The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Ryanaircomplaints department

S

I have flown with ryaair twice this year but will NEVER fly ith them again following the problems with both flights. In February 2009 i flew to Malta and there was a delay by 37 hours! We were told our flight was delayed and would not be flying so to come back in the morning. there was nobody from ryan air to speak to and we were left stranded at the airport. Malta is a small airport that closes at night so we had no choice but to book into a hotel for the night. the following morning we arrived at the airport for 8am as advised and waiting all day for our flight. at around 5pm we were given a 5 euro voucher for refreshments. this was not even enough to buy a sandwich and a drink. By 11pm we were told to go home again so checked nto another hotel for the night. finally the flight left the following morning and we were told we could claim back expenses on hotels and taxis.
Stupidly i decided that it was just bad luck and flew with ryan air again last week. whilst trying to check in online there was a problem with the website and it only printed the webaddress but not a boarding card BUT i did have a piece of paper that i printed out that said we were checked in for all flights. When we arrived at the airport we were ordered to pay £40 each for a boarding card.
I cant understand why i should pay out for a problem with their website.

I have complained on both occassions but have not even recieved a reply. I am disgusted with Ryanairs customer service and have ended up paying more for both flights than with a more expensive airline. From now on i will not use ryanair as they not low cost and do not get you to your destination promptly!

Responses

  • Dr
    drmarc Nov 30, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They act like that because they know that people normally do not follow all the route in order to satisfy their legitimate complaints. Tghis is already a despicable way of trading, in short, it's trading in bad faith. I can't envisage a reason why they are still allowed to operate. I believe the best course of action is to boicott them from the consumer's side. If we were prepared to even pay a little bit more or to go on a longer trip with changes they would soon see their sales drop and would quickly face bankrupcy, which is what they deserve.
    I am in a dispute with then now. I had already a bad experience previously but did not follow up.
    This time I am complaining and demanding compensation. if they ignore it the next step is the citizen advice; then the arbitration or the courts.
    and of course trip advisor. we ought to be united in driving this bunch on swindlers out of business. When you complain remeber to keep all the evidence you can (statements, calls, receipts, forms, etc) the more you can substantiate your claim the better.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Ann Wenham May 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    What a sad experience i had flying with this company.
    my friends had decided to treat me to a week in malta for my 60th birthday, and to also give my carer a week rest, i was so excited and happy as when you are disabled such treats are rare. we arrived at lba in plenty of time and thought everything would go smoothly until i was placed in a wheelchair and zoomed off through customs where i had to show all documentation and meds, all fine as it should be, full checks made well done to airport security.
    next thing i am whisked to a gate with several more needy people and their carers, (mine were not allowed to accompany me?) pushed to a van and most people were placed on the platform, because i can stand i was told to walk on to it, i had a case with me that i had to struggle with until someone finally helped me. then all i had to hold on to was a piece of chain as the platform rose i do not know how i kept my balance, by this time i was starting to feel anxious. we finally got to the doorway to the plane and led to our seats, only to find my friend had make a mistake and not got us seating together going but had on return. i was placed against the window with 2 strangers. my friends were 10 and 30 rows away. we asked if it would be possible to get 2 seats together as i needed assistance during the flight with getting my case down for meds inco pants etc. at this point i was surrounded by staff that took my bag down opened it took out my medicines all brand new unopened in packages along with my repeat prescriptions, doctors letters and all my medical histories (plus inco pads) they took my boarding pass and waving it all for all to see went marching down to pilots cabin first of all shouting who is the carer of ann wenham over and over, but then ignored them when they asked what the problem was, everyone was staring at me some kneeling on chairs to get a better look. the staff came back a little later and apologised to the other passengers for delay and gave me my boarding pass back, 5 minutes passed and they came back and for a second time took away my boarding pass and meds paper work etc marching down to cockpit, 20mins later they returned to ask in a very loud voice does madam shoot up? PARDON i said, so he changed to do you inject this substance. the bottles that i had in 100mls instead of my usual 300ml clearly stated oramorph.
    by now everyone thinks i am a raging incontinent druggy and goodness knows what else. i have never felt so humiliated in all my life. eventually they decided i was not a six stone terrorist and the plane set off. no attempt was made to sit me with a carer instead i was beside a couple who looked very worried all through the flight. i could not get to my bag as it was in the hanger nor could i get to the toilet as i would have needed assistance and the queue was huge due to only one toilet in operation, at this point i was wishing i had forgotten my incontinence pads.
    when we arrived same thing hold on to the chain, but by this point of sitting still my legs just would not work, so i suppose you could add drunk to that list aswell. not that i had one drink of anything not even water on the trip nor any meds and was crying in agony. i spent the first 3 days of my holiday in too much pain to enjoy anything, then the last 4 worrying about coming home, i threw all meds away prior to getting back on plane so spent a very painful but at least i was with my friends to help me to the toilet. this will be my most memorable holiday for all the wrong reasons.
    this will be going on facebook, to the press and anywhere else i can think of unless i get a satisfactory reply.
    you can not get in touch with customers care, not one of the phone numbers worked or were unanswered. disgusting

    0 Votes
  • Ev
    eveline jones Feb 12, 2016

    Yes all these complaints i believe they are disgracefull and should not be allowed to fly --i am disabled and gave all my details to --on the beach holidays -as i had booked through them- as i cannot walk i as always --never flown with ryanair honestly did not know it was a cheap airline as booked through --on the beach!!! ----so when i got to manchester airport there was no lift to get me onto the plane one of ryanairs staff had me around the tarmactelling me i was going on another flight --thank goodness my faculties are okay--i told him i know my fight is the one you have just taken me away from!! so back again to my flight --they had no lift to get me on to the flight 3 men had to almost drag me up the steps on to the plane as i was told if you dont get on iyt it is going without you!!! i had family awaiting me for special occassion ---so i had no choice --i ended up bruised under my arms were the men had helped me ---not blaming them --i injured my foot i stayed in my bed for the 5 days i was in spain --i rang the person out there he said i cannnot help you while your in spain you have to report it when you get back ?? got back wrotre to head office in dublin -no reply- enmailed them a few times thbhe "actually " sent a ref number so iu thought thingds would mpove??? every phone number you see is not working ---this airline is disgusting and the aviation authorities should take them out the sky --i came baxck on monarch ---thank god people on thbere brilliant xxx even pushes me along the aircraft on small wheelchair then directly on to my mode of transport --how do i sue ryannair ffor diability discrimination and not treating me as they should no lift to board there discusting flight

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bea johnston Dec 15, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I feel betrayed by ryan air.they advertise cheap flights and they add things I don't want

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bea johnston Dec 15, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just wanted to book a flight to Germany which was 44 euros plus 22 euros for my luggage.when I wanted to pay with my credit card the price went up to 103 euros.Why?????

    0 Votes
  • Be
    begocm91 Jan 05, 2014

    two weeks ago I booked a fly with ryanair and I have not received my confirmation or my booking number yet, but they have charged me for that fly and others that I did not book, I tried to reply but no answer at all, I have 80 pounds less in my account and nobody takes responsibilities about that.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katylillyx Oct 11, 2013

    Yesterday was the first and last time that I will ever fly with Ryanair, how they can call themselves a budget airline, is beyond me.
    They rob you blind! I had to pay 60€ when I got to the gate! because they made my bag too big due to being told that I had to put the things that I had bought from duty free in my bag, rather than just being able to just carry it on separate, like you can with most airlines. They wouldn't let me pay on my card, which caused further embarrassment, having to ask a friend to lend me the money. This totally ruined the end of my holiday.. Thanks very much Ryanair!

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Francois Jobard Nov 08, 2012

    I AM 1 AGREE 100% WITH THIS PEOPLE IS HAPPEN TO ME AND M FAMILY.
    STILL DONT KNOW WHY WACHDOG DONT DO ANY THING ABOUT IT AND ALSO THE BRITISH GOUVERNEMT THIS MAYBE IS A REASON ? MONEY/MONEY?
    RYANAIR DONT HAVE SERVICE, THERE SYSTEM NEVER UP TO DAY, ALWAYS A PROBLEM WITH THERE WEBSIDE, AND NEVER GIVE YOU A ANWSER TO YOUR QUESTION OR COMPLAINTS.
    THIS COMPAGNY IS A WORSE AIRLINE IN EUROP.
    PLEASE BEFORE BOOKING CHECK OTHER AIRLINE AND IS CHEAPER.
    MR FS. JR

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Harl2012 Jun 29, 2012

    We booked a holiday to Malta via Lowcost holidays.

    1) We got to Birmingham airport early as evidenced by my car park ticket attached but was refused check-in by the Ryan Customer Service operative, considering that she did check-in other white passengers and she was visibly rude to us.

    2)The Ryan Air Operative delayed us until around 5:36am when she asked us to take the check-in luggage on-board the flight and pay an extra charge which I found unacceptable considering that we have already paid for it when we booked the holiday on-line.

    3) How did Ryan Air expect us to carry 2 kids & 4 suite cases from the ground floor to a flight that was scheduled to be leaving at 6:05AM with no help from any of the airport staff?

    4) We scrambled through the immigration check point to the waiting aircraft, only to be told that we couldn't board because we are late but this is absolutely crazy considering that Ryan Air caused our lateness as we arrived at the airport on time.

    5) We were asked to go to the Ryan Air Customer Service desk where we were asked to pay another £300 and then board from Luton airport.

    6) Whilst we were at the customer desk, an airport operate (a white male) who had nothing to do with the issue but unaware to us followed us to the Ryan Air desk and told the customer service operative to say that they put a call through for us to come and board the flight but we didn't turn up. I and my wife were shell shocked and very disappointed with what we saw & experienced (i.e. the lies etc)

    6) So it cost us approximately £54 by national express to travel to Luton and £76 to lodge in a hotel for the night to board a flight the next day.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    margaret carmody Feb 17, 2011

    today thursday 17th feb 2011 we were booked on a flight at 6.30am to fly from stansted to dublin with my partner whose disabled.i checked for the types of id needed to fly.these were confirmed for me by 5 different staff members.when we went to check in we were told that we could not board the flight.when asked why we could not board we were told that the id was no good when being told that id had the id confirmed by 5 different members of staff i was told i was a liar.the reason for us going home was to attend our granddaughters christening.shes not well and has died twice so after everything we never got to go home and also lost 223pounds on flights.we were told that we would get no money back.i foolishly used ryanair today even after being charged twice for a flight in sept last year for which i never recieved the overpayment back or an apology or explanation!!!its an irishman who owns ryanair well i can tell you im ashamed to be irish knowing theres people like him making money out f peoples misery i will NEVER EVER use ryanair again its owned by a cowboy but what ges around comes around!!!

    0 Votes
  • Gg
    G GRIFFITHS Jun 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    why is ryanair still operating as i have just discovered that it is cheeper to flybe.com from manchester to milan is cheeper and i get to have 20kgs for £9.99 plus 10kgd of hand luggage how is this so well its simple ryan air is a rip off for europe during the months of June July and August try someone else not rayanair

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.