Menu
For Business Write a review File a complaint
CB Office Space and Supplies Office Depot This is regarding our return policy (i'm an od employee)
Office Depot

Office Depot review: This is regarding our return policy (i'm an od employee) 43

D
Author of the review
6:45 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

As an employee of Office Depot (I'm only 19 so you can hear me out or not it's up to you), I frequent these sites because I'm curious to see what bothers our customers the most. I'm not doing this to protect the company name, I'm simply doing this because as a cashier I see many loyal customers at our store and I don't want people who live near OUR store to get a bad vibe from these complaints.

I respect everybody's opinion and believe every story on here. I'm writing this because I see our return policy is really frustrating people (not just on here but in our store too). Let me first clarify that our return policy is NO different then any other stores' policy as far as opened products, receipt handling, defective products etc. If you purchase a $500 laptop from us and you take it home, you can return it and get you're money back.

However, if you open the product (which is what we'd all do) and theres something wrong with it, you can no longer get cash back on it. You can bring it back in exchange for the same laptop (the one you got is defective so we'll give you another one). The reason being is we can absolutely not re-sell an open box laptop. Once that security tape is cut off the top of the box we are required by law to send the device back to the manufacture. If we gave customers money back for every laptop we needed to send back, we would lose millions of dollars.

Remember we bought you're laptop before you. We do get a fraction of the value of the device back from the manuf. but maybe $30 out of the $370(est.) we paid to sell it. The open container rule applies to all of our technology items. As for ink cartridges, the rules are flexed based on each store manager from each store. I know my store manager Mike Baxter is more then happy to take back an unopen or even defective opened cartridge. Even if you don't have a receipt, he'll give you store credit as long as you're not trying to scam us.

In conclusion, I just want to let everybody on here understand that it is easy to judge an entire company based on a bad experience at one of their locations (I've done it too) but it's not right. We at Riverside, CA Store 968 go to great lengths to satisfy our customers and we have a loyal customer base. I'm just tired of feeling like a bad guy and feeling like a bad store because I work for a company that may have a couple unhelpful associates.

Thanks,

- Donnie Stafford
(Customer Service Specialist, Store 968, Riv, CA)

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More Office Depot reviews & complaints

Office Depot - ink cartridge recycle scam 19
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Office Depot - Worst service ever: no assurance at officemax's max assurance 10
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Office Depot - Item #9476773
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Office Depot - Office depot services 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
43 comments
Add a comment
Valerie
Valerie
US
Apr 08, 2008 2:51 am EDT

I purchased a HP computer because they had a $150.00 advertised with it, in
addition if you purchased the HP printer you get an additional $70 rebate
for the printer. So I purchased both and mailed in both rebates. I waited a
couple of months and called and I was told that they never received the
rebate but I can fax it in so I did. I called to make sure they got my fax
and I was told that it takes 14 days to see if they got my fax to call back
in 14 days. So I called back after 14 days and they said to call back in a
couple of more days. So I did and I was told they never got my fax to refax it
and they can let me know in 7 days if they got my fax. So I sent it again.
Now their story is I need to wait 4 weeks just to see if they got my fax.
There is no reason why it takes 4 weeks just to see if they got my fax. All
I want is my rebate for a total of $225.00 as they advertised but they keep
giving us the run around. If not I want permission to return both the
computer and the printer and get a full refund. I am not waiting 4 weeks,
14 days, or 7 days. On 4-8-08 I am going to the consumer complaints and the
MD Gazette and letting them know of this scam.

My co-worker bought a cell phone with a rebate and they told him the same
thing they "never got it".

The rebates given by office Depot are scams and I think everyone should be
aware of them. There should be no reason why I should have to call several
times, fax several times, and spend hours just trying to get the rebate that
I am owed.

T
T
The Dude that hates ebay
New Britain, US
Oct 07, 2008 7:33 pm EDT

Same thing here, i ordered a laptop on 2nd of Oct with delivery on the 7th, sounds fine.Delivery day nothing arrives and i get the run around for several hours long after its obvious there will be no delivery today.
I finally am told after hours of being messed around the item was never even sent as its out of stock.
Thats a shock as the transaction went through on my credit card but i thought..ahh well..one of those things.
Nothing could have prepared me for whats next, they offer to sell me the exact same item but now it costs $200 more than it did only days ago.
Thieves are kinder and more respectful than this mob of shysters, totally unhelpful and ignorant to a fault.
Ill happily give the business to a company more deserving as personally id never have anything more to do with office depot, i can only hope they go under soon which shouldnt be too long judging by the staff they employ.

T
T
Thristam
North Miami Beach, US
May 29, 2009 2:54 pm EDT

They fact that you have to post something like this is already telling. The problem isn't with their policy, its their complete lack of honesty in informing the customer that they will not be able to return the item (even when its totally defective and unwanted) for a return. If company your purchasing from wont take returns, then the answer is simple, don't buy from those companies until they do.

Saying "I know my company does a lot of underhanded things, but i swear its a good company!" Is silly. Fix the underhanded practices and inform your customers what their getting into. My money is that they wont because they know a very good portion of people would walk away from their purchase.

S
S
Sarah
Miami, US
Jun 11, 2009 3:45 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

The problem with Office Depot, as well as all these other office supply stores, is that they sell crap from Asia. They know it's crap, and they know that they can't back it or they'll go broke as you stated.

I've bought only two computer-related items this year: a printer and a laptop battery. In both cases, the first of each that I received (made in China) were defective. I tried to return the defective printer to Office Depot and exchange it for a similar printer that cost the same price. Turns out you can't do that, either. The manager was totally arrogant, which didn't help things. And to top it off, the store I went to didn't have any more of the same printer to give me. I had to go to another store 15 miles away to get my printer exchanged for one that works.

As for the defective laptop battery, I bought it somewhere else and am still trying to get a replacement. But, same thing. Received a defective product on the first try.

With a 50% failure rate for office electronics, no wonder these office stores won't refund the customer their money. If Office Depot would either refuse to sell crap they can't back or tell these manufacturers to stick their return fee up their you-know-what, they could go back to having good old, honest customer service.

S
S
Syble Brabham
Dallas, US
Aug 11, 2009 8:44 pm EDT

I bought the extended warranty on my laptop- was three years- if anything happen to it they would fix it or give me another one!-
The place where the ehternet cord went-- quit working- was told it was the ethernet card- I sent it off when it come back they had put in a motherboard- second time I sent it- it come back and wouldn`t come on at all-- sent it back for the third time-- when it come back- it still didnt work- took it to officemax and they got right on with aol and said it wasnt the ethernet-- I can get online with a usb cable for internet. My battery also won`t work. and the warranty isn`t out yet!
I feel like I got ripped off so I won`t buy anything else from Officemax.

B
B
bobtheman
US
Aug 11, 2009 8:46 pm EDT

Maybe it's the crappy HP you bought that has nothing to with OfficeMax.

L
L
Lame
US
Aug 27, 2009 5:34 pm EDT

I no longer shop at Office Depot; they did not disclose the no return policy when I purchased a defective printer. At least give me an option to return it minus a restocking fee. At least then I would not be held hostage by store credit. Believe me; I would have welcomed that option so I never had to walk into another one of their stores ever again. If I had known the policy, I would not have purchased it in the first place. Sure, everyone will say I should have asked. Well, I had shopped there for years and did not know the policy had changed. Further more, I find the open box argument weak. Honestly, would you buy a car without driving it first?

What made things worse was the horrible Attitude I got from the manager. She had an attitude from the get go. I will never shop there again and I tell everyone I know not too either. I sincerely hope they follow the same downward spiral that Circuit City did.

D
D
dutch-boy4
Spring, US
Sep 01, 2009 6:02 am EDT

Bought a HP laptop there, display model, about July 1, 2009. After reviewing the specifications of HP website, noticed the power supply adaptor given to me by Office Depot (OD) was wrong size. (wrong wattage). Took laptop back, only to find "no more 90W units by HP available in that store." Store personnel gave me a generic brand (Targus) rated at 90W and they promised me they would order correct one from HP. In about a week, the Targus unit failed. Found out later, via Targus web site, they do not make a compartable unit to adequately power my laptop. I went back to OD to get HP unit they promised to order, flow supervisor stated "OD does not order parts from manufacturers." Aditionally, OD would not replace Targus power adaptor since not receipt was given to me, i e No Sale.

