/8/10 asked for another sup. and asked if there was anyway they could run a temp line to give me svc until the wiring team can come out bcz I need internet I explained again I work from home... He said we do not do temp lines! I said well you are not a very customer svc orientated company... He said I am sorry you feel like that however we can come out on the 14th between 8am-11am to install and give you service... So far I have spent around 6 hrs on the phone with TWC trying and making sure the 14th we will be taken care of!

    9/14/10 rolls around and its 10:45 and no one has called me only the automated caller on 9/13/10 to confirm my appt for today... I spend YET ANOTHER 1 1/2 being told that the problem is worse then they thought and it will be ANOTHER 7-14 business days before they can provide me service! Isaid what was the purpose in having me waste ANOTHER day waiting around and also NO TECH has even came to the apt and went in attic to verify the wires are bad! He said they are there and that they did! I said to hell someone has!

    TWC has wasted 14 days of my time and around 10 hrs in phone calls and 8 hrs in appts that no one showed up for. How can a company stay in business if this is how they treat potential clients? WHY cant we as a people choose Charter or TWC because at least Charter gave me a temp line for cable/internet at our other place until they could send a wire team out because they knew I worked from home! I NEVER had to spend hrs on the phone waiting to talk to someone and Charter NEVER EVER stood me up on appt... If there tech was running late I got a personal phone call!

    I will be sending this complaint to the BBB and any and all other complaint sites I can! I have lost over $2500 bcz I can not work at my place!!!

    TWC you all should be SHUT DOWN or the clients should be able to choose what cable provider we want! I would choose CHARTER COMMUNICATIONS ANY DAY!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hadenoughtwc Sep 08, 2010

    Do yourself a favor and do not get Time warner Cable. For the last year since I started using their HD/digital box I have had nothing but problems. Picture freezing, channels "not available" at the moment, flickering/frozen screen. I have literally called everyday for the last month and had them on the property 2x, switched the box out, reboot teh f'n thing daily, etc. When I talk to them on the phone it is always unplug and reboot your box. WTH everyday? I never had/have problems with the tvs that run cable from wall to the tv. Its the refurbished boxes they use, not a single one is new. So I am enduring 7 more days until sattelite is installed at the house and can tell TWC to go screw themselves. Roadrunner and their internet phone are worse then their cable. Never again TWC, never again.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kellie901 Jul 07, 2010

    Over 1 1/2 yrs ago we entered into a "contract" with TWC for our internet, cable and phone. Our monthly bill was $177.68 which even though I was entered into a "price lock guarantee" the price rose every so often. When confronted with why, I was told that the "price Lock Guarantee" was simply the savings price that was guaranteed of $12.00. I was also told that if I would have read my contract I would have realized that...well I NEVER received a contract so I was unable to read it. Well things have no gone from bad to worse. I was one that was laid off in Nov, 09 and my unemployment benefits stopped last month. I called TWC to immediatly downgrade my services so that I could afford the bill...well let me tell you "what a racket they have going on". I could not downgrade any services without having to pay a $90.58 penalty fee for breaking the contract. Let me tell you, I have always paid my bill ontime and in full, I downgraded to just internet and lifeline cable and my bill will still be $70 a month. At this time they are telling me that I owe close to $300, which I truly do not understand. I had to cancel services because I couldnt afford them, now I have a bill that is almost double my original without the services. They refuse to knock off the $90 penalty fee, even though I have always paid on time, even though I am not switching providers (yet) and I have been a good customer that fell on hard times. This company is out for the almighty buck and will do whatever it takes to get it. They should be ashamed of themselves, god forbid this ever happens to their family(s).

    0 Votes
  • So
    son of satan Jun 25, 2010

    i think you are a [censor]ing idiot techs wont do that for you is not their equipment, , , , let me ask you...if you had a bussiness will you provide a service that you dont offer to your cutomers? i think thats pretty dumb just like and the rest of the people that like cable...read a book do something with you [censor]ing life...

