The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Select Comfort / Sleep Number Bedblack mold

A Review updated:

Thanks to SEVERAL other reviews on the Select Comfort Sleep Number beds that indicated the BLACK MOLD problem. After 13 months of terrible hives (and taking lots of medication) we discovered just this morning...BLACK MOLD everywhere on our sleep number bed. My hives only occurred at night...so now we know the cause. What a terrible waste of money! I'm very disappointed in this whole situation. Everyone who owns a Sleep Number bed should strip it down immediately and check for this dangerous situation.

Responses

  • Di
    Diana Chavez Jun 04, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've had my sleep number bed for over 10 years and loved it. My husband died 3 years ago from cancer and I am wondering if it's from the mattress. I am moving and was taking my bed apart and found so much mold in the air mattress and in the foam. What a shame that these people know what's happening. These beds are not cheap! If only they would correct the problem and make it right. I am also looking for class action. If anyone knows of the link can you please post it.
    Diana C.

    -1 Votes
  • Di
    Diana Chavez Jun 06, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Diana Chavez Update: I found a phone number and gave them a call. My queen size bed was purchased in 2001 from QVC. I talked to a really nice man who helped me. He said my bed was still under warranty, believe or not, so they are sending me the dual air mattresses and the foam and middle wall for FREE. I couldn't believe it! I thought they were going to give me the runaround. Just give them a call and maybe they can do the same for you.
    The number is [protected] Good luck!

    0 Votes
  • Bt
    btcruiser Nov 11, 2018

    I too have a bed purchased in 2001. The last few months I've been experiencing what I thought were some kind of bites. Been to Doctor after Doctor and had an exterminator come in to check for bed bugs, no evidence of anything!
    For the amount of "red spots" over my torso, back, arms and now legs, the exterminator said you would have "tons" of fecal matter if it were bed bugs. These spots are extremely itchy so I've tried several prescription meds, lotions, oatmeal baths, washing all my clothes in special detergent, vacuuming, etc. etc. to no avail. Nobody can figure this out. So I thought since this is happening while I'm in bed and wake up with more and more spots, (close to 100 this past weekend), I'm ordering an air mattress and taking apart my bed. I planned to sleep on the air mattress for a month and see what happens. Well, to my surprise when I opened my bed, BLACK MOLD! I had not heard about these problems prior to this and called the company immediately. They were very accommodating and are replacing my entire mattress, with the exception of the base. Now that I know this is most likely the source of my "spots" I will be contacting the necessary people about the class action suit.
    Of course they are going to replace it because they don't want any bad press, too late for that. Sad that like others have said, they should have issued a recall and not let all these people, including myself, suffer!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    pleinair5 Jan 11, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @btcruiser How do you find the people handing the class action? We have had health problems for many years, and then while remodeling our bedroom, we discovered the black mold on the foam and the air chambers when we opened the cover of the mattress. I was horrified and realized it is the likely cause of chronic sinus issues, headaches, and waking with hives for many years. When I google the class action I come up with a "the link can not be found" message. I do NOT want a replacement sleep number bed and never want to sleep in one again. I had tried in vain to find our original receipt but just got a promotion letter from Sleep Number telling me we've had our bed since 2002 and "wouldn't we like to purchase a new one"? I wondered why I had not been notified of the problem and clearly they have us on record, as I knew they did, and they know we bought out bed within the "problem window". Yet, they allowed us to continue sleeping in a mold infested bed and never notified us. I'd love to locate the class action.

    1 Votes
  • Bi
    biscotti Oct 08, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    All I can say is EVERYONE check between the egg crate and the air chambers for mold. We never thought, for 20 years to open the thing up until the sidewalls seemed to be getting squishy and needed replacing. I just thought to look under the egg crate...Oh my word, the mold...I appreciate that they are replacing the inside but how long was this here!!! And why didn't they let me know to check for this when they knew it was especially a pre 2005 issue. We haven't moved...

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Dianasturn Jun 28, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought 2 queen with adjustable frames in 2003 I also received the lawsuit noification to file a claim. I did not have a problem with either bed so I did not file one were these other owners not notified? Confused oh well thanks just asking.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    ReneJR Feb 15, 2018

    @Dianasturn I have moved in the last three years and did not receive that notice. I have SERIOUS issues that have caused material suffering to my child. Can you share that number???

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Dianasturn Feb 15, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @ReneJR I don't have the notice anymore but you can find it online through your state Attorney General's office.

    -1 Votes
  • Si
    Sigg Feb 24, 2017

    Very surprised to find horrible black mold inside my bed. We were never really happy with the whole air mattress and my wife tried sending it back within the thirty day trial period. Unfortunately the company talked her into trying different settings and eventually she would find her perfect setting. So after years of trying to find the perfect setting we contacted to the company again they convinced us we needed a overpriced foam topper which actually did help. but after a few years the foam topper began breaking down and once again neither one of us can get a good night sleep. So we decided to move the sleep number into the guest room and find a replacement. Upon taking it apart to move it we discover it's completely infested with mold inside. So now weve been sleeping on a different mattress and lo and behold we're both feeling more like ourselves again. no more feeling like I'm in a fog. So this mattress that is supposed to be so wonderful is actually harming us with mold and who knows what else. The worst most despicable aspect of the whole thing is that the company knew that this was a problem and did nothing.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Realtor Michaelle Jan 02, 2017

    We also just took our bed apart because one side was losing hair and created a large divot in a mattress so we were going to try and find out what the problem was. To our shock and dismay we were surprised that both sides had a lot of mold on the chamber and the gray pad above it. There's no way we would have known this was occurring because there's no use to take the bed apart unless you have a problem. We bought our mattress in the mid-to-late 90s and have always enjoyed the comfort of it but now I know we will not even contact sleep number because we do not want one of their beds again.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deborah Sack Dec 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Is there anybody out there that purchased there bed after 2005 and still have mold growth?? This is my case and I am getting NO help from the Company!

    2 Votes
  • Ro
    ron530jon Mar 12, 2018

    @Deborah Sack We purchased our bed in 2011. I just took it apart to move it to another room in the house and I found what looks like black mold to me... im not a professional but its black spots only on the inside and under the foam pad that lays on top of the air chamber. I have reported it and I sent pictures and was told it " in my professional opinion it is not mold. It appears to be some sort of stain, as the discoloration is in the foam, not above it. I would not worry about this unless you see degradation of the foam, or it spreads further and takes on a much different appearance." Easy for him to stay he isn't the one sleeping on it !!!

    1 Votes
  • Sy
    Synergyn Jun 26, 2016

    We got our bed in 1999. Replaced torn pad in 2000. Never moved it or looked inside until a couple of weeks ago. I have had terrible allergies over the years. Opened our bed when remodeling room and was shocked at all the black mold. Select comfort sent us a new bed, but could not explain why we were not notified they had a problem. They said they have not had any complaints on beds made after 2005. I do wonder if all my problems have been because of the mold.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael L. McGraw Jun 25, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Like many others, we did not know of the "Black Mold Issue" until one side of our bed was deflating and we took it apart to find the problem. To our surprise, the air chanbers and foam pad above it were covered heavily with black mold. We have had the bed for many years without need to take it apart. We too wonder if this has been the cause of our health issues, Getting ready to contact them at [protected].

    2 Votes
  • De
    Deborah Sack Dec 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Michael L. McGraw Please let me know how your experience with Customer Service is going, when did you purchase?

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frustrated2day Feb 21, 2016

    We just now opened our bed and found a ton of mold. Like many people on this sight, we have had many health issues over the past years. My husband has suffered from non-stop migraines and I have recently begun to have migraines. I am disgusted that they have not contacted customers to alert them of this problem. Of course, I tried to call today, Sunday, and they are not open. I chatted with a representative and was told they could not do anything and that I would need to call tomorrow to fix this issue. I REFUSE to pay for their mistake, especially since we have already paid out so much money in medical bills. Maybe I will spend my day at the mall alerting everyone who goes into the store not to bother!

    4 Votes
  • De
    Deborah Sack Dec 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @frustrated2day When did you purchase your bed?? They are saying that any bed purchased after 2005 DOES NOT grow mold??? I am having a terrible time with Customer Service, something has to be done, they have an ongoing mold issue and they refuse to notify their customers, its like a car recall, it can get serious! Please let me know, thanks!

    1 Votes
  • Ek
    E. Knapp Jul 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yep, all sounds too familiar! My husband had throat cancer and obviously immune deficient. He is now a recovering cancer survivor, thank the good Lord! But he gets sick ALL the time. He is asthmatic and and I keep an air purifier at his end of our split king, purchased 2 years ago. Crazy enough, this whole time I'm on immunotherapy trying to get a grip from cold medicine and feel better. Sleep medicine had been prescribed to us as well. We had tile floors put in, minimized window coverings and so on...I wondered what our bed looked like inside and unzipped it. Cripes, what a mess! I took pictures and bleached the heck out of the Air chambers.
    I have since been diagnosed with Primary Immune Deficiency (PID), requiring weekly plasma transfusions! So now both my husband and I are immmuno -defiecient.
    Sleep Number technicians will be here tomorrow to replace the Air chambers. I had to really push and hold the phone for hours to get them to take responsibility.
    I dare not stop cleaning and continue to search for answers to our failing health, respiratory problems. Life altering! A lawsuit has crossed my mind, but I'm too tired to raise more hell. It is so much work to be angry.

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    Boston1987 Jun 08, 2015

    Just found tons of black mold on my comfort air bed that me and my INFANT have been sleeping on since she was born a year ago. She has had many breathing problems and I have had unexplained rashes! I am disgusted that this company would put lives at stake...especially an innocent baby! You should be warning your customers about this issue rather than lying and selling more! Disgusting company and owner! Grow some balls n fix the issue asshols..

    Sincerely
    one angry mother

    5 Votes
  • He
    Helenklr Jun 04, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We purchased our sleep number bed in 2000. I had taken the pillow top off previously and noticed the mold under the foam before, I didn't think anything of it. Yesterday I called them to inquire about a replacement pillow top and foam and was provided a pro-rated quote for $903 not including shipping and handling. Before I hung up I also inquired about the best method to clean the Mold covering the foam, air chambers and pillow top...I was immediately transferred and provided with all new replacement parts for free. Parts include air chambers, foam sides and middle and mattress pillow top, because I advised all parts showed extreme signs of mold after 15 years). Yesterday I was satisfied to be receiving a new bed and for the last 24 hours I'm scared to be sleeping in this bed! We slept on it before I called the company without the pillow top for one night. The smell was awful and I told my husband I was afraid of the mold. We don't have anywhere else to sleep really except the torture chamber couch, so we are back in this bed until replacement parts arrive. This morning I was up at 4 am, worried about what mold spores have been released because of the disturbance of taking the mattress apart for replacement. Sleep number NEVER notified us of this issue and had all of our information on file, that is disturbing even though they are replacing the mattress and I'm grateful I don't have to purchase another they should have warned customers because mold is nothing to mess around with. I will be contemplating next steps and hopefully will be able to sleep over the next week without health concerns but the smell of the foam (mold? Bed?) lingers and I washed the mattress pad (not the select comfort one) sheets and comforter on the 2 hour sanitary cycle, each separately yesterday. Other than this big problem we have been very satisfied with this mattress. We even have one in our 2007 motor home and my parents have 3! I will be taking the top off the one in the motorhome as soon as I can! I tried to call my folks yesterday to tell them to check their mattress! I will try again today and will again, contemplate next steps as I am quite disturbed about the companies decision to not warn their customers about this problem. I have all the original paperwork and receipts for this bed

    5 Votes
  • La
    LalaHa Dec 22, 2014

    We purchased a Sleep Number bed in 2004 and have been somewhat satisfied with the function of the bed. Our problem was that it was so tall. We have a small dog who loves to jump down from the bed and I worried he would hurt his back if he continued doing this. We were told we could purchase "gliders", remove the legs and install the gliders. This would lower the bed 5-6 inches. I also ordered new foam as I felt the foam was "hardening". When we took the bed apart we noticed an area of black and dark pink mold under each mattress. It covered an area 2x3 ft!!! What a shock! The company offered to replace the whole split king bed and even sent someone out to set the bed up. The company reimbursed the price of the foam. The installers were very professional. I have no complaints about that part of the problem. THE PROBLEM is that we were not notified of any problems with the mold and they were aware of the problem! These beds should have been recalled years ago. I have suffered with chronic fatigue and pain that has gotten worse over the years. My doctors have run every test they can think of but have not come up with anything. Wait till I tell them about this. I've been in bed, ill, for the best part of the last two years. If mold has caused this I will be very upset!! More to follow as I research this!

    5 Votes
  • Mp
    Mparrish2 Oct 13, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Amazing and VERY unfortunate!! I have been a huge athlete all my life. I am a 52 year old woman who has for the most part had excellent health. I had a total knee replacement 3 years ago and started spending more time in bed. My health has continually declined the last couple years which means I spend even more time in bed. I have loved my sleep number bed until NOW! I have been to more Dr.'s and had more test than I can mention. I finally decided to change out my mattress to see if that would help. I posted my sleep number bed for sale on craigs list (and of course it was bought right away). I was inspecting mattress to make sure I was making a "good sale" to someone. SHOCKED, SHOCKED, SHOCKED!! I found black MOLD (and plenty of it) between the gray foam cover and the air chamber. Now I am wondering if this has been part of my problem all along. I did tell the gentleman wanting to purchase my mattress and did not sell to him. I am MAD, DISAPPOINTED AND AMAZED that such a company would not call buyers on record and let them know of this nightmare!! SHAME ON SELECT COMFORT!!! Not sure where to go from here?

    7 Votes
  • Su
    Sukari Pinnock May 20, 2014

    DO NOT BUY THIS BED! After 5 years, the foam in our king size sleep number bed developed a trench. We slept with this trench for another few years, and finally called to engage the warranty. When I called about this, I was charged over $200 for "replacement foam" which showed up smelling of mildew. Upon inspection of the old foam, we found patches of black mold. When I asked for replacement foam, I was told "it was impossible for the foam to have mildew, " and no, they would not exchange the shipment.

    This company is horrible to its customers and I would strongly suggest to anyone that they not purchase this bed.

    5 Votes
  • Pa
    Passalalpi Oct 09, 2013

    I have had a Sleep Number bed for 13 years and had no idea there was a mold problem. I found out because the foam seemed to be breaking down so I opened it to look at the foam and what a shock when I saw there was black mold under the foam pad and a lot of it. My husband has had unexplained health problems for two years and I have had some issues as well. I just discovered the mold yesterday so I am going to call Sleep Number tomorrow and see what they have to say.

    5 Votes
  • Wa
    Warner baby Jan 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've had my queen size 5000 series for over 7 years. I took the bed apart this weekend and found water on the top of the air chamber and black mold on the eggshell foam and beginning to see some black mold spots on the mattress pillowtop near where the zipper opens at the head of the bed. Called the local store and was told this was a known problem on beds older than 5 years. Supposedly came up with a solution to the problem. Filed a complaint on the Select Comfort website but waiting to get a response but if they don't, will call the 1-800 number noted above (thanks for info). Wasn't aware this was even an issue I should have been watching for. Sshould have been sent a notice on this issue especially for those of us that have allergy problems.

    2 Votes
  • Li
    Linda48 Dec 18, 2010

    We have had a Select Comfort Queen for 6 years - NEVER ONE PROBLEM! In fact, three months ago, we bought a King and moved the Queen to the guest room. The beds have been a saviour for me - I can sleep without back pain and awake with no soreness. My husband had neck surgery and it is the only bed he can sleep on without neck pain. There may be some isses, however, it would be nice to know how many mold issues there are out of the number they sale? I tell everyone to buy one!

    -1 Votes
  • 57
    57Panhead Sep 16, 2010

    The Sleep Comfort bed is a good investment for sleeping.
    We found mold on our (top) black waffle-pad, called Select Comfort and they sent us a NEW one w/mildewcide.
    All we have to do is send our old one back. They send you a UPS label, use the same box to return the funk-one.
    Here's the Customer Service number [protected]

    Problem solved. 5-stars for great engineering and mold remediation.

    -3 Votes
  • Sh
    shoemake10 Aug 08, 2010

    I also have a black mold issue that I have had for several years. I am happy to say I have bought another bed. I cleaned and cleaned the bed to get rid of the mold until i weakened the fabric. Select comfort would not replace the matress with the mold issue, when i explained the condition due and they asked if it was due to cleaning they would not assist. This is the worst mattress and purchasing mistake i have ever made. at a prixetag of $1901

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Casey at the bat Apr 08, 2010

    I purchased a king size sleep number bed 2 months ago. After 2 weeks I said I wanted my money back. They said they couldn't on that one because it was a closeout. On the front of the sale flier they boasted their 30 day free trial. BEWARE--not a consumer friendly company. Tell all you know to stay away from them. They falsely advertise. I also saw the amount over $2700 on my credit card. The price was advertised at $2449. When I called they said it was tax and delivery. THAT was NEVER mentioned. I requested a copy of paperwork--TWICE. I am still waiting. I wasn't given a copy of the delivery slip either--and the frame came in a destroyed box. They had to ship new pieces. Awful company--cheaply made bed--Everyone needs to file complaints. I have one in with th Attorney General's Office.

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.