Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Furniture Sleep Number crap warranty

Sleep Number review: crap warranty

C
Author of the complaint
9:29 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

5 year old $2500 bed. A 10 cent chip goes bad on the pump circuit board and they want $150 and insist the entire pump must be replaced; what a friggin racket.

Customer Number:#######
June 23, 2008

Dear [protected],

Thank you for contacting Select Comfort Customer Service. I apologize, but unfortunately we are unable to replace just the circuit board. The entire pump unit will need to be replaced.

Should you have further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Tiffeny Henderson
Select Comfort Customer Service
[protected]
[protected]@selectcomfort.com

---- Original Message ----
That's a shame; the pump was used so little. May I simply purchase the pump circuit board only? The compressor and valves are fine. I don't want to bore you with my woes, let's just say $157.50 is a lot of money to come up with.
I realize the circuit board would not be considered consumer replaceable, and while I might list certified qualifications that would keep you reading for some time to come, I'll spare you...
Please, I so appreciate your support.

[protected]
TSgt. USAF (RET)

-----Original Message-----
From: Select Comfort Customer Service
[mailto:[protected]@selectcomfort.com]
Sent: Friday, June 20, 2008 1:59 PM
To:

Customer Number:########
June 20, 2008

Dear [protected],

Thank you for replying with the results of the troubleshooting. Based off the information you gave us, you will need to replace the pump. Upon reviewing your account I've found that you are currently in the pro-rated portion of your warranty. This means that Select Comfort will cover 65% of the replacement cost for the defective component. Your cost to replace the pump under warranty is $157.50 plus tax and shipping. If you would like to place an order and choose to pay with a credit card, please contact us via telephone at [protected] with your credit card information, as emails are not secure.

I apologize for the issue you experienced with your Select Comfort bed.
Please do not hesitate to contact us again if you have any further concerns.

Sincerely,

Kristin Prahl
Select Comfort Customer Service
[protected]
[protected]@selectcomfort.com

---- Original Message ----
Thank you for the quick reply!

Pump does not respond to any commands; no beep or click, even when plugging/re-plugging unit into verified electric outlet.
Controller displays remain blank and unlit when a button is pushed.

I look forward to your resolution,

-----Original Message-----
From: Select Comfort Customer Service
[mailto:[protected]@selectcomfort.com]
Sent: Friday, June 20, 2008 8:35 AM
To:

Customer number:########
June 20, 2008

Dear [protected],

Thank you for contacting Select Comfort. I apologize for the issue you are experiencing with your Select Comfort Bed. In order to best address your concern, I do have a few follow up questions. Does your pump respond at all to any commands? Does it make any noises as though it is trying to move air, but is unable to? Is there any display on the controller face when you attempt to make an adjustment? If you were to unplug the pump from the power outlet and then plug it back in, does the pump make any beeping or clicking noises? This information will help to isolate the issue so that we can take the best corrective action.

Thank you.

Rita McChesney
Select Comfort Customer Service
[protected]
[protected]@selectcomfort.com

---- Original Message ----

Comments:
My Firmness Control? System doesn't "wake up" when a button is pushed on wired remotes. Remotes appear dead. 110v to pump verified. What service help is available? Thanks!

Reprint: Y

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

14 comments
Add a comment
B
Mar 05, 2016 1:25 pm EST

sorry but I love my bed but now I have a problem. My remote goes to 0 no matter what number I put in. The pump starts but no air comes out. now we did unplug air hoses to check output of air. Please help. I am 70 and husband 74 and cant sleep on the bed.

C
Jan 20, 2015 2:58 pm EST

I have one last warning and statement. It is my opinion that any company that manufactures a product that is targeted towards the elderly or infirm and, has a poor product with a high profit margin is by definition predatory. If you have trouble getting out of bed and are looking for a similar product, do your homework with various independent search engines and look at reviews (like this one). It is YOUR money, and money talks. Let your voice be heard by giving honest constructive feedback, but be unforgiving in your child like honesty. Any company that ignores the feedback from customers or its image online is doomed to suffer financial hardship because people will stop buying whatever garbage they are pitching. I say again it is my honest, educated, and first hand experience-based opinion that this company (Leggett & Platt (L&P) Adjustable beds, (brand name, Select Comfort, "sleep number" beds) is predatory on a vulnerable section of society and is profiting therein. Vote with your $$, and vote often. Caveat Emptor!

C
Jan 20, 2015 2:50 pm EST

Our precision comfort sleep number bed was bought in 2010 and it has stopped working totally (it cost us $5K). We called the customer service and they sold us a control box (emergency down box to lower the bed if power is out) and that did not fix the problem (that little worthless box was $50). I agree with the USAF TSgt above that stated they try to sell you cheap components that may/may not fix the problem to suck whatever cash out of you. This product is without a doubt, poorly made and poorly supported. The customer service is callous and non-helpful. If you pay $5K for something and it stops working 4 years later, my advice is to hear and heed all these complaints as a warning. For what it is worth, save yourself trouble, heartache, frustration, your money, and ulcers. DO NOT BUY anything from Leggett & Platt (L&P) Adjustable beds, (brand name, Select Comfort, "sleep number" beds). This company will not support you when their product breaks; their product WILL break within 3-4 years, and you will know the taste and meaning of regret. Caveat Emptor!

F
Feb 04, 2013 12:31 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

My pump, not with numbers, but with hoses to two sides of a queen bed, seems to have stopped working on one side. Is there a way to have the company check the pump by taking it to the local outlet and letting them deal with it? I should think it wouldn't be necessary to purchase a whole new pump (we just re-inflated both sides with one hose), but it would be nicer to have both sides working. I've read all of the comments and complaints, and wonder if there isn't room for refurbishing some of the used pumps that stop working?

Thanks!

D
Dec 13, 2012 3:45 pm EST

My pump went dead as well. Remote wouldn't "wake up" the pump, and just gave a "00" number. I figured they would want a fortune for a new circuit board (which I now see they won't even sell).
After poking around the circuit board with a VO meter, it turned out to be a little 30c bridge diode became 100% shorted, which also blew the fuse on the board. Total cost about $2, and they were easy to replace.

S
Mar 14, 2012 7:28 pm EDT

I actually like the comfort of the bed but, agree with others that the pump and the customer service are really really bad. I like joe's idea of fill and capping the tube, a plastic stopcock and bike pump should cost less than $200.

A
Nov 25, 2011 4:41 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I agree with all the complaints. I bought my sleep number bed about 5 years ago, two years later I wake up the next morning with debilitating headaches and still had to go to work in an auto plant. My remote haven't showed a number in 3 years Now after just 5 years of owning the bed, I'm sleeping on my couch wondering where I'm going to find the money to pay for an $800 mattress set. We should all get together and get a lawyer, and make a class action law suit against this "bed maker". Would-en it be nice if the Better Business Bureau had infomercials to warn the consumers about the faulty products that"s out there. I'm so agree reading about all these complaints, and how the company responds to their customers.

T
Jan 21, 2010 4:36 pm EST

WE Bought the king size adjustable head and spent around 9K. We thought the very best so we wont have to return it or buy a better bed. WRONG! This bed is absolutely the worst value for the money. The side supports sags the foam on top ripped, I feel like I need to be strapped down so I don't fall on the floor.
The customer support is world class ###. "I'm sorry but any foam components are not covered under our warranty! I said the bed mattress is covered except for the foam? The entire mattress is made of foam and air. I didn't ask if the air was on warranty.
TELL THE WORLD THAT A SLEEP NUMBER BED IS MADE BY SATAN AND YOU WILL END UP IN HELL IF YOU DON'T HEED THIS WARNING. LET US ALL REPENT OUR SINS OF BUYING THIS DAMN PRODUCT. AMEN

B
Sep 15, 2009 3:56 pm EDT

We bought a sleep number bed, 3000.00, and absolutely hate it. To return it was going to cost over 500.00 in shipping fees. They don't tell you these beds do not suit overweight adults. Biggest mistake of our lives was buying this bed. Customer service sucks too.

B
Sep 12, 2009 11:58 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

We agree with all that we have read above. We had a power surge which burnt up one little capacitor. We have asked them to give us the number of the capacitor so that we can replace it. The bed has been out of the one-year warranty for several years, but they will not give us the information we need. They told us they will not supply us with a new circuit board or a schematic. Here we are needing to replace a ten or maybe a fifty cent piece of equipment, but the company insists that we must buy a whole new pump for $450.00. Then they had the nerve to tell us that we could buy one on EBAY or Craig's List, if we wanted to save some money. I let them know that they gave no customer SERVICDE. They had the nerve to tell me that I shouldn't have opened the housing for the pump. They said that on the back of the case, it tells you that if the case is opened, it voids the warranty, and that the case should only be opened by authorized repairmen. The only problem is, the only authorized repairmen are at their factory. One of the customer service(?) people told me that, if I agreed to buy the pump, they would send me a new pump, then we should send back the old one, and they would repair it and resell it. How's that for making lots of money for a company that provides no service for their extremely expensive beds? We wouldn't buy another bed from them under any circumstances, and we will tell anybody we know to not to even think about buying one. Thanks for your information, and the opportunity to express our views about this lousy company.

T
Aug 21, 2009 5:56 pm EDT

This company has the worst customer service I have every seen. I will never send any money to SC ever. I am sorry to see that they can not take care of their customers nor products.

C
Aug 01, 2009 3:41 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

The beds are crap- over hyped and under supported. Tell everyone, put this on Facebook- Twitter it- get the word out. Folks that spend so much money on a bed normally won't admit the bed sucks so we have to make the difference ourselves. I like to go to the mall stores and make sure the folks working there are aware of how bad the bed ages. I have killed sales with my honesty.

P
Jun 16, 2009 7:15 pm EDT

Here's another one for select comfort. I hope they have one. 2000.00 dollar bed and they still will not come to terms they have a problem.
$157.50 is a lot of money to come up with.
I getting use to getting bent over. Sure wish they would buy their own k.y. jell. could always tell them to

" PINCH MY NIPPLES, I LIKE MY NIPPLES PINCHED WHILE I AM GETTING SCREWED"

"as quoted from JIM STAFFORD"
swelled up in missouri

J
May 26, 2009 3:31 pm EDT

I'm on my second pump that has started to leak...after going through the troubleshooting process, I was told that I was at the 64% warrant level; so much for the lifetime warranty. So for $198 I can get a new one sent to me. Why bother if you don't change your sleep number. Just pump it up and leave the white caps on. If the bladders are sound, it's not going to leak and I sleep just fine that way. I'm not going to spend a couple hundred bucks every couple of years

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

194 complaints
68 resolved 126 unresolved

Sleep Number contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
1001 Third Avenue South, Minnesota United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT