Sam's Clubunfair employee termination

1
A Review updated:

My son was terminated yesterday from Sam's Club in Franklin, TN. He was out for 2 evening shifts last week to be the best man in his only sibling's wedding. He found someone to take his shifts and received approval from a manager. That sub showed up for both shifts. When my son returned to work, the approving manager had left the store and returned to Sam's club in Nevada and they fired my son for 2 no call, no show shifts. They stated that he received approval from the wrong manager. Don't you think that manager would have told him that??? Guess not. The store manager has refused to see him or speak to him to explain what happened and he did not get a verbal or written warning. No second chance here. He had been an employee for almost 18 months, 3 excellent reviews and wage increases. I don't understand and we are very confused. You would think Walmart and Sam's would want to keep good and dependable employees. I will never shop with them again - no matter how much lower their prices may be.
Sad Mom in Spring Hill, TN

Responses

  • Ch
    charlie brown Mar 09, 2010

    Why didn't he request off in advance for that day(s)? Surely, there was some advance notice as to their up-coming marriage.

    You need more than a simple verbal approval from a manager. He should have called in, anyway.

    Wal mart and Sam's club are notorious for abrupt firings and dismissals. He should have gotten on "the Wire" and formally requested off for those dates far in advance.

    -1 Votes
  • Af
    afcalt Mar 10, 2010

    He did request in advance. On January 9th, 6 weeks before the schedule for those days was posted. Using the Wire, no less. Not only did he not get the days after they were promised, there was no record that he requested it.

    Even after checking it religiously for the three weeks following where it was still pending manager approval.

    And one day, after the schedules for the week in question were posted - *poof* it vanishes.

    He wasn't the first associate to have that problem. And given the alarming frequency of its fruition, I seriously doubt he'll be the last.

    That entire club is fearful for their jobs, and incidents like this only lower morale and increase resentment towards Wal-Mart and its management.

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    Greiner2009 Jul 06, 2010

    I myself had a similar issue but mine was different to the point that I was at work having a great day and one manager got a bug up her but because she was in line in a rush. In turn she yelled at me in front of members of the club and she assumed I was upset due to garbage can lid hitting the top of the garbage can so I got fired because of a garbage can. Not even given a chance to explain my side of the story.

    1 Votes
  • Ki
    kiernan Mar 09, 2012

    I would contact the hr department over this issue. Make them look into it and see about getting it overturn. use terms as life altering events. hostile environment. Shake them up a bit.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marisol Delgado Sep 29, 2012

    My Son Alexander Delgado was working for Sam's Clubs in Allentown PA...My son worked for a year and half as a part timer...He also requested to work full time and never was consider but he would work all the time when they needed him...Then he became a father and still was working...One day they called him to come in to work on his day off and he could not because there was no babysitter for the baby...Then return to work after his days off and his supervisor approach him and told him that he was fired, to let him go because corporate said so...No explanation...Now, that was no excuse and made no sense at all...Now my son with a new baby and a new home, now unemployed...I'm very angry and shame on you Sam's Club...My sons better receive his unemployment or else it war with them because will not let them get away...My son worked very hard ...Alexander Delgado don't deserve this...

    -1 Votes
  • Gi
    giasroom May 09, 2013

    I stopped shopping at Walmart and Sams long ago and so have many from my large family. They continue to loose business because of the way they treat employees. I refuse to renew my membership, even though they keep sending me requests, and I now shop at Costco.

    2 Votes
  • Gi
    giasroom May 09, 2013

    Greiner 2009 I am sorry you had to deal with this type of person. I tell everyone if they see an employee yelling at another employee in front of customers, especially management, complain to corporate. They listen to customers and they do not like this sort of thing in any business.

    1 Votes
  • Cl
    classactionlawsuittoday May 09, 2013

    Wal-Mart don't need a reason to fire you. Most of the employees are uneducated or never went to school that work for Wal-Mart.

    -4 Votes
  • Pi
    pitviper2713 Aug 04, 2019

    @classactionlawsuittoday Must be speaking about yourself.

    3 Votes
  • Mm
    mmherr Dec 04, 2013

    I'm really sorry that happened to you guys. I work for Sam's Club, and honestly it really must depend on the individual store because I've never worked anywhere better. The managers are great people and when I make a mistake they don't just tell me I'm wrong, they help me fix it and work with me to make sure I come back from it. I love it there. If I were you I would go in, or go online or something and find out who's above the manager in terms of power and go to them, and if that doesn't work just keep going up and up until someone will help you, because they do have policies and it doesn't sound like they followed their own policies when they fired him.
    If all else fails, go to your local paper and news teams and offer them the story, a lot of people end up getting compensation when their story goes viral.
    I would also suggest he look into other clubs and try to talk to their managers about working in a different location, you'd have to make sure he spoke to them though and explained what happened, because usually the fact that he was fired would automatically negate him for hire, even though it was wrong.
    I hope it works out!

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blame the parents here Dec 04, 2013

    Yeah yeah yeah, that is what you all say. My child is the best employee here, he did nothing wrong. Remember you are only hearing one side of the story here.

    2 Votes
  • Sa
    Samsclub Mar 26, 2014

    I just got coach. Hahaha my manager told me that I'm always absent and he need to do about it. But I told him I'm sick and sometime it snow, I can't even go out cause of the snow. So I get verbal coach. Now I got another coach cause I volunteer for MS and play dodgeball. I talk to my manager club and told him I'm closing so no one is closing on my dept. then he approve me by not working. So after playing I got headache. So I went home and rest. So will I'm resting my manager called me and make me work for 1hr and 50mins then he written coach me. I told him that I told to my GM about it so why now I'm getting coach. He said there's no excuse for that. But he did not coach the other associate work me me. She also did not work that time.

    -3 Votes
  • Sa
    Samsclub Mar 26, 2014

    There's a managers and supervisor who are nice and there's a b**** and ###. Depends on who they are.. Sometime they take advantage on there position. If they don't like u, u better start looking for a new job. If they like u they want u to kiss there ###. Hahaha SAMs club management is not good. They don't even know how to appreciates there associates. They know how to talk but they don't know how to work.

    4 Votes
  • No
    nothappeninginhawaii Mar 27, 2014

    loved being a cashking at sam club from day one and after 5 months i Got promoted to membership desk and was making less thEn cashiering and also since i started working there i only had one coaching for my attendance and then never got any more coachings until i was told im on d day and finally was informed that even clocking out 15 Minutes to early when im closing and done doing everything iTs considered a tardy and i feel like thesupervisor didnt do tHeir job right with coachings.if i knew i was that close to d day I would of known.plus do I still get My bonus?

    1 Votes
  • Bl
    blame the parents here Apr 11, 2014

    Samsclub I can understand your calling in sick, (unless you do it often) but you choose to volunteer for MS when you were working.

    -1 Votes
  • Pe
    PeopleAREofNOvalue2SAMs Mar 13, 2017

    BEWARE OF SAM"S CLUB!!! My 18 year old, full-time college student daughter was hired by Sam's Club. After two weeks of training-by-video, and one week working with a cashier, she was given the resposibility of a register. Given rave reviews from supervisor and customers alike. Received her work schedule which worked around her academics, worked ONE WEEK and then received an EMAIL - "you are not a good fit for our company." She was sobbing and quite broken. How cowardly of you SAM'S CLUB!!! It seems people hold NO TRUE VALUE. - toss one; hire another. No closure. Had no idea what she had done to be terminated, let alone terminated via an impersonalemail, and did not know how to fix it, if it could be fixed.

    1 Votes
  • An
    annabel36 Jan 20, 2019

    I worked for Sam's Club for 5yrs. I received my first written ever 2yrs ago when a former co-worker started yelling at me and calling me a snake saying I was going around telling everyone she was leaving. Needless to say I tried to diffuse the situation and in turn raised my voice as I was walking away from her. Than in November I recieved another write up for calling out for 2 days due to taking my daughter to the emergency room when she was in labor and then my grandfather passed away I used 3 days of bereavement and called in 2 days due to driving out of state for the funeral. I was given a 3rd write up on December 10th and asked manager so that means I'm out the door, she stated no it was a new system and that I couldn't get another one for a year
    I went back to working my tail off even working overtime to help due to the holidays. This past week I had a member call and start yelling at me over his glasses not being in, I looked into it and told him his fre was on backorder with our lab and due to the holidays a lot of our orders had been delayed. He kept yelling and telling me he wanted his glasses and not my excuses. I apologized to him and said I would call the lab personally and ask them to ship his lenses and I would get the frame from another store. He was still upset and didn't want to listen so I apologized again and told him I would have the optical manager give him a call in the morning. He still kept raising his voice so I told him again I will have my manager call you in the morning and said thank you good bye. I ended the conversation and hurried to print off all his info so I could call my manager and explain the situation. In the meantime the member called back and complained said I was rude to him and hung up. Previously when situations like this arose if we felt uncomfortable or threatened we were told by our manager we can remove ourselves from the situation. Needless to say I was called into the office the other day and told I was terminated.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeanette Emanuel Nov 06, 2019

    I was terminated after 12 1/2 yrs of employment @ Sams Club #6341. I worked the overnight shift the entire time of my I employment with them. Was told termination was because of not finishing a CBL on time. I had a valid reason for that but management did not want to hear it. I am asking that someone please contact me regarding this issue as I really want to continue my employment with them. With co-workers calling out and being understaffed at the time I really needed to be on the floor doing my job instead of doing a CBL because management was very concerned about employees not going over hours. I can be reached anytime at 954-908-9219. thank you in advance. Jeanette Emanuel

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem