Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Travel & Vacations Raintree Vacation Club [RVC] fraud
More
K
Author of the complaint
4:44 am
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

My wife and I purchased a vacation club membership with RCI/Raintree and have never been able to use it. We've called about 10 times to plan a vacation and every single time, I get the same response "We're sold out and have no space available". These were all different dates and locations. We got scammed out of a large sum of money. I am looking to file a class action lawsuit as many others have had the same experience. I just need to get a large enough group to fight these thieves!

Whatever you do, DO NOT BUY anything from RCI or Raintree or their affiliates.

ADVERTISIMENT
Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply

More Raintree Vacation Club [RVC] complaints & reviews

Raintree Vacation Club [RVC] - maintenance fees
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Raintree Vacation Club [RVC] - Letter to Doug Bech
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Raintree Vacation Club [RVC] - special assessment fraud
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Raintree Vacation Club [RVC] - fraud, extortion
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Raintree Vacation Club [RVC] - disappearing developer weeks
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Raintree Vacation Club [RVC] - special assessment fee for every other year memebership
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Raintree Vacation Club [RVC] - flim flam
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
98 comments
Add a comment
D
Jun 20, 2009 4:44 am

i bought a membership, paid it off, paid the first year maintanance, could not get a reservation because they were booked up, didn't go on vacation, before the end of the year, got a bill for some assessment fee (not maintanance fee). I was so ticked off that i wrote a letter to them asking them to cancel the agreement. I told them i didn't want anything further to do with them even though we were going to loose thousands of dollars. Well, they didn't cancel my contract and sent me another bill with a higher $ amount and are charging interest. I sent them another certified letter and now they sent me a letter saying they are placing me with a collection agency. I paid the membersip in full, first year maintenance, and have never used it. This company is certainly not customer oriented. They are crooks - not ethics. I will be happy to join all of you in a class action.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Jun 17, 2009 4:44 am

I'm about to file the complaint with the BBB and was wondering if it matters which classification to use. Is it "Billing or Collection issues"? "Contract Disputes"? Does it matter if we all file under same classification (or not)?

Helpful?
0 0
T
Jun 15, 2009 4:44 am

I've emailed an attorney in Houston about this and unfortunately he doesn't seem to answer, maybe I can give one of you his phone number and he'll be more inclined to speak.

I know of him through Tug but don't know him personally only once asked him to put my listing up and didn't go through with it.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Oct 30, 2019 4:44 am

Can't help you

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jun 12, 2009 4:44 am

I have spoken to an attorney based in Ft. Worth, Texas and he is in the process of reviewing our RVC/Club Regina contract as well as the RVC Special Assessment letter. He is also reviewing this thread on the Complaints Board.

In the meantime, he recommends members file complaints. There is power in numbers and if the FTC or Attorney General’s offices receive enough complaints, they will most likely take action. As for complaining with the BBB, they really have no authority, but at least it will show up on their website that a number of complaints have been filed.

I urge everyone to file multiple complaints with the following agencies:

Federal Trade Commission
https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

Texas Attorney General
Office of the Attorney General
PO Box 12548
Austin, TX [protected]
http://www.oag.state.tx.us/consumer/complain.shtml

California Attorney General*
Attorney General’s Office California Department of Justice
Attn: Comlaints Unit
P.O. Box 944255 Sacramento, CA [protected]
http://ag.ca.gov/consumers/general.php

Online complaint form
http://ag.ca.gov/contact/complaint_form.php?cmplt=CL

*This option is good if you have signed the Club Regina Cimarron “Statement of the terms and conditions for the verification of the sale/purchase of a membershipfrom Raintree North America Resorts, Inc.” Agreement

Better Business Bureau
https://odr.bbb.org/odrweb/public/cibrbusiness.aspx?e=3155944&id=46a6a9cd-5402-454e-9476-e4df22e6f371&site=113

Company Information
Raintree Vacation Club aka Raintree Resorts International
10000 Memorial, Suite 480
Houston, TX 77024

Helpful?
0 0
B
Oct 30, 2019 4:44 am

None of these agencies will help you. If there is a way for everyone on her to form a public group, possibly via facebook or some other media I would be willing to spearhead helping everyone who really wants out to get out. Most sites like this do not allow the exchange of contact information.

Helpful?
0 0
I
Jun 11, 2009 4:44 am

i will join in this class action law suit in a second

Helpful?
0 0
B
Oct 30, 2019 4:44 am

Class action may be possible but there are other mechanisms that may be better. Class action everybody has to have same issue, Big motors on this board people are complaining about reservations availability, maintenance increases and termineation. I've been posting that we should all agree to form a group on some other media and then we can share information that could consolidate the aggrievement into one case.

Helpful?
0 0
I
Jun 11, 2009 4:44 am

let's all file a class action law suit

Helpful?
0 0
I
Jun 11, 2009 4:44 am

I will not pay them another penny of my money. Every time I try to book a week they are never available. I am so disgusted I feel like just abandoning my time-share. Any way we can sue their ### for fraud?

Helpful?
0 0
T
Jun 10, 2009 4:44 am

My email to Doug has a reply "Thank you for your response and I understand you being upset. Additional information will be provided. Thank you"

and he copied it to other people John Berber and Garry Stamm, does anyone else have a reply from him?

I still don't have a contract and earlier today when I asked to be transferred to contracts got a live person who went on about how they don't write up new contracts and that the original owners signed it. In any case, I made it clear that since I don't have a contract with them I don't pay anything but MF and those are paid. Then her story changed how she would have to find the old contract and have it sent and asked me for a number. In any case, I never got the call back.

Then I asked to cancel my membership and she passed me to another person who spoke better english and I emailed him since he said he would pass the info on to the correct place.

I don't have a lawyer or access to one so I really am unclear what to do about all this. I have a reservation late August and hope it's valid, how can I check?

Moe appreciate some input into how I can verify since all these are paid including the plane tickets.

In essence, since I don't have a contract and all I have is agreement to pay MF, then how can I be responsible for this? I want out of this agreement, esp since I've been trying to sell it for 8 months.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Jun 10, 2009 4:44 am

Every year vacation becomes a battle. Instead of the enjoyable time we all work hard all year, it's always, " Well let's see when we can go on vacation and did they renovate all the things they have promised us. Now they think they can assess us an additional fee for something they promised to provide! They should have planned the budget effectivally to cover such improvements. Not our fault they either don't have a good financial advisor or they have a crook in management! Sign me up for a class action suit. Thanks, Croop

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jun 09, 2009 4:44 am

On another forum (http://www.tugbbs.com/forums/showthread.php?p=735627) someone who owns a Whiskijack membership called and was told they (Whiskijack RVC members) would NOT be charged the Special Assessment. Anyone have a clue why this is?

Helpful?
0 0
T
Jun 09, 2009 4:44 am

I've tried calling raintree, the customer service number to book vacations and get a number or somehow get a copy of the contract and am constantly being told to call Mexico but I have no international. When I asked to get the number for Douglas Bech I also wasn't allowed, she said most of them work from home and cannot get a direct number to them, but offered an email address to member services.

I'd like to know how to get a copy of my contract since I purchased resale and the original owners purchased this in 1991 and I have nothing other than I am to pay maintenance from timeshare closings.

I also want to join in fighting this because I just barely got the timeshare, have only been once and the fee has already gone up by $100 since I purchased. Please let me know the steps to take other than BBB complaint because I can't even start a complaint since I don't have the address. If someone can email the information I'd appreciate it. My email is [email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jun 09, 2009 4:44 am

Anne,
Below is the information for filing a complaint with the Houston BBB

BBB of Metropolitan Houston
(Houston, TX)
1333 W. Loop South, Ste. 1200
Houston, TX 77027
Phone: [protected]
Fax: [protected]
Email: [email protected]
Web: http://www.bbbhou.org

Not sure about LV. Definitely couldn't hurt. The more noise we make the better.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Oct 30, 2019 4:44 am

Useless, They cannot help you. If there is a way for everyone on her to form a public group, possibly via facebook or some other media I would be willing to spearhead helping everyone who really wants out to get out. Most sites like this do not allow the exchange of contact information.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jun 09, 2009 4:44 am

Mr. D,

Please let these people know how to file a complaint against Raintree Resorts International with the Houston BBB. Do you think it would help too if we all filed a complaint against Raintree Vacation Club of Las Vegas?

Thanks,
Anne

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jun 09, 2009 4:44 am

FYI- There is another thread running on this board for this same topic:
http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/raintree-c210535.html

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jun 09, 2009 4:44 am

I should have said, a lawyer is looking at our contract AND the Special Assessment letter that came to us.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jun 09, 2009 4:44 am

My wife and I now have a lawyer looking at our contract. Will post his response as soon as we get it.

Helpful?
0 0
O
Sep 06, 2019 4:44 am

Please update us on the lawyer and any solution you might have found many thanks

Helpful?
0 0
H
Jun 09, 2009 4:44 am

If you refuse to pay a maintenance fee or this "special assessment" crap - I thought all they can do is terminate your membership. WHAT IS THIS ABOUT CREDIT REPORTING, COLLECTIONS AND THEM PUTTING A LIEN ON YOUR PROPERTY?

Helpful?
0 0
B
Jun 09, 2009 4:44 am

I also just opened our "Special Assessment Fee" $820 letter signed by Douglas Bech. The premise of the letter is that the recent on-line member survey showed that we all want upgrades. Baloney. I feel the premise is a smoke-screen for the reality of the Mexican economy: diminished tourist dollars due to the swine flu scare, the high cost of flying and our own US economic downturn. And the addition of another big resort south of Cancun - they probably can't sell the timeshares due to the overall economy. So they have to make it up somewhere else...The supposed upgrades should be covered by our regular maintenance fees. I accept that. But not this.
There was no mention of ANY efforts on the part of Raintree to reduce expenses. My God, all of us have had to reduce our expenses. If the letter had told the truth about the "need" for the Special Assessment fee, I could almost accept it. But the letter is masking the truth and I agree with those of us who wish to protest this extortion.
What to do?!
Beth B.

Helpful?
0 0
R
Jun 09, 2009 4:44 am

Concerning the special assessment, there is nothing in my contract which allows this. Something is seriously wrong here. I've spent a little time doing the math. Take what you paid for a week of timeshare and multiply it by 52. In our case, it amounts to over a million for a two-bedroom unit. So, I think we can agree, we paid plenty for the property. Now multiply your maintenance fees by 52. In our case, it amounts to almost $50, 000. If you have visited these properties, is there any possibility they have spent this amount of money each year on each of these units. It doesn't cost $50, 000 a year to clean and change a few light bulbs in two or three rooms.

Read the list of things they say they need to replace. These are not major renovations. These are things which obviously don't last forever and could have been easily paid for out of the fees we've already paid. We're talking about bedding, lounge chairs and cushions. I've seen how they renovated the kitchens in Cancun. They told us the renovation would be completed in 2008. I was there in January 2009. If this is a complete renovation, we're talking very little expense to do it.

The contract states what the maintenance fees are to be used for. My guess is that the money is being siphoned off to make someone very rich. The contract also says it takes a vote of a majority of the members to approve a maintenance fee increase greater than 10% from the previous year. This represents more than a 100% increase from 2008. A contract is binding on both parties, it seems to me they are in breach of contract if they have spent the fees improperly and if they cancel our privileges for nonpayment of these special assessments.

As for me and my house, we do not plan to pay this special assessment unless they can provide a legal document with my signature proving we owe it. If they cancel our privileges and pursue us through collections, we will deal with it when it happens.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Jun 08, 2009 4:44 am

I just received my $820.00 special assessment and agree with many of the perspectives expressed above. While the Raintree facilities have been pleasant to stay at in the past, the economics of the RVC/Club Regina relationship are making it less and less attractive.
In my mind, there are three options on the table that can be taken to respond to the special assessment:
1. Check your contract to see about RVC's right to assess...and in any case complain
2. Consider your investment in the Club Regina/RVC a sunk cost and walk away. They can take your "asset" back and cancel your membership. It is hard to imagine they would have any recourse to one's credit rating given that the time share has been fully paid for. If they do pursue you...ignore the collection phone calls and rest assured that the potential remark in your credit file will be discounted due to its nature.
3. We should encourage every Club Regina/RVC member to register their thoughts and feelings about the special assessment on thiswebsite and http://tugbbs.com/forums, and invite RVC/Regina "leadership" to review the comments and reconsider their decision and seek other sources of funding.
4. Pursue the class action lawsuit avenue...long and arduous, but perhaps the best way to recoup some of our investment.
One gets the sense that this organization is going down...and in my mind it would be foolish to, in all probability, throw good money after bad

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jun 08, 2009 4:44 am

Received my $820.00 "Special Assessment Fee" today. Can't understand why they feel they have the right to do this. I read my contract and it says we only need to pay our membership fee and maintenance fees. No where could I find a clause that said they can charge a "special assessment fee" anytime they want to.

Has anyone asked where it is written in our contract that they can charge us additional sums whenever they want to? If it weren't for the fact that they will probably attack our credit if we don't pay, I would just wait the 2 years and let my contract lapse.

I've been with Raintree for 7 years now on an every other year basis.. We haven't had any problems with them until now. We have always gotten into the units when we wanted.

Helpful?
0 0
S
Jun 08, 2009 4:44 am

It's all been said. I plan to sit down with my contract and read it, contact a lawyer refferal service here in Santa Cruz county and find out where we stand. I don't have any information yet on the number of members we have but class action suits may be throwing good money after bad. If I find that I can walk away from the ### that run this company I will.
Like I said I don't have enough concrete information yet. But one thing I'd like to do after this is behind us is to get some type of media exposure to inform the general public about this rip-off company.It sounds like there is probably quite a bit of animosity out there for a variety of reasons.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jun 08, 2009 4:44 am

We too have checked our Raintree contract and no where is there any mention of the resorts ability to charge (extort!) a Special Assessment fee. In researching other similar cases of timeshares trying to charge Special Assessment fee's many of the companies try to claim their ability to charge it is from some form of internal company policy, or internal resort charter, or some such b.s. These are simply not legal nor enforceable. Of course that won't stop these unethical rip-off timeshare companies from follow their usual course of action if you don't pay: stop your membership, attack your credit, harass you through collections, etc. Unfortunately the only long-term solution is a class action lawsuit in which many members unite, pool resources, and sue the company.

Helpful?
0 0
O
Oct 15, 2020 4:44 am

please email me at:[email protected]
to create and join a group to sue them.

Helpful?
0 0
O
Sep 06, 2019 4:44 am

Let’s join and sue them

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jun 08, 2009 4:44 am

I have been a member of Club Regina (now Raintree Vacation Club) for 13 years. I just got my "special assessment " letter today. I have always enjoyed my trips to Puerto Vallarta and Cancun and have also done several exchanges through RCI for Florida, Aruba and the eastern US. Yes, the fees have gone up year after year. My original fee was $350 back in 1996 and now am paying $820/yr for a 1-brdm unit. This is the second special assessment charge I have experienced. The first was after a hurricane destroyed the beach at Puerta Vallarta, but it was only $150. I am extrememly uspet about this assessment as it requires that we pay double fees this year. It also means that management is possibly using their good members to replenish the coffers for those who are not paying their regular annual fees in these tough times.
You can be sure if you refuse to pay that a lien will be filed against your regular property and your credit will be adversely affected. What are our options to sue? I don't know. I've never been this angry with RVC before!

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jun 07, 2009 4:44 am

I too have received the "special assessment" fee letter. This is OUTRAGEOUS! We already pay close to $900 a year on maintenance even though when we bought the timeshare the salesman guaranteed it would not go up more than 2% a year. It started at $535 6 years ago. What a scam this is! Now this special assessment fee when the rest of the economy is crumbling. They are so out of touch with customers on this. I read through what they are upgrading and find it not needed but frivolous. I would tell anyone thinking of purchasing from these people to keep your money.

I have called them calmly trying to get an explanation and get testy and rude. They have some serious customer relations problems. Also, from the last time we stayed with them last summer at the Miners Club in Park City it was horrible service. They have cut back on services they offer like a shuttle around town, keeping the pool and jacuzzi clean and functioning, and the spa is no longer there. It is basically a room with a pool. Nothing else. Add in there the horrible service and they are just a bad place to stay. They have deceived me and shouldn't be allowed to deceive anyone else. I just want to know how to get out of this horrible racket I got myself into. They are thieves!

Helpful?
0 0
C

We also got a letter yesterday with the Special Assessment amount of $918 which is extremely annoying. When we purchased a Club Regina timeshare in 2000 - the original maintenance fee was $465 and the contract is until 2046. Every year we have seen increases in our maintenance fees - 2009 fees were $918 and now this special assessment to "upgrade" the resorts. How can Raintree justify a 97.5% increase in maintenance fees over 9 years and still need this special assessment to make upgrades. Obvious mis-
management in my opinion.
We have reviewed the contract - it indicates that if the maintenance fee is upaid for two years, membership will be forfeited. Nothing is mentioned anywhere in the contract about Special Assessments. As for whether membership is sellable - highly unlikely. We originally paid $23, 950 for a 2 bedroom suite, one week unrestricted time, and we have had our timeshare listed for 18 months asking $6000 but have not been able to sell it. As long as Raintree is dropping prices in order to sell the new timeshare memberships they have available, ours is defintely not sellable.
We agree that a class action lawsuit against Raintree may be work pursuing.

Helpful?
0 0
T

We are also upset about the Special Assessment, which arrived in the mail today. Ours is $767 for a small unit, alternate years. We have also been members for 6 years. Unlike previous posters, we have had 2 successful RCI trades, one in Hawaii and one in Italy, and have an upcoming stay at their new affiliate at Lake Tahoe. But I don't feel any obligation to pay them to provide what we already paid for.
Do we have any alternatives? What happens if we refuse to pay? Is the membership sellable(especially now)?

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jun 06, 2009 4:44 am

Got a letter in the mail today from Raintree Vacation Club of which we have been members for 6 years. They are whining about not being able to meet all the "upgrades" their members want, so they now have to charge an $820 "Special Assessment". This company is a joke. Every time we have tried to book a timeshare vacation with them we have either been unable to or have had to jump through major hurdles to do so. Now because they are affliated with RCI, everytime I try to book, they want to push me off onto RCI's resorts, not Raintree's.
I urge all Raintree members to join together and file a class action lawsuit against this scam company.

Helpful?
0 0
O
Oct 15, 2020 4:44 am

email me at:

[email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
O
Sep 06, 2019 4:44 am

Agree let’s join together nd file class action who can lead this mission
My email
[email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
C
Feb 27, 2009 4:44 am

I am so dissapointed in my Raintree memership. It is a joke. Good luck on booking anything. I would sell it in a minute if any one is interested. I have had it for 4 years and I keep trying to make it work but unless you go to mexico the other resotrts are unavailabe. The RCI portion is a bigger joke. Boy did i get scammed.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Nov 29, 2008 4:44 am

Sounds like silverleaf BIGTIME. REport to the FTC

Helpful?
0 0
O
Oct 15, 2020 4:44 am

email me at
[email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
T
Mar 28, 2020 4:44 am

Have you thought more about taking action ? We are Victims of the Raintree vacation club scam . We would definitely support the lawsuit

Helpful?
0 0
B
Oct 30, 2019 4:44 am

I sued them, I would love to form a group

Helpful?
0 0
O
Sep 06, 2019 4:44 am

We need to group and hire a lawyer to help us all
Contact me
At : email
[email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

53 complaints
36 resolved 17 unresolved

Raintree Vacation Club [RVC] contacts

(added by reviewer)
10000 Memorial Drive, Suite 480, Texas United States
ADVERTISIMENT