N
N
namelessoneder
washington, US
Sep 02, 2009 7:36 pm EDT

I bought a printer from Office Depot a few weeks ago and the cashier put a big red sticker on it that said 14 day return policy, 15% restocking fee if missing components, exchange only. The back of the receipt also had detailed return policy information. I asked the cashier (who's name tag said "department manager") why the sticker because I had not seen it before when I had shopped there and she said that they used to get a lot of traveling businessmen buying printers and projectors and using them for one time presentations and then returning them. My printer is fine so far, I did NOT get the extended warranty which is like 30% the cost of the printer.

I think the service plan at Best Buy is much better because it is fulfilled in-house rather than a send-away third party insurance company (I think Office Depot's is AIG). I bought the 2yr accidental damage plan from BB on my MP3 player and when it "broke" 1.9 years later I took it into the store and they gave me a gift card for the full purchase price right there on the spot.

F
F
1fNGJRkl
Lexington, US
Sep 06, 2009 11:30 pm EDT

I'm confused as to what 14-days to return means.
I bought a product on a Sunday, and returned at the same time of day to the same store 2 weeks later on Sunday. (aka 14 days)

I was told that they considered that the 15th day.

So if you purchase something on the 2nd of the month, you have until the 15th of the month to return it. Or, you must return it 13 days or less later.

Or, inotherwords, 14 days is equivalent to 336 hours, but they don't really allow you the full 336 hours to return it. (Sure, it should be based on calendar days, but if one had a 1-day return policy, wouldn't you expect to be able to return it the day after you purchased it?)

Do all retailers handle the expiration of their policy in this manner? I would think many people would be confused if so. How would this be legally interpreted?

T
T
terrie1959
US
Sep 27, 2009 6:30 pm EDT

I bought a battery back up/surge protector from Office Depot. We bought it for the plasma tv. The tv is too many watts or whatever and it kept tripping the surge protector. We returned the battery backup/surge protector (WAY before the 14 days were over) and was told in no uncertain terms that we could NOT return for store credit OR a refund. The ONLY thing we could do is exchange "UP". The battery back up that would work for the tv is significantly more expensive. I was not a happy customer but they could care less. I called customer service - was told it was a CORPORATE policy and that there was NOTHING they could do. However, she "understood" my displeasure and offered to send a 25.00 gift card that I could use to defray the cost of the upgrade. I accepted the card but can guarantee that I will NEVER EVER purchase another thing at office depot. AND I can guarantee that I will make sure every one who knows me or sees my facebook or myspace will know about this policy.
I can understand "no refund" on opened merchandise. However, I suggested that I take the exchange and NOT open the new one and then I could return it. I was told that I still could not get a refund because THEY would have to open the box! WTH? It is a policy that in my opinion is illegal.
Too bad they had to implement this policy - they will get NO MORE of my money

J
J
jmkey
Benton, US
Nov 26, 2009 8:59 am EST

You should never buy technology items from office depot. Their 14 day return policy that does not allow you to return items that have been open is grossly restrictive compared to your other options.

E
E
edgarrrr
Laguna Beach, US
Dec 25, 2009 3:39 am EST

I have a question. If I return an opened digital camera bundle, do I only get an exchange for the same camera bundle pak or can I choose store credit? I'm trying to get a different camera and I would like return this one for store credit.

K
K
Kevin Smith2
US
Dec 27, 2009 6:34 am EST

Office Depot won't be in business for long

I bought a laptop from an Office Depot store and when I paid they put a red sticker on the box that says 14 days return policy. I did not care to read the rest which says "Exchange Only If Opened". I opened the laptop and found the laptop has a cracked screen. I just lost confidence in that model of the laptop and thought I would buy another model from Office Depot. When I took it back to the store, the manger said they can only give another laptop of the same model. In other words, office Depot won't even allow store credit. I could not believe this.

This chain will face the same fate as Circuit City and won't be in business too long.

I will never buy anything from Office Depot and tell everyone I know not to buy from there.

P
P
peace love
Kevil, US
Jan 01, 2010 11:27 pm EST

I hate when people flame a store or company because THEY FAILED to read the fine print...

Office Depot has policies, but just like a police officer enforces the law, do you think they have the entire penal code memorized? of course not! these Office Depot cashiers and managers are human, and the last perfect human was on the earth over 2000 years ago...

Best Buy Store Exchange and Return Policy:

(taken directly from BB website)

http://www.bestbuy.com/olspage.jsp?type=page&contentId=1117177044087&id=cat12098

Exchange and Return Period
Exchange or return your item anytime from the original purchase date within the timeframe below:

* 14 days for computers, monitors, projectors, camcorders, digital cameras, and radar detectors

Restocking fee
A restocking fee is applicable in some product categories, unless you are a Reward Zone Program Premier Silver member, the item is defective, or the fee is prohibited by law. The restocking fee charges are:

* 25% for Special Order Products, including appliances
* 15% for opened notebook computers, projectors, camcorders, digital cameras, radar detectors, GPS navigation and in-car video systems

Office Depot's return policy:

(as taken directly from their website)

http://www.officedepot.com/renderStaticPage.do?file=/customerservice/Refunds.jsp

Technology & Furniture - 14 Day Return Policy:
Your Original Receipt is required for all returns or exchanges of technology and furniture.

Technology products may be returned or exchanged within 14 days of purchase with Original Receipt, in original packaging and with UPC code intact. If product box is opened, we will offer an exchange only. A 15% Restocking Fee will be applied if box is missing any components. This applies to all technology products including, without limitation: Computers, Monitors, Cameras, Camcorders, Projectors, GPS, Printers, Copiers, Faxes, Shredders, Telephones, Wireless Technology, MP3s, TVs, DVD Players, Media, Hard Drives, Peripherals, Accessories and Software.

N
N
nonamehere
mycity, US
Jan 05, 2010 2:52 pm EST

"Once that security tape is cut off the top of the box we are required by law to send the device back to the manufacture"

And what "law" would that be?

B
B
Bozzz2
Lake Elmo, US
Feb 07, 2010 11:24 pm EST

Acer LCD Monitor 20" advertised on 1-31-10 for 109.99.
I went with advertisment in hand, on 2-01, 2 days after it was advertised, was waited on by Mgr. of the store, Randy. When he came back, he had a 20" monitor, at the same time I bought a Free agent Go Silver.I did not look at it until I was home, and the monitor he gave me was a AOC, price 149.99. He did not tell me it cost more, I did not look at the slip, my fault, but it was $40 more than the one advertised. I took it back today, Feb 7th, Randy was not there, I returned what I bought, told the salesman how very upset I was to find out that he would do that to a 80 yr old woman, to anyone for that matter.
He supposedly is the Manager of the store. All I can say is what a Manager. I could not believe a clerk would do that to anyone. I have bought my printers, chairs, many other things at Office Max, never once thinking of going anywhere else. I'm not sure if I will ever go there again. I am thoroughly disallusioned by his actions. I will not be recommending Office Max at this point.If 2 days after the article was advertised in the paper, there were none in stock, he should have told me, I am not so sure they ever even had any of them.
Never the less, I am extremely unhappy with how I was treated, I am only sorry he wasn't there so I could have told him in person. The clerk that helped me, told me he would inform Randy of my displeasure, when he came in later today. I was there at 12:32 pm. I had to make another trip to take care of the matter, which did not make me very happy either.

S
S
sith
Waldorf, US
Feb 13, 2010 2:08 pm EST

Everywhere you go there is a return policy. I cant speak for others, but when i buy something from whoever, i do some research while shopping. In this instance, what is the return policy for the item i am looking at. After reading some of the whining here, i decided to got to OD and check it out. (i dont have a great need for office supplies so i dont go there much.)

The return policy is clearly posted in several places at the register, on the previously mentioned red sticker, AND on the back of their receipts. So the comment of "they didnt tell me" is ridiculous.

As far as the exchanging portion of the return policy, the only item that MUST be exchanged for the SAME EXACT item is software. Says so on the policy, and i made sure to clarify with a manager.

Now maybe I just so happened to be in a store that has a great management staff, i dont know. But i didnt have any of the problems that have been mentioned, but i also like to be aware things, not just drone on with life...

N
N
Nomodepot
US
Apr 04, 2010 9:50 am EDT

Same problem here by laptop and it goes black less than an hour out of the box
after rebooting a few times gave up and called the store to tell them it
was coming back in the morning. They said to bad exchange only. Called another
OD and was told in that type of situation it was managers discretion. Long story short original
store said no second store gave me total refund. Here's the deal if they would ratchet back
maybe 2 of the 5 minutes the sales people spend trying to get you to buy
the service plans and mention their hostage plan they would have
a lot less pissed off folks. Lesson learned for me. I will also share with all I
can their lameness. To many other options who will allow a total return
on defective products.

A
A
america going downhill?
Carson City, US
Apr 08, 2010 1:07 am EDT

I bought an all in one computer from office depot, it was not in stock, had to be ordered and shipped. First off, the guy told me I may receive it Friday, but if not definately will receive it Monday. Monday came and went, no computer. Pissed about being lied to.
Second, I asked the salesman about the return policy, was told I had 14 days. I asked the cashier, she said 14 days, if I don't like it, no problem just return it. TOTALLY DECEPTIVE. Never said, can't open it, make sure it works well. My son was with me, he was surprised as well when we picked it up and they put the red sticker on stating basically, you open it, don't bother returning it. (My receipt was a printed out piece of paper, not actual cash register receipt, so no policy listed on it).
Totally condescending salesman, and a total liar to boot.
Haven't opened it, probably won't. I thought I was upset about Best Buy's 15% restocking fee once opened, but at least you can return an item.
I think I will see what Costco has available.

K
K
Kabille
US
Jul 09, 2010 2:38 pm EDT

I purchased a computer and monitor on July 1, 2005 because of the advertised rebate I decided to purchase the bndl. I did everything that I was supposed to do in order to get the rebate. I mailed in both proofs of purchase and they said that they only got one of the proof of purchase, this is impossible because I copied them both to the same piece of paper. When I checked the rebate site and found that my rebate was rejected I could hardly beleive it, that Office Depot would actually lie and say that I only sent one proof of purchase. I sent them both, I made sure of it.

T
T
TimeMan999
Tarzana, US
Sep 06, 2010 8:06 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I went in to Office Depot to test out several of their laser and ink jet machines. I needed to find one that was extremely accurate in color. I teach high school art and sometimes have the students copy from a photo. What good is it if the photo's colors are off? I thought I would test the accuracy of the copies in the store rather than buy a printer and return it only to be charged a restocking fee. Something that Office Depot tends to hassle you about. Well, after making six copies on various machines (some faded, some out of ink), I was accosted by an employee (amazing how that is the "only" time they are around) and told I didn't pay for the copies and could not keep them. He never looked at them to see what they were. He just kept repeating in a stern voice "give me the copies!" What? Did I run out of the store with a laptop? I said, "No problem." I told him why I made the copies and even showed him on the copies how the HP's were tinted yellow and the Canon copies were faded. He didn't care. He even tried to take the book I made the copies from. Strange. They don't want you to return their products "or" test them. And here I thought I was helping us both out. Note: I'm 51 years old, decently paid (well, maybe not so decently, but you get my drift). So why would I steal six lousy, faded copies off an ink jet printer? Hello Staples and Bestbuy.

J
J
Jim B65
Charleston, US
Nov 29, 2010 6:27 pm EST

Office Max ran a "Black Friday" sales circular advertising a Seagate 1TB external hard drive for 59.99. It stated in the ad that you could shop online Thursday to beat the Friday crowd. I went on to the online site to order the item and it was listed as not YET available. I tried all day Thursday and it continued to say not YET available. I tried Friday to order it online and it would not go into my cart. I called Customer support and she advised that it was not available online as it was NOW a in store only item as it was now Friday; she advised that I could only order it online on Thursday. I tried to explain to her I did in fact try to order it online the day before but couldn't as it was listed as not YET available.
Needless to say I had to explain to her several times that was the reason for my angst. She directed me to the local store and I called them and the man who answered said yeah we are having the same problem at the store, he apologised for the problem but added he didn't know why they did that that it was wrong. He suggested I call corporate and lodge my complaint with them for the way they did the sale. Of course I treid the corporate thing and got a circle jerk automated line and the regular customer service line was of no help. She told me basically that the item was now discontinued and that she couldn't now order me one if she could because it was discontinued. She went on to guess that because the item went on sale in different time zones than mine that the item was probably sold out by the time that I tried to order the second day. She seemed lost as to the fact that my main complaint was that I tried to order the day before as told in the circular but couldn't. It seemed to be a sales scam. I was at WalMart the nigth before and could have bought the item there for 10 dollars more but thought I would give them my business my bad I guess, I know I will not buy (or at least attempt) to buy anything else from them.

S
S
SFGwyn
Houston, US
Jan 26, 2011 6:21 pm EST

My first to buy store brand paper, noticed weight of paper measureable different from the other name brand packages previously purchased both stating 24 pound. Brightness measure, able to see 97% vs 100%, but store(s) didn't have brand weight and selected store brand same 24 pound. It is noticable different in a book continuation.