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    Munrrser Jun 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have Time Warner Triple Play -- I only have it because I have no choice of any other cable company & can't use sattelite because my apt. doesn't have the correct exposure. This company has been nothing but problems --- I wish they'd do out of business --- Problems daily -- no dial tone on phone, no internet connection, no audio on tv, extreme macropixilation, etc. etc. No, not every problem every day, but enough to take up days & days of my time & enough to drive me nuts daily. AND YESTERDAY THEY TOOK OFF THE SORT BY FAVORITES OPTION !!! NOW I HAVE TO SPEND AN HOUR SCROLLING THROUGH A MILLION (EXAGGERATING A BIT) CHANNELS TO SEE WHAT I WANT TO WATCH !! AND THEY CALL THAT AN UPGRADE !! WHAT HAPPENED IS THAT THEY ADDED SO FAIRLY USELESS THINGS & DIDN'T HAVE ENOUGH MEMORY FOR FAVORITES SO THEY TOOK IT AWAY & CALL IT AN UPGRADE --- IS ANYONE COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS -- I HOPE ENOUGH PEOPLE ARE IN AN UPROAR SO THAT THEY'LL TAKE IT BACK. SHAME ON YOU TIME WARNER -- YOU'RE WAY TOO INCOMPETENT TO BE A CABLE CO.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carl P0pp Sr. Jun 17, 2010

    First Time warner said we had a previous bill of $145.00. We paid the bill.

    45 days later, we were charged a $25.00 additonal collection fee, never mentioned. After we disputed the charge, it was credited 50 days later.

    Then we hear a humming sound in our tv. TMC came out, and tech said that we needed to buy a new tv. the tech even knew the name, and location to but the new tv. When we invistigated later, and had another tech come out, we found that the cable wires were not in the right ports, and no new tv was needed.

    Then every couple weeks we get no picture. We have to call TWC. They say" Sorry about your problem, I am here to help" and reset the box.

    Then there are these little things:

    We pay to watch paid info shows
    We pay to watch commercials every 10 minutes during shows.
    We pay to watch images pop-up on the screen during shows, that advertise other shows. and these images take up 40% of the screen.
    We pay to have our cable box reset
    We pay to have have the techs fix boxes, controls, and frequency issues.

    So I have had enough of being a company player.

    COME OUT AND PICK UP THIS BOX AND CONTROLLER!

    I am so glad I didnt get the bundled deal for phone and internet. Can you imagine TWC calling every 10 minutes to advertise a "good deal" to phone customers. Can you imagine a pop-up image on the computer screen, telling you not to read Complaintsboard.com. You bet TWC would.

    My advice. Pop in a DVD, watch it, and take the money you save, and pay for a therapist to deal with how the local utility companies are screwing you other finances.

    Sincerely,

    A TWC abuse survivor.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BearGreels May 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I live in Arlington, TX and is a TWC customer for 5 years now. Two years ago I moved to a new address, two blocks away from my original address. During this move I've agreed to upgrade my service to a Digital cable package and DVR services. Over whole I would say I was a satisfied customer and as long as my services are working, I am happy. Unfortunately, in my new address I am in a zone that have a signal level issues, maybe down a long line of other users. Every time the outside temperature rises above a 100 degrees (often in a Texas summer) or drops below 40 degrees, the TV channels get pixilated or completely disappear. I've had TWC technicians in my home multiple times measuring the signal and confirming that the signal level needs to be adjusted and promising that they know what to do and it will never happen again. I had that visit three times already this year. My complaint is that every time I call, they make me wait for a tech to come measure again and come to the same conclusion and then another team has to adjust the levels. This process takes a week at best, which is unacceptable. It seems like they can't control the signal levels and can't automatically adjust to the weather. Which in turn degrades my services two or three time a year. I've tried to talk to a supervisor but I am getting the run around.

    0 Votes
  • Ks
    KS416 May 05, 2010

    Time Warner has no clue what they are doing. I had a cable card installed in my Tivo and had to switch Tivos. The first person I spoke with told me to take the cable card out and transfer it to the new tivo and call back. When I called back, the person I spoke with told me I shouldn't have touched the card. Great training program they have there. She set up an appointment (I now have no cable BTW) for the next day. One of their convenient time slots right in the middle of the work day (11-2). The guy shows up at 2:30 without a cable card. He stares at my TV for 5 minutes, says there is nothing he can do and proceeds to make a phone call in my apartment that had nothing to do with me. He then sets up another appointment for 8-11am the next day buy assures me I will be the first appointment at 8am so I don't have to miss any more work. It is currently 9am and I have not heard anything from him. I have called Time Warner twice in the meantime and they said he should be here before 11am. Thanks Time Warner. Maybe you should at least try to show up with the proper equipment this time. Fios is not available in my building or I would have already cancelled my cable and been on the phone with verizon.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Redemption Apr 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had nothing but problems with this company as of today it has been 3 weeks since I had a working phone or cable they screwed up my appointment time then they didn't show up. Then they called my phone which I have with the idiots now tell me how are they going to get a hold of me when the phone doesn't work. They had my work # but do you think they would call that # . you go round and round with them and they still can't get it right. lets see if they show up tomorrow or maybe they will call again to the phone that doesn't work and not show up again. As of Monday I will be switching to Dish and AT&T.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    TASHI Apr 06, 2010

    I received a invitation letter from time warner cable to reconnect to time warner cable bundle service for $75.99 @ month for 1 year with no contract and no installation fee. I switched my service from RCN to Time warner hoping to save some money. After I switched, time warner sent me first month bill of $225: $40 installation fee, $99.95 for bundle service, $25 box and DTV service. $25 phone initial fee or something and tax.

    I called customer service and they couldn't honor their letter, saying i have to go to time warner center with the letter, which i did. There i showed the letter and the manager said they don't have such a deal and they have no idea about the deal. But the manager did take my installation fee out.

    I am not satisfied at all. I switched over to time warner to save some money, but they tricked me by sending this letter of lies.

    PS: I still have the letter with me.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Palmer Apr 02, 2010

    We received official letter from Time Warner dated March 26, 2017 stating: "To avoid losing your package savings, please call us right away so we can find the perfect new package for you." "Our new Price Lock Guarantee offers have many new benefits...at no additional charge".

    So, I called in today and was told:

    1. I can't call in now even though they stated in the letter to 'call us right away'. I was told I have to call back within 30 days before or aftre contract expiration date which is May 9th. She can change my package for me now, but have to charge me penalty fee.

    2. The new prices are $34 more each month even though they stated in the official letter that 'no additional charge'.

    When I asked to speak with her supervisor, she refused and said someone will call me back in 24 hours. What kind of service they offer!!!

    My neighbor told me that they switched away from Time Warner, then TW asked them to come back with many sweeter deals, much better than what they offered us as a loyal customer. I wonder how they can keep their business.

    We are DEFINITELY switching away from Time Warner, not coming back, once we are 30 days before the contract expiration date.

    By the way, they claimed that my internet speed is up to 7mbps. But when I tested through 2wire.com, it's only 2.8mbps. But Time Warner's testing site speedtest.texas.rr.com, when tested at exactly the same time, would tell me it's 12mbps on a maximum speed of 7mbps line! Does this tell you something? Should I trust Time Warner's own site claiming my speed is 5mbps higher than their maximum speed? Or should I trust the public site 2wire.com? I would adise you all test your TW line with public site insteading of just trusting TW like we did for past 2 years.

    0 Votes
  • Yi
    Yigorre Apr 01, 2010

    Noticed that my bill was more than usual. Called TWC to ask why. They said I have 2 DVRS. NO! I only have ONE and TWO other cable boxes. I have had their service for about 2yrs now so why all of a sudden. They said they had to have a tech come to house to verify. Tech came and took one look at box and said "it is not a dvr, they don't know what they're talking about". He called in and talked to someone and said the problem has been taken care of. I made sure it was ok in their system so we wouldn't be charged for 2 dvrs again next month. He assured me it was taken care of. I called TWC after that to make sure I was credited and guess what??? They said there is no record of his call into the company to take care problem. Now they have to send someone out again!!! We will look into changing to ATT.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dannie06 Mar 28, 2010

    CS reps aren't able to shoot magical fix-all beams to your home, they can only give you credit for time out of service. we know right down to the hour what you pay daily, even hourly for the service. its up to the techs to fix the issue. if its a node issue then they would have to get a maint tech out.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.