The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Smith's Food and Drugpharmacy service

T
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Date of Incident: 12/09/17
Pharmacist: Stephanie
Location: 5710 W 7800 S, West Jordan, UT 84081
Background:
Sometime in late November, I dropped off a prescription for Adderall 20 mg #60. The prescription was written on 08/28/2017 with a DO NOT REFILL UNTIL 11/20/2017.
I was informed by this pharmacy that I could fill this prescription on 12/04/17. I called back on 12/08/17 and I was told that this prescription had expired. Again, on 12/09/17, I spoke with the Pharmacist, Stephanie. Stephanie stated because more than 90 days had passed since the written date the prescription was expired. She did not take into account the DEA mandates CIIs are valid 30 days after the specified fill date (in this case, the expiration date being 12/20/17).
Incident:
During my conversation on 12/09/2017, I initially spoke with the technician Kylee, I requested that my original prescription be returned. Kylee spoke put me on hold and then refused to return my prescription. I requested again and then was transferred to the Pharmacist Stephanie. She told me the same: the prescription was expired due to the prescription being written more than 90 days ago (which not a law but perhaps Smith's police?). I told her I needed to fill this medication now, since it is still a valid prescription, and I won't be able to see my physician until late December. I told her that I would be taking the prescription to another pharmacy. She said "that's fine, " and hung up the phone before I could say another word. She was obviously frustrated with me.
Later that day, 12/09/17, I drove by to pick up the hardcopy only to see it defaced with purple marker and written in large purple ink "RX EXPIRED 11-26-17, " which is false. I had the distinct feeling that Stephanie wrote this on the face of my prescription in an attempt to burden me. Because of what your pharmacy did, I can no longer use this prescription (because it has writing across the face of it), and I won't be able to see my primary care provide until late December. This places a heavy psychological toll on me since that medication is to treat ADHD. I wish I could share how this will actually affect me over the next couple of weeks, simply because your pharmacist
I wanted to inform your company that I am filing a complaint for unprofessional conduct with DOPL. I would really appreciate it if further training is provided to your pharmacists, specifically regarding pharmacy law, so these types of incidents won't happen to your customers in the future.
Thank you.
If needed, by request of email, I can attach a picture of the current condition of my returned prescription.
[protected]@gmail.com

Responses

  • Sh
    Shaun R. Dec 10, 2017

    Hi Topher.

    Why don't you just have your doctor call in a 30 day supply?

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shaun R. Dec 12, 2017

    @TopherWeez Hi Topher.

    I'm sure having the ADHD has it's own series of problems and getting your meds shouldn't be one of them. With that said, I guarantee that any meds you need, doctor willing, they can provide a limited amount to you by contacting the pharmacy.

    And, yes, I'm very familiar with Utah and Smith's pharmacy.

    If your doctor has a reason for not wanting you using these meds, than that's a whole different issue.

    0 Votes
  • To
    TopherWeez Dec 10, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Shaun R. C2's can't ve called in over the phone. At least in Utah... But that is beside the point, isnt it?

    0 Votes
  • Po
    pobarjenkins Dec 10, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is a third party website not directly affiliated with Smith's. What happened that caused your resolution statement to be "The website is stupid..."?

    0 Votes
  • Po
    pobarjenkins Dec 12, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @TopherWeez Yes, I am aware. You do need to contact their support team but it is very simple.

    0 Votes
  • To
    TopherWeez Dec 12, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @pobarjenkins There is no option to retract a complaint. Beside contacting customer support, are you aware of a removal process?

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.