V
V
Vianed
US
Mar 10, 2011 7:28 pm EST

My order was not delivered on the promised day and time. I called and they said they are not sure why and what happened and I would get a phone call within 3 hours.

No call. Next day I called and was told it would be delivered again by 5 pm. 5 pm, no delivery.

So I called the 800 number again. This was the 4th or 5th time. They told me my order had been cancelled. They asked if I would I like to reorder although my credit card had not posted a credit from the order that was cancelled and they would need to re-charge my card.

No thanks! During one of these phone calls, one rep said he didn't know why I was upset. It was not like I ordered a $700 computer or anything. I had ordered things like printing ink and office supplies.

Ok, so is that it? If you order a high priced item then it gets delivered, but if you don't, it gets cancelled?

I will never deal with office depot again. Just a warning to others.

J
J
Jim_Johnson
Marysville, US
Mar 25, 2011 5:57 am EDT

I recently ordered a desk from Office Depot and have since found that their delivery service and customer service are both worthless. The delivery date was supposed to be March 23rd and it is now pushed back to the 31st because someone forgot to load it on the truck today. Their delivery vendor only solution was to schedule it 7 days out. The customer service agent I contacted at the Office Depot started the conversation off with “it’s only an estimate” and “it wasn’t in stock” so they could not deliver it – then just kept repeating himself. Too bad the warehouse already told me that it was in-stock and just wasn’t loaded. The supervisor was not much either – she did finally open a complaint after a prolonged conversation but offered me no help at all in resolving this.
DO NOT ORDER furniture that is delivered by truck and not by UPS or FedEx – the delivery vendor (Excel Direct) is worthless and does not care about its customer’s delivery.

G
G
Girimane
US
Mar 29, 2011 4:39 pm EDT

Office Depot failed to deliver an item on the specified date and automatically cancelled my order as a result of their non-delivery.

Then, a week later, they suddenly and arbitrarily changed the status to 'delivered' and charged my credit card for the item even though no merchandise was ever delivered to me.

It took 3 weeks and numerous calls to Office Depot's head office to get a credit put through for the unauthorized charge.

No one would take responsibility for failure to deliver the merchandise and their customer service phone number goes to a call center where they have no info and no authority to resolve problems.

T
T
Triple Threat
US
Apr 26, 2011 2:23 am EDT

Also, another thing that completely pisses customers off, is that EVEN THOUGH the customer SHOWS the associate that the product, in my case a laptop, is clearly defective, because one of the keys does not function as the rest do. You have to almost pound on it to get it to enter the letter. The associate can get on the laptop and type out some text, POUNDING on the keys to make sure that they all enter and simply say "Well umm I wasn't able to duplicate the problem, soooo, yeahhh." And then that's the end of it. The fact that it's completely up to the associate, which are most of the time have a severe lack of knowledge of the product they are selling other than the 1 hour video they watched on orientation day, is complete garbage. And you say all stores have the same return and exchange policy? BULL! At BEST BUY I can have even the slightest tiff about something with a product, and they will swap it out for another one even if it's the same exact model. If not for anything else, just to save face and please the customer, because they still care, appearantly. And at Wal-Mart, don't even get me started. I bought an Acer Netbook from them, and 13 days later (because they do have a 14 day policy for any product that contains usable memory) I took it back to them and requested my money back, simply stating that "I was simply not used to a computer that was a little slower than regular laptops beause of the lower amount of RAM that it contained." They checked it out and said "Alright, here's your money back."... And also not to mention, this is my THIRD damn laptop from Office Depot, having had to exchange out the previous two because of defects, now this one's defective and they wont exchange it (this is a different Office Depot location than the original because the original ran out of stock on the model and gave me a gift card so I could go purhase the one at the other location.) Bottom line is, Office Depot's headquarters is getting a furious email, along with a letter in the mail addressed to the highest power that will be willing to read it. Because I have lots of friends, who own companies who sometimes, and do use Office Depot for all their supplies and electronics. And they are good enough friends to where they will simply go to Staples for the products, especially seeing as how Staples WILL match Office Depot's prices. Which is what I should have had them do when I got this laptop. Because I bought an HP Desktop setup from them, NO PROBLEMS, from the Staples computer, and BOOM, with Office Depot I have nothing but problems with their products, AND THEIR ASSOCIATES. And before you sayin anything about the "Price Matching" and the "Same model" deal, they were both the same model laptops, DM4-1160US. The one at Staples was NOT on sale, for $749, and the one at Office Depot was on sale for $549, with a mail in rebate, which I refuse to send in, because I don't want anything from these blood sucking ### anymore. I talked to a manager at Staples and he said he would have, and still will beat the price on that model for me, if I were to be able to get my money back from Office Depot some how, which I have given up on taking action at the storefront level. I'm writing letters, and my lawyer who I always have on retainer, is pursuing the matter. Because I will not let this go. No only the shotty products, but the garbage attitudes from the associates. Office Depot is not a company that cares about the customer what so ever. And Mr. Donnie Stafford, who originally posted the thread that lead to all this, felt he HAD to post something to defend his company because he's on the inside, knowing what goes on and how poorly they treat customers. If there was no guilt felt then why did he feel he had to get on here and defend his loving company, which by the way I guarantee wont give two craps about him when Lay Off time comes, against all this allegations.

P
P
pod1959
US
Jun 21, 2011 3:23 am EDT

My problem with office depot is very similar to the above complaints the "14 day exchange only" policy if opened. Mine differs in that the item purchased was a display item and therefore it was already opened. I asked for store credit. The company wasn't losing any money if that was the issue. At the time of purchase the store manager would only offer me a 5% discount because he stated the item was "fairly new". So then the new invented policy became "opened displayed items included". I to will no longer patronized this company and encourage others to do the same

T
T
TheWayItIs
US
Jul 06, 2011 5:01 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Managers in all these cases have the discretion to take care of the customer. They are all rated heavily (today as opposed to years ago) on Customer Experience scores. Knowing that an incident can quickly become viral, I find it amazing that retail managers still don't get it. What happens is that they see the P&L effect of not getting full credit from a mfr as more important that taking care of the customer. For stores that do not do a heavy volume such as the office supplies/copy and print stores, this weighs heavily on managers minds. "I took care of the customer" is ALWAYS a good reason for any decision. If the business takes too many hits on return products percentage-wise to the total sales, then maybe it should look for alternate sources of revenue or get new management.

J
J
Jose Avelino Clavijo
Chula Vista, US
Aug 22, 2011 6:38 am EDT

I purchased this all in one (HP) TouchSmart 300 PC on 12/28/2010, with 2 years extended (Performance-Protection-Plan), I didn't start useing untill around March and only work with it one hour in the evening without any problems.
Now it has been since the last weeck of July that started cutting off after I turn it on, finaly now it doesn't start at all, I had several people looked it, including a tecnitian from Office Depot where I was charge 49.99 for the service to chek it out but it did the samethig cuttin off, so I ask to removed my personal data just in case I have to sant it back.
I do hve an other computer (DELL) since 2002 that wee use from 4 to 5 hour a day and it ranns perfetly.

M
M
mAtx
US
Sep 07, 2011 4:35 pm EDT

I bought a HP computer from Office Depot along with an extended warranty. Since then, I have had it worked on 3 times. The first 2 times, they replaced the motherboard. Computer still would not do updates, and would also be slower each time worked on. This time, tech spent 3 hrs trying to tattoo motherboard and failed. O.D. wants to replace motherboard for the 3rd time now. Since I filed this complaint, my warranty has expired. If they replace motherboard for a 3rd time, and computer works for 6 months then crashes again, I will be without a computer because my warranty has already expired. Since this initial complaint, I have been on phone with O.D. tech support and Barrister Global many, many times. I feel I am being taken advantage of. As I told them on phone, the last 2 times, changed out motherboard, only lasts for about 6 months, then crashes again. I have not been able to get computer to do an important update, like Service Pack 1 or 2 since I purchased computer, but when I explain any of this to them, the only thing they want to do is replace motherboard again. The motherboard was replaced twice in one year. I paid $200. for this extended warranty and do not feel that I am getting my money's worth. I honestly expected better customer service from Office Depot. If they do not fix this problem correctly this time, I will report them to BBB, and will not spend another dime in their stores. Sadly, both of my sons bought computers from them as well. I hope they have better experience than what I have had.

T
T
TheWayItIs
US
Sep 10, 2011 5:21 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Need to put some pressure on - contact your state's division of consumer affairs and the BBB. Then copy Office Depot - corporate offices in Florida - the department that handles the protection plans. You'll get people to jump.

M
M
Mihote
US
Oct 26, 2011 6:16 pm EDT

I ordered checks from Office depot online on 12/30/09 and was told they would be delivered on 1/14/10. They never showed up. I called them on 1/18/10 and was told it was beeing processed. I called them again on 2/8/10 and again was assured that it was beeing processed and will ship shortly. On 2/29/10 i went to the store that didn't have time to order it for me and recomended that i order it on line. They called the center and then told me the order was cancled because they never received a copy of my blank check ( which by the way they confirmed they had during my first call). I checked my credit card to see if i was credited and was not. So today 3/3/10 i called the center again and the automated service said the order had been shipped so i got a manager [Kellog] on the phone and was told that they would have someone call me in 4 hrs. This is not the first time i have had a bad experience with Office depot and 3 years ago i said i would never go there again. I won't make that mistake again!

G
G
ghinfla
LaGrange, US
Feb 01, 2012 12:53 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

4428 Hollerich Drive
Peru, IL 61354

January 31, 2012

Re: Order # [protected] - SCOTCH 3750 HEAVY DUTY PACKAGING TAPE

Dear OfficeMax Customer:

Last week SCOTCH 3750 HEAVY DUTY PACKAGING TAPE was displayed on the OfficeMax.com website with an incorrect price that was inadvertently generated by an automated pricing program.

As is standard practice by all national retailers, OfficeMax disclaims offers from typographical errors. Your order included the tape, item number [protected], which was inadvertently shown with an incorrect price.

The correct retail price for the tape is $10.49. This product was incorrectly shown with a price of $1.80.

Because the incorrect pricing is a typographical error and not a valid offer from OfficeMax, all orders relating to the incorrect price have been canceled. This includes your order noted above. If you have other items on this order, you will be contacted to confirm you still would like to receive the other items on the order.

While we deeply regret any inconvenience this may cause, we ask that if you have questions about this canceled order, please call customer service at 1-877-OfficeMax.

Sincerely,

OfficeMax Customer Service
[protected]

G
G
ghinfla
LaGrange, US
Feb 01, 2012 11:56 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

No, I would have preferred they honor the order at the price stated. I've owned a retail store and, if I made a mistake, I wore it until I fixed it.

G
G
Glen
US
Jun 07, 2016 4:26 am EDT

After receiving no communication, other than an order confirmation, Office Depot cancelled my order. The order was for a computer that was priced well below competitors. Almost too good to be true. They say they attempted delivery twice (never notified me) and cancelled the order due to no one being home. When I called to inquire about setting up another delivery, I was told the offer was now void and I would have to pay a (MUCH) higher price than my original order. This seems like such a scam. The lack of communication, delivery notification, and customer service add up to a business that I will not be dealing with any longer.

Edwin Guerrero Urrutia
Edwin Guerrero Urrutia
SV
Jun 07, 2016 4:26 am EDT

No that can be that is not possible...

Edwin Guerrero Urrutia
Edwin Guerrero Urrutia
SV
Jun 07, 2016 4:26 am EDT

Noooooooooooooooo!

View 0 more photos
I
I
Irvin
US
Jun 07, 2016 4:26 am EDT

After receiving no communication, other than an order confirmation, Office Depot cancelled my order. The order was for a computer that was priced well below competitors. Almost too good to be true. They say they attempted delivery twice (never notified me) and cancelled the order due to no one being home. When I called to inquire about setting up another delivery, I was told the offer was now void and I would have to pay a (MUCH) higher price than my original order. This seems like such a scam. The lack of communication, delivery notification, and customer service add up to a business that I will not be dealing with any longer.

  1. Office Depot Contacts

  2. Office Depot phone numbers
    +1 (800) 463-3768
    +1 (800) 463-3768
    Click up if you have successfully reached Office Depot by calling +1 (800) 463-3768 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Office Depot by calling +1 (800) 463-3768 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Office Depot by calling +1 (800) 463-3768 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Office Depot by calling +1 (800) 463-3768 phone number
    Customer Service
  3. Office Depot emails
  4. Office Depot address
    6600 N Military Trl, Boca Raton, Virginia, 33496-2434, United States
  5. Office Depot social media
  6. Andrew
    Checked and verified by Andrew This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jul 20, 2024
Office Depot Category
Office Depot is ranked 1 among 40 companies in the Office Space and Supplies category
Trending companies