The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Sam's Clubdo not purchase jewelry there

Z Review updated:

I purchased a wedding band at Sam's Club 3 years ago and a diamond fell out. Their solution is for me to take it to a jeweler for repair. This conflicts with there online posted policies for returns. The customer service employees were rude, the store manger was rude, and their 800 number was rude and did not offer help. I have been a customer there since 2004 and spend thousands every year. But I have canceled my membership and will no longer purchase memberships as gifts as well. To sum it up, Sam's club lost $100k + (over a lifetime of purchases) by not following there own return policy.

Responses

  • No
    noneofyerbusiness Feb 09, 2010

    You can't return an item purchased 3 YEARS ago! Merchandise does not last forever. Sam's sells jewelry, they do not work on it! Just my opinion! Should have purchased the extended warranty perhaps?

    3 Votes
  • Ly
    LYNDA MULLLINAX Sep 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    DO NOT PURCHASE JEWELRY IN SAMS CLUB THEY LIE ABOUT THEIR POLLICY OF RETURNING AND UPGRADING YOUR JEWELRLY, WHEN YOU TRY TO RETURN JEWELRLY THEY SAY NO. WHICH IS NOT WHAT WAS TOLD TO ME WHEN I PURCHASED A 1500.00 RING . NEVER AGAIN WILL I PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM PEOPLE THAT LIE. L.M.

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    LYNDA MULLLINAX Sep 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sams does nothing but lie to customers about their return pollicy.on jewelry. I am not happy with them I shoped for jewelry because of their policy to upgrade but when I returned to upgrade they told me I could not will not shop at sams ever again. they only care about themselvs and not the little people

    -1 Votes
  • La
    L. Allin Nov 21, 2013

    I had the same experience, I purchased a ring and a stone fell out -- $2200 ring. They would not return it and pretty much stuck to that is our return policy. I have been a member for 16 years and have purchased many, many items there... not sure if I will be renewing.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    barbara2015 Nov 08, 2015

    How can any one possibly hold sams club responsible for a loss stone in a diamond ring after wearing it for 3 years? It was obviously not defective when you purchased it. The owner of the ring is responsible for checking their ring to see if they broke a prong or their stone is loose before it disappears. However accidents do happen. That is why we have rider policies on our home or renters insurance policies. That is why Sams club offers extended warranties on jewelry. What store would take it back ?

    4 Votes
  • St
    Stinger72 Jul 28, 2019

    @barbara2015 First of all read their policy, it clearly states they will give you your money back with a receipt or store credit. They need to honor that period!!

    -2 Votes
  • Ni
    Nina Perez Dec 04, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My boyfriend purchased a 1, 200 dollar diamond ring and one of the stones fell off . I've only had it for 8 months tried to return it and the employees where rude and basically told me I couldn't return it because of the 90 day policy which I did not see on there return policy . 100% satisfaction guarantee my a$$. Never again will we purchase anything from this getto a$$ store ! We also canceled our membership .Costco is way better never had a problem with their jewelry and great customer service.

    -3 Votes
  • Ka
    Kathleen MC May 24, 2018

    I just had one of the stones fall out of a diamond cluster on band wedding ring purchased at Sams. This is a ring that I do not always wear especially when doing chores etc. So what you are saying is it is a waist of time to try to resolve the problem at Sams Club.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Jo Major Sep 28, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Kathleen MC I bought an eternity band at Sam’s for my 25th wedding anniversary. Had it for over 10 years. 2 times a stone got chipped. Sam’s sent it in for repair both times. Then, it happened a 3rd time. I brought the ring back for repair. They sent it in for repair, but this time it was sent back un-repaired saying it was not their ring. Well, I had my receipt and their printed policy from the internet stating satisfaction guaranteed with either repair or replace. Since they couldn’t do either, I asked for a refund. They gave me a full refund on the spot. This was the Joliet, Illinois store.

    2 Votes
  • Ro
    Robin Townsend Dec 29, 2018

    My husband bought a bridal ring for Christmas back in November and was promised would be here prior to Christmas. Well we have not received it yet. When we called to inquire we were told it had been ordered. It has been paid for and we would certainly expect to have received it as promised. But run around when contacting them and different stories. Not impressed with management nor customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    cooolbill Apr 10, 2020

    I purchased as diamond ring for my fiance from Sam's and she did not like the style, A few days later we returned it (with receipt) and they issued a full (no questions asked) refund before we even had a chance to look at the other rings. This made for a very no-pressure experience. We saw a more expensive one that she likes and will return today or tomorrow to buy it. Great experience.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.