Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Office Depot

Office Depot review: Very bad 18

G
Author of the review
3:30 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

It may look weird for some to review a place like Officemax but I had to let everyone know about them. For some reason what ever it may be this store is always empty and by empty I mean that there are only employees and no customers.And even though there are no customers at all and there are a lot of employees I get help every here after great difficulty and waiting for a very long time. The last time I had been here I ended up waiting for around forty five minutes to get someone to help me and then another half an hour to get my work done.

I know there is no difference between Officemax and Office Depot but if you can please avoid Officemax and go to Office Depot. I will never recommend this store to anyone and will not return myself. Very Bad Officemax!

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More Office Depot reviews & complaints

Office Depot - This is regarding our return policy (i'm an od employee) 43
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Office Depot - ink cartridge recycle scam 19
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Office Depot - Worst service ever: no assurance at officemax's max assurance 10
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Office Depot - Item #9476773
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Office Depot - Office depot services 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
18 comments
Add a comment
Valerie
Valerie
, US
Sep 30, 2008 11:19 am EDT

Officemax... Awful-frustrating-time consuming, this was the first time i bought a big ticket item, bought a monitor... broken monitor, had to exchange it 4 times to get one that worked, which required me to go to 3 different locations due to stocking issues, the people were rude and condescending to me when i asked to try the monitor before bringing it back home which caused me more trips back and forth to get what i had paid for. Secondly my max assurance plan was supposed to be registered online, which could not be completed due to the website not working. I will not shop at officemax nor recommend it to anyone ever again and will take my small business needs to a competitor from this day forward.

E
E
Edward Newcastle
Athen, US
Jul 09, 2009 6:39 pm EDT

To those who shop at the Officemax in athens, GA and a person with a shaved head approaches to help you named steven, ask for another employee. This person doesn't know what he is talking about when it comes to their product, and only wants to get you the most expensive thing then push extras that are either not needed or wanted. When I asked him about a Nikkon camera I wanted to buy today, he kept saying that this model was all wrong for my needs and that I needed a kodak. Now I don't know about pens, but I do know cameras and what my needs are. He seemed to want to push me away from what I wanted and into what he thought I needed.

timduncan86
timduncan86
Indianapolis, US
Jul 09, 2009 6:44 pm EDT

Office Max is notorious for their "expert" employees. Once I went in their with the desire to purchase a laptop and some kid, who looked like he barely survived puberty, told me what laptop I should buy. It was a dell and it had to be shipped to me, at my expense of course, and that it was the cheapest around. I thanked him and drove to Best Buy, where I found the EXACT same model, quite cheaper and I took it home with me without the need for an expensive courier fee.

R
R
rowantheelf
, US
Jul 20, 2009 12:10 am EDT

First of all to tim, any delivery order of $50 or more has free shipping. And secondly, to both of you, we are required to ask the customer what they are using an item for among other questions to try and find the best item for the customers' needs (to try and cut back on returns) and we are also required to recommend the item we think is best for the customer, although tim shouldn't complain since he bought the recommended item even if it was from a different retailer.

P
P
pascalbenoit
Cape Coral, US
Aug 16, 2009 4:53 pm EDT

Cool story, bro! Maybe you were condenscended because you may just be an ignoramous. Just a thought. ;)

P
P
pascalbenoit
Cape Coral, US
Aug 16, 2009 4:56 pm EDT

Oh, and one last thing... I'm sure OfficeMax is going to go under and will probably be bankrupt due to your change in retailers. You sure are making a big difference, aren't ya!

N
N
Niffer
, US
Nov 27, 2009 11:11 am EST

"Absolutely unprofessional and worst online ordering system that I have seen...ordered online toshiba hdd and swissgear backpack...the order got automatically cancelled after a weeks waiting...would never buy anything from officemax...they should be sued for their unethical business practice"

E
E
eachmorning
Anchorage, US
Jan 30, 2010 3:05 pm EST

The MaxAssurance folks are separate from Officemax, so Officemax has no control over the website not working. Guess you missed the 24hr toll free phone number that was listed on the brochure, and in about five minutes you could register the item. As far as testing the item in the store, the could probably plug it in to see if it worked, but good chance not a computer system that they could connect it to to fully test it out. If you go to the Officemax website, down at the bottom of the page is a link to Customer Service. File a complaint there and it will most likely get copied to the District Manager who will ensure that your monitor problem is complete.

E
E
eachmorning
Anchorage, US
Jan 30, 2010 3:26 pm EST

Edward, did you ask why the associate felt that the Kodak camera would be better for you? He gets paid by the hour, so it's not like he's getting paid more if you buy the more expensive camera. Maybe the Kodak received higher quality ratings. Or, as when I was an associate, the store had a couple Nikkon cameras returned to the store, so in the long run was trying to do you a favor. I would think you'd be more upset if the associate recommended the cheaper camera, then pushed a case, USB cable, and 3 or 4 others add-ons like they are pressured to do to keep their job.

Tim, you criticized the associate and then bought the item he recommended. It's not HIS fault that the item wasn't carried in the store. If you have taken two minutes to listen to this "child", you would have found that the item would have been shipped to the store, THEN since over $50 would have been delivered free to you or you could pick it up. Only problem with the Delivery is that if you were from 'out of town' or far enough out of their 'local deliver' area. You found the same EXACT item for less at Best Buy. Great. Except, compared to Officemax, Best Buy jacks up the price of their cooling pads, cases, cables, stands, ports, hubs, and anything else that you might need to go with that computer. Not to mention their totally overpriced Geek service. But you saved a buck on the computer, so you da man...

J
J
Jane 12345
Flower Mound, US
Mar 11, 2010 11:19 pm EST

I purchased a printer and backup toner from OfficeMax. Since they didn't have the larger toner size, I was given two smaller toners at the same price. Over a year later, I ran out of toner so I opened the second toner to find the toner had been used and repackaged for sale. A closer look showed the package was carefully retaped as not to appear to have been opened. Apparently, a previous customer decided to 'return' an item, and made the switch at that time. I took the toner back to OfficeMax with the packaging and receipt to let them know what happened and asked for an exchange as the toner I purchased had been previously used. I was told no returns after 14 days. What! Even if I had been able to purchase the larger toner and therefore open it sooner, who goes through toner that comes with a new printer so quickly the backup toner would be needed within 14 days! I was told the customer is expected to open the package and inspect it within 14 days. Obviously OfficeMax is not expected to inspect the returned merchandise they accept prior to placing it back on the shelf for resale. No hint at customer service... no "sorry this happened to you, let me sell you one at half-price", or "I apologize let me remind my staff to inspect all returned merchandise". The Manager, Steve, in Flower Mound, Texas, just asked if there was anything else he could help me with. Sorry to say I got the same response with the corporate office.. Too bad, so sad... they lost a customer and I am doing my best to spread the word. There happens to be an Office Depot across the street that will get my business. Adios OfficeMax!

M
M
moscow
Flushing, US
May 30, 2010 5:00 pm EDT

ordered online. but ricevied different item. so i want return and change.. too much call, send mail ... headache .. no assit..
bad customer service ..
i don't want use this company..
futhermore Westbury store maniger ...maybe n*** oh my ..
poor kindly ...neglect ...

i never ever use this company...

E
E
eachmorning
Anchorage, US
Nov 13, 2010 2:31 pm EST

How did you contact 'Corporate'? Did you go to the Officeax.com website and call the Customer Service number? Call them and leave your complaint, specifically naming the store and who all you talked to. Mention all the details and suggest that also suggest that they may ave a Loss Prevention at the store. Sounds like maybe a dishonest customer purchased a toner cartridge, then took their old one and strategically packaged it up and returned it to the store for credit as if they never used it. A record of these customer service calls are routed to the appropriate Territory Manager, who sends it to the appropriate District Manager, who sends it to the specific Store Manager with the explicit instructions to 'take care of it' regardless of what the problem is. Plus, suggesting that there is a Loss Prevention problem lights a fire because the store associates are supposed to be checking and verifying all returns.

E
E
eachmorning
Anchorage, US
Nov 13, 2010 2:46 pm EST

Have absolutely no idea what you're talking about in your special code or whatever, which is probably why you haven't received the proper customer service.

P
P
Pablo
, US
Dec 15, 2010 9:15 pm EST

OfficeMax advertised a Kodak Z950 camera for sale. When I went to the store to purchase it by the Dec 11th deadline I was told the cameras were not shipped to the stores. I was informed if I ordered the camera it would be delivered within 1-3 business days so I did, right there in the store. Day 3, no camera. When I called I was told it's backordered until January 10th, at least. Not great for a Christmas gift! Thanks OfficeMax, back to the stores.

J
J
Jian Song
Plano, US
Oct 27, 2012 1:13 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

On 10/14/12 morning, I put two orders on multi consumer electronics for store pick up, at 11:25am, I received items are ready to pick up notices. I arrived at store around 12:05pm, waited for about 10 minutes since the pickup counter was busy, then a female manager came to me saying your orders were cancelled due to wrong prices. I am surprised that within 40 minutes, there was a big change. Hope everything was done at that point.
However, this morning (10/27/12), I checked my credit card balance to set up payment, and was shocked that Officemax didn't give me refund at all, two orders total $191.85 still charged by Officemax, then I called customer service number [protected], the lady over the phone told me it was not her business, I had to go to store to solve it.
I drove to the store again, met the lady manager again, she took my printed cancellation email to a small room and left me roaming around the store for over one hour. I lost my patience a couple of times, an Officemax sale man told me twice saying the lady manager still working on it, and would make me happy to leave the store. Finally I felt too stupid to wait here for over 1 hour, I walked to the lady asking for the solution, she was very impolite, said "I didn't ask you to stay, you can leave and come back or call back", I told her it was she who asked me to hold on, and also the lady at costumer service hotline asked me to go to store by person. After a while she said "let me refund the money to you", and she started the refund process and within 3 minutes, finished two orders' refund.
And I asked if there was any compensation since I drove to the store again and stuck for over one hour, she was rude again, saying " I already fully refund to you, what do you want?" "part of your one order was used by a gift card, I also refund to your credit card". Seemed she thought Officemax gift card was useless. My feeling is that my money was stolen, and I caught the person who stole my money, then the man had to give my money back and said " I already gave you all the money I stole, what do you want?"
I was very unhappy, and asked a phone number thru which I can complain, she was unhappy as well, wrote down the number 1800 OFFICEMAX. After back home, I realized the number she gave might be a fake number, since OFFICEMAX only 9 digit, not 7 or 10 digit, may not be right, at least I can't call.
I am 100% sure if I didn't go to store to ask for $191.85 refund, Officemax will never pay me back.
There are two lessons learned, the first one is that Officemax doesn't respect customers, they are willing to change/cancel the orders whenever they want, the second one is that everyone need to pay attention to Officemax's refund, you might never get refunded.

H
H
1HVT797
, RU
Oct 27, 2012 7:13 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ehhhh...there needs to be a site where employees can complain about [censored] customers, such as the one above.

R
R
Rd12
Des Moines, US
Dec 21, 2012 10:01 pm EST

I purchased a Black Friday deal on a tablet. I spoke with the employee for almost 15 minutes because I was unsure of what I wanted to purchase without consulting with my husband first. When I asked if I could return the item, he told me that I could with a valid receipt. Not once did he say that I only have 14 days to return it without an issue. Now that winter break is here and we have time, my husband went to return the tablet and was told he could only get store credit. $300 in store credit? I paid cash, the tablet was unopened, so I expect to get MY money back if I change my mind. This policy is silly and customers should absolutely be informed of this policy for select items in the store either before they purchase items or during. OfficeMax will not see anymore of our money and I am letting everyone I know about this nonsense.

SKOR
SKOR
Toronto, CA
Dec 22, 2012 5:13 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Return policy is posted online and in-store. It is also printed on the back of your receipt.
14 days on electronics is pretty standard across most retailers.

  1. Office Depot Contacts

  2. Office Depot phone numbers
    +1 (800) 463-3768
    +1 (800) 463-3768
    Click up if you have successfully reached Office Depot by calling +1 (800) 463-3768 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Office Depot by calling +1 (800) 463-3768 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Office Depot by calling +1 (800) 463-3768 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Office Depot by calling +1 (800) 463-3768 phone number
    Customer Service
  3. Office Depot emails
  4. Office Depot address
    6600 N Military Trl, Boca Raton, Virginia, 33496-2434, United States
  5. Office Depot social media
  6. Andrew
    Checked and verified by Andrew This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 21, 2024
Office Depot Category
Office Depot is ranked 1 among 40 companies in the Office Space and Supplies category
Trending companies