Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Sears

Sears review: vinyl siding 6

D
Author of the review
2:25 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Several years ago I put siding on the top half of a two-family house I own. I used Sears - and paid the higher-than-market price - because a friend advised it would be worth getting a lifetime warranty from a company that would always be around. Skipping the minute details I will just say that the job was sub-par (confirmed by one of Sears' own repairmen), I later discovered that the "warranty" covers materials only and you obviously have to use them and pay their labor to get the materials, I've had to have someone come out to replace siding/trim pieces almost every year, and now today they've wanted to charge me labor and MATERIALS because they claim the problem all along has been that my roof needs work. (Funny that the roof wasn't a problem when they initially installed the siding and they had no answer for the trim replacements that were nowhere near the roof.) It has been one problem after another with this siding job and I highly recommend that you stay as far away from Sears Home Improvement as you can. They are indeed still around but they use bad sub-contractors and they don't keep their word.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More Sears reviews & complaints

Sears - customer service department 972
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Sears - Poor quality product! 158
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Sears - Terrible company! 187
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Sears - Dept of energy agreement does not compensate me properly 85
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Sears - it should be named the die easy battery 39
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Sears - buyer beware/contracts changed 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
6 comments
Add a comment
J
J
justmyself01
Anytown, US
Dec 23, 2010 2:08 am EST

That's messed up. What a horrible experience.

A
A
3753
Allison Park, US
Nov 15, 2011 2:44 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I agree with complaints that I have seen on this board regarding vinyl siding and the sub contractors Sears uses. I am very disappointed. They supposedly finished the work and left off my Gutters and for the past two days it has been pouring. I am hearing from all these people that are going to help and get to the bottom of it, blah blah blah. I have yet to hear when they are coming to finish the work. I will contact a lawyer if I have water problems to my foundation and/or mold, etc. issues. I am extremely upset about this. I went to Sear because of their name. I am sorry I did not come here first, I would have changed my mind. ALSO, I WAS planning on having my shingles replaced simply because they have that streaking in them, not because they are old. I WILL NOT GO TO SEARS again.

H
H
harbo
, US
Oct 18, 2015 4:55 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I wrote & posted a picture of lousy siding by Sears, not sure where it went

T
T
Terry Robersom
, US
Dec 08, 2016 3:48 pm EST

I completely agree with these post. Sears hires sub par contractors. They came out made a total mess in my yard left trash and nails all over the drive way, back yard and front yard picked up at least a truck load of trash after their so called clean up, and I am still picking up nails out of the yard. they parked a trailer in the middle of my drive way for over a week, left their saw horses and work tables all over the yard and under my car port blocking the entrance into my garage. on the siding it self they tried to take short cuts every time I felt like I had to be there to baby sit them to sorta get it done right. all the things they had to take down to put up the siding they didn't want to put back up they said it wasn't written in their orders to put back up the things they removed. (awnings over windows, the porch rails they removed) thankfully they put the electrical plugs and the porch lights back up. to worst part I had to pay to have this very sub par work. Over 20K I could have done it my self for around 3K with same type of siding from Lowes. Next time I will Sears has lost a customer in me.

L
L
Louis Alexander
, US
Oct 14, 2017 2:39 pm EDT

I too purchased siding from Sears and like you had problems which still haven't been taken care of and it's been two years! I've called the local and regional office and both times they assured me the deficiencies would be corrected and nothing! All I've gotten was telephone calls advising me to deal with the contractors which "They" had contracted to do the work. The contractors damaged my home causing hundreds of dollars to repair and Sears only blames the other guy. Let's face it shall we, you purchase the siding and "Professional" installation through Sears which makes Sears 100% accountable. When you purchase the siding, Sears uses their finance center to get the money first, afterwards if the job is in complete or your home is damaged you're on your own, nothing but run around. Both the local and regional office passes you off to each other, what a nightmare! My advice to anyone seeking to have Sears installation - Don't!

C
C
Cindy17
, US
Mar 27, 2018 1:11 pm EDT

Hi I recently purchased siding through sears home improvement Ed Kay our salesman what a joke used the fact my husband was a veteran us Navy was in Panama and Ed claimed he was in Panama at the same time different location . well that had my husband sign electronically right away February 23rd 2018 its now March 27 2018 the job is not complete we have had Roberta constantly on the line trying to help I have been patient my new puppy Boston terrier almost choked trying to eat the nails and vinyl siding pisces cause they never cleaned up they dumped alot of trash under my house deck they left the j channels as I understand you can cut your hands the siding is terrible I have emailed the head boss Joe Altieri who has not responded to any of my emails what so ever so terrible yet the say they will compensate me I have videos picture anymore they did this mess and yet I have fight some HELP US!

  1. Sears Contacts

  2. Sears phone numbers
    +1 (847) 286-2500
    +1 (847) 286-2500
    Click up if you have successfully reached Sears by calling +1 (847) 286-2500 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have successfully reached Sears by calling +1 (847) 286-2500 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Sears by calling +1 (847) 286-2500 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Sears by calling +1 (847) 286-2500 phone number
    +1 (800) 665-2127
    +1 (800) 665-2127
    Click up if you have successfully reached Sears by calling +1 (800) 665-2127 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Sears by calling +1 (800) 665-2127 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Sears by calling +1 (800) 665-2127 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Sears by calling +1 (800) 665-2127 phone number
    Sears Home Services
    +1 (866) 850-0518
    +1 (866) 850-0518
    Click up if you have successfully reached Sears by calling +1 (866) 850-0518 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Sears by calling +1 (866) 850-0518 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Sears by calling +1 (866) 850-0518 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Sears by calling +1 (866) 850-0518 phone number
    New Orders
    +1 (877) 550-9254
    +1 (877) 550-9254
    Click up if you have successfully reached Sears by calling +1 (877) 550-9254 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Sears by calling +1 (877) 550-9254 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Sears by calling +1 (877) 550-9254 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Sears by calling +1 (877) 550-9254 phone number
    Existing Orders
    More phone numbers
  3. Sears emails
  4. Sears address
    3333 Beverly Road, Hoffman Estates, Illinois, 60179, United States
  5. Sears social media
  6. Rachel
    Checked and verified by Rachel This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 14, 2024
Sears Category
Sears is ranked 15 among 65 companies in the Department Stores category
Trending companies