Rent A Centerbed bugs

1

Rent A Center customers beware. I bought a couch from that was cash and carry. I had company that slept on it and awoke with several bites on them, When we flipped it we saw that there were bed bugs on the underside. We called them and they picked up the furniture but they will not reimburse us any additional costs. So don't go there unless you want to bring home some blood sucking friends.

Responses

  • Ra
    RAC Gal Mar 05, 2010

    AnnMarie – I work at RAC and I’m sorry to hear about what happened. Your post doesn’t sound like how we’d normally handle something like this. Did you call our corporate customer support at 800-422-8184 to escalate the issue? If a customer thinks bedbugs might have come from a rented item, our procedure would be to pick up the item and schedule an outside service (like Orkin or Terminix) to come to their house and give an unbiased determination as to whether the bugs likely came from the rented merchandise. If so, then we would cover the cost of extermination. And on a cash and carry item like that, if the store picked the item back up, they would give you a refund on the couch.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    renttoownisascam Mar 09, 2010

    this dumb ### gave you the wrong phone number

    its 800-422-8186 and I doubt they will do anything for you judging by the posts by people who have tried calling them before.

    0 Votes
  • screwRAC Jul 22, 2010

    We recieved mattresses from RAC in March. We were assured that the mattresses were brand new. It even states that in our contract. In June my husband started getting mysterious bites on his body.(arms legs back) Since we didnt know what it was we simply put some anti-itching cream on it. as July came along his bites had gotten considerably worse. They were so bad that they were distracting him at his job so he had to take a day off to go to our family practitioner. At one in the morning we were going to go to bed in our room. When we went inside there was two bugs crawling over the RAC bed. When he killed it blood squirted out staining our walls and floor. We flipped the mattress over and they were there just crawling waiting to feast on our blood. We paniced so we went to wake up our children to see if they to, were infested. In my daughter's room we flipped over her mattress which was the only one not from RAC and found it spotless. Relieved we went into my son's room hoping for the same result. We flipped over his mattress which was from RAC and sure enough there were bed bugs leaving their waste all over it. The next day my son and husband had to leave very early but got little sleep. My daughter and I decided to call RAC and demand that these mattresses were to be tooken away immediatly. When my husband got home from work we had found 3 more live bed bugs scuttling across our bedroom floor. My husband killed them and we brought it as a type of evidence to the RAC. When they saw us they told us that they were still waiting on the manufacturer. I asked them what to do with the mattresses? They replied to throw them away but keep the tags. I then asked for a copy of the contract we had signed and had my daughter read it over carefully. We discovered that if we moved the mattresses ourselves out of the apartment it would be a breach in our contract. So, of course we called back and tey told us that they were not aware of this and they would send someone to collect the infested mattresses. They never followed through on that promise so we called again today. The manager of the store said they would collect them for sure. It is currently 2:00 pm and no one has called us back. When I called back to ask if my money would be returned the manager said no it wouldnt with a rude attitude. I am now talking to lawyers and the health places. RAC is not to be trusted and they are going to be VERY sorry they tried to fck me over.

    0 Votes
  • screwRAC Jul 22, 2010

    well the thing is, when they feast on ur blood they get bigger and bigger until they can shed their skin which creates the dark spots. Then they start all over. We are STILL infested with them and the mattresses are still here. Its only a matter of time before they infest my daughter's bed which we had for a lonngggg time. but RAC doesnt care and we cant afford our own exterminator. we dont know wat to do to be honest.

    0 Votes
  • screwRAC Jul 22, 2010

    i agree with all of u. and they assured us in the contract that the mattresses were brand new. we had no idea that they would have bed bugs becuz this was our first time dealing with RAC. and my friend had bed bugs and she said that bug bombs dont work since they can hide in the walls and just come back out when the smoke is cleared. she said the only way to kill them for good is to hire an exterminator and we just dont have that kind of money...we are going to bag the mattresses though, theres no doubt in that.

    0 Votes
  • screwRAC Jul 22, 2010

    ya they would make us pay the mattresses in full which is ridiculous.

    0 Votes
  • screwRAC Jul 22, 2010

    lol nice tongue twister. i dont want mattresses from them anymore. they offered to switch them but then i would have to pay for the switched ones to. so wats the point?

    0 Votes
  • screwRAC Jul 22, 2010

    im looking at both and trying to get the number of the health department.

    0 Votes
  • screwRAC Jul 22, 2010

    k i'll do that. :) i appreciate ur guys' input and advice. thx

    0 Votes
  • screwRAC Jul 22, 2010

    lol i probably did. problem was i bought two mattresses so i got double the infestation. grrrr

    0 Votes
  • screwRAC Jul 22, 2010

    now my computer isnt showin comments even though it says i have some new ones. dammit

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amberglass Aug 12, 2010

    Go to bedbugger. com for more info on how to kill these monsters.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deeclo Aug 12, 2010

    Rented in March, bites began in June?
    You are too nice. I would leave the mattresses leaning against their doors with a sign, "Returning your RAC Bed Bugs"

    0 Votes
  • Tammy Weyler Aug 12, 2010

    What I would do is go into the RAC that you rented the matress from when they are extreemly busy and speak to the customer service desk (loud enough for the other customers to hear) and ask them what they plan on doing for the bedbug infestation that they are aware of, ask them if this is normal practice to sell used mattress to customers as new, ask them what steps did they take in their own store after they were notified of the infestation of the 2 mattresses that you got from them.

    Make it clear to them that you in no way intend on leaving this alone. Tell them this is not ok and their customers have the right to know that they are renting infested furnature. Tell them you know that the bed bugs will travel and get into the cracks and crevasses of any other furnature in their store.

    You also can set up camp on the sidewalk outside their store (the side walk is not their property) with signs and posters about the bed bug situation. Call the news station so they can be there also to film this. If they want to screw you over then turn around is fair play. Screw them get mad and even.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dan in cols Oct 14, 2010

    I am in the EXACT SAME BOAT here in Columbus, Ohio. Got a sectional sofa for a good price, well these damn bugs came too!! My son is ATE UP!!! They have a claim into their corporate office in Plano, TX. Supposed to get a call today. I have my finger ready to speed dial the local TV station, they would love this! MY son has to stay at my parents until I can get this straightened out, I HATE RAC!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sr
    srbt Dec 02, 2010

    I'm in ky and have the same problem. I rented suppose to be 2 brand new matresses and a bed from RAC. I did the 90 days same as cash. I only owe them 80 and found out that the bites on my kids have come from bed bugs that were in the wood of the bed. That is very disgusting. My husband found the bugs crawling on my daughter one night last wk. I told them the next business day to come and get the [censor]. They couln't until they had someone expect it. The expector came out 4 days later and said they were only found in the bed. I then took them 24 more hours to pick up the bed. They stood outside my house in front of all my neighbors and suited up. Gown mask and everything. So imbarrasing. now they have no answers for me. What do i do now?

    0 Votes
  • Iw
    iwillthroatcomplnonniemouse Dec 02, 2010

    first you can suck my [censor], then hold still while i throat [censor] your face till i cum down your throat

    0 Votes
  • Hl
    Hld81 May 15, 2011

    You guys rock!!! Thank-you!!! I've had numerous e-mails and phone calls due to my posting. RentaCenter is contaminating Arizona, Ohio, New York and many other places with bedbugs. We had a K-9 unit here in Arizona visit various RAC locations. 60 percent infested is what the exterminator has told us. CBS has come and filmed our house and plans to expose them. They (RAC) offered a paltry amount of 7000.00. (yes, they have admitted guilt but we have to sign a disclosure saying the RAC is not responsible and we can't discuss the settlement.)

    It will take 10 grand just to tent the house. My cats are infested and now my bird. Good news is that last night I only had 17 bites. (this is a vast decrease over other nights) They don't even come out at night anymore but are bold enough to come out of the light sockets and dance on the ceiling during the day. We have eggs hatching out of our clothes and they are really fast looking to get their first blood meal. I have a bedbug embedded in my ear and am going to require hospitalization to remove it..as well as skin infections (from scratching), anxiety and depression. I AM a pissed off & disgusted consumer...for sure. THX

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kim darnell Nov 25, 2011

    rented a bed ended up withbed but issue still hasnt been taking care of yet bruising frs been 2 months im very alergic to them cant sleep broke out all over brody caurt sleep whole trailer infested now can i sue for damages?

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kim darnell Nov 26, 2011

    the bed bugs r so bad here hard for any1 to sleeep im miserable im very alergic to them its been 2 months they should put me and my kids up somewhere

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jana W. Nov 28, 2011

    Hi Kim - I work at RAC and I’m very sorry to hear about your bed. We follow all state guidelines to clean and sanitize our mattresses, and they are physically inspected before leaving the store. If ever a mattress is found to have bed bugs we would destroy it and our customers would never be at risk for renting it. Please call Customer Care at 1-800-422-8186 as soon as possible so they can address the issue. Hope this helps.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    hot in michigan Feb 02, 2012

    My husband got me a bedroom set from rent a center before Christmas and now our home is infested with bed bugs lovly. I informed them today that I have bugs and what does he tell me oh ill call u back. The messed up thing is I have to move within q month and I dnt want the bugs to come with me.from what I heard is it takes months to get rid of them all so I dnt know what to do. If anyone know what I should demand please email me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jana W. Feb 06, 2012

    Hi, I work with RAC and we're sorry to hear about this. Bedbugs are unfortunately a real problem. We follow all state guidelines to clean and sanitize our mattresses. They are physically inspected for infestation before leaving the store. If ever a mattress is found to have bed bugs we would destroy it and our customers would never be at risk for renting it. Please contact Customer Care at 800-422-8186 as soon as possible.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    hot in michigan Feb 06, 2012

    Well that may be true and all but on Friday I got a call saying my claim number.so I called and now I have to wait on termnix to call and set up a time. Now that's bull did they offer me any pain and suffering money no how about free time no nothing just wait for the problem to get worse.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CAT DANCY Sep 24, 2012

    GOOD MORNING I JUST HAD THE EXPERIENCE TO COME ON THIS SITE TO READ ABOUT RENT-A-CENTER BED BUGS COMPLAINTS!!THIS IS SEPT.2012 I TO PURCHASED A BRAND NEW BOX SPRING AND MATTRES FROM THE RENT-A-CENTER IN CHES.AND I GOT IT IN DEC.BUT MY DAUGHTER HAD GOTTEN BITE TO THE PLACE THAT HER DR. WAS SAYING SHE HAD CHICKEN POXS.BUT THEY WERE STAYING TO LONG GOING INTO 3 WEEKS SO HER DR. SENT HER TO A DERMOTOLOGIST AND RIGHT OFF HE SAID IT WAS NOT THE CHICKEN POXS SHE HAD BEEN BITTEN MY SOME BUGS SO HE DID A BIOPSY OR THE BITES SO WHILE I WAS WAITING FOR THE REPORT TO COME BACK I WENT THE NEXT DAY WHICH WAS SAT.AND I PULL HER COVER OFF HER BED AND WASHED IT AND I TOOK HER MATTERESS OFF HER BED AND LOOKED AT IT THERE WAS NO BED BUGS ON IT BUT WHEN I TOOK THE BOX SPRING OFF I FLIPPED IT OVER AND THERE WERE PLACES THERE THAT LOOKED LIKE CIGARETTES BURN HOLES WHERE THE BEDBUGS HAD EATEN THERE WAY OUT OF THE HOLES THEY HAD MADE THROUGH THE WOOD AND THEY WERE STILL CRAWLING SO I CALLED RENT-A-CENTER AND TALKED TO THEIR MANAGER AND IT TOLD ME THAT I HAD THE MATTERESS FOR OVER A YEAR THAT'S NOT SO I HAVEN'T BEEN IN MY HOUSE A YEAR YET AND THEY WEREN'T RESPONSIBLE FOR THEM SO I PULLED THEM OFF HER BED AND SIT THEM OUTSIDE AND THE HEALTH DEPARTMENT TOLD ME TO GET A LAWYER AND TAKE THEM TO COURT MY CHILD LOOK LIKE SHE IS A GRATER!!!THAT'S HOW BAD HER BODY LOOKS!!!SO YES RENT-A-CENTER IS NOT A GOOD PLACE TO DEAL WITH THEY ARE RUDE AND THEY WORRY YOU BEFORE YOUR PAYMENT IS DO AND DON'T GO IN AND PAY THEM ON THE DAY YOU ARE DUE THEN THEY CALL YOU AS EARLY AS 7:00 A.M.IN THE MORNING I WILL NEVER DEAL WITH THEM AGAIN AND THEY HAVE MANY OF COMPLAINTS FROM PEOPLE THEY HAVE HAD BEDBUGS IN THEIR MATTERESS AND BOX SPRINGS AND THEIR FURNITURE BUT YET THEY ARE STILL TAKING THIS SITUATION LIKELY AND STILL SELLING THOSE NASTY BEDBUG BEDDING AND FURNITURE!!!THANK-YOU FOR LISTENING TO MY STORY ABOUT TENT-A-CENTER CATHY DANCY FROM CHESAPEAKE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    Skoch May 11, 2016

    I bought a couch on May 4th 2016 and on the 5th I found bed bugs on me. I called an exterminator and he came out right away. He found old blood stains, shedding, species, live adult bed bugs and eggs. I called rent a center to have them come get it no show on the 6th 7th or 8th.On the 9th I got a call saying they were on there way and not only were they taking the couch but also my old furniture and anything related to these bed bugs I had no choice. They also said there were sending an exterminator over right away. Now I call the number that continues to be posted from RAC workers and I was ask where the couch was I said well they picked it up and by the way never returned my money and the lady Anetta said then u have no evidence I continued to tell her that I had already had to reports from exterminators and they were not acceptable I then tried to contact a hirer up and they refused so now after all this and my house in niw infested I have already paid out thousands they refuse to take my calls. I am in the middle of making a complaint to our attorney general the BBB our local government office consumer affairs and the news station and daily item do not trust these people they even took my trash and my vacuum so I had no proof about the couch then they drove it to the Sunbury dump to discard it so no one would find it I spoke with my sisters uncle who happens to be a DA and he said they stole from me by not returning my money and by taking the couch I paid for along with the couch of my own and my other belongings this is theft let it be known they have a protocol to screw people and cover there tracks well very well plz do not buy anything there they don't care about you or your family just there money

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem